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Rules 
 
 

RULE 

Departmentof Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Forestry 

Indian Creek Recreation Area User Fees 
(LAC 7:XXXIX.501) 

In accordance with R.S.49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Forestry, has amended LAC 7:XXXIX.501, Indian 
Creek Recreation Area, Usage Fees. The Rule provides for 
an increase in some of the fees charged to users of the Indian 
Creek Recreation Area, which is located on the Alexander 
State Forest near Woodworth, Louis iana. These fee increases 
are necessary to cover the increased cost of operation of the 
park. 

This Rule complies with and is enabled by Act 591 of 
1970. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXXIX.  Forestry 
Chapter 5. Indian Creek Recreation Area 
§501. Usage Fees 

A. The Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 
Forestry, hereby announces the following usage fee 
revisions. 

 
 
 
1. Entrance Fee (Day Use) 

$3 per Vehicle with up to Six 
Occupants. Additional $0.50 per 
Person for Additional Occupants 

2. Regular Campsite $  14/day 
3. Pull-Through Campsite $  18/day 
4. Primitive Campsite $    8/day 
5. Pavilion Rental $  50/day 
6. Boat Launch $    3/boat  
7. 30-day Off-Season Rate for  

Regular Campsite (Oct.-Feb. only) 
 

    $210/month 
8. 30-day Off-Season Rate for  

Pull-through Campsite (Oct.-Feb. 
only) 

 
 

   $270/month 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 591 

of 1970. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Forestry, and the Louisiana Forestry 
Commission, LR 6:734 (December 1980), amended LR 11:1178 
(December 1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Office of Forestry, LR 17:476 (May 1991), LR 23:553 
(May 1997), LR 30:195 (February 2004). 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0402#060 
 

RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of the Agriculture and Environmental Sciences 

Fertilizer Commission 

Fertilizer Commission? Fees (LAC 7:XI.115) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Fertilizer Commission, amended 
regulations governing fee costs associated with registration, 
inspection, testing, regulating, and administering the 
Fertilizer Law.  

Louisiana is experiencing an unprecedented shortfall in 
state finances. The legislature has cut the department's 
budget; therefore, using other department funds is not a 
continuing option. The fiscal year begins on the first of July. 
These Rules will take place in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act.  

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XI.  Fertilizers 
Chapter 1. Sale of Fertilizers 
§115. Tonnage Reports; Inspection Fees 

A. All registrants must file a report of the tonnage and 
grade of product sold, on forms to be provided by the 
Fertilizer Commission of the Louisiana Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, on the first day of July, the first 
day of October, the first day of January, and the first day of 
April of each year. 

B. All registrants must grant the Fertilizer Commission 
of the Department of Agriculture and Forestry the right to 
examine their records for verification of the tonnage reports 
filed as required by §115.A. 

C. Every guarantor blending or selling fertilizer in small 
package lots totaling less than 100 tons per year shall pay to 
the Fertilizer Commission of the Department of Agriculture 
and Forestry an annual inspection fee of $100. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:1312. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Fertilizer Commission, LR 7:164 (Ap ril 1981), 
amended LR 12:495 (August 1986), amended by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, Fertilizer 
Commission, LR 30:195 (February 2004). 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0402#063 
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RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 

Structural Pest Control Commission 

Structural Pest Control (LAC 7:XXV.117 and 119) 

In accordance with provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Structural Pest Control 
Commission, amends regulations regarding an increase  
in fees for each termite contract and  
wood-destroying insect reports. 

The Department of Agriculture and Forestry deems the 
implementation of these rules and regulations necessary to 
fund the operations of the Structural Pest Control 
Commission. The Commission has recorded deficit spending 
for the last five years. The yearly shortfalls in revenues were 
made up from other funds within the Louisiana Department 
of Agriculture and Forestry. This Rule also allows the 
department to regulate the structural pest control industry 
consistently and insure that the state's citizens are getting the 
services for which they are paying.  

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 
Part XXV.  Structural Pest Control 

Chapter 1. Structural Pest Control Commission 
§117. Obligations of the Licensee 

A. - L. … 
M. The fee per termite contract and wood-destroying 

insect report is $6 per contract and/or inspection report 
issued and $8 for each combination liquid spot and bait and 
baiting system contract and is due on or before the tenth day 
of each month. 

N. - P. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3302 and R.S. 3:3306. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 11:327 (April 
1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 15:956 (November 1989), 
LR 21:930 (September 1995), LR 23:855 (July 1997), LR 26:2437 
(November 2000), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, 
Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 30:196 (February 2004). 
§119. Contracts for Termite Control Work 

A. - E. … 
F. The licensee shall pay a $6 fee for each standard 

contract and shall pay an $8 fee for each combination 
contract for liquid spot and bait and baiting system 
treatments reported under §119.E above when the required 
monthly report is filed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3302 and R.S. 3:3306. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 11:328 (April 
1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 15:957 (November 1989), 
LR 26:2437 (November 2000), LR 27:1179 (August 2001), LR 
27:2084 (December 2001), LR 28:1171 (June 2002), amended by

the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural 
and Environmental Sciences, Structural Pest Control Commission, 
LR 30:196 (February 2004). 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0402#058 
 

RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of the Commissioner 

Meat and Poultry Inspections 
(LAC 7:XXXIII.101) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, has 
amended regulations regarding the Meat and Poultry 
Inspection Program. 

The changes will adopt Title 9, Chapter III A, of the Code 
of Federal Regulations and Subchapter E, of the Code of 
Federal Regulations: 416 Sanitation, 417 Hazard Analysis 
and Critical Control Point (HACCP) Systems, 500 Rules of 
Practice. The regulations will also remove all references to 
the word "Permit" and replaces it with the word "License" 
and removes references to "Handbook 191" and all 
references to Blueprints submissions and replaces those with 
the statement "latest addition of the Code of Federal 
Regulations." 

These Rules are enabled by R.S. 3:4222 and R.S. 3:4232. 
Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 
Part XXXIII.  Meat and Poultry Inspections 

Chapter 1. Meat and Poultry Inspection Program 
§101. Adoption of Federal Meat and Poultry 

Inspection Regulations 
A. The Louisiana Cooperative Federal/State Meat and 

Poultry Inspection Program will be governed by the rules 
and regulations contained in the Meat and Poultry Inspection 
Regulations of the Meat and Poultry Inspection Program of 
the U.S. Department of Agriculture, in effect as of the 
effective date of these regulations and all subsequent 
changes. 

1. Meat and Poultry Inspection Regulations: Title 9, 
Chapter III, Subchapter A, Code of Federal Regulations. 

2. Regulatory requirements under Federal Meat 
Inspection Act and Poultry Products Inspection Act: Title 9, 
Chapter III, Subchapter E, Code of Federal Regulations: 416 
Sanitation, 417 Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point 
(HACCP) Systems, 500 Rules of Practice 

B. The Louisiana Cooperative Federal/State Meat and 
Poultry Inspection Program will be governed by the 
requirements in the latest addition of the Code of Federal 
Regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:4222 and R.S. 3:4232. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Management and Finance, LR 6:708 
(December 1980), amended by the Department of Agriculture and
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Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 30:196 (February 2004). 
 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0402#064 
 

RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of the Commissioner 

Advisory Commission on Pesticides 

Pesticide Testing Fees  
(LAC 7:XXIII.131) 

In accordance with provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Advisory Commission on 
Pesticides, amends regulations regarding pesticide testing 
fees. 

These Rules and regulations are necessary to conform to 
state statute and fund the operations of the Division of 
Pesticides and Environmental Programs. The fiscal year 
begins on the first of July. Adoption of permanent Rules will 
be in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. 
However, this process takes several months to complete.  

These Rules are enabled by R.S. 3:3202, R.S. 3:3221, R.S. 
3:3222 and R.S. 3:3251. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXIII.  Pesticide 
Chapter 1. Advisory Commission on Pesticides 
Subchapter G.  Fees 
§131. Fees 

A. Fees required under the Louisiana Pesticide Law to be 
adopted by regulation are established as: 

 
Special Local Need Registration Application 
Fee $100 
Examination Fees  
(for each exams' Private Applicator exempt) 
  In Baton Rouge 
  At Meeting outside Baton Rouge 
  At District Offices 

 
 

 $  25 
 $  25 
 $  50 

Duplicate Licenses and/or Certification Cards Same as Original 
Requested Lists and Copies Postage + minimum 

of $1 or Postage + 
$0.25 /page 

 
B. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3203, R.S. 3:3221, R.S. 3:3222 and R.S. 3:3251. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Advisory Commission on Pesticides, LR 10:194 
(March 1984), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Advisory Commission on Pesticides, LR 15:76 (February 
1989), LR 24:281 (February 1998), Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Office of Commissioner, Advisory Commission on 
Pesticides, LR 30:197 (February 2004). 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0402#059 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of the Commissioner 

Agricultural Commodities Commission 

Agricultural Commodities (LAC 7.XXVII.128) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Louisiana Agricultural 
Commodities, has amended regulations regarding an 
increase in fees for re-grading grain sampling as well as fees 
to inspect and register moisture meters.  

Louisiana is experiencing an unprecedented shortfall in 
state finances. The legislature has cut the department's 
budget; therefore, using other department funds is not a 
continuing option. The fiscal year begins on the first of July. 
Adoption of these Rules will take place in accordance with 
the Administrative Procedure Act.  

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXVII.  Agricultural Commodity Dealer  
and Warehouse Law 

Chapter 1. Agricultural Commodities Commission 
Subchapter E. Assessments and Fees 
§128. Fees: Amount, Time of Payment 

A. - C.3. … 
4. Official Services (including sampling except as 

indicated) 
 

Online D/T sampling inspection service (sampling, 
grading and certification), per regular hour $25.00 
Overtime hourly rate, per hour $40.00 
Unit Inspection Fees: 

Hopper Car, per car $20.00 
Boxcar, per car $15.00 
Truck/Trailer, per carrier $10.00 
Barge, per 1,000 bushels $  2.50 
Submitted sample inspection $12.00 
Re-grade grain sample $15.00 

 
D. Moisture Meter Registration and Inspection Fee 

1. A registration fee of $20 per meter and an 
inspection fee of $40 per meter to be paid by the owner or 
user of every moisture measuring device used or held for use 
at any commercial facility which receives, holds, dries, 
stores, mills, processes or otherwise deals in agricultural 
commodities in the state, when such use or intended use is 
for the purpose of determining discounts or other price 
variances in connection with the purchase or sale of such 
commodity, said device shall be registered with the 
Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry. 

2. Registration shall be required on or before May 15 
of each year or within two business days of acquisition of a 
new or additional unregistered moisture measuring device 
for the purpose set forth in Paragraph 1 of this Section. 
Registration forms will be provided by the department and 
shall state the name and address of the commercial facility 
which owns or uses the device, the number of devices used 
and held for use, the brand name(s) of the device(s), and
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such other information as may be deemed necessary to carry 
out the provisions of this Subchapter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 12:287 (May 1986), amended LR 
14:528 (August 1988), LR 19:889 (July 1993), LR 23:196 
(February 1997), LR 27:815 (June 2001), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the 
Commissioner, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 30:197 
(February 2004). 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0402#057 
 

RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of the Commissioner 

Feed Commission 

Feed Commission Inspection Fees  
(LAC 7:XVII.121) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Feed Commission, amends 
regulations pertaining to references to the inspection fee 
since this fee is prescribed in the law. The amounts of the 
fees for company and label registration are indicated in the 
attached copies of the Rules. These fees are based on the 
costs associated with registration, inspection, testing, 
regulating, and administering the Commercial Feed Law. 

Louisiana is experiencing an unprecedented shortfall in 
state finances. The legislature has cut the department's 
budget; therefore, using other department funds is not a 
continuing option. The fiscal year begins on the first of July. 
These Rules will take place in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act. 

These Rules are enabled by R.S. 3:1901 and R.S. 3:1892. 
Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 
Part XVII.  Feed Commission 

Chapter 1. Commercial Feeds  
Subchapter A. Official Feed Rules and Regulations 
§121. Fees 

A. Each application for registration with the commission 
shall be accompanied by a registration fee of $40. 

B. Each registrant filing a label with the commission 
shall pay to the commission a labeling fee of $10 per label 
for one to 50 products, $8 per label for 51 to 200 products, 
$6 per label for 201 or more products. 

C. Registration shall expire on the last day of June of 
each year. An additional $50 late fee will be charged for 
renewal registrations filed after the last day of June. A late 
fee will not be charged on initial registrations or registrations 
of new products filed after the last day of June. 

D. If a registrant had no sales in a given quarter, he must 
still file a tonnage report and pay a minimum tonnage fee of 
$10 for that quarter. A registrant shall keep all records 
necessary to accurately indicate the tonnage and kind of 
commercial feed sold and shall permit the commissioner or 

his authorized representative to examine these records and to 
verify the statement of tonnage. Tonnage reports shall be 
made on forms supplied by the commissioner and suitable 
for providing the necessary tonnage and statistical 
information. The tonnage reports and inspection fees shall be 
due and payable on the first day of October, the first day of 
January, the first day of April and the first day of July. If the 
report is not filed and payment made within 30 days after the 
date due, a penalty of 25 percent of the amount due shall be 
assessed against the registrant. If payment is not made 
within 30 days after the due date, the amount of fees due, 
plus the penalty, shall constitute a debt and become the basis 
of a judgment against the registrant. All information as to the 
amount of feed sold and business practices of the registrant 
obtained from tonnage reports or from inspection of records 
and books shall remain confidential and shall not be revealed 
by the commissioner or his employees to the public or to any 
other person. 

E. The inspection fee shall be collected only once on 
each lot of ingredients. To achieve this end, the following 
provisions shall apply. 

1. No fee shall be paid on a commercial feed if a 
previous manufacturer has paid the fee. 

2. No fee shall be paid on customer-formula feeds of 
the inspection fee has been paid on the commercial feeds, 
which are used as ingredients therein. 

3. No fee shall be paid on commercial feeds, which 
are used as ingredients for the manufacture of registered 
commercial feeds. If the fee has already been paid, credit 
shall be given for that payment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:1901 and 3:1892. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Feed Commission, LR 11:223 (March 1985), amended 
LR 11:944 (October 1985), amended by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, Louisiana 
Feed Commission, LR 30:198 (February 2004). 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0402#062 
 

RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of the Commissioner 

Seed Commission 

Tropical Soda Apple and Noxious Weed Seeds 
(LAC 7:XIII.109 and 145) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Louisiana Seed 
Commission, amended regulations to include Tropical Soda 
Apple (Solanum viarum Dunal) as a prohibitive noxious 
weed into the List and Limitations of Noxious Weed Seed 
and Noxious Weeds. 

The Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Louisiana 
Seed Commission amended these rules and regulations for 
the purpose of preventing the introduction and spread of 
Tropical Soda Apple, a prohibitive noxious weed in the 
Federal Seed Act. There are currently seed lots (bahiagrass 
and jointvetch) coming out of Florida contaminated with 
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TSA. These amendments will allow us to take regulatory 
action if found in our regular sampling.  

These rules are enabled by R.S. 3:1433. 
Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 
Part XIII.  Seeds  

Chapter 1. Louisiana Seed Law  
Subchapter A. Enforcement of the Louisiana Seed Law 
§109. List and Limitations of Noxious Weed Seed 

A. List and Limitations of Noxious Seed 
 

List and Limitations of Noxious Seed 
Name Limitations 

  1. Tropical Soda Apple (Solanum viarum Dunal) Prohibited 
  2. Field Bindweed (Convulvulus arvensis) Prohibited 
  3. Hedge Bindweed (Convulvulus sepium) Prohibited 
  4. Nutgrass (Cyperus esculentus, C. rotundus) Prohibited 
  5. Itchgrass  

(Rottboellia exaltata, L., R. cochinchinersis) 
Prohibited 

  6. Balloon Vine (Cardiospermum halicacabum) Prohibited 
  7. Cocklebur (Xanthium spp.) 5 per lb. 
  8. Spearhead (Rhynchospora spp.) 5 per lb. 
  9. Purple Moonflower (Ipomoea turbinata) 9 per lb. 
10. Red Rice (Oryza sativa var. ) 9 per lb. 
11. Wild Onion and/or Wild Garlic (Allium spp.) 9 per lb. 
12. Canada Thistle (Cirsium arvense)  100 per lb. 
13. Dodder (Cuscuta spp.) 100 per lb. 
14. Johnsongrass (Sorghum halepense) 100 per lb. 
15. Quackgrass (Agropyron repens) 100 per lb. 
16. Russian Knapweed (Centaurea repens) 100 per lb. 
17. Blueweed, Texas (Helianthus ciliaris) 200 per lb. 
18. Grass, Bermuda (Cynodon dactylon) 300 per lb. 
19. Bracted Plantain (Plantago aristata ) 300 per lb. 
20. Buckhorn Plantain (Plantago lanceolata) 300 per lb. 
21. Cheat (Bromus secalinus) 300 per lb. 
22. Hairy Chess (Bromus commutatus) 300 per lb. 
23. Corncockle (Agrostemma githago) 300 per lb. 
24. Darnel (Lolium temulentum ) 300 per lb. 
25. Dock (Rumex spp.) 300 per lb. 
26. Horsenettle (Solanum carolinense) 300 per lb. 
27. Purple Nightshade (Solanum elaeagnifollum) 300 per lb. 
28. Sheep Sorrel (Rumex acetosella ) 300 per lb. 
29. Morning Glory (Ipomoea spp.) 18 per lb. 
30. Wild Poinsettia (Euphorbia heterophylla,  

E. dentata) 
18 per lb. 

31. Wild Mustard and Wild Turnips (Brassica spp.) 300 per lb. 
32. Hemp Sesbania, Coffeebean, Tall Indigo 

(Sesbania exaltata ) 
300 per lb. 

33. Curly Indigo (Aeschynomene virginica) 300 per lb. 
34. Mexican Weed (Caperonia castaneaefolla ) 300 per lb. 
Sum of Total Noxious Weed 
 (Subject to limitations above) 

500 per lb. 

 
B. Limitations on noxious and prohibited weeds are 

listed on individual certified crop seed regulations. Noxious 
weed seed tolerance of one for regulatory action on certified 
seed being offered for sale in Louisiana for those noxious 
weed seed which are prohibited by the Louisiana Certified 
Seed Regulations for the specific seed kind in question. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:1431 and R.S. 3:1433. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Seed Commission, LR 4:105 (April 1978), amended 
LR 5:96 (May 1979), LR 7:285 (June 1981), LR 8:563 (November 
1982), LR 9:197, 206 (April 1983), LR 12:825 (December 1986), 
LR 14:605 (September 1988), LR 23:1282 (October 1997), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of

the Commissioner, Louisiana Seed Commission, LR 30:199 
(February 2004). 
§145. Noxious Weeds  

A. The following weeds, together with the specific 
limitation shown for each weed, are designated as noxious 
weeds. 

 
Limitations on Weed Seed in Certified Seed (By Pounds) 

  1. Tropical Soda Apple (Solanum viarum Dunal) Prohibited 
  2. Field Bindweed (Convulvulus arvensis) Prohibited 
  3. Hedge Bindweed (Convulvulus sepium) Prohibited 
  4. Nutgrass (Cyperus esculentus, C. rotundus) Prohibited 
  5. Itchgrass  

(Rottboellia exaltata L., R. cochinchinensis) 
Prohibited 

  6. Balloonvine (Cardiospermum halicacabum ) Prohibited 
  7. Cocklebur (Xanthium spp.)    5 per lb. 
  8. Spearhead (Rhynchospora sp p.)    5 per lb. 
  9. Purple Moonflower (Ipomoea turbinate)    9 per lb. 
10. Red Rice (Oryza sativa var. )    9 per lb. 
11. Wild Onion and/or Wild Garlic (Allium spp.)    9 per lb. 
12. Canada Thistle (Cirsium arvense) 100 per lb. 
13. Dodder (Cuscuta sp p.) 100 per lb. 
14. Johnsongrass (Sorghum halepense) 100 per lb. 
15. Quackgrass (Agropyron repens) 100 per lb. 
16. Russian Knapweed (Centaurea repens) 100 per lb. 
17. Blueweed, Texas (Helianthus ciliari) 200 per lb. 
18. Bermuda Grass (Cynodon dactylon) 300 per lb. 
19. Bracted Plantain (Plantago aristata ) 300 per lb. 
20. Buckhorn Plantain (Plantago lanceolata) 300 per lb. 
21. Cheat (Bromus secalinus) 300 per lb. 
22. Hairy Chess (Bromus commutatus) 300 per lb. 
23. Corncockle (Agrostemma githago) 300 per lb. 
24. Darnel (Lolium temulentum ) 300 per lb. 
25. Dock (Rumex spp.) 300 per lb. 
26. Horsenettle (Solanum carolinense) 300 per lb. 
27. Purple Nightshade (Solanum elaeagnifolium) 300 per lb. 
28. Sheep Sorrel (Rumex acetosella ) 300 per lb. 
29. Morning Glory (Ipomoea spp.)   18 per lb. 
30. Wild Poinsettia (Euphorbia heterophylla, E. dentate)   18 per lb. 
31. Wild Mustard and Wild Turnips (Brassica spp.) 300 per lb. 
32. Hemp Sesbania, Coffee Bean, Tall Indigo  

(Sesbania exaltata ) 
300 per lb. 

33. Curly Indigo (Aeschynomene virginica) 300 per lb. 
34. Mexican Weed (Caperonia castaneaefolia ) 300 per lb. 
Sum of Total Noxious Weed Seed   
 (Subject to limitation above) 

500 per lb. 

 
B. Noxious weed seeds are permitted in seed to be 

certified, within the limitations specified in §145.A, unless 
prohibited or otherwise limited under the specific rules for 
the crop or variety entered for certification. (See §§155-221 
for limitations on each noxious weed for each crop or 
variety.) 

C. Limitations on noxious weeds (in the field or in seed 
to be certified), may be more restrictive for a particular crop 
or variety to be certified than the limitations shown in 
§145.A above. The limitation on noxious weeds stated in 
§§155-221 shall supersede the limitations shown in §145.A 
whenever a more restrictive limitation is stated in the 
specific requirements for the crop or variety. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:1431 and R.S. 3:1433. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Seed Commission, LR 8:566 (November 1982), 
amended LR 9:197 (April 1983), LR 12:825 (December 1986), LR 
14:605 (September 1988), LR 23:1283 (October 1997), amended 
by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the 
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Commissioner, Louisiana Seed Commission, LR 30:199 (February 
2004). 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0402#061 
 

RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Forestry 

Tree Seedling Prices 
(LAC 7:XXXIX.301) 

In accordance with provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Forestry, has amended 
rules and regulations regarding tree seedling prices. 

The Office of Forestry nursery operations are an ancillary 
budget operation and all production and operating costs must 
be covered entirely by revenue generated from seedling 
sales. Seedling prices are set to reflect, as closely as 
possible, a break-even pricing structure. The changes to the 
seedling prices are designed to bring sales revenue in line 
with production costs and to establish an efficient and 
organized pricing structure that is consistent with tree 
seedling marketing in the state and the region. 

These Rules comply with and are enabled by R.S. 3:4303. 
Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 
Part XXXIX.  Forestry 

Chapter 3. Tree Seedlings 
§301. Seedling Prices 

A. The Louisiana Forestry Commission adopts the 
following prices for forest tree seedlings. 

 
Improved Pine Seedlings $  35 per 1000 seedlings 
Advanced Generation Seedlings $  42 per 1000 seedlings 
Special Pine Seedlings $  75 per 1000 seedlings 
Hardwood Seedlings $200 per 1000 seedlings 
Baldcypress Seedlings $200 per 1000 seedlings 

 
B.1. Volume discounts for bulk loblolly/slash pine 

seedling orders and contracts shall be as follows. 
 

Order/Sales Volume 
(Number of Seedlings) 

Proposed Discounted Sales 
(M = 1,000 Seedlings) 

-1,000,000 $35.00/M 
1,000,001–2,000,000 $34.00/M 
2,000,001–3,000,000 $33.00/M 
3,000,001–4,000,000 $32.00/M 
4,000,001–5,000,000 $31.00/M 
5,000,001–6,000,000 $30.00.M 

6,000,001+ $29.00/M 

NOTE: The Office of Forestry seed costs shall be deducted 
from these prices when seedlings are produced from seed 
supplied by the customers. 
 

2. When there is a surplus of seedlings above planned 
or expected sales, a more accelerated rate of price reductions 
will be considered, subject to the approval of the State 
Forester and/or the Commissioner of Agriculture and 
Forestry. 

3. This accelerated rate of discount will be applied no 
earlier than 30 days prior to the anticipated end of the annual 
lifting season. 

AUTHORIT Y NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:1503, redesignated R.S. 3:4303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Forestry, Forestry Commission, LR 
8:285 (June 1982), amended LR 10:468 (June 1984), amended by 
the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Forestry, and 
the Louisiana Forestry Commission LR 13:432 (August 1987), LR 
19:610 (May 1993), LR 21:671 (July 1995), LR 22:1210 
((December 1996), LR 26:2437 November 2000), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Forestry, LR 
30:200 (February 2004). 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0402#056 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746? Louisiana Standards for State Certification  
of School Personnel? Definition of Highly Qualified 

Teachers and Paraprofessionals (LAC 28:I.903) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education amended Bulletin 746? Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel, referenced in LAC 
28:I.903.A. This policy outlines a Louisiana definition for 
highly qualified teachers and highly qualified 
paraprofessionals, as required by the No Child Left Behind 
Act of 2001. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§903. Teacher Certification Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 746 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 1:183 (April 1975), LR 
1:311 (July 1975), LR 1:399 (September 1975), LR 1:541 
(December 1975), amended LR 28:760 (April 2002), LR 28:763 
(April 2002), LR 28:765 (April 2002), LR 28:990 (May 2002), LR 
30:200 (February 2004). 

* * * 
State of Louisiana 

Highly Qualified Teacher Requirements 
Background Information 

The requirement that teachers be highly qualified applies 
to any public elementary, middle, or secondary school 
teacher.  The Louisiana Department of Education (LDE) is 
the state agency/entity responsible for prescribing 
qualifications and providing for the certification of teachers 
under authority of (R.S. 17:7.1).  

The Louisiana Department of Education is collaborating 
with the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education and
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the Board of Regents on state activities under No Child Left 
Behind (NCLB) Act of 2001 related to "highly qualified 
teachers."  
Timeline 

All teachers hired on or after the first day of the 2002-
2003 school year to work in programs supported by Title I 
funds and who teach core academic subjects must be highly 
qualified. All teachers of core academic subjects must meet 
highly qualified status by the end of the 2005-2006 school 
year.  
Statutory Requirements for Certification 

To obtain initial Louisiana certification, one must hold at 
least a baccalaureate degree, have earned a minimum grade 
point average of a cumulative 2.50, and have demonstrated 
subject knowledge and teaching skills in the certification 
area by passing rigorous exams required in Louisiana. 
Academic Major 

In the State of Louisiana, for the purpose of NCLB, 
teachers who completed an academic content major are 
highly qualified in that content area. 
Advanced Certification 

For the purpose of NCLB, advanced certification is 
defined as having a master's degree or higher degree in the 
content area. Teachers qualifying as highly qualified under 
this option must meet all applicable state laws. 
Advanced Credentialing 

Advanced credentialing has been defined as successful 
completion of a rigorous credentialing process that is based 
on a high objective uniform standard. The National Board of 
Professional Teaching Standards uses a process for certifying 
its candidates that meets this standard.  
Applicability 

The requirement that "all" teachers be highly qualified 
applies to "all public elementary and secondary school 
teachers" assigned to core academic subjects. Special 
education teachers, including teachers who teach students 
identified as "academically gifted," who are providing 
instruction in core academic subjects must meet the "highly 
qualified" requirements of the ESEA.  
Core Academic Subjects 

Core academic subjects have been defined in the mandate 
as English, reading or language arts, mathematics, science, 
foreign languages, civics and government, economics, arts, 
history, and geography. States may decide which arts courses 
will be considered as core academic subjects. 
Standard Teaching Certificates 

The State of Louisiana currently issues different standard 
teaching certificates to persons who have completed a state-
approved teacher education program (through a traditional or 
alternate approach) and who earned a degree from a 
regionally accredited institution of higher education or an 
approved private provider. The type and a brief description 
of each standard license follow.  

Out of State Certificate—Issued to a teacher certified in 
another state who meets all requirements for a Louisiana 
certificate, except for the PRAXIS examinations. Teacher 
must demonstrate subject matter competency by taking and 
passing the rigorous state academic subject test (PRAXIS) in 
each of the content areas in which he/she is seeking 
certification; or, the teacher must provide evidence of at least

four years of successful teaching experience in another state, 
complete one year of employment as a teacher in Louisiana 
public school systems, and secure the recommendation of 
the local superintendent of the employing school system for 
continued employment. 

Level 1 Professional Certificate—After July 1, 2002, 
issued to teachers who complete a state approved teacher 
preparation program (traditional or alternative path), 
demonstrate subject matter competency by taking and 
passing the rigorous state academic subject test (PRAXIS) in 
each of the content areas in which he/she is seeking 
certification, and who are recommended by an accredited 
college/university to receive a Level 1 Professional 
Certificate; or 

Teachers seeking alternate certification must complete an 
approved Practitioner Teacher or other alternate program, 
pass PRAXIS, and be recommended by the alternate 
program provider to receive a Level 1 Professional 
Certificate; or 

Teacher must meet the requirements of an out-of-state 
certified teacher.  

A teacher may hold a Level 1 certificate for three (3) years 
in his/her career, with the possibility of one three-year 
extension of the certificate under specified circumstances. 

Level 2 Professional Certificate—Teachers with a Level 1 
Professional Certificate must successfully complete the 
Louisiana Teacher Assistance and Assessment Program and 
teach for three years in an area of certification to receive a 
Level 2 Professional Certificate. Teachers must complete 
150 continuing learning units (CLUs) of professional 
development over a five (5) year time period in order to 
renew a Level 2 Professional License.  

Level 3 Professional Certificate—Teachers with a Level 1 
or Level 2 Certificate are eligible for a Level 3 Certificate if 
they complete a master's degree, teach for five years in an 
area of certification, and successfully complete the 
Louisiana Teacher Assistance and Assessment Program. 
Teachers must complete 150 continuing learning units 
(CLUs) of professional development over a five (5) year 
time period in order to renew a Level 3 Professional License. 

Type C Certificate—Type C certificates were issued prior 
to July 1, 2002. Persons who received the Type C certificate 
prior to July 1, 2002, are able to continue in the track leading 
to permanent licensure. Teachers were issued this license 
after successful completion of an approved undergraduate or 
alternate teacher education program, passing the required 
licensing exams for the area of certification, and receiving 
the recommendation of an accredited college/university to 
receive a Type C Certificate. 

Type B Certificate—Candidates currently holding Type B 
certificates will continue to hold these certificates, which are 
valid for life provided the holder does not allow any period 
of five or more consecutive years of disuse to accrue and/or 
the certificate is not revoked by the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, acting in accordance 
with law. To receive a Type B certificate, teachers holding a 
Type C certificate must successfully complete the Louisiana 
Teacher Assistance and Assessment Program and teach for 
three years in an area of certification. 
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Type A Certificate—Candidates currently holding Type A 
certificates will continue to hold these certificates, which are 
valid for life provided the holder does not allow any period 
of five or more consecutive years of disuse to accrue and/or 
the certificate is not revoked by the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, acting in accordance 
with law. To receive a Type A certificate, teachers holding a 
Type C or Type B certificate must earn a master's degree, 
successfully complete the Louisiana Teacher Assistance and 
Assessment Program, and teach for five years in an area of 
certification. 
Practitioner License 

The State of Louisiana issues four different practitioner 
teacher licenses to persons who are enrolled in a state-
approved teacher education alternate program. Because these 
alternate routes to certification meet the requirements 
established in the federal mandate, teachers who meet 
criteria for enrollment in the alternate program are identified 
as "highly qualified."  

The type of practitioner license corresponds to the 
alternate program type, as follows: 

Practitioner License 1—Practitioner Teacher Program 
Practitioner License 2—Non-Master's/Certification Only 

Program 
Practitioner License 3—Master's Degree Certification 

Program 
Practitioner License 4—Candidates not in a new alternate 

program who have at least a 2.50 grade point average, 
passed the Praxis Pre -Professional Skills Tests (PPSTs) and 
the Praxis content-specialty exam (or accumulated 31 
semester hours of coursework in the specific content area of 
certification), but still lack full requirements for certification. 
Nonstandard Teaching Certificates 

The State of Louisiana currently issues three non-standard, 
temporary certificates. Teachers holding a temporary 
certificate do not meet the NCLB definition of "highly 
qualified teacher" because they have not demonstrated 
subject matter competency under the No Child Left Behind 
legislation. The nonstandard certificate types and 
descriptions follow. 

Temporary Authority to Teach—issued to an individual 
who graduates from a teacher preparation program but does 
not pass PRAXIS, or to an individual with a non-education 

degree who does not pass PRAXIS and is enrolled or must 
enroll in an alternate program leading to certification.  

Out-of-Field Authorization to Teach—issued to an 
individual who holds a Louisiana teaching certificate but is 
teaching outside of the certified area.  

Temporary Employment Permit—issued to an individual 
who meets all certification requirements with the exception 
of passing one NTE examination but scores within ten 
percent of the composite score required for passage, or who 
has not passed all required Praxis exams but has an 
aggregate score equal to or above the total required on all 
tests. 
Technical Assistance and Support 

The Louisiana Department of Education will provide 
technical assistance and support to local education agencies 
to ensure that the state is faithful in the implementation of 
the NCLB mandate. Technical assistance and support will 
include, but will not be limited to, the following:  

Providing each candidate on a temporary license with a 
"feedback sheet": The Certification Specialists and 
Certification Counselors who receive the requests evaluate 
the transcripts (if available) and prepare feedback sheets. 
NOTE: The feedback sheets are prepared based on the 
information submitted to the state by the district 
representative.  

Monitoring of certification folders: A monitoring plan is 
currently being developed.  

Collaborating with the Board of Regents (BOR) and 
college/university personnel to discuss ways that 
college/university programs might assist the state by 
addressing the areas of need (e.g., if special education severe 
profound programs are needed in certain areas of the state, 
SDE staff will collaborate with university personnel and 
BOR to facilitate provision of such a program). 

Prescribing the shortest route to certification: This activity 
is handled at the state level by the certification specialists 
and at the local level by the certification counselors. 

Recruiting candidates to pursue teaching as a career, using 
a two-pronged approach: (a) a human resources component, 
through the regional certification counselors; and (b) a 
technological component through the Teach Louisiana 
website at www.teachlouisiana.net. 
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Highly Qualified Teacher in Louisiana New to the Profession 
Overall Elementary Middle School Secondary 

Holds a certificate to teach in 
Louisiana (at least a Type C or 
Level 1 certificate, an Out-of-
State certificate, or a Practitioner 
License); and 

Holds elementary school education 
certificate, a special education 
certificate that includes elementary 
school grades, or a special foreign 
language certificate to teach a specific 
foreign language in grades K-8; and 

Holds middle school education certificate; middle 
school math, English/ language arts, science, or 
social studies; a special education area that includes 
middle school grades; a secondary academic content 
area; or special foreign language certificate to teach 
a specific foreign language in grades K-8; AND 

Holds certificate for every 
core academic subject the 
individual teaches; and 

Has the equivalent of an academic 
major; or 

 Has the equivalent of an academic major in a 
content area appropriate to the middle school level, 
for every core academic subject the individual 
teaches; OR 

Has the equivalent of an 
academic major for every 
core academic subject the 
individual teaches; or 

Has passed the Louisiana 
licensing content-specific Praxis 
exam; or 

Has passed the Louisiana content-
specific elementary education licensing 
exam; and 

Has passed the Louisiana subject -specific licensing 
exam required for a middle school academic content 
area or for a secondary (grades 7-12) academic 
content area that is appropriate to the middle school 
level, for every core academic subject the individual 
teaches; or 

Has passed the Louisiana 
subject-specific licensing 
exam for every core 
academic subject the 
individual teaches; or 

Has earned a master's degree in 
the content area in which he or she 
teaches; and 

  Has earned a master's degree in a pure content area (not in education) for every 
core academic subject the individual teaches; and 

Does not presently have certification or licensure requirements waived on an emergency, temporary, or provisional basis. 
 

Highly Qualified Teacher in Louisiana 
"Not New" Elementary Teacher 

1 Holds elementary school education certificate, a special education certificate that includes elementary school grades, or a special foreign language 
certificate to teach a specific foreign language in grades K-8; and 

2 Does not presently have certification or licensure requirements waived on an emergency, temporary, or provisional basis; and 
3 Has passed the Louisiana content-specific elementary education licensing exam; or 
4 Holds a valid National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) certification in early childhood, middle childhood, or in a content area basic 

to the elementary school (e.g., Early Language Arts, Early Mathematics) and is teaching in the NBPTS area of certification; OR 
5 Has at least 12 semester hours of credit in each of the four core disciplines (English/language arts, including reading and writing; math; science; and 

social studies); or 
QUALIFIES UNDER 

High Objective Uniform State Standard of Evaluation (HOUSSE)  
For NOT NEW ELEMENTARY TEACHERS 

(By School Year 2005-2006) 
A "not new" teacher who does not meet t he requirements of paragraphs number 3, 4, or 5 above is considered highly qualified if he/she is state certified and 
teaching in the area of certification and if he/she completes ninety (90) Continuing Learning Units (CLUs) by the end of 2005-2006.  
*A Continuing Learning Unit (CLU) is a professional development activity that builds capacity for effective, research-based, content focused teaching and learning 
that positively impacts student achievement. The Louisiana Professional Development Guidance will be used to define the 90 continuing learning units. 

 
Highly Qualified Teacher in Louisiana 

"Not New" Middle School Teachers "Not New" Secondary School Teachers  
1 Holds a valid teaching certificate appropriate for grades 6-8 (e.g., 

Elementary Education 1-8, Upper Elementary Education 5-8, Middle 
School Education); a special education area that includes middle 
school grades; a secondary academic content area; or special foreign 
language certificate to teach a specific foreign language in grades K-8; 
and 

Holds certificates for every core academic subject the individual teaches; and 

2 Does not presently have certification or licensure requirements waived 
on an emergency, temporary, or provisional basis; and 

Does not presently have certification or licensure requirements waived on an 
emergency, temporary, or provisional basis; and 

3 a) Has passed Louisiana subject -specific licensing exam required for a 
middle school academic content area or for a secondary (grades 7-12) 
academic content area that is appropriate to the middle school level, 
for every core academic subject the individual teaches; or 
b) Has the equivalent of an academic major in a content area 
appropriate to the middle school level, for every core academic subject 
the individual teaches; OR 
c) Has earned a master's degree in a pure content area (not in 
education) for every core academic subject the individual teaches; or 
d) Holds a valid National Board for Professional Teaching Standards 
(NBPTS) certification in a core content area and is teaching in the 
NBPTS area of certification; or 

a) Has passed the Louisiana subject-specific licensing exam required for a 
secondary (grades 7-12) academic content area, for every core academic 
subject the individual teaches; OR 
b) Has the equivalent of an academic major in a secondary content area, for 
every core academic subject the individual teaches; OR 
c) Has earned a master's degree in a pure content area (not in education) for 
every core academic subject the individual teaches; or 
d) Holds a valid National Board for Professional Teaching Standards 
(NBPTS) certification in a core content area and is teaching in the NBPTS 
area of certification; or 
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QUALIFIES UNDER 
High Objective Uniform State Standard of Evaluation (HOUSSE) 

 For "Not New" Middle School and Secondary Teachers 
(By School Year 2005-2006) 

A "not new" teacher who does not meet the requirements of the paragraphs 3(a), 3(b), 3(c), or 3(d) above is considered highly qualified if he/she is state certified 
and teaching in the area of certification and if he/she completes ninety (90) Continuing Learning Units (CLUs) by the end of 2005-2006.  
*A Continuing Learning Unit (CLU) is a professional development activity that builds capacity for effective, research-based, content focused teaching and 
learning that positively impacts student achievement. The Louisiana Professional Development Guidance will be used to define the 90 continuing learning units. 

 
State of Louisiana? Highly Qualified Paraprofessional 

Requirements and Institutions of Higher Education  
for Paraprofessional Education 

The No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 was signed into 
law by President Bush on January 8, 2002. The Act was 
established to ensure that all children have a fair, equal, and 
significant opportunity to obtain a high-quality education 
and reach, at a minimum, proficiency on challenging state 
academic achievement standards and state academic 
assessments. Title I, as amended by the No Child Left 
Behind Act, has new requirements for paraprofessionals.  
Definition of Paraprofessional 

For the purposes of Title I, Part A, a paraprofessional is an 
employee who provides instructional support in a program 
supported with Title I, Part A funds. 

This includes paraprofessionals who (1) provide one-on-
one tutoring if such tutoring is scheduled at a time when a 
student would not otherwise receive instruction from a 
teacher, (2) assist with classroom management, such as 
organizing instructional and other materials, (3) provide 
instructional assistance in a computer laboratory, (4) conduct 
parental involvement activities, (5) provide support in a 
library or media enter, (6) act as a translator, or (7) provide 
instructional support services under the direct supervision of 
a teacher [Title I, section 1119(g)(2)].  

Individuals who function as interpreters/transliterators and 
who are providing only communication assistance (not 
instructional support) and who possess one of the following 
Educational Interpreter certificates: Ancillary Provisional 
Certificate, Ancillary Grandfather Certificate, or Qualified 
Ancillary Certificate, are not considered paraprofessionals 
under Title I. 

Individuals who work in food services, cafeteria or 
playground supervision, personal care services, non-
instructional computer assistance, and similar positions are 
not considered paraprofessionals under Title I. 
Requirements for Title I Paraprofessionals 

All Title I paraprofessionals hired on or before January 8, 
2002, and working in a program supported with Title I funds 
must meet the following requirements by January 8, 2006. 
All Title I paraprofessionals hired after January 8, 2002, 
must meet the following requirements to be hired: 

Possess a secondary school diploma or its recognized 
equivalent (e.g., Graduate Equivalency Examination - GED). 
(NOTE: This includes paraprofessionals who serve as 
translators or who conduct parental involvement activities.); 
and 

Pass a state approved assessment for paraprofessionals; or 

Obtain an associate (or higher) degree at a higher 
education institution; or  

Complete two years of full time study at an institution of 
higher education. 

Louisiana's Pathways for Paraprofessionals  
to Meet State Requirements  

The U.S. Department of Education specifies that 
paraprofessionals should be able to demonstrate knowledge 
of and the ability to assist in instruction in the areas of 
reading, writing, and math, or in "school readiness." 
Paraprofessionals are expected to have a working knowledge 
of these academic areas. Louisiana will offer all 
paraprofessionals three pathways to meet federal 
requirements. 

Pathway 1: State Test 
A paraprofessional who passes the ETS Para -Pro 

Assessment will meet state and federal requirements to be 
classified as a "highly qualified paraprofessional." A 
paraprofessional "not new to the profession" who passes the 
ACT Work Keys assessment and who has successful 
observations will meet the state and federal requirements to 
be classified as a "highly qualified paraprofessional."  

Pathway 2: Two Years of Full Time Study (48 Semester 
Credit Hours) 

State, district, and post-secondary education personnel 
collaborated in identifying course requirements for 
paraprofessionals (within a state approved institution of 
higher education) that will assist paraprofessionals when 
instructing students in the areas or reading, writing, math, 
and school readiness.  

Pathway 3: Associate Degree 
State, district, and post-secondary education personnel 

collaborated in identifying course requirements for 
paraprofessionals (within a state-approved institution of 
higher education) that will assist paraprofessionals when 
instructing students in the areas of reading, writing, math, 
and school readiness. 
State Approved Institutions of Higher Education 

State-approved higher education institutions may offer 
coursework to paraprofessionals. To be approved by the 
state, institutions must be accredited by a nationally 
recognized accrediting agency/association or granted pre-
accreditation status. Newly developed public institutions that 
are formally seeking accreditation through the Southern 
Association for Colleges and Schools may obtain pre-
accreditation status from the state. A list of approved 
institutions is available from the Department of Education 
upon request. 
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Highly Qualified Paraprofessional in Louisiana 

New to the Profession 
Pathway 1: Has passed the Educational Testing Service Para-Pro Assessment; OR 

Pathway 2:   Has two years of full-time study (48 semester credit hours) from the recommended list of state-approved institutions of higher education or from a regionally 
accredited institution(s) of higher education. A total of 18 hours of general education course requirements include English Composition (3), English/Reading (6), 
and Mathematics (9). For the remaining 30 hours of coursework, acceptance of credit for a course shown on a transcript from an approved higher education 
institution is left to school district discretion in addressing the needs of the specific job; OR 

Pathway 3:   Has Associate of Arts or Associate of Applied Science degree from a state-approved or regionally accredited institution of higher education.  
"Not New" Paraprofessionals 

(By January 2006) 
Pathway 1: Has passed the Educational Testing Service Para-Pro Assessment; OR 
Pathway 2: Has two years of full-time study (48 semester credit hours) from the recommended list of state-approved institutions of higher education or from a 
regionally accredited institution(s) of higher education. A total of 18 hours of general education course requirements include English Composition (3), 
English/Reading (6), and Mathematics (9). For the remaining 30 hours of coursework, acceptance of credit for a course shown on a transcript from an approved 
higher education institution is left to school district discretion in addressing the needs of the specific job; or 
Pathway 3: Has Associate of Arts or Associate of Applied Science degree from a state-approved or regionally accredited institution of higher education; OR 

Pathway 4: Has successfully completed the ACT, Inc., Work Keys skills assessments and on-the-job observation.  
 

Curriculum Pathways for Paraprofessionals Course 

 
 

Recommended Courses 
Pathway 3 

Types 
Pathway 1: 

Para-Pro 
Assessment 

Pathway 2:** 
48 credit hours Associate of 

Science 
Degree 

Associate of Applied Science 
Degree (60+ credit hours) 

Associate of Arts Degree 
 (60+ credit hours) 

*General 
Education 
Courses 
 

  
  

English Composition (3) 
English/Reading (6) 
Mathematics (9) 

  English Composition (3), 
Humanities (3), 
Math - Algebra (3), 
Natural Sciences (3), 
Social/Behavioral Science (3) 

English Composition (6), 
Humanities (Eng. Lit.) (6), 
Math-Algebra, etc. (12), Natural 
Sciences (15), Social/ 
Behavioral Sciences (12), Fine 
Arts (3) 

Teacher 
Preparation 
Courses  
 

      Child/Adolescent Develop. (3) Select 3 of the following: Child/ 
Adolescent Develop. (3); 
Educational Psychology (3); 
Multi-cultural/Exceptional 
Education (3); Educational 
Technology (3); Children's 
Literature (3) 

Paraprofessional 
Courses  
 

  For remaining 30 hours of 
coursework, acceptance of credit 
for a course shown on a transcript 
from an approved institution of 
higher education is left  to school 
district discretion in addressing the 
needs of the specific job. 
Guidelines for prescriptive plan 
requiring additional course-work: 
School districts should consider at 
least 3 hours of reading and at least 
12 hours from list of available 
paraprofessional courses, as 
follows: Strategies for Teaching and 
Learning; Assessment of Learning; 
Classroom and Behavior 
Management; and Addressing the 
Needs of Exceptional Children. 
Discipline-specific electives may 
include as many as 12 hours of 
developmental (remedial) courses. 
 

  Introduction to 
Paraprofessional Education 
(3); Applied Literacy 
Development (3); Strategies 
for Teaching and Learning (3); 
Applied Assessment of 
Learning (3); Applied 
Classroom/ Behavior Mgt. (3); 
Addressing the Needs of 
Exceptional Children (3); 
Application of Computer 
Techno-logy (3); Family, 
School, & Community 
Relations (3); Health & Safety 
in Schools (3); 
Paraprofessional Practicum–
Teaching, Learning, & Record 
Keeping (3) 
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*General Education and Teacher Preparation courses must 
address the K-12 state content standards, Louisiana 
Components of Effective Teaching, NCATE standards, and 
PRAXIS expectations. 
**Pathway 2 was formally adopted by the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education on June 19, 2003, as 
part of Louisiana's highly qualified paraprofessional 
definition, after being amended to reflect further collaboration 
by state department and district personnel, as shown above. 

* * * 
 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0402#016 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746? Louisiana Standards for State Certification  
of School Personnel? Practitioner Teacher Program  

(LAC 28:I.903) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended to Bulletin 746? Louisiana 
Standards for State Certification of School Personnel , 
referenced in LAC 28:I.903.A. This policy amends current 
policy to:  

(1) provide that the assessment portion of the Louisiana 
Teacher Assistance and Assessment Program not remain a 
requirement for full completion of the Practitioner Teacher 
Program for alternate certification,  

(2) retain the mentoring component as a continued 
support mechanism for the internship for all Practitioner 
Teacher Program candidates, and  

(3) allow eligibility of candidates for Level 1 
certificates at the completion of the internship year, provided 
all other program requirements have been met. This 
amended policy will allow those completing the Practitioner 
Teacher Program to become certified prior to completing the 
assessment portion of the Louisiana Teacher Assistance and 
Assessment Program, as is the case for all other candidates 
for initial Louisiana certification.  

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§903. Teacher Certification Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 746 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 1:183 (April 1975), LR 
1:311 (July 1975), LR 1:399 (September 1975), LR 1:541 
(December 1975), amended LR 28:2505 (December 2002), LR 
29:117 (February 2003), LR 29:119 (February 2003), LR 29:121 
(February 2003), LR 30:206 (February 2004). 

Practitioner Teacher Program 
A. Major Components of the Practitioner Teacher 

Program 

1. Universities, school districts, or private providers 
(e.g., Teach for America) will be able to offer a Practitioner 
Teacher Program.  

2. Individuals will be considered for admission to a 
Practitioner Teacher Program if they possess a baccalaureate 
degree from a regionally-accredited university with a 2.2 or 
higher GPA* and already possess the content knowledge to 
teach the subject area(s). To demonstrate knowledge of 
subject area(s), all individuals (with the exception of those 
who already possess a graduate degree) will be required to 
pass the Pre-Professional Skills Test (e.g., reading, writing, 
and mathematics) for the PRAXIS. Teachers of grades 1-6 
(regular and special education) must pass the Elementary 
Education Content Knowledge specialty examination of the 
PRAXIS (#0014), and teachers of grades 4-8 (regular and 
special education) must pass the Middle School Content 
Knowledge specialty examination (#0146). Teachers of 
grades 7-12 (regular and special education) must pass the 
specialty examination on the PRAXIS in the content area(s) 
(e.g., English, mathematics, science, social studies, etc.) in 
which they intend to be certified. (*Appropriate, successful 
work experience can be substituted for the required GPA, at 
the discretion of the program provider.) 

3. If admitted to the Practitioner Teacher Program, 
individuals who intend to be certified to teach grades 1-6, 4-
8, or 7-12 must successfully complete nine credit hours (or 
135 contact hours) of instruction during the summer prior to 
the first year of teaching. Practitioner teachers will be 
exposed to teaching experiences in field-based schools while 
involved in course work. 

4. All practitioner teachers will teach during the 
regular school year in the area(s) in which they are pursuing 
certification and participate in 12 credit hours (or 180 
contact hours) of seminars and supervised internship during 
the fall and spring to address their immediate needs. 
Practitioner teachers will be observed and provided feedback 
about their teaching from the program provider. In addition, 
practitioner teachers will be supported by school-based 
mentors from the Louisiana Assistance and Assessment 
Program and by principals. 

5. Practitioner teachers who complete the required 
course requirements (or equivalent contact hours) with a 2.5 
or higher GPA and demonstrate proficiency during their first 
year of teaching can obtain a Level 1 Professional License 
after successfully completing all requirements for the 
Practitioner Teacher Program (which includes passing scores 
on the PRAXIS). 

6. Practitioner teachers who successfully complete the 
required courses (or equivalent contact hours) and 
demonstrate weaknesses during their first year of teaching 
will be required to complete from one to nine additional 
credit hours/equivalent contact hours. A team composed of 
the program provider, school principal, mentor teacher, and 
practitioner teacher will determine the types of courses and 
hours to be completed. The number of hours, which will be 
based upon the extent of the practitioner teachers' needs, 
must be successfully completed within the next two years. 
The team will also determine when the practitioner teachers 
should be assessed for the Louisiana Assistance and 
Assessment Program during the next two year time period. 
Additionally, for teachers who successfully completed the
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Louisiana Assistance and Assessment Program prior to 
entering the Practitioner Teacher Program, the team will 
determine if the Louisiana Components of Effective 
Teaching are still being exhibited by the teacher at the 
"competent" level and, if so, allow by unanimous decision 
the teacher to be exempted from completing the Assessment 
part of the Louisiana Assistance and Assessment Program. 
The practitioner teachers must successfully complete all 
requirements for the Practitioner Teacher Program (which 
includes passing scores on the PRAXIS in the specialty 
areas) and must teach for a total of three years before 
receiving a Level 2 Professional License.  

7. The State's new Teacher Preparation Accountability 
System will be used to evaluate the effectiveness of all 
Practitioner Teacher Programs. 

B. Structure for a Practitioner Teacher Program 
Program Providers 

Practitioner Teacher Programs may be developed and 
administered by: 

1. universities; 
2. school districts; and 
3. other agencies (e.g., Teach for America, Troops for 

Teachers, Regional Service Centers, etc.). 
The same State Teacher Preparation Accountability 

System will be utilized to assess the effectiveness of the 
Practitioner Teacher Programs provided by universities, 
school districts, and other agencies. 

 
Program Process 

Areas Course/Contact 
Hours  Activities Support 

1. Admission To 
Program 
(Spring and Early 
Summer) 

  Program providers will work with district personnel to identify Practitioner Teacher Program 
candidates who will be employed by districts during the fall and spring. 
To be admitted, individuals must: 
a.  possess a baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited university. 
b.  have a 2.2 GPA on undergraduate work. (*Appropriate, successful work experience can be 
substituted for the required GPA, at the discretion of the program provider.) 
c.  pass the Pre-Professional Skills Test (e.g., reading, writing, and mathematics) on the 
PRAXIS. (Individuals who already possess a graduate degree will be exempted from this 
requirement.) 
d.  pass t he content specific examinations for the PRAXIS: 
     (1)  Practitioner candidates for Grades 1-6 (regular and special education): Pass the 
Elementary Education Content Knowledge (#0014) examination; 
     (2)  Practitioner candidates for Grades 4-8 (regular and special education): Pass the Middle 
School Content Knowledge (#0146) examination; 
     (3)  Practitioner candidates for Grades 7-12 (regular and special education): Pass the content 
specialty examination(s) (e.g., English, mathematics, etc.) on the P RAXIS in the content area(s) 
in which they intend to teach. 
e.  meet other non-course requirements established by the program providers. 

  
  

2. Teaching 
Preparation 
(Summer) 

9 credit hours or 
135 equivalent 
contact hours (5-
8 weeks)  

All teachers will part icipate in field-based experiences in school settings while completing the 
summer courses (or equivalent contact hours). 
Grades 1-6, 4-8, and 7-12 practitioner teachers will successfully complete courses (or equivalent 
contact hours) pertaining to child/adolescent development/psychology, the diverse learner, 
classroom management/organization, assessment, instructional design, and instructional 
strategies before starting their teaching internships.  
Mild/moderate special education teachers will successfully complete courses (or equivalent 
contact hours) that focus upon the special needs of the mild/moderate exceptional child, 
classroom management, behavioral management, assessment and evaluation, methods/materials 
for mild/moderate exceptional children, and vocational and transition services for students with 
disabilities.  

Program 
Providers  

3. Teaching Internship 
And First Year 
Support  
(Fall and Spring) 

12 credit hours or 
180 equivalent 
contact hours 
throughout the 
year.  

Practitioner teachers will assume full-time teaching positions in districts. During the school year, 
these individuals will participate in two seminars (one seminar during the fall and one seminar 
during the spring) that address immediate needs of the Practitioner Teacher Program teachers 
and will receive one-on-one supervision through a year-long internship provided by the program 
providers. The practitioner teacher will also receive support from school-based mentor teachers 
(provided by the Louisiana Teacher Assistance and Assessment Program) and principals. 

Program 
Providers, 
Principals 
and Mentors 
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4. Teaching 
Performance Review 
(End of First Year) 

 Program providers, principals, mentors, and practitioner teachers will form teams to review the 
first year teaching performance of practit ioner teachers and to determine the extent to which the 
practitioner teachers have demonstrated teaching proficiency. If practitioner teachers 
demonstrate proficiency, they will enter into the assessment portion of the Louisiana Teacher 
Assistance and Assessment Program during the next fall. (If a practitioner teacher who passed 
the assessment portion of the Louisiana Teacher Assistance and Assessment Program prior to 
entering the Practitioner Teacher Program continues to demonstrate the Louisiana Components 
of Effective Teaching at the "competent" level, the team may, by unanimous decision, exempt 
the teacher from completing the Assessment part of the Louisiana Assistance and Assessment 
Program.) If weaknesses are cited, the teams will identify additional types of instruction needed 
to address the areas of need. Prescriptive plans that require from one to nine credit hours (or 15-
135 equivalent contact hours) of instruction will be developed for practitioner teachers. In 
addition, the teams will determine whether the practitioner teachers should participate in the new 
teacher assessment during the fall or whether the practitioner teachers should receive additional 
mentor support and be assessed after the fall. 

  

5. Prescriptive Plan 
Implementation 
(Second Year) 

9 credit hours (or 
15-135 equivalent 
hours)  

Practitioner teachers who demonstrate areas of need will complete prescriptive plans.  Program 
Providers 

6. Louisiana 
Assessment Program 
(Second Year) 

 Practitioner teachers will be assessed during the fall or later depending upon their teaching 
proficiencies. 

Program 
Providers 

7. Praxis Review 
(Second Year) 

 Program providers will offer review sessions to prepare practitioner teachers to pass remaining 
components of the PRAXIS. 

Program 
Providers 

8. Certification 
Requirements 
(Requirements must be 
met within a three-year 
time period. A 
practitioner teacher's 
license will not be 
renewed if all course 
requirements are not 
met within these three 
years.) 

 Program providers will submit signed statements to the Louisiana Department of Education to 
indicate that the practitioner teachers completed Practitioner Teacher Programs and met the 
following requirements within a three-year time period: 
1. passed the PPST components of the PRAXIS. (Note: This test was required for admission.) 
2. completed the Teaching Preparation and Teaching Internship segments of the program with 
a 2.5 or higher cumulative GPA. 
3. completed prescriptive plans (if weaknesses were demonstrated). 
4. passed the specialty examination (PRAXIS) for their area(s) of certification. 
 a. Grades 1-6: Elementary Education Content Knowledge Examination #0014 (Note: 
This test was required for admission)  
 b. Grades 4-8: Middle School Content Knowledge Exam (#0146); 
 c. (Note: This test was required for admission.) 
 d. Grades 7-12: Specialty content test in areas to be certified. (Note: This test was 
required for admission.) 
 e. Mild/Moderate Special Education 1-12: Special Education (to be determined) 
5. passed the Principals of Learning and Teaching examination (PRAXIS)  
 a. Grades 1-6: Principles of Learning and Teaching; 
 b. Grades 4-8: Principles of Learning and Teaching; 
 c. Grades 7-12: Principles of Learning and Teaching. 

  

9. Ongoing Support 
(Second and Third 
Year) 

 Program providers will provide support services to practitioner teachers during their second and 
third years of teaching. Types of support may include on-line support, Internet resources, special 
seminars, etc. 

Program 
Providers 

10. Professional 
License (Practitioner 
License to Type 2)  

 Practitioner teachers will be issued a Practitioner License when they enter the program. They 
will be issued a Level 1 Professional License once they have successfully completed all 
requirements of the program; after three years of teaching they will be eligible for a Level 2 
license. 
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Undergraduate/Graduate Courses  
and Graduate Programs  

Universities may offer the courses at undergraduate or 
graduate levels. Efforts should be made to allow students to 
use graduate hours as electives if the students are pursuing a 
graduate degree. 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0402#015 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 1963? Louisiana Arts Content Standards 
State Standards for Curriculum Development 

(LAC 28:LI.Chapters 1-9) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education adopted revision of Bulletin 1963? Louisiana Arts 
Content Standards. This document replaces any previously 
advertised versions. Bulletin 1963, which was originally 
approved by BESE in 1997, has been revised to ensure it is 
up-to-date and appropriate to serve as the foundation for 
assessment development. The Louisiana Arts Content 
Standards will benefit district fine arts education programs 
throughout the state by serving as a guide for curriculum 
development and instruction in fine arts education. With a 
strong emphasis on developing knowledge, skills, and 
habits, these content standards are focused on student and 
society's needs. With their adoption, Louisiana fine arts 
education programs will be closely aligned with the National 
Standards for Arts Education. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part LI.  Bulletin 1963? Louisiana Arts Content 
Standards  

Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§101. Introduction 

A. The arts? dance, music, theatre arts, and visual arts, 
are fundamental to the intellectual, social, emotional, and 
physical development of Louisiana students in the twenty-
first century. The arts draw on a range of intelligence, 
aesthetics, and learning styles not addressed in most 
educational environments. 

B. Students of the arts are encouraged to use their 
imaginations, to develop personal discipline, and to find 
multiple solutions to problems. They learn to respond to 
events and experiences with confidence and to communicate 
their feelings and viewpoints through appropriate creative 
outlets. 

C. Business demands workers who possess an ability to 
communicate, to be flexible, and to diagnose problems and 
find creative solutions. The arts preceded speech as man's 
first language; they assisted in the development of the skills 
of communication and the integration of basic skills of 
reading, writing, science, and mathematics. These skills help 
students shape their lives, their communities, and their 
nation. The arts make all subjects come alive. 

D. The Louisiana Arts Content Standards bring together 
the basic content of the four disciplines of dance, music, 
theatre arts, and visual arts, into one common set of 
standards essential for a comprehensive arts education. The 
twenty-first century, the age of information, requires more 
from the next generation of students. The relevance of 
education in a rapidly changing society will depend on 
converging the aims of education and the workforce for 
well-rounded, educated students who will be productive 
members of society. The arts will assist in the achievement 
of these aims with the implementation of these rigorous and 
challenging content standards. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 
30:209 (February 2004).  
§103. Standards of Arts Education 

A. Creative Expression. Creative Expression is the 
ability to imagine, organize and interpret ideas for 
expression in the process of creating and producing art forms 
which involve inspiration, analysis, and problem solving.  

1. Standard. Students develop creative expression 
through the application of knowledge, ideas, communication 
skills, organization abilities, and imagination. 

B. Aesthetic Perception. Aesthetic Perception is the 
ability to perceive the unique characteristics of natural 
environments and human creations, to respond to aesthetic 
ideas and experiences, and to develop awareness of beauty 
and meaning in the arts. 

1. Standard. Students develop aesthetic perception 
through the knowledge of art forms and respect for their 
commonalties and differences. 

C. Historical and Cultural Perspective. Historical and 
Cultural Perspective is the ability to recognize the arts as a 
reflection of individual and cultural expression and to 
appreciate the aspects of history and human experience. 

1. Standard. Students develop historical and cultural 
perspective by recognizing and understanding that the arts 
throughout history are a record of human experience with a 
past, present, and future.  

D. Critical Analysis. Critical Analysis is the ability to 
interpret, analyze and synthesize the performing and visual 
arts to form judgments based on sufficient and appropriate 
criteria. 

1. Standard. Students make informed verbal and 
written observations about the arts by developing skills for 
critical analysis through the study of and exposure to the 
arts. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 
30:209 (February 2004). 
§105. Definitions 

Assessment? a process through which evidence is gathered 
in a range of content areas to determine both a student's 
understanding and the ability to apply that understanding. 

Benchmark? a broad statement of process and/or content 
that is used as a reference to develop curricula and to assess 
student progress. 
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Content Area? a field of study or branch of knowledge 
formally referred to as a subject area or discipline. 

Content Standard? a description of what students should 
know and be able to do through subject matter, knowledge, 
proficiencies, etc., gained as a result of their education. 

Focus? a statement describing the importance of a content 
strand. 

Foundation Skills? processes that are common to all areas 
and levels of education and that are intended to suggest 
methods and objectives of instructional strategies. 

Framework? a document for a content area that reflects 
national standards and provides a guiding vision of its 
content and purpose. 

Integrated? the combining the elements across the strands 
within a particular content area or framework . 

Interdisciplinary? the combining of the elements across 
the various content areas or frameworks. 

Performance Standards? the level of knowledge or 
proficiency that students should manifest as a result of their 
education. 

Strands? categories within particular content areas, which 
may vary from discipline to discipline. Strands are 
interrelated and should be integrated , rather than taught in 
isolation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:209 (February 2004).  
§107. Foundation Skills  

A. The following foundation skills shall apply to all 
students in all disciplines. These foundation skills are listed 
numerically in parentheses after each benchmark in this Part 
LI. 

1. Communication? a process by which information is 
exchanged and a concept of "meaning" is created and shared 
between individuals through a common system of symbols, 
signs, or behavior. Students should be able to communicate 
clearly, fluently, strategically, technologically, critically, and 
creatively in society and in a variety of workplaces. This 
process can best be accomplished through use of the 
following skills: 

a. reading; 
b. writing; 
c. speaking; 
d. listening; 
e. viewing; and 
f. visually representing. 

2. Problem Solving? the identification of an obstacle 
or challenge and the subsequent application of knowledge 
and thinking processes, which include reasoning, decision 
making, and inquiry in order to reach a solution using 
multiple pathways, even when no routine path is apparent. 

3. Resource Access and Utilization? the process of 
identifying, locating, selecting, and using resource tools to 
help in analyzing, synthesizing, and communicating 
information. The identification and employment of 
appropriate tools, techniques, and technologies are essential 
to all learning processes. These resource tools include: 

a. pen; 
b. pencil and paper; 
c. audio/video materials; 
d. word processors; 

e. computers; 
f. interactive devices; 
g. telecommunication; and 
h. other emerging technologies. 

4. Linking and Generating Knowledge? the effective 
use of cognitive processes to generate and link knowledge 
across the disciplines and in a variety of contexts. In order to 
engage in the principles of continual improvement, students 
must be able to transfer and elaborate on these processes. 
Transfer refers to the ability to apply a strategy or content 
knowledge effectively in a setting or context other than that 
in which it was originally learned. Elaboration refers to 
monitoring, adjusting, and expanding strategies into other 
contexts. 

5. Citizenship? the application of the understanding of 
the ideals, rights, and responsibilities of active participation 
in a democratic republic that includes: 

a. working respectfully and productively together 
for the benefit of the individual and the community; 

b. being accountable for one's own choices and 
actions and understanding their impact on oneself and 
others; 

c. knowing one's civil, constitutional, and statutory 
rights; and  

d. mentoring others to become productive citizens 
and lifelong learners. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education,  LR 30:210 (February 2004). 
Chapter 3. Dance 
Subchapter A. Creative Expression 
§301. Purpose 

A. Focus. Creative expression opens an avenue for the 
application of individual ideas, feelings, and expressions. 
The use of a variety of media and techniques provides an 
opportunity for the individual to develop, organize, and 
interpret knowledge for communication. The skills of 
analysis, problem solving, cooperative involvement, and 
disciplined behavior contribute to a successful school 
environment and prepare the individual to become a 
productive member of society. 

B. Standard. Students develop creative expression 
through the application of knowledge, ideas, communication 
skills, organizational abilities, and imagination. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:210 (February 2004).  
§303. Benchmarks K-4 

A. In grades K-4, students should know and be able to: 
 

D-CE-E1 
Use kinesthetic awareness, proper 
use of space, and the ability to 
move safely  (1, 2, 5) 

D-CE-E2 
Explore and demonstrate basic 
movements and the elements of 
dance (space, time, and energy)  (1, 2) 

D-CE-E3 
Recognize and explore dance as a 
way to create and communicate 
ideas and feelings (1, 4) 

D-CE-E4 
Explore the process of making a 
dance; improvise to create a dance 
phrase (1, 2 ) 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 30, No. 2   February 20, 2004 211 

D-CE-E5 

Execute improvised and set 
movement patterns with 
concentration and focus 
individually and in groups (1, 4, 5) 

D-CE-E6 
Identify relationship among dance, 
other arts, and disciplines outside 
the arts (1, 4) 

D-CE-E7 

Develop awareness of technical 
dimensions of dance, such as 
costumes, performance space, and 
set design  (2, 4) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:210 (February 2004). 
§305. Benchmarks 5-8 

A. In grades 5-8, students should know and be able to: 
 

D-CE-M1 Demonstrate self-monitoring and 
effective use of space (2, 5) 

D-CE-M2 

Use the elements of dance to 
execute basic movements with 
increased skill and develop a 
movement vocabulary (1, 4) 

D-CE-M3 
Demonstrate the ability to use 
dance as a language and means of 
communication (1, 4) 

D-CE-M4 

Use improvisation, choreography, 
and choreographic forms to 
sequence movements into dance 
phrases (2, 3) 

D-CE-M5 
Perform informal and formal dance 
compositions individually and in 
groups (1, 4, 5) 

D-CE-M6 
Understand and express 
relationships among dance, other 
arts, and disciplines outside the arts (1, 4) 

 
D-CE-M7 

Engage in individual and 
collaborative use of technical 
dimensions of dance and explore 
how use of current technology can 
enhance dance ideas 

 
(2, 3, 5) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:211 (February 2004). 
§307. Benchmarks 9-12 

A. In grades 9-12, students should know and be able to: 
 

D-CE-H1 
Incorporate kinesthetic awareness, 
use of space, and self-evaluation to 
refine performance skills (2, 4, 5) 

D-CE-H2 
Use the elements of dance to 
develop technical skills and expand 
or refine movement vocabulary (1, 4) 

D-CE-H3 Utilize dance as an expression of 
individual ideas and feelings (1, 4, 5) 

D-CE-H4 
Incorporate improvisation, 
choreography, and choreographic 
forms into dance compositions (2, 3) 

D-CE-H5 
Present and evaluate dance 
compositions designed to display 
skills and techniques (1, 2, 4, 5) 

D-CE-H6 Present a multi-disciplinary dance 
project  (1, 2, 4, 5) 

D-CE-H7 
Manipulate technical dimensions 
of dance individually and 
collaboratively  (2, 5) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:211 (February 2004). 

 
§309. Creative Expression? Grade Cluster 

 
Grade Cluster K–4 5–8 9–12 

Benchmark 1 Use kinesthetic awareness, proper use of 
space and the ability to move safely (1, 2, 5) 

Demonstrate self-monitoring and 
effective use of space (2, 5) 

Incorporate kinesthetic awareness, use 
of space and self-evaluation to refine 
performance skills (2, 4, 5) 

Benchmark 2 Explore and demonstrate basic movements 
and the elements of dance (space, time, and 
energy) (1, 2) 

Use the elements of dance to execute 
basic movements with increased skill 
and develop a movement vocabulary 
(1, 4) 

Use the elements of dance to develop 
technical skills and expand or refine 
movement vocabulary (1, 4) 

Benchmark 3 Recognize and explore dance as a way to 
create and communicate ideas and feelings 
(1, 4) 

Demonstrate the ability to use dance as 
a language and means of 
communication (1, 4) 

Utilize dance as an expression of 
individual ideas and feelings (1, 4, 5) 

Benchmark 4 Explore the process of making a dance; 
improvise to create a dance phrase (1, 2) 

Use improvisation, choreography, and 
choreographic forms to sequence 
movements into dance phrases ( 2, 3) 

Incorporate improvisation, 
choreography and choreographic forms 
into dance compositions (2, 3) 

Benchmark 5 Execute improvised and set movement 
patterns with concentration and focus 
individually and in groups 
(1, 4, 5) 

Perform informal and formal dance 
compositions individually and in 
groups (1, 4, 5) 

Present and evaluate dance 
compositions designed to display skills 
and techniques (1, 2, 4, 5) 

Benchmark 6 Identify relationships among dance, other 
arts, and disciplines outside the arts (1, 4) 

Understand and express relationships 
among dance, other arts, and 
disciplines outside the arts 
(1, 4) 

Present a multi-disciplinary dance 
project (1, 2, 4, 5) 
 

Benchmark 7 Develop awareness of technical dimensions 
of dance, such as costumes, performance 
space, and set design (2, 4) 

Engage in individual and collaborative 
use of technical dimensions of dance 
and explore how use of current 
technology can enhance dance ideas 
(2, 3, 5) 

Manipulate technical dimensions of 
dance individually and collaboratively 
(2, 5) 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:211 (February 2004). 
Subchapter B. Aesthetic Perception 
§311. Purpose 

A. Focus. The study of aesthetics, or the philosophy of 
the arts, cultivates the direct experience of the senses and 
supplies the individual with a structure for perceiving and 
responding to the arts. A grasp of aesthetics empowers the 
individual to experience beauty in many forms, to appreciate 
artistic expression, and to develop insight into the creations 
and performances of others. By questioning concepts, 
weighing evidence, and examining intuitive reactions, the 
individual becomes increasingly discriminating in 
formulating preferences and conclusions about the values 
inherent in art. Aesthetic perception promotes creativity, 
flexible thinking, and the pursuit of excellence. 

B. Standard. Students develop aesthetic perception 
through the knowledge of art forms and respect for their 
commonalities and differences. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:212 (February 2004). 
§313. Benchmarks K-4 

A. In grades K-4, students should know and be able to: 
 

D-AP-E1 Recognize the elements of dance and apply 
basic dance vocabulary (1, 4) 

D-AP-E2 
Recognize and respond to concepts of 
beauty and taste in the ideas and creations 
of others through the study of dance (1, 4, 5) 

D-AP-E3 Identify and discuss how dance affects 
thoughts and feelings (1, 2, 4) 

D-AP-E4 
Recognize that there are many possibilities 
and choices available in the process of 
creating a dance (3, 4) 

D-AP-E5 
Develop a basic understanding of the 
processes of creating, performing, and 
observing dance (2, 5) 

D-AP-E6 

Recognize how dance differs from other 
forms of human movement and share 
personal feelings or preferences about 
dance (1, 2, 4) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:212 (February 2004). 
§315. Benchmarks 5-8 

A. In grades 5-8, students should know and be able to: 
 

D-AP-M1 Understand the elements of dance and 
apply expanded dance vocabulary (1, 4) 

D-AP-M2 
Recognize that concepts of beauty differ 
from culture to culture and that taste varies 
from person to person (1, 4, 5) 

D-AP-M3 Describe the sensory, emotional, and 
intellectual impact of works of dance (1, 2, 4) 

D-AP-M4 
Demonstrate awareness of various new 
ideas, possibilities, options, and situations 
pertaining to creating dance (1, 4) 

D-AP-M5 
Identify and discuss appropriate behaviors 
for creators, performers, and observers of 
dance (1, 4, 5) 

D-AP-M6 
Discuss the question, "What is dance?" and 
express intuitive reactions and personal 
responses to dance (1, 4) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:212 (February 2004). 
§317. Benchmarks 9-12 

A. In grades 9-12, students should know and be able to: 
 

D-AP-H1 Understand the elements of dance and 
apply advanced dance vocabulary (1, 4) 

D-AP-H2 
Distinguish unique characteristics of dance 
as it reflects concepts of beauty and quality 
of life in various cultures (1, 4, 5) 

D-AP-H3 Analyze and express the impact of dance 
on intellect, and emotions (1, 4, 5) 

D-AP-H4 
Compare and contrast multiple possibilities 
and options available for artistic 
expression through dance (1, 4) 

D-AP-H5 
Discuss the significance of collaboration 
and other group dynamics in creating, 
performing and observing dance (1, 4, 5) 

D-AP-H6 
Question/weigh evidence and information, 
examine intuitive reactions, and articulate 
personal attitudes toward dance (1, 2, 5) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:212 (February 2004). 

 

§319. Aesthetic Perception? Grade Cluster 
 

Grade Cluster K–4 5–8 9–12 
Benchmark 1 Recognize the elements of dance and 

apply basic dance vocabulary (1, 4) 
Understand the elements of dance and 
apply expanded dance vocabulary (1, 4) 

Understand the elements of dance 
and apply advanced dance 
vocabulary (1, 4) 

Benchmark 2 Recognize and respond to concepts of 
beauty and taste in the ideas and 
creations of others through the study of 
dance (1, 4, 5) 

Recognize that concepts of beauty differ 
from culture to culture and that taste 
varies from person to person (1, 4, 5) 

Distinguish unique characteristics of 
dance as it reflects concepts of 
beauty and quality of life in various 
cultures (1, 4, 5) 

Benchmark 3 Identify and discuss how dance affects 
thoughts and feelings (1, 2, 4) 

Describe the sensory, emotional  
and intellectual impact of works of dance 
(1, 2, 4) 

Analyze and express the impact 
of dance on intellect and emotions 
(1, 4, 5) 

Benchmark 4 Recognize that there are many 
possibilities and choices available in 
the process of creating a dance (3, 4) 

Demonstrate awareness of various new 
ideas, possibilities, options, and situations 
pertaining to creating dance (1, 4) 

Compare and contrast multiple 
possibilities and options available 
for artistic expression through dance 
(1, 4) 
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Grade Cluster K–4 5–8 9–12 
Benchmark 5 Develop a basic understanding of the 

processes of creating, performing, and 
observing dance (2, 5) 

Identify and discuss appropriate behaviors 
for creators, performers, and observers of 
dance (1, 4, 5) 
 

Discuss the significance of 
collaboration and other group 
dynamics in creating, performing, 
and observing dance (1, 4, 5) 

Benchmark 6 Recognize how dance differs from 
other forms of human movement and 
share personal feelings or preferences 
about dance (1, 2, 4) 

Discuss the question, "What is dance?" 
and express intuitive reactions and 
personal responses to dance (1, 4) 

Question/weigh evidence and 
information, examine intuitive 
reactions, and articulate personal 
attitudes toward dance (1, 2, 5) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:212 (February 2004).  
Subchapter C. Historical and Cultural Perspective  
§321. Purpose 

A. Focus. Historical and cultural perspective is the 
vehicle for understanding works of art in time and place. The 
arts survive through times of interruption and neglect; they 
outlive governments, creeds, societies, and even the 
civilizations that spawned them. The artist is a harbinger of 
change, a translator of social thought, an analyst of cultures, 
a poetic scientist, and a recorder of history. To understand 
creative output in the history of the arts is to understand 
history itself. 

B. Standard. Students develop historical and cultural 
perspective by recognizing and understanding that the arts 
throughout history are a record of human experience with a 
past, present, and future. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:213 (February 2004). 
§323. Benchmarks K-4 

A. In grades K-4, students should know and be able to: 

D-HP-E1 

Recognize and discuss the role of 
dance in cultural/historical contexts, 
including celebrations, ceremonies, 
and special occasions (1, 4) 

D-HP-E2 
Recognize basic differences between 
dance styles and identify styles of 
dance in various cultures (1, 3, 4) 

D-HP-E3 
Recognize great dance works, 
innovators, and performers who have 
shaped the history of dance (1, 4) 

D-HP-E4 
Recognize careers in dance and 
identify roles of dancers in various 
cultures and time periods (4) 

D-HP-E5 
Recognize universal themes in dance 
and how dance communicates a 
universal language (1, 4) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:213 (February 2004).  

§325. Benchmarks 5-8 
A. In grades 5-8, students should know and be able to: 
 

D-HP-M1 
Compare the role of dance in various 
cultures and discuss dance in cultural, 
historical, and contemporary contexts (1, 4) 

D-HP-M2 
Identify differences in styles of dance 
and distinguish among dance styles 
from various cultures and time periods (1, 4) 

D-HP-M3 

Identify and discuss the influences of 
great dance works, innovators, and 
performers who have shaped the history 
of dance (1, 4) 

D-HP-M4 
Identify, describe, and compare 
contemporary careers and professions 
in dance (1, 4, 5) 

D-HP-M5 
Identify and discuss universal themes 
exhibited in dance from various 
cultures (1, 4) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:213 (February 2004).  
§327. Benchmarks 9–12 

A. In grades 9–12, students should know and be able to: 

D-HP-H1 
Explain the art of dance in relation to 
cultural values and prevailing social, 
political, and economic conditions (1, 4, 5) 

D-HP-H2 
Compare, contrast, and categorize 
styles of dance representative of various 
cultures and time periods (1, 4) 

D-HP-H3 

Compare and contrast current dance 
innovators and trends with past 
innovators and their contributions to 
dance (3, 4) 

D-HP-H4 
Investigate and assess roles, careers, 
and career opportunities in dance 
production (1, 4) 

D-HP-H5 Analyze universal themes as exhibited 
in dance from various cultures (3, 4) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:213 (February 2004).  
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§329. Historical and Cultural Perspective ?

Grade Cluster 
 

Grade Cluster K–4 5–8 9–12 
Benchmark 1 Recognize and discuss the role of 

dance in cultural/historical contexts, 
including celebrations, ceremonies, 
and special occasions (1, 4) 

Compare the role of dance in various 
cultures and discuss dance in cultural, 
historical, and contemporary contexts 
(1, 4) 

Explain the art of dance in relation 
to cultural values and prevailing 
social, political, and economic 
conditions (1, 4, 5) 

Benchmark 2 Recognize basic differences between 
dance styles and identify styles of 
dance in various cultures (1, 3, 4) 

Identify differences in styles of dance and 
distinguish among dance styles from 
various cultures and time periods (1, 4) 

Compare, contrast, and categorize 
styles of dance representativ e 
of various cultures and time periods 
(1, 4) 

Benchmark 3 Recognize great dance works, 
innovators, and performers who have 
shaped the history of dance (1, 4) 

Identify and discuss the influences of 
great dance works, innovators, and 
performers who have shaped the history 
of dance (1, 4) 

Compare and contrast current dance 
innovators and trends with past 
innovators and their contributions to 
dance (3, 4) 

Benchmark 4 Recognize careers in dance and 
identify roles of dancers in various 
cultures and time periods (4) 

Identify, describe, and compare 
contemporary careers and professions in 
dance (1, 4, 5) 

Investigate and assess roles, careers, 
and career opportunities in dance 
production (1, 4) 

Benchmark 5 Recognize universal themes in dance 
and how dance communicates a 
universal language (1, 4) 

Identify and discuss universal themes 
exhibited in dance from various cultures 
(1, 4) 

Analyze universal themes as 
exhibited in dance from various 
cultures (3, 4) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:214 (February 2004).  
Subchapter D. Critical Analysis 
§331. Purpose 

A. Focus. Critical analysis is the process of inquiry 
associated with an individual's knowledge of the arts. 
Communication about the arts in a structured way provides 
the individual with means to describe, analyze, interpret, and 
make critical, reasoned judgments about the form and 
content of the arts. 

B. Standard. Students make informed verbal and written 
observations about the arts by developing skills for critical 
analysis through the study of and exposure to the arts. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:214 (February 2004).  
§333. Benchmarks K-4 

A. In grades K-4, students should know and be able to: 
 

D-CA-E1 Observe and identify the basic movements 
in dance (3, 4) 

D-CA-E2 Identify basic examples of the dance 
elements in various works of dance  (4) 

D-CA-E3 Recognize and discuss the sequencing of 
movements in dance (1, 4) 

D-CA-E4 Identify the main theme or story idea 
presented in a dance (1, 4) 

D-CA-E5 
Identify and discuss basic ways of 
changing dance movements to improve a 
dance (1, 2, 4) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:214 (February 2004).  

§335. Benchmarks 5-8 
A. In grades 5-8, students should know and be able to: 
 

D-CA-M1 Recognize and describe movement 
content and expression in dance (1, 4) 

D-CA-M2 
Identify how elements of dance are used 
in a work to communicate the 
choreographic intent (1, 2, 4) 

D-CA-M3 
Describe the use of choreographic 
principles such as unity, contrast, 
continuity, and climax in dance (1, 4) 

D-CA-M4 Describe the main theme, story idea, or 
political message conveyed in a dance (1, 4) 

D-CA-M5 Critique works of dance using expanded 
dance vocabulary (1, 2, 5) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:214 (February 2004).  
§337. Benchmarks 9-12 

A. In grades 9-12, students should know and be able to: 
 

D-CA-H1 
Explain the manipulation of movement 
content and how it influences expression 
in a dance (1, 4) 

D-CA-H2 
Explain how elements of dance 
communicate the choreographic intent 
in various works (1, 2, 4) 

D-CA-H3 
Apply understanding of choreographic 
principles and choreographic forms to 
analyze and explain dance (1, 4) 

D-CA-H4 
Describe the social theme conveyed in a 
dance and how personal experience 
influences interpretation of dance (1, 4, 5) 

D-CA-H5 Critique works of dance using advanced 
dance vocabulary (1, 2, 5) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:214 (February 2004).  
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§339. Critical Analysis? Grade Cluster 
 

Grade Cluster K–4 5–8 9–12 
Benchmark 1 Observe and identify the basic 

movements in dance (3, 4) 
Recognize and describe movement 
content and expression in dance (1, 4) 

Explain the manipulation of 
movement content and how it 
influences expression in a dance (1, 
4) 

Benchmark 2  Identify basic examples of the dance 
elements in various works of  
dance (4) 

Identify how elements of dance are used 
in a work to communicate the 
choreographic intent (1, 2, 4) 

Explain how elements of dance 
communicate the choreographic 
intent in various works (1, 2, 4) 

Benchmark 3 Recognize and discuss the sequencing 
of movements in dance (1, 4) 

Describe the use of choreographic 
principles such as unity, contrast, 
continuity, and climax in dance (1, 4) 

Apply understanding of 
choreographic principles and 
choreographic forms to analyze and 
explain dance (1, 4) 

Benchmark 4 Identify the main theme or story idea 
presented in a dance (1, 4) 

Describe the main theme, story idea, or 
political message conveyed in a dance (1, 
4) 

Describe the social theme conveyed 
in a dance and how personal 
experience influences interpretation 
of dance (1, 4, 5) 

Benchmark 5 Identify and discuss basic ways of 
changing dance movements to 
improve a dance (1, 2, 4) 

Critique works of dance using expanded 
dance vocabulary (1, 2, 5) 

Critique works of dance using 
advanced dance vocabulary (1, 2, 5) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:215 (February 2004).  
Chapter 5. Music 
Subchapter A. Creative Expression 
§501. Purpose 

A. Focus. Creative expression opens an avenue for the 
application of individual ideas, feelings, and expressions. 
The use of a variety of media and techniques provides an 
opportunity for the individual to develop, organize, and 
interpret knowledge for communication. The skills of 
analysis, problem solving, cooperative involvement, and 
disciplined behavior contribute to a successful school 
environment and prepare the individual to become a 
productive member of society. 

B. Standard. Students develop creative expression 
through the application of knowledge, ideas, communication 
skills, organizational abilities, and imagination. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:215 (February 2004).  
§503. Benchmarks K-4 

A. In grades K-4, students should know and be able to: 

M-CE-E1 

Recognize and imitate simple melodies 
and rhythmic patterns using voice, 
musical instruments, or other sound 
sources (3) 

M-CE-E2 
Recognize basic notational symbols and 
express vocabulary that conveys precise 
musical meanings (3, 4) 

M-CE-E3 
Improvise or compose and perform 
simple musical ideas, such as echoing 
melody or short rhythmic patterns (1, 4) 

M-CE-E4 

Explore and express basic elements of 
music through voice, musical 
instruments, electronic technology, or 
available media (3) 

M-CE-E5 
Participate in organized musical activities 
including singing, playing, and 
movement (1, 2, 5) 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:215 (February 2004).  
§505. Benchmarks 5–8 

A. In grades 5–8, students should know and be able to: 
 

 
M-CE-M1 

Recognize and perform melodic and 
rhythmic patterns using voice, musical 
instruments, or other sound sources, both 
individually and in ensembles 

 
(1, 3, 4) 

M-CE-M2 
Interpret notational symbols and 
vocabulary that convey precise musical 
meanings (2, 3, 4) 

M-CE-M3 Improvise, or compose and perform 
written music (1, 4) 

 
M-CE-M4 

Recognize and demonstrate elements of 
music, using voice, musical instruments, 
electronic technology, or other available 
media 

 
(3, 4) 

M-CE-M5 Perform in organized activities including 
singing, playing, and movement (1, 5) 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:215 (February 2004).  
§507. Benchmarks 9-12 

A. In grades 9-12, students should know and be able to: 
 

 
M-CE-H1 

Create and improvise advanced musical 
forms using voice, musical instruments, 
or other sound sources, both individually 
and in ensembles 

 
(1, 2, 4) 

M-CE-H2 
Apply with technical accuracy notational 
symbols and vocabulary that convey 
precise musical meanings (2, 3, 4) 

M-CE-H3 Improvise, or compose and perform 
advanced compositions (1, 4) 

M-CE-H4 Interpret and apply elements of music 
using preferred medium of performance (3, 4, 5) 

M-CE-H5 Perform in musical ensembles using a 
preferred performance medium (1, 5) 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:215 (February 2004).  
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§509. Creative Expression? Grade Cluster 
 

Grade Cluster K–4 5–8 9–12 
Benchmark 1 Recognize and imitate simple melodies 

and rhythmic patterns using voice, 
musical instruments, or other sound 
sources (3) 

Recognize and perform melodic and 
rhythmic patterns using voice, musical 
instruments, or other sound sources, both 
individually and in ensembles (1, 3, 4) 

Create and improvise advanced musical 
forms using voice, musical instruments, 
or other sound sources, both individually 
and in ensembles (1, 2, 4) 

Benchmark 2 Recognize basic notational symbols 
and express vocabulary that conveys 
precise musical meanings (3, 4) 

Interpret notational symbols and 
vocabulary that convey precise musical 
meanings (2, 3, 4) 

Apply with technical accuracy notational 
symbols and vocabulary that convey 
precise musical meanings (2, 3, 4)  

Benchmark 3 Improvise or compose and perform 
simple musical ideas, such as echoing 
melody or short rhythmic patterns (1, 
4)  

Improvise or compose and perform 
written music (1, 4) 

Improvise or compose and perform 
advanced compositions (1, 4) 

Benchmark 4  Explore and express basic elements of 
music through voice, musical 
instruments, electronic technology, or 
available media (3) 

Recognize and demonstrate elements of 
music, using voice, musical instruments, 
electronic technology, or other available 
media (3, 4) 

Interpret and apply elements of music 
using preferred medium of performance 
(3, 4, 5) 

Benchmark 5 Participate in organized musical 
activities including singing, playing, 
and movement (1, 2, 5)  

Perform in organized musical activities 
including singing, playing, and 
movement (1, 5) 

Perform in musical ensembles using 
preferred performance medium (1, 5) 
 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:216 (February 2004).  
Subchapter B. Aesthetic Perception 
§511. Purpose 

A. Focus. The study of aesthetics, or the philosophy of 
the arts, cultivates the direct experience of the senses and 
supplies the individual with a structure for perceiving and 
responding to the arts. A grasp of aesthetics empowers the 
individual to experience beauty in many forms, to appreciate 
artistic expression, and to develop insight into the creations 
and performances of others. By questioning concepts, 
weighing evidence, and examining intuitive reactions, the 
individual becomes increasingly discriminating in 
formulating preferences and conclusions about the values 
inherent in art. Aesthetic perception promotes creativity, 
flexible thinking, and the pursuit of excellence. 

B. Standard. Students develop aesthetic perception 
through the knowledge of art forms and respect for their 
commonalities and differences. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:216 (February 2004).  
§513. Benchmarks K-4  

A. In grades K-4, students should know and be able to: 
 

M-AP-E1 
Understand and apply basic music 
vocabulary to describe aesthetic qualities 
of musical compositions (1, 4) 

M-AP-E2 

Recognize and respond to concepts of 
beauty and taste in the ideas and 
creations of others through the study of 
music (1, 4, 5) 

M-AP-E3 
Demonstrate awareness of where and 
how music is used in daily life and within 
the community (1, 4, 5) 

M-AP-E4 
Recognize that there are many 
possibilities and choices available in the 
creative processes of music (4) 

 
M-AP-E5 

Participate in guided inquiry into the 
basic question, "What is music?" and 
share personal feelings or preferences 
about music 

 
(1, 5) 

M-AP-E6 
Recognize and demonstrate behavior 
appropriate for various musical 
environments (4, 5) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:216 (February 2004).  

§515. Benchmarks 5-8 
A. In grades 5-8, students should know and be able to: 

M-AP-M1 
Understand and apply expanded music 
vocabulary to describe aesthetic 
qualities of musical compositions (1, 4) 

M-AP-M2 
Recognize that concepts of beauty differ 
by culture and that taste varies from 
person to person (1, 4, 5) 

M-AP-M3 Describe the emotional and intellectual 
impact of music in various contexts (1, 4, 5) 

M-AP-M4 

Demonstrate awareness of various 
traditional and technological options 
pertaining to creative processes in 
music (1, 4) 

M-AP-M5 
Discuss the question, "What is music?" 
and express intuitive reactions and 
personal responses to various works (1, 4) 

M-AP-M6 
Demonstrate and discuss behavior 
appropriate for various musical 
environments (1, 4, 5) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:216 (February 2004).  
§517. Benchmarks 9-12 

A. In grades 9-12, students should know and be able to: 
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M-AP-H1 
Understand and apply advanced music 
vocabulary to describe aesthetic 
qualities of musical compositions (1, 4) 

M-AP-H2 
Distinguish unique characteristics of 
music as it reflects concepts of beauty 
and qualify of life in various cultures (1, 4, 5) 

M-AP-H3 Analyze and express the impact of 
music on intellect and emotions (1, 4, 5) 

M-AP-H4 
Compare and contrast traditional and 
technological options available for 
artistic expression in music (1, 4) 

 
M-AP-H5 

Question/weigh evidence and 
information, examine intuitive 
reactions, and articulate personal 
attitudes toward musical works 

 
(1, 2, 5) 

M-AP-H6 
Evaluate and discuss appropriateness of 
behavior for different types of musical 
environments (2, 4, 5) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:216 (February 2004).  

 
§519. Aesthetic Perception? Grade Cluster 

Grade Cluster K–4 5–8 9–12 
Benchmark 1 Understand and apply basic music 

vocabulary to describe aesthetic qualities 
of musical compositions (1, 4) 

Understand and apply expanded music 
vocabulary to describe aesthetic qualities 
of musical compositions (1, 4) 

Understand and apply advanced 
music vocabulary to describe 
aesthetic qualities of musical 
compositions (1, 4) 

Benchmark 2 Recognize and respond to concepts of 
beauty and taste in the ideas and 
creations of others through the study of 
music (1, 4, 5) 

Recognize that concepts of beauty differ 
by culture and that taste varies from 
person to person (1, 4, 5) 

Distinguish unique characteristics of 
music as it reflects concepts of 
beauty and quality of life in various 
cultures (1, 4, 5) 

Benchmark 3 Demonstrate awareness of where and 
how music is used in daily life and 
within the community (1, 4, 5) 

Describe the emotional and intellectual 
impact of music in various contexts  (1, 4, 
5) 

Analyze and express the impact 
of music on intellect and emotions 
(1, 4, 5) 

Benchmark 4 Recognize that there are many 
possibilities and choices available in the 
creative processes of music (4) 

Demonstrate awareness of various 
traditional and technological options 
pertaining to creative processes in music 
(1, 4) 

Compare and contrast traditional 
and technological options available 
for artistic expression in music 
(1, 4) 

Benchmark 5 Participate in guided inquiry into the 
basic question "What is music?" and 
share personal feelings or preferences 
about music  (1, 5) 

Discuss the question "What is music?" 
and express intuitive reactions and 
personal responses to various works (1, 4) 

Question/weigh evidence and 
information, examine intuitive 
reactions, and articulate personal 
attitudes toward musical works 
(1, 2, 5) 

Benchmark 6 Recognize and demonstrate behavior 
appropriate for various musical 
environments 
(4, 5) 

Demonstrate and discuss behavior 
appropriate for various musical 
environments 
(1, 4, 5) 

Evaluate and discuss 
appropriateness of behavior for 
different types of musical 
environments (2, 4, 5) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:217 (February 2004).  
Subchapter C. Historical and Cultural Perspective  
§521. Purpose 

A. Focus. Historical and cultural perspective is the 
vehicle for understanding works of art in time and place. The 
arts survive through times of interruption and neglect; they 
outlive governments, creeds, societies, and even the 
civilizations that spawned them. The artist is a harbinger of 
change, a translator of social thought, an analyst of cultures, 
a poetic scientist, and a recorder of history. To understand 
creative output in the history of the arts is to understand 
history itself. 

B. Standard. Students develop historical and cultural 
perspective by recognizing and understanding that the arts 
throughout history are a record of human experience with a 
past, present, and future.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:217 (February 2004).  

§523. Benchmarks K-4 
A. In grades K-4, students should know and be able to: 

M-HP-E1 Recognize musical styles representative 
of various cultures (4) 

 
M-HP-E2 

Recognize and discuss the function of 
music within historical and cultural 
contexts, including celebrations, 
ceremonies, and special occasions 

 
(1, 4) 

M-HP-E3 
Recognize families of musical 
instruments and instruments of various 
cultures (4) 

M-HP-E4 
Recognize professions in music and 
identify the roles of musicians in various 
cultures (4) 

M-HP-E5 Recognize great composers and their 
most significant musical works (4) 

M-HP-E6 
Recognize universal themes in music and 
how music communicates a universal 
language (1, 4) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:217 (February 2004).  
§525. Benchmarks 5-8 

A. In grades 5-8, students should know and be able to: 
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M-HP-M1 
Identify distinguishing characteristics of 
musical styles representative of various 
historical periods and cultures (1, 2, 4) 

 
M-HP-M2 

Compare and contrast the function of 
music within historical and cultural 
contexts, such as celebrations, 
ceremonies, and events 

 
(1, 4, 5) 

M-HP-M3 Identify specific types and uses of 
musical instruments in various cultures (4) 

M-HP-M4 
Describe careers for musicians and 
compare the roles of musicians in various 
cultures (1, 4, 5) 

M-HP-M5 
Identify major works of great composers 
and recognize achievements of prominent 
musicians (4, 5) 

 
M-HP-M6 

Identify and discuss ways in which 
universal themes are revealed and 
developed in the music of diverse 
cultures and time periods 

 
(1, 4) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:217 (February 2004).  

§527. Benchmarks 9–12 
A. In grades 9–12, students should know and be able to: 

M-HP-H1 
Compare and contrast musical styles 
representative of various historical 
periods and cultures (1, 2, 4) 

M-HP-H2 
Analyze the function of music as it 
fulfills societal needs within historical 
and cultural contexts (1, 4, 5) 

M-HP-H3 Compare and contrast types and uses of 
musical instruments in various cultures (4) 

M-HP-H4 Investigate and assess roles, careers, and 
career opportunities for musicians (3, 4) 

M-HP-H5 
Identify prominent musicians of various 
cultures and compare their lives, careers, 
works, and influence (1, 4) 

M-HP-H6 Analyze the university of musical themes 
across cultures and time periods (1, 4) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:218 (February 2004).  

 
§529. Historical and Cultural Perspective ? Grade Cluster 

 
Grade Cluster K–4 5–8 9–12 

Benchmark 1 Recognize musical styles 
representative of various cultures 
(4) 

Identify distinguishing characteristics of 
musical styles representative of various 
historical periods and cultures (1, 2, 4)  

Compare and contrast musical styles 
representative of various historical 
periods and cultures (1, 2, 4) 

Benchmark 2 Recognize and discuss the function 
of music within historical and 
cultural contexts, including 
celebrations, ceremonies, and 
special occasions (1, 4) 

Compare and contrast the function of 
music within historical and cultural 
contexts, such as celebrations, ceremonies, 
and events (1, 4, 5) 

Analyze the function of music as it 
fulfills societal needs within historical 
and cultural contexts (1, 4, 5) 
 

Benchmark 3 Recognize families of musical 
instruments and instruments of 
various cultures (4) 

Identify specific types and uses of musical 
instruments in various cultures (4) 

Compare and contrast types and uses 
of musical instruments in various 
cultures (4) 

Benchmark 4 Recognize professions in music 
and identify the roles of musicians 
in various cultures (4) 

Describe careers for musicians and 
compare the roles of musicians in various 
cultures (1, 4, 5) 

Investigate and assess roles, careers, 
and career opportun ities for 
musicians (3, 4) 

Benchmark 5 Recognize great composers and 
their most significant musical 
works (4) 

Identify major works of great composers 
and recognize achievements of prominent 
musicians (4, 5) 

Identify prominent musicians of 
various cultures and compare their 
lives, careers, works, and influence 
(1, 4)  

Benchmark 6 Recognize universal themes in 
music and how music 
communicates a universal 
language (1, 4) 

Identify and discuss ways in which 
universal themes are revealed and 
developed in the music of diverse cultures 
and time periods (1, 4) 

Analyze the universality of musical 
themes across cultures and time 
periods (1, 4) 

 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:218 (February 2004).  
Subchapter D. Critical Analysis 
§531. Purpose 

A. Focus. Critical analysis is the process of inquiry 
associated with an individual's knowledge of the arts. 
Communication about the arts in a structured way provides 
the individual with means to describe, analyze, interpret, and  
make critical, reasoned judgments about the form and 
content of the arts. 

B. Standard. Students make informed verbal and written 
observations about the arts by developing skills for critical 
analysis through the study of and exposure to the arts. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:218 (February 2004).  
§533. Benchmarks K-4 

A. In grades K-4, students should know and be able to: 

M-CA-E1 
Identify the music form (e.g., AB, ABA) and 
describe in simple terms how the elements of 
music are used in various works (1, 4) 

M-CA-E2 
Identify simple music events (e.g., dynamic 
change, meter change, same/different 
sections) while listening to a work (2, 4) 

M-CA-E3 
Recognize characteristics of music that make 
a musical selection appropriate for a 
particular purpose (4) 

M-CA-E4 Identify relationships among music, other 
arts, and disciplines outside the arts (1, 4) 

M-CA-E5 
Devise criteria for evaluating music and 
music performances, and express opinions 
using basic music vocabulary (1, 2, 4) 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:218 (February 2004).  
§535. Benchmarks 5-8 

A. In grades 5-8, students should know and be able to: 
 

M-CA-M1 

Identify the music form (e.g., round, canon) 
and explain how the elements of music are 
used in works representing various 
genres/styles 

 
(4) 

M-CA-M2 
Identify and describe music events (e.g., entry 
of an instrument, meter change, return of 
refrain) while listening to a work 

 
(2, 4) 

M-CA-M3 
Describe or explain characteristics of music in 
regard to suitability of musical selections for 
specific purposes (1, 4) 

M-CA-M4 Describe relationships among music, other 
arts, and disciplines outside the arts (1, 4) 

M-CA-M5 
Use appropriate criteria and expanded music 
vocabulary to evaluate the quality of music 
and performances (1, 2, 4) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:219 (February 2004).  
§537. Benchmarks 9-12 

A. In grades 9-12, students should know and be able to: 

M-CA-H1 
Distinguish and analyze elements of music 
and expressive devices as used in musical 
works representing diverse genres/styles 

 
(1, 2, 4,) 

M-CA-H2 

Identify and explain compositional devices 
and techniques used to provide unity and 
variety and tension and release in a musical 
work 

 
(1, 2, 4) 

M-CA-H3 Analyze the appropriateness of music 
choices as they relate to purpose (2, 4, 5) 

M-CA-H4 
Explain commonalties and differences 
among music, other arts, and disciplines 
outside the arts (1, 2, 4) 

M-CA-H5 
Use appropriate criteria and advanced music 
vocabulary to critique the quality of music 
and performances (1, 2, 4) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:219 (February 2004).  

 
§539. Critical Analysis? Grade Cluster 

Grade Cluster K–4 5–8 9–12 
Benchmark 1 Identify the music form (e.g., AB, 

ABA) and describe in simple terms 
how the elements of music are used in 
various works (1, 4) 

Identify the music form (e.g., round, 
canon) and explain how the elements of 
music are used in works representing 
various genres/styles (4) 

Distinguish and analyze elements of 
music and expressive devices as 
used in musical works representing 
diverse genres/styles (1, 2, 4) 

Benchmark 2 Identify simple music events (e.g., 
dynamic change, meter change, 
same/different sections) while listening 
to a work (2, 4) 

Identify and describe music events (e.g., 
entry of an instrument, meter change, 
return of refrain) while listening to a work 
(2, 4)  

Identify and explain compositional 
devices and techniques used to 
provide unity and variety and 
tension and release in a musical 
work (1, 2, 4) 

Benchmark 3 Recognize characteristics of music that 
make a musical selection appropriate 
for a particular purpose (4) 

Describe or explain characteristics of 
music in regard to suitability of musical 
selections for specific purposes (1, 4) 

Analyze the appropriateness of 
music choices as they relate to 
purpose (2, 4, 5) 

Benchmark 4 Identify relationships among music, 
other arts, and disciplines outside the 
arts (1, 4) 

Describe relationships among music, 
other arts, and disciplines outside the arts 
(1, 4) 

Explain commonalities and 
differences among music, other arts, 
and disciplines outside the arts 
(1, 2, 4) 

Benchmark 5 Devise criteria for evaluating music 
and music performances, and express 
opinions using basic music vocabulary 
(1, 2, 4) 

Use appropriate criteria and expanded 
music vocabulary to evaluate the quality 
of music and performances (1, 2, 4) 

Use appropriate criteria and 
advanced music vocabulary to 
critique the quality of music and 
performances (1, 2, 4) 

 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:219 (February 2004).  
Chapter 7. Theatre Arts 
Subchapter A. Creative Expression 
§701. Purpose 

A. Focus. Creative Expression opens an avenue for the 
application of individual ideas, feelings, and expressions. 
The use of a variety of media and techniques provides an 
opportunity for the individual to develop, organize, and 
interpret knowledge for communication. The skills of 
analysis, problem solving, cooperative involvement, and 
disciplined behavior contribute to a successful school 
environment and prepare the individual to become a 
productive memb er of society. 

B. Standard. Students develop creative expression 
through the application of knowledge, ideas, communication 
skills, organizational abilities, and imagination. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:219 (February 2004).  
§703. Benchmarks K-4 

A. In grades K-4, students should know and be able to: 
 

TH-CE-E1 Explore and express various emotions 
in interpersonal settings (1, 5) 

TH-CE-E2 
Interact in group situations and show 
differentiation of roles through 
experimentation and role playing (1, 2, 5) 
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TH-CE-E3 

Exhibit physical and emotional 
dimensions of characterization 
through experimentation and role 
playing (2, 5) 

TH-CE-E4 Create story lines for improvisation (2, 3, 4) 

TH-CE-E5 
Identify and express differences 
among reality, fantasy, role playing, 
and media representation (2, 3, 4) 

TH-CE-E6 

Develop awareness of technical 
dimensions of the dramatic form, such 
as theatrical space, scenery, 
costuming, and make-up (3, 4) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:219 (February 2004).  
§705. Benchmarks 5-8 

A. In grades 5-8, students should know and be able to: 

TH-CE-M1 
Demonstrate self-expression and 
various emotions individually and in 
groups (1, 5) 

TH-CE-M2 
Demonstrate role playing 
individually and in interpersonal 
situations (1, 5) 

TH-CE-M3 
Demonstrate physical and emotional 
traits appropriate to a variety of 
roles and characters (2, 4) 

TH-CE-M4 

Create improvisations and scripted 
scenes based on personal 
experience, imagination, literature, 
and history (1, 2, 3) 

TH-CE-M5 
Compare/contrast and demonstrate 
various performance methods and 
styles (1, 2, 4) 

 
TH-CE-M6 

Engage in individual and 
collaborative use of technical 
dimensions of the dramatic form 
such as theatrical space, scenery, set 
design, costuming, and make-up (1, 4, 5) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17.24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:220 (February 2004).  
§707. Benchmarks 9-12 

A. In grades 9-12, students should know and be able to: 
 

TH-CE-H1 Develop intrapersonal skills as an 
individual and as a performer (1, 5 

TH-CE-H2 Assume and sustain various roles in 
group interactions (1, 4, 5) 

TH-CE-H3 
Develop characterization in group 
performances through interpretation 
of psychological motivation (2, 3, 5) 

TH-CE-H4 
Write scripts for classroom, stage, 
and media performances, using 
various forms of technology (1, 3, 4) 

TH-CE-H5 
Perform using specific methods, 
styles, and acting techniques from 
various cult ures and time periods (1, 2, 3, 4) 

 
TH-CE-H6 

Manipulate technical dimensions of 
the dramatic form, such as set 
design/construction, costuming, 
make-up, properties, lights, sound, 
and multimedia (1, 3, 4, 5) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:220 (February 2004).  

 
§709. Creative Expression? Grade Cluster 

 
Grade Cluster K–4 5–8 9–12 
Benchmark 1 Explore and express various emotions in 

interpersonal settings (1, 5) 
Demonstrate self-expression and various 
emotions individually and in groups (1, 5) 

Develop intrapersonal skills as an 
individual and as a performer (1, 5) 

Benchmark 2 Interact in group situations and show 
differentiation of roles through 
experimentation and role playing (1, 2, 5) 

Demonstrate role playing individually and 
in interpersonal situations (1, 5) 
 

Assume and sustain various roles in 
group interactions (1, 4, 5) 

Benchmark 3 Exhibit physical and emotional dimensions 
of characterization through experimentation 
and role playing (2, 5) 

Demonstrate physical and emotional traits 
appropriate to a variety of roles and 
characters (2, 4) 

Develop characterization in group 
performances through interpretation of 
psychological motivation (2, 3, 5) 

Benchmark 4 Create story lines for improvisation  
(2, 3, 4) 

Create improvisations and scripted scenes 
based on personal experience, 
imagination, literature, and history  
(1, 2, 3) 

Write scripts for classroom, stage, and 
media performances, using various 
forms of technology (1, 3, 4) 

Benchmark 5 Identify and express differences among 
reality, fantasy, role playing, and media 
productions (2, 3, 4) 

Compare/contrast and demonstrate 
various performance methods and styles 
(1, 2, 4) 

Perform using specific methods, styles, 
and acting techniques from various 
cultures and time periods (1, 2, 3, 4) 

Benchmark 6 Develop awareness of technical dimensions 
of the dramatic form, such as theatrical 
space, scenery, costuming, and make-up 
(3, 4) 

Engage in individual and collaborative 
use of technical dimensions of  
the dramatic form such as theatrical 
space, scenery, set design, costuming, and 
make-up (1, 4, 5) 

Manipulate technical dimensions of the 
dramatic form, such as set 
design/construction, costuming, make-
up, properties, lights, sound, and 
multimedia (1, 3, 4, 5) 

 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:220 (February 2004). 
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Subchapter B. Aesthetic Perception 
§711. Purpose 

A. Focus. The study of aesthetics, or the philosophy of 
the arts, cultivates the direct experience of the senses and 
supplies the individual with a structure for perceiving and 
responding to the arts. A grasp of aesthetics empowers the 
individual to experience beauty in many forms, to appreciate 
artistic expression, and to develop insight into the creations 
and performances of others. By questioning concepts, 
weighing evidence, and examining intuitive reactions, the 
individual becomes increasingly discriminating in 
formulating preferences and conclusions about the values 
inherent in art. Aesthetic perception promotes creativity, 
flexible thinking, and the pursuit of excellence. 

B. Standard. Students develop aesthetic perception 
through the knowledge of art forms and respect for their 
commonalities and differences. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:221 (February 2004).  
§713. Benchmarks K-4 

A. In grades K-4, students should know and be able to: 
 

TH-AP-E1 

Understand and use basic theatre arts 
vocabulary, including language for 
describing theatre in various cultures/time 
periods (1) 

TH-AP-E2 
Recognize and respond to concepts of 
beauty and taste in the ideas and creations of 
others through the study of theatre arts (1, 4, 5) 

TH-AP-E3 
Develop a basic understanding of the 
processes of creating, performing, and 
observing theatre (2, 5) 

TH-AP-E4 
Recognize that there are many possibilities 
and choices in the creative processes for 
theatre arts (2, 4) 

TH-AP-E5 
Identify and discuss how works of theatre 
and dramatic media affect thoughts and 
feelings (1, 2) 

TH-AP-E6 Share personal feelings or preferences about 
theatre and other dramatic works (1) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:221 (February 2004).  

§715. Benchmarks 5-8 
A. In grades 5-8, students should know and be able to: 
 

TH-AP-M1 

Understand and use expanded theatre 
arts vocabulary, including terms related 
to theatrical periods, environments, 
situations, and roles (1, 4) 

TH-AP-M2 
Recognize that concepts of beauty differ 
from culture to culture and that taste 
varies from person to person (1, 4, 5) 

TH-AP-M3 
Identify and discuss appropriate 
behaviors for creators, performers, and 
observers of theatre (1, 2, 5) 

TH-AP-M4 
Demonstrate awareness of various new 
ideas, possibilities, options, and 
situations pertaining to theatre arts (1, 2, 4) 

TH-AP-M5 
Describe the emotional and intellectual 
impact of theatrical works and dramatic 
performances (1, 2) 

TH-AP-M6 
Express intuitive reactions and personal 
responses to theatre and other dramatic 
works (1, 2, 4) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:221 (February 2004).  
§717. Benchmarks 9-12 

A. In grades 9-12, students should know and be able to: 
 

 
TH-AP-H1 

Use advanced theatre arts vocabulary and 
apply cultural/historical information in 
discussing scripted scenes, sets, and period 
costumes (1, 2, 4) 

TH-AP-H2 
Distinguish unique characteristics of theatre as 
it reflects concepts of beauty and quality of 
life in various cultures (1, 4, 5) 

TH-AP-H3 
Explain the significance of collaboration and 
evaluate group dynamics in creating, 
performing, and observing theatre (1, 2, 5) 

TH-AP-H4 
Compare and contrast multiple possibilities 
and options available for artistic expression in 
theatre arts (1, 4) 

TH-AP-H5 
Analyze and explain the impact of theatrical 
works and dramatic performances on intellect 
and emotions (1, 2, 4) 

TH-AP-H6 
Examine intuitive reactions and articulate 
personal attitudes toward theatre and other 
dramatic works (1, 2, 4) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:221 (February 2004).  

 
§719. Aesthetic Perception? Grade Cluster 

 
Grade Cluster K–4 5–8 9–12 

Benchmark 1 Understand and use basic theatre arts 
vocabulary, including language for 
describing theatre in various cultures/time 
periods (1) 

Understand and use expanded theatre 
arts vocabulary, including terms related 
to theatrical periods, environments, 
situations, and roles (1, 4) 

Use advanced theatre arts vocabulary and 
apply cultural/historical information in 
discussing scripted scenes, sets, and period 
costumes (1, 2, 4) 

Benchmark 2 Recognize and respond to concepts of 
beauty and taste in the ideas and creations 
of others through the study of theatre arts 
(1, 4, 5) 

Recognize that concepts of beauty 
differ from culture to culture and that 
taste varies from person to person (1, 4, 
5) 

Distinguish unique characteristics of 
theatre as it reflects concepts of beauty and 
quality of life in various cultures (1, 4, 5) 

Benchmark 3 Develop a basic understanding of the 
processes of creating, performing, and 
observing theatre (2, 5) 

Identify and discuss appropriate 
behaviors for creators, performers, and 
observers of theatre (1, 2, 5) 

Explain the significance of collaboration 
and evaluate group dynamics in creating, 
performing, and observing theatre (1, 2, 5) 
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Grade Cluster K–4 5–8 9–12 
Benchmark 4 Recognize that there are many 

possibilities and choices in the creative 
processes for theatre arts (2, 4) 

Demonstrate awareness of various new 
ideas, possibilities, options, and 
situations pertaining to theatre arts 
(1, 2, 4) 

Compare and contrast multiple possibilities 
and options available for artistic expression 
in theatre arts (1, 4) 

Benchmark 5 Identify and discuss how works of theatre 
and dramatic media affect thoughts and 
feelings (1, 2) 

Describe the emotional and intellectual 
impact of theatrical works and dramatic 
performances (1, 2) 

Analyze and explain the impact of 
theatrical works and dramatic performances 
on intellect and emotions (1, 2) 

Benchmark 6 Share personal feelings or preferences 
about theatre and other dramatic 
works (1) 

Discuss intuitive reactions and personal 
responses to theatre and other dramatic 
works (1, 2, 4) 

Examine intuitive reactions and articulate 
personal attitudes toward theatre and other 
dramatic works (1, 2, 4) 

 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:221 (February 2004).  

Subchapter C. Historical and Cultural Perspective  
§721. Purpose 

A. Focus. Historical and cultural perspective is the 
vehicle for understanding works of art in time and place. The 
arts survive through times of interruption and neglect; they 
outlive governments, creeds, societies, and even the 
civilizations that spawned them. The artist is a harbinger of 
change, a translator of social thought, an analyst of cultures, 
a poetic scientist, and a recorder of history. To understand 
creative output in the history of the arts is to understand 
history itself. 

B. Standard. Students develop historical and cultural 
perspective by recognizing and understanding that the arts 
throughout history are a record of human experience with a 
past, present, and future. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:222 (February 2004).  

§723. Benchmarks K-4 
A. In grades K-4, students should know and be able to: 
 

TH-HP-E1 
Recognize basic types and forms of 
theatre and dramatic media (film, 
television, and electronic media) (2, 3) 

TH-HP-E2 Recognize cultural differences in 
theatre productions and performances (2) 

TH-HP-E3 
Recall and recognize characters and 
situations in literature and dramatic 
media from the past and present (4) 

TH-HP-E4 

Recognize universal characters and 
situations in stories and dramas of 
various cultures and how theatre 
reflects life (2, 4) 

TH-HP-E5 
Recognize careers in theatre arts and 
identify roles of theatre artists in 
various cultures and time periods (4) 

TH-HP-E6 
Recognize great theatrical works and 
great playwrights who have shaped 
the history of theatre (4) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:222 (February 2004).  

§725. Benchmarks 5-8 
A. In grades 5-8, students should know and be able to: 
 

TH-HP-M1 
Describe types, forms, and patterns in 
theatre and dramatic media (film, 
television, and electronic media) (1, 3) 

TH-HP-M2 

Identify differences in theatre across 
cultures and how artistic choices and 
artistic expression reflect cultural 
values (1, 2, 4) 

TH-HP-M3 
Identify and describe characters and 
situations in literature and dramatic 
media from the past and present (1, 4) 

TH-HP-M4 

Identify and discuss ways in which 
themes are revealed and developed in 
dramas of various cultures and time 
periods (1, 4) 

TH-HP-M5 
Describe and compare careers in 
theatre arts and roles of theatre artists 
in various cultures and time periods (1, 4, 5) 

TH-HP-M6 

Identify major works of great 
playwrights and recognize 
contributions of prominent theatre 
artists (3, 4) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:222 (February 2004). 

§727. Benchmarks 9-12 
A. In grades 9-12, students should know and be able to: 
 

TH-HP-H1 

Compare and contrast types, forms, 
methods, patterns, and trends in 
theatre, film, television, and 
electronic media (2, 3) 

TH-HP-H2 
Analyze the form, content, and style 
of theatrical works from cultural and 
historical perspectives (1, 2, 4) 

TH-HP-H3 

Demonstrate knowledge of dramatic 
literature, describing characters and 
situations in historical and cultural 
contexts (1, 4) 

 
TH-HP-H4 

Analyze the universality of dramatic 
themes across cultures and historical 
periods and how theatre can reveal 
universal concepts (4) 

TH-HP-H5 Investigate and assess roles, careers, 
and career opportunities in theatre arts (2, 3) 

TH-HP-H6 
Identify representative theatre artists 
of various cultures and compare their 
lives, works, and influence (3, 4) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:222 (February 2004). 
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§729. Historical and Cultural Perspective ?
Grade Cluster 

 
Grade Cluster K–4 5–8 9–12 
Benchmark 1 
 

Recognize basic types and forms of 
theatre and dramatic media (film, 
television, and electronic media) (2, 3) 

Describe types, forms, and patterns in 
theatre and dramatic media (film, 
television, and electronic media) (1, 3) 

Compare and contrast types, forms, 
methods, patterns, and trends in 
theatre, film, television, and 
electronic media (2, 3) 

Benchmark 2 Recognize cultural differences in 
theatre productions and performances 
(2) 

Identify differences in theatre across 
cultures and how artistic choices and 
artistic expression reflect cultural values 
(1, 2, 4) 

Analyze the form, content, and style 
of theatrical works from cultural and 
historical perspectives (1, 2, 4) 

Benchmark 3 
 

Recall and recognize characters and 
situations in literature and dramatic 
media from the past and present (4) 

Identify and describe characters and 
situations in literature and dramatic media 
from the past and present (1, 4) 

Demonstrate knowledge of dramatic 
literature, describing characters and 
situations in historical and cultural 
contexts (1, 4) 

Benchmark 4 Recognize universal characters and 
situations in stories and dramas of 
various cultures and how theatre 
reflects life (2, 4) 

Identify and discuss ways in which 
universal themes are revealed and 
developed in dramas of various cultures 
and time periods (1, 4) 

Analyze the universality of dramatic 
themes across cultures and historical 
periods and how theatre can reveal 
universal concepts (4) 

Benchmark 5 Recognize careers in theatre arts and 
identify roles of theatre artists in 
various cultures and time periods (4) 

Describe and compare careers in theatre 
arts and roles of theatre artists in various 
cultures and time periods (1, 4, 5) 

Investigate and assess roles, careers, 
and career opportunities in theatre 
arts (2, 3) 

Benchmark 6 Recognize great theatrical works and 
great playwrights who have shaped the 
history of theatre (4) 

Identify major works of great playwrights 
and recognize contributions of prominent 
theatre artists (3, 4) 

Identify representative theatre artists 
of various cultures and compare 
their lives, works, and influence (3, 
4) 

 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:223 (February 2004). 
Subchapter D. Critical Analysis 
§731. Purpose 

A. Focus. Critical analysis is the process of inquiry 
associated with an individual's knowledge of the arts. 
Communication about the arts in a structured way provides 
the individual with means to describe, analyze, interpret, and  

make critical, reasoned judgments about the form and 
content of the arts. 

B. Standard. Students make informed verbal and written 
observations about the arts by developing the skills for 
critical analysis through study of and exposure to the arts. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:223 (February 2004). 
§733. Benchmarks K–4 

A. In grades K–4, students should know and be able to: 
 

TH-CA-E1 

Describe in simple terms how voice, 
language, and technical elements are 
used in works of theatre and other 
dramatic media (1, 2) 

TH-CA-E2 

Identify motivations, personality traits, 
and responses to emotional experiences 
in characters portrayed in dramatic 
literature and media (2) 

TH-CA-E3 
Identify and discuss the theme, message, 
or story idea conveyed in a dramatic 
work (1, 2) 

TH-CA-E4 
Use basic theatre arts vocabulary to 
express and explain opinions about 
scripts and performances (1) 

TH-CA-E5 
Identify relationships among theatre 
arts, other arts, and disciplines outside 
the arts (1, 4) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Dep artment of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:223 (February 2004). 
§735. Benchmarks 5-8 

A. In grades 5-8, students should know and be able to: 
 

TH-CA-M1 

Explain how elements of theatre and 
principles of communication are used in 
works created for the stage and other 
dramatic media (1, 2) 

TH-CA-M2 

Analyze descriptions, dialogues, and 
actions to explain character traits, 
personality, motivations, emotional 
perceptions, and ethical choices (2, 5) 

TH-CA-M3 
Interpret and discuss the theme or 
social/political message conveyed in a 
dramatic work (1, 5) 

TH-CA-M4 
Use appropriate criteria and expanded 
theatre arts vocabulary to critique scripts, 
performances and productions (1, 2) 

TH-CA-M5 Describe relationships among theatre arts, 
other arts, and disciplines outside the arts (1, 4) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:223 (February 2004). 
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§737. Benchmarks 9-12 
A. In grades 9-12, students should know and be able to: 
 

 
TH-CA-H1 

Analyze how elements of theatre and 
principles of communication are used to 
achieve specific effects in theatre and 
other media productions (1, 2) 

TH-CA-H2 
Analyze emotional and social dimensions 
of characterization and explain character 
transformations and relationships (2, 5) 

TH-CA-H3 
Construct social meaning from dramatic 
works with reference to theme, purpose, 
point of view, and current issues (2, 4, 5) 

TH-CA-H4 
Use appropriate criteria and advanced 
theatre arts vocabulary to critique scripts, 
performances, and productions (1, 2) 

TH-CA-H5 Explain relationships among theatre arts, 
other arts, and disciplines outside the arts (1, 4) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:224 (February 2004). 

§739. Critical Analysis? Grade Cluster 
 

Grade Cluster K–4 5–8 9–12 
Benchmark 1 Describe in simple terms how voice, 

language, and technical elements are used 
in works of theatre and other dramatic 
media (1, 2) 

Explain how elements of theatre and 
principles of communication are used in 
works created for the stage and other 
dramatic media (1, 2) 

Analyze how elements of theatre and 
principles of communication are used 
to achieve specific effects in theatre 
and other media productions (1, 2) 

Benchmark 2 Identify motivations, personality traits, 
and responses to emotional experiences in 
characters portrayed in dramatic literature 
and media (2) 

Analyze descriptions, dialogues, and 
actions to explain character traits, 
personality, motivations, emotional 
perceptions, and ethical choices (2, 5) 

Analyze emotional and social 
dimensions of characterization and 
explain character transformations and 
relationships (2, 5) 

Benchmark 3 Identify and discuss the theme, message, 
or story idea conveyed in a dramatic work 
(1, 2) 

Interpret and discuss the theme or 
social/political message conveyed in a 
dramatic work (1, 5) 

Construct social meaning from 
dramatic works with reference to 
theme, purpose, point of view, and 
current issues (2, 4, 5) 

Benchmark 4 Use basic theatre arts vocabulary to 
express and explain opinions about scripts 
and performances (1) 

Use appropriate criteria and expanded 
theatre arts vocabulary to critique scripts, 
performances and productions (1, 2) 

Use appropriate criteria and 
advanced theatre arts vocabulary to 
critique scripts, performances, and 
productions (1, 2) 

Benchmark 5 Identify relationships among theatre arts, 
other arts, and disciplines outside the arts 
(1, 4) 

Describe relationships among theatre arts, 
other arts, and disciplines outside the arts 
(1, 4) 

Explain relationships among theatre 
arts, other arts, and disciplines 
outside the arts 
(1, 4) 

 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:224 (February 2004). 
Chapter 9. Visual Arts 
Subchapter A. Creative Expression 
§901. Purpose 

A. Focus. Creative expression opens an avenue for the 
application of individual ideas, feelings, and expressions. 
The use of a variety of media and techniques provides an 
opportunity for the individual to develop, organize, and 
interpret knowledge for communication. The skills of 
analysis, problem solving, cooperative involvement, and 
disciplined behavior contribute to a successful school 
environment and prepare the individual to become a 
productive member of society. 

B. Standard. Students develop creative expression 
through the application of knowledge, ideas, communication 
skills, organizational abilities, and imagination. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:224 (February 2004). 

§903. Benchmarks K-4 
A. In grades K-4, students should know and be able to: 
 

VA-CE-E1 
Explore and identify imagery from a 
variety of sources and create visual 
representations (2, 3) 

VA-CE-E2 
Explore and discuss techniques and 
technologies for visual expression and 
communication (1, 2, 3) 

 
VA-CE-E3 

Use art vocabulary and the elements and 
principles of design to convey the 
language of art (create and discuss own 
artwork) 

 
(1, 2, 3) 

VA-CE-E4 Experiment to create various art forms, 
including art forms from other cultures (2, 3, 4) 

VA-CE-E5 
Draw on imagination, individual 
experience, and group activities to 
generate ideas for visual expression (1, 4, 5) 

VA-CE-E6 
Identify relationships among visual arts, 
other arts, and disciplines outside the 
arts (1, 4) 

VA-CE-E7 Maintain a sketchbook or journal, or 
develop a portfolio  (1, 2, 3) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:224 (February 2004). 
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§905. Benchmarks 5-8 
A. In grades 5-8, students should know and be able to: 
 

VA-CE-M1 
Demonstrate art methods and techniques 
in visual representations based on 
research of imagery (2, 3) 

VA-CE-M2 
Select and apply media techniques, and 
technology to visually express and 
communicate (1, 2, 3) 

VA-CE-M3 
Use the elements and principles of 
design and art vocabulary to visually 
express and describe individual ideas (1, 2) 

VA-CE-M4 
Develop skills in creating various art 
forms, including art forms from other 
cultures (2, 3, 4) 

VA-CE-M5 
Produce ideas for art productions while 
engaging in individual and group 
activities (1, 2, 5) 

VA-CE-M6 
Understand and visually express 
relationships among visual arts, other 
arts, and disciplines outside the arts (1, 2, 4) 

VA-CE-M7 Maintain a sketchbook or journal and 
develop a portfolio  (1, 2, 3) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:225 (February 2004). 

§907. Benchmarks 9-12 
A. In grades 9-12, students should know and be able to: 
 

VA-CE-H1 
Produce works of art that  successfully 
convey a central theme based on imagery, 
ideas, feelings, and memories (1, 2, 3) 

VA-CE-H2 
Apply a variety of media techniques, 
technologies, and processes for visual 
expression and communication (1, 2, 3) 

VA-CE-H3 
Use the elements and principles of design 
for individual expression while exploring 
compositional problems (1, 2) 

VA-CE-H4 
 Produce a visual representation of ideas 
derived from the study of various cultures 
and art forms (2, 3, 4) 

VA-CE-H5 
Produce imaginative works of art 
generated from individual and group 
ideas (1, 2, 5) 

VA-CE-H6 Produce works of art that describe and 
connect art with other disciplines (1, 2, 4) 

VA-CE-H7 Maintain a sketchbook or journal and 
develop a portfolio  (1, 2, 3) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:225 (February 2004). 

 
§909. Creative Expression? Grade Cluster 

 
Grade Cluster K–4 5–8 9–12 
Benchmark 1 Explore and identify imagery from a 

variety of sources and create visual 
representations (2, 3) 

Demonstrate art methods and techniques 
in visual representations based on 
research of imagery (2, 3) 

Produce works of art that 
successfully convey a central theme 
based on imagery, ideas, feelings, 
and memories (1, 2, 3) 

Benchmark 2 Explore and discuss techniques and 
technologies for visual expression and 
communication (1, 2, 3)  

Select and apply media, techniques, and 
technology to visually express and 
communicate (1, 2, 3) 

Apply a variety of media 
techniques, technologies, and 
processes for visual expression and 
communication (1, 2, 3) 

Benchmark 3 Use art vocabulary and the elements 
and principles of design to convey the 
language of art (create and discuss own 
artwork) (1, 2, 3) 

Use the elements and principles of design 
and art vocabulary to visually express and 
describe individual ideas (1, 2) 

Use the elements and principles of 
design for individual expression 
while exploring compositional 
problems (1, 2) 

Benchmark 4 Experiment to create various art forms, 
including art forms from other cultures 
(2, 3, 4) 

Develop skills in creating various art 
forms, including art forms from other 
cultures (2, 3, 4) 

Produce a visual representation 
of ideas derived through the study 
of various cultures and art forms 
(2, 3, 4) 

Benchmark 5 Draw on imagination, individual 
experience, and group activities  
to generate ideas for visual expression 
(1, 4, 5) 

Produce ideas for art productions while 
engaging in individual and group 
activities (1, 2, 5) 

Produce imaginative works of art 
generated from individual and group 
ideas (1, 2, 5) 

Benchmark 6 Identify relationships among visual 
arts, other arts, and disciplines outside 
the arts (1, 4) 

Understand and visually express 
relationships among visual arts, other arts, 
and disciplines outside the arts (1, 2, 4) 

Produce works of art that describe 
and connect art with other 
disciplines (1, 2, 4) 

Benchmark 7 Maintain a sketchbook or journal, or 
develop a portfolio (1, 2, 3) 

Maintain a sketchbook or journal and 
develop a portfolio (1, 2, 3) 

Maintain a sketchbook or journal 
and develop a portfolio (1, 2, 3) 

 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:225 (February 2004). 
Subchapter B. Aesthetic Perception 
§911. Purpose 

A. Focus. The study of aesthetics, or the philosophy of 
the arts, cultivates the direct experience of the senses and 
supplies the individual with a structure for perceiving and

responding to the arts. A grasp of aesthetics empowers the 
individual to experience beauty in many forms, to appreciate 
artistic expression, and to develop insight into the creations 
and performances of others. By questioning concepts, 
weighing evidence, and examining intuitive reactions, the 
individual becomes increasingly discriminating in 
formulating preferences and conclusions about the values 
inherent in art. Aesthetic perception promotes creativity, 
flexible thinking, and the pursuit of excellence. 
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B. Standard. Students develop aesthetic perception 
through the knowledge of art forms and respect for their 
commonalities and differences. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:225 (February 2004). 
§913. Benchmarks K-4 

A. In grades K-4, students should know and be able to: 
 

VA-AP-E1 
Use elements and principles of design and 
basic art vocabulary for expressing 
responses to the work of others (1, 4, 5) 

 
VA-AP-E2 

Recognize and respond to concepts of 
beauty and taste in the ideas and creations 
of others through the study of visual arts (1, 4, 5) 

VA-AP-E3 
Explore the beauty in nature and discern 
images and sensory qualities found in 
nature and art  (1, 2) 

VA-AP-E4 
Recognize that there are many possibilities 
and choices in the processes for designing 
and producing visual arts (2, 3, 4) 

 
VA-AP-E5 

Participate in guided inquiry into the basic 
question, "What is art?" and share personal 
feelings or preferences about various 
works (1, 2, 4) 

VA-AP-E6 Identify where and how the visual arts are 
used in daily life and in the community (1, 2, 4) 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:226 (February 2004). 
§915. Benchmarks 5-8 

A. In grades 5-8, students should know and be able to: 
 

 
VA-AP-M1 

Use elements and principles of design 
and expanded art vocabulary for 
responding to the aesthetic qualities of 
various works 

 
(1, 4) 

VA-AP-M2 
Recognize that concepts of beauty differ 
by culture and that taste varies from 
person to person (1, 4, 5) 

VA-AP-M3 
Perceive the aesthetic value and influence 
of organic forms and the natural 
environment as reflected in works of art  (1, 2, 4) 

VA-AP-M4 
Demonstrate awareness of various new 
ideas, possibilities, options, and 
situations pertaining to the art world (1, 4) 

VA-AP-M5 
Discuss the question "What is art?" and 
express intuitive reactions and personal 
responses to various works (1, 4) 

VA-AP-M6 
Describe the use and value of the visual 
arts in daily life, the workplace, and the 
community (1, 2, 4) 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:226 (February 2004). 
§917. Benchmarks 9-12 

A. In grades 9-12, students should know and be able to: 
 

VA-AP-H1 
Use advanced art/design vocabulary for 
responding to the aesthetic qualities of 
various works (1, 4) 

VA-AP-H2 
Distinguish unique characteristics of art 
as it reflects concepts of beauty and 
quality of life in various cultures (1, 4, 5) 

VA-AP-H3 
Use analogies, metaphors, and other 
descriptors to describe interrelationships 
in works of art and nature (1, 2, 4) 

VA-AP-H4 
Compare and contrast multiple 
possibilities and options available for 
artistic expression (1, 4) 

VA-AP-H5 

Question/weigh evidence and 
informat ion, examine intuitive reactions, 
and articulate personal attitudes toward 
visual works (1, 2, 5) 

VA-AP-H6 
Integrate knowledge of the visual arts in 
the total environment to understand the 
arts within a community (2, 4, 5) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:226 (February 2004). 

 
 
§919. Aesthetic Perception? Grade Cluster 

 

Grade Cluster K–4 5–8 9–12 
Benchmark 1 Use elements and principles of design 

and basic art vocabulary for expressing 
responses to the work of others (1, 4, 5) 

Use elements and principles of design and 
expanded art vocabulary for responding  
to the aesthetic qualities of various works 
(1, 4) 

Use advanced art/design vocabulary 
for responding to the aesthetic 
qualities of various works (1, 4) 

Benchmark 2 Recognize and respond to concepts of 
beauty and taste in the ideas and 
creations of others through the study of 
visual arts (1, 4, 5)  

Recognize that concepts of beauty differ by 
culture and that taste varies from person to 
person (1, 4, 5) 

Distinguish unique characteristics of 
art as it reflects concepts of beauty 
and quality of life in various 
cultures (1, 4, 5) 

Benchmark 3 Explore the beauty in nature and discern 
images and sensory qualities found in 
nature and art (1, 2) 

Perceive the aesthetic value and influence 
of organic forms and the natural 
environment as reflected in works of art  
(1, 2, 4) 

Use analogies, metaphors, and other 
descriptors to describe 
interrelationships in works of art 
and nature (1, 2, 4) 

Benchmark 4 Recognize that there are many 
possibilities and choices in the processes 
for designing and producing visual arts 
(2, 3, 4) 

Demonstrate awareness of various new 
ideas, possibilities, options, and situations 
pertaining to the art world (1, 4) 

Compare and contrast multiple 
possibilities and options available 
for artistic expression (1, 4) 
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Grade Cluster K–4 5–8 9–12 
Benchmark 5 Participate in guided inquiry into the 

basic question "What is art?" and share 
personal feelings or preferences about 
various works (1, 2, 4) 

Discuss the question "What is art?" and 
express intuitive reactions and personal 
responses to various works (1, 4)  

Question/weigh evidence and 
information, examine intuitive 
reactions, and art iculate personal 
attitudes toward visual work (1, 2, 
5) 

Benchmark 6 Identify where and how the visual arts 
are used in daily life and in the 
community (1, 2, 4) 
 

Describe the use and value of the visual arts 
in daily life, the workplace, and the 
community (1, 2, 4) 

Integrate knowledge of the visual 
arts in the total environment to 
understand the arts within a 
community (2, 4, 5) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:226 (February 2004). 
Subchapter C. Historical and Cultural Perspective  
§921. Purpose 

A. Focus. Historical and cultural perspective is the 
vehicle for understanding works of art in time and place. The 
arts survive through times of interruption and neglect; they 
outlive governments, creeds, societies, and even the 
civilizations that spawned them. The artist is a harbinger of 
change, a translator of social thought, an analyst of cultures, 
a poetic scientis t, and a recorder of history. To understand 
creative output in the history of the arts is to understand 
history itself. 

B. Standard. Students develop historical and cultural 
perspective by recognizing and understanding that the arts 
throughout history are a record of human experience with a 
past, present, and future. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:227 (February 2004). 
§923. Benchmarks K-4 

A. In grades K-4, students should know and be able to: 
 

VA-HP-E1 Identify the subject, basic style, and culture 
represented by various works of art  (2, 4) 

VA-HP-E2 
Recognize universal symbols and how 
works of art communicate a universal 
language (1, 4, 5) 

VA-HP-E3 
Identify art images and themes from the 
past and present and discuss historical 
differences (1, 2, 4) 

VA-HP-E4 
Identify media used in works of art 
throughout history and recognize the 
importance of available resources (2, 3, 4) 

VA-HP-E5 
Recognize professions in the visual arts 
and the role and status of the artist in 
various cultures and time periods (2, 4) 

VA-HP-E6 Recognize great artists and works of art 
that have shaped the history of art  (2, 4) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:227 (February 2004). 

§925. Benchmarks 5-8 
A. In grades 5-8, students should know and be able to: 
 

VA-HP-M1 Identify and classify works of art by their 
subject, style, culture, and time period (2, 4) 

VA-HP-M2 
Understand how works of art cross 
geographical, political, and historical 
boundaries (2, 4) 

VA-HP-M3 
Understand the meaning and significance 
of ideas, themes, and messages in works of 
art from the past and present (2, 4) 

VA-HP-M4 Distinguish media and techniques used to 
create works of art throughout history (2, 3, 4) 

VA-HP-M5 
Describe and compare careers in visual arts 
and the role and status of the artist in 
various cultures and time periods (1, 2, 4) 

VA-HP-M6 
Identify major works of great and 
influential artists and recognize their 
achievements (4, 5) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:227 (February 2004). 
§927. Benchmarks 9-12 

A. In grades 9-12, students should know and be able to:  
 

VA-HP-H1 
Analyze specific styles and periods of art 
in relation to prevailing cultural, social, 
political, and economic conditions (2, 4, 5) 

VA-HP-H2 
Analyze how works of art cross 
geographical, political, and historical 
boundaries (2, 4) 

VA-HP-H3 
Compare and contrast ways art has been 
used to communicate ideas, themes, and 
messages throughout history (1, 2, 4) 

VA-HP-H4 
Analyze materials, technologies, media, 
and processes of the visual arts 
throughout history (2, 3, 4) 

VA-HP-H5 Investigate and assess roles, careers, and 
career opportunities in the visual arts (2, 4) 

VA-HP-H6 
Identify representative visual artists of 
various cultures and compare their lives, 
careers, works, and influence (1, 4) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:227 (February 2004). 
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§929. Historical and Cultural Perspective ?
Grade Cluster 

 
Grade Cluster K–4 5–8 9–12 
Benchmark 1 Identify the subject, basic style, and 

culture represented by various 
works of art (2, 4) 

Identify and classify works of art by their 
subject, style, culture, and time period (2, 
4) 

Analyze specific styles and periods 
of art in relation to prevailing 
cultural, social, political, and 
economic conditions (2, 4, 5) 

Benchmark 2 Recognize universal symbols and 
how works of art communicate a 
universal language (1, 4, 5) 

Understand how works of art cross 
geographical, political, and historical 
boundaries (2, 4) 

Analyze how works of art cross 
geographical, political, and historical 
boundaries (2, 4) 

Benchmark 3 Identify art images and themes 
from the past and present and 
discuss historical differences (1, 2, 
4) 

Understand the meaning and significance 
of ideas, themes, and messages in works 
of art from the past and present (2, 4) 

Compare and contrast ways art has 
been used to communicate ideas, 
themes, and messages throughout 
history (1, 2, 4) 

Benchmark 4 Identify media used in works of art 
throughout history and recognize 
the importance of available 
resources (2, 3, 4) 

Distinguish media and techniques used to 
create works of art throughout history (2, 
3, 4) 

Analyze materials, technologies, 
media, and processes of the visual 
arts throughout history (2, 3, 4) 

Benchmark 5 Recognize professions in the visual 
arts and the role and status of the 
artist in various cultures and time 
periods (2, 4) 

Describe and compare careers in visual 
arts and the role and status of the artist in 
various cultures and time periods (1, 2, 
4) 

Investigate and assess roles, careers, 
and career opportunities in the visual 
arts (2, 4)  
 

Benchmark 6 Recognize great artists and works 
of art that have shaped the history 
of art (2, 4) 

Identify major works of great and 
influential artists and recognize their 
achievements (4, 5) 

Identify representative visual artist s 
of various cultures and compare their 
lives, careers, works, and influence 
(1, 4) 

 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:228 (February 2004). 
Subchapter D. Critical Analysis 
§931. Purpose 

A. Focus. Critical analysis is the process of inquiry 
associated with an individual's knowledge of the arts. 
Communication about the arts in a structured way provides 
the individual with means to describe, analyze, interpret, and 
make critical, reasoned judgments about the form and 
content of the arts. 

B. Standard. Students make informed verbal and written 
observations about the arts by developing skills for critical 
analysis through the study of and exposure to the arts. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:228 (February 2004). 
§933. Benchmarks K-4 

A. In grades K-4, students should know and be able to: 
 

VA-CA-E1 
View works of art and express 
observations about how the elements and 
principles of design are used in the works (1, 4) 

VA-CA-E2 
Identify images, colors, and other art 
elements that have specific meanings in 
cultural contexts (1, 4) 

VA-CA-E3 Express and explain aesthetic judgments 
about the created (built) environment (1, 2, 4) 

VA-CA-E4 
Express and explain opinions about 
visual works of others using basic art 
vocabulary (1, 4) 

VA-CA-E5 Express interpretations about works of art 
and give supporting reasons (1, 4) 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:228 (February 2004). 
§935. Benchmarks 5-8 

A. In grades 5-8, students should know and be able to: 
 

VA-CA-M1 
View works of art and analyze how 
artists use design elements and 
principles to achieve an aesthetic effect  (2, 3, 4) 

VA-CA-M2 
Analyze and interpret art images for 
their symbolic meaning, purpose, and 
value in place and time (2, 4) 

VA-CA-M3 Express and justify aesthetic judgments 
about the created (built) environment (1, 2, 4) 

VA-CA-M4 Critique works of art sing expanded art 
vocabulary (1, 4) 

VA-CA-M5 Develop interpretations about works of 
art and give supporting reasons (1, 4) 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:228 (February 2004). 
§937. Benchmarks 9-12 

A. In grades 9-12, students should know and be able to: 
 

VA-CA-H1 

Apply knowledge of design elements and 
principles to analyze, compare, or 
contrast the composition of various 
works of art  (2, 4) 

VA-CA-H2 
Compare and contrast symbolism as used 
in works of visual art from different 
cultures and time periods (1, 4) 

VA-CA-H3 
Critique the design of structures or areas 
in the created (built) environment based 
on aesthetic criteria (1, 2, 4) 

VA-CA-H4 Critique works of art using advanced art 
vocabulary (1, 4) 

VA-CA-H5 

Develop and justify personal 
interpretations of works of art based on 
information from inside and outside the 
work (1, 2, 4) 

 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 30, No. 2   February 20, 2004 229 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:228 (February 2004). 

 
§939. Critical Analysis? Grade Cluster 

 
Grade Cluster K–4 5–8 9–12 
Benchmark 1 View works of art and express 

observations about how the elements 
and principles of design are used in the 
works (1, 4) 

View works of art and analyze how artists 
use design elements and principles to 
achieve an aesthetic effect (2, 3, 4) 
 

Apply knowledge of design 
elements and principles to analyze, 
compare, or contrast the 
composition of various works of art 
(2, 4) 

Benchmark 2 Identify images, colors, and other art 
elements that have specific meanings in 
cultural contexts (1, 4) 

Analyze and interpret art images for their 
symbolic meaning, purpose, and value in 
place and time (2, 4) 

Compare and contrast symbolism as 
used in works of visual art from 
different cultures and time periods 
(1, 4) 

Benchmark 3 Express and explain aesthetic 
judgments about the created (built) 
environment (1, 2, 4) 

Express and justify aesthetic judgments 
about the created (built) environment  
(1, 2, 4) 

Critique the design of structures or 
areas in the created (built) 
environment based on aesthetic 
criteria (1, 2, 4) 

Benchmark 4 Express and explain opinions about 
visual works of others using basic art 
vocabulary (1, 4) 

Critique works of art using expanded art 
vocabulary (1, 4) 

Critique works of art using 
advanced art vocabulary (1, 4) 

Benchmark 5 Express interpretations about works of 
art and give supporting reasons (1, 4) 

Develop interpretations about works of art 
and give supporting reasons (1, 4) 

Develop and justify personal 
interpretations of works of art based 
on information from inside and 
outside the work (1, 2, 4) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,  LR 
30:229 (February 2004). 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0402#017 
RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment  

Environmental Planning Division 

LPDES Water Quality Regulations Restructure 
(LAC 33:IX)(WQ055) 

The LPDES regulations in LAC 33:IX.Chapter 23 have 
been renumbered by the Office of the State Register and are 
being repromulgated by the Department of Environmental

Quality to correct a conflict of rules. The original Chapter 23 
is now Subpart 2 of the Part IX.Water Quality regulations, 
and the original Subchapters A - X and Appendices are now 
Chapters 23 - 71. Individual sections have been renumbered 
accordingly. Appendices in LAC 33:IX.Chapter 3 have also 
been assigned section numbers. These regulations are being 
repromulgated with the new numbering system. See the 
following Renumbering Equivalency Chart. For further 
information contact Judith A. Schuerman, Ph.D., Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, Regulation Development Section at (225)  
219-3550. 

The 2004 edition of the ERC has the standard text with the 
new numbering and is available on the Internet at 
http://www.deq.louisiana.gov/planning/regs/index.htm. 
Copies of the ERC can be purchased by contacting Brenda 
Hayden or Karen Veillon, Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, Regulation 
Development Section at (225) 219-3550. Check or money 
order is required in advance for each purchase.

  
Title 33 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Part IX.  Water Quality 

 
Renumbering Equivalency Chart 

 
Previous Number Current or New Number 

Subpart 1. Water Pollution Control 
  Subpart 1.  Water Pollution Control 
Chapter 1. General Provisions Chapter 1. General Provisions 
Chapter 3. Permits Chapter 3. Permits 
§301. Scope §301. Scope 
§303. Permit Application Information §303. Permit Application Information 
§305. Permit Limitations and Other Requirements §305. Permit Limitations and Other Requirements 
§307. Modification, Revocation and Reissuance §307. Modification, Revocation and Reissuance 
§309. Renewal and Termination §309. Renewal and Termination 
§311. Standard Permit Conditions §311. Standard Permit Conditions 
§313. Fact Sheets §313. Fact Sheets 
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Previous Number Current or New Number 
§315. Public Information §315. Public Information 
§317. Special Permits/Programs §317. Special Permits/Programs 
Appendix A. Primary Industry Categories §319. Appendix A–Primary Industry Categories 
Appendix B. Criteria for Determining a Concentrated Animal 
Feeding Operation 

§321. Appendix B–Criteria for Determining a Concentrated Animal 
Feeding Operation 

Appendix C. Criteria for Determining a Concentrated Aquatic 
Animal Production Facility 

§323. Appendix C–Criteria for Determining a Concentrated Aquatic 
Animal Production Facility 

Appendix D. Permit Application Testing Requirements §325. Appendix D–Permit Application Testing Requirements 
Chapter 5. Enforcement Chapter 5. Enforcement 
Chapter 7. Effluent Standards  Chapter 7. Effluent Standards  
Chapter 9. Spill Prevention and Control Chapter 9. Spill Prevention and Control 
Chapter 11. Surface Water Quality Standards  Chapter 11. Surface Water Quality Standards  
Chapter 13. Louisiana Water Pollution Control Fee System 
Regulation 

Chapter 13. Louisiana Water Pollution Control Fee System 
Regulation 

Chapter 15. Water Quality Certification Procedures Chapter 15. Water Quality Certification Procedures 
Chapter 17. Disposal of Waste Oil, Oil Field Brine, and All 
Other Materials Resulting from the Drilling for, Production of, or 
Transportation of Oil, Gas or Sulfur  
(As amended January 27, 1953) 

Chapter 17. Disposal of Waste Oil, Oil Field Brine, and All Other 
Materials Resulting from the Drilling for, Produ ction of, or 
Transportation of Oil, Gas or Sulfur  
(As amended January 27, 1953) 

Chapter 19. State of Louisiana Stream Control Commission Chapter 19. State of Louisiana Stream Control Commission 
Chapter 21. Municipal Facilities Revolving Loan Fund Chapte r 21. Municipal Facilities Revolving Loan Fund 
Chapter 22. Drinking Water Revolving Loan Fund Chapter 22. Drinking Water Revolving Loan Fund 

Subpart 2. The Louisiana Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (LPDES) Program 

Chapter 23. The LPDES Program Subpart 2.  The Louisiana Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
(LPDES) Program 

Subchapter A. Definitions and General Program Requirements Chapter 23. Definitions and General LPDES Program 
Requirements  

§2301. General Conditions §2301. General Conditions 
§2311. Purpose and Scope §2311. Purpose and Scope 
§2313. Definitions §2313. Definitions 
§2315. Exclusions §2315. Exclusions 
§2317. Prohibitions §2317. Prohibitions 
§2319. Effect of a Permit  §2319. Effect of a Permit  
§2321. Continuation of Expiring Permits §2321. Continuation of Expiring Permits 
§2323. Confidentiality of Information §2323. Confidentiality of Information 
Subchapter B. Permit Application and Special LPDES Program 
Requirements 

Chapter 25. Permit Application and Special LPDES Program 
Requirements 

§2331. Application for a Permit  §2501. Application for a Permit  
§2333. Signatories to Permit Applications and Reports §2503. Signatories to Permit Applications and Reports 
§2335. Concentrated Animal Feeding Operations §2505. Concentrated Animal Feeding Operations 
§2337. Concentrated Aquatic Animal Production Facilities §2507. Concentrated Aquatic Animal Production Facilities 
§2339. Aquaculture Projects §2509. Aquaculture Projects 
§2341. Storm Water Discharges §2511. Storm Water Discharges 
§2343. Silvicultural Activities §2513. Silvicultural Activities 
§2345. General Permits §2515. General Permits 
§2346. What Are the Objectives of the Storm Water Regulations for 
Small MS4s? 

§2517. What Are the Objectives of the Storm Water Regulations for Small 
MS4s? 

§2347. As an Operator of a Small MS4, Am I Regulated under the 
LPDES Storm Water Project? 

§2519. As an Operator of a Small MS4, Am I Regulated under the 
LPDES Storm Water Project? 

§2348. If I Am an Operator of a Regulated Small MS4, How Do I 
Apply for an LPDES Permit and When Do I Have to Apply? 

§2521. If I Am an Operator of a Regulated Small MS4, How Do I Apply 
for an LPDES Permit and When Do I Have to Apply? 

§2349. As an Operator of a Regulated Small MS4, What Will My 
LPDES MS4 Storm Water P ermit Require? 

§2523. As an Operator of a Regulated Small MS4, What Will My LPDES 
MS4 Storm Water Permit Require? 

§2350. As an Operator of a Regulated Small MS4, May I Share the 
Responsibility to Implement the Minimum Control Measures with 
Other Entities?  

§2525. As an Operator of a Regulated Small MS4, May I Share the 
Responsibility to Implement the Minimum Control Measures with Other 
Entities?  

§2351. As an Operator of a Regulated Small MS4, What Happens if I 
Don't Comply with the Application or Permit Requirements in LAC 
33:IX.2348-50? 

§2527. As an Operator of a Regulated Small MS4, What Happens if I 
Don't Comply with the Application or Permit Requirements in LAC 
33:IX.2521-2525? 

§2352. Will the Small MS4 Storm Water Program Regulations at 
LAC 33:IX.2347-2351 Change in the Future? 

§2529. Will the Small MS4 Storm Water Program Regulations at LAC 
33:IX.2519-2527 Change in the Future? 

Subchapter C. Permit Conditions Chapter 27. LPDES Permit Conditions 
§2355. Conditions Applicable to All Permits §2701. Conditions Applicable to All Permits 
§2357. Additional Conditions Applicable to Specified Categories of 
LPDES Permits 

§2703. Additional Conditions Applicable to Specified Categories of 
LPDES Permits 

§2359. Establishing Permit Conditions §2705. Establishing Permit Conditions 
§2361. Establishing Limitations, Standards, and Other Permit 
Conditions 

§2707. Establishing Limitations, Standards, and Other Permit Conditions 

§2363. Calculating LPDES Permit Conditions §2709. Calculating LPDES Permit Conditions 
§2365. Duration of Permits §2711. Duration of Permits 
§2367. Schedules of Compliance §2713. Schedules of Compliance 
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Previous Number Current or New Number 
§2369. Requirements for Recording and Reporting of Monitoring 
Results 

§2715. Requirements for Recording and Reporting of Monitoring Results 

§2371. Disposal of Pollutants into Wells, Publicly Owned Treatment 
Works or by Land Application 

§2717. Disposal of Pollutants into Wells, Publicly Owned Treatment 
Works or by Land Application 

Subchapter D. Transfer, Modification, Revocation and 
Reissuance, and Termination of Permits 

Chapter 29. Transfer, Modification, Revocation and Reissuance, 
and Termination of LPDES Permits 

§2381. Transfer of Permits §2901. Transfer of Permits 
§2383. Modification or Revocation and Reissuance of Permits §2903. Modificat ion or Revocation and Reissuance of Permits 
§2385. Minor Modifications of Permits §2905. Minor Modifications of Permits 
§2387. Termination of Permits §2907. Termination of Permits 
Subchapter E.  General Program Requirements Chapter 31. General LPDES Program Requirements 
§2403. Definitions §3101. Definitions 
§2405. Application for a Permit  §3103. Application for a Permit  
§2407. Modification, Revocation and Reissuance, or Termination of 
Permits 

§3105. Modification, Revocation and Reissuance, or Termination of 
Permits 

§2409. Draft Permits §3107. Draft Permits 
§2411. Statement of Basis §3109. Statement of Basis 
§2413. Fact Sheet  §3111. Fact Sheet  
§2415. Public Notice of Permit Actions and Public Comment Period §3113. Public Notice of Permit Actions and Public Comment Period 
§2417. Public Comments and Requests for Public Hearings §3115. Public Comments and Requests for Public Hearings 
§2419. Public Hearings §3117. Public Hearings 
§2421. Obligation to Raise Issues and Provide Information During 
the Public Comment Period 

§3119. Obligation to Raise Issues and Provide Information During the 
Public Comment Period 

§2423. Reopening of the Public Comment Period §3121. Reopening of the Public Comment Period 
§2425. Issuance and Effective Date of Permit  §3123. Issuance and Effective Date of Permit  
§2427. Response to Comments §3125. Response to Comments 
Subchapter F. Specific Decisionmaking Procedures Applicable to 
LPDES Permits 

Chapter 33. Specific Decisionmaking Procedures Applicable to 
LPDES Permits 

§2441. Purpose and Scope §3301. Purpose and Scope 
§2443. Permits Required on a Case-by-Case Basis §3303. Permits Required on a Case-by-Case Basis 
§2445. Fact Sheets §3305. Fact Sheets 
§2447. Public Notice §3307. Public Notice 
§2449. Conditions Requested by the Corps of Engineers and Other 
Government Agencies 

§3309. Conditions Requested by the Corps of Engineers and Other 
Government Agencies 

§2451. Decision on Variances §3311. Decision on Variances 
§2453. Special Procedures for Decisions on Thermal Variances under 
Section 316(a) of the CWA 

§3313. Special Procedures for Decisions on Thermal Variances under 
Section 316(a) of the CWA 

Subchapter G. Evidentiary Hearings for LPDES  
Permits—Reserved 

Chapter 35. Evidentiary Hearings for LPDES Permits—Reserved 

Subchapter H. Criteria and Standards for Technology-Based 
Treatment Requirements under Sections 301(b) and 402 of the Act 

Chapter 37. Criteria and Standards for Technology-Based Treatment 
Requirements under Sections 301(b) and 402 of the Act 

§2465. Purpose and Scope §3701. Purpose and Scope 
§2467. Definitions §3703. Definitions 
§2469. Technology -Based Treatment Requirements in Permits §3705. Technology -Based Treatment Requirements in Permits 
Subchapter I. Criteria for Issuance of Permits to Aquaculture 
Projects 

Chapter 39. Criteria for Issuance of LPDES Permits to Aquaculture 
Projects 

§2475. Purpose and Scope §3901. Purpose and Scope 
§2477. Criteria §3903. Criteria 
Subchapter J. Criteria for Extending Compliance Dates for 
Facilities Installing Innovative Technology under Section 301(k) of 
the Act—Reserved 

Chapter 41. Criteria for Extending Compliance Dates for Facilities 
Installing Innovative Technology under Section 301(k) of the Act—
Reserved 

Subchapter K. Criteria and Standards for Determining 
Fundamentally Different Factors under Sections 301(b)(1)(A), 
301(b)(2)(A) and (E) of the Act 

Chapter 43. Criteria and Standards for Determining Fundamentally 
Different Factors under Sections 301(b)(1)(A), 301(b)(2)(A) and (E) of 
the Act 

§2501. Purpose and Scope §4301. Purpose and Scope 
§2503. Criteria §4303. Criteria 
§2505. Method of Application §4305. Method of Application 
Subchapter L. Criteria for Determining Alternative Effluent 
Limitations under Section 316(a) of the Act 

Chapter 45. Criteria for Determining Alternative Effluent 
Limitations under Section 316(a) of the Act 

§2511. Purpose and Scope §4501. Purpose and Scope 
§2513. Definitions §4503. Definitions 
§2515. Early Screening of Applications for Section 316(a) of the Act 
Variances 

§4505. Early Screening of Applications for Section 316(a) of the Act 
Variances 

§2517. Criteria and Standards for the Determination of Alternative 
Effluent Limitations under Section 316(a) of the Act  

§4507. Criteria and Standards for the Determination of Alternative 
Effluent Lim itations under Section 316(a) of the Act  

Subchapter M. Criteria Applicable to Cooling Water Intake 
Structures Under Section 316(b) of the Act  

Chapter 47. Criteria Applicable to Cooling Water Intake Structures 
under Section 316(b) of the Act  

§2519. What  Are the Purpose and Scope of This Subchapter? §4701. What Are the Purpose and Scope of This Chapter? 
§2520. Who Is Subject to This Subchapter? §4703. Who Is Subject to This Chapter? 
§2521. When Must I Comply with This Subchapter? §4705. When Must I Comply with This Chapter? 
§2522. What Special Definitions Apply to This Subchapter? §4707. What Special Definitions Apply to This Chapter? 
§2523. As an Owner or Operator of a New Facility, What Must I Do 
to Comply with This Subchapter? 

§4709. As an Owner or Operator of a New Facility, What Must I Do to 
Comply with This Chapter? 
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Previous Number Current or New Number 
to Comply with This Subchapter? Comply with This Chapter? 
§2524. May Alternative Requirements Be Authorized? §4711. May Alternative Requirements Be Authorized? 
§2525. As an Owner or Operator of a New Facility, What Must I 
Collect and Submit  When I Apply for My New or Reissued LPDES 
Permit? 

§4713. As an Owner or Operator of a New Facility, What Must I Collect 
and Submit When I Apply for My New or Reissued LPDES Permit? 

§2526. As an Owner or Operator of a New Facility, Must I Perform 
Monitoring? 

§4715. As an Owner or Operator of a New Facility, Must I Perform 
Monitoring? 

§2527. As an Owner or Operator of a New Facility, Must I Keep 
Records and Report? 

§4717. As an Owner or Operator of a New Facility, Must I Keep Records 
and Report Information and Data? 

§2528. What Must the State Administrative Authority Do to Comply 
with the Requirements of This Subchapter? 

§4719. What Must the State Administrative Authority Do to Comply with 
the Requirements of This Chapter? 

Subchapter N. Incorporation by Reference  Chapter 49. Incorporation by Reference  
§2531. 40 CFR Part 136 §4901. 40 CFR Part 136 
§2533. 40 CFR Chapter I, Subchapter N §4903. 40 CFR Chapter I, Subchapter N 
§2535. Availability §4905. Availability 
Subchapter O. Criteria for Extending Compliance Dates under 
Section 301(i) of the Act—Reserved 

Chapter 51. Criteria for Extending Compliance Dates under Section 
301(i) of the Act—Reserved 

Subchapter P. Criteria and Standards for Best Management 
Practices Authorized under Section 304(e) of the Act—Reserved 

Chapter 53. Criteria and Standards for Best Management Practices 
Authorized under Section 304(e) of the Act—Reserved 

Subchapter Q. Criteria and Standards for Imposing  
Conditions for the Disposal of Sewage Sludge under Section 405 of 
the Act—Reserved 

Chapter 55. Criteria and Standards for Imposing Conditions for the 
Disposal of Sewage Sludge under Section 405 of the Act—Reserved 

Subchapter R. Toxic Pollutant Effluent Standards and 
Prohibitions 

Chapter 57. Toxic Pollutant Effluent Standards and Prohibitions 

§2601. Scope and Purpose §5701. Scope and Purpose 
§2603. Definitions §5703. Definitions 
§2605. Abbreviations §5705. Abbreviations 
§2607. Toxic Pollutants §5707. Toxic Pollutants 
§2609. Compliance §5709. Compliance 
§2611. Adjustment of Effluent Standard for Presence of Toxic 
Pollutant in the Intake Water 

§5711. Adjustment of Effluent Standard for Presence of Toxic Pollutant in 
the Intake Water 

§2613. Requirement and Procedure for Establishing a More Stringent 
Effluent Limitation 

§5713. Requirement and Procedure for Establishing a More Stringent 
Effluent Limitation 

§2615. Compliance Date §5715. Compliance Date 
§2617. Aldrin/Dieldrin  §5717. Aldrin/Dieldrin  
§2619. DDT, DDD, and DDE §5719. DDT, DDD, and DDE 
§2621. Endrin  §5721. Endrin  
§2623. Toxaphene §5723. Toxaphene 
§2625. Benzidine §5725. Benzidine 
§2627. Polychlorinated Biphenyls (PCBs) §5727. Polychlorinated Biphenyls (PCBs) 
Subchapter S. Secondary Treatment under the LPDES Program Chapter 59. Secondary Treatment under the LPDES Program 
§2641. Purpose §5901. Purpose 
§2643. Definitions §5903. Definitions 
§2645. Secondary Treatment §5905. Secondary Treatment 
§2647. Special Considerations §5907. Special Considerations 
§2649. Sampling and Test Procedures §5909. Sampling and Test Procedures 
§2651. Treatment Equivalent to Secondary Treatment §5911. Treatment Equivalent to Secondary Treatment 
Subchapter T.  General Pretreatment Regulations for Existing 
and New Sources of Pollution 

Chapter 61. General Pretreatment Regulations for Existing and New 
Sources of Pollution 

§2701. Purpose and Applicability §6101. Purpose and Applicability 
§2703. Objectives of General Pretreatment Regulations §6103. Objectives of General Pretreatment Regulations 
§2705. Definitions §6105. Definitions 
§2707. State or Local Law §6107. State or Local Law 
§2709. National Pretreatment Standards: Prohibited Discharges §6109. National Pretreatment Standards: Prohibited Discharges 
§2711. National Pretreatment Standards: Categorical Standards §6111. National Pretreatment Standards: Categorical Standards 
§2713. Removal Credits §6113. Removal Credits 
§2715. Pretreatment Program Requirements: Development and 
Implementation by POTW 

§6115. Pretreatment Program Requirements: Development and 
Implementation by POTW 

§2717. POTW Pretreatment Programs and/or Authorization to Revise 
Pretreatment Standards: Submission for Approval 

§6117. POTW Pretreatment Programs and/or Authorization to Revise 
Pretreatment Standards: Submission for Approval 

§2719. Development and Submission of NPDES State Pretreatment 
Programs 

§6119. Development and Submission of NPDES State Pretreatment 
Programs 

§2721. Approval Procedures for POTW Pretreatment Programs and 
POTW Granting of Removal Credits 

§6121. Approval Procedures for POTW Pretreatment Programs and 
POTW Granting of Removal Credits 

§2723. Reporting Requirements for POTWs and Industrial Users §6123. Reporting Requirements for POTWs and Industrial Users 
§2725. Variances from Categorical Pretreatment Standards for 
Fundamentally Different Factors 

§6125. Variances from Categorical Pretreatment Standards for 
Fundamentally Different Factors 

§2727. Confidentiality §6127. Confidentiality 
§2729. Net/Gross Calculation §6129. Net/Gross Calculation 
§2731. Upset Provision §6131. Upset Provision 
§2733. Bypass §6133. Bypass 
§2735. Modification of POTW Pretreatment Programs §6135. Modification of POTW Pretreatment Programs 
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Previous Number Current or New Number 
Subchapter U. Ocean Discharge Criteria  Chapter 63. Ocean Discharge Criteria 
§2745. Scope and Purpose §6301. Scope and Purpose 
§2747. Definitions §6303. Definitions 
§2749. Determination of Unreasonable Degradation of the Marine 
Environment 

§6305. Determination of Unreasonable Degradation of the Marine 
Environment 

§2751. Permit Requirements §6307. Permit Requirements 
§2753. Informat ion Required to be Submitted by Applicant §6309. Information Required to be Submitted by Applicant 
Subchapter V. Additional Requirements Applicable to the 
LPDES Program 

Chapter 65. Additional Requirements Applicable to the LPDES 
Program 

§2761. Applicability §6501. Applicability 
§2763. Request for Nondisclosure of Confidential Information §6503. Request for Nondisclosure of Confidential Information 
§2765. Additional LPDES Permit Application Requirements §6505. Additional LPDES Permit Application Requirements 
§2767. Enforcement Actions §6507. Enforcement Actions 
§2769. Additional Requirements for Permit Renewal and 
Termination 

§6509. Additional Requirements for Permit Renewal and Termination 

§2771. Duty to Mitigate §6511. Duty to Mitigate 
§2773. Inspection and Entry §6513. Inspection and Entry 
§2775. Monitoring and Recordkeeping §6515. Monitoring and Recordkeeping 
§2777. Additional Requirements for Bypass and Upset Conditions §6517. Additional Requirements for Bypass and Upset Conditions 
§2779. Fact Sheets §6519. Fact Sheets 
§2781. Public Notice and Availability of Information §6521. Public Notice and Availability of Information 
Subchapter W. Financial Security Chapter 67. Financial Security 
§2801. Applicability §6701. Applicability 
§2803. Acceptable Form of Financial Security §6703. Acceptable Form of Financial Security 
§2805. Amount of Required Financial Security §6705. Amount of Required Financial Security 
§2807. Conditions for Forfeiture §6707. Conditions for Forfeiture 
§2809. Use of Proceeds §6709. Use of Proceeds 
Subchapter X. Standards for the Use or Disposal of Sewage 
Sludge  

Chapter 69. Standards for the Use or Disposal of Sewage Sludge  

§3101. General Provisions §6901. General Provisions 
§3103. Land Application §6903. Land Application 
§3105. Reserved   
§3107. Siting and Operation Requirements for Commercial Blenders, 
Composters, Mixers, or Preparers of Sewage Sludge 

§6905. Siting and Operation Requirements for Commercial Blenders, 
Composters, Mixers, or Preparers of Sewage Sludge 

§3109. Financial Assurance Requirements for Commercial Blenders, 
Composters, Mixers, or Preparers of Sewage Sludge 

§6907. Financial Assurance Requirements for Commercial Blenders, 
Composters, Mixers, or Preparers of Sewage Sludge 

§3111. Pathogens and Vector Attraction Reduction §6909. Pathogens and Vector Attraction Reduction 
§3113. Incineration §6911. Incineration 
  Chapter 71. Appendices 
Appendix A–Primary Industry Categories §7101. Appendix A–Primary Industry Categories 
Appendix B–Criteria for Determin ing a Concentrated Animal Feeding 
Operation 

§7103. Appendix B–Criteria for Determining a Concentrated Animal 
Feeding Operation 

Appendix C–Criteria for Determining a Concentrated Aquatic Animal 
Production Facility 

§7105. Appendix C–Criteria for Determining a Concentrated Aquatic 
Animal Production Facility 

Appendix D–Permit Application Testing Requirements (LAC 
33:IX.2331) 

§7107. Appendix D–Permit Application Testing Requirements (LAC 
33:IX.2501) 

Appendix E–Rainfall Zones of Louisiana (Reserved) §7109. Appendix E–Rainfall Zones of Louisiana—Reserved 
Appendix F–Incorporated Places with Populations Greater Than 
250,000 

§7111. Appendix F–Incorporated Places with Populations Greater Than 
250,000 

Appendix G–Incorporated Places with Populations Greater Than 
100,000 and Less Than 250,000 

§7113. Appendix G–Incorporated Places with Populations Greater Than 
100,000 and Less Than 250,000 

Appendix H–Parishes with Unincorporated Urbanized Areas with a 
Population of 250,000 or More 

§7115. Appendix H–Parishes with Unincorporated Urbanized Areas with 
a Population of 250,000 or More 

Appendix I–Parishes with Unincorporated Urbanized Areas Greater 
Than 100,000, But Less Than 250,000 

§7117. Appendix I–Parishes with Unincorporated Urbanized Areas 
Greater Than 100,000, But Less Than 250,000 

Appendix J–65 Toxic Pollutants (Reserved) §7119. Appendix J–65 Toxic Pollutants—Reserved 
Appendix K–Industrial Categories Subject to National Categorical 
Pretreatment Standards (Reserved) 

§7121. Appendix K–Industrial Categories Subject to National Categorical 
Pretreatment Standards—Reserved 

Appendix L–Selected Industrial Subcategories Considered Dilute for 
Purposes of the Combined Wastestream Formula 

§7123. Appendix L–Selected Industrial Subcategories Considered Dilute 
for Purposes of the Combined Wastestream Formula 

Appendix M–Sampling Procedures §7125. Appendix M–Sampling Procedures 
Appendix N–Pollutants Eligible for a Removal Credit  §7127. Appendix N–Pollutants Eligible for a Removal Credit  
Appendix O–LPDES Permit Testing Requirements for Publicly 
Owned Treatment Works (LAC 33:IX.2331.J)  

§7129. Appendix O–LPDES Permit Testing Requirements for Publicly 
Owned Treatment Works (LAC 33:IX.2501.J)  

Appendix P–Procedure to Determine the Annual Whole Sludge 
Application Rate for a Sewage Sludge 

§7131. Appendix P–Procedure to Determine the Annual Whole Sludge 
Application Rate for a Sewage Sludge 

Appendix Q–Pathogen Treatment Processes §7133. Appendix Q–Pathogen Treatment Processes 
Appendix R–Financial Assurance Documents §7135. Appendix R–Financial Assurance Documents 

 
James H. Brent, Ph.D. 
Assistant Secretary 

0402#051 
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RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Medical Examiners 

Acupuncturists' and Acupuncturists' Assistants' Fees 
(LAC 46:XLV.185 and 187) 

Editor's Note: This Rule was printed in error in the January 20, 
2004 edition of the Louisiana Register on page 41. 
 

The Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners (board), 
pursuant to the authority vested in the board by R.S. 
37:1270, R.S. 37:1281, R.S. 37:1356-1360, and the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq., has amended its rules prescribing the fees payable by 
acupuncturists and acupuncturists' assistants for the issuance 
and annual renewal of certification issued by the board. LAC 
46:XLV, Subpart 1, Chapter 1, Subchapter H, §§185 and 
187. The effective date of this Rule is February 20, 2004.  

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLV.  Medical Professions 

Subpart 1.  General 
Chapter 1. Fees and Costs 
Subchapter H. Acupuncturists' and Acupuncturists' 

Assistants Fees 
§185. Certification 

A. For processing an application for certification as an 
acupuncturist or as an acupuncturist assistant, a fee of $200 
shall be payable to the board.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, R.S. 37:1281 and R.S. 37:1360. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
10:907 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:41, 
repromulgated LR 30:234 (February 2004). 
§187. Annual Renewal 

A. For processing an application for annual renewal of 
an acupuncturist's or acupuncturist assistant's certification, a 
fee of $100 shall be payable to the board.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, R.S. 37:1281 and R.S. 37:1360. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
10:908 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:41 (January 
2004), repromulgated LR 30:234 (February 2004). 

 
John B. Bobear, M.D. 
Executive Director 

0402#020 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Medical Examiners 

Athletic Trainers' Fees  
(LAC 46:XLV.159, 161, 163, 165, 3107, 3129 and 3157) 

Editor's Note: This Rule was printed in error in the January 20, 
2004 edition of the Louisiana Register on page 42. 

 
The Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners (board), 

pursuant to the authority vested in the board by R.S. 
37:3301-3312, R.S. 37:1270, R.S. 37:1281, and the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq., has amended its existing Rules prescribing the fees 
payable for initial certification, annual renewal and 
temporary permits issued by the board for athletic trainers, 
LAC 46:XLV, Subpart 1, Chapter 1, Subchapter F, §§159, 
161, 163, 165 and Subpart 2, Chapter 31, Subchapters B, 
§3107, D, §3129 and G, §3157. The effective date of this 
Rule is February 20, 2004. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLV.  Medical Professions 

Subpart 1.  General 
Chapter 1. Fees and Costs 
Subchapter F.  Athletic Trainers Fees 
§159. Scope of Subchapter 

A. The rules of this Subchapter prescribe the fees and 
costs applicable to the certification of athletic trainers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, R.S. 37:1281 and R.S. 37:3301-3312. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
10:907 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:42 (January 
2004), repromulgated LR 30:234 (February 2004). 
§161. Certification, Permits, and Examination 

A. For processing applications for certification as an 
athletic trainer, a fee of $125 shall be payable to the board. 

B. For issuing a temporary permit, a fee of $50 shall be 
payable to the board. 

C. For registration for and taking of the certification 
examination administered by the board, an applicant shall 
pay the fee that is charged by the entity developing the 
examination.  

D. When an applicant is required by these rules to take 
the examination administered by the board, the fee 
prescribed by §161.C shall be added to the applicable 
application processing fee. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, R.S. 37:1281 and R.S. 37:3301-3312. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
10:907 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:42 (January 
2004), repromulgated LR 30:234 (February 2004). 
§163. Annual Renewal 

A. For processing an application for annual renewal of 
an athletic trainer's certification, a fee of $100 shall be 
payable to the board.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, R.S. 37:1281 and R.S. 37:3301-3312. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
10:907 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:42 (January 
2004), repromulgated LR 30:235 (February 2004). 
§165. Reinstatement of License   

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270, R.S. 37:1281 and R.S. 37:3301-3312. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
10:907 (November 1984), repealed by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:42 (January 
2004), repromulgated LR 30:235 (February 2004). 

Subpart 2.  Licensure and Certification 
Chapter 31. Athletic Trainers 
Subchapter B. Requirements and Qualifications for 

Certification 
§3107. Requirements for Certification 

A. - A.4. ... 
5. satisfy the applicable fees as prescribed by Chapter 

1 of these rules;  
A.6. - B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270, R.S. 37:1281 and R.S. 37:3301-3312. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
12:522 (August 1986), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:42 (January 2004),  
repromulgated LR 30:235 (February 2004). 
Subchapter D. Application 
§3129. Application Procedure 

A. - G. ... 
H. Each application submitted to the board shall be 

accompanied by the applicable fee, as provided in Chapter 1 
of these rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, R.S. 37:1281 and R.S. 37:3301-3312. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
12:524 (August 1986), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 24:938 (May 1998), 
LR 30:42 (January 2004), repromulgated LR 30:235 (February 
2004). 
Subchapter G.  Certificate Issuance, Termination, 

Renewal, Reinstatement 
§3157. Renewal of Certificate 

A. Every certificate issued by the board under this 
Subchapter shall be renewed annually on or before its date 
of expiration by submitting to the board an application for 
renewal, upon forms supplied by the board, together with

evidence of the qualifications requisite to renewal as 
specified in §3159 and the applicable renewal fee prescribed 
in Chapter 1 of these rules. 

B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270, R.S. 37:1281 and R.S. 37:3301-3312. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
12:526 (August 1986), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:42 (January 2004), 
repromulgated LR 30:235 (February 2004). 

 
John B. Bobear, M.D. 
Executive Director 

0402#021 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Medical Examiners 

Clinical Exercise Physiologists Fees 
(LAC 46:XLV.221, 223, 225, 3713, and 3743) 

Editor's Note: This Rule was printed in error in the January 20, 
2004 edition of the Louisiana Register on page 43. 

 
The Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners (board), 

pursuant to the authority vested in the board by R.S. 
37:3421-3433, R.S. 37:1270, R.S. 37:1281, and the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq., has adopted rules and amended its existing rules 
prescribing the fees payable by clinical exercise 
physiologists for the issuance and renewal of a license by the 
board, LAC 46:XLV, Subpart 1, Chapter 1, Subchapter L, 
§§221, 223, 225, and Subpart 2, Chapter 37, Subchapters C, 
§3713 and E, §3743. The effective date of this Rule is 
February 20, 2004. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLV.  Medical Professions 

Subpart 1.  General 
Chapter 1. Fees and Costs 
Subchapter L. Clinical Exercise Physiologists Fees 
§221. Scope of Subchapter 

A. The rules of this Subchapter prescribe the fees and 
costs applicable to the licensing of clinical exercise 
physiologists. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3421-3433, R.S. 37:1270 and R.S. 37:1281. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:43 
(January 2004), repromulgated LR 30:235 (February 2004). 
§223. Licenses and Permits 

A. For processing an application for a license as a 
clinical exercise physiologist, a fee of $150 shall be payable 
to the board.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3421-3433, R.S. 37:1270 and R.S. 37:1281. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:43 
(January 2004), repromulgated LR 30:235 (February 2004). 
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§225. Annual Renewal 
A. For processing an application for annual renewal of a 

license as a clinical exercise physiologist, a fee of $100 shall 
be payable to the board.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3421-3433, R.S. 37:1270 and R.S. 37:1281. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:43 
(January 2004), repromulgated LR 30:236 (February 2004). 

Subpart 2.  Licensure and Certification 
Chapter 37. Clinical Exercise Physiologists 
Subchapter C. Application 
§3713. Application Procedure 

A. - F. ... 
G. Each application submitted to the board shall be 

accompanied by the applicable fee, as provided in Chapter 1 
of these rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3421-3433 and R.S. 37:1270. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 23:406 
(April 1997), amended LR 30:43 (January 2004), repromulgated 
LR 30:236 (February 2004). 
Subchapter E. License Issuance, Expiration, Renewal 

and Termination 
§3743. Renewal of License 

A. Every license issued by the board under this Chapter 
shall be renewed annually on or before its date of expiration 
by submitting to the board an application for renewal, upon 
forms supplied by the board, together with a renewal fee as 
prescribed by Chapter 1 of these rules and documentation of 
satisfaction of the continuing professional education 
requirements prescribed by Subchapter G of these rules. 

B. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3421-3433, R.S. 37:1270 and R.S. 37:1281. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 23:409 
(April 1997), amended 24:1498 (August 1998), LR 30:43 (January 
2004), repromulgated LR 30:236 (February 2004). 

 
John B. Bobear, M.D. 
Executive Director 

0402#022 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Medical Examiners 

Midwives' Fees 
(LAC 46:XLV.203, 205, 2313 and 2345) 

Editor's Note: This Rule was printed in error in the January 20, 
2004 edition of the Louisiana Register on page 43. 

 
The Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners (board), 

pursuant to the authority vested in the board by R.S. 
37:3240-3257, R.S. 37:1270, R.S. 37:1281, and the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq., has amended its Rules prescribing the fees payable 
by midwives for the issuance and renewal of a license by the 
board. LAC 46:XLV, Subpart 1, Chapter 1, Subchapter J,

§§203, 205 and Subpart 2, Chapter 23, Subchapters C, 
§2313 and F, §2345. The effective date of this Rule is 
February 20, 2004. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLV.  Medical Professions 

Subpart 1.  General 
Chapter 1. Fees and Costs 
Subchapter J. Midwives' Fees 
§203. Licenses and Permits 

A. For processing an application for a midwifery license, 
a fee of $200 shall be payable to the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3240-3257, R.S. 37:1270, R.S. 37:1281. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
10:908 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:43 (January 
2004), repromulgated LR 30:236 (February 2004). 
§205. Renewal 

A. For processing an application for biannual renewal of 
a midwifery license, a fee of $100 shall be payable to the 
board.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3240-3257, R.S. 37:1270, R.S. 37:1281.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:44 
(January 2004), repromulgated LR 30:236 (February 2004). 

Subpart 2.  Licensure and Certification 
Chapter 23. Licensed Midwives 
Subchapter C. Application 
§2313. Application Procedure 

A. - F. ... 
G. Each application submitted to the board shall be 

accompanied by the applicable fee, as provided in Chapter 1 
of these rules. 

H. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270 and R.S. 37:3240-3257. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 12:514 
(August 1986), amended 17:779 (August 1991), LR 30:44 (January 
2004), repromulgated LR 30:236 (February 2004). 
Subchapter F.  License Issuance, Termination, Renewal, 

Reinstatement 
§2345. Renewal of License 

A. Every license issued by the board under this Chapter 
shall be renewed biannually on or before its date of 
expiration by submitting to the board an application for 
renewal, upon forms supplied by the board, together with the 
renewal fee prescribed in Chapter 1 of these rules. 

B. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270 and R.S. 37:3240-3257. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 12:516 
(August 1986), amended 17:779 (August 1991), LR 30:44 (January 
2004), repromulgated LR 30:236 (February 2004). 

 
John B. Bobear, M.D. 
Executive Director 

0402#023 
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RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Medical Examiners 

Occupational Therapists and Occupational  
Therapy Assistants Fees 

 (LAC 46:XLV.173, 175, 1913 and 1947) 

Editor's Note: This Rule was printed in error in the January 20, 
2004 edition of the Louisiana Register on page 44. 

 
The Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners (board), 

pursuant to the authority vested in the board by R.S. 
37:3001-3014, R.S. 37:1270, R.S. 37:1281, and the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq., has amended its Rules prescribing the fees payable 
for the issuance of initial license and annual license renewal 
by occupational therapists and occupational therapy 
assistants, as well as that applicable to temporary permits 
issued by the board . LAC 46:XLV, Subpart 1, Chapter 1, 
Subchapter G, §§173, 175 and Subpart 2, Chapter 19, 
Subchapters C, §1913 and F, §1947. The effective date of 
this Rule is February 20, 2004.  

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLV.  Medical Professions 

Subpart 1.  General 
Chapter 1. Fees and Costs 
Subchapter G.  Occupational Therapists and 

Occupational Therapy Assistants Fees 
§173. Licenses and Permits 

A. For processing an application for an occupational 
therapist's license a fee of $150 shall be payable to the 
board.  

B. For processing an application for an occupational 
therapy assistant's license a fee of $100 shall be payable to 
the board. 

C. For issuing a temporary permit, a fee of $50 shall be 
payable to the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3001-3014, R.S. 37:1270, R.S. 37:1281. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
10:907 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:44 (January 
2004), repromulgated LR 30:237 (February 2004). 
§175. Annual Renewal 

A. For processing an application for annual renewal of 
an occupational therapist's license, a fee of $100 shall be 
payable to the board.  

B. For processing an application for annual renewal of 
an occupational therapy assistant's license a fee of $75 shall 
be payable to the board. 

C. If the application for renewal is received beyond the 
deadline designated by the board, a late renewal fee of $35 
shall be payable to the board.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3001-3014, R.S. 37:1270, R.S. 37:1281. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
10:907 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health 

and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:44 (January 
2004), repromulgated LR 30:237 (February 2004). 

Subpart 2.  Licensure and Certification 
Chapter 19. Occupational Therapists and 

Occupational Therapy Assistants 
Subchapter C. Application 
§1913. Application Procedure 

A. - G. ... 
H. Each application submitted to the board shall be 

accompanied by the applicable fee, as provided in Chapter 1 
of these rules. 

I. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3001-3014 and R.S. 37:1270(B)(6). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
12:767 (November 1986), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:44 (January 
2004), repromulgated LR 30:237 (February 2004). 
Subchapter F.  License Issuance, Termination, Renewal 

and Reinstatement 
§1947. Renewal of License 

A. Every license issued by the board under this 
Subchapter shall be renewed annually on or before its date 
of expiration by submitting to the board an application for 
renewal, upon forms supplied by the board, together with the 
renewal fee prescribed in Chapter 1 of these rules and 
documentation of satisfaction of the continuing professional 
education requirements prescribed by Subchapter H of these 
rules. 

B. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3001-3014 and R.S. 37:1270(B)(6). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
12:767 (November 1986), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 20:1003 
(September 1994), LR 24:1499 (August 1998), LR 30:44 (January 
2004), repromulgated LR 30:237 (February 2004). 

 
John B. Bobear, M.D. 
Executive Director 

0402#024 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Medical Examiners 

Physician Assistants' Fees 
(LAC 46:XLV.149, 153, 1509 and 1517) 

The Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners (board), 
pursuant to the authority vested in the board by R.S. 
37:1270, R.S. 37:1281, R.S. 37:1360.23, R.S. 37:1360.24, 
R.S. 37:1360.27, and the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., has amended its Rules 
prescribing the fees payable by physician assistants for 
initial issuance and renewal of certification issued by the 
board to physician assistants . LAC 46:XLV, Subpart 1, 
Chapter 1, Subchapter E, §§149, 153, Subpart 2, Chapter 15, 
§§1509 and 1517. The Rules are set forth below.  
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Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLV.  Medical Professions 

Subpart 1.  General 
Chapter 1. Fees and Costs 
Subchapter E. Physician Assistants' Fees  
§149. Certification 

A. For processing an application for certification as a 
physician assistant, a fee of $250 shall be payable to the 
board.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, R.S. 37:1281, R.S. 37:1362.23, R.S. 37:1360.24. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
10:907 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:238 (February 
2004). 
§153. Annual Renewal 

A. For processing an application for annual renewal of a 
physician assistant's certification, a fee of $150 shall be 
payable to the board.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, R.S. 37:1281, R.S. 37:1360.23, R.S. 37:1360.27. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
10:907 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:238 (February 
2004). 

Subpart 2.  Licensure and Certification 
Chapter 15. Physician Assistants 
§1509. Application for Licensure; Procedure 

A.1. - 2. ... 
3. payment of the applicable fee as provided in 

Chapter 1 of these rules; and 
4. ... 

B. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270, R.S. 37:1281, R.S. 37:1360.23, R.S. 37:1360.24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
4:110 (April 1978), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 17:1103 (November 
1991), LR 22:202 (March 1996), LR 25:29 (January 1999), LR 
30:238 (February 2004). 
§1517. Expiration of Licensure; Renewals; 

Modification; Notification of Intent to Practice 
A. ... 
B. Every license issued by the board under this Chapter 

shall be renewed annually on or before the first day of the 
month in which the licensee was born, by submitting to the 
board an application for renewal upon forms supplied by the 
board, together with satisfactory documentation of current 
certification by the National Commission on Certificate of 
Physician Assistants. Each application for renewal shall be 
accompanied by the applicable fee as provided in Chapter 1 
of these rules. 

C. - F. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270, R.S. 37:1281, R.S. 37:1360.23, R.S. 37:1360.24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
4:111 (April 1978), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 17:1104 (November 

1991), LR 22:203 (March 1996), LR 24:1498 (August 1998), LR 
25:31 (January 1999), LR 30:238 (February 2004). 

 
John B. Bobear, M.D. 
Executive Director 

0402#039 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Medical Examiners 

Physicians' and Surgeons' Fees 
(LAC 46:XLV.125, 127 and 131) 

Editor's Note: This Rule was printed in error in the January 20, 
2004 edition of the Louisiana Register on page 45. 

 
The Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners (board), 

pursuant to the authority vested in the board by R.S. 37:1270 
and R.S. 37:1281, and the provis ions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953, has amended its Rules 
prescribing the fees payable by physicians for initial 
issuance and renewal of medical licensure, as well as those 
applicable to a graduate education temporary permit, visiting 
physician permit, short-term residency permit, institutional 
or temporary permit and intern registration. The effective 
date of this Rule is February 20, 2004.  

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLV.  Medical Professions 

Subpart 1.  General 
Chapter 1. Fees and Costs 
Subchapter C. Physicians' and Surgeons' Fees  
§125. Licenses, Permits, and Examination 

A. For processing applications for licensure of the type 
indicated, the following fees shall be payable to the board. 

1. Standard application? $250 
2. Reciprocity application? $350 

B. For processing applications for permits of the type 
indicated, the following fees shall be payable to the board. 

1. Graduate medical education temporary permit? $200 
2. Visiting physician permit? $100 
3. Short-term residency permit? $100 
4. Other institutional or temporary permits? $100 

C. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270 and R.S. 37:1281. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Exa miners, LR 
10:906 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 17:603 (June 
1991), LR 21:467 (May 1995), LR 21:1238 (November 1995),  
LR 30:45 (January 2004), repromulgated LR 30:238 (February 
2004). 
§127. Postgraduate Education Registration 

A. For processing an application for and issuance of a 
certificate of registration pursuant to Subchapter J of 
Chapter 3 of these rules, a fee of $50 shall be payable to the 
board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270 and 37:1281. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
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10:907 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 21:1238 
(November 1995), LR 30:45 (January 2004), repromulgated LR 
30:238 (February 2004). 
§131. Annual Renewal 

A. For processing a licensee's annul renewal of license 
under §417 of these rules, a fee of $300 shall be payable to 
the board. 

B. For processing a permit holder's annual renewal of a 
graduate medical education temporary permit, a fee of $100 
shall be payable to the board. 

C. For processing renewal of an institutional or other 
temporary permit, a fee of $100 shall be payable to the 
board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270 and 37:1281. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
10:907 (November 1984), amended LR 12:767 (November 1986), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of 
Medical Examiners, LR 21:1238 (November 1995), LR 30:45 
(January 2004), repromulgated LR 30:239 (February 2004). 

 
John B. Bobear, M.D. 
Executive Director 

0402#025 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Medical Examiners 

Podiatrists' Fees 
(LAC 46:XLV.139, 141 and 143) 

Editor's Note: This Rule was printed in error in the January 20, 
2004 edition of the Louisiana Register on page 45. 

 
The Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners (board), 

pursuant to the authority vested in the board by R.S. 
37:1270, R.S. 37:1281, R.S. 37:613, R.S. 37:618, R.S. 
37:621-622, and the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., has amended its Rules 
prescribing the fees payable for initial issuance and renewal 
of podiatric licensure, as well as those applicable to 
temporary permits, and issuance of an intern registration. 
LAC 46:XLV, Subpart 1, Chapter 1, Subchapter D,  
§§139-143. The effective date of this Rule is February 20, 
2004. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLV.  Medical Professions 

Subpart 1.  General 
Chapter 1. Fees and Costs 
Subchapter D. Podiatrists Fees  
§139. Licenses, Permits, and Examination 

A. For processing an application for licensure as a 
podiatrist, a fee of $300 shall be payable to the board. 

B. For issuing a temporary permit, a fee of $100 shall be 
payable to the board. 

C. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270, R.S. 37:1281, R.S. 37:613, R.S. 618, R.S. 621-622. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
10:907 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:46 (January 
2004), repromulgated LR 30:239 (February 2004). 
§141. Annual Renewal 

A. For processing a podiatrist's annual renewal of 
license, a fee of $200 shall be payable to the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, R.S. 37:1281, R.S. 37:613, R.S. 618, R.S. 621-622. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
10:907 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:46 (January 
2004), repromulgated LR 30:239 (February 2004). 
§143. Podiatric Postgraduate Education Registration 

A. For processing an application for and issuance of a 
certificate of registration pursuant to Subchapter K of 
Chapter 13 of these rules, a fee of $50 shall be payable to the 
board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, R.S. 37:1281, R.S. 37:613, R.S. 618, R.S. 621-622. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:46 
(January 2004), repromulgated LR 30:239 (February 2004). 

 
John B. Bobear, M.D. 
Executive Director 

0402#026 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Medical Examiners 

Registered Respiratory Therapists' and  
Certified Respiratory Therapists' Fees 

(LAC 46:XLV.193, 195, and 197) 

Editor's Note: This Rule was printed in error in the January 20, 
2004 edition of the Louisiana Register on page 46. 

 
The Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners (board), 

pursuant to the authority vested in the board by R.S. 
37:3351-3361, R.S. 37:1270, R.S. 37:1281, and the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq., has amended Rules prescribing the fees payable by 
registered respiratory therapists and certified respiratory 
therapists for the issuance of an initial license, annual license 
renewal, and a temporary license by the board . LAC 
46:XLV, Subpart 1, Chapter 1, Subchapter I, §§193, 195 and 
197. The effective date of this Rule is February 20, 2004. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLV.  Medical Professions 

Subpart 1.  General 
Chapter 1. Fees and Costs 
Subchapter I. Respiratory Therapists and Respiratory 

Therapy Technicians  
§193. Scope of Subchapter 

A. The rules of this Subchapter prescribe the fees and 
costs applicable to the licensing of registered respiratory 
therapists and certified respiratory therapists. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3351-3361, R.S. 37:1270 and R.S. 37:1281. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
10:908 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:46 (January 
2004), repromulgated LR 30:239 (February 2004). 
§195. Licenses  

A. For processing an application for licensing a 
registered respiratory therapist, a fee of $150 shall be 
payable to the board.  

B. For processing an application for licensing a certified 
respiratory therapist, a fee of $100 shall be payable to the 
board. 

C. For processing a temporary license, a fee of $50 shall 
be payable to the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3351-3361, R.S. 37:1270, R.S. 37:1281. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
10:908 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:46 (January 
2004), repromulgated LR 30:240 (February 2004). 
§197. Annual Renewal 

A. For processing an application for annual renewal of a 
registered respiratory therapist's license, a fee of $100 shall 
be payable to the board.  

B. For processing an application for annual renewal of a 
certified respiratory therapist's license a fee of $75 shall be 
payable to the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3351-3361, R.S. 37:1270 and R.S. 37:1281. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:46 
(January 2004), repromulgated LR 30:240 (February 2004). 

 
John B. Bobear, M.D. 
Executive Director 

0402#027 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Admissions Criteria for Inpatient Facilities  
(LAC 48:I.1607) 

Editor's Note: LAC 48:I.1607 was promulgated in the January 
20, 2004 issue of the Louisiana Register on pages 47-48 and is 
being repromulgated to correct typographical errors.  

Under the authority of Act 1249 of the 2003 Regular 
Session of the Louisiana Legislature, the Louisiana 
Department of Health and Hospitals has adopted the 
following Rule governing admissions criteria for inpatient 
facilities operated by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals. Each office within the Department of Health and 
Hospitals that operates inpatient facilities, i.e., Office of the 
Secretary, Office for Addictive Disorders, Office for Citizens 
with Developmental Disabilities, and Office of Mental 
Health, has established admissions criteria included in this 
Rule.  

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTH? GENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 1.  General 
Chapter 16. Admissions Criteria for Inpatient 

Facilities 
§1607. Inpatient Mental Health Facilities Operated by 

the Office of Mental Health 
A. In order to be admitted a person must qualify as a 

candidate for services in an inpatient setting as indicated on 
a published Level of Functioning Scale or other instrument 
identified by the Office of Mental Health as clinically 
appropriate. Such Level of Functioning Scale must be based 
on scientifically accepted practice standards and must 
demonstrate adequate psychometric properties of validity 
and reliability. The person must also meet the standard for 
inpatient care as specified in the Office of Mental Health 
Single Point of Entry (SPOE) Admissions Criteria, which is 
specified in the following. 

B. Adult Admission Criteria. At least one criterion from 
Severity of Illness must be met and all of the Intensity of 
Service Criteria must be met. 

1. Severity of Illness Criteria (Must meet one or more 
of a, b, or c) 

a. Patient presents as a danger to self as evidenced 
by:  
 i. a suicide attempt within the past 72 hours; or 
 ii. documentation that the patient has a current 
suicide plan, specific suicide intent, or recurring suicidal 
ideation; or 
 iii. documentation of self-mutilative behavior 
occurring within the past 72 hours 

b. Patient presents as a danger to others due to a 
DSM Axis I diagnosis as evidenced by any of the following: 
 i. dangerously aggressive behavior during the 
past seven days due to a DSM Axis I diagnosis; or 
 ii. threats to kill or seriously injure another person 
with the means to carry out the threat and the threatening 
behavior is due to a DSM Axis I diagnosis; or 
 iii. documentation that the patient has a current 
homicide plan, specific homicidal intent, or recurrent 
homicidal ideation and this is due to a DSM Axis I 
diagnosis. 

c. Patient is gravely disabled and unable to care for 
self due to a DSM Axis I diagnosis as evidenced by: 
 i.  documentation of a serious impairment in 
function (as compared to others of the same age) in one or 
more major life roles (school, job, family, interpersonal 
relations, self-care, etc.) due to a DSM Axis I diagnosis; and 
 ii. patient presents with acute onset or acute 
exacerbation of hallucinations, delusions, or illusions of such 
magnitude that the patient's well-being is threatened; or 
 iii. an inability of the patient to comply with 
prescribed psychiatric and/or medical health regimens as 
evidenced by the following: 

(a). patient has a history of de-compensation 
without psychotropic medications and patient refuses to use 
these medications as an outpatient; or 
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(b). patient is at risk of health or life due to non-
compliance with medical regimens (e.g., insulin-dependent 
diabetes, etc.) and patient refuses these medical regimens as 
an outpatient. 

2. Intensity of Service Criteria 
a. Treatment of the patient's psychiatric condition 

requires services on an inpatient hospital basis . These 
services include, but are not limited to: 
 i. suicide precautions, unit restrictions, and 
continual observation and limiting of behavior to protect self 
or others;  
 ii. active intervention by a psychiatric team to 
prevent assaultive behavior;  
 iii. 24 hour observation and medication 
stabilization necessitated by patient behaviors that indicate a 
therapeutic level of medication has not been reached; and 

b. services provided in the hospital can reasonably 
be expected to improve the patient's condition or prevent 
further regression so that the services will no longer be 
needed by the patient; and 

c. services in the community do not meet, and/or do 
not exist to meet the treatment needs of the patient, or the 
patient has been unresponsive to treatment at a less intensive 
level of care. 

C. Children's Admission Criteria. At least one criterion 
from Severity of Illness must be met, and all of the Intensity 
of Service Criteria must be met. 

1. Severity of illness criteria must meet one or more of 
Subparagraph a, b, or c: 

a. the child is a danger to self (Clauses i, ii, iii or iv 
and v must exist to meet this criterion): 
 i. the child has made an attempt to take his/her 
own life in the last 24 hours. Details of the attempt must be 
documented; or 
 ii. the child has demonstrated self-mutilative 
behavior within the past 24-hours. Details of behavior must 
be documented; or 
 iii. the child has a clear plan to seriously harm 
him/herself, overt suicidal intent, recurrent suicide thoughts, 
and lethal means available to follow the plan. This 
information can be from the child or a reliable source. 
Details of the plan must be documented; or 
 iv. due to a DSM Axis I diagnosis, the child is in 
serious danger of dying or sustaining grave bodily injury to 
him/her self; and 
 v. it is the judgment of a mental health 
professional that the child is at a significant risk of making a 
suicide attempt or due to a DSM Axis I diagnosis, is in 
serious danger of dying or sustaining grave bodily injury to 
him/herself without immediate inpatient intervention; 

b. the child is a danger to others or property due to a 
DSM Axis I diagnosis as indicated by: (Clauses i, ii, or iii 
and iv must exist and include the specific DSM criteria that 
justify this diagnosis): 
 i. the child has actually engaged in behavior 
harmful or potentially harmful to others or caused serious 
damage to property, which would pose a serious threat of 
injury, or harm to others within the last 24 hours. 
Description of the behavior and extent of injury or damage 
must be documented, as well as the time the behavior 
occurred relative to present; or 

 ii. the child has made threats to kill or seriously 
injure others or seriously damage property, which would 
pose a threat of injury or harm to others, and has effective 
means to carry out the threats. Details of the threats must be 
documented; or 
 iii. a mental health professional has information 
from the child or a reliable source that the child has a current 
plan, specific intent, or recurrent thoughts to seriously harm 
others or property. Details must be documented; and 
 iv. it is the judgment of a mental health 
professional that the child is at a significant risk of making a 
homicide attempt or engaging in other seriously aggressive 
behavior without immediate inpatient intervention; 

c. the child is gravely disabled due to a DSM Axis I 
diagnosis as indicated by (Clauses i, and either ii, iii or iv 
must exist and include the specific DSM criteria that justify 
this diagnosis): 
 i. the child has serious impairment of functioning 
compared to others of the same age in one or more major life 
roles (school, family, interpersonal relations, self-care, etc.) 
Specific descriptions of the following must be documented: 

(a). deficits in control, cognition or judgment; 
(b). circumstances resulting from those deficits 

in self-care, personal safety, social/family functioning, 
academic or occupational performance; 

(c). prognostic indicators which predict the 
effectiveness of inpatient treatment; and 
 ii. severe thought disorganization or clinical 
deterioration or the acute onset of psychosis has rendered the 
child unmanageable and unable to cooperate in non-hospital 
treatment; or 
 iii. there is a need for medication therapy or 
complex diagnostic testing where the child's level of 
functioning precludes cooperation with treatment in an 
outpatient or non-hospital based regimen, and may require 
close supervision of medication and/or forced administration 
of medication; or 
 iv. a medical condition co-exists with a DSM Axis 
I diagnosis which, if not monitored/treated appropriately, 
places the child's life or well-being at serious risk. 

2. Intensity of Service Criteria 
a. Treatment of the patient's psychiatric condition 

requires services on an inpatient hospital basis. These 
services include, but are not limited to: 
 i. suicide precautions, unit restrictions, and 
continual observation and limiting of behavior to protect self 
or others; 
 ii. active intervention by a psychiatric team to 
prevent assaultive behavior;  
 iii. 24 hour observation and medication 
stabilization necessitated by patient behaviors that indicate a 
therapeutic level of medication has not been reached; and 

b. services provided in the hospital can reasonably 
be expected to improve the patient's condition or prevent 
further regression so that the services will no longer be 
needed by the patient; and 

c. services in the community do not meet, and/or do 
not exist to meet the treatment needs of the patient, or the 
patient has been unresponsive to treatment at a less intensive 
level of care. 
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D. Exclusionary Criteria-Adult. If one or more of the 
following is met, admission is denied. 

1. Patient has a major medical or surgical illness or 
injury that would prevent active participation in a psychiatric 
treatment program (patients must be medically stable). 

2. Patient has criminal charges pending and does not 
have a DSM Axis I diagnosis. 

3. Patient has anti-social behaviors that are a danger to 
others and those anti-social behaviors are characterological 
rather than due to a DSM Axis I diagnosis. 

4. Patient has a DSM Axis II diagnosis of mental 
retardation without an accompanying DSM Axis I diagnosis. 

5. Patient has a Substance Abuse Disorder as defined 
in DSM and does not otherwise meet the severity of illness 
and intensity of service criteria. 

E. Exclusionary Criteria-Children. If one or more of the 
following is met, admission is denied. 

1. The child has a major medical or surgical illness or 
injury that prevents active participation in a psychiatric 
treatment program. 

2. The child has criminal charges pending and does 
not otherwise meet severity of illness and intensity of service 
criteria. 

3. The child has anti-social behaviors that are a danger 
to others and does not have a DSM Axis I diagnosis. 

4. The child has a DSM Axis II diagnosis of mental 
retardation and does not otherwise meet severity of illness 
and intensity of service criteria. 

5. The child lacks a place to live and/or family 
supports and does not otherwise meet severity of illness and 
intensity of service criteria. 

6. The child has been suspended or exp elled from 
school and does not otherwise meet severity of illness and 
intensity of service criteria. 

7. The child has a substance abuse disorder as defined 
in DSM and does not otherwise meet the severity of illness 
and intensity of service criteria.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:20. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, LR 30:47 (January 
2004), repromulgated LR 30:240 (February 2004). 

 
Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary 

0402#087 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Adult Day Health Care? Prospective Payment System  
(LAC 50:II.10939) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
LAC 50:II 10939 under the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH? MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part II.  Medical Assistance Program 
Subpart 3.  Standards for Payment 

Chapter 109. Standards for Payment? Adult Day 
Health Care  

§10939. Prospective Payment System 
A. General Provisions 

1. Development. Adult Day Health Care (ADHC) 
providers shall be reimbursed a per diem rate for services 
provided under a prospective payment system (PPS). The 
system shall be designed in a manner that recognizes and 
reflects the cost of direct care services provided. The 
reimbursement methodology is designed to improve the 
quality of care for all adult day health care recipients by 
ensuring that direct care services are provided at an 
acceptable level while fairly reimbursing the providers. 

2. The prospective payment methodology establishes 
blended rates consisting of 50 percent of the PPS rate based 
on the median FY 2001 reported cost for all ADHC 
providers filing acceptable full year cost reports and 50 
percent of the facility specific prospectively determined rate 
based on facility specific reasonable allowable costs. 

3. - 3.d  ... 
4. Rate Setting. Adult day health care providers shall 

be reimbursed blended rates consisting of 50 percent of the 
PPS rate based on the median FY 2001 reported cost for all 
ADHC providers filing acceptable full year cost reports and 
50 percent of the facility specific prospectively determined 
rate based on facility specific reasonable allowable costs 
plus a direct care incentive. 

a. The PPS rate is based on the median FY 2001 
reported cost for all ADHC providers filing acceptable full 
year cost reports.  
 i. Direct Care Costs. A statewide base rate for 
direct care is computed at 115 percent of the median facility 
per diem direct care costs submitted on all full year cost 
reports except those for which an audit disclaimer has been 
issued. Direct care costs are trended forward using the 
Consumer Price Index (CPI)? Medical Services. 
 ii. Care Related Costs. A statewide base rate for 
care related costs is computed at 105 percent of the median 
facility per diem care related costs submitted on all 
acceptable full year cost reports except those for which an 
audit disclaimer has been issued. Care related costs are 
trended forward using the CPI? All Items. 
 iii. Administrative and Operating Costs (AOC). A 
statewide base rate for administrative and operating costs is 
computed at 105 percent of the median facility per diem 
administrative and operating costs submitted on all 
acceptable full year cost reports except for those for which 
an audit disclaimer has been issued and are trended forward 
using the CPI? All Items. 
 iv. Property. The property rate is computed at the 
median of property costs submitted on all acceptable full 
year cost reports. Inflation will not be added to property 
costs.  

b. The facility specific prospectively determined 
rate is based on facility specific reasonable allowable costs. 
The facility specific prospectively determined rate shall be 
limited to 80 percent of the nursing facility intermediate care 
II rate in effect on July 1, 2002 exclusive of the provider fee.  
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 i. Direct Care Costs. Facility specific direct care 
is based on the facility specific per diem reasonable 
allowable direct care costs submitted on the acceptable FY 
2001 full year cost report. Direct care costs are trended 
forward using the Consumer Price Index (CPI)? Medical 
Services. 
 ii. Care Related Costs. Facility specific care 
related cost is based on the facility specific per diem 
reasonable allowable care related costs submitted on the 
acceptable FY 2001 full year cost report. Care related costs 
are trended forward using the CPI? All Items. 
 iii. Administrative and Operating Costs (AOC). 
Facility specific AOC is based on the facility specific per 
diem reasonable allowable AOC submitted on the acceptable 
FY 2001 full year cost report. AOC are trended forward 
using the CPI? All Items. 
 iv. Property. Facility specific property cost is 
based on the facility specific per diem reasonable allowable 
property costs submitted on the acceptable FY 2001 full year 
cost report. Inflation will not be added to property costs. 
 v. Facilities participating prior to August 1, 2003 
who have not filed a full year acceptable cost report shall 
have the facility specific prospectively determined rate for 
August 1, 2003 through June 30, 2004 based on budgeted 
data and limited to 80 percent of the nursing facility 
weighted average case mix rate in effect on July 1, 2003. 
 vi. For rates effective July 1, 2004 and thereafter, 
facilities receiving audit disclaimers shall receive a rate 
equal to the PPS rate based on the median FY 2001 reported 
cost for all ADHC providers filing acceptable full year cost 
reports trended forward in accordance with this §10939.  

c. All trending shall be from the midpoint of the 
year preceding the cost report year to the midpoint of the 
year preceding the rate year. 

d. Application of an inflationary adjustment to 
reimbursement rates in non-rebasing years shall apply only 
when the legislature allocates funds for this purpose. 

e. A direct care incentive based on legislative 
appropriation shall be added to the per diem rate effective 
August 1, 2003. 

5. Total Per Diem Rate. The per diem rate for 
providers filing acceptable full year cost reports is the sum 
of 50 percent of the PPS rate based on the median FY 2001 
reported cost for all ADHC providers filing acceptable full 
year cost reports plus 50 percent of the facility specific 
prospectively determined rate based on facility specific 
reasonable allowable costs plus the direct care incentive.  

6. New providers enrolled in the Medicaid Program 
effective August 1, 2003 and thereafter shall receive the PPS 
rate based on the base year median reported cost for all 
ADHC providers filing acceptable cost reports trended 
forward in accordance with this §10939 plus the direct care 
incentive.  

7. Minimum Rate. The minimum adult day health care 
rate shall be the PPS rate based on the median FY 2001 
reported cost for all ADHC providers filing acceptable full 
year cost reports plus the direct care incentive. 

8. Cost Settlement. The direct care cost component 
and the direct care incentive shall be subject to cost 
settlement. Should an ADHC facility's cost report reveal that 
the provider did not expend an amount equal to 90 percent of 
the median direct care rate component trended forward for 

direct care services plus 90 percent of the direct care 
incentive, the Medicaid program will recover the difference 
between 90 percent of the median direct care rate component 
trended forward for direct care services plus 90 percent of 
the direct care incentive and the actual direct care amount 
expended. 

B. Cost Reporting 
1. Providers of ADHC services are required to file 

annual acceptable cost reports of all reasonable and 
allowable costs. An acceptable cost report is one that is 
prepared in accordance with the requirements of this section 
and the provider has supporting documentation necessary for 
completion of a desk review or audit. The annual cost 
reports are the basis for determining reimbursement rates. A 
copy of all reports and statistical data must be retained by 
the facility for no less than five years following the date 
reports are submitted to the bureau. A chart of accounts and 
an accounting system on the accrual basis or converted at 
year end are required in the cost reporting preparation 
process. The bureau or its designee will perform desk 
reviews of the cost reports. In addition to the desk review, a 
representative number of the facilities shall be subject to a 
full-scope, annual on-site audit. All ADHC cost reports shall 
be filed with a fiscal year fro m July 1 through June 30. 

B.2 - C.1.e.iv. ... 
2. Rate Determination 

a. Calculation of Base Rate. Rates for both the PPS 
rate based on the median FY 2001 reported cost for all 
ADHC providers filing acceptable full year cost reports and 
the facility specific prospectively determined rate based on 
facility specific reasonable allowable costs are calculated 
from cost report data. Allowable costs include those costs 
incurred by providers to conform to state licensure and 
federal certification standards. General cost principles are 
applied during the desk review and audit process to 
determine allowable costs. These general cost principles 
include determining whether the cost is ordinary, necessary, 
and related to the delivery of care; the cost is what a prudent 
and cost conscious business person would pay for the 
specific goods or services in the open market or in an arm's 
length transaction; and the cost is for goods or services 
actually provided to the center. Through the desk review 
and/or audit process, adjustments and/or disallowances may 
be made to a provider?s reported costs. "HIM-15," the 
Medicare Provider Reimbursement Manual, is the final 
authority for allowable costs unless the Louisiana 
Department of Health and Hospitals has set a more 
restrictive policy. 

C.2.b. - C.2.c. ... 
d. The inflated median shall be increased to 

establish the base rate median component as follows. 
i. The inflated direct care median shall be 

multiplied times 115 percent to establish the direct care base 
rate component. 
 ii. The inflated care related median shall be 
multiplied times 105 percent to establish the care related 
base rate component. 
 iii. The administrative and operating median shall 
be multiplied times 105 percent to establish the 
administrative and operating base rate component. 

e. At least every three years, audited and desk 
reviewed cost report items will be compared to the rate 
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components calculated for the cost report year to insure that 
the rates remain reasonably related to costs. 

f. Formulae. Each median cost component shall be 
calculated as follows. 
 i. Direct Care Cost Component. Direct care per 
diem costs from all acceptable full year cost reports shall be 
arrayed from lowest to highest. The cost at the midpoint of 
the array shall be the median cost. Should there be an even 
number of arrayed cost, an average of the two midpoint 
centers shall be the median cost. The median cost shall be 
trended forward using the Consumer Price Index for Medical 
Services. The direct care rate component shall be set at 115 
percent of the inflated median. 
 ii. Care Related Cost Component. Care related per 
diem costs from all acceptable full year cost reports shall be 
arrayed from lowest to highest. The cost of the center at the 
midpoint of the array shall be the median cost. Should there 
be an even number of arrayed cost, an average of the two 
midpoint centers shall be the median cost. The median cost 
shall be trended forward using the Consumer Price Index for 
All Items. The care related rate component shall be set at 
105 percent of the inflated median. 
 iii. Administrative and Operating Cost 
Component. Administrative and operating per diem cost 
from all acceptable full year cost reports shall be arrayed 
from lowest to highest. The cost of the midpoint of the array 
shall be the median cost. Should there be an even number of 
arrayed cost, an average of the two midpoint centers shall be 
the median cost. The median cost shall be trended forward 
by dividing the value of the CPI? All Items index for 
December of the year proceeding the base rate year by the 
value of the index for the December of the year preceding 
the cost report year. The administrative and operating rate 
component shall be set at 105 percent of the inflated median. 
 iv. Property Cost Component? Property. The 
property per diem costs from all acceptable full year cost 
reports shall be arrayed from lowest to highest. The cost at 
the midpoint of the array shall be the median cost. This will 
be the rate component. Inflation will not be added to 
property costs. 

g. Formulae. Each facility specific prospectively 
determined cost component shall be calculated as follows. 
 i. Direct Care Cost Component. The direct care 
per diem costs from each facility's full year cost reports shall 
be trended forward using the Consumer Price Index for 
Medical Services in accordance with this §10939. 
 ii. Care Related Cost Component. The care 
related per diem costs from each facility's full year cost 
reports shall be trended forward using the Consumer Price 
Index for Medical Services in accordance with this §10939. 
 iii. Administrative and Operating Cost 
Component. The administrative and operating per diem cost 
from each facility's acceptable full year cost reports shall be 
trended forward using the Consumer Price Index for Medical 
Services in accordance with this §10939.  
 iv. Property Cost Component? Property. The 
property per diem costs from each facility's acceptable full 
year cost reports shall be the property cost component. 
Inflation will not be added to property costs. 
 v. Facilities participating prior to August 1, 2003 
that have not filed a full year acceptable cost report shall 
have the facility specific prospectively determined rate for 

August 1, 2003 through June 30, 2004 based on budgeted 
data and limited to 80 percent of the nursing facility 
weighted average case mix rate in effect on July 1, 2003. 
 vi. For rates effective July 1, 2004 and thereafter, 
facilities receiving audit disclaimers shall receive a rate 
equal to the PPS rate based on the median FY 2001 reported 
cost for all ADHC providers filing acceptable full year cost 
reports trended forward in accordance with this rule. No 
facility specific cost component will be included in the per 
diem of facilities receiving audit disclaimers. 

C.2.h. - C.2.h.ii. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:2356 (November 2002), amended LR 
30:242 (February 2004). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

 

Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary 
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RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

All Inclusive Care for the Elderly  
(LAC 50:XXIII.Chapters 1-13) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts LAC 
50:XXIII.Chapters 1-13 in the Medical Assistance Program 
as authorized by RS. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH? MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXIII.  All Inclusive Care for the Elderly 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§101. Purpose and Scope 

A. The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of 
the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing 
implements the Program of All Inclusive Care for the 
Elderly (PACE) in accordance with federal regulations at 42 
CFR 460 et seq., as published in the Federal Register on 
November 24, 1999 and amended on October 2, 2002, and 
as may be amended in the future. These regulations set forth: 

1. the requirements that an entity must meet to be 
approved as a PACE organization that operates a PACE 
program under Medicare and Medicaid; 

2. how individuals may qualify to enroll in a PACE 
program;  

3. how Medicare and Medicaid payments will be 
made for PACE services; 

4. provisions for federal and state monitoring of PACE 
programs; and 

5. procedures for sanctions and terminations. 
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B. The purpose of the Program of All Inclusive Care for 
the Elderly is to provide prepaid, capitated, comprehensive 
health care services designed to meet the following 
objectives: 

1. enhance the quality of life and autonomy for frail, 
older adults; 

2. maximize dignity of, and respect for, older adults; 
3. enable frail, older adults to live in the community 

as long as medically and socially feasible; and 
4. preserve and support the older adult's family unit. 

C. This Part XXIII sets forth the election of state options 
under the federal regulations and additional requirements 
established by the state for the efficient operation of the 
program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254, Title XIX of the Social Security Act, and 42 CFR 460 et 
seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:244 (February 2004). 
§103. Organization Application and Evaluation  

A. A PACE organization shall be licensed as an adult day 
health care (ADHC) facility. The Department of Health and 
Hospitals (DHH) shall grant appropriate waivers of ADHC 
licensing requirements in instances where ADHC licensing 
regulations conflict with PACE requirements when such 
waivers are determined to have no adverse effect on 
participant health and safety and quality of life. 

B. A PACE organization shall not be required to be 
licensed as a health maintenance organization under the 
Louisiana regulations for risk based entities. 

C. A PACE organization must be a non-profit entity. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254, Title XIX of the Social Security Act, and 42 CFR 460 et 
seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:245 (February 2004). 
§105. Administrative Requirements 

A. A PACE organization must have a fiscally sound 
operation, as demonstrated by: 

1. total assets greater then total unsubordinated 
liabilities; 

2. sufficient cash flow and adequate liquidity to meet 
obligations as they become due; 

3. a net operating surplus or a financial plan for 
solvency that is satisfactory to the Center for Medicaid and 
Medicare Services (CMS) and the Department of Health and 
Hospitals. 

B. A PACE organization shall operate under the control 
of an identifiable governing body such as a board of 
directors, which must include at least one community 
representative. The following advisory committees shall also 
be established to advise the board of directors: 

1. Consumer Advisory Committee; 
2. Ethics Committee; 
3. Restraint Committee; 
4. Other committees as required by CMS and/or 

DHH. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254, Title XIX of the Social Security Act, and 42 CFR 460 et 
seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:245 (February 2004). 
Chapter 3. Services 
§301. Medicare and Medicaid Coordination 

A. If a Medicare beneficiary or Medicaid recipient 
chooses to enroll in a PACE program: 

1. the participant, while enrolled in a PACE program, 
must receive Medicare and Medicaid benefits solely through 
the PACE organization; and 

2. Medicare and Medicaid benefit limitations and 
conditions relating to amount, duration, scope of services, 
deductibles, co-payments, coinsurance, or other cost-sharing 
do not apply. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254, Title XIX of the Social Security Act, and 42 CFR 460 et 
seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:245 (February 2004). 
§303. Services Provided 

A. The PACE benefit package for all participants, 
regardless of the source of payment, must include: 

1. all Medicaid-covered services, as specified in the 
state?s approved Medicaid plan; 

2. interdisciplinary assessment and treatment 
planning; 

3. primary care, including physician and nursing 
services; 

4. social work services; 
5. restorative therapies, including: 

a. physical therapy; 
b. occupational therapy; and 
c. speech-language pathology services; 

6. personal care and supportive services; 
7. nutrition counseling; 
8. recreational therapy; 
9. transportation; 
10. meals; 
11. medical specialty services including, but not limited 

to: 
a. anesthesiology; 
b. audiology; 
c. cardiology; 
d. dentistry; 
e. dermatology; 
f. gastroenterology; 
g. gynecology; 
h. internal medicine; 
i. nephrology; 
j. neurosurgery; 
k. oncology; 
l. ophthalmology; 
m. oral surgery; 
n. orthopedic surgery; 
o. otorhinolaryngology; 
p. plastic surgery; 
q. pharmacy consulting services; 
r. podiatry; 
s. psychiatry; 
t. pulmonary disease; 
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u. radiology; 
v. rheumatology; 
w. general surgery; 
x. thoracic and vascular surgery; and 
y. urology; 

12. laboratory tests, x-rays and other diagnostic 
procedures; 

13. drugs and biologicals; 
14. prosthetics, orthotics, durable medical equipment, 

corrective vision devices, such as: 
a. eyeglasses and lenses; 
b. hearing aids; 
c. dentures; and 
d. repair and maintenance of these items; 

15. acute inpatient care, including: 
a. ambulance; 
b. emergency room care and treatment room 

services; 
c. semi -private room and board; 
d. general medial and nursing services; 
e. medial surgical/intensive care/coronary care unit; 
f. laboratory tests, x-rays and other diagnostic 

procedures; 
g. drugs and biological; 
h. blood and blood derivatives; 
i. surgical care, including the use of anesthesia; 
j. use of oxygen; 
k. physical, occupational, respiratory therapies, and 

speech-language pathology services; and 
l. social services; 

16. nursing facility care including: 
a. semi -private room and board; 
b. physician and skilled nursing services; 
c. custodial care; 
d. personal care and assistance; 
e. drugs and biologicals; 
f. physical, occupational, recreational therapies, 

and speech-language pathology, if necessary; 
g. social services; and 
h. medical supplies and appliances; 

17. other services determined necessary by the 
interdisciplinary team to improve and maintain the 
participant?s overall health status. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254, Title XIX of the Social Security Act, and 42 CFR 460 et 
seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:245 (February 2004). 
§305. Excluded Services 

A. Services excluded from coverage are: 
1. any service that is not authorized by the 

interdisciplinary team, even if it is a required service, unless 
it is an emergency service; 

2. private room and private duty nursing services in an 
inpatient facility, (unless medically necessary), and 
nonmedical items for personal convenience such as 
telephone charges and radio or television rental (unless 
specifically authorized by the interdisciplinary team as part 
of the participant's plan of care); 

3. cosmetic surgery, which does not include surgery 
that is required for improved functioning of a malformed 

part of the body resulting from an accidental injury or for 
reconstruction following mastectomy; 

4. experimental medical, surgical or other health 
procedures; 

5. services furnished outside of the United States 
except as follows: 

a. in accordance with 42 CFR 424.122-424.124; or 
b. as permitted under the state's approved Medicaid 

plan. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254, Title XIX of the Social Security Act, and 42 CFR 460 et 
seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:246 (February 2004). 
§307. Conditions of Service 

A. A PACE organization must establish and implement a 
written plan to furnish care that meets the needs of each 
participant in all care settings 24 hours a day, every day of 
the year. 

B. The PACE organization must furnish comprehensive 
medical, health, and social services that integrate acute and 
long-term care. 

C. These services must be furnished in at least the PACE 
center, the home, and inpatient facilities. 

D. The PACE organization may not discriminate against 
any participant in the delivery of required PACE services 
based on race, ethnicity, national origin, religion, sex, age, 
mental or physical disability or source of payment. 

E. The frequency of a participant's attendance at a center 
is determined by the interdisciplinary team, based on the 
needs and preferences of each participant. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254, Title XIX of the Social Security Act, and 42 CFR 460 et 
seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:246 (February 2004). 
§309. Emergency Services 

A. A PACE organization must establish and maintain a 
written plan to handle emergency care. The written plan 
must ensure that CMS, the state, and PACE participants are 
held harmless if the PACE organization does not pay for 
emergency services. 

B. Emergency care is appropriate when services are 
needed immediately because of an injury or sudden illness 
and the time required to reach the PACE organization or one 
of its contract providers would cause risk of permanent 
damage to the participant's health. Emergency services 
include inpatient and outpatient services that: 

1. are furnished by a qualified emergency services 
provider, other than the PACE organization or one of its 
contract providers, either in or out of the PACE 
organization's service area; 

2. are needed to evaluate or stabilize an emergency 
medical condition. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254, Title XIX of the Social Security Act, and 42 CFR 460 et 
seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:246 (February 2004). 
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Chapter 5. Recipient Enrollment 
§501. Eligibility 

A. In order to be eligible for services from a PACE site 
an applicant must: 

1. be 55 year of age or older; 
2. be determined by the state administering agency to 

need the level of care required under the state Medicaid plan 
for coverage of nursing facility services; 

3. reside in the service area of the PACE organization; 
and 

4. at the time of enrollment, an individual must be 
able to live in a community setting without jeopardizing his 
or her health or safety. 

B. Eligibility to enroll in a PACE program is not 
restricted to an individual who is either a Medicare 
beneficiary or Medicaid recipient. A potential PACE enrollee 
may be, but is not required to be, any or all of the following: 

1. entitled to Medicare Part A; 
2. enrolled under Medicare Part B; or 
3. eligible for Medicaid. 

C. Persons shall be considered to have met the criteria 
for determining that an individual is able to live in a 
community setting without jeopardizing his or her health or 
safety when the answer to all of the following questions is 
determined to be in the affirmative. 

1. Does the individual or caregiver have a desire to 
remain in the commu nity? 

2. If the individual is not able to live safely alone, is 
there a primary caregiver at home, or a willingness to use 
another caregiver or provider to meet the individual?s needs? 

3. Can the caregiver maintain a safe physical 
environment in the home? 

4. Are hygiene, nutrition, medical care, and support 
systems adequate? 

5. If behavioral problems exist, can they be managed 
to prevent risk to self or others? 

6. Can a plan of care be developed to meet the 
individual?s needs? 

D. A PACE organization shall assess the potential 
participant to ensure that he or she can be cared for 
appropriately in a community setting and that he or she 
meets all requirements for PACE eligibility. PACE eligibility 
decisions are subject to approval by the state administering 
agency as determined necessary. 

E. Reevaluation of Eligibility 
1. DHH shall annually reevaluate whether the 

participant continues to meet level of care for nursing 
facility services. DHH may permanently waive the annual 
recertification of level of care requirements for a participant 
if it determines that there is no reasonable expectation of 
improvement or significant change in the participant?s 
condition because of the severity of a chronic condition or 
the degree of impairment of functional capacity. 

2. DHH may determine that a PACE participant who 
no longer meets the state Medicaid nursing facility level of 
care requirements may be deemed to continue to be eligible 
for the PACE program until the next annual reevaluation, if, 
in the absence of continued coverage under this program, the 
participant reasonably would be expected to meet the 
nursing facility level of care requirement within the next six 
months. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254, Title XIX of the Social Security Act, and 42 CFR 460 et 
seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:247 (February 2004). 
§503. Enrollment 

A. Enrollment Period 
1. A participant's enrollment in the program is 

effective on the first day of the calendar month following the 
date the PACE organization receives the signed enrollment 
agreement. 

2. Enrollment continues until the participant's death, 
regardless of changes in health status, unless either of the 
following actions occurs: 

a. the participant voluntarily disenrolls; or 
b. the participant is involuntarily disenrolled (see 

§505.B below). 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254, Title XIX of the Social Security Act, and 42 CFR 460 et 
seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:247 (February 2004). 
§505. Disenrollment 

A. A PACE organization shall submit proposed denial of 
enrollment determinations of applicants for health and safety 
reasons and all involuntary disenrollments of participants to 
DHH for review prior to notifying applicants/participants of 
such adverse decisions. DHH shall review denials of PACE 
enrollment eligibility and disenrollments by the end of the 
third business day after receipt from the PACE organization 
to determine whether the PACE organization has adequately 
documented acceptable grounds. Failure of DHH to provide 
a decision within this timeframe shall constitute approval of 
the PACE organization decision. The decision by DHH shall 
be binding. 

B. Involuntary Disenrollment 
1. A participant may be involuntarily disenrolled for 

any of the following reasons: 
a. a participant fails to pay, or to make satisfactory 

arrangements to pay, any premium due the PACE 
organization after a 30-day grace period; 

b. the participant engages in disruptive or 
threatening behavior, as described in Paragraph 2 below; 

c. the participant moves out of the PACE program 
service area or is out of the service area for more than 30 
consecutive days, unless the PACE organization agrees to a 
longer absence due to extenuating circumstances; 

d. the participant is determined no longer to meet 
the state Medicaid nursing facility level of care requirements 
and is not deemed eligible; 

e. the PACE program agreement with CMS and 
DHH is not renewed or is terminated;  

f. the PACE organization is unable to offer health 
care services due to the loss of state licenses or contracts 
with outside providers; or 

g. the participant who is permanently placed in a 
nursing facility fails to pay, or to make satisfactory 
arrangements to pay, the amount of patient liability that 
would be required to be paid by a Medicaid eligible resident 
of a nursing facility if he/she was not a participant in a 
PACE organization. 
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2. The following are behaviors considered disruptive 
or threatening behavior for purposes of involuntary 
disenrollment: 

a. behavior that jeopardizes his or her health or 
safety, or the safety of others; or  

b. consis tent refusal to comply with his or her 
individual plan of care or the terms of the PACE enrollment 
agreement by a participants with decision-making capacity, 
but not if the behavior is related to a mental or physical 
condition of the participant. Noncompliant behavior includes 
repeated noncompliance with medical advice and repeated 
failure to keep appointments. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254, Title XIX of the Social Security Act, and 42 CFR 460 et 
seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:247 (February 2004). 
Chapter 7. Quality Assessment and Performance 

Improvement 
§701. Organization Responsibilities 

A. A PACE organization must develop, implement, 
maintain, and evaluate an effective, data-driven quality 
assessment and performance improvement program. 

B. The program must reflect the full range of services 
furnished by the PACE organization. 

C. A PACE organization must take actions that result in 
improvements in its performance in all types of care. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254, Title XIX of the Social Security Act, and 42 CFR 460 et 
seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hosp itals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:248 (February 2004). 
§703. Quality Assessment and Performance 

Improvement Plan 
A. A PACE organization must have a written quality 

assessment and performance improvement plan. 
B. The PACE governing body must review the plan 

annually and revise it, if necessary. 
C. At a minimum, the plan must specify how the PACE 

organization proposes to meet the following requirements: 
1. identify areas to improve or maintain the delivery 

of services and patient care; 
2. develop and implement plans of action to improve 

or maintain quality of care; 
3. document and disseminate to PACE staff and 

contractors the results from the quality assessment and 
performance improvement activities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254, Title XIX of the Social Security Act, and 42 CFR 460 et 
seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:248 (February 2004). 
§705. Minimum Requirements 

A. A PACE organization's quality assessment and 
performance improvement program must include, but is not 
limited to, the use of objective measures to demonstrate 
improved performance with regard to: 

1. utilization of PACE services, such as decreased 
inpatient hospitalizations and emergency room visits; 

2. caregiver and participant satisfaction; 

3. outcome measures that are derived from data 
collected during assessments, including data on the 
following: 

a. physiological well being; 
b. functional status; 
c. cognitive ability; 
d. social/behavioral functioning; 
e. quality of life of participants; 

4. effectiveness and safety of staff-provided and 
contracted services, including: 

a. competency of clinical staff;  
b. promptness of service delivery; 
c. achievement of treatment goals and measurable 

outcomes; 
5. nonclinical areas, such as grievances and appeals, 

transportation services, meals, life safety, and environmental 
issues. 

B. Outcome measures must be based on current clinical 
practice guidelines and professional practice standards 
applicable to the care of PACE participants. 

C. The PACE organization must meet or exceed 
minimum levels of performance, established by CMS and 
the state administering agency, on standardized quality 
measures, such as influenza immunization rates, which are 
specified in the PACE program agreement. 

D. The PACE organization must ensure that all data used 
for outcome monitoring are accurate and complete. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254, Title XIX of the Social Security Act, and 42 CFR 460 et 
seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:248 (February 2004). 
§707. Internal Activities 

A. A PACE organization must do the following: 
1. use a set of outcome measures to identify areas of 

good or problematic performance; 
2. take actions targeted at maintaining or improving 

care based on outcome measures; 
3. incorporate actions resulting in performance 

improvement into standards of practice for the delivery of 
care and periodically track performance to ensure that any 
performance improvements are sustained over time; 

4. set priorities for performance improvement, 
considering prevalence and severity of identified problems, 
and give priority to improvement activities that affect 
clinical outcomes; 

5. immediately correct any identified problem that 
directly or potentially threatens the health and safety of a 
PACE participant. 

B. A PACE organization must designate an individual to 
coordinate and oversee performance improvement activities. 

C. Involvement in Quality Assessment and Performance 
Improvement Activities 

1. A PACE organization must ensure that all 
interdisciplinary team members, PACE staff, and contract 
providers are involved in the development and 
implementation of quality assessment and performance 
improvement activities and are aware of the results of these 
activities. 

2. The quality improvement coordinator must 
encourage a PACE participant and his or her caregivers to be
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involved in quality assessment and performance 
improvement activities, including providing information 
about their satisfaction with services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254, Title XIX of the Social Security Act, and 42 CFR 460 et 
seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:248 (February 2004). 
§709. Additional Activities 

A. A PACE organization must meet external quality 
assessment and reporting requirements as specified by CMS 
or the state administering agency, in accordance with Section 
460.202 of the Social Security Act. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254, Title XIX of the Social Security Act, and 42 CFR 460 et 
seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:249 (February 2004). 
§711. Committees with Community Input 

A. A PACE organization must establish one or more 
committees with community input to: 

1. evaluate data collected pertaining to quality 
outcome measures; 

2. address the implementation of, and results from, the 
quality assessment and performance improvement plan; 

3. provide input related to ethical decision-making, 
including end-of-life issues and implementation of the 
Patient Self-Determination Act. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254, Title XIX of the Social Security Act, and 42 CFR 460 et 
seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:249 (February 2004). 
Chapter 9. Sanctions 
§901. Violations 

A. Sanctions may be imposed against a PACE 
organization if it commits one of the following violations: 

1. fails substantially to provide medically necessary 
items and services to a participant that are covered PACE 
services, and that failure has adversely affected (or has 
substantial likelihood of adversely affecting) the participant; 

2. involuntarily disenrolls a participant in violation of 
Section 460.164; 

3. discriminates in the enrollment or disenrollment of 
Medicare beneficiaries or Medicaid recipients, or both, who 
are eligible to enroll in a PACE program on the basis of an 
individual’s health status or need for health care services; 

4. engages in any practice that would reasonably be 
expected to have the effect of denying or discouraging 
enrollment, except as permitted by Section 460.150, by 
Medicare beneficiaries or Medicaid recipients whose 
medical condition or history indicates a need for substantial 
future medical services; 

5. imposes charges on participants enrolled under 
Medicare or Medicaid for premiums in excess of the 
premiums permitted; 

6. misrepresents or falsifies information that is 
furnished to: 

a. CMS or the state under this Part XXIII; or 
b. an individual or any other entity under this Part 

XXIII; 

7. prohibits or otherwise restricts a covered health 
care professional from advising a participant who is a patient 
of the professional about the participant's health status, 
medical care, or treatment for the participant's condition or 
disease, regardless of whether the PACE program provides 
benefits for that care or treatment, if the professional is 
acting within his or her lawful scope of practice; 

8. operates a physician incentive plan that does not 
meet the requirements of Section 1876(i)(8) of the Social 
Security Act; or 

9. employs or contracts with any individual who is 
excluded from participation in Medicare or Medicaid under 
Section 1128 or Section 1128A of the Social Security Act (or 
with any entity that employs or contracts with that 
individual) for the provision of health care, utilization 
review, medical social work, or administrative services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254, Title XIX of the Social Security Act, and 42 CFR 460 et 
seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:249 (February 2004). 
§903. Imposition of Sanctions by CMS  

A. The CMS may impose the following sanctions for 
violations specified in §901: 

1. suspend enrollment of Medicare beneficiaries; 
2. suspend Medicare payment to the PACE 

organization; 
3. deny payment to the state for medical assistance for 

services furnished under the PACE program agreement. The 
state will suspend payments to the PACE organization when 
payment of the federal portion of PACE reimbursement is 
denied; 

4. impose civil money penalties as specified in federal 
regulations. 

B. The CMS or the state may determine that the PACE 
organization is not in substantial compliance with PACE 
requirements, and may take one or more of the following 
actions: 

1. condition the continuation of the PACE program 
agreement upon timely execution of a corrective action plan; 

2. withhold some or all payments under the PACE 
program agreement until the organization corrects the 
deficiency; 

3. terminate the PACE program agreement. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254, Title XIX of the Social Security Act, and 42 CFR 460 et 
seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:249 (February 2004). 
Chapter 11. Appeals 
§1101. Participant Rights, Grievances, and Appeals 

A. The PACE organization must have a formal written 
appeals process in accordance with 42 CFR 460.122, with 
specified timeframes for response, to address noncoverage 
or nonpayment of a service, and involuntary disenrollment. 

B. Additional appeal rights under Medicare or Medicaid 
are available to the participant if an adverse decision is made 
in the PACE organization appeal process, or if the 
participant is involuntarily disenrolled from the PACE 
program. A PACE organization must inform a participant in 
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writing of additional appeal rights available under Medicare 
or Medicaid. 

C. Medicaid-eligible participants who appeal through 
Medicaid shall be heard by the DHH Bureau of Appeals 
within the timeframes applicable to processing Medicaid 
appeals except in cases where federal PACE requirements 
require a more expeditious decision. The PACE organization 
shall prepare the Summary of Evidence in preparation for 
the appeal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254, Title XIX of the Social Security Act, and 42 CFR 460 et 
seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:249 (February 2004). 
Chapter 13. Reimbursement 
§1301. Payment 

A. Participants shall be eligible for Medicaid payment of 
the PACE premium on their behalf if they meet the 
categorically needy income and resource criteria for 
Medicaid eligibility for nursing facility and Home and 
Community Based Services waiver services. 

B. Participants are eligible for Medicare payment of the 
PACE premium on their behalf if they are covered by 
Medicare. The amount of Medicare premiums is calculated 
by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, the 
federal oversight agency. 

C. Medicaid payment to a PACE organization on behalf 
of a Medicaid-eligible participant shall be a prospective 
monthly capitated amount that is less than the amount that 
would otherwise have been paid under the State Plan if the 
participant was not enrolled under the PACE program. 

1. Statewide upper payment limits shall be calculated 
for each state fiscal year using statewide data from actual 
paid fee-for-service claims for populations who are age 55 or 
older in nursing facilities and in Home and Community 
Based Services waivers that utilize nursing facility level of 
care and serve people age 55 or older.  

2. Statewide upper payment limits and Medicaid 
premiums for PACE shall be calculated in accordance with 
the approved State Plan methodology for such calculation, 
including trending of historical data. Premiums for every 
PACE organization in the state will be based on the 
statewide upper payment limits. 

3. Premium amount shall be a negotiated rate, not to 
exceed 95 percent of the upper payment limit. 

D. There shall be a minimum of two Medicaid upper 
payment limits calculated annually: 

1. one for participants who are eligible for both 
Medicare and Medicaid; and 

2. one for participants who are eligible only for 
Medicaid. 

E. Medicaid payment to a PACE organization shall be 
made for each Medicaid-eligible participant who is enrolled 
on the first day of the month. 

1. Enrolled participants are those who have signed an 
enrollment agreement. 

2. Medicaid-eligible participants are those who have 
been determined to be eligible for Medicaid payment 
effective as of or before the first day of the month, including 
those who are retroactively eligible, when such date is on or 
before the first day of the month. 

F. The amount of the Medicaid premium is a fixed 
amount regardless of changes in the participant's health 
status. 

G. A PACE organization may not charge a premium to a 
participant who is eligible for both Medicare and Medicaid, 
or who is only eligible for Medicaid. 
H. Participants who are not eligible for Medicaid must 

pay a premium to the PACE organization equal to the 
amount of the Medicaid premium, except that a different 
negotiated amount may be paid as a governmental premium 
on behalf of participants whose care is financed by 
governmental agencies such as Veterans Administration. 

I. Participants who are not eligible for Medicaid and are 
also not eligible for either Medicare Part A or Medicare Part 
B must pay a premium to the PACE organization equal to the 
amount of the Medicaid premium and also amount(s) equal 
to the Medicare premium for Part A or Part B, or both. 

J. A PACE participant who is in a nursing facility 
reimbursed by PACE on his/her behalf shall be responsible 
for payment of patient liability. 

1. The amount of patient liability is the same amount 
that would be required to be paid by a Medicaid eligible 
resident of a nursing facility if he/she was not a participant 
in a PACE organization. 

2. The patient liability obligation for Medicare 
recipients begins with the first day of the first full calendar 
month after the participant is a resident in the nursing 
facility for 90 consecutive days. The patient liability 
obligation for non-Medicare recipients begins after it is 
determined that the participant is permanently placed in a 
nursing facility, and may coincide with the date for 
imposition of patient liability obligation for Medicare 
recipients. 

3. The PACE organization shall determine whether the 
patient liability is to be paid to the PACE organization or the 
nursing facility. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254, Title XIX of the Social Security Act, and 42 CFR 460 et 
seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:250 (February 2004). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

 
Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary 

0402#083 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Durable Medical Equipment Program 
Motorized Wheelchairs 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing pro mulgates 
the following Rule under the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
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Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing establishes 
provisions governing recipient criteria and prior 
authorization for motorized wheelchairs. In addition, the 
bureau amends the August 20, 1998 Rule to clarify the 
provisions governing the repair of motorized wheelchairs. 

Wheelchairs, Motorized and/or Custom Motorized 
Recipient Criteria 

A. Motorized Wheelchairs 
1. For purposes of this rule, the term motorized shall 

have the same meaning as power, electric or any means of 
propulsion other than manual. A motorized wheelchair must 
be medically necessary. The recipient must meet all of the 
following criteria in order to be considered for a motorized 
wheelchair: 

a. the recipient is not functionally ambulatory. Not 
functionally ambulatory means the recipient's ability to 
ambulate is limited such that without use of a wheelchair, 
he/she would otherwise be generally bed or chair confined; 

b. the recipient is unable to operate a wheelchair 
manually due to severe weakness of the upper extremities 
due to a congenital or acquired neurological or muscular 
disease/condition or is unable to propel any type of manual 
wheelchair because of other documented health problems; 
and 

c. the recipient is capable of safely operating the 
controls for a motorized wheelchair and can adapt to or be 
trained to use a motorized wheelchair effectively. 

B. A motorized wheelchair is covered if the recipient's 
condition is such that the requirement for a motorized 
wheelchair is long term (at least six months). 
Prior Authorization 

A. All wheelchairs and modifications required to meet 
the needs of a particular recipient are subject to prior 
authorization. Prior authorization will be made for only one 
wheelchair at a time. Backup chairs, either mo torized or 
manual, will be denied as not medically necessary. All 
requests must include: 

1. a completed PA -01 form;  
2. a physician's prescription for a motorized 

wheelchair. If the recipient is enrolled in Community Care, 
the prescription must be written by the recipient's primary 
care physician (PCP). The physician must specifically state 
that the prescription is for a motorized wheelchair;  

3. medical documentation from a physician is required 
to support the provisions set forth in the Recipient Criteria 
Section, Subparagraphs A.1.a-b;  

4. a seating evaluation performed, signed and dated by 
the physical therapist or occupational therapist that 
performed the seating evaluation. The seating evaluation 
shall: 

a. indicate the appropriateness of the specific 
wheelchair requested and all modifications and/or 
attachments to the specific wheelchair and its ability to meet

the recipient's long term medical needs. Options that are 
primarily beneficial in allowing the recipient to perform 
leisure or recreational activities are not covered; 

b. include the dated signature of the physician who 
prescribed the motorized wheelchair, confirming: 
 i. the recipients diagnosis or condition is such 
that a motorized wheelchair is medically necessary; and 
 ii. he or she has seen the seating evaluation and 
motorized wheelchair recommendation; 

5. documentation indicating that the recipient is 
capable of safely operating the controls for a motorized 
wheelchair and can adapt to or be trained to use the 
motorized wheelchair effectively. It is not sufficient for a 
Medicaid provider of motorized wheelchairs to indicate that 
a recipient is capable of safely operating the controls for a 
motorized wheelchair and can adapt to or be trained to use 
the motorized wheelchair effectively. Such documentation 
shall include: 

a. a signed and dated statement from the recipient's 
physician, physical therapist or occupational therapist that he 
or she has determined that the recipient has the cognitive, 
motor and perceptual abilities needed to safely operate the 
controls of a motorized wheelchair. This statement shall be 
verified by the notes and recommendation of the physician, 
physical therapist or occupational therapist making such 
statement; and 

b. a signed and dated statement from the recipient's 
physician, physical therapist or occupational therapist that he 
or she has determined that the recipient can adapt to or be 
trained to use the motorized wheelchair effectively. This 
statement shall be verified by the notes and recommendation 
of the physician, physical therapist or occupational therapist 
making such statement. 
Repairs and Modifications 

A. Requests for repairs to motorized wheelchairs will be 
considered for basic repairs only. Basic repairs are those 
which are requested to repair an existing component of the 
recipient's current motorized wheelchair. 

B. Requests for modifications or reconstruction of the 
recipient's current motorized wheelchair shall not be 
considered basic repairs. Requests for modifications or 
reconstruction of the recipient's current motorized 
wheelchair must be submitted in accordance with prior 
authorization criteria. Modifications or reconstruction will 
be denied if it is more cost effective to provide a new 
motorized wheelchair. 

C. It is expected that all repairs and modifications of 
motorized wheelchairs shall be completed within one month, 
unless there is a justifiable reason for a delay. Rental of a 
manual wheelchair may be prior authorized on a monthly 
basis as a temporary replacement, if necessary, when the 
recipient's motorized wheelchair is being repaired or 
modified. 

 
Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary 

0402#080 
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RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Early and Periodic Screening, 
Diagnosis and Treatment Program 
Dental Services? Reimbursement 

(LAC 50:XV.6903) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing has amended 
LAC 50:XV.6903 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH? MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 5.  Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and 

Treatment Program 
Chapter 69. Dental Services 
§6903. Reimbursement 

A. Reimbursement fees are increased as follows for 
certain designated procedure codes. The procedure codes 
have been amended to comply with the Health Insurance 
Portability and Accountability Act. 

 
Procedure 

Code  Description Fee 

D0120 Periodic Oral Exam  $18 
D0150 Comprehensive Oral Exam  $20 
D0220 Radiograph-Periapical–First Film * * *  
D0230 Radiograph-Periapical–Each Additional Film  * * *  
D0272 Radiograph-Bitewing–Two Films * * *  
D1110 Adult Prophylaxis $29 
D1120 Child Prophylaxis * * *  
D1351 Sealant–Per Tooth $17 
D1510 Space Maintainer–Unilateral $95 
D1515 Space Maintainer–Bilateral $177 
D2140 Amalgam–One Surface, Primary or Permanent * * *  
D2150 Amalgam–Two Surface, Primary or Permanent * * *  
D2160 Amalgam–Three Surface, Primary or 

Permanent 
* * *  

D2161 Amalgam–Four or more Surface, Permanent $88 
D2330 Resin-based Composites–One Surface * * *  
D2331 Resin-based Composites–Two Surface * * *  
D2332 Resin-based Composites–Three Surface * * *  
D2335 Resin-based Composites–4 or More Surfaces, 

Anterior 
$88 

D2390 Resin-based Composite Crown, Anterior $88 
D2930 Stainless Steel Crown, Primary $88 
D2931 Stainless Steel Crown, Permanent $88 
D2932 Prefabricat ed Resin Crown $84 
D2950 Core Buildup, including any pins $55 
D2954 Prefabricated Post and Core in addition to 

crown 
$75 

D3220 Pulpotomy–Deciduous Tooth Only  * * *  
D3310 Root Canal–One Canal * * *  
D3320 Root Canal–Two Canals * * *  
D3330 Root Canal–Three Canals * * *  
D4341 Periodontal Scaling and Root Planning $75 
D4355 Full Mouth Debridement $58 
D5110 Complete Denture, Maxillary $495 
D5120 Complete Denture, Mandibular $495 
D5130 Immediate Complete Denture, Maxillary $495 
D5140 Immediate Complete Denture, Mandibular $495 

D5211 Partial Denture, Resin Base, Maxillary $470 
D5212 Partial Denture, Resin Base, Mandibular $470 
D5510 Repair Complete Broken Denture Base $100 
D5520 Repair Missing or Broken Teeth-Complete 

Denture, Per Tooth 
$52/$26* 

D5610 Repair Resin Denture Base, Partial Denture $100 
D5630 Repair or Replace Broken Clasp, Partial 

Denture 
$95 

D5640 Replace Broken Teeth, Partial Denture, Per 
Tooth 

$52/$26* 

D5650 Add Tooth to Existing Partial Denture $52/$26* 
D5660 Add Clasp to Existin g Partial Denture $95 
D5750 Reline Complete Denture, Maxillary (Lab) $238 
D5751 Reline Complete Denture, Mandibular (Lab) $238 
D5760 Reline Partial Denture, Maxillary (Lab) $208 
D5761 Reline Partial Denture, Mandibular (Lab) $208 
D5820 Interim Partial Denture, Maxillary $300 
D5821 Interim Partial Denture, Mandibular $300 
D7140 Extraction, Erupted Tooth or Exposed Root * * *  
D7210 Surgical Extraction * * *  
D7220 Removal of Impacted Tooth, Soft Tissue $86 
D7230 Removal of Impacted Tooth, Partially Bony $136 
D7240 Removal of Impacted Tooth, Completely Bony $161 
D7241 Removal of Impacted Tooth, Completely Bony 

with Unusual Surgical Complications 
$186 

D8050 Interceptive Orthodontic Treatment, Primary 
Dentition 

$350** 

D8060 Interceptive Orthodontic Treatment, 
Transitional Dentition 

$350** 

D8070 Comprehensive Orthodontic Treatment, 
Transitional Dentition 

$3,600** 

D8080 Comprehensive Orthodontic Treatment, 
Adolescent Dentition 

$3,600** 

D8090 Comprehensive Orthodontic Treatment, Adult 
Dentition 

$3,600** 

D9110 Palliative (emergency) Dental Pain Treatment $25 
D9241 Intravenous Conscious Sedation/Analgesia–

First 30 Minutes 
$94 

Refer to the EPSDT Manual for a complete maximum fee 
schedule of authorized services. 
* Rate for each subsequent tooth in the same arch 
** Manually -priced maximum fee 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:176 (February 2003), amended LR 
30:252 (February 2004). 

 
Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary 

0402#081 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and  
Treatment Program? Personal Care and Extended  

and/or Multiple Daily Skilled Nursing Services 
(LAC 50:XV.7305, 7307, 7311, and 7501) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing has amended 
LAC 50:XV.7305, 7307, and 7311 and adopted LAC 
50:XV.Chapter 75 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
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Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH? MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 5.  Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and 

Treatment 
Chapter 73. Personal Care Services 
§7305. Recipient Qualifications 

A. - A.3.  ... 
4. A parent or other caregiver must be in the home 

with an EPSDT eligible 14 years of age or younger. 
Recipients over 14 years of age must be mentally and 
intellectually competent to direct their own care if they are 
to be left with the PCS worker without the presence of a 
parent or other caregiver. 

5. Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and 
Treatment personal care services must be prescribed by the 
recipient's attending physician initially and every 180 days 
thereafter (or rolling 6 months), and when changes in the 
plan of care occur. The plan of care shall be acceptable for 
submission to BHSF only after the physician signs and dates 
the completed form. The physician's signature must be an 
original signature and not a rubber stamp. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:177 (February 2003), amended LR 
30:253 (February 2004). 
§7307. Prior Authorization 

A. - D. … 
E. Recipients who have been designated by DHH as 

chronic needs cases are exempt from the standard prior 
authorization process. Although a new request for prior 
authorization must still be submitted every 180 days, the 
provider shall only be required to submit a PA request form 
accompanied by a statement from a physician verifying that 
the recipient's condition has not improved and the services 
currently approved must be continued. Only DHH or its 
designee can grant the designation of a chronic needs case to 
a recipient. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:177 (February 2003), amended LR 
30:253 (February 2004). 
§7311. Service Limits 

A. EPSDT personal care services are not subject to 
service limits. The units of service approved shall be based 
on the physical requirements of the recipient and medical 
necessity for the covered services in the EPSDT-PCS 
Program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:178 (February 2003), amended LR 
30:253 (February 2004). 
Chapter 75. Extended and/or Multiple Daily Skilled 

Nursing 
§7501. Medically Fragile 

A. A medically fragile individual is one who has a 
medically complex condition characterized by multiple, 
significant medical problems that require extended care. 
Medically fragile individuals require most or all of the 
following services/aids: 

1. use of home monitoring equipment; 
2. IV therapy; 
3. ventilator or tracheotomy care; 
4. feeding tube and nutritional support; 
5. frequent respiratory care; 
6. medication administration; 
7. catheter care; 
8. frequent positioning needs; 
9. special accommodations such as specially equipped 

vehicles or medical devices in order to attend school. 
B. Under the EPSDT Program, continuous nursing care 

by a registered nurse (RN) or a licensed practical nurse 
(LPN) may be provided to children up to age 21 who are 
considered "medically fragile." Children who meet the 
continuous care criteria, which must be prior authorized, 
may leave the home and have the nurse provide services in 
any setting other than a school or institutions such as a 
hospital, skilled nursing facility or intermediate care facility 
for the mentally retarded. 

C. Medically fragile recipients meet the medical 
necessity criteria for home health services if the individual 
has received prior authorization for multiple daily home 
visits and/or extended skilled nursing visits in accordance 
with the certifying physician's orders that document and 
meet the following criteria: 

1. the medical condition of the recipient meets the 
medical necessity requirement for skilled nursing services 
and the provision of these services in the home is the most 
appropriate level of medical care; and 

2. failure to receive skilled nursing services in the 
home would place the recipient at risk of developing 
additional medical problems or could cause further 
debilitation; and 

3. the recipient requires skilled nursing services on a 
regular basis and that these services cannot be obtained in an 
outpatient setting before or after normal school hours. 
Therefore, home health services may be provided to the 
recipient/student in the home before or after normal school 
hours. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:253 (February 2004). 

 

Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary 

0402#082 
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RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Public Hospitals  
Reimbursement Methodology 

Upper Payment Limit 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Rule in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing will utilize 
the upper payment limit for state government-owned or 
operated hospitals as set forth in the 42 CFR §447.272(b) 
and §447.321(b). The hospital payment differential for any 
year shall be the difference between the upper limit of 
aggregate payments to state government-owned or operated 
hospitals, as defined in the 42 CFR §447.272(a)(1) and 
§447.321(a)(1), and the aggregate Medicaid reimbursement 
paid to these hospitals for the year.  

 

Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary 

0402#084 
 

RULE 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Statewide Order No. 29-B? General Requirements 
(LAC 43:XIX.303) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and pursuant to the 
power delegated under the laws of the State of Louisiana and 
particularly Title 30 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 
1950, R.S. 4.C, the Louisiana Office of Conservation hereby 
amends an existing Rule at Statewide Order No. 29-B (LAC 
43:XIX.303). The Rule concerns the authorization of 
subsurface disposal of wastes associated with the 
exploration, development, and production of oil and gas 
resources in disposal wells under the jurisdiction of the 
Office of Conservation. The amended Rule will allow for the 
administrative approval for produced water disposal into a 
productive zone, in which the productive mechanism of the 
zone is aquifer expansion (water drive). 

The amended Rule addresses authorization procedures, 
establishes disposal zone and disposal well status standards, 
citing and written consent requirements.  

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES  

Part XIX.  Office of Conservation–General Operations 
Subpart 1.  Statewide Order No. 29-B 

Chapter 3. Pollution Control–Onsite Storage, 
Treatment and Disposal of Nonhazardous 
Oilfield Waste (NOW) Generated from the 
Drilling and Production of Oil and Gas 
Wells (Oilfield Pit Regulations) 

§303. General Requirements 
A. Produced water generated from the drilling and 

production of oil and gas wells shall be disposed of into 
subsurface formations, unless discharged or disposed of 
according to the provisions of §303.E, or transported offsite 
in accordance with LAC 43:XIX, Subpart 1, Chapter 5. 

B. - C. … 
D. Produced water and other NOW generated in the 

drilling and production of oil and gas wells shall not be 
disposed of into a zone producing or productive of 
hydrocarbons except as provided for in LAC 43:XIX.303.O 
or such disposal is approved by the Office of Conservation 
after a public hearing or unless prior approval to use the 
proposed zone for such disposal can be documented. 

E. - M.3. … 
N. Evidence of contamination of a groundwater aquifer 

or USDW may require compliance with the monitoring 
program of §309, compliance with the liner requirements of 
§307.A.1, or immediate closure of the pit. 

O. The commissioner may authorize, without the 
necessity of a public hearing, the disposal of produced water 
into a zone producing or productive of hydrocarbons upon 
application of the operator of an existing or proposed 
disposal well. Such written request shall include the 
following: 

1. the appropriate permit application as per the 
requirements of LAC 43:XIX.Chapter 4; 

2. evidence establishing the production mechanism of 
the proposed disposal zone is aquifer expansion (water 
drive); 

3. evidence demonstrating the subject disposal well is 
not productive in the proposed disposal zone; 

4. a plat showing the subject disposal well is not 
located within 330' of a property line as it is defined in LAC 
43:XIX.1901; 

5. written consent of all operators of record with 
existing wells within a 1/4 mile radius of the subject well; 
and 

6. such other information which the commissioner 
may require. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 26:2799 (December 
2000), amended LR 30:254 (February 2004). 

 
James H. Welsh 
Commissioner 

0402#045 
 

RULE 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Statewide Order No. 29-L-3? Termination of Units 
(LAC 43:XIX.3101, 3103, and 3105) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and pursuant to the 
power delegated under the laws of the state of Louisiana and 
particularly Title 30 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 
1950, R.S. 4.C, the Louisiana Office of Conservation has 
amended an existing Rule, Statewide Order No. 29-L-2 
(LAC 43:XIX.3101, 3103, and 3105). The Rule concerns the 
terminations of oil and gas unit(s) for a pool established by 
the commissioner of conservation. The amended Rule will 
allow the termination of any unit or units for a pool provided 
each of the items listed below apply as of the date the 
application is filed with the commissioner.  

1. A period of five years has elapsed without any 
production from the unit or units. 

2. There is no well located on the unit which is 
capable of producing from the pool for which the unit or 
units is established. 

3. A period of a year and 90 days has elapsed without 
any drilling, reworking, recompletion, plugging back, or 
deepening operations having been conducted on a well 
located on the unit in an attempt to obtain or restore 
production from the pool for which the unit or units were 
established. 

4. There is no unexpired drilling permit for the 
drilling of a new well on the unit to a depth which would 
penetrate the pool for which the unit or units were 
established. 

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES  

Part XIX.  Office of Conservation? General Operations 
Subpart 13.  Statewide Order No. 29-L-3 

Chapter 31. Termination of Units 
§3101. Scope 

A. This order establishes rules and regulations for 
termination of any unit established by the commissioner of 
conservation pursuant to the authority of Title 30 of the 
Revised Statutes of 1950. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with RS. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 15:741 (September 
1989), repromulgated LR 19:776 (June 1993), amended LR 
21:1083 (October 1995), LR 30:255 (February 2004). 
§3103. Definitions 

A. Unless the context otherwise requires, the words 
defined in this Section shall have the following meaning 
when found in this order. 

District Manager? the manager of any one of the 
districts of the state of Louisiana under the Office of 
Conservation, and refers specifically to the manager within 
whose district the pool for which any unit(s) are sought to be 
terminated are located. 

Interested Party? any person, as person is defined in 
Title 30 of the Revised Statutes of 1950, who owns an 
interest in any unit(s) sought to be terminated. 

Pool? an underground reservoir containing a common 
accumulation of crude petroleum or natural gas or both. 
Each zone of a general structure which is completely 
separated from any other zone in the structure is covered by 
the term pool. 

Unit? any unit(s), whether one or more, established for 
a particular pool, by order of the commissioner of 
conservation pursuant to authority of Subsection B of 
Section 9 or Subsection B or C of Section 5 of Title 30 of the 
Revised Statutes of 1950. 

Well? all wells drilled within the confines of any unit(s) 
sought to be terminated. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
RS.30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 15:741 (September 
1989), repromulgated LR 19:776 (June 1993), amended LR 
21:1083 (October 1995), LR 30:255 (February 2004). 
§3105. Order 

A. Termination of All Existing Units for a Pool 
1. On and after the effective date hereof, a 

supplemental order terminating all existing units establis hed 
by the commissioner for a pool may be issued after written 
application and upon proper showing in the manner provided 
herein, and in the absence of protest without the necessity of 
a public hearing, when with respect to the pool for which the 
unit was established, a period of one year and 90 days has 
elapsed without: 

a. production from the pool; and 
b. the existence of a well proven capable of 

producing from the pool; and 
c. drilling, reworking, recompletion, deepening or 

plugging back operations having been conducted on a well 
to secure or restore production from the pool. 

2. Each application for unit termination shall be filed 
with the commissioner with a copy to the district manager 
and each interested party. Interested parties need not be 
furnished information described in §3105.A.2.b, d and e. 
The application shall include the following: 

a. a plat showing all existing units established for 
the pool, with each well located thereon, together with order 
number(s) and effective date of the order(s) of the 
commissioner establishing said units. Each well shall be 
identified on such plat by operator of record, serial number 
and well name and number or by reference to an appropriate 
attachment; 

b. a signed statement indicating the status of each 
well. Should there exist a well which has not been plugged 
and abandoned in accordance with LAC 43:XlX.137, 
sufficient geological, engineering, or other data with detailed 
explanation thereof to clearly demonstrate that said well is 
not capable of producing from the pool; 

c. a signed statement indicating that with respect to 
the pool for which the unit was established, to the best of 
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applicant's knowledge, a period of one year and 90 days has 
elapsed without: 
 i. production from the pool; and 
 ii. the existence of a well proven capable of 
producing from the pool; and 
 iii. drilling, reworking, recompletion, deepening or 
plugging back operations having been conducted on a well 
to secure or restore production from the pool;  

d. a list of all interested parties identified by the 
applicant after reasonable search to whom a copy of the 
application has been sent;  

e. an application fee as established by LAC 
43:XIX.201 et seq. 

3. Notice of the filing of the application of unit 
termination shall be published in the official journal of the 
state of Louisiana giving notice that unless a written protest 
is filed with the commissioner within the 30-day period from 
the date of publication of notice, the commissioner may 
issue a supplemental order for such unit termination. In the 
event written objection is filed within said 30-day period, the 
applicant may apply for a public hearing for consideration of 
the application. 

4. In the event that production from the pool is 
subsequently reestablished from an existing well which was 
deemed not capable of producing from the pool as of the 
effective date of unit termination, the operator of record of 
such well shall immediately apply to the commissioner for a 
public hearing, after 30-day legal notice, to consider 
evidence concerning whether the previously existing unit on 
which the well is located should be reestablished for such 
well. 

B. Termination of Any Existing Unit for a Pool 
1. On and after the effective date hereof, a 

supplemental order terminating any existing unit(s) 
established by the commissioner for a pool may be issued 
after written application and upon proper showing in the 
manner provided herein, and in the absence of protest 
without the necessity of a public hearing, when with respect 
to the unit(s) to be terminated, each of the following apply as 
of the date the application for unit termination is filed with 
the commissioner: 

a. a period of five years has elapsed without any 
production from the unit(s); and 

b. there is no well located on the unit(s) which is 
capable of producing from the pool for which the unit(s) was 
established; and 

c. a period of one year and 90 days has elapsed 
without any drilling, reworking, recompletion, deepening or 
plugging back operations having been conducted on a well 
located on the unit(s) to be terminated in an attempt to 
secure or restore production from the pool for which the 
unit(s) was established. 

2. Each application for unit termination shall be filed 
with the commissioner with a copy to the district manager 
and each interested party. Interested parties need not be 
furnished information described in §3105.B.2.b, d and e. The 
application shall include the following: 

a. a plat showing the existing unit(s) to be 
terminated, with each well located thereon, together with 
order number and effective date of the order of the 
commissioner establishing said unit(s). Each well shall be 
identified on such plat by operator of record, serial number 

and well name and number or by reference to an appropriate 
attachment; 

b. a signed statement indicating the status of each 
well. Should there exist a well which has not been plugged 
and abandoned in accordance with LAC 43:XlX.137, 
sufficient geological, engineering, or other data with detailed 
explanation thereof to clearly demonstrate that said well 
located on the unit(s) is not capable of producing from the 
pool for which the unit(s) was created; 

c. a signed statement indicating that with respect to 
the unit(s) to be terminated, to the best of applicant's 
knowledge, each of the following apply as of the date the 
application for unit termination is filed with the 
commissioner: 
 i. a period of five years has elapsed without any 
production from the unit(s); and 
 ii. there is no well located on the unit(s) to be 
terminated which is capable of producing from the pool for 
which the unit(s) was established; and 
 iii. a period of one year and 90 days has elapsed 
without any drilling, reworking, recompletion, deepening or 
plugging back operations having been conducted on a well 
located on the unit(s) in an attempt to secure or restore 
production from the pool for which the unit(s) was 
established; and 
 iv. there is no unexpired drilling permit for the 
drilling of a new well on the unit(s) to be terminated to a 
depth which would penetrate the pool for which the unit(s) 
was established; 

d. a list of all interested parties identified by the 
applicant after reasonable search to whom a copy of the 
application has been sent;  

e. an application fee as established by LAC 
43:XIX.201 et seq. 

3. Notice of the filing of the application of unit 
termination shall be published in the official journal of the 
state of Louisiana giving notice that unless a written protest 
is filed with the commissioner within the 30-day period from 
the date of publication of notice, the commissioner may 
issue a supplemental order for such unit termination. In the 
event written objection is filed within said 30-day period, the 
applicant may apply for a public hearing for consideration of 
the application. 

C. The effective date of any supplemental order issued 
hereunder can not be prior to the expiration of the legal 
advertisement period, reference §3l05.A.3 and §3105.B.3 
hereof. Consequently, any activity described in §3105.A.1 
and §3105.B.1 hereof, occurring between the date of the 
signed statement, reference §3105.A.2.c and §3105.B.2.c 
hereof and the expiration of the legal advertisement period, 
shall result in application denial. 

D. Any supplemental order issued hereunder approving 
the application terminating any unit(s) created for the pool 
shall be filed for record as provided in Section 11.1 of Title 
30 of the Revised Statutes of 1950. 

E. This order supersedes Statewide Order Number 29-L-
2 and shall be effective on and after December 20, 2003. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 15:741 (September 
1989), amended LR 19:776 (June 1993), repromulgated LR 
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19:1030 (August 1993), amended LR 21:1083 (October 1995), LR 
30:255 (February 2004). 

 
James H. Wels h 
Commissioner 

0402#044 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Pipeline Division 

Hazardous Liquids Pipeline Safety  
(LAC 33:V.30112, 30161, 30204 and 30905) 

Editor's Note: LAC 33:V.30112, 30161, 30204 and 30905 
were promulgated in the December 20, 2003 issue of the 
Louisiana Register on pages 2804-2847 and are being 
repromulgated to correct typographical errors. 

The Louisiana Office of Conservation has amended LAC 
33:V.301 et seq. in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. and 
pursuant to power delegated under the laws of the state of 
Louisiana and particularly Title 30 of the Louisiana Revised 
Statutes of 1950, Section 30:501 et seq. This Rule replaces 
the current minimum pipeline safety requirements for 
hazardous liquids pipelines with new codification, technical 
changes and the addition of new requirements. 

There will be negligible costs to directly affected persons 
or hazardous liquids pipeline operators. Benefits will be 
realized by persons near hazardous liquids pipelines through 
safer construction and operation standards imposed by the 
Rule amendments. Moreover, Louisiana presently receives 
approximately $148,000 in federal funds and $62,000 in 
pipeline fees to administer the Hazardous Liquids Pipeline 
Safety Program. Failure to amend the Louisiana Rules to 
make them consistent with federal regulations would cause 
the state to lose federal funding. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Part V.  Hazardous Waste and 

Hazardous Materials 
Subpart 3.  Natural Resources 

Chapter 301. Transportation of Hazardous Liquids by 
Pipeline [49 CFR Part 195] 

§30112. Unusually Sensitive Areas (USAs)  
[49 CFR 195.6] 

A. As used in this Subpart, a USA means a drinking 
water or ecological resource area that is unusually sensitive 
to environmental damage from a hazardous liquid pipeline 
release. 

1. A USA drinking water resource is: 
a. the water intake for a Community Water System 

(CWS) or a Non-Transient Non-Community Water System 
(NTNCWS) that obtains its water supply primarily from a 
surface water source and does not have an adequate 
alternative drinking water source; 

b. the Source Water Protection Area (SWPA) for a 
CWS or a NTNCWS that obtains its water supply from a 
Class I or Class IIA aquifer and does not have an adequate 
alternative drinking water source. Where a state has not yet 

identified the SWPA, the Wellhead Protection Area (WHPA) 
will be used until the state has identified the SWPA; or 

c. the sole source aquifer recharge area where the 
sole source aquifer is a karst aquifer in nature. 

2. An USA ecological resource is: 
a. an area containing a critically imperiled species 

or ecological community; 
b. a multi-species assemblage area; 
c. a migratory waterbird concentration area; 
d. an area containing an imperiled species, 

threatened or endangered species, depleted marine mammal 
species, or an imperiled ecological community where the 
species or community is aquatic, aquatic dependent, or 
terrestrial with a limited range; or 

e. an area containing an imperiled species, 
threatened or endangered species, depleted marine mammal 
species, or an imperiled ecological community where the 
species or community occurrence is considered to be one of 
the most viable, highest quality, or in the best condition as 
identified by an element occurrence ranking (EORANK) of 
A (excellent quality) or B (good quality). 

3. As used in this Subpart: 
Adequate Alternative Drinking Water Source? a 

source of water that currently exists, can be used almost 
immediately with a minimal amount of effort and cost, 
involves no decline in water quality, and will meet the 
consumptive, hygiene, and fire fighting requirements of the 
existing population of impacted customers for at least one 
month for a surface water source of water and at least six 
months for a groundwater source. 

Aquatic or Aquatic Dependent Species or 
Community? a species or community that primarily occurs in 
aquatic, marine, or wetland habitats, as well as species that 
may use terrestrial habitats during all or some portion of 
their life cycle, but that are still closely associated with or 
dependent upon aquatic, marine, or wetland habitats for 
some critical component or portion of their life-history (i.e., 
reproduction, rearing and development, feeding, etc). 

Class I Aquifer? an aquifer that is surficial or shallow, 
permeable, and is highly vulnerable to contamination. Class 
I aquifers include: 
 i. Unconsolidated Aquifers (Class Ia)? that 
consist or surficial, unconsolidated, and permeable, alluvial, 
terrace, outwash, beach, dune, and other similar deposits. 
These aquifers generally contain layers of sand and gravel 
that, commonly, are interbedded to some degree with silt and 
clay. Not all Class Ia aquifers are important water-bearing 
units, but they are likely to be both permeable and 
vulnerable. The only natural protection of these aquifers is 
the thickness of the unsaturated zone and the presence of 
fine-grained material; 
 ii. Soluble and Fractured Bedrock Aquifers (Class 
Ib)? lithologies in this class include limestone, dolomite, and 
locally, evaporitic units that contain documented karst 
features or solution channels, regardless of size. Generally, 
these aquifers have a wide range of permeability. Also 
included in this class are sedimentary strata, and 
metamorphic and igneous (intrusive and ext rusive) rocks 
that are significantly faulted, fractured, or jointed. In all 
cases groundwater movement is largely controlled by 
secondary openings. Well yields range widely, but the 
important feature is the potential for rapid vertical and lateral 
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ground water movement along preferred pathways, which 
result in a high degree of vulnerability; 
 iii. Semiconsolidated Aquifers (Class Ic)? that 
generally contain poorly to moderately indurated sand and 
gravel that is interbedded with clay and silt. This group is 
intermediate to the unconsolidated and consolidated end 
members. These systems are common in the Tertiary age 
rocks that are exposed throughout the Gulf and Atlantic 
coastal states. Semiconsolidated conditions also arise from 
the presence of intercalated clay and caliche within primarily 
unconsolidated to poorly consolidated units, such as occurs 
in parts of the High Plains Aquifer; or 
 iv. Covered Aquifers (Class Id)? that are any 
Class I aquifer overlain by less than 50 feet of low 
permeability, unconsolidated material, such as glacial till, 
lacustrian, and loess deposits. 

Class IIa Aquifer? Higher Yield Bedrock Aquifer that 
is consolidated and is moderately vulnerable to 
contamination. These aquifers generally consist of fairly 
permeable sandstone or conglomerate that contain lesser 
amounts of interbedded fine grained clastics (shale, siltstone, 
mudstone) and occasionally carbonate units. In general, well 
yields must exceed 50 gallons per minute to be included in 
this class. Local fracturing may contribute to the dominant 
primary porosity and permeability of these systems. 

Community Water System (CWS)? a public water 
system that serves at least 15 service connections used by 
year-round residents of the area or regularly serves at least 
25 year-round residents. 

Critically Imperiled Species or Ecological 
Community (Habitat)? an animal or plant species or an 
ecological community of extreme rarity, based on The 
Nature Conservancy's Global Conservation Status Rank. 
There are generally five or fewer occurrences, or very few 
remaining individuals (less than 1,000) or acres (less than 
2,000). These species and ecological communities are 
extremely vulnerable to extinction due to some natural or 
man-made factor. 

Depleted Marine Mammal Species? a species that has 
been identified and is protected under the Marine Mammal 
Protection Act of 1972, as amended (MMPA) (16 U.S.C. 
1361 et seq.). The term depleted refers to marine mammal 
species that are listed as threatened or endangered, or are 
below their optimum sustainable populations (16 U.S.C. 
1362). The term marine mammal means "any mammal 
which is morphologically adapted to the marine environment 
(including sea otters and members of the orders Sirenia, 
Pinnipedia, and Cetacea), or primarily inhabits the marine 
environment (such as the polar bear)" (16 U.S.C. 1362). The 
order Sirenia includes manatees, the order Pinnipedia 
includes seals, sea lions, and walruses, and the order Cetacea 
includes dolphins, porpoises, and whales. 

Ecological Community? an interacting assemblage of 
plants and animals that recur under similar environmental 
conditions across the landscape. 

Element Occurrence Rank (EORANK)? the condition 
or viability of a species or ecological community occurrence, 
based on a population's size, condition, and landscape 
context . EORANKs are assigned by the Natural Heritage 
Programs. An EORANK of A means an excellent quality and 
an EORANK of B means good quality. 

Imperiled Species or Ecological Community 
(Habitat)? a rare species or ecological community, based on 
The Nature Conservancy's Global Conservation Status Rank. 
There are generally six to 20 occurrences, or few remaining 
individuals (1,000 to 3,000) or acres (2,000 to 10,000). 
These species and ecological communities are vulnerable to 
extinction due to some natural or man-made factor. 

Karst Aquifer? an aquifer that is composed of 
limestone or dolomite where the porosity is derived from 
connected solution cavities. Karst aquifers are often 
cavernous with high rates of flow. 

Migratory Waterbird Concentration Area? a 
designated Ramsar site or a Western Hemisphere Shorebird 
Reserve Network site. 

Multi Species Assemblage Area? an area where three 
or more different critically imperiled or imperiled species or 
ecological communities, threatened or endangered species, 
depleted marine mammals, or migratory water bird 
concentrations co-occur. 

Non-Transient Non-community Water System 
(NTNCWS)? a public water system that regularly serves at 
least 25 of the same persons over six months per year. 
Examples of these systems include schools, factories, and 
hospitals that have their own water supplies. 

Public Water System (PWS)? a system that provides 
the public water for human consumption through pipes or 
other constructed conveyances, if such systems has at least 
15 service connections or regularly serves an average of at 
least 25 individuals daily at least 60 days out of the year. 
These systems include the sources of the water supplies, i.e., 
surface or ground. PWS can be community, non-transient 
non-community, or transient non-community systems. 

Ramsar Site? a site that has been designated under the 
Convention on Wetlands of International Importance 
Especially as Waterfowl Habitat Program. Ramsar sites are 
globally critical wetland areas that support migratory 
waterfowl. These include wetland areas that regularly 
support 20,000 waterfowl; wetland areas that regularly 
support substantial numbers of individuals from particular 
groups of waterfowl, indicative of wetland values, 
productivity, or diversity; and wetland areas that regularly 
support 1 percent of the individuals in a population of one 
species or subspecies of waterfowl. 

Sole Source Aquifer (SSA) ? an area designed by the 
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency under the Sole 
Source Aquifer Program as the "sole or principal" source of 
drinking water for an area. Such designations are made if the 
aquifer's ground water supplies 50 percent or more of the 
drinking water for an area, and if that aquifer were to 
become contaminated, it would pose a public health hazard. 
A sole source aquifer that is karst in nature is one composed 
of limestone where the porosity is derived from connected 
solution cavities. They are often cavernous, with high rates 
of flow. 

Source Water Protection Area (SWPA)? that the area 
delineated by the state for a public water supply system 
(PWS) or including numerous PWSs, whether the source is 
ground water or surface water or both, as part of the state 
source water assessment program (SWAP) approved by EPA 
under §1453 of the Safe Drinking Water Act. 
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Species? species, subspecies, population stocks, or 
distinct vertebrate populations. 

Terrestrial Ecological Community with a Limited 
Range? a non-aquatic or non-aquatic dependent ecological 
community that covers less than five acres. 

Terrestrial Species with a Limited Range? a  
non-aquatic or non-aquatic dependent animal or plant 
species that has a range of no more than five acres. 

Threatened and Endangered Species (T&E) ? an 
animal or plant species that has been listed and is protected 
under the Endangered Species Act of 1973, as amended 
(ESA 73)(16 U.S.C. 1531 et seq.). 
 i. Endangered Species? any species which is in 
danger of extinction throughout all or a significant portion of 
its range (16 U.S.C. 1532). 
 ii. Threatened Species? any species which is 
likely to become an endangered species within the 
foreseeable future throughout all or a significant portion of 
its range (16 U.S.C. 1532). 

Transient Non-Community Water System (TNCWS)? a 
public water system that does not regularly serve at least 25 
of the same persons over six months per year. This  type of 
water system serves a transient population found at rest 
stops, campgrounds, restaurants, and parks with their own 
source of water. 

Wellhead Protection Area (WHPA)? the surface and 
subsurface area surrounding a well or well field that supplies 
a public water system through which contaminants are likely 
to pass and eventually reach the water well or well field. 

Western Hemisphere Shorebird Reserve Network 
(WHSRN) Site? an area that contains migratory shorebirds 
concentrations and has been designated as a hemispheric 
reserve, international reserve, regional reserve, or 
endangered species reserve. Hemispheric reserves host at 
least 500,000 shorebirds annually or 30 percent of a species 
flyaway population. International reserves host 100,000 
shorebirds annually or 15 percent of a species flyaway 
population. Regional reserves host 20,000 shorebirds 
annually or 5 percent of a species flyaway population. 
Endangered species reserves are critical to the survival of 
endangered species and no minimum number of birds is 
required. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:703. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
28:83 (January 2002), amended LR 29:2808 (December 2003), 
repromulgated LR 30:257 (February 2004). 
§30161. Internal Design Pressure [49 CFR 195.106] 

A. Internal design pressure for the pipe in a pipeline is 
determined in accordance with the following formula:  

 
P= (2 St/D) x E x F 
P= Internal design pressure in p.s.i. (kPa) gauge. 
S= Yield strength in pounds per square inch (kPa) determined 
in accordance with §30161.B. 
t= Nominal wall thickness of the pipe in inches 
(millimeters). If this is unknown, it is determined in 
accordance with §30161.C. 
D= Nominal outside diameter of the pipe in inches 
(millimeters). 
E= Seam joint factor determined in accordance with 
§30161.E. 
F= A design factor of 0.72, except that a design factor of 0.60 
is used for pipe, including risers, on a platform located off-
shore or on a platform in inland navigable waters, and 0.54 is 

used for pipe that has been subjected to cold expansion to 
meet the specified minimum yield strength and is 
subsequently heated, other than by welding or stress relieving 
as a part of welding, to temperature higher than 900?F (482?C) 
for any period of time or over 600?F (316?C) for more than 
one hour. [49 CFR 195.106(a)] 
 

B. The yield strength to be used in determining the 
internal design pressure under §30161.A is the specified 
minimum yield strength. If the specified minimum yield 
strength is not known, the yield strength to be used in the 
design formula is one of the following: [49 CFR 195.106(b)] 

1. the yield strength determined by performing all of 
the tensile tests of API Specification 5L on randomly 
selected specimens with the following number of tests: [49 
CFR 195.106(b)(1)(i)] 

 
Pipeline Size Number of Tests 

Less than 6-5/8 in. (168 mm) 
nominal outside diameter 

One test for each 200 lengths 

6-5/8 through 12-3/4 in. (168 through 
323 mm.) nominal outside diameter 

One test for each 100 lengths 

Larger than 12-3/4 in. (324 mm.) 
nominal outside diameter 

One test for each 50 lengths 

 
2. if the average yield-tensile ratio exceeds 0.85, the 

yield strength shall be taken as 24,000 psi (165,474 kPa ). If 
the average yield tensile ratio is 0.85 or less, the yield 
strength of the pipe is taken as the lower of the following: 
[49 CFR 195.106(b)(1)(ii)] 

a. eighty percent of the average yield strength 
determined by the tensile tests; [49 CFR 
195.106(b)(1)(ii)(A)] 

b. the lowest yield strength determined by the 
tensile tests; [49 CFR 195.106(b)(1)(ii)(B)] 

3. if the pipe is not tensile tested as provided in 
Subsection B, the yield strength shall be taken as 24,000 psi 
(165,474 kPa). [49 CFR 195.106(b)(2)] 

C. If the nominal wall thickness to be used in 
determining internal design pressure under §30161.A is not 
known, it is determined by measuring the thickness of each 
piece of pipe at quarter points on one end. However, if the 
pipe is of uniform grade, size, and thickness, only 10 
individual lengths or five percent of all lengths, whichever is 
greater, need be measured. The thickness of the lengths that 
are not measured must be verified by applying a gage set to 
the minimum thickness found by the measurement. The 
nominal wall thickness to be used is the next wall thickness 
found in commercial specifications that is below the average 
of all the measurement taken. However, the nominal wall 
thickness may not be more than 1.14 times the smallest 
measurement taken on pipe that is less than 20 in. (508 mm) 
nominal outside diameter, nor more than 1.11 times the 
smallest measurement taken on pipe that is 20 in. (508 mm) 
or more in nominal outside diameter. [49 CFR 195.106(c)] 

D. The minimum wall thickness of the pipe may not be 
less than 87.5 percent of the value used for nominal wall 
thickness in determining the internal design pressure under 
§30161.A. In addition, the anticipated external loads and 
external pressures that are concurrent with internal pressure 
must be considered in accordance with §30163 and §30165 
and, after determining the internal design pressure, the 
nominal wall thickness must be increased as necessary to 
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compensate for these concurrent loads and pressures. [49 
CFR 195.106(d)] 

E.1. The seam joint factor used in §30161.A is determined 
in accordance with the following table. [49 CFR 195.106(e)] 

 

Specification Pipe Class Seam Joint 
Factor 

ASTM A53 Seamless 1.00 
 Electric resistance Welded 1.00 
 Furnace lap welded 0.80 
 Furnace butt welded 0.60 
ASTM A 106 Seamless 1.00 
ASTM A 333/A 
333M 

Seamless 1.00 

 Welded 1.00 
ASTM A381 Double submerged arc 

welded 
1.00 

ASTM A671 Electric fusion welded 1.00 
ASTM A672 Electric fusion welded 1.00 
ASTM A691 Electric fusion welded 1.00 
API 5L Seamless 1.00 
 Electric resistance welded 1.00 
 Electric flash welded 1.00 
 Submerged arc welded 1.00 
 Furnace lap welded 0.80 
 Furnace butt welded 0.60 

 
2. The seam joint factor for pipe which is not covered 

by this Subsection must be approved by the 
commissioner/administrator. [49 CFR 195.106(e)] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:753. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
15:629 (August 1989), amended LR 20:441 (1994), LR 21:817 
(August 1995), LR 27:1525 (September 2001), LR 29:2814 
(December 2003), repromulgated LR 30:259 (February 2004). 
Chapter 302. Transportation of Hazardous Liquids  

by Pipeline? Construction  
[49 CFR Part 195 Subpart D] 

§30204. Inspection? General [49 CFR 195.204] 
A. Inspection mu st be provided to ensure the installation 

of pipe or pipeline systems in accordance with the 
requirements of this Chapter. No person may be used to 
perform inspections unless that person has been trained and 
is qualified in the phase of construction to be inspected. [49 
CFR 195.204]  

B. Each operator shall notify by facsimile [(225) 342-
5529] the Pipeline Safety Section of the Office of 
Conservation, Louisiana Department of Natural Resources, 
of proposed pipeline construction at least seven days prior to 
commencement of said construction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:753. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
29:2817 (December 2003), repromulgated LR 30:260 (February 
2004). 
Chapter 309. Transportation of Hazardous Liquids by 

Pipeline? Appendices [49 CFR Part 195] 
§30905. Appendix C to Subpart 3? Guidance for 

Implementation of Integrity Management 
Program [49 CFR Part 195 Appendix C] 

This Appendix gives guidance to help an operator 
implement the requirements of the integrity management 

program rule in §30450 and §30452. Guidance is provided 
on: 

1. information an operator may use to identify a high 
consequence area and factors an operator can use to consider 
the potential impacts of a release on an area; 

2. risk factors an operator can use to determine an 
integrity assessment schedule; 

3. safety risk indicator tables for leak history, volume 
or line size, age of pipeline, and product transported, an 
operator may use to determine if a pipeline segment falls 
into a high, medium or low risk category; 

4. types of internal inspection tools an operator could 
use to find pipeline anomalies; 

5. measures an operator could use to measure an 
integrity management program's performance; 

6. types of records an operator will have to maintain; 
and 

7. types of conditions that an integrity assessment may 
identify that an operator should include in its required 
schedule for evaluation and remediation. 

I. Identifying a High Consequence Area and Factors for 
Considering a Pipeline Segment's Potential Impact on a High 
Consequence Area 

A. The rule defines a High Consequence Area as a 
high population area, an other populated area, an unusually 
sensitive area, or a commercially navigable waterway. The 
Office of Pipeline Safety (OPS) will map these areas on the 
National Pipeline Mapping System (NPMS). An operator, 
member of the public, or other government agency may 
view and download the data from the NPMS home page 
http://www.npms.rspa.dot.gov. OPS will maintain the NPMS 
and update it periodically. However, it is an operator's 
responsibility to ensure that it has identified all high 
consequence areas that could be affected by a pipeline 
segment. An operator is also responsible for periodically 
evaluating its pipeline segments to look for population or 
environmental changes that may have occurred around the 
pipeline and to keep its program current with this 
information. (Refer to §30452.D.3.) For more information to 
help in identifying high consequence areas, an operator may 
refer to: 

1. Digital Data on populated areas available on U.S. 
Census Bureau maps; 

2. Geographic Database on the commercial 
navigable waterways available on 
http://www.bts.gov/gis/ntatlas/networks.html; 

3. the Bureau of Transportation Statistics database 
that includes commercially navigable waterways and non-
commercially navigable waterways. The database can be 
downloaded from the BTS website at 
http://www.bts.gov/gis/ntatlas/networks.html. 

B. The rule requires an operator to include a process in 
its program for identifying which pipeline segments could 
affect a high consequence area and to take measures to 
prevent and mitigate the consequences of a pipeline failure 
that could affect a high consequence area. (See §30452.F 
and I.) Thus, an operator will need to consider how each 
pipeline segment could affect a high consequence area. The 
primary source for the listed risk factors is a US DOT study 
on instrumented Internal Inspection devices (November 
1992). Other sources include the National Transportation 
Safety Board, the Environmental Protection Agency and the 
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Technical Hazardous Liquid Pipeline Safety Standards 
Committee. The following list provides guidance to an 
operator on both the mandatory and additional factors: 

1. terrain surrounding the pipeline. An operator should 
consider the contour of the land profile and if it could allow 
the liquid from a release to enter a high consequence area. 
An operator can get this information from topographical 
maps such as U.S. Geological Survey quadrangle maps; 

2. drainage systems such as small streams and other 
smaller waterways that could serve as a conduit to a high 
consequence area; 

3. crossing of farm tile fields. An operator should 
consider the possibility of a spillage in the field fo llowing 
the drain tile into a waterway; 

4. crossing of roadways with ditches along the side. 
The ditches could carry a spillage to a waterway; 

5. the nature and characteristics of the product the 
pipeline is transporting (refined products, crude oils, highly 
volatile liquids, etc.) Highly volatile liquids become gaseous 
when exposed to the atmosphere. A spillage could create a 
vapor cloud that could settle into the lower elevation of the 
ground profile; 

6. physical support of the pipeline segment such as by 
a cable suspension bridge. An operator should look for stress 
indicators on the pipeline (strained supports, inadequate 
support at towers), atmospheric corrosion, vandalism, and 
other obvious signs of improper maintenance; 

7. operating conditions of the pipeline (pressure, flow 
rate, etc.) Exposure of the pipeline to an operating pressure 
exceeding the established maximum operating pressure; 

8. the hydraulic gradient of the pipeline; 
9. the diameter of the pipeline, the potential release 

volume, and the distance between isolation points; 
10. potential physical pathways between the pipeline 

and the high consequence area; 
11. response capability (time to respond, nature of 

response);  
12. potential natural forces inherent in the area (flood 

zones, earthquakes, subsidence areas, etc.). 
II. Risk Factors for Establishing Frequency of 

Assessment 
A. By assigning weights or values to the risk factors, 

and using the risk indicator tables, an operator can determine 
the priority for assessing pipeline segments, beginning with 
those segments that are of highest risk, that have not 
previously been assessed. This list provides some guidance 
on some of the risk factors to consider (see §30452.E). An 
operator should also develop factors specific to each pipeline 
segment it is  assessing, including: 

1. populated areas, unusually sensitive 
environmental areas, National Fish Hatcheries, 
commercially navigable waters, areas where people 
congregate; 

2. results from previous testing/inspection. (See 
§30452.H.); 

3. leak history. (See leak history risk table.);  
4. known corrosion or condition of pipeline. (See 

§30452.G.); 
5. cathodic protection history; 
6. type and quality of pipe coating (disbonded 

coating results in corrosion); 

7. age of pipe (older pipe shows more corrosion-
may be uncoated or have an ineffective coating) and type of 
pipe seam. (See Age of Pipe risk table.);  

8. product transported (highly volatile, highly 
flammable and toxic liquids present a greater threat for both 
people and the environment) (see product transported risk 
table.); 

9. pipe wall thickness (thicker walls give a better 
safety margin); 

10. size of pipe (higher volume release if the pipe 
ruptures);  

11. location related to potential ground movement 
(e.g., seismic faults, rock quarries, and coal mines); climatic 
(permafrost causes settlement-Alaska); geologic (landslides 
or subsidence);  

12. security of throughput (effects on customers if 
there is failure requiring shutdown); 

13. time since the last internal inspection/pressure 
testing; 

14. with respect to previously discovered 
defects/anomalies, the type, growth rate, and size; 

15. operating stress levels in the pipeline; 
16. location of the pipeline segment as it relates to 

the ability of the operator to detect and respond to a leak. 
(e.g., pipelines deep underground, or in locations that make 
leak detection difficult without specific sectional monitoring 
and/or significantly impede access for spill response or any 
other purpose);  

17. physical support of the segment such as by a 
cable suspension bridge; 

18. non-standard or other than recognized industry 
practice on pipeline installation (e.g., horizontal directional 
drilling). 

B. Example. This example illustrates a hypothetical 
model used to establish an integrity assessment schedule for 
a hypothetical pipeline segment. After we determine the risk 
factors applicable to the pipeline segment, we then assign 
values or numbers to each factor, such as, high (5), moderate 
(3), or low (1). We can determine an overall risk 
classification (A, B, C) for the segment using the risk tables 
and a sliding scale (values 5 to 1) for risk factors for which 
tables are not provided. We would classify a segment as C if 
it fell above 2/3 of maximum value (highest overall risk 
value for any one segment when compared with other 
segments of a pipeline), a segment as B if it fell between 1/3 
to 2/3 of maximum value, and the remaining segments as A. 

i. For the baseline assessment schedule, we 
would plan to assess 50 percent of all pipeline segments 
covered by the rule, beginning with the highest risk 
segments, within the first 3 1/2 years and the remaining 
segments within the seven-year period. For the continuing 
integrity assessments, we would plan to assess the C 
segments within the first two years of the schedule, the 
segments classified as moderate risk no later than year three 
or four and the remaining lowest risk segments no later than 
year five. 

ii. For our hypothetical pipeline segment, we 
have chosen the following risk factors and obtained risk 
factor values from the appropriate table. The values assigned 
to the risk factors are for illustration only. 
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Age of pipeline: assume 30 years old (refer to "Age of 
Pipeline" risk table)-- 
Risk Value=5 
Pressure tested: tested once during construction- 
Risk Value=5 
Coated: (yes/no)-yes 
Coating Condition: Recent excavation of suspected areas 
showed holidays in coating (potential corrosion risk)- 
Risk Value=5 
Cathodically Protected: (yes/no)-yes-Risk  
Value=1 
Date cathodic protection installed: five years after pipeline 
was constructed (Cathodic protection installed within one year 
of the pipeline's construction is generally considered low 
risk.)-Risk Value=3 
Close interval survey: (yes/no)-no-Risk  
Value=3 
Close interval survey: (yes/no)-no-Risk  
Value=5 
Internal Inspection tool used: (yes/no)-no-Risk  
Value=5 
Date of pig run? In last five years-Risk  
Value=1 
Anomalies found:  (yes/no)-yes, but do not pose an immediate 
safety risk or environmental hazard-Risk Value=3 
Leak History: yes, one spill in last 10 years. (refer to "Leak 
History" risk table)-Risk Value=2 
Product transported: Diesel fuel. Product low risk. (refer to 
"Product" risk table)-Risk Value=1 
Pipe size: 16 inches. Size presents moderate risk (refer to 
"Line Size" risk table)-Risk Value=3 

 
iii. Overall risk value for this hypothetical 

segment of pipe is 34. Assume that we have two other 
pipeline segments for which we conduct similar risk 
rankings. The second pipeline segment has an overall risk 
value of 20, and the third segment, 11. For the baseline 
assessment we would establish a schedule where we assess 
the first segment (highest risk segment) within two years, the 
second segment within five years and the third segment 
within seven years. Similarly, for the continuing integrity 
assessment, we could establish an assessment schedule 
where we assess the highest risk segment no later than the 
second year, the second segment no later than the third year, 
and the third segment no later than the fifth year.  

III. Safety Risk Indicator Tables for Leak History, Volume 
or Line Size, Age of Pipeline, and Product Transported 

 
Safety Risk Indicator Leak History  

(Time-dependent defects)1 
High >3 Spills in last 10 years 
Low <3 Spills in last 10 years 

1Time-dependent defects are those that result in spills due to 
corrosion, gouges, or problems developed during manufacture, 
construction or operation, etc. 
 

Line Size or Volume Transported 
Safety Risk Indicator Line Size 

High > 18" 
Moderate 10" -16" nominal diameters 
Low < 8" nominal diameter 

 
Age of Pipeline 

Safety Risk Indicator Age Pipeline Condition Dependent2 
High >25 years 
Low <25 years 

2Depends on pipeline's coating and corrosion condition, and 
steel quality, toughness, welding. 
 

Product Transported 
Safety Risk 
Indicator 

Considerations 3 Product Examples 

High (Highly volatile and 
flammable) 

(Propane, butane, Natural Gas 
Liquid (NGL), ammonia). 

 Highly toxic (Benzene, high Hydrogen 
Sulfide content crude oils). 

Medium Flammable-
flashpoint<100F 

(Gasoline, JP4, low flashpoint 
crude oils). 

Low Non-flammable-
flashpoint 100+F 

(Diesel, fuel oil, kerosene, JP5, 
most crude oils). 

3The degree of acute and chronic toxicity to humans, wildlife, 
and aquatic life; reactivity; and volatility, flammability, and 
water solubility determine the Product Indicator. 
Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and 
Liability Act Reportable Quantity values may be used as an 
indication of chronic toxicity. National Fire Protection 
Association health factors may be used for rating acute 
hazards. 
 

IV.  Types of Internal Inspection Tools to Use 
An operator should consider at least two types of 

internal inspection tools for the integrity assessment from 
the following list. The type of tool or tools an operator 
selects will depend on the results from previous internal 
inspection runs, information analysis and risk factors 
specific to the pipeline segment: 

1. geometry internal inspection tools for detecting 
changes to ovality, e.g., bends, dents, buckles or wrinkles, 
due to construction flaws or soil movement, or other outside 
force damage; 

2. metal loss tools (ultrasonic and magnetic flux 
leakage) for determining pipe wall anomalies, e.g., wall loss 
due to corrosion; 

3. crack detection tools for detecting cracks and 
crack-like features, e.g., stress corrosion cracking (SCC), 
fatigue cracks, narrow axial corrosion, toe cracks, hook 
cracks, etc. 

V. Methods to Measure Performance 
A. General 

1. This guidance is to help an operator establish 
measures to evaluate the effectiveness of its integrity 
management program. The performance measures required 
will depend on the details of each integrity management 
program and will be based on an understanding and analysis 
of the failure mechanisms or threats to integrity of each 
pipeline segment. 

2. An operator should select a set of measurements 
to judge how well its program is performing. An operator's 
objectives for its program are to ensure public safety, 
prevent or minimize leaks and spills and prevent property 
and environmental damage. A typical integrity management 
program will be an ongoing program it may contain many 
elements. Therefore, several performance measure are likely 
to be needed to measure the effectiveness of an ongoing 
program. 

B. Performance Measures. These measures show how 
a program to control risk on pipeline segments that could 
affect a high consequence area is progressing under the 
integrity management requirements. Performance measures 
generally fall into three categories. 

1. Selected Activity Measures? Measures that 
monitor the surveillance and preventive activities the 
operator has implemented. These measures indicate how 
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well an operator is implementing the various elements of its 
integrity management program. 

2. Deterioration Measures? Operation and 
maintenance trends that indicate when the integrity of the 
system is weakening despite preventive measures. This 
category of performance measure may indicate that the 
system condition is deteriorating despite well executed 
preventive activities. 

3. Failure Measures? Leak History, incident 
response, product loss, etc. These measures will indicate 
progress towards fewer spills and less damage. 

C. Internal vs. External Comparisons. These 
comparisons show how a pipeline segment that could affect 
a high consequence area is progressing in comparison to the 
operator's other pipeline segments that are not covered by 
the integrity management requirements and how that 
pipeline segment compares to other operator's pipeline 
segments. 

1. Internal? Comparing data from the pipeline 
segment that could affect the high consequence area with 
data from pipeline segments in other areas of the system 
may indicate the effects from the attention given to the high 
consequence area. 

2. External? Comparing data external to the 
pipeline segment (e.g., OPS incident data) may provide 
measures on the frequency and size of leaks in relation to 
other companies. 

D. Examples. Some examples of performance 
measures an operator could use include: 

1. a performance measurement goal to reduce the total 
volume from unintended releases by __ percent (percent to 
be determined by operator) with an ultimate goal of zero; 

2. a performance measurement goal to reduce the total 
number of unintended releases (based on a threshold of five 
gallons) by __ percent (percent to be determined by 
operator) with an ultimate goal of zero; 

3. a performance measurement goal to document the 
percentage of integrity management activities completed 
during the calendar year;  

4. a performance measurement goal to track and 
evaluate the effectiveness of the operator's community 
outreach activities; 

5. a narrative description of pipeline system integrity, 
including a summary of performance improvements, both 
qualitative and quantitative, to an operator's integrity 
management program prepared periodically; 

6. a performance measure based on internal audits of 
the operator's pipeline system per this Subpart; 

7. a performance measure based on external audits of 
the operator's pipeline system per this Subpart; 

8. a performance measure based on operational events 
(for example: relief occurrences, unplanned valve closure, 
SCADA outages, etc.) that have the potential to adversely 
affect pipeline integrity; 

9. a performance measure to demonstrate that the 
operator's integrity management program reduces risk over 
time with a focus on high risk items; 

10. a performance measure to demonstrate that the 
operator's integrity management program for pipeline

stations and terminals reduces risk over time with a focus on 
high risk items. 

VI. Examples of Types of Records an Operator Must 
Maintain 

The rule requires an operator to maintain certain records. 
(See §30452.L). This Section provides examples of some 
records that an operator would have to maintain for 
inspection to comply with the requirement. This is not an 
exhaustive list: 

1. a process for identifying which pipelines could 
affect a high consequence area and a document identifying 
all pipeline segments that could affect a high consequence 
area; 

2. a plan for baseline assessment of the line pipe 
that includes each required plan element; 

3. modification to the baseline plan and reasons for 
the modification; 

4. use of and support for an alternative practice; 
5. a framework addressing each required element of 

the integrity management program, updates and changes to 
the initial framework and eventual program;  

6. a process for identifying a new high consequence 
area and incorporating it into the baseline plan, particularly, 
a process for identifying population changes around a 
pipeline segment; 

7. an explanation of methods selected to assess the 
integrity of line pipe; 

8. a process for review of integrity assessment 
results and data analysis by a person qualified to evaluate the 
results and data; 

9. the process and risk factors for determining the 
baseline assessment interval;  

10. results of the baseline integrity assessment; 
11. the process used for continual evaluation, and 

risk factors used for determining the frequency of 
evaluation; 

12. process for integrating and analyzing information 
about the integrity of a pipeline, information and data used 
for the information analysis; 

13. results of the information analyses and periodic 
evaluations; 

14. the process and risk factors for establishing 
continual reassessment intervals; 

15. justification to support any variance from the 
required reassessment intervals; 

16. integrity assessment results and anomalies found, 
process for evaluating and remediating anomalies, criteria 
for remedial actions and actions taken to evaluate and 
remediate the anomalies; 

17. other remedial actions planned or taken; 
18. schedule for evaluation and remediation of 

anomalies, justification to support deviation from required 
remediation times; 

19. risk analysis used to identify additional 
preventive or mitigative measures, records of preventive and 
mitigative actions planned or taken; 

20. criteria for determining EFRD installation; 
21. criteria for evaluating and modifying leak 

detection capability; 
22. methods used to measure the program's 

effectiveness. 
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VII. Conditions that May Impair a Pipeline's Integrity 
Section 30452.H requires an operator to evaluate and 

remediate all pipeline integrity issues  raised by the integrity 
assessment or information analysis. An operator must 
develop a schedule that prioritizes conditions discovered on 
the pipeline for evaluation and remediation. The following 
are some examples of conditions that an operator should 
schedule for evaluation and remediation: 

A. any change since the previous assessment; 
B. mechanical damage that is located on the top side 

of the pipe; 
C. an anomaly abrupt in nature; 
D. an anomaly longitudinal in orientation; 
E. an anomaly over a large area; 
F. an anomaly located in or near a casing, a crossing 

of another pipeline, or an area with suspect cathodic 
protection. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:703. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
29:2840 (December 2003), repromulgated LR 30:260 (February 
2004). 

 
James H. Welsh 
Commissioner 

0402#055 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Correction 
Corrections Services 

Access to and Release of Active  
and Inactive Records? Adult 

(LAC 22:I.101) 

Editor's Note: This Rule is being repromulgated to correct an 
error. This Rule originally ran in the January 20, 2004 edition 
of the Louisiana Register and may be viewed in its entirety  
on pages 75-77. 
 

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Corrections Services, in accordance with R.S. 15:823, and 
the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
hereby repeals the current LAC 22:I.101, Records of Adult 
Offenders and Ex-Offenders, in its entirety and adopts LAC 
22:I.101, Access to and Release of Active and Inactive 
Records. 

Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 
Part I.  Corrections 

Chapter 1. Secretary's Office 
§101. Access to and Release of Active and Inactive 

Records  
A. Purpose. To establish the secretary's policy and 

procedures for access to and release of active and inactive 
inmate records. 

B. Applicability. This regulation applies to all persons 
employed by the department and those who are under 
contract with the department. The assistant secretary/office 
of adult services, all wardens-adult and the director of 
probation and parole-adult are responsible for implementing 

this regulation and conveying its contents to all affected 
persons. 

C. Definitions 
Application for Pardon or Parole? for the purpose of 

this regulation, an application for pardon or parole is 
defined as any time that an inmate has made an application 
for pardon or parole, (including medical parole) or has been 
released on diminution of sentence (Good Time Parole 
Supervis ion-GTPS). 

Law Enforcement Agencies? those agencies designed to 
enforce federal, state or municipal laws and who receive 
public funds as their primary source for operation, i.e., 
sheriff's offices, local and state police departments, 
departments of corrections, U.S. attorneys, district attorneys, 
and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). 

Sex Offender, Serial Sexual Offender, Sexually Violent 
Predator, Child Predator? inmates committed to the 
department for a crime listed in R.S. 15:536 and 15:541. 
(See Paragraph N.1, List of Sex Offenses.) 

D. Release of Information and Records  
1. The pre-sentence investigation report, the pre-

parole report, the clemency report, the information and data 
gathered by the staffs of the Board of Pardons and Board of 
Parole, the prison record, and any other information obtained 
by the Boards or Corrections Services, in the discharge of 
official duties shall be confidential and shall not be subject 
to public inspection nor be disclosed directly or indirectly to 
anyone except as in accordance with this regulation. 

2. Following an application for pardon or parole, all 
information pertaining to an individual's misconduct while 
incarcerated, statistical information, information pertaining 
to disposition of criminal charges and incarcerations, and 
information of a general nature including an individual's age, 
offense, date of conviction, length of sentence, any 
correspondence by a public official which requests, or may 
be determined to be in support of, or in opposition to, the 
pardon or parole of an individual, and discharge date shall be 
released to the general public at any time upon request. 

NOTE: This provision shall not apply to any public official 
correspondence which requests, or may be determined to be in 
support of, or in opposition to, the pardon or parole of an 
individual, which was received prior to August 15, 1997. 

3. An inmate's DOC number and assigned location 
may be released without restriction. 

4. Except as noted below, any communication with the 
Board of Pardons or Board of Parole urging parole, pardon, 
clemency, or commutation of sentence or otherwise 
regarding an inmate shall be deemed a public record and 
subject to public inspection. 

a. Exception. Any letter written by, or on behalf of, 
any victim of a crime committed by an inmate under 
consideration for parole, pardon, clemency, or commutation 
of sentence, or any letter written in opposition to pardon, 
clemency, or commutation of sentence shall be confidential 
and shall not be deemed a public record and subject to public 
inspection. This exception shall not apply to any elected or 
appointed public official. 

5. Information on a particular inmate may be released 
without special authorization, subject to other restrictions 
that may be imposed by federal law or by other provisions of 
state law, to the following: 

a. Board of Parole; 
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b. Board of Pardons; 
c. governor;  
d. sentencing judge; 
e. district attorneys; 
f. law enforcement agencies; 
g. Department of Public Safety and Corrections 

personnel, including legal representatives and student 
workers; 

h. appropriate governmental agencies or public 
officials, when access to such information is imperative for 
the discharge of the responsibilities of the requesting agency, 
official or court officer and the information is not reasonably 
available through any other means; and 

i. court officers with court orders specifying the 
information requested. 

6. Fingerprints, photographs, and information 
pertaining to arrests and disposition of criminal charges, as 
well as information regarding escapes may be released to 
law enforcement agencies without special authorization. 

7. The secretary or his designee may approve the 
reading (but not copying) of confidential information by the 
following: 

a. social service agencies assisting in the treatment 
of the inmate or ex-offender; and 

b. approved researchers who have guaranteed in 
writing anonymity of all subjects. 

8. The secretary or his designee may approve the 
selective reading (but not copying) of information by a 
private citizen or organization aiding in the rehabilitation of, 
or directly involved in the hiring of, the inmate or ex-
offender under the following conditions: 

a. it appears that the withholding of the information 
would be to the inmate's or ex-offender's disadvantage; 

b. the requested information is necessary to further 
the rehabilitation or the likelihood of hiring the inmate or ex-
offender; 

c. the requested information is not reasonably 
available through other means; and 

d. the inmate or ex-offender has given his written 
consent to release the information. 

NOTE: Each unit will develop and use a "release of 
information consent form" for this purpose prior to the release 
of information and a copy will be placed in the inmate's 
record. 

E. Release of Information on Sex Offenders  
1. In addition to information which may be released 

pursuant to Subsection D, criminal history record 
information regarding sex offenders, serial sexual offenders, 
sexually violent predators and child predators which pertains 
to a conviction for which an inmate is currently sentenced to 
the department's custody may be disseminated without 
restriction. 

2. For the purpose of this regulation, criminal history 
record information includes the following: 

a. date and parish of conviction; 
b. offense; 
c. docket number; 
d. sentence; and 
e. release dates. 

3. A written record pertaining to the dissemination of 
criminal history record information on sex offenders (see 
Paragraph N.1, List of Sex Offenses) shall be maintained at 

the unit level. The record shall contain the following 
information: 

a. to whom the criminal history record information 
was disseminated; 

b. the date the information was disseminated; 
c. the individual to whom the information relates; 

and 
d. a brief description of the information 

disseminated. 
4. The written record pertaining to the dissemination 

of criminal history record information on sex offenders shall 
be retained for a period of not less than one year.  

F. Release of Information to Crime Victims  
1. Both the information contained in a Victim Notice 

and Registration Form and the fact that a notification request 
has been made are confidential. Any questions from outside 
the department about whether particular persons have 
requested notification or whether there has been a 
notification request for particular inmates should be referred 
to the Crime Victims Services Bureau. 

2. Information may be released to victims, witnesses, 
and others directly injured by the criminal acts of persons 
under the state's authority in accordance with Department 
Regulation No. C-01-007 "Crime Victims Services Bureau." 

G. Subpoenaed Records 
1. Whenever records of an inmate or ex-offender are 

subpoenaed, they shall be submitted to the appropriate court 
for a ruling as to whether the information should be turned 
over to the party who caused the subpoena to be issued. The 
court shall make this determinate in camera. If the court 
makes any one of the following determinations, the 
information shall be withheld: 

a. the information is not relevant to the 
proceedings; or 

b. the information was derived from 
communications which were obviously made in the 
confidence that they would not be disclosed; or 

c. the confidentiality is essential to the future useful 
relations between the source and the recorder of the 
information. 

2. Should the court authorize disclosure of the records 
in accordance with the subpoena, the party who caused the 
subpoena to be issued shall pay a fee for the cost of 
production of the records in accordance with R.S. 39:241 
(see Department Regulation No. A-03-003 "Collection of 
Fees for Reproduction of Public Records"), unless the court 
determines that the party has been granted pauper status in 
accordance with law. 

H. Records Not Subpoenaed Submitted to the Courts for 
Review. The department reserves the right to submit any 
record to the appropriate court for a ruling as to whether the 
information should be turned over to the party requesting the 
information. 

I. Access and Release of Medical Records. Access to 
and release of medical records is governed by Health Care 
Policy No. HC-33 "Inmate Medical Records." 

J. Department's Access to Information and Records of 
Other Agencies. During the course of any investigation 
which the department is authorized by law to conduct, or 
which is necessary for the rehabilitation of persons in the 
custody of the department, the department shall have access 
to information and records under the control of any state or 
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local agency which are reasonably related to the 
rehabilitation of the inmate. 

K. Inmate Access to Records. Information contained in 
the inmate's record shall be confidential and shall not be 
released to the inmate except in accordance with this 
regulation. 

1. An inmate may have access to his master prison 
record, a sentence computation worksheet, any court 
documents that are related to the term of his instant 
incarceration, non-confidential unusual occurrence reports, 
disciplinary reports, information related to educational 
achievements and participation. 

2. An inmate may view and make notes of his state 
police and/or FBI rap sheet, but s hall not be given a copy. 

3. An inmate shall not have access to another inmate's 
active or inactive records. 

4. The following is a non-exhaustive list of additional 
information that will not be accessible to the inmate: 

a. pre-sentence reports; 
b. post-sentence reports; 
c. pre-parole reports; 
d. clemency investigations; 
e. information revealing or tending to reveal the 

identity of confidential informants; 
f. admission summary; 
g. correspondence from any non-departmental 

source directed solely to prison officials; 
h. correspondence or inquiries originated by 

institutional personnel; 
i. investigations conducted by non-departmental 

agencies, i.e., District Attorney, State Police, FBI, etc.;  
j. investigations conducted by Corrections 

Services; 
k. non-disciplinary court-related institutional 

investigations; and 
l. correspondence from victims or witnesses, 

including Victim Notice and Registration Forms. 
5. Each institution shall establish procedures for 

inmates to follow when requesting copies of documents 
from their records and the fees charged for such copies. 

L. Information Requests. Verbal requests for information 
are acceptable. However, the secretary or his designee 
reserves the right to require a written request before 
releasing any information. In that case, the individual or 
agency must certify in writing that they will not release the 
information to any other agency. 

M. Fees. The fee schedule for copies of public records is 
established in Department Regulation No. A-03-003 
"Collection of Fees for Reproduction of Public Records." 

N.1. List of Sex Offenses  
a. 14:41 Rape 
b. 14:42 Aggravated Rape 
c. 14:42.1 Forcible Rape 
d. 14:43 Simple Rape 
e. 14:43.1 Sexual Battery 
f. 14:43.2 Aggravated Sexual Battery 
g. 14:43.3 Oral Sexual Battery 
h. 14:43.5 Intentional Exposure of AIDS 

Virus 
i. 14:78 Incest 

j. 14:78.1 Aggravated Incest 
k. 14:80 Felony Carnal Knowledge of a 

Juvenile 
l. 14:80.1 Misdemeanor Carnal Knowledge 

of a Juvenile 
m. 14:81 Indecent Behavior with Juveniles 
n. 14:81.1 Pornography Involving Juveniles 
o. 14:81.2 Molestation of a Juvenile 
p. 14:89 Crime against Nature 
q. 14:89.1 Aggravated Crime against Nature 
r. 14:92(A)(7) Contributing to the Delinquency 

of Juvenile 
s. 14:93.5 Sexual Battery of the Infirm 
t. 14:283(E) Video Voyeurism 

2. A conviction for any offense provided in the above 
list includes a conviction for an equivalent offense under the 
laws of another state. 

3. A conviction for the attempt of the above offenses 
shall be considered as a sex offender for the purpose of this 
regulation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:7, 15:540-542, 15:546-548, 15:549(C), 15:574.12, 15:840.1, 
C.Cr.P. Art. 877 and 894.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Corrections, Office of the Director, LR 2:107 (April 1976), 
amended by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Corrections Services, LR 30:75 (January 2004), repromulgated LR 
30:264 (February 2004). 

 
Richard L. Stalder 
Secretary 

0402#041 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Gaming Control Board 

Video Draw Po ker (LAC 42:XI.Chapter 24) 

The Louisiana Gaming Control Board hereby amends 
LAC 42:XI.2403, 2405, 2407, 2409, 2411, 2413, 2417, 
2419, and 2421 in accordance with R.S. 27:15 and 24, and 
the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 42 
LOUISIANA GAMING 
Part XI.  Video Poker 

Chapter 24. Video Draw Poker 
§2403. Definitions 

The provisions of the Louisiana Video Draw Poker 
Devices Control Law relating to the definitions of words, 
terms, and phrases are hereby incorporated by reference and 
made a part hereof, and shall apply and govern the 
interpretation of these regulations, except as otherwise 
specifically declared or as is clearly apparent from the 
context of the regulations herein. The following words, 
terms, and phrases shall have the ascribed meaning indicated 
below. 

* * * 
Applicant? the person who has completed an 

application to the division for a license or permit to 
participate in the video gaming industry in Louisiana. 
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Application? the process by which a person requests a 
license or permit, or the renewal of a license or permit, for 
participation in the video gaming industry in Louisiana. 

* * * 
Permittee? for purposes of these rules, shall have the 

same meaning as video draw poker employee as provided in 
R.S. 27:301. 

* * * 
Warehouse? a secure and limited access structure or 

room, approved by the division, utilized for the storage of 
video gaming devices and/or their components. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

33:4862.1 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Gaming 
Enforcement Section, Video Gaming Division, LR 18:196 
(February 1992), amended LR 21:582 (June 1995), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control 
Board, LR 30:266 (February 2004). 
§2405. Application and License 

A. Initial and Renewal Applications 
1. All applications for a license shall be submitted on 

forms provided by the division and mailed to an address 
provided by the division. 

2. - 15. … 
B. Requirements for Licensing 

1.a. No person shall be granted a license, and no 
license shall be renewed unless the applicant demonstrates to 
the division that he is suitable for licensing, and thereafter 
continues to maintain suitability, as provided in the Act. 

b. All applicants for a license and licensees shall be 
current in filing all applicable tax returns and in the payment 
of all taxes, interest and penalties owed to all appropriate 
local taxing authorities, the state of Louisiana and the 
Internal Revenue Service, excluding contested amounts 
pursuant to applicable statutes, and excluding items for 
which the Department of Revenue and Taxation and the 
Internal Revenue Service have accepted a payment schedule 
of back taxes. 

2. - 3.b. … 
4.a. The appropriate annual fee shall be paid by all 

licensees regardless of the expiration date of the license on 
or before July 1 of each year. 

b. Proof of current tax filings and payments, 
including tax clearance certificates from the state and all 
appropriate local taxing authorities shall be submitted to the 
division along with the annual fee as provided in 
Subparagraph B.4.a. no later than July 1 of each year. 

5. Repealed. 
6. All nonrefundable fees required for 

application/renewal and any administrative fines or penalties 
shall be made payable to the Department of Public Safety 
and Corrections and remitted to an address provided by the 
division. 

7. Repealed. 
8. - 10. … 
11. Repealed. 
12. - 12.e. … 

C. - C.2. … 
D. Change of Ownership of Licensed Establishment 

1. If a change in ownership of a licensed 
establishment occurs, the division shall be notified, in 
writing within five days, of the Act of sale or transfer.  

2. When a licensed establishment which requires an 
alcoholic beverage license as a condition of the receipt of a 
video gaming license is sold or transferred, the devices shall 
be allowed to continue to operate under the old license if: 

a. the new owner applies for a state Class "A" 
general retail or restaurant alcohol permit within 15 days of 
the act of sale or transfer; and 

b. upon issuance of a state Class "A" general retail 
or restaurant alcohol permit, the new owner applies for a 
video gaming license within 15 days of said issuance. 

3. The devices shall only be allowed to continue in 
operation under the old license until: 

a. the is suance of a video draw poker license in the 
name of the new owner; 

b. a determination by the division that the new 
applicant is unsuitable; 

c. denial of the new license application; or 
d. the passage of 180 days from submission of the 

application to the division. 
4. The new owner shall provide, at the time of 

application to the division, a certified copy of the act of sale 
or transfer, a copy of all appropriate documentation which 
indicates the date the licensed establishment began the 
Alcohol and Tobacco Control Commission application 
process, and a copy of the permit issued by the Alcohol and 
Tobacco Control Commission. 

5. If any of the documents required by this Section are 
not submitted with the new owner's application, the division 
may immediately disable the devices. 

6. If the 180-day period has elapsed prior to the 
issuance of a new video gaming license, the devices shall be 
disabled and the device owner shall immediately make 
arrangements to remove and transfer the devices from the 
formerly licensed establishment. 

7. Upon the issuance of a license to a new owner or 
the passage of 180 days, whichever occurs first, the license 
issued to the prior owner shall expire and be surrendered to 
the division. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
27:15 and 24. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Gaming 
Enforcement Section, Video Gaming Division, LR 18:196 
(February 1992), amended LR 21:582 (June 1995), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control 
Board, LR 23:1322 (October 1997), LR 24:955 (May 1998), LR 
26:346 (February 2000), LR 26:2322 (October 2000), LR 27:61 
(January 2001), LR 30:267 (February 2004). 
§2407. Operation of Video Draw Poker Devices 

A. Responsibilities of Licensees 
1. The licensee or a designated representative of the 

licensed establishment shall be required to be physically 
present and available within the licensed establishment at all 
times during all hours of operation; shall ensure that the 
devices are not tampered with, abused, or altered in any 
way; and shall prevent the play of video draw poker devices 
by persons under the age of 21 and prevent access to the 
gaming area by persons under the age of 18. The penalty for 
violation of this subsection shall be $250 for the first
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offense, $500 for the second offense, and $1,000 for the 
third offense. The penalty for fourth and subsequent offenses 
shall be administrative action, including, but not limited to, 
suspension or revocation. 

2 - 7. ... 
8. Repealed. 
9. - 12. … 
13. Repealed. 
14. … 

a. The signs shall be placed at the entrances to 
device areas with lettering at least 3 inches in height stating 
that there are gaming devices inside, no one under 18 
allowed in gaming area, and no one under the age of 21 
allowed to play gaming devices. 

15. - 15.c. Repealed. 
16 - 17. … 

B. Video Draw Poker Employees and Permits 
1. The division shall issue a video draw poker 

employee permit to persons determined to be suitable 
pursuant to the provisions of the Act and rules adopted by 
the Louisiana Gaming Control Board pursuant to the 
Administrative Procedure Act. 

2. All video draw poker employees shall possess a 
valid video draw poker employee permit in addition to a 
valid state issued driver's license, identification card or 
United States military identification card. The penalty for 
violation of this subsection shall be $25 for the first offense, 
$50 for the second offense, and $75 for the third offense. 
The penalty for fourth and subsequent offenses shall be 
administrative action, including, but not limited to, 
suspension or revocation of the permit. 

3. All video draw poker employee applications must 
be submitted on forms prescribed by the Louisiana Gaming 
Control Board. 

a. All applications shall be submitted to the division 
via delivery by the United States Postal Service certified or 
registered mail, return receipt requested, or a commercial 
interstate carrier. 

b. All applications shall contain a telephone number 
and permanent address for receipt of correspondence and 
service of documents by the division. 

c. All video draw poker employees shall submit a 
renewal application to the division at least sixty days prior to 
expiration of their permit to avoid a lapse in their ability to 
work as video draw poker employees. 

4. All applicants shall provide all additional 
information requested by the division. If applicants fail to 
provide all additional information requested by the division, 
the application shall be denied. 

5. All video draw poker employees or applicants  shall 
notify the division in writing of all changes of address, 
phone numbers, and other required information in the 
application within 10 calendar days of the effective date of 
the change. 

6. No person shall be granted a permit and no permit 
will be renewed unless the applicant demonstrates to the 
division that he is suitable for permitting and thereafter 
continues to maintain suitability, as provided in the Act. 

7. All applicants and video draw poker employees 
shall attend all hearings, meetings, seminars, and training 
sessions required by the division. The division shall not be 

responsible for any cost incurred by the applicants and/or 
video draw poker employees. 

8. Permittees employed as a designated representative 
shall have the ability to locate all records and documents of 
the licensed establishment and possess the knowledge of all 
day to day operations of the licensed establishment. 

9. All video draw poker employees shall have 
knowledge of these rules and the provisions of the Act. 

C. - D.4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15 and 24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Gaming 
Enforcement Section, Video Gaming Division, LR 18:196 
(February 1992), amended LR 21:582 (June 1995), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control 
Board, LR 25:85 (January 1999), LR 27:205 (February 2001), LR 
30:267 (February 2004). 
§2409. Revenues 

A. - A.4. … 
B. Device Operation Fees 

1. … 
2. The division shall prorate the device operation fee 

that is required for each enabled video gaming device on a 
quarterly basis in accordance with the following schedule of 
dates of enrollment. For devices enrolled: 

a. July 1 through September 30, the whole 
operation fee is due; 

b. October 1 through December 31, three quarters 
of the operation fee is due; 

c. January 1 through March 31, one half of the 
operation fee is due; 

d. … 
3. The annual device operation fee may be paid in 

quarterly installments as prescribed by the Act. 
4. - 6.d. … 

C. Franchise Payments 
1. … 
2. All device owners shall establish and maintain a 

single bank account exclusively for the electronic funds 
transfer (sweep) of franchise payments to the designated 
bank of the state treasurer.  

a. - c. Repealed. 
d. The payments shall be transferred electronically 

into the designated bank of the state treasurer semi-monthly 
or as otherwise prescribed by the division. Licensees shall 
authorize the division to initiate these transfers. 

e. The funds shall be electronically transferred 
(swept) no later than the tenth day after the fifteenth and last 
day of every month. Any account found with insufficient 
funds shall constitute a violation of this Section. 

f. Electronic funds transfers shall be calculated 
based upon device polling from the first through the 
fifteenth, and the sixteenth through the last day of every 
month. 

g. Any delinquent monies not forwarded to the bank 
designated by the state treasurer by electronic funds transfers 
at the time of the transfer shall be subject to an interest 
penalty of 0.000575 per day (21 percent per annum). The 
interest penalty shall be in addition to any other penalties 
imposed by the division. 

3. A device owner who has a nonsufficient fund return 
within the past three years shall be required to maintain a 
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minimum balance at all times in the video gaming sweep 
account, or the account shall at all times be secured by a line 
of credit or bond issued by a bank or security company 
acceptable to the state treasurer. For purposes of this rule the 
term "bond" shall include cash, cash equivalent instruments 
or such other instruments as the division determines provide 
immediate liquidity. 

a.  The minimum balance and the security shall be 
equivalent to at least 15 percent of the previous month's net 
device revenues of all video gaming devices of the device 
owner. 

b. No withdrawals at any time from the device 
owner's video gaming account, including electronic funds 
transfers, shall cause the account balance to be less than the 
minimum balance require ment prescribed above. 

4. All licensed device owners shall be liable for that 
portion of net device revenues from such times as the funds 
are received into the device until said funds are deposited 
into the designated bank of the state treasurer.  

D. Supplemental Purses for Horsemen 
1. Repealed. 
2. Forms provided by the division shall be used to 

record amounts earned for purse supplements and shall be 
filed with the division, the Horsemen's Benevolent and 
Protective Association, and the Louisiana State Racing 
Commission by the twentieth day of every month. 

2.a. - 3.b. Repealed. 
4. The division may at all times oversee any and all 

operations pertaining to video gaming and may review 
and/or audit any account or fund used for receipt and/or 
disbursement of any of the aforementioned income. 

E. - E.2.h. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

33:4862.1 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Gaming 
Enforcement Section, Video Gaming Division, LR 18:196 
(February 1992), amended LR 21:582 (June 1995), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control 
Board, LR 30:268 (February 2003). 
§2411. Regulatory, Communication, and Reporting 

Responsibilities 
A. General Provisions 

1. - 11. … 
12. All licensed manufacturers and distributors shall 

maintain a current record of devices received, devices sold, 
and devices in inventory, and if requested, must provide this 
information to the division. 

13. … 
14. All licensed manufacturers and distributors shall 

provide the division with a current list of authorized service 
entities and other personnel that they have certified. The list, 
which shall be updated and provided quarterly in a format 
specified by the division, shall include, but not be limited to, 
the following information: 

A.14.a. - C.5. … 
D. Licensed Device Owners 

1. - 3. … 
4. Repealed. 
5. Except as otherwise provided in this Section, all 

licensed device owners shall only purchase or lease video 
gaming devices from, or sell or lease video gaming devices 
to, licensed distributors, or other licensed device owners. 

6. Repealed. 
7. - 9. … 

E. Licensed Establishments 
1. - 2.c. … 
3. All licensed establishments that are qualified truck 

stop facilities shall provide to the division all necessary 
diesel and gasoline fuel sales data consisting of beginning 
and ending pump meter readings and summaries of all diesel 
and gasoline fuel sales, in gallons. Such information shall be 
given to the division on a monthly basis, on a form supplied 
by the division. 

4. … 
5. The division shall evaluate each monthly report to 

establish the average monthly fuel sales for the quarter in 
question. This shall determine the number of electronic 
video draw poker devices that can be legally operated at the 
truck stop facility during the next quarterly period. The 
division shall disable or enable devices in accordance with 
the Act. 

6. Repealed. 
E.7. - F.4. … 
G. Required Forms  

1. - 2. … 
3. If applicable, all licensees shall provide the division 

with all required device-related reports, to include, but not 
be limited to, the following: 

a. … 
b. GAMING DEVICE OWNERSHIP TRANSFER 

NOTIFICATION, which shall be submitted for any change of 
ownership of any device within five business days of the 
change of ownership; 

G.3.c. - H.4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

33:4862.1 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Gaming 
Enforcement Section, Video Gaming Division, LR 18:196 
(February 1992), amended LR 21:582 (June 1995), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control 
Board, LR 30:269 (February 2004). 
§2413. Devices 

A. Device Specifications 
1. All devices shall include all of the specifications 

and features as provided in R.S. 27:302. In addition, all 
devices shall include the following specifications and 
features: 

a. - c. … 
d. accept only United States coins and/or currency. 
e. - h. … 
i. permanent serial numbers not to exceed nine 

alpha and/or numeric characters. The serial number plate 
shall be located in the upper (front) right side panel of the 
device, unless otherwise approved by the division, and shall 
contain the following information: 

A.1.i.i. - 4. … 
5. Devices shipped to and transported through 

Louisiana shall at all times remain in the demonstration 
mode. In addition, no device operating in demonstration 
mode shall accept coin or currency. 

A.6. - C.2. … 
D. Enrollment Procedures 

1. - 2. … 
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3. Validation decals shall be issued by the division for 
devices and shall be promptly affixed by a division 
representative to an enrolled device. The validation decal 
shall be affixed to the upper (front) right side of the device, 
or as otherwise approved by the division. 

E. - G.3. … 
H. Devices Permanently Removed from Service 

1. - 3. … 
4. For purposes of this Section, devices permanently 

removed from service shall mean devices: 
a. that are sold back or otherwise returned, and 

shipped to the distributor or manufacturer; 
b. that are damaged beyond repair due to theft, 

vandalism, or natural disasters; or 
c. that are completely dismantled for parts or 

destroyed and properly discarded as waste. 
H.5. - J.2. … 
K. Warehouses  

1. Devices stored in a warehouse shall be stored in a 
manner which easily displays the device serial number plate 
and/or the state issued permit sticker. 

2. Device owners who wish to share warehouse space 
must execute a written lease agreement outlining the 
conditions and method of the space sharing. A copy of the 
lease agreement, along with a diagram indicating the method 
of device separation, must be sent to the division within five 
calendar days from the date of execution. 

a. The shared warehouse must be partitioned in 
such a manner as to visually distinguish each device owner's 
video gaming devices. 

b. Device owners shall not commingle their video 
gaming devices. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
33:4862.1 et seq. and R.S. 27:1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Gaming 
Enforcement Section, Video Gaming Division, LR 18:196 
(February 1992), amended LR 21:582 (June 1995), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control 
Board, LR 23:1322 (October 1997), LR 25:85 (January 1999), LR 
30:269 (February 2004). 
§2417. Code of Conduct of Licensees and Permittees 

A. - A.3. … 
B. Unsuitable Conduct 

1. - 3. … 
4. Any person required to be found suitable or 

approved in connection with the granting of any license or 
permit shall have a continuing duty to notify the division of 
his/her/its arrest, summons, citation or charge for any 
criminal offense or violation including D.W.I.; however, 
minor traffic violations need not be included. All licenses 
and permittees shall have a continuing duty to notify the 
division of any fact, event, occurrence, matter or action that 
may affect the conduct of gaming or the business and 
financial arrangements incidental thereto or the ability to 
conduct the activities for which the licensee or permittee is 
licensed or permitted. Such notification shall be made within 
ten calendar days of the arrest, summons, citation, charge, 
fact, event, occurrence, matter or action. 

5. … 
C. Additional Causes for Disciplinary Action 

1. Further instances of conduct by a licensee or 
permittee where the division or board may sanction a 

licensee or permittee shall include but not be limited to 
when: 

a. - i. … 
j. unavailability of the licensees or permittees, their 

designated representatives, or any agents of the licensee. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

33:4862.1 et seq., R.S. 27:15 and 24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Gaming 
Enforcement Section, Video Gaming Division, LR 18:196 
(February 1992), amended LR 21:582 (June 1995), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control 
Board, LR 27:59 (January 2001), LR 30:270 (February 2004). 
§2419. Investigations 

A. - A.4. … 
B. Inspections 

1. - 1.d. … 
2. Inspection of Records 

a. - a.iii.(d). … 
b. The division may require a licensee to submit any 

and all video gaming records or documents that are 
necessary for the facilitation and/or completion of an 
investigation pertaining to a violation of these rules or the 
Act. 

3. - 3.c. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

33:4862.1 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Gaming 
Enforcement Section, Video Gaming Division, LR 18:196 
(February 1992), amended LR 21:582 (June 1995), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control 
Board, LR 30:270 (February 2004). 
§2421. Miscellaneous 

A. Required Meetings 
1. The division may summon a licensee or permittee 

to appear for a consultation, explanation, discussion, 
clarification, training session, or other meeting considered 
by the division to be of potential benefit, or otherwise aid in 
the effective regulation of the video gaming industry. 

A.2. - G.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

33:4862.1 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Gaming 
Enforcement Section, Video Gaming Division, LR 18:196 
(February 1992), amended LR 21:582 (June 1995), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control 
Board, LR 30:270 (February 2004). 

 
Hillary J. Crain 
Chairman 

0402#040 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of State Police 

Collection, Submission, Receipt, Identification,  
Storage and Disposal of DNA Samples  

(LAC 55:I.2703, 2705, 2725, and 2740-2747) 

Pursuant to R.S. 15:601 et seq., and in accordance with 
the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
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49:950 et seq., the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Public Safety Services, Office of State Police 
has amended LAC 55:I.Chapter 27. The following rules and 
regulations establish guidelines for the collection, 
submission, receipt, identification, storage and disposal of 
DNA samples for arrestees as defined in R.S. 15:601 et seq. 
and for peace officers as defined in R.S. 40:2405.4 et seq. 

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 
Part I.  State Police 

Chapter 27. Collection, Submission, Receipt, 
Identification, Storage and Disposal of 
DNA Samples 

Subchapter A. Convicted Offenders 
§2703. Collection, Submission, and Identification of 

DNA Samples for Convicted Offenders 
A. All DNA samples obtained for DNA Analysis from a 

convicted offender shall be collected using an approved 
Louisiana State Police Crime Laboratory DNA Database 
Collection kit as supplied by the department. 

1 - 5.i. ... 
j. In the event a convicted offender resists the 

taking of the DNA sample and the collector must use 
reasonable force in accordance with R.S. 15:601-620, the 
collector may collect any type of biological sample approved 
by the Louisiana State Police Crime Laboratory. The 
following types of biological sample collections are hereby 
approved for these instances: 
 i. blood stain from finger prick on FTA card; 
 ii. buccal swab; 
 iii. phlebotomy draw. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:611. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 27:206 
(February 2001), repromulgated LR 27:1702 (October 2001), 
amended LR 30:271 (February 2004). 
§2705. Record Keeping of DNA Samples for Convicted 

Offenders 
A. The individual who collects each DNA sample shall 

provide an accurate, up-to-date list of every DNA sample 
collected each day of collection. Any failed attempts to 
collect blood from an offender and the reason for the failure 
(e.g. refusal of offender to submit, failure to keep scheduled 
appointment) shall also be indicated. The list will include the 
following information: the kit number, the offender's name, 
the name of the person collecting the sample and the 
submitting agency together with any additional data which 
the director deems necessary. This information shall be 
forwarded on an audit form provided by the department to 
the CODIS DNA Unit on a daily basis, via U.S. mail. If the 
mailing envelopes are hand delivered to the crime 
laboratory, the audit form shall accompany the mailing 
envelopes being delivered. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:611. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 27:207 
(February 2001), repromulgated LR 27:1703 (October 2001), 
amended LR 30:271 (February 2004). 

Subchapter B. Arrestees 
§2725. Record Keeping of DNA Samples for Arrestees 

A. The individual who collects each DNA samp le shall 
provide an accurate, up-to-date list of every DNA sample 
collected each day of collection. Any failed attempts to 
collect a sample from an arrestee and the reason for the 
failure (e.g. refusal of arrestee to submit) shall also be 
indicated. The list will include the following information: 
the kit number, the arrestee's name, the name of the person 
collecting the sample and the submitting agency together 
with any additional data which the director deems necessary. 
This information shall be forwarded on an audit form 
provided by the department to the CODIS DNA Unit on a 
daily basis, via U.S. mail. If the mailing envelopes are hand 
delivered to the crime laboratory, the audit form shall 
accompany the mailing envelopes being delivered. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:611. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety, Office of State Police, LR 28:2370 (November 
2002), amended LR 30:271 (February 2004). 
Subchapter C. Peace Officers 
§2740. Scope, Purpose and Application 

A. Scope, Purpose, and Application. To provide rules and 
regulations governing the collection, submission, receipt, 
identification, storage and/or disposal of DNA samples for 
peace officers pursuant to R.S. 40:2405.4. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2405.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety, Office of State Police, LR 30:271 (February 2004). 
§2741. Definitions 

Biological Sample? biological evidence of any nature that 
is utilized to conduct DNA analysis. 

Crime Laboratory? Louisiana State Police Crime 
Laboratory of the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Public Safety Services. 

Department? Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Public Safety Services. 

Director? the Director of the Louisiana State Police Crime 
Laboratory. 

DNA? deoxyribonucleic acid. 
DNA Analysis? DNA typing tests that generate numerical 

identification information and are obtained from a DNA 
sample. 

DPS and C? Department of Public Safety and Corrections. 
Peace Officer? same meaning as R.S. 40:2402. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2405.4. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety, Office of State Police, LR 30:271 (February 2004). 
§2742. Collection of DNA Samples for Peace Officers 

A. All biological samples obtained for DNA Analysis 
from a peace officer shall be buccal swabs and shall be 
collected using sterile cotton tip swabs as provided by the 
agency employing the peace officer who is required to have 
his biological sample collected pursuant to R.S. 40:2405.4. 

1. The agency employing the peace officer shall 
provide all materials necessary to collect a biological sample 
from any peace officer required to provide a sample pursuant 
to R.S. 40:2405.4.  
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2. The supplies necessary to collect a buccal swab 
shall include the following: 

a. one pack of two sterile cotton tip swabs; 
b. one pair of gloves; 
c. one paper type envelope to store the samples 

once collected; 
d. evidence tape for sealing the paper envelope. 

3. In order to collect the biological sample, the 
collector shall adhere to the following procedures. 

a. Have the subject open his or her mouth. If there 
is foreign matter in the mouth, such as tobacco or gum, have 
the subject rinse his or her mouth out with water. 

b. Remove one sterile cotton swab and collect the 
specimen by rubbing the swab vigorously on the inside 
surfaces of the cheeks and gums thoroughly. While slowly 
turning the swab (so that all sides of the swab are in contact 
with the side of the cheek) rub the swab up and down and 
back and forth in the mouth about 10 times.  

c. Allow the buccal swab to dry for at least 30 
minutes. 

d. After allowing the buccal swab to dry for at least 
thirty minutes. Place the buccal swab in the paper type 
envelope. Do not place the swab back into the original sterile 
swab packaging. 

e. Repeat Subparagraph b with the remaining swab. 
f. Place the second cotton tip swab immediately 

inside the paper type envelope with the first swab. 
g. Seal the paper type envelope. Place evidence seal 

over envelope seal. Write the date and collector's initials 
partially on the paper type envelope and partially on the 
evidence seal.  

4. The collector shall print the name of the peace 
officer, the date of collection and the name of the collector 
on the paper type envelope used to store the samples once 
collected. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2405.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety, Office of State Police, LR 30:271 (February 2004). 
§2743. Storage of Biological Sampl es  

A. All agencies employing any peace officer required to 
provide a biological sample pursuant to R.S. 40:2405.4 shall 
be responsible for storing said samples in a secure location. 
All agencies shall ensure that no unauthorized access to any 
biological sample taken from any peace officer is permitted. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2405.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety, Office of State Police, LR 30:272 (February 2004). 
§2745. Disposition of Biological Samples Following 

Termination Peace Officer Employment 
A. If the employment of a peace officer who is required 

to have a DNA sample collected pursuant to R.S. 40:2405.4 
terminates for any reason, the law enforcement agency that 
collected the sample may destroy the buccal swab or return 
it to the peace officer from whom the sample was collected. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2405.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety, Office of State Police, LR 30:272 (February 2004). 

§2747. Severability 
A. If any article, section, subsection, sentence, clause or 

phrase of LAC 55:I:2320 et seq. is for any reason 
determined to be unconstitutional, contrary to statute, in 
excess of authority, or otherwise inoperative, such 
determination shall not affect the validity of any other 
article, section, subsection, sentence, clause or phrase of 
LAC 55:I:2701 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2405.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety, Office of State Police, LR 30:272 (February 2004). 

 
Christopher A. Keaton 
Undersecretary 

0402#008 
 

RULE 

Department of Transportation and Development 
Office of Highways/Engineering 

Wireless Telecommunications Permit 
(LAC 70:II.Chapter 15) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
Department of Transportation and Development has 
amended Chapter 15 of Part II of Title 70 entitled ?DOTD 
Wireless Telecommunications Permit," in accordance with 
R.S. 48:381.2. 

Title 70 
TRANSPORTATION 

Part II.  Utilities 
Chapter 15. DOTD Wireless Telecommunications 

Permit 
§1509. Fees 

A. The following fees shall apply to wireless 
telecommunications installations placed within state 
highway rights-of-way. 

 
Type of Tower Annual Fee 

Self-Supporting Tower/Antenna $3,500 
Monopole/Antenna $2,000 
Attachments to Existing Utility/Light Poles $1,500 
Co-Location on DOTD Tower $3,500 
Video Cameras Supply feed to DOTD 

 
B. Repealed. 
C - E. … 
F. The department may waive fees for those permit 

applicants who erect facilities, attachments or cameras for 
the use of the department or other state agencies or political 
subdivisions to conduct departmental or state work. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
48:381.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Highways/Engineering, 
LR 25:98 (January, 1999), amended LR 30:272 (February 2004). 
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§1513. Co-Location 
A. ... 
B. Wireless facility operators, in certain instances, may 

be permitted to strengthen DOTD-owned towers, at the sole 
cost of the wireless facility operator, to provide additional 
structural capacity for multiple users. Alternatively, the 
tower structure may be replaced, rather than modified. 
Ownership of the new or modified tower and responsibility 
for maintaining the tower shall be negotiated prior to 
issuance of the permit, and shall be stated on the front of the 
permit. Applicant shall submit a structural analysis with the 
permit application. DOTD retains the right in perpetuity to 
have its antennae, pre-existing or added subsequent to permit 
issue, mounted on the new or modified tower. 

C. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

48:381.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Transportation and Development, Office of Highways/Engineering, 
LR 25:99 (January, 1999), amended LR 30:272 (February 2004). 

 
Kam K. Movassaghi, Ph.D., P.E. 
Secretary 

0402#043 
 

RULE 

Department of Treasury 
Teachers' Retirement System 

Earnable Compensation (LAC 58:III.201) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Trustees of Teachers' 
Retirement System of Louisiana has adopted policies 
governing the Earnable Compensation Accounts, LAC 
58:III.201 as follows. 

Title 58 
RETIREMENT 

Part III.  Teachers' Retirement System of Louisiana 
Chapter 2. Earnable Compensation Accounts 
§201. Earnable Compensation Accounts 

A. Earnable compensation shall not include 
compensation paid to an active member or to an inactive 
member of Teachers' Retirement System of Louisiana 
(TRSL) if the compensation is paid by a secondary employer 
and is reported to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) on a 
Form 1099, but only if both the following occur. 

1. The individual contract is for $1,000 or less, and a 
Form 1099 is issued. 

2. The cumulative amount of the Form 1099 payments 
issued by a single secondary employer to that member does 
not exceed $15,000 in a fiscal year. 

B. If an individual contract is for more than $1,000, then 
that entire payment is earnable compensation subject to 
TRSL employer and employee contributions. 

C. If the cumulative amount of the Form 1099 payments 
issued by a single secondary employer to that member 
exceeds $15,000 in a fiscal year, then all Form 1099 
payments in excess of $15,000 in that TRSL fiscal year are 
earnable compensation subject to TRSL employer and 
employee contributions. 

Note: A secondary employer is one who does not report W-2 
earnings on this member. 

D. Earnable compensation shall include any and all 
compensation paid to a retiree of this system by a TRSL-
covered employer regardless of IRS reporting. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:701(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Treasury, Board of Trustees of the Teachers' Retirement System of 
Louisiana, LR 30:273 (February 2004). 

 
Bonita B. Brown, CPA 
Director 

0402#086 
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