
Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 06   June 20, 2003 859 

Rules 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences 

Boll Weevil Eradication Commission 

Program Participation, Fee Payment and Penalties 
(LAC 7:XV.321) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry has amended the Boll Weevil 
Eradication Program. 

The Department of Agriculture and Forestry has amended 
these Rules and regulations for the purpose of establishing a 
deadline for cotton producers to request a waiver of the 
assessment on any acre of cotton planted for a crop year. 
These Rules are enabled by R.S. 3:1609, 1612 and 1613. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XV.  Plant Protection and Quarantine 
Chapter 3. Boll Weevil 
§321. Program Participation, Fee Payment and 

Penalties 
A. - B.2. … 

3. A waiver of the assessment on any acre planted in 
cotton for a crop year may be requested and obtained in 
accordance with the following procedure. 

a. A cotton producer may request a waiver of the 
assessment on any acre planted in cotton for a crop year if a 
written request for a waiver is received by the commission, 
through mail, fax or other form of actual delivery, on or 
before 4:30 p. m. on August 1 of the crop year for which the 
waiver is requested. A written request for a waiver will be 
deemed to be timely when the papers are mailed on or before 
the due date. Timeliness of the mailing shall be shown only 
by an official United States postmark or by official receipt or 
certificate from the United States Postal Service made at the 
time of mailing which indicates the date thereof. A fax shall 
be considered timely only upon proof of the commission's 
receipt of the transmission. 

b. The written request for a waiver must show the 
name of the cotton producer, the field number, the number of 
acres for which a waiver is requested, the date the acres were 
failed, the reasons the waiver is being requested and a 
certification that all living cotton plants and cotton stalks 
were destroyed prior to July 15 of the crop year and that the 
acreage will remain void of all living cotton plants through 
December 31 of the same crop year. 

c. Each cotton producer who has timely filed a 
request for a waiver with the commission shall be notified of 
the date, time and place the commission is scheduled to 
consider the request for a waiver at least 10 days prior to the 
commission meeting. 

d. The granting of a waiver is within the discretion 
of the commission. 

e. A cotton producer, whose timely request for a 
waiver is denied by the commission, shall be entitled to pay 

his assessment without imposition of a per acre penalty fee if 
he pays the assessment within 30 days after receiving written 
notification of the commission's decision.  

B.4. - I. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:1609, 1612 and 1613. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture & Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental 
Sciences, Boll Weevil Eradication Commission, LR 21:669 (July 
1995), amended LR 23:195 (February 1997), LR 24:2231 
(December 1998), LR 25:829 (May 1999), LR 29:859 (June 2003). 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0306#038 
 

 

RULE 

Economic Development 
Office of Business Development 

Business Resources Division 

Louisiana Small Business Linked Deposit Loan Program 
(LAC 19:VII.7303 and 7305) 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Business Development, Business Resources Division, 
pursuant to the authority of R.S. 51:2312 and in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
has amended §§7303 and 7305 of the Rules of the Louisiana 
Small Business Linked Deposit Loan Program. The purpose 
of the amended Rules is to provide for a floor interest rate to 
the state of 0.5 percent. Currently the program has no floor 
and in a low interest environment the state would not receive 
earnings on the deposits. 

Title 19 
CORPORATIONS AND BUSINESS 

Part VII.  Economic Development Corporation 
Subpart 7.  Louisiana Small Business Linked Deposit 

Loan Program 
Chapter 73. Procedures for Authorization and 

Administration 
§7303. General Provisions 

A. The Linked Deposit Program is funded to meet all 
current and anticipated application needs. The extreme 
changes in the interest rate environment in recent years have, 
on occasion, presented the Treasury with a dilemma. Interest 
earnings on Treasury deposits supporting the Linked Deposit 
Program have been so low that the rate buy down prescribed 
below would force the Treasury to accept zero or negative 
earnings on its money. To preclude such events, a floor of 
0.5 percent (0.005) is set as the lowest interest earnings 
accepted for Treasury funds on deposit under the Linked 
Deposit Program, as determined by the State Treasury. The 
buy down described, to the extent that it does not violate this 
floor, will be awarded on approval of an application. 
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B. Priority for application approval and funding shall be 
given as follows: 

1. an eligible Louisiana business located in a very 
high unemployment area which creates one or more jobs 
shall receive a maximum of a four percent interest rate buy 
down; 

2. an eligible Louisiana business located in a high 
employment area which creates three or more jobs shall 
receive a three percent interest rate buy down (less than 
three jobs shall receive two percent);  

3. an eligible Louisiana certified disadvantaged 
business, disabled owned business, or research recipient of a 
Small Business Innovative Research Grant, which creates 
one or more jobs shall receive a maximum of a three percent 
interest rate buy down; 

4. an eligible Louisiana business, in a low 
unemployment area that creates four or more jobs shall 
receive a maximum of a two percent interest rate buy down; 

5. an eligible Louisiana business in a low 
unemployment area creating one to four jobs shall receive a 
maximum of a one percent interest rate buy down. 

C. At no time shall the total amount of the dollars in the 
linked deposits in low unemployment areas exceed 33 
percent of the total available for linked deposits, unless 
otherwise specified by the treasurer.  

D. Applications which provide a "but for" statement 
shall be eligible for a five year term on the linked deposit. 
All other applications are eligible for two year terms only. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
25:412 (March 1999), amended by Department of Economic 
Development, Office of Business Development, Business 
Resources Division, LR 29:859 (June 2003). 
§7305. Linked Deposit Loan Program Authorization 

Lending Institution Requirements; Applicants 
Requirements and Conditions for Approval 

A. - K. ... 
L. Upon placement of a linked deposit with an eligible 

lending institution, the institution shall lend such funds to 
the approved eligible small business lis ted in the linked 
deposit loan package. Each loan shall be at a fixed or 
variable rate of interest for a period of one year, coinciding 
with the annual maturity of the linked Treasury funds, and 
shall be the allowed percentage below the current 
competitive borrowing rate applicable to each eligible small 
business. At each annual maturity, the lender shall adjust the 
loan rate for the next year to the then competitive rate for 
that business, considering the usual concerns for loan 
payment performance and overall risk. All records and 
documents pertaining to the linked deposit program shall be 
segregated by each lending institution for ease of 
identification and examination. A certification of compliance 
with this Section in the form and manner prescribed by the 
Treasurer shall be completed by the lending institution and 
filed with the treasurer and the corporation. 

M. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with LA 

R.S. 51:2312. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 

Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
25:412 (March 1999), amended by Department of Economic 

Development, Office of Business Development, Business 
Resources Division, LR 29:860 (June 2003). 

 
Don J. Hutchinson 
Secretary 

0306#035 
 

RULE 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of Business Development 

Economic Development Corporation 

Economic Development Award Program (EDAP) 
(LAC 13:III.Chapter 1) 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Business Development, Louisiana Economic Development 
Corporation, pursuant to the authority of R.S. 51:2341(B) 
and in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950, et seq., has amended §§101-117 of the 
following Rules of the Economic Development Award 
Program, and adopted §§119, 121, and 123. The purpose of 
the Rules is to establish guidelines for both the basic EDAP 
as well as the Opportunity Fund projects. The inclusion of 
Rules for the Opportunity Fund will allow the state to 
provide larger EDAP awards in an effort to be more 
competitive in trying to attract larger economic development 
projects. Securing such projects will create additional job 
opportunities and infrastructure for Louisiana citizens and 
businesses. In addition the amended Rules comply with 
changes to the organizational placement of the EDAP within 
the department and changes to the approval procedures 
provided by Acts 2001, No. 9. 

Title 13 
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Part III.  Financial Assistance Programs  
Chapter 1. Economic Development Award Program 

(EDAP) 
§ 101. Purpose 

A. The Economic Development Award Program and the 
Louisiana Opportunity Fund Program are vital to support the 
state's commitment to cluster based economic development 
and the state's long term goals as set forth in Louisiana: 
Vision 2020, which is the master plan for economic 
development for the state of Louisiana. 

B. The purpose of the program is to finance publicly -
owned infrastructure for industrial or business development 
projects that promote cluster economic development and that 
require state assistance for basic infrastructure development. 
Additionally, through the Louisiana Opportunity Fund, 
under circumstances hereinafter set forth, the governor, with 
the approval of the board of directors of Louisiana Economic 
Development Corporation, may take necessary steps to 
successfully secure projects in highly competitive bidding 
circumstances. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2341, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1638 
(December 1997), amended LR 25:237 (February 1999), LR 
26:236 (February 2000), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of Business Development, Louisiana 
Economic Development Corporation, LR 29:860 (June 2003). 
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§ 103. Definitions 
ApplicantsCthe company and the public entity, 

collectively, requesting financial assistance from DED under 
this program. 

AwardCfunding of financial assistance, appropriations, 
grants or loans approved under this program for eligible 
applicants. 

Award AgreementCthat agreement or contract hereinafter 
referred to between the company, the public entity, DED and 
LEDC through which, by cooperative endeavor or otherwise, 
the parties set forth the terms, conditions and performance 
objectives of the award provided pursuant to these Rules. 

AwardeeCan applicant receiving an award under this 
program. 

Basic Infrastructure ProjectCrefers to those infrastructure 
projects other than those for which the governor and the 
LEDC Board have made a determination that the Louisiana 
Opportunity Fund is applicable. 

CompanyCthe business enterprise for which the project is 
being undertaken. 

DEDCthe Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development. 

Infrastructure ProjectCrefers to the undertaking for which 
an award is granted hereunder for the new construction, 
improvement or expansion of roadways, parking facilities, 
equipment, bridges, railroad spurs, water works, sewerage, 
buildings, ports and waterways. 

LEDCCthe Louisiana Economic Development 
Corporation. 

Opportunity FundCthe Louisiana Opportunity Fund 
provides for infrastructure project financial assistance, 
appropriations, grants or loans in order to attract new in-state 
business investment or in-state expansion of existing 
businesses when, in the opinion of the governor of 
Louisiana, there exists a highly competitive project bidding 
situation where a company is in the final stages of site 
selection and considers Louisiana to be roughly equivalent 
in terms of factor advantages to one or more other states. 

ProgramCthe Economic Development Award Program, 
including Basic Infrastructure Projects and Opportunity 
Fund Projects that are undertaken by DED, LEDC, the 
public entity and the company pursuant to these Rules and 
the bylaws of LEDC.  

ProjectCan expansion, improvement and/or provision of 
infrastructure for a public entity that promotes economic 
development, for which DED and LEDC assistance is 
requested under this program as an incentive to influence a 
company's decision to locate in Louisiana, maintain or 
expand its Louisiana operations, or increase its capital 
investment in Louisiana.  

Public EntityCthe public or quasi-public entity 
responsible for engaging in the award agreement and 
pursuant thereto, for the performance and oversight of the 
project and for supervising with DED the company's 
compliance with the terms, conditions and performance 
objectives of the award agreement. 

SecretaryCthe Secretary of the Department of Economic 
Development, who is also the President of LEDC. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2341, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1638 
(December 1997), amended LR 25:237 (February 1999), LR 

26:236 (February 2000), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of Business Development, Louisiana 
Economic Development Corporation, LR 29:861 (June 2003). 
§105. General Principles 

A. The following general principles will direct the 
administration of the Economic Development Award 
Program. 

1. Awards are not to be construed as an entitlement for 
companies locating or located in Louisiana. 

2. An award must reasonably be expected to be a 
significant factor in a company's location, investment and/or 
expansion decisions. 

3. Awards must reasonably be demonstrated to result 
in the enhanced economic well-being of the state and local 
communities. 

4. The retention and strengthening of existing 
businesses will be evaluated using the same procedures and 
with the same priority as the recruitment of new businesses 
to the state. 

5. The anticipated economic benefits to the state will 
be considered in making the award. 

6. Appropriate cost matching among project 
beneficiaries is a factor in the consideration of the award. 

7. A two year moratorium will be required on 
additional EDAP awards to the same company at the same 
location. 

8. Award funds shall be utilized for the approved 
project only. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2341, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1639 
(December 1997), amended LR 25:238 (February 1999), LR 
26:237 (February 2000), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of Business Development, Louisiana 
Economic Development Corporation, LR 29:861 (June 2003). 
§107. Eligibility 

A. An eligible application for the award must meet the 
general principles set forth above and the criteria set forth 
below, and the ownership benefits or rights resulting from 
the infrastructure project must inure to the benefit of one of 
the following: 

1. a public or quasi-public state entity; or 
2. a political subdivision of the state. 

B. A company shall be considered ineligible for this 
program if it has pending or outstanding claims or liabilities 
relative to failure or inability to pay its obligations; including 
state or federal taxes, or bankruptcy proceeding, or if it has 
pending, at the federal, state, or local level, any proceeding 
concerning denial or revocation of a necessary license or 
permit, or if company has another contract with DED or 
LEDC in which the company is in default and/or is not in 
compliance. 

C. Businesses not eligible for awards under this program 
are: 

1. retail business operations; 
2. real estate developments; 
3. hospitality operations; 
4. gaming operations; 
5. this ineligibility provision shall not apply to 

wholesale, storage warehouse or distribution centers; catalog 
sales or mail-order centers; home-office headquarters or 
administrative office buildings; even though such facilities 
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are related to ineligible business enterprises, provided that 
retail sales, hospitality services and gaming activities are not 
provided directly and personally to individuals in any such 
facilities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2341, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1639 
(December 1997), amended LR 25:238 (February 1999), LR 
26:237 (February 2000), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of Business Development, Louisiana 
Economic Development Corporation, LR 29:861 (June 2003). 
§109. Criteria for Basic Infrastructure Projects 

A. In addition to the general principles set forth above, 
Basic Infrastructure Projects must meet the criteria 
hereinafter set forth for an award under the Program. 

1. Job Creation/Retention and Capital Investment 
a. Basic Infrastructure Projects must create or retain 

at least 10 permanent jobs in Louisiana. 
b. Consideration will be given for projects having a 

significant new private capital investment. 
c. The number of jobs to be retained and/or created 

as stated in the application for basic infrastructure projects 
will be strictly adhered to, and will be made an integral part 
of the award agreement. 

2. Preference will be given to projects for industries 
identified by DED or LEDC as cluster industries, and to 
projects located in areas of the state with high 
unemployment levels. 

3. Preference will be given to projects intended to 
expand, improve or provide basic infrastructure supporting 
mixed use by the company and the surrounding community. 

4. Companies must be in full compliance with all state 
and federal laws. 

5. No assistance may be provided for Louisiana 
companies relocating their operations to another labor 
market area (as defined by the US Census Bureau) within 
Louisiana, except when the company gives sufficient 
evidence that it is otherwise likely to relocate outside of 
Louisiana, or the company is significantly expanding and 
increasing its number of employees and its capital 
investment. 

6. The minimum award request size shall be $25,000. 
7. Consideration will be given for wages substantially 

above the prevailing regional wage. 
8. If a company does not begin construction of the 

project, or make substantial progress toward preparation of 
architectural and engineering plans and specifications and/or 
permit applications, within 365 calendar days after its 
application approval, the LEDC Board of Directors, at its 
discretion, may cancel funding for the project, or require 
reapplication.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2341, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1639 
(December 1997), amended LR 25:238 (February 1999), LR 
26:237 (February 2000), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of Business Development, Louisiana 
Economic Development Corporation, LR 29:862 (June 2003). 

§111. Criteria for Louisiana Opportunity Fund 
Projects 

A. The governor shall determine that a project meets the 
general principles set forth above, and that a company meets 
the following criteria, it is either: 

1. in the final stages of site selection and considers 
Louisiana to be equivalent in terms of factor advantages to 
one or more other states for locating here; or 

2. the governor determines that a company operating 
in Louisiana is in the final stages of deciding whether or not 
to expand, invest new capital and to retain or create jobs in 
Louisiana, or to do so in another state or states rather than in 
Louisiana. 

B. The governor shall provide notice to the chairman of 
the board of directors of LEDC and request that a special 
meeting of the board be called in accordance with the 
bylaws of LEDC, and a meeting of the LEDC Board of 
Directors shall be called to consider such financial benefits 
by way of financial assistance, appropriations, grants or 
loans as may facilitate and provide for necessary 
infrastructure improvements so as to induce a company to 
locate in Louisiana, or to expand and invest additional 
capital in Louisiana. 

C. The governor shall certify to LEDC and provide 
appropriate information and documentation through which 
the LEDC Board must determine: 

1. the project would, because of competition from 
other states and other pertinent factors, not happen in 
Louisiana in the absence of the infrastructure assistance 
being provided; 

2. the project does not require government funding in 
order to be successful, but stands on its own merits; 

3. the project provides an important interconnection 
between constituent companies of cluster-based economic 
development, and either provides or fulfills critical mass for 
targeted cluster-based development; 

4. the project will result in fulfilling one or more of 
the purposes for which the offices of DED are created as 
defined by R.S. 36:108; 

5. if the project is a new one for a company not 
currently located in Louisiana, or a new facility separate and 
apart from a company's existing facility in Louisiana;  

a. the project will be instrumental in the creation of 
a $15 million minimum new private capital investment by 
the company, with at least a 5 to 1 ratio of new private 
capital investment to the award under this Program;  

b. the project will result in the creation of a 
minimum of 100 new permanent jobs with salaries at least 
equal to the respective parish's average weekly wage for the 
respective industry, or where no industry average is 
available, at least equal to 10 percent above the parish's per 
capita average weekly wage, as determined by the Louisiana 
Department of Labor; and 

c. the company must offer health care insurance 
coverage for the employees; 

6. if the project is for an existing business operation in 
Louisiana, there is evidence: 

a. of either: 
 i. a written commitment from another state of the 
United States or foreign country setting forth the terms and
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conditions for relocation of the Louisiana operation outside 
of this state; or 
 ii. that the company will pursue a project for 
expansion of capital facilities and/or additional jobs, either 
in Louisiana or in a state other than Louisiana; and  

b. that the company will substantially modernize 
and/or increase its capital investment in Louisiana, creating 
or retaining at least 50 permanent jobs, with a minimum new 
private capital investment of $30 million in improvements 
and/or modernization of Louisiana facilities, with at least a 5 
to 1 ratio of new private capital investment to the award 
under this program. 

D. If a company does not begin construction of the 
project, or make substantial progress toward preparation of 
architectural and engineering plans and specifications and/or 
permit applications, within 180 calendar days after its 
application approval, the LEDC Board of Directors, at its 
discretion, may cancel funding for the project, or require 
reapplication. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2341, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1639 
(December 1997), amended LR 25:238 (February 1999), LR 
26:237 (February 2000), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of Business Development, Louisiana 
Economic Development Corporation, LR 29:862 (June 2003). 
§113. Application Procedure for Basic Infrastructure 

Projects 
A. The applicants must submit an application to DED or 

LEDC on a form provided by DED or LEDC which shall 
contain, but not be limited to, the following: 

1. a business plan that contains an overview of the 
company, its history, and the business climate in which it 
operates, including financial statements and business 
projections; 

2. a description of the project along with the factors 
creating the need, including construction, operation and 
maintenance plans, and a timetable for the project's 
completion; 

3. evidence of the number, types and compensation 
levels of jobs to be created or retained by the project, and the 
amount of capital investment for the project; and 

4. any additional information that DED or LEDC may 
require. 

B. The applicants and their applications must meet the 
general principles of §105, the eligibility requirements under 
§107, and meet the criteria set forth in §109 above, in order 
to qualify for an award under this Program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2341, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1639 
(December 1997), amended LR 25:238 (February 1999), LR 
26:237 (February 2000), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of Business Development, Louisiana 
Economic Development Corporation, LR 29:863 (June 2003). 
§115. Application Procedure for Louisiana 

Opportunity Fund Projects 
A. The applicants must submit an application to the 

governor on a form provided by DED or LEDC which shall 
contain, but not be limited to, the following: 

1. a business plan that contains an overview of the 
company, its history, and the business climate in which it 

operates, including financial statements and business 
projections; 

2. a description of the project along with the factors 
creating the need, including construction, operation and 
maintenance plans, and a timetable for the project's 
completion; 

3. evidence of the number, types and compensation 
levels of jobs to be created or retained by the project, and the 
amount of capital investment for the project; and 

4. any additional information that may be required by 
DED or LEDC. 

B. In order for the application to be considered by the 
LEDC Board of Directors, the governor must submit it to the 
board along with his certifications, as required by §111 
above. 

C. When, in the opinion of the governor,  use of the 
Louisiana Opportunity Fund is warranted under 
circumstances of highly competitive bidding for a new 
business or an existing business that meets the general 
principles of §105, the eligibility requirements under §107, 
and meets the criteria set forth in §111 above, the governor 
may request the chairman of the Board of LEDC to call a 
special meeting of the Board of Directors of LEDC pursuant 
to the Bylaws of LEDC; and thereafter, a meeting of the 
Board of Directors of LEDC shall be called in order for the 
Board to consider the use of funds from the Louisiana 
Opportunity Fund as may be recommended by the governor. 
The LEDC Board may take such action as may be necessary 
promptly and expeditiously because of and consistent with 
the competition presented by other states, and shall approve 
or reject the application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2341, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1640 
(December 1997), amended LR 25:239 (February 1999), LR 
26:238 (February 2000), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of Business Development, Louisiana 
Economic Development Corporation, LR 29:863 (June 2003). 
§117. Submission and Review Procedure for Basic 

Infrastructure Projects 
A. Applicants must submit their completed application to 

DED or to LEDC. Submitted applications will be reviewed 
and evaluated by DED or LEDC staff. Input may be required 
from the applicant, other divisions of the Department of 
Economic Development, LEDC, and other state agencies as 
needed in order to: 

1. evaluate the strategic importance of the project to 
the economic well-being of the state and local communities; 

2. validate the information presented; 
3. determine the overall feasibility of the company's 

plan. 
B. An economic cost-benefit analysis of the project, 

including an analysis of the direct and indirect net economic 
impact and fiscal benefits to the state and local communities, 
including an evaluation based on the Regional Input/Output 
Model System II (RIMS), or its successor, will be prepared 
by DED or LEDC. 

C. Upon determination that an application meets the 
general principles of §105, the eligibility requirements under 
§107, and meets the criteria set forth for this program under 
§109, DED staff will then make a recommendation to the 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 06   June 20, 2003 864 

LEDC Board of Directors. The application will then be 
reviewed and approved or rejected by the LEDC Board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2341, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 25:405 
(March 1999), amended LR 26:239 (February 2000), amended by 
the Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 
Development, Louisiana Economic Development Corporation, LR 
29:863 (June 2003). 
§119. Submission and Review Procedure for Louisiana 

Opportunity Fund Projects 
A. DED shall provide staff for prompt and timely review 

of submissions by the governor of projects to be funded by 
the Louisiana Opportunity Fund. Input may be required from 
the company, the public entity, other divisions of DED, 
LEDC, and other state agencies or political subdivisions of 
the state as needed in order to: 

1. evaluate the strategic importance to the state of the 
project and its importance to the economic well being of the 
state and its local communities; 

2. validate the information presented, and determine 
whether or not the project meets the general principles of 
§105, the eligibility requirements of §107, and falls within 
the criteria for use of the Opportunity Fund as provided in 
§111 above; 

3. determine the feasibility of the company's plan in 
the context of the criteria for use of the Opportunity Fund as 
provided in §111 above; 

4. prepare a preliminary economic cost-benefit 
analysis of the project, including a preliminary analysis of 
the direct and indirect net economic impact and fiscal 
benefits to the state and local communities, including an 
evaluation based on the Regional Input/Output Model 
System II (RIMS), or its successor; 

5. make recommendations based upon the foregoing 
to the Board of Directors of LEDC, and the LEDC Board 
shall review and approve or reject the application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2341, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Louisiana Economic Development Corporation, LR 29:864 (June 
2003). 
§121. General Award Provisions 

A. Except where indicated, these provisions shall be 
applicable to Basic Infrastructure Awards and to Louisiana 
Opportunity Fund awards. Agreement resulting from the 
expedited procedures for the Louisiana Opportunity Fund 
award shall demonstrate the intent of the company, the 
public entity, DED, and LEDC to enter into the following. 

1. Award Agreement. A contract or Cooperative 
Endeavor Agreement will be executed between DED, acting 
through the LEDC, the public entity and the company. The 
agreement will specify the performance objectives expected 
of the company(ies) and the public entity and the compliance 
requirements to be enforced in exchange for state assistance, 
including, but not limited to, time lines for investment and 
job creation. Under the agreement, the public entity will 
oversee the progress of the project. DED or LEDC will 
disburse funds to the public entity in a manner determined 
by DED or LEDC. 

2. Funding 
a. Eligible project costs may include, but not be 

limited to, the following: 
 i. engineering and architectural expenses; 
 ii. site acquisition; 
 iii. site preparation; 
 iv. construction expenses; 
 v. building materials; 
 vi. capital equipment having an Internal Revenue 
Service (IRS) depreciable life of at least seven years. If any 
such eligible equipment is not to be located on public 
property, the owner, lessor and lessee of such private 
property shall each execute a written lien waiver or release 
allowing representatives of the public entity to enter upon 
such private property and remove therefrom any or all of 
such equipment at any time the public entity shall determine 
such to be in its ownership interest to do so.  

b. Project costs ineligible for award funds include, 
but are not limited to: 
 i. recurrent expenses associated with the project 
(e.g., operation and maintenance costs);  
 ii. company moving expenses; 
 iii. expenses already approved for funding through 
the General Appropriations Bill, or for cash approved 
through the Capital Outlay Bill, or approved for funding 
through the state's capital outlay process for which the 
Division of Administration and the Bond Commission have 
already approved a line of credit and the sale of bonds; 
 iv. improvements to privately-owned property, 
unless provisions are included in the project for the transfer 
of ownership to a public or quasi-public entity; 
 v. refinancing of existing debt, public or private; 
 vi. furniture, fixtures, computers, consumables, 
transportation equipment, rolling stock or equipment having 
an IRS depreciable life of less than seven years. 

B. Amount of Award. Following the appropriation of 
funds for each fiscal year, the Board of Directors of LEDC 
shall allocate the amount of such funds available for Basic 
Infrastructure Awards and for Louisiana Opportunity Fund 
Awards. 

1. For Basic Infrastructure Awards 
a. The portion of the total project costs financed by 

the award may not exceed: 
 i. 90 percent for projects located in parishes with 
per capita personal income below the median for all 
parishes; or 
 ii. 75 percent for projects in parishes with 
unemployment rates above the statewide average; or 
 iii. 50 percent for all other projects. 

b. Other state funds cannot be used as the match for 
EDAP funds. 

c. All monitoring will be done by DED or LEDC. 
Expenditures for monitoring or fiscal agents may be 
deducted from awards. 

d. The award amount shall not exceed 25 percent of 
the total funds allocated to the Basic Infrastructure Awards 
Program during a fiscal year, unless the project creates in 
excess of 200 jobs, or creates an annual payroll in excess of 
$3.1 million. 

e. The LEDC Board of Directors, in its discretion, 
may limit the amount of awards to effect the best allocation 
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of resources based upon the number of projects requiring 
funding and the availability of program funds. 

2. For Louisiana Opportunity Fund Awards. Resources 
shall be allocated in accordance with the recommendations 
of the Governor and as approved by the Board of Directors 
of LEDC and shall effect the best allocation of resources, 
based upon the number of projects anticipated to require 
similar funding and the availability of program funds. 

C. Conditions for Disbursement of Funds 
1. Award funds will be available to the public entity 

on a reimbursement basis following submission of required 
documentation to DED or LEDC from the public entity. 

2. Program Funding Source 
a. If the program is funded through the state's 

general appropriations bill, only funds spent on the project 
after the approval of the LEDC Board of Directors will be 
considered eligible for reimbursement. 

b. If the program is funded through a capital outlay 
bill, eligible expenses cannot be incurred until a cooperative 
endeavor agreement (contract) has been agreed upon, signed 
and executed. 

3. Award funds will not be available for disbursement 
until: 

a. DED or LEDC receives signed commitments by 
the project's other financing sources (public and private); 

b. DED or LEDC receives signed confirmation that 
all technical studies or other analyses (e.g., environmental or 
engineering studies), and licenses or permits needed prior to 
the start of the project have been completed or obtained; 

c. all other closing conditions specified in the award 
agreement have been satisfied. 

4. Awardees will be eligible for reimbursement at 85 
percent until all or substantially all of the tasks or work 
required by the award agreement have been performed or 
completed. After the awardee has performed or completed or 
substantially performed or substantially completed the tasks 
or work required by the award agreement, the final 15 
percent of the award amount will be paid after DED or 
LEDC staff or its designee inspects the project to assure that 
all or substantially all of the tasks or work required by the 
award agreement have been performed or completed. Such 
tasks or work shall be considered substantially performed or 
substantially completed when DED or LEDC has determined 
that the benefits to the state anticipated or expected as a 
result of the project, tasks or work performed have been 
achieved, even though 100 percent of all stated objectives of 
the award agreement may not have been fully achieved. 

E. Compliance Require ments 
1. Companies and public entities shall be required to 

submit progress reports, describing the progress towards the 
performance objectives specified in the award agreement. 
Progress reports by public entity shall include a review and 
certification of company's hiring records and the extent of 
company's compliance with contract employment 
commitments. Further, public entity shall oversee the timely 
submission of reporting requirements of the company to 
DED. 

2. In the event a company or public entity fails to 
meet its performance objectives specified in its agreement 
with DED and LEDC, DED and LEDC shall retain the rights 
to withhold award funds, modify the terms and conditions of 
the award, and to reclaim disbursed funds from the company 

and/or public entity in an amount commensurate with the 
scope of the unmet performance objectives and the foregone 
benefits to the state. Reclamation shall not begin unless 
DED or LEDC has determined, after an analysis of the 
benefits of the project to the state and the unmet 
performance objectives, that the state has not satisfactorily 
or adequately recouped its costs through the benefits 
provided by the project. 

3. In the event a company or public entity knowingly 
files a false statement in its application or in a progress 
report or other filing, the company or public entity and/or 
their representatives may be guilty of the offense of filing 
false public records, and may be subject to the penalty 
provided for in R.S. 14:133. 

4. DED and LEDC shall retain the right to require 
and/or conduct financial and performance audits of a project, 
including all relevant records and documents of the company 
and the public entity. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2341, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Dep artment of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Louisiana Economic Development Corporation, LR 29:864 (June 
2003). 
§123. Conflicts of Interest 

A. No member of Louisiana Economic Development 
Corporation, employee thereof, or employee of the 
Louisiana Department of Economic Development, nor 
members of their immediate families, shall either directly or 
indirectly be a party to or be in any manner interested in any 
contract or agreement with either the corporation or the 
department for any matter, cause, or thing whatsoever by 
reason whereof any liability or indebtedness shall in any way 
be created against such corporation or department. If any 
contract or agreement shall be made in violation of the 
provisions of this Section, the same shall be null and void, 
and no action shall be maintained thereon against either the 
corporation or the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2341, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Louisiana Economic Development Corporation, LR 29:865 (June 
2003). 

Don J. Hutchinson 
Secretary 

0306#034 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook for School 
AdministratorsCLouisiana Principal/Assistant  

Principal Induction Program 
(LAC 28:I.901) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook 
for School Administrators, referenced in LAC 28:I.901.A, 
promulgated by the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education in LR 1:483 (November 1975).  
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The changes to Standard 1.016.10 will change the name of 
the Louisiana Principal/Assistant Principal Internship 
Program to the Louisiana Principal/Assistant Principal 
Induction Program. This will lessen the confusion between 
the state sponsored program mandated by SBESE and the 
required internship component for university programs in 
Educational Leadership. 

The changes will also include administrative assistants 
and acting principals/assistant principals in the program that 
will provide support and build capacity of these 
administrators to provide leadership in both instructional and 
administrative areas during their first year(s) in a school 
leadership role. 

With the development and implementation of a standards-
based induction program in 1999-2000 in which assistant 
principals and first-year principals participate in a parallel 
program, it is necessary to ensure continuity and a logical 
transition as the administrator moves along the career path 
from assistant principal to principal. As a result of these 
changes, the waiver which allowed principals to request an 
exemption from participation in year two of the program 

based on five years of administrative experience and 
participation in the Administrative Leadership Academy will 
no longer apply if their participation in the program was 
prior to 1998. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§901. School Approval Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 741 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A) (10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7 (5), (7), (11); R.S. 17:10, 11; 
R.S. 17:22 (2), (6). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education LR 1:483 (November 1975), 
amended by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, 
LR 28:269 (February 2002), LR 28:272 (February 2002), LR 
28:991 (May 2002), LR 28:1187 (June 2002), LR 29:866 (June 
2003). 

 
 

System Policies and Standards  School Policies and Standards  
1.016.10 All newly appointed principals and assistant principals with standard 
or provisional certification shall participate in the Princip al/Assistant Principal 
Induction Program. 
 
The program shall include the following: 

Individuals appointed to a principalship or an assistant principalship 
after October 1 shall be enrolled in the Principal Induction Program 
at the beginning of the following school year.  
 
Principal/Assistant Principal Induction requirements shall also apply 
to individuals serving in the following leadership capacities: 
  

• Administrative Assistant: fully certified and serving in a full-
time, full-year administrative capacity. 

• Acting Principal or Assistant Principal: fully certified and 
serving in a full-time, full-year administrative capacity.  

 
A newly appointed principal who successfully completed the Assistant 
Principal Induction Program in 1999-2000 shall complete only Year One 
requirements of the Principal Induction Program. 
 

A newly appointed principal who successfully completed the 
Assistant Principal Induction Program in 2000-2001 shall complete 
only Year Two requirements of the Principal Induction Program. 
  
A newly appointed principal who did not complete the Assistant 
Principal Induction Program or completed the program in 1998 or 
before shall complete the two-year requirements of the Principal 
Induction Program. 
 

Upon successful completion of two years of the Induction Program 
requirements, an individual may request to have provisional status removed 
from their certificate. 

2.016.10 All newly appointed principals and assistant principals with standard 
or provisional certification shall participate in the Principal/Assistant Principal 
Induction Program. 
 
The program shall include the following: 

Individuals appointed to a principalship or an assistant principalship 
after October 1 shall be enrolled in the Principal Induction Program 
at the beginning of the following school year.  
 
Principal/Assistant Principal Induction requirements shall also apply 
to individuals serving in the following leadership capacities: 
  

• Administrative Assistant: fully certified and serving in a full-
time, full-year administrative capacity. 

• Acting Principal or Assistant Principal: fully certified and 
serving in a full-time, full-year administrative capacity.  
 

A newly appointed principal who successfully completed the Assistant 
Principal Induction Program in 1999-2000 shall complete only Year One 
requirements of the Principal Induction Program. 
 

A newly appointed principal who successfully completed the 
Assistant Principal Induction Program in 2000-2001 shall complete 
only Year Two requirements of the Principal Induction Program. 
 
A newly appointed principal who did not complete the Assistant 
Principal Induction Program or completed the program in 1998 or 
before shall complete the two-year requirements of the Principal 
Induction Program. 
 

Upon successful completion of two years of the Induction Program 
requirements, an individual may request to have provisional status removed 
from their certificate. 

 
 

Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0306#016 
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RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 1706CRegulations for Implementation of the 
Children with Exceptionalities Act  

Students with Disabilities 
(LAC 28:XLIII.Chapters 1-10) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 1706CRegulations for 
Implementation of the Children with Exceptionalities Act, 
R.S. 17:1941 et seq., Subpart A, Regulations for Students 
with Disabilities (LAC 28:XLIII). 

The revisions to Bulletin 1706CThe Regulations for 
Implementation of the Children with Exceptionalities Act, 
R.S. 17:1941 et seq., Subpart A, Regulations for Students 
with Disabilities, formally changes the state regulations to be 
in compliance with the 1999 revisions to the federal 
regulations of IDEA, Part B and in the state statute at 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. They make the State Advisory Panel 
consistent with state and federal statutes; they change the 
language to be consistent with federal regulations regarding 
due process and state statute in converting to a one-tier due 
process hearing system. They clarify timelines regarding  
re-evaluations for toddlers turning three; they clarify what 
information must be reviewed at IEP meetings and what 
clarifies as nonacademic activities, they clarify serving 
students in their least restrictive environment; they clarify 
responsibilities when placing students for services in private 
schools; they clarify rights of parents and students; they 
provide guidance regarding fiscal responsibilities of 
noneducational agencies; they provide regulations for 
interagency coordination with other state agencies; they 
provide or clarify definitions; they remove all references to 
handbooks. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part XLIII.  Bulletin 1706CRegulations for 
Implementation of the Children with Exceptionalities  
Subpart A.  Regulations for Students with Disabilities 

Chapter 1. Responsibilities of the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education 

§105. Approval of IDEACPart B Application 
A. The state board will review and approve the state 

policies and procedures required by the IDEA application 
before their submission to the U.S. Department of 
Education. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:640 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:867 (June 2003). 
§130. State Advisory Panel (Panel) 

A. - C.2. … 
3. The panel shall advise the state board and the 

department in developing evaluations and reporting on data 
to the Secretary of Education. 

4. - 7. … 
8. Repealed. 

D. - D.6. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:640 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:867 (June 2003). 
§§131-199. Reserved. 
Chapter 2. Responsibilities of the Superintendent of 

Public Elementary and Secondary 
Education and of the Department of 
Education 

§201. General Responsibilities and Authorities 
A. The State Superintendent of Public Elementary and 

Secondary Education (the State Superintendent) and the 
State Department of Education (the department) shall 
administer those programs and policies necessary to 
implement R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

1. - 4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:641 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:867 (June 2003). 
§240. Impartial Hearing Officers 

A. The department and each LEA shall maintain a list of 
qualified and impartial hearing officers. The list shall 
include a statement of the qualifications of each of those 
persons. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:641 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:867 (June 2003). 
§§253-259. Reserved. 
§260. Full Educational Opportunity Goal 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:642 (April 2000), 
repealed LR 29:867 (June 2003). 
Chapter 3. Responsibilities and Activities of the 

Division of Special Populations 
§302. Monitoring, Complaint Management and 

Investigation 
A. … 
B. The Division shall monitor in accordance with 

established procedures all public and participating private 
schools and other education agencies for compliance with 
these and other applicable federal regulations, state statutes 
and standards. 

C. - E. 1. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:643 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:867 (June 2003). 
§369. Personnel Standards  

A. Personnel of state and local public and private 
educational agencies, including local agency providers, who 
deliver special education services (including instructional, 
appraisal, related, administrative, and support services) to 
children and youth with disabilities (3 through 21) shall meet 
appropriate entry level requirements that are based on the 
highest requirements in Louisiana applicable to the 
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profession or discipline in which the person is providing 
special education or related services. 

A.1. - F. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:644 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:867 (June 2003). 
Chapter 4. Responsibilities of Local Educational 

Agencies 
§401. Responsibilities of LEAs 

A. Each LEA shall identify and locate each student 
suspected of having a disability (regardless of the severity of 
the disability), birth through 21 years of age, residing within 
its jurisdiction. 

B. - E.4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:647 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:868 (June 2003). 
§405. Special Education and Early Intervention 

Services for Infants and Toddlers with 
Disabilities Less Than 3 Years of Age 

A. LEAs have the option of providing special education 
and early intervention services to infants and toddlers with 
disabilities who are from birth to 3 years of age.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:648 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:868 (June 2003). 
§410. Child Search (Child Find) Activities for Infants 

and Toddlers with DisabilitiesCBirth through 2 
Years of Age 

A. If, in the process of implementing these regulations, 
any LEA locates a child within these age ranges who is 
suspected of having a disability shall be referred to the Lead 
Agency's designated point of entry. 

B. For children 2.6 years of age or older, follow the 
procedures in §415. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:868 (June 2003). 
§411. Child Search (Child Find) Activities for Students 

3 through 21 Years of Age  
A. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:648 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:868 (June 2003). 
§413. Students in an Educational Program Operated 

by the LEA 
A. An LEA shall identify a student as suspected of 

having a disability by the School Building Level Committee 
(SBLC). This committee shall coordinate and document the 
results, as appropriate, of educational screening, sensory 
screening, health screening, speech and language screening, 
or motor screening, and the results of the intervention 
efforts. 

B. - C. … 

D. Within 10 business days after receipt of the referral by 
the pupil appraisal office for an individual evaluation, the 
evaluation coordinator shall complete required initial 
activities. 

E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:648 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:868 (June 2003). 
§415. Students Out of School and/or Former Special 

Education Students Residing in the State 
A. Students out of school, including students ages 3 

through 5 years who are suspected of having a disability and 
former special education students who have left a public 
school without completing their public education by 
obtaining a state diploma, shall be referred to the LEA's 
Child Search Coordinator, who shall locate and offer 
enrollment in the appropriate public school program and 
refer them for an individual evaluation, if needed. Students 
may be enrolled with the development of an interim IEP 
based on their individual need following the enrollment 
process in §416. If the Louisiana evaluation is current, 
students may be enrolled with the development of a review 
IEP within five school days. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:649 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:868 (June 2003). 
§416. Students with a Documented Severe or Low-

Incidence Impairment; Students Who May Be 
Transferring from out of State; or Infants and 
Toddlers with Disabilities 

A. Students who have a documented severe or low-
incidence impairment documented by a qualified 
professional shall be initially enrolled in a special education 
program concurrent with the conduct of the evaluation. This 
enrollment process, from the initial entry into the LEA to 
placement, shall occur within 10 school days and shall 
include the steps, as listed below. 

1. - 5. … 
B. Students who have been receiving special education 

services in another state may be initially enrolled in a special 
education program, on an interim IEP, concurrent with the 
conduct of the evaluation. The enrollment process shall be 
the same as in §416.A. 

1. … 
C. For toddlers transitioning from Part C programs to 

preschool special education programs, the LEA shall follow 
federally mandated time lines and procedures to ensure a 
smooth and effective transition between programs. The LEA 
is required to participate in transition planning conferences 
at least 90 days, and at the discretion of the parties, up to 6 
months prior to the age the student is eligible for preschool 
special education services. The purpose of this conference is 
to discuss services the student may receive after his or her 
third birthday. The LEA shall have the mu ltidisciplinary 
evaluation completed and the IEP developed for all eligible 
students for implementation by the student's third birthday to 
ensure the continuity of services. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:649 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:868 (June 20003). 
§417. Students with Disabilities Transferring from One 

LEA to Another LEA within Louisiana 
A. … 
B. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:649 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:869 (June 2003). 
§418. Evaluation and Re-Evaluation 

A. A full and individual evaluation shall be conducted 
for each student being considered for special education and 
related services under these regulations to determine whether 
the student is a "student with a disability" as defined in these 
regulations and to determine the educational needs of the 
student. The evaluation shall be conducted as mandated; and, 
if it is determined the student is a "student with a disability," 
the results of the evaluation shall be used by the student's 
IEP team. 

B. A re-evaluation of each student with a disability shall 
be conducted as mandated; and the results of any re-
evaluations shall be addressed by the student's IEP team in 
reviewing and, as appropriate, revising the student's IEP. 

C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:649 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:869 (June 2003). 
§431. Required Individual Evaluation 

A. - B.1. …. 
2. it is requested in writing by the student's parent(s)- 

(a request for a reevaluation may be presented orally if the 
parent is illiterate in English or has a disability that prevents 
the production of a written statement);  

B.3. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:650 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:869 (June 2003). 
§433. Evaluation Coordination 

A. … 
B. The evaluation coordinator shall ensure that the 

evaluation is conducted including the following: initial 
responsibilities following receipt of referral, selection of 
participating disciplines, procedural responsibilities, and 
mandated time lines. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:650 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:869 (June 2003). 
§434. Evaluation Process and Procedures 

A. Individual evaluations shall be conducted according 
to the procedures for evaluation for each disability. 

B. The determination of a disability shall be based upon 
the established criteria for eligibility before the initial 
delivery of special education and related services. 

C. - C.11. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:650 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:869 (June 2003). 
§436. Time Lines 

A. - B. … 
C. Extensions of evaluation time lines shall be justified 

by established criteria. 
D. The required triennial re-evaluation shall be 

completed on or before the third year anniversary date. 
E. The required evaluation for toddlers transitioning into 

preschool special education services shall be completed and 
the IEP developed, if eligible, by the student's third birthday. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:651 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:869 (June 2003). 
§437. Determination of Needed Evaluation Data 

A. In conducting re-evaluations under these regulations 
and as part of an initial evaluation, if appropriate, the 
evaluation team shall comply with prescribed procedures as 
described below. 

1. - 5. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:651 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:869 (June 2003). 
§438. Evaluating Students with Specific Learning 

Disabilities 
A. The procedures for evaluating a student suspected of 

having a specific learning disability including team 
members, criteria for eligibility, observation requirements, 
and the written report shall be conducted according to 
mandated procedures. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:652 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:869 (June 2003). 
§440. IEP/Placement Responsibilities 

A. … 
1. Each LEA shall be responsible for initiating and 

conducting meetings for the purpose of developing, 
reviewing, and revising the IEP of a student with a disability 
in accordance with all the requirements of this Subpart. 

A.2. - C.2. … 
3. Each LEA shall ensure the team revises the IEP, as 

appropriate, to address any lack of expected progress toward 
the annual goals and in the general curriculum, if 
appropriate, as well as concerns in any areas noted in §444.  

4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:652 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:869 (June 2003). 
§441 IEP Team Participants 

A. - A.7. … 
a. The LEA shall invite a student with a disability 

of any age to attend his or her IEP meeting if a purpose of 
the meeting will be the consideration of the student's 
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transition service needs under §444.M.1, the needed 
transition services for the student under §444.M2., or both. 

7.b. - 8. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:652 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:869 (June 2003). 
§444. IEP Content and Format 

A. - M.2. … 
3. If a participating agency, other than the LEA, fails 

to provide the transition services described in the IEP, the 
LEA shall reconvene the IEP team to identify alternative 
strategies to meet the transition objectives for the student set 
out in the IEP. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:654 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:870 (June 2003). 
§446. Least Restrictive Environment 

A. - A.8. … 
9. Nonacademic and extracurricular services and 

activities shall be provided in the manner necessary to afford 
students with disabilities an equal opportunity for 
participation in those services and activities including meals 
and recess periods and participates with nondisabled 
children in these services and activities to the maximum 
extent appropriate to the needs of that child; and may 
include counseling services, recreational activities, athletics, 
transportation, health services, special interest groups or 
clubs sponsored by the LEA, referrals to agencies that 
provide assistance to individuals with disabilities, and 
employment of students, including both employment by the 
LEA and assistance in making outside employment 
available. 

A.10. - C. … 
1. early childhood setting; 
2. early childhood special education setting; 
3. home; 
4. part-time early childhood/part-time early childhood 

special education setting; 
5. residential facility; 
6. separate school;  
7. itinerant service outside the home; or 
8. reverse mainstream setting.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:655 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:870 (June 2003). 
§447. Extended School Year Services 

A. … 
B. LEAs shall provide educational and related services 

beyond the normal school year to students with disabilities 
when these students are determined to be in need of or 
eligible for such services for the provision of a FAPE. 
Student eligibility, which may not limit ESYP services to 
particular categories of disabilities, shall be determined in 
accordance with extended school year program eligibility 
criteria requirements . 

C. The student's extended school year program is to be 
designed according to the ESY IEP team, in determining the 
duration, amount and type of extended school year services, 

shall not be bound or limited by any predetermined program 
or length. The extended school year services shall be 
determined by the IEP team on an individual basis for each 
student. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:656 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:870 (June 2003). 
§449. IEP Declassification Placement 

A. When a re-evaluation indicates that a student with a 
disability currently enrolled in special education no longer 
meets all the criteria for classification as a student with a 
disability, the LEA shall either: 

1. - 2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:657 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:870 (June 2003). 
§451. Requirements for Placed or Referred Students 

with Disabilities 
A. - F. … 
G. Notwithstanding any other provision of these 

regulations, when it is necessary to provide special education 
and related services in programs other than public schools, 
these placements must not occur until it has been determined 
that the student cannot be appropriately educated by another 
governmental agency of the state. After determination has 
been made that neither the public schools nor another 
governmental agency of the state can adequately provide 
special education and related services, then private programs 
within the state (the third alternative) must be considered. If 
these programs are still inadequate to meet the educational 
needs of the student, then out-of-state private programs may 
be approved. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:657 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:870 (June 2003). 
§460. Students with Disabilities in Private Schools 

Placed or Referred by LEAs 
A. … 
B. Before an LEA places a child with a disability in, or 

refers a child to, a private school or facility, the LEA shall 
initiate and conduct a meeting to develop an IEP for the 
child in accordance with §§440-460 of these regulations. 

C. The LEA shall ensure that a representative of the 
private school or facility attends the meeting. If the 
representative cannot attend, the LEA shall use other 
methods to ensure participation by the private school or 
facility, including individual or conference telephone calls.  

D. After a child with a disability enters a private school 
or facility, any meetings to review and revise the child's IEP 
may be initiated and conducted by the private school or 
facility at the discretion of the LEA. 

E. If the private school or facility initiates and conducts 
these meetings the LEA shall ensure that the parents and an 
agency representative: 

1. are involved in any decision about the child's IEP; 
and 

2. agree to any proposed changes in the IEP before 
those changes are implemented. 
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F. Even if a private school or facility implemented a 
child's IEP, responsibility for compliance with this Part 
remains with the LEA and the SEA. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:658 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:870 (June 2003). 
§462. Students with Disabilities Enrolled by Their 

Parents in Private Schools 
A. - D.2. … 

a. Each LEA shall consult with representatives of 
private school students in deciding how to conduct the 
annual child count of the number of private school students 
with disabilities and shall ensure that the count is conducted 
on December 1 of each year. 

D.2.b. - L.5. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:658 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:871 (June 2003). 
§491. Child Count 

A. … 
B. Each LEA/State agency shall determine the eligibility 

of each student for inclusion in the December 1 Child Count, 
which will generate funds under IDEA -B. It is the 
responsibility of the LEA/State agency to verify that each 
eligible student is receiving the special education and related 
services stated on the Individualized Education Program 
(IEP). 

C. - C.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:662 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:871 (June 2003). 
§494. Obligation of Noneducational Public Agencies 

A. - B. … 
C. If a public agency other than the educational agency 

fails to provide or pay for the special education and related 
services in Subsection A, the LEA or department shall 
provide or pay for these services to the student in a timely 
manner. The LEA or department may then claim 
reimbursement for the services from the noneducational 
public agency that failed to provide or pay for these services 
and that agency shall reimburse the LEA or department in 
accordance with the terms of the interagency agreement. 

D. Nothing in this part relieves the participating agency, 
including a state vocational rehabilitation agency, of the 
responsibility to provide or pay for transition services that 
the agency would otherwise provide to students with 
disabilities who meet the eligibility criteria of that agency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:663 (April 2000), 
amended LR:871 (June 2003). 
Chapter 5. Procedural Safeguards  
§503. Independent Educational Evaluation 

A. - C.3. … 
4. If a parent requests an IEE at public expense, the 

LEA must ensure that the evaluation is provided at public 
expense, unless the LEA demonstrates in a hearing under 

§507 of these regulations that the evaluations obtained by 
the parent did not meet agency criteria. 

D. An IEE obtained at public expense shall meet the 
same criteria established by these regulations. The LEA may 
not impose conditions on obtaining an IEE, other than the 
mandated criteria  

E. If the parents obtain an IEE at private expense and it 
meets the mandated criteria, the results of the evaluation 
shall be considered by the LEA in any decision made with 
respect to the provision of a free appropriate public 
education to the student; and they may be presented as 
evidence at a hearing as described in §507 of these 
regulations regarding the student. 

F. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:664 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:871 (June 2003). 
§504. Prior Notice and Procedural Safeguard Notice 

A. - B. … 
1. a description of the action proposed or refused by 

the LEA, an explanation of why the LEA proposes or refuses 
to take the action, and a description of any other options the 
LEA considered and reasons why those options were 
rejected; 

B.2. - F.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:664 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:871 (June 2003). 
§505. Parental Consent 

A. … 
B. Consent for initial evaluations may not be construed 

as consent for initial placement described in Subsection A. 
C. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:665 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:871 (June 2003). 
§506. Complaint Management and Mediation  

A. Complaint procedures are established to resolve 
disputes regarding educational decisions between an LEA 
and a parent. 

A.1. - B. … 
1. Mediation, which is voluntary on the part of both 

parties, shall be conducted by a qualified and impartial 
mediator trained in effective mediation techniques and 
assigned randomly by the department. 

2. - 8. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:665 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:871 (June 2003). 
§507. Impartial Due Process Hearing 

A. A parent or LEA may initiate a hearing on any of the 
matters described in §504 A.1 and 2. A parent of a child with 
a disability or the attorney representing the child, initiates a 
hearing by sending written notice to the department, which 
remains confidential. The LEA initiates a hearing by sending 
written notice to the parent and to the department. When a 
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hearing has been initiated, the department shall inform the 
parents of the availability of mediation. 

1. The written notice to the department for a due 
process hearing shall include the student's name and address, 
the name of the school the student is attending, a description 
of the nature of the problem, of the child relating to the 
proposed or refused initiation or change, including facts 
relating to the problem, and a proposed resolution of the 
problem to the extent known and available to the person 
requesting the hearing. The department must provide a 
model form to a parent to assist in filing a request for a due 
process hearing. 

2. … 
3. The department may not deny or delay a parent's 

right to a due process hearing for failure to provide the 
required notice described above. 

B. … 
1. The hearing shall be conducted at a time and place 

reasonably convenient to the parent and the student 
involved. 

2. Any party shall have the right to be accompanied 
and advised by counsel and by individuals with special 
knowledge or training with respect to the problems of 
students with disabilities. 

B.3. - C.2. … 
3. be informed, upon request, of any free or low-cost 

legal and other relevant services if the parent requests the 
information or when either the parent or the LEA initiates a 
due process hearing; and 

C.4. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:666 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:871 (June 2003). 
§508. Hearing Officer Appointment and Hearing 

Procedures 
A. - A.1.b. … 

c. No attorney who has represented an LEA or a 
parent in education litigation within three years may act as a 
hearing officer. 

2. The department and each LEA shall maintain the 
list of qualified hearing officers. The list shall include a 
statement of the qualifications of each of the hearing 
officers. The department shall ensure that these hearing 
officers have successfully completed an in-service training 
program approved by the department. Additional in-service 
training shall be provided whenever warranted by changes in 
applicable legal standards or educational practices. 

3. Appointments shall be for a period of one year. 
B. … 

1. The hearing officer shall be assigned within five 
business days by the department, on a rotational basis from 
the department's list of certified hearing officers.  

2. … 
3. If the parent or LEA has reasonable doubt regarding 

the impartiality of a hearing officer, written information shall 
be submitted to the department within three business days of 
receipt of the notice of the assigned hearing officer.  

4. The department shall review any written challenge 
and provide a written decision and notice to the parent and 
LEA within three business days after receipt of the written 
challenge. 

B.5. - C. 6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:667 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:872 (June 2003). 
§509. Appeal of the Hearing Decision 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:667 (April 2000), 
repealed LR 29:872 (June 2003). 
§510. The State Level Review Panel 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:668 (April 2000), 
repealed LR 29:872 (June 2003). 
§511. Appeal to the State Level Review Panel 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:668 (April 2000), 
repealed LR 29:872 (June 2003). 
§512. Appeal to State or Federal Court 

A. Any party aggrieved by the decision and the findings 
of the hearing officer has the right to bring a civil action in 
State or Federal court. The civil action shall be filed in State 
or Federal court of competent jurisdiction without regard to 
the amount of controversy within 90 days after notification 
of the decision or finding of the hearing officer is received 
by the aggrieved person, agency, or party. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:668 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:872 (June 2003). 
§514. Student Status during Proceedings 

A. Except as provided in §519.K of the regulations 
during the pendency of any adminis trative or judicial 
proceeding regarding due process, the student involved shall 
remain in the current educational placement unless the 
parent and the LEA agrees otherwise. 

B. … 
C. If the decision of a hearing officer agrees with the 

parent that a change of placement is appropriate, that 
placement shall be treated as an agreement between the state 
or the LEA and the parents for the purposes of Subsection A. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:668 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:872 (June 2003). 
§515. Costs 

A. LEAs shall be responsible for paying administrative 
costs or reasonable expenses related to participation of LEA 
personnel in a hearing. The cost and expenses of the hearing 
officer and stenographic services shall be paid by the 
department in accordance with its policies and procedures. 

B. - B.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:668 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:872 (June 2003). 
§517. Confidentiality of Information 

A. - B.5. … 
C. In ensuring access rights, each LEA shall permit 

parents to inspect and review any educational records 
relating to their child, which are collected, maintained or 
used by the LEA under these regulations. The LEA shall 
comply with the request without unnecessary delay and 
before any meeting regarding an individualized education 
program or any hearing pursuant to §507 and §519.D-M of 
these regulations; in no case shall the time exceed 45 days 
after the request has been made. The LEA shall not destroy 
any education records if there is an outstanding request to 
inspect and review the records. 

C.1. - M.1. … 
N. All rights of privacy accorded to parents shall be 

afforded to students with disabilities, taking into 
consideration the age of the child and type of severity of the 
disability. 

1. … 
2. Rights accorded to parents under Part B of the 

IDEA and these regulations are transferred to a student who 
reaches the age of majority, consistent with §518 of these 
regulations. 

O. State-mandated Compliance Monitoring includes the 
policies, procedures and sanctions the state shall use to 
ensure that the requirements of IDEACPart B and these 
regulations are met. 

P. - P.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:669 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:873 (June 2003). 
§518. Transfer of Parental Rights at the Age of 

Majority 
A. - A.3. … 
B. When a student with a disability reaches the age of 

majority and has not been interdicted or the subject of a 
tutorship proceeding, the student's parent may allege to the 
LEA that the student lacks the ability to provide informed 
consent with respect to his or her educational program. In 
the event that the parent makes such an allegation, the 
student has the right to dispute the parent's allegation, either 
orally or in writing, or by any other method of 
communication. 

1. Any protest or objection to the parent's allegation 
shall result in the student's educational rights being 
transferred fully to the student at the age of majority, 
unconditionally. If the student makes no such dispute or 
objection, the parent shall retain the student's educational 
rights. 

2. The student's position is final and unappealable; 
however, at any time the student may revoke his assent to his 
parents' retention of rights. Upon such revocation, the 
students' rights immediately vest with the student. 

3. LEAs are required to document in the child's IEP 
that the parents and the student have been informed of the 
rights herein and that they have accepted or declined these 
rights. If the student and/or parent is unable to sign the 
appropriate section of the IEP reflecting this information, the 

IEP team may complete that portion of the IEP on behalf of 
the student and/or parent, reflecting each party's position and 
acknowledging that the student and/or parent is unable to 
sign. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:670 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:873 (June 2003). 
§519. Discipline Procedures for Students with 

Disabilities 
A. - B.2. … 

a. the student carries or possesses a weapon at 
school or at a school function under the jurisdiction of the 
state or an LEA; or 

b. the student knowingly possesses or uses illegal 
drugs or sells or solicits the sale of a controlled substance 
while at school or a school function under the jurisdiction of 
the state or an LEA. 

C. … 
* * * 

Weapon has the meaning given the term dangerous 
weapon  under Paragraph (2) of the first Subsection (g) of 
Sec 930 of Title 18, United States Code. 

D. - D.1.c. … 
d. determines that the interim alternative 

educational setting that is proposed by school personnel who 
have consulted with the student's special education teacher 
meets all IAES requirements as set forth in Subsection G.  

E. - E.1.a. … 
b. for behavior that is not a manifestation of the 

student's disability consistent with §519.H of these 
regulations; the student's IEP team shall determine the extent 
of which services are necessary to enable the student to 
progress appropriately in the general curriculum and to 
advance appropriately toward achieving the goals set out in 
the student's IEP. 

E.2. - F.1. … 
2. If the student already has a behavioral intervention 

plan, the IEP team shall meet to review the plan and its 
implementation and modify the plan and its implementation 
as necessary, to address the behavior.  

3. - 4.a. … 
G. The interim alternative educational setting referred to 

in Paragraph B of this section shall be determined by the IEP 
team. Any interim alternative educational setting in which a 
student is placed under Paragraph B.2 and Subsection D of 
this Section shall: 

1. … 
2. include services and modifications designed to 

address the behavior described in Paragraph B.2 and 
Subsection D and to prevent the behavior from recurring. 

H. - H.4. … 
a. consider, in terms of the behavior subject to 

disciplinary action, all relevant information, the evaluation 
and diagnostic results, including the results or other relevant 
information supplied by the parent of the student; 
observation of the student; and the student's IEP and 
placement, and 

4.b. - 5. … 
6. If the IEP team and other qualified personnel 

determine that the behavior is a manifestation of the 
student's disability, the disciplinary removal cannot occur, 
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unless the removal is in accordance with §519.B.2.(a) and 
(b) and §519 D of these regulations. 

H.7. - I.3. … 
J. If the student's parent disagrees with a determination 

that the student's behavior was not a manifestation of the 
student's disability or with any decision regarding placement 
and discipline, the parent may request a hearing. 

1. The department, consistent with §507 and §508.B 
of these regulations, shall arrange for an expedited hearing 
in any case described in the above paragraph if a hearing is 
requested by a parent. 

a. In reviewing a decision with respect to the 
manifestation determination, the hearing officer shall 
determine whether the LEA has demonstrated that the 
student's behavior was not a manifestation of the student's 
disability consistent with the requirements of §519.H.5. 

b. In reviewing a decision under §519.B.2 of these 
regulations to place a student in an interim alternative 
educational setting, the hearing officer shall apply the 
standards in §519.D of these regulations. 

K. … 
1. If the parents request a hearing regarding a 

disciplinary action described in §519.B.2 or §519.D.1.a-d to 
challenge the interim alternative educational setting or the 
manifestation determination, the student shall remain in the 
interim alternative educational setting pending the decision 
of the hearing officer or until expiration of the time period 
provided for in §519.B.2 or §519.D.1.a-d, whichever occurs 
first, unless the parent and the state or LEA agree otherwise. 

2. If a student is placed in an interim alternative 
educational setting pursuant to §519B.2 and §519.D.1.a-d 
and school personnel propose to change the student's 
placement after expiration of the interim alternative 
placement, during the pending of any proceeding to 
challenge the proposed change in placement, the student 
shall remain in the current placement (student's placement 
prior to the interim alternative educational setting), except as 
provided in K.3 below. 

3. ... 
a. In determining whether the student may be 

placed in the alternative educational setting or in another 
appropriate placement ordered by the hearing officer, the 
hearing officer shall apply the standards in §519.D.1.a-d. 

K.3.b. - L.4. … 
5. If the student is determined to be a student with a 

disability, taking into consideration information from the 
evaluation conducted by the LEA and information provided 
by the parents, the LEA shall provide special education and 
related services in accordance with the provisions of these 
regulations including the requirements of §519.B-N and R.S. 
17:1943.6. 

M. - M.5. … 
6. The decisions on expedited due process hearings 

are appealable consistent with the procedures established at 
§512 of these regulations.  

N. - N.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:670 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:873 (June 2003). 

Chapter 6. Establishment and Operation of Special 
School District 

§602. Program Approval 
A. Each educational program operated by SSD shall 

meet the standards for school approval. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:674 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:874 (June 2003). 
§690. Instructions for Child Count 

A. … 
B. Each LEA/State agency shall determine the eligibility 

of each student for inclusion in the December 1 Child Count, 
which will generate funds under IDEA -B. It is the 
responsibility of the LEA/State agency to verify that each 
eligible student is receiving the special education and related 
services stated on the Individualized Education (IEP). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:675 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:874 (June 2003). 
Chapter 7. Responsibilities of State Board Special 

Schools 
§711. Instructions for Child Count 

A. … 
B. Each LEA/State agency shall determine the eligibility 

of each student for inclusion in the December 1 Child Count, 
which will generate funds under IDEA -B. It is the 
responsibility of the LEA/State agency to verify that each 
eligible student is receiving the special education and related 
services stated on the Individualized Education Program 
(IEP). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:677 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:874 (June 2003). 
§716. Louisiana Schools for the Deaf and the Visually 

Impaired Alternative Placement 
A. … 
B. Upon receipt from a parent (as defined in Chapter 9 of 

these regulations) of an application for admission of his or 
her child, LSD or LSVI shall require, at a minimum, an 
individual evaluation for classification as having a hearing 
impairment (i.e., deaf, hard of hearing) or a visual 
impairment (i.e., blindness, partial sight) as a part of the 
application. LSD or LSVI shall notify the LEA of the 
parent/student domicile that the application has been made, 
in order to fulfill the provisions established in §709 of these 
regulations. 

C. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:677 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:874 (June 2003). 
Chapter 8. Interagency Agreements 
§830. Types of Interagency Agreements 

A. The department and SSD shall have agreements or 
promulgate regulations for interagency coordination with the 
Department of Health and Hospitals (DHH), the Department
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of Social Services (DSS), and the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections (DPS&C), and/or other state 
agencies and their sub-offices, where appropriate. LEAs 
shall have those agreements whenever necessary for the 
provisions of a free appropriate public education. The State 
School for the Deaf, State School for the Visually Impaired 
and the State Special Education Center, now under the 
auspices of SSD, shall have interagency agreements with the 
LEA in whose geographic area they are located; with each 
LEA that places a student in the day programs of that 
facility; with the regional state agencies; and with 
habilitation agencies with which they share students. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:678 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:874 (June 2003). 
§861. DHH and the Department's Responsibilities 

under IDEA and the Louisiana Education of 
Children with Exceptionalities Act 

A. This regulation and the following regulations at 
§§861-870 control the legal relationship between the 
Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals (DHH) and 
the Louisiana Department of Education (the department), for 
the interagency coordination of the Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), 20 U.S.C. §1400 et seq. 
and the Louisiana Education of Children with 
Exceptionalities Act, R.S. 17:1941 et seq., and encompasses 
all offices, division, bureaus, units and programs at the state, 
regional and local levels with each department. 

B. These regulations are promulgated to comply with the 
obligations imposed upon the state of Louisiana and its 
agencies at 20 U.S.C. §1412 and 34 CFR §300.142. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:875 (June 2003). 
§862. Definitions  

A. For the purposes of this Chapter, the following 
definitions apply. 

Educational ServicesCall other services, including but 
not limited to academic services, extracurricular activities, 
transportation, related services for which DHH is not legally 
responsible, and any other service included on a student's 
IEP but not provided by DHH, through Medicaid or any 
other program operated by DHH, under any existing state or 
federal la w. 

Eligibility Criteria for DHH Health and Medical 
ServicesCthe criteria for individuals receiving a specific 
health or medical service provided by DHH. 

FamilyCthe child's parents or legal guardians as well as 
surrogate parents and persons acting as a parent as defined 
by Bulletin 1706CRegulations for the Implementation of the 
Children with Exceptionalities Act. 

IEPCIndividualized Education Program, as defined in 
§904 herein. 

LEACa local educational agency, as defined in §904 
herein. 

Related ServicesCin addition to the definition of these 
terms in IDEA and Bulletin 1706, in the context of these 
regulations, the term means those services which DHH, 
through Medicaid or any other program operated by DHH, is 
required by any existing state or federal law to provide to a 

qualified recipient in the state of Louisiana. Related services 
includes but is not limited to supportive services as are 
required to assist a student with a disability to benefit from 
special education, and includes speech-language pathology 
and audiology services, psychological services, physical and 
occupational therapy, therapeutic recreation, early 
identification and assessment of disabilities in students, 
counseling services, including rehabilitation counseling, 
orientation and mobility services, medical services for 
diagnostic or evaluation purposes, and transition services. 

ServicesCany special education and/or related services 
as defined in IDEA and Bulletin 1706, Regulations for 
Implementation of the Children with Exceptionalities Act. 

StudentCany individual between the ages of 3 and 22 
years and is enrolled in a Louisiana Local Education Agency 
("LEA") or is the responsibility of the department and/or the 
LEAs. 

Student with a DisabilityCas defined in §904 herein. 
Transition ServicesCTransition services, as defined in 

§904 herein. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:875 (June 2003). 
§863. Responsibility for Services  

A. In order to ensure that all services described in §864 
of these regulations that are needed to ensure FAPE are 
provided, including the provision of these services during 
the pendency of any dispute, the following requirements are 
imposed on the department and DHH. 

1. Agency Financial Responsibility. All relevant 
federal and state mandates apply. The department and DHH, 
as obligated under federal or state law, must use allocated 
federal, state and local funds to provide, pay or otherwise 
arrange for services on the IEP that are necessary to ensure 
each eligible student receives a free appropriate public 
education ("FAPE") as written on the IEP. The financial 
responsibility for these services shall be governed by all 
pertinent federal and state laws, including but not limited to 
20 U.S.C. §1400 et seq., 34 CFR Parts 300, R.S. 17:1941 et 
seq., Louisiana Department of Education Bulletin 1706, 42 
U.S.C. §1396 and 42 CFR Part 430. 

a. If DHH is otherwise obligated under federal or 
state law, or assigned responsibility under DHH policy or 
pursuant to 34 CFR §300.142, to provide or pay for any 
services that are also considered special education or related 
services (such as, but not limited to, services described in 34 
CFR §300.5 relating to assistive technology devices, 34 CFR 
§300.24 relating to related services, 34 CFR §300.28 relating 
to supplementary aids and services, and 34 CFR §300.29 
relating to transition services) that are necessary for ensuring 
FAPE to students with disabilities within the state, DHH 
shall fulfill that obligation or responsibility, either directly or 
through contract or other arrangement. 

b. DHH may not disqualify an eligible service for 
Medicaid reimbursement because it is on an IEP or because 
that service is provided in a school context or any other 
setting that is a most integrated setting or least restrictive 
environment in order to provide a free appropriate public 
education. DHH is required to provide all eligible services to 
the same extent the individual would receive these services 
under federal and state law and regulation without eligibility 
for IDEA. 
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c. The financial responsibility of DHH must 
precede the financial responsibility of the LEA or the state 
agency responsible for developing the student's IEP. 

2. Conditions and Terms of Reimbursement. DHH 
will fund or provide services that are included on an IEP to 
the extent that such services are services that are funded or 
provided to individuals eligible under any federal or state 
program provided by DHH. If any program under the 
auspices of DHH fails to provide or pay for these special 
education and related services, the LEA and/or the 
department is responsible for providing or paying for these 
services. The department or the LEA will then claim 
reimbursement from DHH, having failed to provide or pay 
for these services. DHH is then required to reimburse the 
LEA or the department for the services that DHH is 
otherwise obligated to provide. DHH is required to fund or 
provide services that are included on an IEP to the extent 
that such services are services for which the individual is 
eligible under any federal or state program administered by 
DHH. 

3. Interagency Disputes. Disputes relating to the 
provision of services pursuant to 20 U.S.C. §1400 et seq., 
and the Louisiana Education of Children with 
Exceptionalities Act, R.S. 17:1941 et seq., must be addressed 
in the following manner. 

a. If a family disputes the actions of an LEA, that 
family may either file a complaint with the department or 
file for a due process hearing, both as set out in Louis iana 
Bulletin 1706, Chapter 5, Procedural Safeguards. If a family 
disputes the actions of DHH and that family or student is a 
client of or eligible for DHH services, that dispute may be 
addressed through the DHH appeals process, as authorized 
in R.S. 46:107 or any other relevant state or federal statute or 
regulation. 

b. If an LEA disputes the actions of the department, 
that LEA may file suit against the department only in the 
United States District Court for the Middle District of 
Louisiana or the Nineteenth Judicial District Court for the 
Parish of East Baton Rouge. 

c. If an LEA disputes the actions of DHH, as a 
Medicaid provider, that LEA may appeal through the DHH 
appeal process, as authorized in R.S. 46:107 or any other 
relevant state or federal statute or regulation. 

d. An interagency dispute between DHH and the 
department, which involves either program or financial 
responsibility, will be referred to the Superintendent of 
Education and the Secretary of the Department of Health and 
Hospitals for mediation. If the dispute cannot be resolved in 
mediation, it will be referred to the Office of the Governor 
for resolution. If a dispute continues beyond these 
interventions, either DHH or the department may seek 
resolution from a court of competent authority. 

e. During the pending of any dispute, a student's 
LEA bears full responsibility for program and/or financial 
obligations, to ensure that the student's IEP is implemented 
fully and that the student is receiving FAPE. If the LEA is 
unable or unwilling to provide FAPE, the department is 
responsible for those program and/or financial obligations. 

4. Coordination of Services Procedures. The 
department and DHH shall coordinate services to students 
with disabilities by complying with procedures that are 

specific to each agency, including, but not limited to, the 
following. 

a. The department bears the following 
responsibilities: 
 i. maintain the Child Search system under Part B 
of IDEA, specifically, the identification, location and 
evaluation of students from 3 through 21 years of age who 
are suspected of having a disability; 
 ii. provide DHH with a listing of its primary 
contacts and service description for the Child Search 
Program on a parish basis for DHH to make available to its 
regional and parish offices; 
 iii. ensure that each eligible student/student will 
receive a timely, appropriate multidisciplinary evaluation. In 
order to reduce the duplication of effort, services and 
paperwork, the LEAs will implement a policy to ensure 
evaluations conducted by programs in DHH are utilized in 
the multidisciplinary evaluation of students suspected of 
being disabled and in the re-evaluation of students; 
 iv. ensure that each eligible student with a 
disability receives a free appropriate public education 
("FAPE") in accordance with an IEP. FAPE includes special 
education and related services; 
 v. ensure that each eligible student has an IEP 
developed and implemented in accordance with IDEA; 
 vi. monitor the provision of services on IEPs 
through assurances with LEAs; and 
 vii. monitor the implementation of the IEP and 
assure that resources necessary for the implementation of 
services on the IEP will be made available through federal or 
state funds. 

b. DHH bears the following responsibilities: 
 i. provide access to medical services offered by 
DHH through application for such services at DHH office 
locations in all regions of the state where the students 
currently reside. The student must meet the eligibility 
criteria for the medical services for which the student is 
applying. Establishing eligibility and need for services is the 
responsibility of DHH; 
 ii. DHH shall not reduce the medical services, 
which it would be required to provide to a student with a 
disability solely because those services are included on IEP; 
 iii. refer students to the LEA upon suspicion of a 
disability. DHH personnel will share available information 
on students receiving joint services from the department and 
DHH with the proper written consent; 
 iv. provide information at the consent and request 
of a parent; and 
 v. ensure that a student with a disability can 
access Medicaid services for which the student is eligible. 
DHH policy and procedures shall not preclude an LEA from 
enrolling as a provider in the Medicaid program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:875 (June 2003). 
§864. Obligations of DHH 

A. If DHH is otherwise obligated under federal or state 
law, or assigned responsibility under state policy or pursuant 
to §§861-870 herein, to provide or pay for any services that 
are also considered special education or related services 
(such as, but not limited to, services described in 34 CFR
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§300.5 relating to assistive technology devices, §300.6 
relating to assistive technology services, §300.24 relating to 
related services, §300.28 relating to supplementary aids and 
services, and §300.29 relating to transition services) that are 
necessary for ensuring FAPE to students with disabilities 
within the state, DHH shall fulfill that obligation or 
responsibility, either directly or through contract or other 
arrangement. 

B. DHH may not disqualify an eligible service for 
Medicaid reimbursement because that service is provided in 
a school context. 

C. If DHH fails to provide or pay for the special 
education and related services described in Paragraph A 
hereinabove, the LEA (or state agency responsible for 
developing the student's IEP) shall provide or pay for these 
services to the student in a timely manner. The LEA or state 
agency may then claim reimbursement for the services from 
DHH, having failed to provide or pay for these services, and 
DHH shall reimburse the LEA or state agency in accordance 
with these regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:876 (June 2003). 
§865. Students with Disabilities Who are Covered by 

Public Insurance 
A. An LEA may use the Medicaid or other public 

insurance benefits programs in which a student participates 
to provide or pay for services required under this agreement, 
as permitted under the public insurance program, except as 
follows. 

1. With regard to services required to provide FAPE to 
an eligible student under this part, the LEA: 

a. may not require parents to sign up for or enroll in 
public insurance programs in order for their student to 
receive FAPE under Part B of the IDEA; 

b. may not require parents to incur an out-of-pocket 
expense such as the payment of a deductible or co-pay 
amount incurred in filing a claim for services provided 
pursuant to this part, but pursuant to §867.B of these 
regulations, may pay the cost that the parent otherwise 
would be required to pay; and 

c. may not use a student's benefits under a public 
insurance program if that use would: 
 i. decrease available lifetime coverage or any 
other insured benefit; 
 ii. result in the family paying for services that 
would otherwise be covered by the public insurance program 
and that are required for the student outside of the time the 
student is in school;  
 iii. increase premiums or lead to the 
discontinuation of insurance; or 
 iv. risk loss of eligibility for home and 
community-based waivers, based on aggregate health-related 
expenditures. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:877 (June 2003). 
§866. Students with Disabilities Who are Covered by 

Private Insurance 
A. With regard to services required to provide FAPE to 

an eligible student under this Chapter, an LEA may access a 

parent's private insurance proceeds only if the parent 
provides informed consent consistent with 34 CFR 
§300.500(b)(1). 

B. Each time the LEA proposes to access the parent's 
private insurance proceeds, it must: 

1. obtain parent consent in accordance with 
Subsection A of this Section; and 

2. inform the parents that their refusal to permit the 
LEA to access their private insurance does not relieve the 
LEA of its responsibility to ensure that all required services 
are provided at no cost to the parents. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:877 (June 2003). 
§867. Use of Part B Funds  

A. If an LEA or state agency is unable to obtain parental 
consent to use the parent's private insurance, or public 
insurance when the parent would incur a cost for a specified 
service required under this part, to ensure FA PE the LEA 
may use its Part B funds to pay for the service. 

B. To avoid financial cost to parents who otherwise 
would consent to use private insurance, or public insurance 
if the parent would incur a cost, the LEA may use its Part B 
funds to pay the cost the parents otherwise would have to 
pay to use the parent's insurance (e.g., the deductible or co-
pay amounts). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:877 (June 2003). 
§868. Proceeds from Public or Private Insurance 

A. Proceeds from public or private insurance will not be 
treated as program income for purposes of 34 CFR §80.25. 

B. If an LEA spends reimbursements from federal funds 
(e.g., Medicaid) for services under this part, those funds will 
not be considered "state or local" funds for purposes of the 
maintenance of effort provisions in 34 CFR §§300.154 and 
300.231. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:877 (June 2003). 
§869. Limitations of These Requirements 

A. No provision of this Chapter should be construed to 
alter the requirements imposed on DHH or any other agency 
administering a public insurance program by federal statute, 
regulations, or policy under Title XIX or Title XXI of the 
Social Security Act or any other public insurance program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:877 (June 2003). 
§870. General Provisions Governing §§861-870 

A. Confidentiality of Information. In accordance with 
federal and state law, information on a student's disabilities 
is confidential. For the purposes of identification, location, 
evaluation, development and implementation of the IEP, 
information and records on mutually served students may be 
exchanged between the department and DHH with the 
written, informed consent of the parent(s) of each student. 
The method of exchanging information may be electronic or 
written. When a specific student or family is identified, the 
exchange must be written with proper consent obtained. 
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B. Ancillary Agreements. Regional and/or local 
agreements may be developed and implemented between the 
respective programs within the department and DHH for the 
purposes of determining and identifying interagency 
coordination to promote the coordination of services and the 
timely and appropriate delivery of services to each eligible 
student and family. The services may be provided either 
directly, through a contract or other arrangement. These 
agreements are considered binding for the programs under 
the auspices of the department and DHH only after written 
approval of such regional or local agreements by the 
Secretary of DHH and the Division Director of Special 
Populations in the department, respectively. 

C. Joint Coordination and Monitoring. DHH and the 
department are required to develop jointly state level annual 
goals that are based on needs/data. DHH and the department 
are required to evaluate jointly the overall effectiveness of 
these goals. Each department is required to designate a 
liaison at the state level to coordinate the activities and 
monitor the compliance of these regulations. Each agency is 
required to appoint an interagency committee to review and 
evaluate the effectiveness of these regulations; facilitate their 
implementation; and make recommendations for revisions as 
deemed appropriate. 

D. Modifications to these Requirements. As the lead 
agency for implementation of the Louisiana Education of 
Children with Exceptionalities Act and the Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act in Louisiana, the department is 
the sole agency with authority to promulgate regulations 
pursuant to those statutes and no modification to these 
requirements shall be made by any other agency by 
regulation, policy or otherwise, without the express written 
consent of the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:877 (June 2003). 
Chapter 9. Definitions 
§904. Definitions 

Adapted Physical EducationCspecially designed physical 
education for not only students with disabilities who may not 
safely or successfully engage in unrestricted participation in 
the vigorous activities of the regular physical education 
program on a full-time basis but also for students with 
disabilities, ages 3 through 5, who meet the mandated 
criteria. The delivery of adapted physical education required 
by an IEP shall meet the following conditions: 

1. evaluation and instruction are provided by a 
certified adapted physical education teacher;  

2. only students with disabilities whose need is 
documented in accordance with mandated criteria for 
eligibility are included in the caseload; 

3. the caseload is in accordance with the pupil/teacher 
ratios listed in Chapter 10 of these regulations. 

* * * 
Alternate AssessmentCa substitute approach used in 

gathering information on the performance and progress of 
students who do not participate in typical state assessments. 
Under these regulations, alternate assessments shall be used 
to measure the performance of a relatively small population 
of students with disabilities who are unable to participate in 
the general statewide assessment system, even with 
accommodations and modifications. 

* * * 
Certificate of AchievementCan exit document issued to a 

student with a disability after he or she has achieved certain 
competencies and has met specified conditions as listed 
below. The receipt of a Certificate of Achievement shall not 
limit a student's continuous eligibility for services under 
these regulations unless the student has reached the age of 
22. 

1. The student has a disability under the mandated 
criteria. 

2. The student has participated in the Louisiana 
Alternate Assessment Program (LAA). 

3. … 
4. The student has met attendance requirements. 
5. - 6. … 

Certificate of AchievementCProvisional Eligibility 
CriteriaCan exit document issued to a student with a 
disability after he or she has achieved certain competencies 
and has met specified conditions as listed below. 

1. Eligible students are those: 
a. who have disabilities under the mandated criteria; 

1.b. - 2.b. … 
c. The student has met attendance requirements 

according to the School Administrator's Handbook, Bulletin 
741. 

d. - f. … 
* * * 

EvaluationCis a multidisciplinary evaluation of a 
child/student, ages 3 through 21 years, in all areas of 
suspected disability through a systematic process of review; 
examination; interpretation; and analysis of screening data, 
developmental status, intervention efforts, interviews, 
observations, and test results, as required; and other 
assessment information relative to the predetermined 
criteria. 

* * * 
Extended School Year (ESY) ServicesCis the provision of 

special education and related services to students with 
disabilities beyond the normal school year of the LEA. All 
students (ages 3 through 21) classified as having a disability 
with a current evaluation and IEP are to be screened 
annually by the ESYP screening date to determine eligibility 
for ESYP. Services are to be provided in accordance with the 
student's IEP once eligibility is determined. 

* * * 
Generic ClassCan instructional setting (self-contained or 

resource). 
1. - 1.b. … 
2. The instruction is provided by a special education 

teacher with appropriate certification. 
3. - 4. …  

* * * 
Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP)C 

1. a written plan for providing early intervention 
services for eligible children and their families. The 
determination of the most appropriate early intervention 
services, including any modifications in placement, service 
delivery, service providers or early intervention services, is 
accomplished through the development of the IFSP. The 
IFSP shall: 

a. be developed jointly by the family and 
appropriate qualified personnel, including family service 
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coordinators involved in the provision of early intervention 
services; 

b. be based on the multidisciplinary evaluation and 
assessment of the child and family; 

c. include the services necessary to enhance the 
development of the child and the capacity of the family to 
meet the special needs of their child; 

d. continue until the child transitions out of early 
intervention, either to other appropriate service providers at 
age 3, or at such time that the family and multidisciplinary 
professionals determine that services are no longer 
necessary; or the family no longer desires early intervention 
services; 

e. identify the location of the early intervention 
services to be provided in natural environments, including 
the home and community settings, in which children without 
special needs would participate. 

2. If there is a dispute between agencies regarding the 
development or the implementation of the IFSP, the Lead 
Agency is responsible for taking the necessary actions to 
resolve the dispute or assign responsibility for developing or 
implementing the IFSP. 

Infants and Toddlers with DisabilitiesCchildren between 
the ages of birth and 3 years of age who have been 
determined eligible for early intervention services. 

* * * 
Occupational TherapyCas a related service, means 

mandated services provided by a qualified occupational 
therapist. 

* * * 
Physical TherapyCas a related service means mandated 

services provided by a qualified physical therapist. 
* * * 

Related ServicesCtransportation and such developmental, 
corrective, and other supportive services as are required to 
assist a student with a disability to benefit from special 
education. Related services include speech/language 
pathology and audiological services, psychological services, 
physical and occupational therapy, recreation including 
therapeutic recreation, early identification and assessment of 
disabilities in students, counseling services including 
rehabilitation counseling, orientation and mobility services, 
and medical services for diagnostic or evaluation purposes. 
The term also includes school health services, social work 
services in schools, and parental counseling and training. 

* * * 
School Health ServicesCas a related services means 

services provided by a certified school nurse or other 
qualified person. 

* * * 
Specific Learning DisabilityCa severe and unique learning 

problem characterized by significant difficulties in the 
acquisition, organization, or expression of specific academic 
skills or concepts. This learning problem is typically 
manifested in school functioning as significantly poor 
performance in such areas as reading, writing, spelling, 
arithmetic reasoning or calculation, oral expression or 
comprehension, or the acquisition of basic concepts. The 
term includes such conditions as attention deficit disorders, 
perceptual disabilities or process disorders, minimal brain 
dysfunction, dyslexia, developmental aphasia, or 
sensorimotor dysfunction, when consistent with the 

mandated criteria. The term does not apply to students who 
have learning problems primarily the result of visual, 
hearing, or motor impairments; of mental disabilities; of an 
emotional disturbance; of lack of instruction in reading or 
mathematics; of limited English proficiency; or of economic, 
environmental, or cultural disadvantage. 

* * * 
Student with a DisabilityCa student evaluated in 

accordance with §§430-436 of these regulations and 
determined as having one of the disability categories and, by 
reason of that disability, needing special education and 
related services. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:679 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:878 (June 2003). 
Chapter 10. State Program Rules for Special 

Education 
§1001. Pupil/Teacher, Pupil/Speech/Language 

Pathologist, and Pupil Appraisal Ratios for 
Public Education 

A. - 6. … 
7. Repealed. (Reserved for future use.) 
8. - 12. … 
13. Pupil appraisal members shall be employed by 

LEAs at the rate listed below. LEAs may substitute one pupil 
appraisal for another provided that all pupil appraisal 
services are provided in accordance with these regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:687 (April 2000), 
amended LR 29:879 (June 2003). 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0306#017 
 

RULE 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant Programs  
(LAC 28:IV.301, 701, 805, 1703, and 1705) 

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission 
(LASFAC) amends its Scholarship/Grant Rules (R.S. 
17:3021-3026, R.S. 3041.10-3041.15, R.S. 17:3042.1, and 
R.S. 17:3048.1).  

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial AssistanceCHigher 
Education Scholarship and Grant Programs  

Chapter 3. Definitions 
§301. Definitions 

* * * 
Program Year (Non-Academic Program)Cthe schedule of 

semesters or terms during a year leading to a vocational or 
technical education certificate or diploma or a non-academic 
undergraduate degree for such programs offered by eligible 
colleges and universities, beginning with the fall semester or 
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term, including the winter term, if applicable, and 
concluding with the spring semester or term or the 
equivalent schedule at an institution which operates on units 
other than semesters or terms. Enrollment in a summer term, 
semester or session is not required to maintain eligibility for 
an award. 

Qualified Summer SessionCthose summer sessions for 
which the student's institution certifies that:  

1. the summer session is required in the student's 
degree program for graduation and the student enrolled for at 
least the minimum number of hours required for the degree 
program for the session; or  

2. the student can complete his program's graduation 
requirements in the summer session; or  

3. the course(s) taken during the summer session is 
required for graduation in the program in which the student 
is enrolled and is only offered during the summer session; or 

4. the course(s) taken during the summer session is in 
a program for a vocational or technical education certificate 
or diploma or a non-academic undergraduate degree. 

* * *  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:632 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1898 (October 1998), LR 
24:2237 (December 1998), LR 25:256 (February 1999), LR 25:654 
(April 1999), LR 25:1458, 1460 (August 1999), LR 25:1794 
(October 1999), LR 26:65 (January 2000), LR 26:688 (April 2000), 
LR 26:1262 (June 2000), LR 26:1601 (July 2000), LR 26:1993, 
1999 (September 2000), LR 26:2268 (October 2000), LR 26: 2752 
(December 2000), LR 27:36 (January 2001), LR 27:284 (March 
2001), LR 27:1219 (August 2001), LR 27:1842, 1875 (November 
2001), LR 28:45 (January 2002), LR 28:446 (March 2002), LR 
28:772 (April 2002), LR 28:2331 (November 2002), LR 29:555 
(April 2003), LR 29:879 (June 2003). 
Chapter 7. Tuition Opportunity Program for 

Students (TOPS) Opportunity, 
Performance, and Honors Awards  

§701. General Provisions  
A. - E.1. ... 

2. The TOPS Performance Award provides a $400 
annual stipend, prorated by two semesters, three quarters, or 
equivalent units in each academic year (college) and 
program year (non-academic program), in addition to an 
amount equal to tuition for full-time attendance at an eligible 
college or university, for a period not to exceed eight 
semesters, including qualified summer sessions, twelve 
quarters, including qualified summer sessions, or an 
equivalent number of units in an eligible institution which 
operates on a schedule based on units other than semesters 
or quarters, except as provided by R.S. 17:3048.1.H, or 
§503.D or §509.C. The stipend will be paid for each 
qualified summer session, semester, quarter, term, or 
equivalent unit for which tuition is paid. Attending a 
qualified summer session for which tuition is paid will count 
toward the eight semester limit for TOPS. 

3. The TOPS Honors Award provides an $800 annual 
stipend, prorated by two semesters, three quarters, or 
equivalent units in each academic year (college) and each 
program year (non-academic program), in addition to an 
amount equal to tuition for full-time attendance at an eligible 
college or university, for a period not to exceed eight 
semesters, including qualified summer sessions, twelve 

quarters, including qualified summer sessions, or an 
equivalent number of units in an eligible institution which 
operates on a schedule based on units other than semesters 
or quarters, except as provided by R.S. 17:3048.1.H, or 
§503.D or §509.C. The stipend will be paid for each 
qualified summer session, semester, quarter, term, or 
equivalent unit for which tuition is paid. Attending a 
qualified summer session for which tuition is paid will count 
toward the eight semester limit for TOPS. 

4. - 5.a. ... 
b. In a program for a vocational or technical 

education certificate or diploma or a non-academic 
undergraduate degree receive an amount equal to the average 
award amount (TOPS-Tech), as defined in §301, plus any 
applicable stipend, prorated by two semesters, three quarters, 
or equivalent units in each program year (non-academic 
program). The stipend will be paid for each qualified 
summer session, semester, quarter, term or equivalent unit 
for which tuition is paid. Attending a qualified summer 
session for which tuition is paid will count toward the eight 
semester limit for TOPS. 

E.6. - G.2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:635 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1901 (October 1998), LR 
25: 256 (February 1999), LR 26:67 (January 2000), LR 26:1262 
(June 2000), LR 26: 1995, 2000 (September 2000), repromulgated 
LR 27:1848 (November 2001), amended LR 28:447 (March 2002), 
LR 28:2331 (November 2002), LR 29:880 (June 2003). 
Chapter 8. TOPS-TECH Award 
§805. Maintaining Eligibility 

A. - A.4. ... 
5. continue to enroll and accept the TECH award as a 

full-time student in an eligible college or university defined 
in §301, and maintain an enrolled status throughout the 
program year (non-academic program), unless granted an 
exception for cause by LASFAC; and 

A.6. - B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:1905 (October 1998), LR 25:1091 (June 1999), LR 26:68 
(January 2000), LR 26:689 (April 2000), LR 26:1997, 2002 
(September 2000), LR 27:1856 (November 2001), LR 28:774 
(April 2002), LR 28:2332 (November 2002), LR 29:880 (June 
2003). 
Chapter 17. Responsibilities of High Schools, School 

Boards, Special School Governing 
Boards, the Louisiana Department of 
Education and LASFAC on Behalf of 
Eligible Non-Louisiana High Schools 

§1703. High School's Certification of Student 
Achievement 

A. Responsibility for Reporting and Certifying Student 
Performance 

1. Through the 2002 academic year (high school), 
responsibility for the identification and certification of high 
school graduates who meet the academic qualifications for a 
TOPS award is as follows: 

a. the principal or the principal's designee for public 
high schools; 
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b. the principal or headmaster or designee of each 
nonpublic high school approved by the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE); 

c. the principal or headmaster or designee of an 
eligible non-Louisiana high school;  

d. the principal or headmaster or designee of an  
out-of-state high school is res ponsible only for providing the 
high school transcript or the date of graduation for those 
students who have applied for a student aid program 
administered by LASFAC. 

2. Commencing with the 2003 academic year (high 
school), responsibility for the submission and certification of 
courses attempted and the grades earned for high school 
graduates is as follows: 

a. the principal or the principal's designee for public 
high schools; 

b. the principal or headmaster or designee of each 
nonpublic high school approved by the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE); 

c. the principal or headmaster or designee of an 
eligible non-Louisiana high school;  

d. the principal or headmaster or designee of an out-
of-state high school is responsible only for providing the 
high school transcript or the date of graduation for those 
students who have applied for a student aid program 
administered by LASFAC. 

3. The Louisiana Department of Education shall 
certify to LASFAC the names of students who are enrolled 
in and have completed all mandatory requirements through 
the twelfth grade level of a state-approved home study 
program. 

B. Procedures for Reporting and Certifying Student 
Performance 

1.a. Through the 2002 academic year (high school), the 
responsible high school authority shall record student 
performance on the form provided by LASFAC or in an 
electronic format pre -approved by LASFAC. The 
certification form shall be completed, certified and returned 
to LASFAC by the deadline specified on the form. 

b. Commencing with the 2003 academic year (high 
school), the responsible high school authority shall submit 
the required student information in a standard electronic 
format approved by LASFAC. 

2.a. Through the 2002 academic year (high school), the 
certification form shall contain, but is not limited to, the 
following reportable data elements: 
 i. student's name, address, phone number and 
social security number; 
 ii. month and year of high school graduation; 
 iii. final cumulative high school grade point 
average for all courses  attempted, converted to a maximum 
4.00 scale, if applicable (Note: Beginning with students 
graduating in 2002-2003, the cumulative high school grade 
point average will be calculated by using only grades 
obtained in completing the core curriculum.); and 
 iv. through the graduating class of the academic 
year (high school) 2002-2003, number of core units earned 
and the number of core units unavailable to the student at the 
school attended. After the graduating class of the academic 
year (high school) 2002-2003, core unit requirements may 
not be waived.  

b. Commencing with the 2003 academic year (high 
school), certification shall contain, but is not limited to, the 
following reportable data elements: 
 i. student's name and social security number; 
 ii. month and year of high school graduation; 
 iii. the course code for each course completed; 
 iv. the grade for each course completed; 
 v. the grading scale for each course reported; and 
 vi. through the graduating class of the academic 
year (high school) 2002-2003, number of core units earned 
and the number of core units unavailable to the student at the 
school attended. After the graduating class of the academic 
year (high school) 2002-2003, core unit requirements may 
not be waived. 

3. Through the 2002 academic year (high school), the 
responsible high school authority shall certify to LASFAC 
the final cumulative high school grade point average of each 
applicant and that average shall be inclusive of grades for all 
courses attempted and shall be computed and reported on a 
maximum 4.00 grading scale. 

a. The following grading conversion shall be used 
to report the applicant's cumulative high school grade point 
average: 
 i. letter grade A = 4 quality points; 
 ii. letter grade B = 3 quality points; 
 iii. letter grade C = 2 quality points; 
 iv. letter grade D = 1 quality point. 

b. Schools which award more than 4 quality points 
for a course must convert the course grade to a maximum 
4.00 scale using the formula described in the example that 
follows. (In this example, the school awards one extra 
quality point for an honors course.) 
 i. Example: an applicant earned a C in an Honors 
English IV course and received 3 out of the 5 possible 
quality points that could have been awarded for the course. 
 ii. In converting this course grade to a standard 
4.00 maximum scale, the following formula must be used: 
 

 Scale)(Maximum 4.00
Points)Quality  (Converted X

 = 
Course the for Possible Points Maximum

Course the for Awarded PointsQuality 

 
 

 
  4.00 

 X  = 
 5.00 
 3.00 

 
 

By cross multiplying, 
 

2.40 = X 12; = 5X  
 

 iii. In this example, the quality points for this 
Honors English IV course should be recorded as 2.40 when 
the school calculates and reports the student's cumulative 
high school grade point average. 

4. Commencing with the 2003 academic year (high 
school), LASFAC shall determine whether high school 
graduates have completed the core curriculum and compute 
the TOPS cumulative high school grade point average for 
each such graduate using a maximum 4.00 grading scale. 
Grades awarded on other than a maximum 4.00 scale shall 
be converted to a maximum 4.00 scale. 

C. Certifying 1998 graduates for the TOPS performance 
award. 1998 graduates who are ranked in the top five percent
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of their graduating class in accordance with §1703 shall be 
credited with having completed the core curriculum for 
purposes of the TOPS; however, only those meeting the 
following criteria shall be eligible for the performance award 
by LASFAC: 

1. those students who have attained a final cumulative 
high school grade point average of at least a 3.50 on a 4.00 
maximum scale; and 

2. an ACT score of at least 23. 
D. Certification. 

1. Through the 2002 academic year (high school), the 
high school headmaster or principal or designee shall certify 
that: 

a. all data supplied on the certification form are true 
and correct, to the best of his knowledge or belief, and that 
they reflect the official records of the school for the students 
listed; and 

b. records pertaining to the listed students will be 
maintained and available upon request to LASFAC and the 
legislative auditor for a minimum of three years or until 
audited, whichever occurs first; and 

c. the school under the principal's jurisdiction shall 
reimburse LASFAC for the amount of a program award 
which was disbursed on behalf of a graduate of the school, 
when it is subsequently determined by audit that the school 
incorrectly certified the graduate. 

2. Commencing with the 2003 academic year (high 
school), the submission of the required data by the high 
school headmaster or principal or designee shall constitute a 
certification that: 

a. all data reported are true and correct, to the best 
of his knowledge or belief, and that they reflect the official 
records of the school for the students listed; and 

b. records pertaining to the listed students will be 
maintained and available upon request to LASAC and the 
legislative auditor for a minimum of three years or until 
audited, whichever occurs first; and 

3. Commencing with the 2003 academic year (high 
school), if a student is determined to be eligible for a TOPS 
Award based on data that is incorrect and the student was in 
fact ineligible for a TOPS award or the level awarded, the 
high school must reimburse LASFAC for the amount paid in 
excess of what the student was eligible for.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:643 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1912 (October 1998), LR 
25:258 (February 1999), LR 26:1998 (September 2000), LR 
26:2269 (October 2000), LR 27:1863 (November 2001), LR 29:880 
(June 2003). 
§1705. Notification of Certified Students 

A. High schools are required to present a certificate of 
achievement during the graduation ceremony or other school 
reception to students qualifying as recipients of TOPS 
performance and honors awards. 

B. High schools are required to invite members of the 
Louisiana Legislature representing the school's district to 
attend the ceremony or reception and to make the 
presentation awarding the endorsed certificates of 
achievement. 

C.1. Through the 2002 academic year (high school), if 
the certifying authority elects to notify students of their 
certification, then the following disclaimer shall be included 
in any communication to the student: "Although you have 
been certified as academically eligible for a Tuition 
Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS) Award, you must 
satisfy all of the following conditions to redeem a 
scholarship under this program: 

a. you must be a Louisiana resident as defined by 
the Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission; and 

b. you must be accepted for enrollment by an 
eligible Louisiana college and be registered as a full-time 
undergraduate student; and 

c. you must annually apply for federal student aid, 
if eligible for such aid, by the deadline required for 
consideration for state aid; and 

d. you must have met all academic and 
nonacademic requirements and be officially notified of your 
award by the Louisiana Student Financial Assistance 
Commission (LASFAC)." 

2. Commencing with the 2003 academic year (high 
school), if the certifying authority elects  to notify students of 
their potential eligibility for an award, then the following 
disclaimer shall be included in any communication to the 
student: "Although it appears that you have satisfied the 
academic requirements for a Tuition Opportunity Program 
for Students (TOPS) Award based on this school's review of 
the core curriculum courses you have completed and 
calculation of your TOPS cumulative high school grade 
point average, you must satisfy all of the following 
conditions to redeem a scholarship under this program: 

a. the Louisiana Student Financial Assistance 
Commission (LASFAC) must determine that you have in 
fact completed the TOPS core curriculum courses; 

b. LASFAC must determine that your TOPS 
cumulative high school grade point average based on the 
TOPS core curriculum meets the statutory requirements; 

c. you must be a Louisiana resident as defined by 
LASFAC; 

d. you must be accepted for enrollment by an 
eligible Louisiana postsecondary institution and be 
registered as a full-time undergraduate student no later than 
the next semester following the first anniversary of your 
graduation from high school;  

e. you must apply for federal student aid, if eligible 
for such aid, by the deadline required for consideration for 
consideration for state; and 

f. you must have met all academic and 
nonacademic requirements and be officially notified of your 
award by LASFAC." 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:644 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1913 (October 1998), 
repromulgated LR 27:1864 (November 2001), amended LR 29:126 
(February 2003), LR 29:882 (June 2003). 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 

0306#018 
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RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 
Office of Group Benefits 

Managed Care Option (MCO)CPlan of Benefits  
(LAC 32:IX.Chapters 1-7) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of R.S. 
49:950 et seq., the Administrative Procedure Act, and 
pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 42:801(C) and 
802(B)(2), as amended and reenacted by Act 1178 of 2001, 
vesting the Office of Group Benefits (OGB) with the 
responsibility for administration of the programs of benefits 
authorized and provided pursuant to Chapter 12 of Title 42 
of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, and granting the power to 
adopt and promulgate Rules with respect thereto, OGB has 
adopted an entire new Plan of Benefits for the Office of 
Group Benefits, designating it as the Managed Care Option 
(MCO) Plan of Benefits. The MCO Plan of Benefits sets 
forth the terms and conditions pursuant to which eligibility 
and benefit determinations are made with regard to the self-
insured health and accident benefits plan, designated as the 
MCO Plan, provided for state employees and their 
dependents pursuant to R.S. 42:851 et seq. Effective July 1, 
2003, LAC Title 32, Part IX, entitled "Health Maintenance 
OrganizationsCHMO" is repealed in its entirety and 
replaced by a new Part IX, entitled "Managed Care Option 
(MCO)CPlan of Benefits," as follows. 

Title 32 
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

Part IX.  Managed Care Option (MCO)CPlan of Benefits 
Chapter 1. Eligibility 
§101. Persons to be Covered 

NOTE: Eligibility requirements apply to all participants in the 
program, whether in the PPO plan, the EPO plan, the MCO 
Plan, or an HMO plan. 

A. Employee Coverage 
1. Employee (see §601). 
2. Husband and Wife, both Employees. No one may 

be enrolled simultaneously as an employee and as a 
dependent under the plan, nor may a dependent  be covered 
by more than one employee . If a covered spouse chooses at a 
later date to be covered separately, and is eligible for 
coverage as an employee, that person will be a covered 
employee effective the first day of the month after the 
election of separate coverage. The change in coverage will 
not increase the benefits. 

3. Effective Dates of Coverage, New Employee. 
Coverage for each employee who completes the applicable 
enrollment form and agrees to make the required payroll 
contributions to his participant employer is to be effective as 
follows. 

a. If employment begins on the first day of the 
month, coverage is effective the first day of the following 
month. 

b. If employment begins on the second day of the 
month or after, coverage is effective the first day of the 
second month following employment. 

c. Employee coverage will not become effective 
unless the employee completes an application for coverage 
within 30 days following the date of employment. An 

employee who completes an application after 30 days 
following the date of employment will be considered an 
overdue applicant. 

4. Re-Enrollment, Previous Employment 
a. An employee whose employment terminated 

while covered, who is re-employed within 12 months of the 
date of termination will be considered a re-enrollment, 
previous employment applicant. A re -enrollment previous 
employment applicant will be eligible for only that 
classification of coverage (employee, employee and one 
dependent, family) in force on the effective date of 
termination. 

b. If an employee acquires an additional dependent 
during the period of termination, that dependent  may be 
covered if added within 30 days of re-employment. 

5. Members of Boards and Commissions. Except as 
otherwise provided by law, members of boards or 
commissions are not eligible for participation in the plan. 
This Section does not apply to members of school boards or 
members of state boards or commissions who are defined by 
the participant employer as full time employees. 

6. Legislative Assistants. Legislative assistants are 
eligible to participate in the plan if they are declared to be 
full-time employees by the participant employer and have at 
least one year of experience or receive at least 80 percent of 
their total compensation as legislative assistants. 

7. Pre-Existing Condition (PEC)CNew employees (on 
and after July 1, 2001). 

a. The terms of the following paragraphs apply to 
all eligible employees whose employment with a participant 
employer commences on or after July 1, 2001, and to the 
dependents of such employees. 

b. The program may require that such applicants 
complete a "Statement of Physical Condition" and an 
"Acknowledgement of Pre-existing Condition" form. 

c. Medical expenses incurred during the first 12 
months following enrollment of employees and/or 
dependents under the plan will not be considered as covered 
medical expenses if they are in connection with a disease, 
illness, accident, or injury for which medical advice, 
diagnosis, care, or treatment was recommended or received 
during the six months immediately prior to the enrollment 
date. The provisions of this Section do not apply to 
pregnancy. 

d. If the covered person was previously covered 
under a group health plan, Medicare, Medicaid or other 
creditable coverage as defined in the Health Insurance 
Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA), credit 
will be given for previous coverage that occurred without a 
break of 63 days or more for the duration of prior coverage 
against the initial 12-month period. Any coverage occurring 
prior to a break in coverage 63 days or more will not be 
credited against a pre-existing condition exclusion period. 

B. Retiree Coverage 
1. Eligibility 

a. Retirees of participant employers are eligible for 
retiree coverage under this Plan. 

b. An employee retired from a participant employer 
may not be covered as an employee. 

c. Retirees are not eligible for coverage as overdue 
applicants. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 06   June 20, 2003 884 

2. Effective Date of Coverage. Retiree coverage will 
be effective on the first day of the month following the date 
of retirement, if the retiree and participant employer have 
agreed to make and are making the required contributions. 

C. Dependent Coverage 
1. Eligibility. A dependent  of an eligible employee or 

retiree will be eligible for dependent coverage on the later of 
the following dates: 

a. the date the employee becomes eligible;  
b. the date the retiree becomes eligible;  
c. the date the covered employee or covered retiree 

acquires a dependent. 
2. Effective Dates of Coverage 

a. Dependents of Employees. Coverage for 
dependents will be effective on the date the employee 
becomes eligible for dependent coverage. 

b. Dependents of Retirees. Coverage for dependents 
of retirees will be effective on the first day of the month 
following the date of retirement if the employee and his 
dependents were covered immediately prior to retirement. 
Coverage for dependents of retirees first becoming eligible 
for dependent coverage following the date of retirement will 
be effective on the date of marriage for new spouses, the 
date of birth for newborn children, or the date acquired  for 
other classifications of dependents, if application is made 
within 30 days of the date of eligibility.  

D. Pre-Existing Condition (PEC) Overdue Application 
1. The terms of the following paragraphs apply to all 

eligible employees who apply for coverage after 30 days 
from the date the employee became eligible for coverage and 
to all eligible dependents of employees and retirees for 
whom the application for coverage was not completed 
within 30 days from the date acquired.  The provisions of 
this Section do not apply to military reservists or national 
guardsmen ordered to active duty who return to state service 
and reapply for coverage with the program within 30 days of 
the date of reemployment. Coverage will be reinstated 
effective on the date of return to state service. The effective 
date of coverage will be: 

a. the first day of the month following the date of 
receipt by the program of all required forms prior to the 
fifteenth of the month; 

b. the first day of the second month following the 
date of the receipt by the program of all required forms on or 
after the fifteenth of the month. 

2. The program will require that all overdue 
applicants complete a "Statement of Physical Condition" and 
an "Acknowledgement of Pre-existing Condition" form. 

3. Medical expenses incurred during the first 12 
months following enrollment of employees and/or 
dependents under the plan will not be considered as covered 
medical expenses if they are in connection with a disease, 
illness, accident, or injury for which medical advice, 
diagnosis, care, or treatment was recommended or received 
during the six months immediately prior to the enrollment 
date. The provisions of this Section do not apply to 
pregnancy. 

4. If the covered person was previously covered under 
a group health plan, Medicare, Medicaid or other creditable 
coverage as defined in the Health Insurance Portability and 
Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA), credit will be given for 
previous coverage that occurred without a break of 63 days 

or more for the duration of prior coverage against the initial 
12-month period. Any coverage occurring prior to a break in 
coverage 63 days or more will not be credited against a pre-
existing condition exclusion period. 

E. Special EnrollmentsCHIPAA. In accordance with 
HIPAA, certain eligible persons for whom the option to 
enroll for coverage was previously declined, and who would 
be considered overdue applicants, may enroll by written 
application to the participant employer under the following 
circumstances, terms and conditions for special enrollments. 

1. Loss of Other Coverage. Special enrollment will be 
permitted for employees or dependents for whom the option 
to enroll for coverage was previously declined because the 
employees or dependents had other coverage which has 
terminated due to: 

a. loss of eligibility through separation, divorce, 
termination of employment, reduction in hours, or death of 
the plan participant; or 

b. cessation of participant employer contributions 
for the other coverage, unless the participant employer 
contributions were ceased for cause or for failure of the 
individual participant to make contributions; or  

c. the employee  or dependent having had COBRA 
continuation coverage under a group health plan and the 
COBRA continuation coverage has been exhausted, as 
provided in HIPAA. 

2. After Acquiring Dependents. Special enrollment 
will be permitted for employees or dependents for whom the 
option to enroll for coverage was previously declined when 
the employee acquires a new dependent by marriage, birth, 
adoption, or placement for adoption. 

a. A special enrollment application must be made 
within 30 days of the termination date of the prior coverage 
or the date the new dependent  is acquired. Persons eligible 
for special enrollment for which an application is made more 
than 30 days after eligibility will be considered overdue 
applicants subject to a pre-existing condition limitation. 

b. The effective date of coverage shall be: 
 i. for loss of other coverage or marriage, the first 
day of the month following the date of receipt by the 
program of all required forms for enrollment; 
 ii. for birth of a dependent, the date of birth; 
 iii. for adoption, the date of adoption or placement 
for adoption. 

c. Special enrollment applicants must complete 
acknowledgment of pre-existing condition and statement of 
physical condition forms. 

d. Medical expenses incurred during the first 12 
months that coverage for the special enrollee is in force 
under this plan will not be considered as covered medical 
expenses if they are in connection with a disease, illness, 
accident or injury for which medical advice, diagnosis, care 
or treatment was recommended or received during the 6-
month period immediately prior to the enrollment date. The 
provisions of this Section do not apply to pregnancy. 

e. If the special enrollee was previously covered 
under a group health plan, Medicare, Medicaid or other 
creditable coverage as defined in HIPAA, the duration of the 
prior coverage will be credited against the initial 12-month 
period used by the program to exclude benefits for a pre-
existing condition if the termination under the prior coverage 
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occurred within 63 days of the date of coverage under the 
plan. 

F. Retirees Special Enrollment. Retirees will not be 
eligible for special enrollment, except under the following 
conditions: 

1. retirement began on or after July 1, 1997; 
2. the retiree can document that creditable coverage 

was in force at the time of the election not to participate or 
continue participation in the plan; 

3. the retiree can demonstrate that creditable coverage 
was maintained continuously from the time of the election 
until the time of requesting special enrollment; 

4. the retiree has exhausted all COBRA and/or other 
continuation rights and has made a formal request to enroll 
within 30 days of the loss of other coverage; and 

5. the retiree has lost eligibility to maintain other 
coverage through no fault of his/her own and has no other 
creditable coverage in effect. 

G. Health Maintenance Organization (HMO) Option 
1. In lieu of participating in the plan, employees and 

retirees may elect coverage under an approved HMO. 
2. New employees may elect to participate in an HMO 

during their initial period of eligibility. Each HMO will hold 
an annual enrollment period for a coverage effective date of 
July 1. Transfer of coverage from the plan to the HMO or 
vice-versa will only be allowed during this annual 
enrollment period. Transfer of coverage will also be allowed 
as a consequence of the employee being transferred into or 
out of the HMO geographic service area, with an effective 
date of the first day of the month following transfer.  

3. If a covered person has elected to transfer coverage, 
but is hospitalized on July 1, the plan, which is providing 
coverage prior to July 1, will continue to provide coverage 
up to the date of discharge from the hospital. 

H. Medicare Risk HMO Option for Retirees. Retirees 
who are eligible to participate in a Medicare Risk HMO plan 
who cancel coverage with the program upon enrollment in a 
Medicare Risk HMO plan may re -enroll in the program 
upon withdrawal from or termination of coverage in the 
Medicare Risk HMO plan, at the earlier of the following: 

1. during the month of November, for coverage 
effective January 1; or 

2. during the next annual enrollment, for coverage 
effective at the beginning of the next plan year. 

I. Tricare for Life Option for Military Retirees. Retirees 
eligible to participate in the Tricare for Life (TFL) option on 
and after October 1, 2001 who cancel coverage with the 
program upon enrollment in TFL may re-enroll in the 
program in the event that the TFL option is discontinued or 
its benefits significantly reduced. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:883 (June 2003).  
§103. Continued Coverage 

A. Leave of Absence. If an employee is allowed an 
approved leave of absence by his participant employer, he 
may retain his coverage for up to one year, if the premium is 
paid. Failure to do so will result in cancellation of coverage. 
The program must be notified by the employee and the 
participant employer within 30 days of the effective date of 
the leave of absence. 

B. Disability 
1. Employees who have been granted a waiver of 

premium for basic or supplemental life insurance prior to 
July 1, 1984 may continue health coverage for the duration 
of the waiver if the employee pays the total contribution to 
the participant employer. Disability waivers were 
discontinued effective July 1, 1984. 

2. If a participant employer withdraws from the plan, 
health and life coverage for all covered persons will 
terminate as of the effective date of withdrawal. 

C. Surviving Dependents/Spouse. The provisions of this 
Section are applicable to surviving dependents who elect to 
continue coverage following the death of an employee or 
retiree. On or after July 1, 1999, eligibility ceases for a 
covered person  who becomes eligible for coverage in a 
group health  plan other than Medicare. Coverage under the 
group health plan may be subject to HIPAA. 

1. Benefits under the plan for covered dependents of a 
deceased covered employee or retiree will terminate on the 
last day of the month in which the employee's or retiree's 
death occurred unless the surviving covered dependents elect 
to continue coverage. 

a. The surviving legal spouse of an employee or 
retiree may continue coverage until the surviving spouse 
becomes eligible for coverage in a group health plan other 
than Medicare. 

b. The surviving children of an employee or retiree 
may continue coverage until they are eligible for coverage 
under a group health plan other than Medicare, or until 
attainment of the termination age for children, whichever 
occurs first. 

c. Surviving dependents/spouse will be entitled to 
receive the same participant employer premium 
contributions as employees and retirees. 

d. Coverage provided by the civilian health and 
medical program of the uniform services will not be 
sufficient to terminate the coverage of an otherwise eligible 
surviving legal spouse or a dependent child. 

2. A surviving spouse or dependent  cannot add new 
dependents to continued coverage other than a child of the 
deceased employee born after the employee's death. 

3. Participant Employer/Dependent Responsibilities 
a. It is the responsibility of the participant employer 

and surviving covered dependent  to notify the program 
within 60 days of the death of the employee or retiree.  

b. The program will notify the surviving 
dependents of their right to continue coverage. 

c. Application for continued coverage must be 
made in writing to the program within 60 days of receipt of 
notification, and premium payment must be made within 45 
days of the date continued coverage is elected for coverage 
retroactive to the date coverage would have otherwise 
terminated. 

d. Coverage for the surviving spouse under this 
Section will continue until the earliest of the following 
events occurs: 
 i. failure to pay the applicable premium;  
 ii. death of the surviving spouse; 
 iii. on or after July 1, 1999, becomes eligible for 
coverage under a group health plan other than Medicare. 
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e. Coverage for a surviving dependent child under 
this Section will continue until the earliest of the following 
events:  
 i. failure to pay the applicable premium;  
 ii. on or after July 1, 1999, becomes eligible for 
coverage under any group health plan other than Medicare; 
 iii. the attainment of the termination age for 
children. 

D. Over-Age Dependents. If an unmarried, never married 
dependent child is incapable of self-sustaining employment 
by reason of mental retardation or physical incapacity and 
became incapable prior to the termination age for children 
and is dependent upon the covered employee for support, the 
coverage for the dependent child may be continued for the 
duration of incapacity.  

1. Prior to attainment of age 21, the program must 
receive documentation for dependents who are mentally 
retarded or who have a physical incapacity. 

2. For purposes of this Section, mental illness does not 
constitute mental retardation. 

3. The program may require that the covered 
employee submit current proof from a licensed medical 
doctor of continued mental retardation or physical incapacity 
as often as it may deem necessary. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:885 (June 2003).  
§105. COBRA 

A. Employees 
1. Benefits under this plan for a covered employee 

will terminate on the last day of the calendar month during 
which employment is terminated voluntarily or involuntarily, 
the employee no longer meets the definition of an employee 
or coverage under a leave of absence expires unless the 
covered employee elects to continue at the employee's own 
expense. Employees terminated for gross misconduct are not 
eligible for COBRA . 

2. It is the responsibility of the participant employer 
to notify the program within 30 days of the date coverage 
would have terminated because of any of the foregoing 
events and the program will notify the employee within 14 
days of his or her right to continue coverage. Application for 
continued coverage must be made in writing to the program 
within 60 days of the date of notification and premium 
payment must be made within 45 days of the date the 
employee elects continued coverage, for coverage retroactive 
to the date coverage would have otherwise terminated. 
Coverage under this Section will continue until the earliest 
of the following: 

a. failure to pay the applicable premium;  
b. 18 months from the date coverage would have 

terminated; 
c. entitlement to Medicare; 
d. coverage under a group health plan, except when 

subject to a pre-existing condition limitation.  
B. Surviving Dependents 

1. Benefits for covered surviving dependents of an 
employee or retiree will terminate on the last day of the 
month in which the employee's or retiree's death occurs, 
unless the surviving covered dependents elect to continue 
coverage at his/her own expense.  

2. It is the responsibility of the participant employer 
or surviving covered dependents to notify the program 
within 30 days of the death of the employee or retiree. The 
program will notify the surviving dependents of their right 
to continue coverage. Application for continued coverage 
must be made in writing to the program within 60 days of 
the date of notification. Premium payment must be made 
within 45 days of the date the continued coverage was 
elected, retroactive to the date coverage would have 
terminated. 

a. Coverage for the surviving dependents under this 
Section will continue until the earliest of the following: 
 i. failure to pay the applicable premium;  
 ii. death of the surviving spouse; 
 iii. entitlement to Medicare; 
 iv. coverage under a group health plan, except 
when subject to a pre-existing condition limitation. 

b. Coverage for a surviving dependent child under 
this Section will continue until the earliest of the following: 
 i. failure to pay the applicable premium;  
 ii. 36 months beyond the date coverage would 
have terminated; 
 iii. entitlement to Medicare; 
 iv. coverage under a group health plan, except 
when subject to a pre-existing condition. 

C. Divorced Spouse 
1. Coverage under this plan will terminate on the last 

day of the month during which dissolution of the marriage 
occurs by virtue of a legal decree of divorce from the 
employee or retiree, unless the covered divorced spouse 
elects to continue coverage at his or her own expense. It is 
the responsibility of the divorced spouse to notify the 
program within 60 days from the date of divorce and the 
program will notify the divorced spouse within 14 days of 
his or her right to continue coverage. Application for 
continued coverage must be made in writing to the program 
within 60 days of notification. Premium payment must be 
made within 45 days of the date continued coverage is 
elected, for coverage retroactive to the date coverage would 
have terminated.  

2. Coverage for the divorced spouse under this 
Section will continue until the earliest of the following: 

a. failure to pay the applicable premium;  
b. 36 months beyond the date coverage would have 

terminated; 
c. entitlement to Medicare; 
d. coverage under a group health plan, except when 

subject to a pre-existing condition. 
D. Dependent Children  

1. Benefits under this plan for a covered dependent 
child of a covered employee or retiree will terminate on the 
last day of the month during which the dependent child no 
longer meets the definition of an eligible covered dependent , 
unless the dependent  elects to continue coverage at his or her 
own expense. It is the responsibility of the dependent to 
notify the program within 60 days of the date coverage 
would have terminated and the program will notify the 
dependent within 14 days of his or her right to continue 
coverage.  

2. Application for continued coverage must be made 
in writing to the program within 60 days of receipt of 
notification and premium payment must be made within 45 
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days of the date the continued coverage is elected, for 
coverage retroactive to the date coverage would have 
terminated.  

3. Coverage for children under this Section will 
continue until the earliest of the following:  

a. failure to pay the applicable premium;  
b. 36 months beyond the date coverage would have 

terminated; 
c. entitlement to Medicare; 
d. coverage under a group health plan, except when 

subject to a pre-existing condition. 
E. Dependents of COBRA Participants 

1. If a covered terminated employee has elected to 
continue coverage and if during the period of continued 
coverage the covered spouse or a covered dependent child 
becomes ineligible for coverage due to: 

a. death of the employee; 
b. divorce from the employee; or 
c. a dependent  child no longer meets the definition 

of an eligible covered dependent; 
2. Then, the spouse and/or dependent  child may elect 

to continue coverage at their own expense. Coverage will 
not be continued beyond 36 months from the date coverage 
would have terminated. 

F. Dependents of Non-Participating Terminated 
Employee  

1. If an employee no longer meets the definition of an 
employee, or a leave of absence has expired and the 
employee has not elected to continue coverage, the covered 
spouse and/or covered dependent children may elect to 
continue coverage at their own expense. The elected 
coverage will be subject to the notification and termination 
provisions. 

2. In the event a dependent  child, covered under the 
provisions of the preceding paragraph no longer meets the 
definition of an eligible covered dependent , he or she may 
elect to continue coverage at his or her own expense. 
Coverage cannot be continued beyond 36 months from the 
date coverage would have terminated.  

G. Miscellaneous Provisions. During the period of 
continuation, benefits will be identical to those provided to 
others enrolled in this plan under its standard eligibility 
provisions for employee and retirees. 

H. Disability COBRA 
1. If a covered employee or covered dependent is 

determined by social security or by the program staff (in the 
case of a person who is ineligible for social security 
disability due to insufficient "quarters" of employment), to 
have been totally disabled on the date the covered person 
became eligible for continued coverage or within the initial 
18 months of coverage, coverage under this plan for the 
covered person who is totally disabled may be extended at 
his or her own expense up to a maximum of 29 months from 
the date coverage would have terminated. To qualify the 
covered person  must: 

a. submit a copy of his or her social security 
disability determination to the program before the initial 18-
month continued coverage period expires and within 60 days 
after the date of issuance of the social security 
determination; or 

b. submit proof of total disability to the program 
before the initial 18-month continued coverage period 
expires. 

2. For purposes of eligibility for continued coverage 
under this Section, total disability means the inability to do 
any substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically 
determinable physical or mental impairment which can be 
expected to last for a continuous period of 12 months. To 
meet this definition one must have a severe impairment 
which makes one unable to do his previous work or any 
other substantial gainful activity which exists in the national 
economy, based upon a person's residual functional capacity, 
age, education and work experience. 

3. The staff and medical director of the program will 
make this determination of total disability based upon 
medical evidence, not conclusions, presented by the 
applicant's physicians, work history, and other relevant 
evidence presented by the applicant. 

4. Coverage under this Section will continue until the 
earliest of the following:  

a. 30 days after the month in which social security 
determines that the covered person is no longer disabled. 
(The covered person  must report the determination to the 
program within 30 days after the date of issuance by social 
security); 

b. 29 months from the date coverage would have 
terminated; 

I. Medicare COBRA. If an employee becomes entitled to 
Medicare on or before the date the employee's eligibility for 
benefits under this plan terminates, the period of continued 
coverage available for the employee's covered dependents 
will be the earliest of the following: 

1. failure to pay the applicable premium;  
2. 36 months beyond the date coverage would have 

terminated; 
3. entitlement to Medicare; 
4. coverage under a group health plan , except when 

subject to a pre-existing condition. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:886 (June 2003). 
§107. Change of Classification 

A. Adding or Deleting Dependents. The plan member 
must notify the program whenever a dependent is added to, 
or deleted from, the plan member's coverage, regardless of 
whether the addition or deletion would result in a change in 
the class of coverage. Notice must be provided within 30 
days of the addition or deletion. 

B. Change in Coverage 
1. When, by reason of a change in family status (e.g., 

marriage, birth of child), the class of coverage is subject to 
change, effective on the date of the event, if application for 
the change is made within 30 days of the date of the event. 

2.  When the addition of a dependent results in the 
class of coverage being changed, the additional premium 
will be charged for the entire month if the date of change 
occurs on or before the fourteenth day of the month. If the 
date of change occurs on or after the fifteenth day of the 
month, additional premium will not be charged until the first 
day of the following month. 
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C. Notification of Change. It is the responsibility of the 
employee to notify the program of any change in 
classification of coverage affecting the employee's 
contribution amount. Any such failure later determined will 
be corrected on the first day of the following month. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:887 (June 2003).  
§109. Contributions 

A. The state of Louisiana may make a contribution 
toward the cost of the plan, as determined on an annual basis 
by the legislature. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:888 (June 2003).  
Chapter 2. Termination of Coverage 
§201. Active Employee and Retired Employee 

Coverage 
A. Subject to continuation of coverage and COBRA 

rules, all benefits of a covered person will terminate under 
this plan on the earliest of the following dates: 

1. on the date the program terminates; 
2. on the date the group or agency employing the 

covered employee terminates or withdraws from the 
program; 

3. on the contribution due date if the group or agency 
fails to pay the required contribution for the covered 
employee; 

4. on the contribution due date if the covered person 
fails to make any contribution which is required for the 
continuation of his coverage; 

5. on the last day of the month of the covered 
employee's death; 

6. on the last day of the month in which the covered 
employee ceases to be eligible. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:888 (June 2003).  
§203. Dependent Coverage Only 

A. Subject to continuation of coverage and COBRA 
rules, dependent coverage will terminate under this plan on 
the earliest of the following dates: 

1. on the last day of the month the employee ceases to 
be covered; 

2. on the last day of the month in which the 
dependent, as defined in this plan ceases to be an eligible 
dependent of the covered employee; 

3. for grandchildren for whom the employee does not 
have legal custody or has not adopted, on the date the child's 
parent ceases to be a covered dependent under this plan or 
the grandchild no longer meets the definition of children; 

4. upon discontinuance of all dependent coverage 
under this plan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:888 (June 2003).  

Chapter 3. Medical Benefits 
§301. Medical Benefits Apply when Eligible Expenses 

are Incurred by a Covered Person 
A. Eligible Expenses. Eligible expenses are the charges 

incurred for the following items of service and supply when 
medically necessary for the treatment of disease, accident, 
illness, or injury. These charges are subject to the applicable  
limits of the fee schedule, schedule of benefits, exclusions 
and other provisions of the plan. A charge is incurred on the 
date that the service or supply is performed or furnished. 
Eligible expenses are: 

1. hospital care. The medical services and supplies 
furnished by a hospital  or ambulatory surgical center. 
covered charges for room and board  will be payable as 
shown in the schedule of benefits; 

2. services of a physician; 
3. routine nursing services, i.e., "floor nursing" 

services provided by nurses employed by the hospital  are 
considered as part of the room and board ; 

4. anesthesia and its administration; 
5. laboratory examinations and diagnostic X-rays; 
6. nuclear medicine and electroshock therapy; 
7. blood and blood plasma, blood derivatives and 

blood processing, when not replaced; 
8. surgical and medical supplies billed for treatment 

received in a hospital or ambulatory surgical center, and 
other covered provider's surgical and medical supplies as 
listed below: 

a. cathetersCexternal and internal; 
b. cervical collar; 
c. leg bags for urinal drainage; 
d. ostomy supplies; 
e. prosthetic socks; 
f. prosthetic sheath; 
g. sling (arm or wrist); 
h. suction catheter for oral evacuation; 
i. surgical shoe (following foot surgery only);  
j. plaster casts; 
k. splints; 
l. surgical trays (for certain procedures);  

9. services of licensed physical, occupational or 
speech therapist when prescribed by a physician and pre-
approved through outpatient procedure certification; 

10. intravenous injections, solutions, and eligible 
related intravenous supplies;  

11. services rendered by a doctor of dental surgery 
(D.D.S.) or doctor of dental medicine (D.M.D.) for the 
treatment of accidental injuries to a covered person's sound 
natural teeth, if: 

a. coverage was in effect with respect to the 
individual at the time of the accident; 

b. treatment commences within 90 days from the 
date of the accident and is completed within two years from 
the date of the accident; and  

c. coverage remains continuously in effect with 
respect to the covered person during the course of the 
treatment; eligible expenses will be limited to the original 
estimated total cost of treatment as estimated at the time of 
initial treatment; 

12. durable medical equipment, subject to the lifetime 
maximum payment limitation as listed in the schedule of 
benefits. The program will require written certification by 
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the treating physician to substantiate the medical necessity 
for the equipment and the length of time it will be used; 

13. initial prosthetic appliances. Subsequent prosthetic 
appliances are eligible only when acceptable certification is 
furnished to the program by the attending physician; 

14. professional ambulance services, subject to the 
following provisions: 

a. licensed professional ambulance service in a 
vehicle licensed for highway use to or from a hospital  with 
facilities to treat an illness or injury. The program will 
consider a maximum up to $350 less a $50 copayment for 
transportation charges. Medical services and supplies will be 
considered separately; 

b. licensed air ambulance service to a hospital with 
facilities to treat an illness or injury. The program will 
consider a maximum up to $1,500 less a $250 copayment. 
Medical services and supplies will be considered separately; 

15. one pair of eyeglass lenses or contact lenses 
required as a result of bilateral cataract surgery performed 
while coverage was in force. Expenses incurred for the 
eyeglass frames will be limited to a maximum benefit of 
$50; 

16. the first two pairs of surgical pressure support hose. 
Additional surgical support hose may be considered an 
eligible expense at the rate of one pair per six-month period; 

17. the first two ortho-mammary surgical brassieres. 
Additional ortho-mammary surgical brassieres may be 
considered an eligible expense at the rate of one per six-
month period; 

18. orthopedic shoes prescribed by a physician and 
completely custom built; 

19. acupuncture when rendered by a medical doctor;  
20. eligible expenses associated with an organ 

transplant procedure including expenses for patient 
screening, organ procurement, transportation of the organ, 
transportation of the patient and/or donor, surgery for the 
patient and donor and immunosuppressant drugs, if:  

a. the transplantation must not be considered 
experimental or investigational by the American Medical 
Association; 

b. the transplant surgery must be performed at a 
medical center, which has an approved transplant program as 
determined by Medicare; 

c. the plan will not cover expenses for the 
transportation of surgeons or family members of either the 
patient or donor;  

d. all benefits paid will be applied against the 
lifetime maximum benefit of the transplant recipient; 

21. services of a physical therapist and occupational 
therapist licensed by the state in which the services are 
rendered when: 

a. prescribed by a licensed medical doctor;  
b. services require the skills of and performed by a 

licensed physical therapist or licensed occupational 
therapist; 

c. restorative potential exists; 
d. meets the standard for medical practice; 
e. reasonable and necessary for the treatment of the 

disease, illness, accident, injury or postoperative condition; 
f. approved through outpatient procedure 

certification; 
22. cardiac rehabilitation when: 

a. rendered at a medical facility under the 
supervision of a physician; 

b. rendered in connection with a myocardial 
infarction, angioplasty with or without stinting, or cardiac 
bypass surgery; 

c. completed within 6 months following the 
qualifying event; 

NOTE: Charges incurred for dietary instruction, educational 
services, behavior modification literature, health club 
membership, exercise equipment, preventative programs and 
any other items excluded by the plan are not covered. 

23. routine physical examinations and immunizations 
as follows: 

a. well-baby care expenses subject to co-payments: 
 i. newborn facility and professional charges; 
 ii. birth to age 1Call office visits for scheduled 
immunizations and screening; 

b. well-child care expenses subject to co-payments: 
 i. age 1 to age 3C3 office visits per year for 
scheduled immunizations and screening; 
 ii. age 3 to age 16C1 office visit per year for 
scheduled immunizations and screening; 

c. well-adult care expenses, subject to co-payment 
specified in the schedule of benefits, for routine physical 
examination by a physician and related laboratory and 
radiology charges: 
 i. age 16 until age 40C$200 during a 3-year 
period; 
 ii. age 40 until age 50C$200 during a 2-year 
period; 
 iii. age 50 and overC$200 during a 1-year period; 

24. cancer screenings as follows: 
a. one pap test for cervical cancer per plan year;  
b. screening mammographic examinations 

performed according to the following schedule: 
 i. one baseline mammogram during the five-year 
period a person is 35-39 years of age;  
 ii. one mammogram every two plan years for any 
person who is 40-49 years of age or more frequently if 
recommended by a physician; 
 iii. one mammogram every 12 months for any 
person who is 50 years of age or older;  

c. testing for detection of prostate cancer, including 
digital rectal examination and prostate-specific antigen 
testing, once every twelve months for men over the age of 
50 years, and as medically necessary for men over the age of 
40 years; 

25. outpatient surgical facility fees as specified in the 
maximum payment schedule; 

26. midwifery services performed by a certified 
midwife or a certified nurse midwife; 

27. physician's assistants, perfusionists, and registered 
nurse assistants assisting in the operating room;  

28. splint therapy for the treatment of 
temporomandibular joint dysfunction (TMJ), limited to a 
lifetime benefit of $600 for a splint and initial panorex x-ray 
only. Surgical treatment for TMJ will only be eligible 
following a demonstrated failure of splint therapy and upon 
approval by the program; 

29. oxygen and oxygen equipment; 
30. outpatient self-management training and education, 

including medical nutrition therapy, for the treatment of 
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diabetes, when these services are provided by a licensed 
health care professional with demonstrated expertise in 
diabetes care and treatment who has completed an 
educational program required by the appropriate licensing 
board in compliance with the National Standards for 
Diabetes Self-Management Education Program as developed 
by the American Diabetes Association, and only as follows: 

a. a one-time evaluation and training program for 
diabetes self management, conducted by the health care 
professional in compliance with National Standards for 
Diabetes Self Management Education Program as developed 
by the American Diabetes Association, upon certification by 
the health care professional that the covered person has 
successfully completed the program, such benefits not to 
exceed $500; 

b. additional diabetes self-management training 
required because of a significant change in the patient's 
symptoms or conditions, limited to benefits of $100 per year 
and $2,000 per lifetime; 

c. services must be rendered at a facility with a 
diabetes educational program recognized by the American 
Diabetes Association; 

31.a. testing of sleep disorders only when the tests are 
performed at either: 
 i. a sleep study facility accredited by the 
American Sleep Disorders Association or the Joint 
Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations 
(JCAHO); or 
 ii. a sleep study facility located within a 
healthcare facility accredited by JCAHO; 

b. no benefits are payable for surgical treatment of 
sleep disorders (including LAUP) except following 
demonstrated failure of non-surgical treatment and upon 
approval by the program; 

32. mental health and/or substance abuse services only 
when obtained through the program's managed behavioral 
health care organization contractor as shown in the schedule 
of benefits. These services must be identified by a DSM IV 
diagnosis code. 

B. Emergency Services - Subject to all applicable terms 
of the Plan, emergency services will be considered eligible 
expenses whether rendered by a participating provider or 
non-participating provider, as follows. 

1. Emergency services provided to a covered person 
who is later determined not to have required emergency 
services will be considered eligible expenses except: 

a. when the covered person's medical condition 
would not have led a prudent lay person, acting reasonably 
and possessing an average knowledge of health and 
medicine, to believe that the absence of immediate medical 
attention could reasonably be expected to result in serious 
jeopardy to health, serious impairment to bodily functions, 
or serious dysfunction of any bodily organ, unless the 
covered person was referred for emergency services by a 
participating provider or by an agent of OGB; or 

b. when there was material misrepresentation, 
fraud, omission, or clerical error.  

2. If a covered person requires hospitalization at a 
non-participating provider medically necessary inpatient 
services rendered by the non-participating provider will be 
considered eligible expenses until the covered person can be 
transferred to a participating provider.  

3. OGB must be notified of the emergency services 
within 48 hours following commencement of treatment or 
admission, or as soon as medical circumstances permit. See 
also §307.C regarding the requirement for pre-admission 
certification (PAC) for emergency admissions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:888 (June 2003).  
§303. Fee Schedule 

A. The fee schedule sets the maximum fee that the 
program will allow for an eligible medical expense. 

B. If the medical provider accepts an assignment of 
benefits, the plan member cannot be billed for amounts 
exceeding the fee schedule. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:890 (June 2003).  
§305. Automated Claims Adjusting 

A. Auto audit is a software program that applies all 
claims against its medical logic program to identify 
improperly billed charges, and charges for which this plan 
provides no benefits. Any claim with diagnosis or procedure 
codes deemed inadequate or inappropriate will be 
automatically reduced or denied. Providers accepting 
assignment of benefits cannot bill the plan member for the 
reduced amounts. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:890 (June 2003).  
§307. Utilization ReviewCPre-Admission Certification, 

Continued Stay Review 
A. Pre-admission certification (PAC) and continued stay 

review (CSR) establish the medical necessity and length of 
inpatient hospital confinement.  

B. For a routine vaginal delivery, PAC is not required for 
a stay of 2 days or less. If the mother's stay exceeds or is 
expected to exceed 2 days, PAC is required within 24 hours 
after the delivery or the date on which any complications 
arose, whichever is applicable. If the baby's stay exceeds that 
of the mother, PAC is required within 72 hours of the 
mother's discharge and a separate pre-certification number 
must be obtained for the baby. In the case of a scheduled 
caesarean section, it is required that PAC be obtained prior 
to or the day of admission.  

C. No benefits will be paid under the plan: 
1. unless PAC is requested at least 72 hours prior to 

the planned date of admission; 
2. unless PAC is requested within 48 hours of 

admission, or as soon as medical circumstances, permit in 
the case of emergency services; 

3. for hospital charges incurred during any 
confinement for which PAC was requested, but which was 
not certified as medically necessary by the program's 
utilization review contractor; 

4. for hospital charges incurred during any 
confinement for any days in excess of the number of days 
certified through PAC or CSR. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:890 (June 2003).  
§309. Outpatient Procedure Certification (OPC) 

A. OPC certifies that certain outpatient procedures and 
therapies are medically necessary.  

B. OPC is required on the following procedures: 
1. cataract; 
2. laparoscopic cholecystectomy; 
3. lithotripsy; 
4. all PET scans and MRI's, as follows: 

a. brain/head lower extremity; 
b. upper extremity; 
c. spine; 

5. knee arthroscopy; 
6. septoplasty; 
7. therapies: 

a. physical therapy; 
b. speech therapy; 
c. occupational therapy; 
d. therapy with unlisted modality. 

C. No benefits will be paid for the facility fee in 
connection with outpatient procedures, or the facility and 
professional fee in connection with outpatient therapies: 

1. unless OPC is requested at least 72 hours prior to 
the planned date of procedure or therapy; 

2. for charges incurred on any listed procedure for 
which OPC was requested but not certified as medically 
necessary by the program's utilization review contractor. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:891 (June 2003).  
§311. Case Management 

A. Case management (CM) is the care management 
program available in cases of illness or injury where critical 
care is required and/or treatment of extended duration is 
anticipated. 

B. Case management may provide coverage for services 
that are not normally covered. To be eligible, the condition 
being treated must be a covered condition, and Case 
management must be approved prior to the service being 
rendered. 

C. These charges are subject to the applicable  
co-payments, fee schedule and ma ximum benefit limitations. 

D. The following criteria must be met: 
1. the program must be the primary carrier at the time 

case management is requested. Any case management plan 
will be contingent upon the program remaining the primary 
carrier; 

2. the patient must not be confined in any type of 
nursing home setting at the time case management is 
requested; 

3. there must be a projected savings to the program 
through case management; or a projection that case 
management expenses will not exceed normal plan benefits; 
and 

a. the proposed treatment plan will enhance the 
patient's quality of life;  

b. benefits will be utilized at a slower rate through 
the alternative treatment plan. 

E. If approved, case management may provide any of the 
following: 

1. alternative care in special rehabilitation facilities; 
2. alternative care in a skilled nursing facility/unit or 

swing bed (not nursing home), or the patient's home, subject 
to the applicable co-payments; 

3. avoidance of complications by earlier hospital 
discharge, alternative care and training of the patient and/or 
family; 

4. home health care services limited to 150 visits per 
plan year; 

5. hospice care/benefits are always payable at 80 
percent never at 100 percent: 

6. private duty nursing care; 
7. total parenteral nutrition, provided that home visits 

for TPN are not reimbursable separately; 
8. enteral nutrition up to a single 90-day period for 

instances where through surgery or neuromuscular 
mechanisms the patient cannot maintain nutrition and the 
condition can reasonably be expected to improve during this 
one 90-day timespan. 

F. Mental health and substance abuse treatments or 
conditions are not eligible for case management. 

G. Benefits are considered payable only upon the 
recommendation of the program's contractor, with the 
approval of the attending physician, patient or his 
representative, and the program or its representative. 
Approval is contingent upon the professional opinion of the 
program's medical director, consultant, or his designee as to 
the appropriateness of the recommended alternative care. 

H. If a condition is likely to be lengthy or if care could 
be provided in a less costly setting, the program's contractor 
may recommend an alternative plan of care to the physician 
and patient. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:891 (June 2003).  
§313. Dental Surgical Benefits 

A. When excision of one or more impacted teeth is 
performed by a doctor of dental surgery (D.D.S.) or doctor 
of dental medicine (D.M.D.) while coverage is in force, the 
program will pay the eligible expense actually incurred for 
the surgical procedure.  

B. Expenses incurred in connection with the removal of 
impacted teeth, including pre-operative and post-operative 
care are subject to the applicable co-payments and the 
maximum benefit provisions of the plan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:891 (June 2003). 
§315. Medicare Reduction 

A. If the patient has not chosen and paid a separate 
premium for the full coordination of benefits option, the 
charges will be reduced by whatever amounts are paid or 
payable by Medicare. The program requires written 
confirmation from the Social Security Administration or its
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successor if a person is not eligible for Medicare coverage. 
All provisions of this plan, including all limitations and 
exceptions, will be applied.  

B. Retiree 100-Medicare COB. Upon enrollment and 
payment of the additional monthly premium, a plan member 
and his dependents may choose to have full coordination of 
benefits with Medicare. Enrollment must be made within 30 
days of eligibility for Medicare or within 30 days of 
retirement if already eligible for Medicare and at the annual 
open enrollment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:891 (June 2003). 
§317. Exceptions and Exclusions for All Medical 

Benefits 
A. No benefits are provided under this plan for: 

1. cases covered, in whole or in part, by any worker's 
compensation program, regardless of whether the patient has 
filed a claim for benefits. This applies to compensation 
provided on an expense-incurred basis or blanket settlements 
for past and future losses; 

2. convalescent, skilled nursing, sanitarium, or 
custodial care  or rest cure; 

3. expenses for elective, non-therapeutic voluntary 
abortion, although expenses for complications as a result are 
covered; 

4. injuries sustained while in an aggressor role; 
5. expenses incurred as a result of the patient's attempt 

at a felony or misdemeanor; 
6. expenses incurred by a covered person in 

connection with cosmetic surgery, unless necessary for the 
immediate repair of a deformity caused by a disease and/or 
injury which occurs while coverage is in force. No payment 
will be made for expenses incurred in connection with the 
treatment of any body part not affected by the disease and/or 
injury; 

7. expenses incurred for shoes and related items 
similar to wedges, cookies and arch supports; 

8. any expense, except for actual out-of-pocket 
expenses, incurred by a member of a Health Maintenance 
Organization (HMO), Health Maintenance Plan (HMP) or 
other prepaid medical plan or medical services plan if the 
covered person is enrolled on a group (employer-sponsored) 
basis; 

9. dental braces and orthodontic appliances (for 
whatever reason prescribed or utilized) and treatment of 
periodontal disease; 

10. dentures, dental implants and any surgery for their 
use, except if needed as the result of an accident that meets 
the program's requirements; 

11. medical services, treatment or prescription drugs 
provided without charge to the covered person  or for which 
the covered person is not legally obligated to pay; 

12. maternity expenses incurred by any person other 
than the employee or the employee's legal spouse; 

13. personal convenience items including, but not 
limited to, admit kits, bedside kits, telephone and television, 
guest meals, beds, and similar items; 

14. charges for services and supplies which are in 
excess of the maximum allowable under the medical fee 

schedule, outpatient surgical facility fee schedule, or any 
other limitations of the plan; 

15. services and supplies which are not medically 
necessary; 

16. services rendered for remedial reading and 
recreational, visual and behavioral modification therapy, 
pain rehabilitation control and/or therapy, and dietary or 
educational instruction for all illnesses, other than diabetes; 

17. services and supplies in connection with or related 
to gender dysphoria or reverse sterilization;  

18. artificial organ implants, penile implants, 
transplantation of other than homo sapiens (human) organs;  

19. expenses subsequent to the initial diagnosis, for 
infertility and complications, including, but not limited to, 
services, drugs, and procedures or devices to achieve 
fertility; in-vitro fertilization, low tubal transfer, artificial 
insemination, intracytoplasmic sperm injection, embryo 
transfer, gamete transfer, zygote transfer, surrogate 
parenting, donor semen, donor eggs, and reversal of 
sterilization procedures; 

20. air conditioners and/or filters, dehumidifiers, air 
purifiers, wigs or toupees, heating pads, cold devices, home 
enema equipment, rubber gloves, swimming pools, saunas, 
whirlpool baths, home pregnancy tests, lift  chairs, devices or 
kits to stimulate the penis, exercise equipment, and any other 
items not normally considered medical supplies; 

21. administrative fees, interest, penalties or sales tax;  
22. marriage counseling and/or family relations 

counseling; 
23. charges for services rendered over the telephone 

from a physician to a covered person ; 
24. radial keratotomy or any procedures for the 

correction of refractive errors; 
25. speech therapy, except when ordered by a physician 

for the purpose of restoring partial or complete loss of 
speech resulting from stroke, surgery, cancer, radiation 
laryngitis, cerebral palsy, accidental injuries or other similar 
structural or neurological disease; 

26. services and supplies related to obesity, surgery for 
excess fat in any area of the body, resection of excess skin or 
fat following weight loss or pregnancy; 

27. hearing aids, or any examination to determine the 
fitting or necessity; 

28. hair transplants; 
29. routine physical examinations or immunizations not 

listed under elig ible expenses;  
30. diagnostic or treatment measures which are not 

recognized as generally accepted medical practice;  
31. medical supplies not listed under eligible expenses;  
32. treatment or services for mental health and 

substance abuse provided outside the treatment plan 
developed by the program's managed behavioral health care 
organization or by therapists with whom or at facilities with 
which the program's managed behavioral health care 
organization does not have a contract;  

33. expenses for services rendered by a dentist or oral 
surgeon and any ancillary or related services, except for 
covered dental surgical procedures, dental procedures which 
fall under the guidelines of eligible dental accidents, 
procedures necessitated as a result of or secondary to cancer, 
or oral and maxillofacial surgeries which are shown to the 
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satisfaction of the program to be medically necessary, non-
dental, non-cosmetic procedures;  

34. genetic testing, except when determined to be 
medically necessary during a covered pregnancy; 

35. treatment for temporomandibular joint dysfunction 
(TMJ), except as listed under eligible expenses; 

36. services of a private-duty registered nurse (R.N.) or 
of a private-duty licensed practical nurse (L.P.N.); 

37. breast thermograms; 
38. services rendered by any provider related to the 

patient by blood, adoption or marriage; 
39. facility fees for services rendered in a physician's 

office or in any facility not approved by the federal Health 
Care Financing Administration for payment of such fees 
under Medicare; 

40. glucometers; 
41. services rendered by a non-participating provider, 

except emergency services as provided herein. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:892 (June 2003).  
§319. Coordination of Benefits 

A. Coordination of benefits is the order of payment when 
two or more plans are involved. When a patient is also 
covered by another plan, the plans will coordinate benefits.  

B. Benefit plan is this plan or any one of the following: 
1. group or employer sponsored plan; 
2. group practice and other group prepayment plan; 
3. other plans required or provided by law. This does 

not include Medicaid or any benefit plan that does not allow 
coordination. 

C. Primary Plan and Secondary Plan 
1. All benefits provided are subject to coordination of 

benefits. 
2. Benefit Plan Payment Order 

a. If an individual is covered by more than one plan, 
the order of benefit payment will follow guidelines 
established by the National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners, except for Health Maintenance 
Organizations or other types of employer-sponsored prepaid 
medical plans. 

b. The plan that pays first will pay as if there were 
no other plan involved. The secondary and subsequent plans 
may pay the balance due up to 100 percent of the total 
allowable expense. No plan will pay benefits greater than it 
would have paid in the absence of coordination of benefits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:893 (July 2003).  
§321. Managed Care Option  

A. The program may implement Managed Care Option 
(MCO) arrangements or other agreements to discount 
payable fees. The program reserves to itself the right to 
negotiate the amount of the discount, the incentives to be 
offered to plan members and all other provisions which are a 
part of any discount fee arrangement. To be eligible, the 
program must be the primary carrier at the time services are 
rendered. The only exception would be on a covered person 
with only Medicare Part A, who did not also have Medicare 

Part B. The Part B charges would be eligible for MCO 
benefits. 

1. If a covered person obtains medical services or 
hospital services from an eligible provider who has agreed to 
provide the services at a mutually agreed upon discount from 
the maximum medical fee schedule or at a per diem or 
discounted rate from a hospital, the program will pay after 
applicable co-pays, as specified in the schedule of benefits. 
There is a contractual assignment to all MCO participating 
providers. 

2. Point of Service MCO Regions (Areas) 
a. The following regions are used to determine 

whether there is an MCO participating provider in the same 
area as the point of service. 

 
Region 1 - Zip Codes 70000 through 70199 
Region 2 - Zip Codes 70300 through 70399 
Region 3 - Zip Codes 70400 through 70499 
Region 4 - Zip Codes 70500 through 70599 
Region 5 - Zip Codes 70600 through 70699 
Region 6 - Zip Codes 70700 through 70899 
Region 7 - Zip Codes 71300 through 71499 
Region 8 - Zip Codes 71000 through 71199 
Region 9 - Zip Codes 71200 through 71299 

 
b. If a non-participating provider is used, then no 

benefits are payable except for emergency services as 
provided herein. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:893 (June 2003).  
§323. Prescription Drug Benefits 

A. This plan allows benefits for drugs and medicines 
approved by the Food and Drug Administration or its 
successor requiring a prescription and dispensed by a 
licensed pharmacist or pharmaceutical company, but which 
are not administered to a covered person as an inpatient 
hospital patient or an outpatient hospital patient, including 
insulin, Retin -A dispensed for covered persons under the age 
of 26, vitamin B12 injections, prescription potassium 
chloride, and over-the-counter diabetic supplies, including, 
but not limited to, strips, lancets, and swabs. In addition, this 
plan allows benefits, not to exceed $200 per month, for 
expenses incurred for the purchase of low protein food 
products for the treatment of inherited metabolic diseases if 
the low protein food products are medically necessary and 
are obtained from a source approved by the OGB. Such 
expenses shall be subject to co-payments relating to 
prescription drug benefits. In connection with this benefit, 
the following words shall have the following meanings. 

1. Inherited Metabolic DiseaseCa disease caused by 
an inherited abnormality of body chemistry and shall be 
limited to: 

a. phenyyketonuria (PKU); 
b. maple syrup urine disease (MSUD); 
c. methylmalonic acidemia (MMA); 
d. isovaleric acidemia (IVA); 
e. propionic acidemia; 
f. glutaric acidemia; 
g. urea cycle defects; 
h. tyrosinemia. 
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2. Low Protein Food ProductsCa food product that is 
especially formulated to have less than one gram of protein 
per serving and is intended to be used under the direction of 
a physician for the dietary treatment of an inherited 
metabolic disease. Low protein food products shall not 
include a natural food that is naturally low in protein. 

B. The following drugs, medicines, and related services 
are not covered: 

1. appetite suppressant drugs; 
2. dietary supplements; 
3. topical forms of Minoxidil;  
4. Retin-A dispensed for a covered person  over age 

26; 
5. amphetamines dispensed for diagnoses other than 

Attention Deficit Disorder or Narcolepsy; 
6. nicotine, gum, patches, or other products, services, 

or programs intended to assist an individual to reduce or 
cease smoking or other use of tobacco products; 

7. nutritional or parenteral therapy; 
8. vitamins and minerals;  
9. drugs available over the counter; and 
10. serostim dispensed for any diagnoses or therapeutic 

purposes other than AIDS wasting; 
11. drugs for treatment of impotence, except following 

surgical removal of the prostate gland; and 
12. glucometers. 

C. Outpatient prescription drug benefits are adjudicated 
by a third-party pharmacy benefits manager with whom the 
program has contracted. In addition to all provisions, 
exclusions and limitations relative to prescription drugs set 
forth elsewhere in this plan of benefits, the following apply 
to expenses incurred for outpatient prescription drugs. 

1. The eligible expense for a prescription drug is 
limited to the allowable cost of the generic drug, if a generic 
is available, and to the allowable cost for brand drugs 
identified on the pharmacy benefits manager's list of 
preferred drugs, if generic is not available. 

2. Upon presentation of the OGB health benefits 
identification card at a participating pharmacy, the plan 
member is responsible for payment of 50 percent of eligible 
expense, up to $50 per prescription dispensed, and 100 
percent of excess cost (over and above the eligible expense) 
at the point of purchase. The plan will pay the balance of the 
eligible expense for prescription drugs dispensed at a 
participating pharmacy.  

NOTE: There is no per prescription maximum on the plan 
member's responsibility for payment of excess cost. Plan 
member payments for excess costs are not applied toward 
satisfaction of the annual out of pocket threshold (below).  

3. In the event the plan member does not present the 
OGB health benefits identification card to the participating 
pharmacy at the time of purchase, or prescription drugs are 
purchased from a non-participating pharmacy, the plan 
member will be responsible for full payment for the drug 
cost. No benefits are payable by the plan, and the plan 
member's payment will not be applied toward satisfaction of 
the annual out-of-pocket threshold in Paragraph 4. 

4. There is a $1200 per person per plan year out-of-
pocket threshold for eligible expenses for prescription drugs. 
Once this threshold is reached, that is, the plan member has 
paid $1,200 of eligible expenses for prescription drugs, the 
plan member will be responsible for a $15 co-pay for brand 
drugs on the pharmacy benefits manager's list of preferred 

drugs, with no co-pay for generic drugs. The plan will pay 
the balance of the eligible expense for prescription drugs 
dispensed at a participating pharmacy.  

5. Prescription drug dispensing and refills will be 
limited in accordance with protocols established by the 
prescription benefits manager, including the following 
limitations. 

a. Up to a 34-day supply of drugs may be dispensed 
upon initial presentation of a prescription or for refills 
dispensed more than 120 days after the most recent fill. 

b. For refills dispensed within 120 days of the most 
recent fill, up to a 102-day supply of drugs may be dispensed 
at one time, provided that co-payments shall be due and 
payable as follows. 
 i. For a supply of 1-34 days the plan member will 
be responsible for payment of 50 percent of the eligible 
expense for the drug, up to a maximum of $50 per 
prescription dispensed, and 100 percent of excess cost. 
 ii. For a supply of 35-64 days the plan member 
will be responsible for payment of fifty percent of the 
eligible expense for the drug, up to a maximum of $100 per 
prescription dispensed, and 100 percent of excess cost. 
 iii. For a supply of 69-102 days the plan member 
will be responsible for payment of 50 percent of the eligible 
expense for the drug, up to a maximum of $150 per 
prescription dispensed, and 100 percent of excess cost. 

NOTE: There is no per prescription maximum on the plan 
member's responsibility for payment of excess cost. Plan 
member payments for excess costs are not applied toward 
satisfaction of the annual out of pocket threshold (above).  

 iv. Once the out-of-pocket threshold for eligible 
expenses for prescription drug is reached, the plan member's 
co-payment responsibility for brand drugs on the Pharmacy 
Benefits Manager's list of preferred drugs will be $15 for a 
1-34 days supply, $30 for a 35-64 days supply, and $45 for a 
69-102 days supply, with no co-pay for up to a 102-days 
supply of generic drugs. 

6. Brand DrugCthe trademark name of a drug 
approved by the U. S. Food and Drug Administration. 

7. Generic DrugCa chemically equivalent copy of a 
brand drug. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:893 (June 2003). 
Chapter 4. Uniform Provisions 
§401. Statement of Contractual Agreement 

A. This written plan of benefits as amended and any 
documents executed by or on behalf of the covered employee 
constitute the entire agreement between the parties. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:894 (June 2003).  
§403. Properly Submitted Claim 

A. For plan reimbursements, all bills must show: 
1. employee's name; 
2. name of patient; 
3. name, address, and telephone number of the 

provider of care; 
4. diagnosis; 
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5. type of services rendered, with diagnosis and/or 
procedure codes; 

6. date of service; 
7. charges; 
8. employee's member number; 
9. provider tax identification number; 
10. Medicare explanation of benefits, if applicable. 

B. The program can require additional documentation in 
order to determine the extent of coverage or the appropriate 
reimbursement. Failure to furnish the requested information 
will constitute reason for the denial of benefits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:894 (June 2003).  
§405. When Claims must be Filed 

A. A claim for benefits must be received by the program 
within one year from the date on which the medical 
expenses were incurred. 

B. The receipt date for electronically filed claims is the 
date on which the program receives the claim, not the date 
on which the claims is submitted to a clearinghouse or to the 
providers practice management system. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:895 (June 2003).  
§407. Right to Receive and Release Information 

A. The program may release to, or obtain from any 
company, organization, or person, without consent of or 
notice to any person, any information regarding any person 
which the program deems necessary to carry out the 
provisions of this plan, or like terms of any plan, or to 
determine how, or if, they apply. Any claimant under this 
plan must furnish to the program any information necessary 
to implement this provision. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:895 (June 2003).  
§409. Legal Limitations  

A. A plan member must exhaust the administrative 
claims review procedure before filing a suit for benefits. No 
action shall be brought to recover benefits under this plan 
more than one year after the time a claim is required to be 
filed or more than 30 days after mailing of the notice of 
decision of the administrative claims committee, whichever 
is later. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:895 (July 2003).  
§411. Benefit Payment to other Group Health Plans 

A. When payments, which should have been made under 
this plan, have been made by another group health  plan, the 
program may pay to the other plan the sum proper to satisfy 
the terms of this plan of benefits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:895 (June 2003).  
§413. Recovery of Overpayments 

A. If an overpayment occurs, the program retains the 
right to recover the overpayment. The covered person , 
institution or provider receiving the overpayment must 
return the overpayment. At the plan's discretion, the 
overpayment may be deducted from future claims. Should 
legal action be required as a result of fraudulent statements 
or deliberate omissions on the application, the defendant will 
be responsible for attorney fees of 25 percent of the 
overpayment or $1,000 whichever is greater. The defendant 
will also be responsible for court costs and legal interest 
from date of judicial demand until paid. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:895 (June 2003).  
§415. Third Party Recovery Provision 

A. Right of Subrogation and Reimbursement. When this 
provision applies, the covered person may incur medical or 
dental charges due to injuries which may be caused by the 
act or omission of a third party or a third party may be 
responsible for payment. In such circumstances, the covered 
person may have a claim against the third party, or insurer, 
for payment of the medical or dental charges. Accepting 
benefits under this plan for those incurred medical or dental 
expenses automatically assigns to the program any rights the 
covered person may have to recover payments from any 
third party or insurer. This right allows the program to 
pursue any claim which the covered person has against any 
third party, or insurer, whether or not the covered person 
chooses to pursue that claim. The program may make a 
claim directly against the third party or insurer, but in any 
event, the program has a lien on any amount recovered by 
the covered person  whether or not designated as payment for 
medical expenses. This lien will remain in effect until the 
program is repaid in full. The program reserves the right to 
recover either from the liable third party or the covered 
person. The covered person: 

1. automatically assigns to the program his or her 
rights against any third party or insurer when this provision 
applies;  

2. must notify the program of a pending third-party 
claim; and 

3. must repay to the program the benefits paid on his 
or her behalf out of the recovery made from the third party 
or insurer. 

B. Amount Subject to Subrogation or Reimbursement 
1. The covered person agrees to recognize the 

program's right to subrogation  and reimbursement. These 
rights provide the program with a priority over any funds 
paid by a third party to a covered person relative to the 
injury or sickness, including a priority over any claim for 
non-medical or dental charges, attorney fees, or other costs 
and expenses. 

2. Notwithstanding its priority to funds, the program's 
subrogation and reimbursement rights, as well as the rights 
assigned to it, are limited to the extent to which the program 
has made, or will make, payments for medical or dental 
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charges as well as any costs and fees associated with the 
enforcement of its rights under the program. 

3. When a right of recovery exists, the covered person 
will cooperate and provide requested information as well as 
doing whatever else is needed to secure the program's right 
of subrogation and reimbursement as a condition to having 
the program make payments. In addition, the covered person 
will do nothing to prejudice the right of the program to 
subrogate or seek reimbursement. 

4. This right of refund also applies when a covered 
person recovers under an uninsured or underinsured motorist 
plan, homeowner's plan, renter's plan, medical malpractice 
plan, worker's compensation plan or any liability plan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:895 (June 2003).  
§417. Employer Responsibility 

A. It is the responsibility of the Participant Employer to 
submit enrollment and change forms and all other necessary 
documentation on behalf of its employees to OGB. 
Employees of a participant employer will not by virtue of 
furnishing any documentation to OGB on behalf of a plan 
member, be considered agents of OGB, and no 
representation made by any such person at any time will 
change the provisions of this Plan. 

B. A participant employer shall immediately inform the 
OGB Program whenever a retiree with OGB coverage 
returns to full-time employment. The employee shall be 
placed in the Re-employed Retiree category for premium 
calculation. The re-employed retiree premium classification 
applies to retirees with Medicare and without Medicare. The 
premium rates applicable to the re-employed retiree 
premium classification shall be identical to the premium 
rates applicable to the classification for retirees without 
Medicare. 

C. Any participant employer that receives a Medicare 
Secondary Payer (MSP) collection notice or demand letter 
shall deliver the MSP notice to the Office of Group Benefits, 
MSP Adjuster, within 15 days of receipt. If timely forwarded 
to OGB, then OGB will assume responsibility for any 
medical benefits, interest, fines or penalties due to Medicare 
for a covered employee. If not timely forwarded to OGB, 
then OGB will assume responsibility only for Covered 
medical benefits due to Medicare, for a covered employee 
pursuant to this plan of benefits. The participant employer 
will be responsible for any interest, fines or penalties due. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:896 (June 2003).  
§419. Program Responsibility 

A. The program will administer the plan in accordance 
with the terms of the plan of benefits, state and federal law, 
and its established policies, interpretations, practices, and 
procedures. It is the express intent of this program that the 
board of trustees will have maximum legal discretionary 
authority to construe and interpret the terms and provisions 
of the plan, to make determinations regarding issues which 
relate to eligibility for benefits, to decide disputes which 
may arise relative to covered person's rights, and to decide 

questions of plan of benefits interpretation and those of fact 
relating to the plan of benefits. The decisions of the board of 
trustees or its committees will be final and binding on all 
interested parties. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:896 (July 2003).  
§421. Reinstatement to Position following Civil Service 

Appeal 
A. Indemnity Plan Participants. When coverage of a 

terminated employee who was a participant in the health 
indemnity plan is reinstated by reason of a civil service 
appeal , coverage will be reinstated to the same level in the 
health indemnity plan retroactive to the date coverage 
terminated. The employee and participant employer are 
responsible for the payment of all premiums for the period 
of time from the date of termination to the date of the final 
order reinstating the employee to his position. The program 
is responsible for the payment of all eligible benefits for 
charges incurred during this period. All claims for expenses 
incurred during this period must be filed with the program 
within 60 days following the date of the final order of 
reinstatement. 

B. Health Maintenance Organization (HMO) 
Participants. When coverage of a terminated employee who 
was a participant in an HMO is reinstated by reason of Civil 
Service appeal, coverage will be reinstated in the HMO in 
which the employee was participating effective on the date 
of the final order of reinstatement. There will be no 
retroactive reinstatement of coverage and no premiums will 
be owed for the period during which coverage with the 
HMO was not effective. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:896 (June 2003).  
§423. Plan of Benefits and/or Contract Amendments 

or Termination 
A. The program has the statutory responsibility of 

providing health and accident and death benefits for covered 
persons to the extent that funds are available. The program 
reserves to itself the right to terminate or amend the 
eligibility and benefit provisions of its plan of benefits from 
time to time as it may deem necessary to prudently discharge 
its duties. Termination or modifications will be promulgated 
subject to the applicable provisions of law, and nothing 
contained herein shall be construed to guarantee or vest 
benefits for any participant, whether active or retired. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:896 (June 2003).  
Chapter 5. Claims Review and Appeal 
§501. Administrative Review 

NOTE: This Section establishes and explains the procedures 
for review of benefit and eligibility decisions by the program. 

A. Administrative Claims Review 
1. The covered person may request a review of any 

claim for benefits or eligibility. The written request must 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 06   June 20, 2003 897 

include the name of the covered person, member number, 
the name of the patient, the name of the provider, dates of 
service and should clearly state the reasons for the appeal. 

2. The request for review must be submitted within 90 
days after the date of the notification of denial of benefits, 
denial of eligibility, or denial after review by the utilization 
review organization or prescription benefits manager 

B. Review and Appeal Prerequisite to Legal Action 
1. The covered person must exhaust the administrative 

claims review procedure before filing a suit for benefits. 
Unless a request for review is made, the initial determination 
becomes final, and no legal action may be brought to attempt 
to establish eligibility or to recover benefits allegedly 
payable under the program. 

C. Administrative Claims Committee 
1. An administrative claims committee (the 

committee) will consider all such requests for review and to 
ascertain whether the initial determination was made in 
accordance with the plan of benefits. 

D. Administrative Claims Review Procedure and 
Decisions 

1. Review by the committee shall be based upon a 
documentary record which includes: 

a. all information in the possession of the program 
relevant to the issue presented for review; 

b. all information submitted by the covered person 
in connection with the request for review; and 

c. any and all other information obtained by the 
committee in the course of its review. 

2. Upon completion of the review the committee will 
render its decision which will be based on the plan of 
benefits and the information included in the record. The 
decision will contain a statement of reasons for the decision. 
A copy of the decision will be mailed to the covered person 
and any representative thereof. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:896 (June 2003).  
§503. Appeals from Medical Necessity Determinations 

NOTE: The following provisions will govern appeals from 
adverse determinations based upon medical necessity by 
OGB's Utilization Review Organization (URO) pursuant to 
Article 3, Section IV of this document. 

A. First Level Appeal. Within 60 days following the date 
of an adverse initial determination based upon medical 
necessity, the covered person, or the provider acting on 
behalf of the covered person, may request a first level 
appeal .  

1. Each such appeal will be reviewed within the URO 
by a health care professional who has appropriate expertise.  

2. The URO will provide written notice of its 
decision.  

B. Second level review.  Within 30-days following the 
date of the notice of an adverse decision on a first level 
appeal , a covered person may request a second level review. 

1. Each such second level review will be considered 
by a panel within the URO that includes health care 
professionals who have appropriate expertise and will be 
evaluated by a clinical peer or peers in the same or similar 
specialty as would typically manage the case being 
reviewed.  

a. The review panel will schedule and hold a review 
meeting, and written notice of the time and place of the 
review meeting will be given to the covered person at least 
fifteen working days in advance. 

b. The covered person may: 
 i. present his/her case to the review panel;  
 ii. submit supporting material and provide 
testimony in person or in writing or affidavit both before and 
at the review meeting; and 
 iii. ask questions of any representative of the 
URO. 

c. If face-to-face meeting is not practical the 
covered person and provider may communicate with the 
review panel by conference call or other appropriate 
technology. 

2. The URO will provide written notice of its decision 
on the second level review. 

C. External Review. Within 60 days after receipt of 
notice of a second level appeal adverse determination, the 
covered person whose medical care was the subject of such 
determination, with the concurrence of the treating health 
care provider, may submit request for an external review to 
the URO.  

1. The URO will provide the documents and any 
information used in making the second level appeal adverse 
determination to its designated independent review 
organization.  

2. The independent review organization will review 
all information and documents received and any other 
information submitted in writing by the covered person or 
the covered person's health care provider.  

3. The independent review organization will provide 
notice of its recommendation to the URO, the covered 
person, and the covered person's health care provider. 

4. An external review decision will be binding on the 
URO, on OGB and on the covered regarding the medical 
necessity determination.  

D. Expedited Appeals  
1. An expedited appeal may be initiated by the 

covered person, with the consent of the treating health care 
professional, or the provider acting on behalf of the covered 
person, with regard to: 

a. an adverse determination involving a situation 
where the time frame of the standard appeal would seriously 
jeopardize the life or health of a covered person or would 
jeopardize the covered person's ability to regain maximum 
function; or 

b. any request concerning an admission, availability 
of care, continued stay, or health care service for a covered 
person who has received emergency services but has not 
been discharged from a facility. 

2. In an expedited appeal the URO will make a 
decision and notify the covered person, or the provider 
acting on behalf of the covered person , as expeditiously as 
the covered person's medical condition requires, but in no 
event more than seventy-two hours after the appeal  is 
commenced.  

3. The URO will provide written confirmation of its 
decision concerning an expedited appeal if the initial 
notification is not in writing. 

4. In any case where the expedited appeal  does not 
resolve a difference of opinion between the URO and the 
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covered person , or the provider acting on behalf of the 
covered person, such provider may request a second level 
review of the adverse determination. 

E. Expedited External Review of Urgent Care Requests  
1. When the covered person receives an adverse 

determination involving an eme rgency medical condition of 
the covered person being treated in the emergency room, 
during hospital observation, or as a hospital inpatient, the 
covered person's health care provider may request an 
expedited external review. 

2. The URO will transmit all documents and 
information used in making the adverse determination to the 
independent review organization by telephone, telefacsimile, 
or other available expeditious method. 

3. Within 72 hours after receiving appropriate medical 
information for an expedited external review, the 
independent review organization will notify the covered 
person, the URO, and the covered person 's health care 
provider of its decision to uphold or reverse the adverse 
determination. 

4. An external review decision will be binding on the 
URO, on OGB and on the covered regarding the medical 
necessity determination. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:897 (June 2003).  
Chapter 6. Definitions 
§601. Definitions 

AppealCa request for and a formal review by a plan 
member of a medical claim for benefits or an eligibility 
determination. 

Benefit PaymentCpayment of eligible expenses incurred 
by a covered person during a plan year at the rate shown 
under percentage payable in the schedule of benefits.  

CEOCthe Chief Executive Officer of the program. 
ChildrenC 

1. any natural or legally adopted children of the 
employee and/or the employee's legal spouse dependent upon 
the employee for support; 

2. any children in the process of being adopted by the 
employee through an agency adoption who are living in the 
household of the employee and who are or will be included 
as a dependent of the employee's federal income tax return 
for the current or next tax year (if filing is required); 

3. other children for whom the employee has legal 
custody, who live in the household of the employee, and who 
are or will be included as a dependent on the employee's 
federal income tax return for the current or next tax year (if 
filing is required); 

4. grandchildren for whom the employee does not 
have legal custody, who are dependent upon the employee 
for support, and one of whose parents is a covered 
dependent. If the employee seeking to cover a grandchild is a 
paternal grandparent, the program will require that the 
biological father, i.e. the covered son of the plan member, 
execute an acknowledgement of paternity. 

NOTE: If dependent parent becomes ineligible, the grandchild 
becomes ineligible for coverage, unless the employee has legal 
custody of the grandchild. 

COBRACfederal continuation of coverage laws originally 
enacted in the Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation 
Act of 1985 with amendments. 

CommitteeCthe grievance committee of the board. 
Covered PersonCan active or retired employee, or his 

eligible dependent, or any other individual eligible for 
coverage for whom the necessary application forms have 
been completed and for whom the required contribution is 
being made. 

Custodial CareCcare designed essentially to assist an 
individual to meet his activities of daily living (i.e. services 
which constitute personal care such as help in walking, 
getting in and out of bed, assisting in bathing, dressing, 
feeding, using the toilet and care which does not require 
admission to the hospital or other institution for the 
treatment of a disease, illness, accident or injury, or for the 
performance of surgery; or, care primarily to provide room 
and board  with or without routine nursing care, training in 
personal hygiene and other forms of self-care) and 
supervisory care by a doctor for a person who is mentally or 
physically incapacitated and who is not under specific 
medical, surgical or psychiatric treatment to reduce the 
incapacity to the extent necessary to enable the patient to 
live outside an institution providing medical care, or when, 
despite treatment, there is not reasonable likelihood that the 
incapacity will be so reduced. 

Date AcquiredCthe date a dependent  of a covered 
employee is acquired in the following instance and on the 
following dates only: 

1. legal spouse-date of marriage; 
2. children: 

a. natural children-the date of birth; 
b. children in the process of being adopted: 

 i. agency adoption-the date the adoption contract 
was executed by the employee  and the adoption agency; 
 ii. private adoption-the date of the execution of 
the act of voluntary surrender in favor of the employee, if the 
program is furnished with certification by the appropriate 
clerk of court setting forth the date of execution of the act 
and the date that said act became irrevocable, or the date of 
the first court order granting legal custody, whichever occurs 
first; 

c. other children living in the household of the 
covered employee who are or will be included as a 
dependent on the employee's federal income tax return-the 
date of the court order granting legal custody; 

d. grandchildren for whom the employee does not 
have legal custody, who are dependent upon the employee 
for support, and one of whose parents is a covered dependent 
as defined: 
 i. the date of birth, if all the requirements are met 
at the time of birth; or 
 ii. the date on which the coverage becomes 
effective for the covered dependent, if all the requirements 
are not met at the time of birth. 

DependentCany of the following persons who are enrolled 
for coverage as dependents, if they are not also covered as 
an employee: 

1. the covered employee's legal spouse; 
2. any (never married) children from date of birth 

(must be added to coverage within 30 days from date 
acquired by completing appropriate enrollment documents) 
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up to 21 years of age, dependent upon the employee for 
support; 

3. any unmarried (never married) children 21 years of 
age, but under 24 years of age, who are enrolled and 
attending classes as full-time students and who depend upon 
the employee for support. The term full-time student means 
students who are enrolled at an accredited college or 
university, or at a vocational, technical, or vocational-
technical or trade school or institute, or secondary school, 
for the number of hours or courses which is considered to be 
full-time attendance by the institution the student is 
attending; 

NOTE: It is the responsibility of the plan member to furnish 
proof acceptable to the program  documenting the full-time 
student status of a dependent child for each semester. 

4. any dependent parent of an employee or of an 
employee's legal spouse, if living in the same household, was 
enrolled prior to July 1, 1984, and who is, or will be, 
claimed as a dependent on the employee's federal income tax 
return in the current tax year. The program will require an 
affidavit stating the covered employee intends to include the 
parent as a dependent on his federal income tax return for 
the current tax year. Continuation of coverage will be 
contingent upon the payment of a separate premium for this 
coverage. 

Dependent CoverageCbenefits with respect to the 
employee's dependents only. 

DisabilityCthat the covered person, if an employee, is 
prevented, solely because of a disease, illness, accident or 
injury from engaging in his regular or customary occupation 
and is performing no work of any kind for compensation or 
profit; or, if a dependent, is prevented solely because of a 
disease, illness, accident or injury, from engaging in 
substantially all the normal activities of a person of like age 
in good health. 

Durable Medical EquipmentCequipment which: 
1. can withstand repeated use; 
2. is primarily and customarily used to serve a 

medical purpose; 
3. generally is not useful to a person in the absence of 

a illness or injury; and  
4. is appropriate for use in the home. Durable medical 

equipment includes, but is not limited to, such items as 
wheelchairs, hospital beds, respirators, braces (non-dental) 
and other items that the program may determine to be 
durable medical equipment. 

EmergencyCa medical condition of recent onset and 
severity which would lead a prudent lay person, acting 
reasonably and possessing an average knowledge of health 
and medicine, to believe that the absence of immediate 
medical attention could reasonably be expected to result in 
serious jeopardy to the health of a covered person (or unborn 
child if the covered person is a pregnant woman), serious 
impairment to bodily functions, or serious dysfunction of 
any bodily organ.  

Emergency ServicesCthose services medically necessary 
to screen, evaluate, and treat an emergency.  

EmployeeCa full-time employee as defined by a 
participant employer in accordance with state law. No 
person appointed on a temporary appointment will be 
considered an employee.  

Employee CoverageCbenefits with respect to the 
employee only. 

Fee ScheduleCOGB's schedule of maximum allowable 
charges for professional or hospital services. 

Future Medical Recovery RecoveryCfrom another plan of 
expenses contemp lated to be necessary to complete medical 
treatment of the covered person .  

Group Health PlanCa plan (including a self-insured plan) 
of, or contributed to by, an employer (including a self-
employed person) or employee organization to provide 
health care (directly or otherwise) to the employees, former 
employees, the employer, others associated or formerly 
associated with the employer in a business relationship, or 
their families. 

Health Insurance CoverageCbenefits consisting of 
medical care (provided directly, through insurance or 
reimbursement, or otherwise) under any hospital or medical 
service policy or certificate, hospital or medical service plan 
contract, or HMO contract offered by a health insurance 
issuer. However, benefits described pursuant to the Health 
Insurance Portability and Accountability Act are not treated 
as benefits consisting of medical care. 

Health Maintenance Organization (HMO)Cany legal 
entity, which has received a certificate of authority from the 
Louisiana Commissioner of Insurance to operate as a health 
maintenance organization  in Louisiana. 

HIPAACthe Health Insurance Portability and 
Accountability Act of 1996 (USA Public Law 104-191) and 
regulations promulgated pursuant thereto. 

HospitalCan institution, which meets all the following 
requirements: 

1. is currently a licensed as a hospital by the state in 
which services are rendered and is not primarily an 
institution for rest, the aged, the treatment of pulmonary 
tuberculosis, a nursing home, extended care facility or 
remedial training institution, or facilities primarily for the 
treatment of conduct and behavior disorders. 

Incurred DateCthe date upon which a particular service or 
supply is rendered or obtained. When a single charge is 
made for a series of services, each service will bear a pro 
rated share of the charge. 

Inpatient ConfinementCa hospital stay, which is equal to 
or exceeds 24 hours. 

Lifetime Maximum BenefitCthe total amount of benefits 
that will be paid under the plan for all eligible expenses 
incurred by a covered person. 

Medically NecessaryCa service or treatment which, in the 
judgement of the program: 

1. is appropriate and consistent with the diagnosis and 
which, in accordance with accepted medical standards, could 
not have been omitted without adversely affecting the 
patient's condition or the quality of medical care rendered; 
and 

2. is not primarily custodial care. 
MedicareCthe health insurance available through 

Medicare laws enacted by the Congress of the United States. 
Occupational TherapyCthe application of any activity in 

which one engages for the purposes of evaluation, 
interpretation, treatment planning, and treatment of problems 
interfering with functional performance in persons impaired 
by physical illness or injury in order to significantly improve 
functioning. 
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Office of Group Benefits (OGB)Cthe agency of the State 
of Louisiana, within the Office of the Governor, Division of 
Administration, established by R.S. 42:801 and vested with 
the general administration of all aspects of programs of 
benefits as authorized or provided for under the provisions 
of Chapter 12 of Title 42 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes. 

Outpatient Surgical FacilityCan ambulatory surgical 
facility licensed by the state in which the services are 
rendered. 

Pain Rehabilitation Control and/or TherapyCany program 
designed to develop the individual's ability to control or 
tolerate chronic pain. 

Participant EmployerCa state entity, school board or a 
state political subdivision authorized by law to participate in 
the program. 

Participating PharmacyCa pharmacy that participates in a 
network established and maintained by the Pharmacy 
Benefits Management firm with which the program has 
contracted to provide and administer outpatient prescription 
drug benefits. 

Participating Provider or MCO Participating ProviderCa 
physician, hospital, or other health care provider that 
participates in the network established and maintained by 
OGB (or a firm with which OGB has contracted) to provide 
health care services to participant in this plan. 

Physical TherapyCthe evaluation of physical status as 
related to functional abilities and treatment procedures as 
indicated by that evaluation. 

PhysicianC 
1. Physician means the following persons, licensed to 

practice their respective professional skills by reason of 
statutory authority: 

a. doctor of medicine (M.D.); 
b. doctor of dental surgery (D.D.S.);  
c. doctor of dental medicine (D.M.D.);  
d. doctor of osteopathy (D.O.);  
e. doctor of podiatric medicine (D.P.M.); 
f. doctor of chiropractic (D.C.);  
g. doctor of optometry (O.D.);  
h. psychologist meeting the requirements of the 

National Register of Health Service Providers in 
Psychology; 

i. board certified social workers who are a 
members of an approved clinical social work registry or 
employed by the United States, the State of Louisiana, or a 
Louisiana parish or municipality, if performing professional 
services as a part of the duties for which he is employed; 

j. mental health counselors who are licensed by the 
state in which they practice; 

k. substance abuse counselors who are licensed by 
the state in which they practice. 

2. The term physician does not include social workers, 
who are not board certified; interns; residents; or fellows 
enrolled in a residency training program regardless of any 
other title by which he is designated or his position on the 
medical staff of a hospital. A senior resident, for example, 
who is referred to as an assistant attending surgeon or an 
associate physician , is considered a resident since the senior 
year of the residency is essential to completion of the 
training program. Charges made by a physician, who is on 
the faculty of a state medical school, or on the staff of a state

hospital, will be considered a covered expense if the charges 
are made in connection with the treatment of a disease, 
illness, accident or injury covered under this plan, and if the 
physician would have charged a fee for the services in the 
absence of this provision. 

3. It is the specific intent and purpose of the program 
to exclude reimbursement to the covered person for services 
rendered by social workers who are not board certified; and 
intern, resident, or fellow enrolled in a residency training 
program regardless of whether the intern, resident, or fellow 
was under supervision of a physician  or regardless of the 
circumstances under which services were rendered. 

4. The term physician does not include a practicing 
medical doctor in the capacity of supervising interns, 
residents, senior residents, or fellows enrolled in a training 
program, who does not personally perform a surgical 
procedure or provide medical treatment to the covered 
person. 

PlanCcoverage under this contract including and 
comprehensive medical benefits, prescription drug benefits, 
and mental health and substance abuse benefits. 

Plan MemberCa covered person other than a dependent. 
Plan YearCthat period commencing at 12:01 a.m., July 1, 

standard time, at the address of the employee, or the date the 
covered person first becomes covered under the plan and 
continuing until 12:01 a.m., standard time, at the address of 
the employee on the next following July 1. Each successive 
plan year will be the period from 12:01 a.m., July 1, 
standard time, at the address of the employee  to 12:01 a.m., 
the next following July 1. 

ProgramCthe Program of employee benefits authorized 
by Chapter 12 of Title 42 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes 
and administered by the Office of Group Benefits (OGB) . 

RecoveryCmonies paid to the covered person by way of 
judgment, settlement, or otherwise to compensate for all 
losses caused by the injuries or sickness whether or not said 
losses reflect medical or dental charges covered by the 
program. 

RefereeCa hearing officer, employed or contracted by 
OGB, to whom an appeal may be referred for hearing. 

Rehabilitation and Rehabilitation TherapyCcare 
concerned with the management of patients with 
impairments of function due to disease, illness, accident or 
injury.  

ReimbursementCrepayment to the program for medical or 
dental benefits that it has paid toward care and treatment of 
the injury or sickness. 

Rest CureCcare provided in a sanitarium, nursing home or 
other facility and designed to provide custodial care and 
provide for the mental and physical well being of an 
individual. 

RetireeCan individual who was a covered employee, 
immediately prior to the date of retirement and who, upon 
retirement: 

1. immediately received retirement benefits from an 
approved state or governmental agency defined benefit plan; 
or 

2. was not eligible for participation in such a plan or 
had legally opted to not participate in such a plan; and 

a. began employment prior to September 15, 1979, 
has 10 years of continuous state service and has reached the 
age of 65; or 
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b. began employment after September 16, 1979, has 
10 years of continuous state service and has reached the age 
of 70; or 

c. was employed after July 8, 1992, has 10 years of 
continuous state service, has a credit for a minimum of 40 
quarters in the Social Security system at the time of 
employment and has reached the age of 65; or 

d. maintained continuous coverage with the 
program as an eligible dependent until he/she became 
eligible as a former state employee to receive a retirement 
benefit from an approved state governmental agency defined 
benefit plan; or 

3. immediately received retirement benefits from a 
state-approved or state governmental agency-approved 
defined contribution plan and has accumulated the total 
number of years of creditable service which would have 
entitled him to receive a retirement allowance from the 
defined benefit plan of the retirement system for which the 
employee would have otherwise been eligible. The 
appropriate state governmental agency or retirement system 
responsible for administration of the defined contribution 
plan is responsible for certification of eligibility to the State 
Employees Group Benefits Program;  

4. retiree also means an individual who was a covered 
employee who continued the coverage through the 
provisions of COBRA immediately prior to the date of 
retirement and who, upon retirement, qualified for any of 
items 1, 2, or 3, above. 

Room and BoardCall hospital expenses necessary to 
maintain and sustain a covered person during a confinement, 
including but not limited to, facility charges for the 
maintenance of the covered person's hospital room, dietary 
and food services, nursing services performed by nurses 
employed by or under contract with the hospital and 
housekeeping services. 

SubrogationCthe program's right to pursue the covered 
person's claims for medical or dental charges against a 
liability insurer, a responsible party or the covered person. 

Temporary AppointmentCan appointment to any position 
for a period of 120 consecutive calendar days or less. 

TreatmentCincludes consultations, examinations, 
diagnoses, and as well as medical services rendered in the 
care of a covered person. 

Well-Adult CareCa routine physical examination by a 
physician that may include an influenza vaccination, lab 
work and x-rays performed as part of the exam in that 
physician's office, and billed by that physician with wellness 
procedure and diagnosis codes. All other health services 
coded with wellness procedures and diagnosis codes are 
excluded. 

Well-Baby CareCroutine care to a well newborn infant 
from the date of birth until age 1. This includes routine 
physical examinations, active immunizations, check-ups, 
and office visits to a physician  and billed by that physician , 
except for the treatment and/or diagnosis of a specific 
illness. 

Well-Child CareCroutine physical examinations, active 
immunizations, check-ups and office visits to a physician , 
and billed by that physician, except for the treatment and/or 
diagnosis of a specific illness, from age 1 to age 16. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:898 (June 2003).  
Chapter 7. Schedule of Benefits MCO 
§701. Comprehensive Medical Benefits 

A. Eligible expenses for professional, technical, and 
facility services, prescription drugs, equipment, and supplies 
are reimbursed on the basis of a schedule of maximum 
allowable charges. In addition all eligible expenses are 
determined in accordance with plan limitations and 
exclusions.  

1. No Lifetime Maximum Limitation on  Benefits 
(except for Outpatient Prescription Drug Benefits and 
Durable Medical Equipment, below) 

2. Member Co -payments 
 

a. Inpatient Hospital Services 

$100 per day, 
maximum $300 
per admission 

b. Outpatient Services (per visit/encounter)   

 Physician services 

$15 Primary 
Care Physician 
$25 Specialist1 

 Emergency Room Services 
$100 (waived if 
admitted) 

 Ambulatory Surgical Facility  $100 
 Physical /Occupational Therapy2 $ 15 
 Speech Therapy2 $ 15  
 MRI/CAT SCAN2 $ 50  
 Sonograms $ 25 

 Cardiac Rehabilitation (6-month limit) $ 15 
 Pre-Natal and Postpartum Maternity  
  (one-time co-payment to include  
  Physician delivery charge, all pre- 
  natal, one postpartum visit) $ 90 

 Well Care Services $15 
 Home Health2 (Limit 150 visits per Plan year) $ 15 per visit  

1Primary Care Physicians are limited to General Practice, 
Internal Medicine, Family Practice, Ob-Gyn, and Pediatrics. 
2Prior authorization required. 

 
3. Percentage Payable by the Plan after Co -Payments 
 

a. Eligible expenses incurred for services of a participating  
MCO provider 

100% 

b. Eligible expenses incurred at a non-participating 
provider, except for emergencies as provided herein  

0% 

c. Eligible expenses incurred when Medicare or other 
Group Health Plan is primary, and after Medicare reduction 

80% 

 
B. Pharmacy BenefitsCPrescription Drugs 

1. lifetime maximum for all outpatient prescription 
drug benefits, per personC$250,000 

2. Participating PharmacyCmember pays 50 percent 
of eligible expense and 100 percent of excess cost at the 
point of purchase.  

NOTE:  Excess payments do not count toward the out of 
pocket threshold (below). 

a. Eligible expense is limited generic drug cost, if 
generic is available, and to drugs identified on the pharmacy 
benefits manager's list of preferred drugs, if generic is not 
available. 

b. Maximum co-payment for eligible expensesC$50 
per prescription dispensed. 
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c. No maximum co-payment for excess costs. 
d. Out-of-pocket thresholdC$1,200 per person, per 

plan year (for eligible expenses ONLY). Co -pay after 
threshold is reached:  
 i. brandC$15;  
 ii. genericCno co-pay. 

e. Plan pays balance of eligible expense. 
3. Non-participating pharmacyCmember pays 100 

percent, no credit toward out-of-pocket threshold.  
C. Durable Medical Equipment 

1. Lifetime maximum benefit for durable medical 
expenses, per personC$50,000 

2. Plan pays 80 percent of eligible expense. 
D. Well Care Services 

1. Well baby care (birth to age 1)Coffice visits for 
scheduled immunizations and screenings 

2. Well child careC 
a. age 1-2Cthree office visits per year for scheduled 

immunizations and screenings; 
b. age 3-15Cone office visit per year for scheduled 

immunizations and screenings. 
3. Well adult careCroutine physical examination and 

associated laboratory and radiology: 
a. age 16-39C$200 during a 3-year period; 
b. age 40-49C$200 during a 2-year period; 
c. age 50 and $200Conce during a 1-year period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:901 (June 2003).  
§703. Mental Health and Substance Abuse  

(Prior authorization required for all services.) 
A. Member Co -Payments 

 
 
1. Inpatient Hospital Services 

$100 per day, maximum $300 per 
admission 

2. Outpatient Services  $25 per visit  

 
B. Benefits Limitations 

 
1. Inpatient Hospital Services Maximum of 45 inpatient days per 

person, per plan year 
2. Outpatient Services Maximum of 52 outpatient visits per 

person, per plan year, inclusive of the 
intensive outpatient program 

 
NOTE: Two days of partial hospitalization or two days of 
residential treatment center hospitalization may be traded for 
each inpatient day of treatment that is available under the 45-
day plan year maximum for inpatient treatment. A residential 
treatment center is a 24-hour mental health or substance abuse, 
non-acute care treatment setting for active treatment 
interventions directed at the amelioration of the specific 
impairments that led to admission. Partial hospitalization is a 
level of care where the patient remains in the hospital less than 
24 hours.  Expenses incurred for emergency services will only 
be reimbursed if, after review, the services are determined to 
be a life-threatening psychiatric emergency resulting in an 
authorized mental health or substance abuse admission within 
24 hours to an inpat ient, partial, or intensive outpatient level 
care. Non-emergent psychiatric or substance abuse problems 
treated in the emergency room will not be eligible for 
reimbursement. 
 

C. Percentage Payable by the Plan after Co -payments 
 
1. Eligible expenses incurred for services of a 
participating  MCO provider 

100% 

2. Eligible expenses incurred at a non-participating 
provider, except for emergencies as defined herein  

0% 

3. Eligible expenses incurred when Medicare or other 
Group Health Plan is primary, and after Medicare reduction 

80% 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:902 (June 2003). 

A. Kip Wall 
Chie f Executive Officer 

0306#042 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Abortion Facility Licensure 
(LAC 48:I.Chapter 44) 

Editor's Note: The following Rule is being repromulgated to 
correct submission errors. This Rule was promulgated in the  
May 20, 2003 edition of the Louisiana Register and may be 
viewed on pages 705-710. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Rule as authorized by R.S. 40:2175.1 et seq. 
This Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTHCGENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 
Chapter 44. Abortion Facilities 
§4401. Definitions 

AbortionCany surgical procedure performed after 
pregnancy has been medically verified with the intent to 
cause the termination of the pregnancy other than for the 
purpose of: 

1. producing a live birth; 
2. removing an ectopic pregnancy; or 
3. removing a dead fetus caused by a spontaneous 

abortion. 
DepartmentCDepartment of Health and Hospitals, 

(DHH). 
Existing Outpatient Abortion FacilityCany outpatient 

abortion facility, as defined in this §4401, in operation at the 
time that the licensing standards governing outpatient 
abortion facilities are promulgated and published. 

First TrimesterCthe time period from 6 to 14 weeks after 
the first day of the last menstrual period. 

General AnesthesiaCany drug, element, or other material 
which, when administered, results in a controlled state of 
unconsciousness accompanied by a partial or complete loss 
of protective reflexes, including a loss of ability to
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independently maintain an airway and respond purposefully 
to physical stimuli or verbal command. 

Gestational AgeCthe duration of a pregnancy as estimated 
from the first day of a woman's last menstrual period (LMP) 
or fertilization date plus two weeks. 

Licensed Physicians AssistantCa person who: 
1. is a graduate of a program accredited by the 

Committee on Allied Health Education and Accreditation or 
its successors; and 

2. has successfully passed the national certificate 
examination administered by the National Commission on 
the Certification of Physician's Assistants or its 
predecessors; and 

3. is approved and licensed by the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners to perform medical services 
under the supervision of a physician or group of physicians 
who are licensed by and registered with the board to 
supervise such assistant. 

LicenseeCthe person, partnership, corporation, 
association, organization or professional entity on whom 
rests the ultimate responsibility and authority for the conduct 
of the outpatient abortion facility. 

Licensing AgencyCthe Louisiana Department of Health 
and Hospitals. 

Local AnesthesiaCthose anesthetizing agents administered 
to affect a very small localized area. 

Medical DirectorCa physician licensed to practice 
medicine in Louisiana who is responsible for the direction of 
the medical services, nursing services, and health-related 
services provided to patients at an outpatient abortion 
facility. 

Outpatient Abortion FacilityCany outpatient facility, other 
than a hospital as defined in R.S. 40:2102 or an ambulatory 
surgical center as defined in R.S. 40:2133, in which any 
second trimester or five or more first trimester abortions per 
month are performed. 

PatientCthe woman receiving services from an outpatient 
abortion facility. 

Products of ConceptionCplacenta, amniotic sac or 
membrane, embryo, or fetal elements that result from a 
human pregnancy. 

Second TrimesterCthe time period from 14 to 23 weeks 
after the first day of the last menstrual period. 

SecretaryCthe secretary of the Louisiana Department of 
Health and Hospitals. 

TelecommunicationsCany means of transmitting messages 
at a distance, including but not limited to telephones, cell 
phones, pagers, or other similar devices which foster 
communication. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2175.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:705 (May 2003), repromulgated LR 
29:902 (June 2003). 
§4403. Licensing Requirements 

A. An outpatient abortion facility may not be established 
or operated in this state without an appropriate license issued 
by the licensing agency. 

B. Initial License Application 
1. Initial applicants and existing outpatient abortion 

facilities shall submit a set of architectural plans and 
specifications to the Office of State Fire Marshal and 

Division of Engineering and Architectural Services of the 
department for review and approval. 

2. When an architectural requirement on an existing 
outpatient abortion facility would impose a hardship, 
financial or otherwise, but would not adversely affect the 
health and safety of any patient, the existing outpatient 
abortion facility may submit a request for exception (waiver) 
to the department, with supporting documentation. The 
issuance of a waiver by the department does not apply to the 
Office of State Fire Marshal requirements for approval, 
which must be addressed exclusively with the Office of State 
Fire Marshal. 

3. An application for license shall be completed and 
returned to the Health Standards Section by the applicant on 
forms supplied by the department. 

a. Existing outpatient abortion facilities must secure 
and return a completed licensing application packet to the 
department within six months from promulgation and 
publication of the outpatient abortion facility licensing 
standards. 

b. Existing outpatient abortion facilities shall be 
allowed to continue to operate without a license until such 
time as their initial application is acted upon by the 
department and until any and all appeals processes 
associated with that initial license have been completed, or 
the time within which any appeal process may be undertaken 
and completed has expired, whichever is later. 

4. The application must be accompanied with a 
nonrefundable licensing fee set in accordance with R.S. 
40:2006. 

5. The department will respond to the applicant within 
45 days of submitting the completed application. 

6. Announced on-site inspections will be performed 
and the facility must be in substantial compliance with the 
requirements of the following offices prior to the issuance of 
an initial license: 

a. Office of State Fire Marshal 
b. Office of Public Health 
c. DHH Health Standards Section 

C. Renewal Application 
1. Application for license renewal shall be completed 

and returned to the Health Standards Section prior to the 
expiration date of the current license on forms supplied by 
the department. The application must be accompanied by the 
annual renewal fee set in accordance with R.S. 40:2006. 

2. Inspection and approval by the State Fire Marshal 
and Office of Public Health are required annually. 

3. The licensing agency may perform an unannounced 
on-site inspection upon annual renewal. If the outpatient 
abortion facility continues to meet the requirements 
established in R.S. 40:2175.1 et seq., and the licensing 
standards adopted in pursuance thereof, a license shall be 
issued which is valid for one year.  

D. Other on-site inspections may be performed to 
investigate complaints in accordance with R.S. 40:2009.13-
2009.20 and perform follow-up surveys as deemed 
necessary to ensure compliance with these licensing 
standards. 

E. Issuance of License 
1. Following receipt of the application and the 

licensing fee, the department shall issue a license if, after an 
on-site inspection, it finds that the outpatient abortion 
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facility is in full compliance with the requirements 
established in accordance with R.S. 40:2175.1 et seq., and 
the licensing standards adopted in pursuance thereof. 

2. A provisional license may be issued in cases where 
additional time is needed for the outpatient abortion facility 
to comply fully with the requirements established in 
accordance with R.S. 40:2175.1 et seq., and the licensing 
standards adopted in pursuance thereof. The licensing 
agency may issue a provisional license to an outpatient 
abortion facility for a period not to exceed six months only if 
the failure to comply is not detrimental to the health or 
safety of the women seeking treatment in the outpatient 
abortion facility. The deficiencies that preclude the 
outpatient abortion facility from being in full compliance 
must be cited at the time the provisional license is issued. 

3. A license issued to an outpatient abortion facility: 
a. is valid for only one location; 
b. shall be valid for one year from the date of 

issuance; unless revoked prior to that date; 
c. is not transferable or assignable; 
d. shall be posted in a conspicuous place on the 

licensed premises. 
F. Denial, Suspension or Revocation of License. The 

procedure for denial, suspension and revocation of a license 
and appeals resulting from these actions will be the same as 
provided in the licensing regulations for hospitals, and as 
contained in R.S. 40:2110. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2175.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:705 (May 2003), repromulgated LR 
29:903 (June 2003). 
§4405. Governing Body 

A. The abortion facility must have a governing body 
which meets at least annually. The governing body is the 
ultimate authority of the facility, and as such, it shall 
approve and adopt all bylaws, rules, policies, and procedures 
formulated in accordance with these licensing standards. All 
bylaws, rules, policies, and procedures formulated in 
accordance with these licensing standards shall be in writing, 
revised as necessary, and reviewed annually. If, due to type 
of ownership or other reasons, it is not possible or practical 
to establish a governing body, as such, then documents shall 
reveal the person(s) who are legally responsible for the 
conduct of the facility and are also responsible for carrying 
out the functions and obligations contained herein pertaining 
to the governing body. 

B. The responsibilities of the governing body shall 
include, but not be limited to: 

1. organization and administration of the facility; 
2. acting upon recommendations from the medical 

staff relative to medical staff appointments; 
3. designation of an administrator who has the 

responsibility to carry out the day-to-day operations of the 
facility; 

4. designation of a medical director who has 
responsibility for the direction of medical services, nursing 
services, and health-related services provided to patients; 

5. maintenance of the physical plant; 
6. ensuring that the facility is equipped and staffed to 

meet the needs of the patients in the facility; and 

7. establishing a system for periodic evaluation of its 
operation (quality assurance). 

C. The governing body shall establish formal lines of 
communication with the medical staff through a liaison 
committee or other acceptable methods. This committee will 
address problems and programs of mutual concern regarding 
topics including, but not limited to, patient care, cost 
containment and improved practice. 

D. Minutes of meetings of the governing body shall be 
maintained to adequately reflect the discharging of its duties 
and responsibilities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2175.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:706 (May 2003), repromulgated LR 
29:904 (June 2003). 
§4407. Administration 

A. The administrator is the person who has been 
designated to carry out the day-to-day operations of the 
facility which include, but are not limited to the following 
functions: 

1. employing qualified staff to provide the medical 
and clinical services to meet the needs of the patients being 
served; 

2. assigning duties and functions to each employee 
commensurate with his/her licensure, certification, and 
experience and competence; 

3. retaining a readily accessible written protocol for 
managing medical emergencies and the transfer of patients 
requiring further emergency care to a hospital. The written 
protocol shall identify which emergency equipment and 
medications the facility will use to provide for basic life 
support until emergency transportation can arrive and 
assume care of those in need of service. The facility shall 
ensure that when a patient is in the facility for an abortion, 
there is one physician present who has admitting privileges 
or has a written transfer agreement with a physician(s) who 
has admitting privileges at a local hospital to facilitate 
emergency care; 

4. developing disaster plans for both internal and 
external occurrences. Annual drills shall be held in 
accordance with the plan. Documentation of these drills shall 
be recorded; 

5. ensuring that a CPR-certified staff member who is 
currently trained in the use of emergency equipment is on 
the premises at all times when abortion services are being 
performed in the facility. 

B. Personnel Files 
1. Personnel folders shall be maintained on each 

employee. Contents shall include: 
a. application; 
b. current license (when required); 
c. health screening reports; 
d. documentation of areas covered in orientation; 

and 
e. other pertinent information as deemed necessary 

by the facility. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2175.1 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
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Services Financing, LR 29:706 (May 2003), repromulgated LR 
29:904 (June 2003). 
§4409. Personnel 

A. Medical Staff 
1. The medical staff of the facility shall consist of at 

least one physician who is licensed to practice medicine in 
Louisiana and is responsible to the governing body of the 
facility for the quality of all medical care provided to 
patients in the facility and for the ethical and professional 
practices of its members. 

2. The medical staff shall formulate and adopt bylaws, 
rules, and policies for the proper conduct of its activities and 
recommend to the governing body physicians who are 
considered eligible for membership on the medical staff. 
Such bylaws, rules, and policies must be in writing and must 
be approved by the governing body. 

3. All applications for membership to the medical 
staff shall be reviewed by the medical staff and 
recommendations for appropriate action shall be made to the 
governing body. The governing body's bylaws shall establish 
time frames for response to the recommendations of the 
medical staff. 

4. An abortion shall be performed only by a physician 
who is licensed to practice in Louisiana. 

5. A physician must be either present in the facility or 
immediately available by telecommunications to the staff 
when there is a patient in the facility. 

6. A physician must remain in the facility until all 
patients are assessed to be stable. 

B. Nursing Personnel 
1. The nursing services shall be provided under the 

direction of a qualified registered nurse or medical director. 
2. There shall be a plan of administrative authority 

with delineation of responsibilities and duties for each 
category of nursing personnel. 

3. The number of nursing personnel on duty shall be 
sufficient to meet the needs of the patient(s) in the facility, as 
determined by the governing body, medical director, or 
registered nurse. 

4. All nurses employed by the facility to practice 
professional nursing shall have a current and valid Louisiana 
nursing license as a registered nurse (RN) or licensed 
practical nurse (LPN), as appropriate. 

5. Nursing care policies and procedures shall be in 
writing and be consistent with accepted nursing standards. 
Policies shall be developed for all nursing service 
procedures provided at the facility. The procedures shall be 
periodically reviewed and revised as necessary. 

6. A formalized program of in-service training shall be 
developed for all categories of nursing personnel. Training 
related to required job skills shall be provided to nursing 
personnel. 

C. General Staffing 
1. When a patient is in the facility for an abortion, 

there shall be at least two staff members present, one of 
which must be either a licensed physician, RN, or LPN. 

2. All employees shall be provided orientation and 
training related to the facility's policies, philosophy, job 
responsibilities of all staff, and emergency procedures. 

D. Health Screening. The facility must have policies 
governing health screening on personnel in accordance with 
federal, state and local health laws. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2175.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:707 (May 2003), repromulgated LR 
29:905 (June 2003). 
§4411. Pre-Operative Procedures 

A. Verification of Pregnancy. The presence of an 
intrauterine pregnancy shall be verified by one of the 
following: 

1. urine or serum pregnancy test performed on-site; 
2. detection of fetal heart tones; or 
3. ultrasonography. 

B. Duration of Pregnancy. Gestational age shall be 
estimated by the following methods pre-operatively: 

1. date of last menstrual period, if known; and 
2. pelvic examination; or  
3. ultrasonography. 

C. The following laboratory tests shall be performed and 
documented within 30 days prior to the performance of 
abortion: 

1. hematocrit or hemoglobin determination; and 
2. Rh Factor status. 

D. Information and Informed Consent. Prior to an 
Abortion 

1. A written informed consent shall be obtained in 
accordance with R.S. 40:1299.35.6(B). 

2. The clinical record shall reflect informed consent 
for general anesthesia, if it is to be administered, as well as 
an indication of the patient's history of negative or positive 
response (for example, allergic reactions) to medications or 
any anesthesia to be given. 

3. The patient shall be made aware of the importance 
of her post-operative care and follow-up to ensure that the 
procedure was properly completed and no long-term 
sequelae have ensued. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2175.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:707 (May 2003), repromulgated LR 
29:905 (June 2003). 
§4413. Post-Operative Care and Procedures 

A. The patient's recovery shall be supervised by a 
licensed physician, a nurse trained in post-operative care, or 
a licensed physician's assistant. A patient in the post-
operative or recovery room shall not be left unattended. 

B. The patient shall be given written post-operative 
instructions for follow-up care. A contact for post-operative 
care from the facility shall be available to the patient on a 
24-hour basis. 

C. A licensed physician, nurse or licensed physician's 
assistant shall assess the patient to be awake, alert and 
medically stable before she is discharged in accordance with 
policies established by the medical director.  

D. Upon completion of an abortion procedure, the 
physician shall immediately perform a gross examination of 
the uterine contents and shall document the findings in the 
patient's chart. If no products of conception are visible, a 
high-risk protocol for continuing pregnancy or ectopic 
pregnancy shall be followed. 

E. Products of conception shall be disposed in 
compliance with Occupational Safety and Health 
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Administration (OSHA), Environmental Protection Agency 
(EPA) and other state and local standards covering the 
treatment of medical waste. 

F. Rh immunoglobulin administration shall be offered to 
Rh-negative women and documented. If Rh immunoglobulin 
is not administered in the facility, one of the following is 
required: 

1. informed waiver signed by a patient who refuses 
RH immunoglobulin; or 

2. documentation of other arrangements for 
administration. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2175.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:708 (May 2003), repromulgated LR 
29:905 (June 2003). 
§4415. Patient Records and Reports 

A. Retention of Patient Records 
1. An abortion facility shall establish and maintain a 

medical record on each patient. The facility shall maintain 
the record to assure that the care and services provided to 
each patient is completely and accurately documented, and 
that records are readily available and systematically 
organized to facilitate the compilation and retrieval of 
information. Safeguards shall be established to maintain 
confidentiality and protection from fire, water, or other 
sources of damage. 

2. The department is entitled to access all books, 
records, or other documents maintained by or on behalf of 
the facility to the extent necessary to ensure compliance with 
this Chapter 44. Ensuring compliance includes permitting 
photocopying by the department or providing photocopies to 
the department of any records or other information by or on 
behalf of the department as necessary to determine or verify 
compliance with this Chapter. 

3. Patient records shall be under the custody of the 
facility for a period of seven years from the date of 
discharge. Patient records shall be maintained on the 
premises for at least one year and shall not be removed 
except under court orders or subpoenas. Any patient record 
maintained off-site after the first year shall be provided to 
the department for review no later than 24 hours from the 
time the department requests the medical record. 

B. Content of Medical Record 
1. The following minimum data shall be kept on all 

patients: 
a. identification data; 
b. date of procedure; 
c. medical and social history; 
d. physical examination; 
e. chief complaint or diagnosis; 
f. clinical laboratory reports (when appropriate);  
g. pathology report (when appropriate);  
h. physician's orders; 
i. radiological report (when appropriate); 
j. consultation reports (when appropriate);  
k. medical and surgical treatment; 
l. progress notes, discharge notes, and summary; 
m. nurses' records of care given, including 

medication administration records; 
n. authorizations, consents or releases; 
o. operative report; 

p. anesthesia report, including post-anesthesia 
report; and 

q. special procedures reports. 
2. Signatures. Clinical entries shall be signed by the 

physician as appropriate, i.e., attending physician, consulting 
physician, anesthesiologist, pathologist, etc. Nursing notes 
and observations shall be signed by the nurse. 

3. Nurses' Notes. All pertinent observations, 
treatments and medications given shall be entered in the 
nurses' notes. All other notes relative to specific instructions 
from the physician shall be recorded. 

4. Completion of the medical record shall be the 
responsibility of the attending physician. 

C. Nothing in this §4415 is intended to preclude the use 
of automated or centralized computer systems or any other 
techniques for the storing of medical records, provided the 
regulations stated herein are met. 

D. Other Reports. An abortion facility shall maintain a 
daily patient roster of all patients receiving abortion services. 
This daily patient roster shall be retained for a period of 
three years. 

E. Confidentiality 
1. If the department, in the course of carrying out its 

licensing responsibilities under this Chapter 44, obtains any 
patient identifiable health information regarding a patient 
from an abortion facility, it shall keep such information 
strictly confidential and shall not disclose it to any outside 
person or agency, except as follows: 

a. to the patient who is the subject of the patient 
identifiable health information; 

b. pursuant to and in compliance with a valid 
written authorization executed by the patient who is the 
subject of the patient identifiable health information; or 

c. when required by the secretary of the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services to investigate or 
determine DHH's compliance with the requirements of the 
Code of Federal Regulations, Title 45, Part 164, Subpart E. 

2. Any person who knowingly discloses such patient 
identifiable information in violation of Paragraph E.1 shall 
be subject to punishment pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §1320d-6 as 
follows: 

a. a fine of not more than $50,000, or imprisonment 
for not more than one year, or both; 

b. if the violation is committed under false 
pretenses, a fine of not more than $100,000, or 
imprisonment for not more than five years, or both; and 

c. if the violation is committed with intent to sell, 
transfer, or use individually identifiable health information 
for commercial advantage, personal gain, or malicious harm, 
a fine of not more than $250,000, or imprisonment for not 
more than 10 years, or both. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2175.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:708 (May 2003), repromulgated LR 
29:906 (June 2003). 
§4417. Physical Environment 

A. The facility shall have a safe and sanitary 
environment that is properly constructed, equipped and 
maintained to protect the health and safety of patients and 
staff at all times. 
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1. Abortions shall be performed in a segregated 
procedure room, removed from general traffic lines with a 
minimum of 120 square feet, exclusive of vestibule, toilets 
or closets. 

2. There shall be a hand washing fixture within each 
procedure room. 

3. The facility shall have a separate recovery room or 
area with a minimum clear area of 2 feet, 6 inches around 
the three sides of each stretcher or lounge chair for work and 
circulation. 

4. The following equipment and supplies shall be 
maintained to provide emergency medical care for problems 
that may arise and be immediately available to the procedure 
and recovery room(s): 

a. surgical or gynecologic table; 
b. surgical instruments for the performance of 

abortion; 
c. emergency drugs (designated as such by the 

medical director); 
d. oxygen; 
e. intravenous fluids; and 
f. sterile dressing supplies. 

5. All openings to the outside shall be maintained to 
protect against the entrance of insects and animals. 

6. A nurse's station with a countertop, space for 
supplies, provisions for charting and a communication 
system shall be provided.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2175.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:709 (May 2003), repromulgated LR 
29:906 (June 2003). 
§4419. Infection Control 

A. The facility shall have policies and procedures that 
address: 

1. decontamination; 
2. disinfection; 
3. sterilization; and 
4. storage of sterile supplies. 

B. The facility shall make adequate provisions for 
furnishing properly sterilized supplies, equipment, utensils 
and solutions. 

1. It is expected that some disposable goods shall be 
utilized; but when sterilizers and autoclaves are used, they 
shall be of the proper type and necessary capacity to 
adequately meet the needs of the facility. 

2. Procedures for the proper use of equipment and 
standard procedures for the processing of various materials 
and supplies shall be in writing and readily available to 
personnel responsible for sterilizing procedures. 

3. Acceptable techniques for handling sterilized and 
contaminated supplies and equipment shall be established to 
avoid contamination. 

4. Medically necessary surgical instruments used to 
enter the uterine cavity shall be sterilized for each abortion 
procedure. 

C. There shall be a separate sink for cleaning instruments 
and disposal of liquid waste. 

D. Each facility shall develop, implement, and enforce 
written policies and procedures for the handling, processing, 
storing and transporting of clean and dirty laundry. 

1. If the facility provides an in-house laundry, the 
areas shall be designed in accordance with acceptable 
hospital laundry design in that a soiled laundry area will be 
provided and separated from the clean laundry area. Dirty 
and/or contaminated laundry shall not be stored or 
transported through the clean laundry area. 

2. For an in-house laundry, special cleaning and 
decontaminating processes shall be used for contaminated 
linens. 

E. The facility shall provide housekeeping services that 
shall assure a safe and clean environment. 

1. Housekeeping procedures shall be in writing and 
followed. 

2. Housekeeping supplies shall be provided to 
adequately maintain the facility. 

F. All garbage and waste materials shall be collected, 
stored and disposed of in a manner designed to prevent the 
transmission of contagious diseases, and to control flies, 
insects, and animals. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2175.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:709 (May 2003), repromulgated LR 
29:907 (June 2003). 
§4421. Pharmaceutical Services 

A. The facility shall provide pharmacy services and these 
services shall be commensurate with the needs of the 
patients and in conformity with state and federal laws. 

B. There shall be policies and procedures for the storage, 
distribution, and handling and administration of drugs and 
biologicals in the facility. 

C. The facility shall provide facilities for proper storage, 
safeguarding and distribution of drugs. 

1. Drug cabinets must be constructed and organized to 
assure proper handling and safeguard against access by 
unauthorized personnel. 

2. Storage areas shall have proper controls for 
ventilation, lighting and temperature. 

3. Locked areas shall be designed to conform with 
state and federal laws. 

D. In accordance with all applicable laws, records shall 
be kept on: 

1. all ordering, purchasing, dispensing, and 
distribution of drugs; and 

2. the disposal of unused drugs. 
E. Records for prescription drugs dispensed to each 

patient shall contain the: 
1. full name of the patient; 
2. name of the prescribing physician; 
3. name and strength of the drug; 
4. quantity dispensed; and 
5. date of issue. 

F. Provision shall be made for emergency 
pharmaceutical service. 

G. All outpatient abortion facilities shall have a site-
specific Louisiana controlled dangerous substance license 
and United States Drug Enforcement Administration 
controlled substance registration for the facility in 
accordance with the Louisiana Uniform Controlled 
Dangerous Substance Act and Title 21 of the United States 
Code. 
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H. Drugs and biologicals shall be administered in 
compliance with an order from an individual who has 
prescriptive authority under the laws of Louisiana. Such 
orders shall be in writing and signed by the individual with 
prescriptive authority under the laws of Louisiana. 

I. There shall be a supply of drugs for stabilizing and/or 
treating medical and surgical complications. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2175.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:709 (May 2003), repromulgated LR 
29:907 (June 2003). 
§4423. Anesthesia Services 

A. The facility shall have policies and procedures 
pertaining to the administration of general and local 
anesthesia that are approved by the medical director.  

B. Local anesthesia, nitrous oxide, and intravenous 
sedation shall be administered by the treating physician or 
by qualified personnel under the orders and supervision of 
the treating physician, as allowed by law.  

C. General anesthesia, if used, shall be given by an 
anesthesiologist, certified registered nurse-anesthetist 
(CRNA), or a physician trained in the administration of 
general anesthesia. 

D. The physician who will perform the abortion shall be 
present in the facility before anesthesia is administered. 

E. A physician shall be present in the facility during the 
post anesthesia recovery period until the patient is fully 
reacted and stable. 

F. When there is a general anesthesia patient present in 
the facility, personnel trained in the use of all emergency 
equipment required shall be present on the premises. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2175.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:710 (May 2003), repromulgated LR 
29:908 (June 2003). 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0306#020 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Freedom of Choice Waivers 
(LAC 50:I.Chapter 29) 

Editor's Note: This Subpart has recently been codified and is 
being promulgated for codification purposes.  

 
The table below shows the compiled Rules used to create 

each Section in Subpart 3, Freedom of Choice Waivers. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Section Rules 
2901 17:788 (August 1991), LR 19:645 (May 1993) 
2903 LR 19:645 (May 1993) 
2905 LR 17:788 (August 1991), LR 19:645 (May 1993),  

LR 27:547 (April 2001) 
2907 LR 17:788 (August 1991), LR 19:645 (May 1993) 
2909 LR 17:788 (August 1991), LR 19:645 (May 1993),  

LR 25:669 (April 1999) 
2911 LR 19:645 (May 1993) 
2913 LR 17:788 (August 1991), LR 19:645 (May 1993),  

LR 23:201. (February 1997) 
 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHCMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part I.  Administration 
Subpart 3.  Freedom of Choice Waivers 

Chapter 29. CommunityCARE 
§2901. Introduction 

A. A managed care program called CommunityCARE 
implemented in designated parishes of the state provide 
improved access to health care for eligible Medicaid 
beneficiaries, particularly those who reside in rural 
communities. The CommunityCARE program is 
administered in accordance with all regulations applicable to 
the program and the waiver request document approved by 
the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The 
goal of the CommunityCARE program is to improve the 
accessibility and the continuity and quality of care provided 
to Medicaid recipients in rural areas. 

B. The CommunityCARE program provides Medicaid 
recipients in the designated parishes with a primary care 
physician (PCP), osteopath, or family doctor as the primary 
care provider for assigned beneficiaries.  

C. Physician Case Management is defined as 
individualized planning and service coordination of medical 
services. Services shall be provided to Medicaid patients 
who are residents of designated geographic areas. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and §1915(b)(1) of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:908 (June 2003). 
§2903. Recipient Qualifications 

A. All nonexcluded recipients are required to have a 
CommunityCARE provider. The following groups of 
Medicaid eligible recipients are required to enroll in the 
CommunityCARE program in the designated parishes: 

1. AFDC-related recipients; and 
2. SSI-related, nonMedicare recipients. 

B. The following groups of eligibles are excluded from 
participation: 

1. residents of skilled nursing facilities; 
2. intermediate care facilities and mental hospitals; 
3. Medicare (Part A or B) recipients; 
4. medically needy; 
5. foster children or adoptive children; 
6. refugees; 
7. lock-in recipients; 
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8. members of health management organizations 
(HMOs). 

C. Newborns or newly certified or Medicaid eligible 
recipients may not be enrolled for up to 30 days from the 
date of certification and any prior month of retroactive 
coverage (up to three months). 

D. Once enrolled in the CommunityCARE program, 
recipients are not re-enrolled at recertification. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and §1915(b)(1) of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:908 (June 2003). 
§2905. Provider Selection 

A. Beneficiaries have the opportunity to select a 
participating doctor, federally qualified health center 
(FQHC), or rural health clinic to be their primary care 
provider in their parish of residence or in a contiguous 
parish. Beneficiaries are assigned a participating provider if 
they do not select one. The individual or family physician 
will provide basic primary care, referral and after-hours 
coverage services for each beneficiary. The fact that each 
beneficiary has a PCP allows continuity of care centered 
around a single physician (or organized group) as a care 
manager. 

B. CommunityCARE recipients may request to change 
primary care providers for cause at any time. They may 
change primary care providers without cause at any time 
during the first 90 days of enrollment with a primary care 
provider and at least every 12 months thereafter.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and §1915(b)(1) of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:909 (June 2003). 
§2907. Provider Qualifications 

A. All doctors of medicine or general osteopathy who are 
currently enrolled Medicaid providers in good standing, 
practice primary care, and have offices in one of the 
designated or contiguous parishes, are eligible to participate 
in Community Care as primary care physicians (PCPs). 
However, they must meet all of the program requirements 
and agree to abide by the regulations. Primary care 
physicians enrolling in CommunityCARE must meet all of 
the general Medicaid enrollment conditions. The physicians 
who may participate as PCPs are: 

1. general practitioner; 
2. family practitioner; 
3. pediatrician; 
4. gynecologist; 
5. internist; 
6. obstetrician; or 
7. other physician specialists who may be approved by 

the department under certain circumstances. 
B. The PCP must be licensed to practice medicine in 

Louisiana and must hold admitting privileges at a Medicaid-
enrolled hospital in the designated parish or contiguous 
parish. 

C. Quality assurance/utilization review is an integral 
component of the care management concept. 
CommunityCARE physicians are monitored for over and 
under utilization and quality cost-effectiveness of the 
program. Providers who are out of compliance receive 

provider education, but continued noncompliance may result 
in disenrollment from the program. 

D. The PCP as the care manager bears responsibility for 
the beneficiary's total health care, which includes: 

1. providing preventive, maintenance and acute care; 
2. referring to specialists, when appropriate, for 

medically necessary diagnosis and treatment not provided in 
his/her practice; 

3. exchanging medical information about the 
beneficiary with specialists; 

4. admitting the beneficiary to the nearest appropriate 
hospital when necessary; and 

5. coordinating inpatient care and maintaining an 
integrated medical record of the care the patient receives. 

E. Only the PCP may authorize services for his/her 
assigned beneficiaries in appropriate settings according to 
medical necessity. 

F. Twenty-four hour, seven day a week availability by 
telephone of primary care must be assured. The PCP may 
authorize coverage in his/her absence or in emergencies in 
accordance with CommunityCARE policy. The PCP must 
also enroll and participate as a KIDMED medical, vision, 
and hearing screening provider. Routine preventive health 
care and age-appropriate immunizations must be provided to 
or arranged for children by the PCP. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and §1915(b)(1) of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:909 (June 2003). 
§2909. Emergency Services 

A. The provisions of §4704 of the Balanced Budget Act 
of 1997 were adopted by the Department concerning 
provisions of emergency medical services to Medicaid 
recipients enrolled in the Medicaid program known as the 
CommunityCARE program. 

B. Emergency services do not require authorization prior 
to the provision of the services, however, authorization must 
be obtained after the emergency services have been 
provided. Emergency medical services with respect to a 
CommunityCARE enrollee are defined as furnished by a 
provider that is qualified to provide such services under 
Medicaid and consist of covered inpatient and outpatient 
services that are needed to evaluate or stabilize an 
emergency medical condition. The CommunityCARE 
enrollees who present themselves for emergency medical 
services shall receive an appropriate medical screening to 
determine if an emergency medical condition exists. A triage 
protocol is not sufficient to be an appropriate medical 
screening. If the medical screening does not indicate an 
emergency medical condition exists, the treating 
hospital/physician shall refer the CommunityCARE enrollee 
back to his/her primary care physician for treatment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and §1915(b)(1) of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:909 (June 2003). 
§2911. Prior Authorization 

A. The following Medicaid covered services do not 
require authorization and a written referral by the 
beneficiary's PCP: 

1. dental; 
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2. pharmacy; 
3. family planning; 
4. skilled nursing facility care; 
5. transportation; 
6. ICF/MR services; 
7. ophthalmology; 
8. targeted case management services; 
9. optometry and eyeglasses; 
10. EPSDT health services for disabled children; 
11. psychiatric hospital services; 
12. home and community-based waiver services; 
13. chiropractic services; and 
14. mental health services. 

B. All other Medicaid services, including obstetrical 
services, require prior authorization by the beneficiary's 
assigned PCP. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:909 (June 2003). 
§2913. Physician Management 

A. The physician management fee in the 
CommunityCARE Waiver program is $3 per enrolled 
recipient per month. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and §1915(b)(1) of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:910 (June 2003). 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0306#008 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medicaid EligibilityCExpansion of Coverage  
for Low Income Pregnant Women 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Rule in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
current provisions governing eligibility for low income 
pregnant women and expands coverage to include low 
income pregnant women with family income greater than 
133 percent, but less than or equal to 185 percent of the 
federal poverty level (Section 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(I), 
1902(1)(1)(A) of the Social Security Act). 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0306#059 

 
RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medicaid EligibilityCInclusion of the Unborn Child 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Rule in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provis ions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
provisions of Section H of the May 20, 1996 Rule governing 
the determination of Medicaid eligibility. Utilizing 
provisions allowed under Section 1902(r)(2) of the Social 
Security Act, an unborn child shall be considered when 
establishing the household size for determination of 
Medicaid eligibility for other children in the household. 

Implementation of this Rule is subject to approval by the 
United States Department of Health and Human Services, 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0306#061 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medicaid EligibilityCIncome Disregards  
for Low Income Pregnant Women 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Rule in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
current policy governing countable income in the 
determination of Medicaid eligibility for low income 
pregnant women.  

Utilizing provisions allowed under Section 1902(r)(2) of 
the Social Security Act, the department disregards the first 
15 percent of monthly gross income under the federal 
poverty level standards when determining Medicaid 
eligibility for low income pregnant women (Section 
1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(I), 1902(1)(1)(A) of the Social Security 
Act). 
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Implementation of this Rule is subject to approval by the 
United States Department of Health and Human Services, 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0306#060 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Nursing Facility ServicesCStandards for Payment 
Ventilator Dependent CareCRequirements for Payments 

(LAC 50:II.10155) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Rule in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHB MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part II.  Medical Assistance Program 
Subpart 3.  Standards for Payments 

Chapter 101. Nursing FacilitiesCStandards for 
Payment 

Subchapter G.  Levels of Care 
§10155. Standards of Levels of Care 

A. - S.2.t  ... 
u. require staff to attend specialized training on 

ventilator assisted care if the facility provides SN-TDC 
services to Medicaid recipients from birth through age 25. 
The training will be conducted by a contractor designated by 
the department. The facility shall also cooperate with 
ongoing monitoring conducted by the contractor. Training 
content includes: 
 i. the special health needs of, and risks to 
ventilator-dependent recipients; 
 ii. the proper use and maintenance of equipment 
in use or new to the facility; 
 iii. current, new, or unusual health procedures and 
medications; 
 iv. diagnoses and treatments specific to pediatrics 
and in the development and nutritional needs of recipients; 
 v. emergency intervention; 
 vi. accessing school services for  
ventilator-assisted recipients; and 
 vii. discharge planning where families express 
interest in a recipient returning home. 

S.2.v - T. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 22:34 (January 1996), amended LR 23:970 
(August 1997), LR 29:911 (June 2003). 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0306#062 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Personal Care ServicesCLong Term Care 
(LAC 50:XV.Chapter 129) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Rule under the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Rule is adopted in accordance with 
the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHB MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 9.  Personal Care Services 

Chapter 129. Long Term Care 
§12901. General Provisions 

A. The purpose of personal care services is to enable an 
individual whose needs would otherwise require placement 
in an acute or long term care facility to remain safely in that 
individual's own home. The mission of Medicaid funded 
personal care services is to supplement the family and/or 
community supports that are available to maintain the 
recipient in the community. This service program is not 
intended to be a substitute for available family and/or 
community supports. Personal care services must be 
prescribed by a physician and provided in accordance with 
an approved service plan and supporting documentation. In 
addition, personal care services must be coordinated with the 
other Medicaid services being provided to the recipient and 
will be considered in conjunction with those other services. 
Personal care services will be provided in a manner 
consistent with the basic principles of consumer direction as 
set forth in §12907. 

B. An assessment shall be performed for every recipient 
who requests personal care services. This assessment shall 
be utilized to identify the recipient's long term care needs, 
preferences, the availability of family and community 
supports and to develop the service plan. The Minimum Data 
Set-Home Care (MDS-HC) System will be used as the basic 
assessment tool. However, other assessment tools may be 
utilized as a supplement to the MDS-HC to address the 
needs of special groups within the target population. 

C. Prior Authorization. Personal care services must be 
prior authorized. Requests for prior authorization must be 
submitted to the Bureau of Health Services Financing or its 
designee and include a copy of the assessment form and the 
service plan. Any other pertinent documents that 
substantiates the recipient's request for services may also be 
submitted. These documents will be reviewed to determine 
whether the recipient meets the criteria for personal care 
services and the necessity for the number of services hours 
requested. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:911 (June 2003). 
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§12903. Covered Services 
A. Personal care services are defined as those services 

that provide assistance with the activities of daily living 
(ADL) and the instrumental activities of daily living (IADL). 
Assistance may be either the actual performance of the 
personal care task for the individual or supervision and 
prompting so the individual performs the task by 
him/herself. ADLs are those personal, functional activities 
required by an individual for continued well-being, health 
and safety. ADLs include tasks such as: 

1. eating; 
2. bathing; 
3. dressing; 
4. grooming; 
5. transferring (getting in/out of the tub, from a bed to 

a chair); 
6. reminding the recipient to take medication;  
7. ambulation; and 
8. toileting. 

B. IADLs are those activities that are considered 
essential for sustaining the individual's health and safety, but 
may not require performance on a daily basis. IADLs 
include tasks such as: 

1. light housekeeping; 
2. food preparation and storage; 
3. grocery shopping; 
4. laundry; 
5. assisting with scheduling medical appointments 

when necessary; 
6. accompanying the recipient to medical 

appointments when necessary due to the recipient's frail 
condition; and 

7. assisting the recipient to access transportation. 
C. Emergency and non-emergency medical 

transportation is a covered Medicaid service and is available 
to all recipients. Non-medical transportation is not a required 
component of personal care services. However, providers 
may choose to furnish transportation for recipients during 
the course of providing personal care services. If 
transportation is furnished, the provider agency must accept 
any liability for their employee transporting a recipient. It is 
the responsibility of the provider agency to ensure that the 
employee has a current, valid driver's license and automobile 
liability insurance. See §12917 regarding reimbursement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:912 (June 2003). 
§12905. Recipient Qualifications 

A. Personal care services shall be available to recipients 
who are 65 years of age or older, or 21 years of age or older 
and disabled. Disabled is defined as meeting the eligibility 
criteria established by the Social Security Administration for 
disability benefits. The recipient must meet the requirements 
for a nursing facility level of care as defined in the Standards 
for Payment for Nursing Facility Services and be able to 
participate in his/her care and self direct the services 
provided by the personal care worker independently or 
through a responsible representative. Responsible 
representative is defined as the person designated by the 
recipient to act on his/her behalf in the process of accessing 

personal care services. In addition, the recipient must meet 
one of the following criteria: 

1. is in a nursing facility and could be discharged if 
community-based services were available; 

2. is likely to require nursing facility admission within 
the next 120 days; 

3. has a primary care-giver who has a disability or is 
over the age of 70; or 

4. faces a substantial possibility of deterioration in 
mental or physical condition or functioning if either home 
and community-based services or nursing facility services 
are not provided in less than 120 days. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:912 (June 2003). 
§12907. Recipient Rights 

A. Recipients who receive services under Personal Care 
Services-Long Term Care Program have the right to actively 
participate in the development of their service plan and the 
decision-making process regarding service delivery. 
Recipients also have the right to freedom of choice in the 
selection of a provider of personal care services and to 
participate in the following activities: 

1. interviewing and selecting the personal care worker 
who will be providing services in their home; 

2. developing the work schedule for their personal 
care worker; 

3. training the individual personal care worker in the 
specific skills necessary to maintain the recipient's 
independent functioning while safely maintaining him/her in 
the home; 

4. developing an emergency component in the service 
plan that includes a list of personal care staff who can serve 
as back-up when unforeseen circumstances prevent the 
regularly scheduled work from providing services; 

5. signing off on payroll logs and other documentation 
to verify staff work hours and to authorize payment; 

6. evaluating the personal care worker's job 
performance; and 

7. transferring or discharging the personal care worker 
assigned to provide their services; 

8. an informal resolution process to address their 
complaints and/or concerns regarding personal care services; 
and 

9. a formal resolution process to address those 
situations where the informal resolution process fails to 
resolve their complaint. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:912 (June 2003). 
§12909. Standards for Participation 

A. In order to participate as a personal care services 
provider in the Medicaid Program, an agency: 

1. must comply with: 
a. state licensing regulations; 
b. Medicaid provider enrollment requirements; 
c. the standards of care set forth by the Louisiana 

Board of Nursing; and 
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d. the policy and procedures contained in the 
Personal Care Services provider manual; 

2. must possess a current, valid license for the Client 
Services Providers, Personal Care Attendant Services 
Module issued by the Department of Social Services, Bureau 
of Licensing. 

B. In addition, a Medicaid enrolled agency must: 
1. either demonstrate experience in successfully 

providing direct care services to the target population or 
demonstrate the ability to successfully provide direct care 
services to the target population; 

2. employ a sufficient number of personal care and 
supervisory staff to ensure adequate coverage in the event 
that a worker's illness or an emergency prevents him/her 
from reporting for work; 

3. ensure that a criminal background check and drug 
testing is conducted for all direct care staff prior to an offer 
of employment being made; 

4. ensure that the direct care staff is qualified to 
provide personal care services. Assure that all new staff 
satisfactorily completes an orientation and training program 
in the first 30 days of employment. A legally responsible 
relative is prohibited from being the paid personal care 
worker for a family member; 

5.  assure that all agency staff is employed in 
accordance with Internal Revenue Service (IRS) and 
Department of Labor regulations. The subcontracting of 
individual personal care staff and/or supervisors is 
prohibited; 

6. implement and maintain an internal quality 
assurance plan to monitor recipient satisfaction with services 
on an ongoing basis; and 

7. document and maintain recipient records in 
accordance with federal and state regulations governing 
confidentiality and licensing requirements; 

8. have written policies and procedures that recognize 
and reflect the recipient's right to participate in the activities 
set forth in §12907; 

9.  have a written policy for an informal resolution 
process to address recipient complaints and/or concerns 
regarding personal care services; and 

10. have a written policy for a formal resolution 
process to address those situations where the informal 
resolution process fails to resolve the recipient's complaint. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:912 (June 2003). 
§12911. Reserved. 
§12913. Place of Service 

A. Personal care services may be provided in the 
recipient's home or in another location outside of the 
recipient's home if the provision of these services allows the 
recipient to participate in normal life activities. The 
recipient's home is defined as the recipient's place of 
residence including his/her own house or apartment, a 
boarding house, or the house or apartment of a family 
member or unpaid primary care-giver. A hospital, an

institution for mental disease, a nursing facility, or an 
intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded, are not 
considered to be the recipient's home. 

B. The provision of services outside of the recipient's 
home does not include trips outside of the borders of the 
state. However, consideration will be given when the 
recipient lives in an area adjacent to the state's border and it 
is customary for residents of that area to seek medical and 
other services in the neighboring state. 

C. Personal care services shall not be provided in the 
personal care worker's home. However, consideration will be 
given if it can be satisfactorily assured that: 

1. the selection of the place of service is consistent 
with the recipient's choice; 

2. the recipient's health and safety can be maintained 
when services are provided in the personal care worker's 
home; and 

3. the services do not substitute for otherwise 
available family and/or community supports. 

D. Place(s) of service must be documented in the service 
plan and progress notes. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:913 (June 2003). 
§12915. Service Limitations 

A. Personal care services shall be limited to up to 56 
hours per week. Authorization of service hours shall be 
considered on a case-by-case basis as substantiated by the 
recipient's service plan and supporting documentation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:913 (June 2003). 
§12917. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. Reimbursement for personal care services shall be a 
prospective flat rate for each approved unit of service that is 
provided to the recipient. One quarter hour is the standard 
unit of service for personal care services. Reimbursement 
shall not be paid for the provision of less than one quarter 
hour of service. Additional reimbursement shall not be 
available for transportation furnished during the course of 
providing personal care services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:913 (June 2003). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0306#063 
 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 06   June 20, 2003 914 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Private HospitalsCOutlier Payments 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Rule in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq.  

Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
February 20, 1996 Rule by changing the definition of 
marginal cost. The marginal cost factor for outliers shall be 
considered to be 100 percent of costs after the costs for the 
case exceed the hospital's prospective payment. In addition, 
the Bureau amends the reimbursement methodology for 
calculating outlier payments for private hospitals by 
changing the hospital specific cost-to-charge ratio from the 
base period currently being utilized to a hospital specific 
cost-to-charge ratio based on the hospital's  cost report period 
ending in state fiscal year (SFY) 2000 (July 1, 1999 through 
June 30, 2000). The cost-to-charge ratio for new hospitals 
and hospitals that did not provide Medicaid Neonatal 
Intensive Care Unit (NICU) services in SFY 2000 will be 
calculated based on the first full year cost reporting period 
that the hospital was open or that Medicaid NICU services 
were provided. Outlier payments are not payable for 
transplant procedures as transplants are not reimbursed on a 
prospective basis. 

A deadline of six months subsequent to the date that the 
final claim is paid is established for receipt of the written 
request filing for outlier payments. 

The hospital specific cost-to-charge ratio will be reviewed 
bi-annually and the outlier payment may be adjusted as a 
result of this review at the discretion of the Secretary. Upon 
adoption of the Rule, hospitals shall receive notification of 
an impending change to the hospital specific outlier payment 
by means of a letter sent directly to the hospital.  

Implementation of this Rule shall be contingent upon the 
approval of the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0306#064 
 

RULE 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Disposal of Exploration and Production Waste  
(LAC 43:XVII.Chapter 31 and XIX.Chapter 5) 

The Louisiana Office of Conservation has promulgated 
the following new salt cavern exploration and production 
(E&P) waste disposal regulations at LAC 43:XVII.3101 et 

seq. and has amended the existing commercial facility 
regulations in LAC 43:XIX.501, 503.F.3, 505.B, 507.A.1 
and 6, 511.E.2, 519.C.4.d and C.7, 523.D, 525.D, 535.G, 
547.A.6, 555 and 565.F in accordance with the provisions of 
the Administrative Procedure Act, R. S. 49:950 et seq., and 
pursuant to the power delegated under the laws of the State 
of Louisiana and particularly Title 30 of the Louisiana 
Revised Statutes of 1950, R.S. 4.C(1), (2), (3), (6), (8), (9), 
(10), (14), (16) and I. The new and amended regulations 
included herewith will provide for the disposal of E&P 
waste into salt caverns and clarify certain areas of existing 
commercial facility regulations in LAC 43:XIX.501 et seq.  

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES  

PART XVII.  Office of ConservationCInjection and 
Mining 

Subpart 4.  Statewide Order No. 29-M-2 
Chapter 31. Disposal of Exploration and Production 

Waste in Solution-Mined Salt Caverns 
§3101. Definitions 

ApplicationCthe filing on the appropriate Office of 
Conservation form(s), including any additions, revisions, 
modifications, or required attachments to the form(s), for a 
permit to operate a salt cavern waste disposal facility or 
parts thereof. 

AquiferCa geologic formation, groups of formations, or 
part of a formation that is capable of yielding a significant 
amount of water to a well or spring. 

Blanket MaterialCsometimes referred to as a "pad." The 
blanket material is a fluid placed within a salt cavern that is 
lighter than the water in the cavern and will not dissolve the 
salt or any mineral impurities that may be contained within 
the salt. The function of the blanket is to prevent unwanted 
leaching of the salt cavern roof, prevent leaching of salt from 
around the cemented casing, and to protect the cemented 
casing from internal corrosion. Blanket material typically 
consists of crude oil, diesel, mineral oil, or some fluid 
possessing similar noncorrosive, nonsoluble, low density 
properties. The blanket material is placed between the salt 
cavern =s outermost hanging string and innermost cemented 
casing. 

BrineCwater within a salt cavern that is completely or 
partially saturated with salt. 

Cap RockCthe porous and permeable strata immediately 
overlying all or part of the salt stock of some salt structures 
typically composed of anhydrite, gypsum, limestone, and 
occasionally sulfur. 

CasingCmetallic pipe placed and cemented in the 
wellbore for the purpose of supporting the sides of the 
wellbore and to act as a barrier preventing subsurface 
migration of fluids out of or into the wellbore. 

Catastrophic CollapseCthe sudden or utter failure of the 
overlying strata caused by the removal or otherwise 
weakening of underlying sediments. 

CementingCthe operation (either primary, secondary, or 
squeeze) whereby a cement slurry is pumped into a drilled 
hole and/or forced behind the casing. 

Circulate to the SurfaceCthe observing of actual cement 
returns to the surface during the primary cementing 
operation. 

Commercial Salt Cavern FacilityCa legally permitted salt 
cavern waste disposal facility that disposes of exploration 
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and production waste off the site where produced by others 
for a fee or other consideration. 

CommissionerCthe Commissioner of Conservation for the 
State of Louisiana. 

ContaminationCthe introduction of substances or 
contaminants into a groundwater aquifer, a USDW or soil in 
such quantities as to render them unusable of their intended 
purposes. 

DischargeCthe placing, releasing, spilling, percolating, 
draining, pumping, leaking, mixing, migrating, seeping, 
emitting, disposing, by-passing, or other escaping of 
pollutants on or into the air, ground, or waters of the state. A 
discharge shall not include that which is allowed through a 
federal or state permit. 

E&P WasteCexploration and production waste. 
Effective DateCthe date of final promulgation of these 

rules and regulations. 
Emergency Shutdown ValveCa valve that automatically 

closes to isolate a salt cavern well from surface piping in the 
event of a specified condition that, if uncontrolled, may 
cause an emergency. 

Exempted AquiferCan aquifer or its portion that meets the 
criteria of the definition of underground source of drinking 
water but which has been exempted according to the 
procedures set forth in §3103.E.2. 

Existing Salt CavernCa salt cavern originally permitted by 
the Office of Conservation for use other than E&P waste 
disposal. 

Existing WellCa wellbore originally permitted by the 
Office of Conservation for use other than to facilitate E&P 
waste disposal into a salt cavern. 

Exploration and Production Waste (E&P Waste)Cdrilling 
wastes, salt water, and other wastes associated with the 
exploration, development, or production of crude oil or 
natural gas wells and which is not regulated by the 
provisions of, and, therefore, exempt from the Louisiana 
Hazardous Waste Regulations and the Federal Resource 
Conservation and Recovery Act, as amended. E&P Wastes 
include, but are not limited to, those wastes listed in the 
definition for E&P Waste located in LAC 43:XIX.501 
(Definitions). 

FluidCany material or substance which flows or moves 
whether in a semisolid, liquid, sludge, gas or any other form 
or state. 

GeneratorCa person or corporate entity who creates or 
causes to be created any E&P waste. 

Ground SubsidenceCthe downward settling of the Earth=s 
surface with little or no horizontal motion in response to 
natural or manmade subsurface actions. 

Groundwater AquiferCwater in the saturated zone beneath 
the land surface that contains less than 10,000 mg/l total 
dissolved solids. 

Groundwater ContaminationCthe degradation of naturally 
occurring groundwater quality either directly or indirectly as 
a result of human activities. 

Hanging StringCcasing whose weight is supported at the 
wellhead and hangs vertically in a larger cemented casing or 
another larger hanging string. 

Injection and Mining DivisionCthe Injection and Mining 
Division of the Louisiana Office of Conservation within the 
Department of Natural Resources. 

LeachingCthe process whereby an undersaturated fluid is 
introduced into a salt cavern thereby dissolving additional 
salt and increasing the volume of the salt cavern. 

MigratingCany movement of fluids by leaching, spilling, 
discharging, or any other uncontained or uncontrolled 
manner, except as allowed by law, regulation, or permit. 

New WellCa wellbore permitted by the Office of 
Conservation after the effective date of these rules and 
regulations to be completed into an existing salt cavern to 
facilitate E&P waste disposal. 

Non-Commercial Salt Cavern FacilityCa legally permitted 
salt cavern waste disposal facility that disposes of only E&P 
waste generated by the owner of the facility during oil and 
gas exploration and production activities. 

Office of ConservationCthe Louisiana Office of 
Conservation within the Department of Natural Resources. 

Oil-Based Drilling MudsCany oil-based drilling fluid 
composed of a water in oil emulsion, organophillic clays, 
drilled solids and additives for down-hole rheology and 
stability such as fluid loss control materials, thinners, 
weighting agents, etc. 

OperatorCthe person recognized by the Office of 
Conservation as being responsible for the physical operation 
of the facility or activity subject to regulatory authority 
under these rules and regulations. 

OwnerCthe person recognized by the Office of 
Conservation as owning the facility or activity subject to 
regulatory authority under these rules and regulations. 

PersonCan individual, association, partnership, public or 
private corporation, firm, municipality, state or federal 
agency and any agent or employee thereof, or any other 
juridical person. 

Produced WaterCliquids and suspended particulate matter 
that is obtained by processing fluids brought to the surface in 
conjunction with the recovery of oil and gas from 
underground geologic formations, with underground storage 
of hydrocarbons, or with solution mining for brine. 

Public Water SystemCmeans a system for the provision to 
the public of piped water for human consumption, if such 
system has at least 15 service connections or regularly serves 
at least 25 individuals. Such term includes:  

1. any collection, treatment, storage, and distribution 
facilities under control of the operator of such system and 
used primarily in connection with such system; and  

2. any collection or pretreatment storage facilities not 
under such control which are used primarily in connection 
with such system. 

ReleaseCthe accidental or intentional spilling, pumping, 
leaking, pouring, emitting, leaching, escaping, or dumping 
of pollutants into or on any air, land, groundwater, or waters 
of the state. A release shall not include that which is allowed 
through a federal or state permit. 

Salt CavernCsee solution-mined salt cavern  
Salt Cavern RoofCthe uppermost part of a salt cavern 

being just below the neck of the wellbore. The shape of the 
salt cavern roof may be flat or domed. 

Salt Cavern Waste Disposal FacilityCany public, private, 
or commercial property, including surface and subsurface 
lands and appurtenances thereto, used for receiving, storing, 
and/or processing E&P waste for disposal into a solution-
mined salt cavern. 
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Salt Cavern WellCa well extending into the salt stock to 
facilitate the disposal of waste or other fluids into a salt 
cavern. 

Salt DomeCa diapiric, typically circular structure that 
penetrates, uplifts, and deforms overlying sediments as a 
result of the upward movement of a salt stock in the 
subsurface. Collectively, the salt dome includes the salt 
stock and any overlying uplifted sediments. 

Salt StockCa typically cylindrical formation composed 
chiefly of an evaporite mineral that forms the core of a salt 
dome. The most common form of the evaporite mineral is 
halite known chemically as sodium chloride (NaCl). Cap 
rock shall not be considered a part of the salt stock. 

Solution-Mined Salt CavernCa cavity created within the 
salt stock by dissolution with water. 

StateCthe State of Louisiana. 
SubsidenceCsee ground subsidence. 
Surface CasingCthe first string of casing installed in a 

well, excluding conductor casing. 
Transport VehicleCa motor vehicle, rail freight car, freight 

container, cargo tank, portable tank, or vessel used for the 
transportation of E&P wastes or other materials for use or 
disposal at a salt cavern waste disposal facility. 

TransportationCthe movement of wastes or other 
materials from the point of generation or storage to the salt 
cavern waste disposal facility by means of commercial or 
private transport vehicle. 

Unauthorized DischargeCa continuous, intermittent, or 
one-time discharge, whether intentional or unintentional, 
anticipated or unanticipated, from any permitted or 
unpermitted source which is in contravention of any 
provision of the Louisiana Environmental Quality Act (R.S. 
30:2001 et seq.) or of any permit or license terms and 
conditions, or of any applicable regulation, compliance 
schedule, variance, or exception of the commissioner of 
Conservation. 

Underground Source of Drinking WaterCan aquifer or its 
portion: 

1. which supplies any public water system; or 
2. which contains a sufficient quantity of groundwater 

to supply a public water system; and 
a. currently supplies drinking water for human 

consumption; or 
b. contains fewer than 10,000 mg/1 total dissolved 

solids; and which is not an exempted aquifer. 
Waters of the StateCboth surface and underground waters 

within the state of Louisiana including all rivers, streams, 
lakes, groundwaters, and all other water courses and waters 
within the confines of the state, and all bordering waters, and 
the Gulf of Mexico. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources,  Office of Conservation, LR 29:914 (June 
2003). 
§3103. General Provisions 

A. Applicability 
1. These rules and regulations shall apply to all 

applicants, owners and/or operators of non-commercial salt 
cavern waste disposal facilities for disposal or proposed for 
disposal of E&P waste. However, where indicated, certain 
criteria found herein will also apply to commercial facility

operators, in addition to the requirements of LAC 
43:XIX.501 et seq. 

2. These rules and regulations do not address creation 
of a salt cavern, rather, only the disposal of E&P waste into a 
salt cavern. Rules governing the permitting, drilling, 
constructing, operating, and maintaining of a Class III brine 
solution mining well and cavern are codified in applicable 
sections of Statewide Order No. 29-N-1 (LAC 43:XVII, 
Subpart 1) or successor documents. 

3. An applicant, owner and/or operator of a salt cavern 
being solution-mined for conversion to E&P waste disposal 
should become familiar with these rules and regulations to 
assure that the well and salt cavern shall comply with these 
rules and regulations. 

B. Prohibition of Unauthorized Disposal of Exploration 
and Production Waste 

1. Construction, conversion and/or operation of a salt 
cavern for disposal of E&P waste without obtaining a permit 
from the Office of Conservation is a violation of these rules 
and regulations and applicable laws of the State of 
Louisiana. 

2. Any salt cavern well or salt cavern existing before 
the effective date of these Rules must comply with the 
requirements of these rules and regulations before 
converting the existing well and salt cavern to E&P waste 
disposal. 

C. Prohibition on Movement of Fluids into Underground 
Sources of Drinking Water 

1. No authorization by permit shall allow the 
movement of injected or disposed fluids into underground 
sources of drinking water or outside the salt stock. The 
owner or operator of the salt cavern waste disposal facility 
shall have the burden of showing that this requirement is 
met. 

2. The Office of Conservation may take emergency 
action upon receiving information that injected or disposed 
fluid is present in or likely to enter an underground source of 
drinking water or may present an imminent and substantial 
endangerment to the environment, or the health, safety and 
welfare of the public. 

D. Prohibition of Surface Discharges. The intentional, 
accidental, or otherwise unauthorized discharge of fluids, 
wastes, or process materials into manmade or natural 
drainage systems or directly into waters of the State is 
strictly prohibited. 

E. Identification of Underground Sources of Drinking 
Water and Exempted Aquifers 

1. The Office of Conservation may identify (by 
narrative description, illustrations, maps, or other means) 
and shall protect as an underground source of drinking 
water, except where exempted under §3103.E.2 all aquifers 
or parts of aquifers that meet the definition of an 
underground source of drinking water. Even if an aquifer has 
not been specifically identified by the Office of 
Conservation, it is an underground source of drinking water 
if it meets the definition. 

2. After notice and opportunity for a public hearing, 
the Office of Conservation may identify (by narrative 
description, illustrations, maps, or other means) and describe 
in geographic and/or geometric terms (such as vertical and 
lateral limits and gradient) that are clear and definite, all 
aquifers or parts thereof that the Office of Conservation 
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proposes to denote as exempted aquifers if they meet the 
following criteria: 

a. the aquifer does not currently serve as a source of 
drinking water; and 

b. the aquifer cannot now and shall not in the future 
serve as a source of drinking water because: 
 i. it is mineral, hydrocarbon, or geothermal 
energy producing or can be demonstrated to contain minerals 
or hydrocarbons that when considering their quantity and 
location are expected to be commercially producible; 
 ii. it is situated at a depth or location that makes 
recovery of water for drinking water purposes economically 
or technologically impractical; 
 iii. it is so contaminated that it would be 
economically or technologically impractical to render said 
water fit for human consumption; or 
 iv. it is located in an area subject to severe 
subsidence or catastrophic collapse; or 

c. the total dissolved solids content of the 
groundwater is more than 3,000 mg/l and less than 10,000 
mg/l and it is not reasonably expected to supply a public 
water system. 

F. Exceptions/Variances 
1. Except where noted in specific provisions of these 

rules and regulations, the Office of Conservation may allow, 
on a case-by-case basis, exceptions or variances to these 
rules and regulations. It shall be the obligation of the 
applicant, owner, or operator to show that the requested 
exception or variance shall not create an increased 
endangerment to the environment, or the health, safety and 
welfare of the public. The applicant, owner, or operator shall 
submit a written request to the Office of Conservation 
detailing the reason for the requested exception or variance. 
No deviation from the requirements of these rules or 
regulations shall be undertaken by the applicant, owner, or 
operator without prior written authorization from the Office 
of Conservation. 

2. Granting of exceptions or variances to these rules 
and regulations shall only be considered upon proper 
showing by the applicant, owner, or operator at a public 
hearing that such exception or variance is reasonable, 
justified by the particular circumstances, and consistent with 
the intent of these rules and regulations regarding physical 
and environmental safety and the prevention of waste. The 
requester of the exception or variance shall be responsible 
for all costs associated with a public hearing. 

G. Prohibition Through Oilfield Site Restoration Fund. 
Without exception or variance to these rules and regulations, 
no solution-mined salt cavern or associated well shall be 
used for exploration and production waste disposal if the 
well or salt cavern was previously plugged and abandoned 
by or where site restoration has occurred pursuant to funding 
provided through the Oilfield Site Restoration Fund, R.S. 
30:80 et seq. (Act 404 of 1993). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources,  Office of Conservation, LR 29:916 (June 
2003). 
§3105. Permit Requirements 

A. Applicability. No person shall convert or operate a 
non-commercial salt cavern waste disposal facility without 

first obtaining written authorization (permit) from the Office 
of Conservation. 

B. Application Required. Applicants for a non-
commercial salt cavern waste disposal facility, permittees 
with expiring permits, or any person required to have a 
permit shall complete, sign, and submit one original 
application form with required attachments and 
documentation and two copies of the same to the Office of 
Conservation. The complete application shall contain all 
information necessary to show compliance with applicable 
State laws and these regulations. 

C. Who Applies. It is the duty of the owner or proposed 
owner of a facility or activity to submit a permit application 
and obtain a permit. When a facility or activity is owned by 
one person and operated by another, it is the duty of the 
operator to file and obtain a permit. 

D. Signature Requirements. All permit applications shall 
be signed as follows. 

1. Corporations. By a principle executive officer of at 
least the level of vice-president, or duly authorized 
representative of that person if the representative performs 
similar policy making functions for the corporation. A 
person is a duly authorized representative only if: 

a. the authorization is made in writing by a 
principle executive officer of at least the level of vice-
president; 

b. the authorization specifies either an individual or 
position having responsibility for the overall operation of the 
salt cavern waste disposal facility, such as the position of 
plant manager, superintendent, or position of equivalent 
responsibility. A duly authorized representative may thus be 
either a named individual or any individual occupying a 
named position; and 

c. the written authorization is submitted to the 
Office of Conservation. 

2. Partnership or Sole Proprietorship. By a general 
partner or proprietor, respectively; or 

3. Public Agency. By either a principle executive 
officer or a ranking elected official of a municipality, state, 
federal, or other public agency. 

E. Signature Reauthorization. If an authorization under 
§3105.D is no longer accurate because a different individual 
or position has responsibility for the overall operation of the 
salt cavern waste disposal facility, a new authorization 
satisfying the signature requirements must be submitted to 
the Office of Conservation before or concurrent with any 
reports, information, or applications required to be signed by 
an authorized representative. 

F. Certification. Any person signing a document under 
§3105.D shall make the following certification on the 
application: 

"I certify under penalty of law that I have personally 
examined and am familiar with the information 
submitted in this document and all attachments and that 
based on my inquiry of those individuals immediately 
responsible for obtaining the information, I believe that 
the information is true, accurate, and complete. I am 
aware that there are significant penalties for submitting 
false information, including the possibility of fine 
and/or imprisonment." 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq.  
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources,  Office of Conservation, LR 29:917 (June 
2003). 
§3107. Application Content 

A. The following minimum information required in 
§3107 shall be submitted in a permit application for a non-
commercial salt cavern E&P waste disposal facility. The 
applicant shall also refer to the appropriate application form 
for any additional information that may be required. 

B. Administrative information: 
1. all required state application form(s);  
2. the nonrefundable application fee(s) and public 

hearing fee; 
3. the name, mailing address, and physical address of 

the salt cavern waste disposal facility; 
4. the operator's name, address and telephone number; 
5. ownership status as federal, state, private, public, or 

other entity; 
6. a brief description of the nature of the business 

associated with the activity; 
7. list of all permits or construction approvals that the 

applicant has received or applied for and which specifically 
affect the legal or technical ability of the applicant to 
undertake the activity or activities to be conducted by the 
applicant under the permit being sought; 

8. a copy of the title to the property for the salt cavern 
waste disposal facility. If a lease, option to lease, or other 
agreement is in effect on the property, a copy of this 
instrument shall be included with the application; 

9. acknowledgment as to whether the facility is 
located on Indian lands or other lands under the jurisdiction 
or protection of the federal government, or whether the 
facility is located on state water bottoms or other lands 
owned by or under the jurisdiction or protection of the State 
of Louisiana; 

10. documentation of financial responsibility and 
insurance or documentation of the method by which proof of 
financial responsibility and insurance will be provided as 
required in §3109.B. Where applicable, include copies of a 
draft letter of credit, bond, or any other evidence of financial 
responsibility acceptable to the Office of Conservation. 
Before making a final permit decision, final (official) 
documentation of financial responsibility and insurance must 
be submitted to and approved by the Office of Conservation; 

11. names and addresses of all property owners within 
a one-half mile radius of the property boundary of the salt 
cavern waste disposal facility. 

C. Maps and Related InformationC 
1. a location plat of the salt cavern well prepared and 

certified by a registered civil engineer or registered land 
surveyor. The location plat shall be prepared according to 
standards of the Office of Conservation; 

2. a topographic or other map extending at least one 
mile beyond the property boundaries of the salt cavern waste 
disposal facility depicting the facility and each well where 
fluids are injected underground; and those wells, springs, or 
surface water bodies, and drinking water wells listed in 
public records or otherwise known to the applicant in the 
map area; 

3. the section, township and range of the area in which 
the salt cavern waste disposal facility is located and any 
parish, city or municipality boundary lines within one mile 
of the facility location; 

4. a map showing the salt cavern well for which the 
permit is sought, the property boundaries of the salt cavern 
waste disposal facility, and the area of review. Within the 
area of review, the map shall show the number, name, and 
location of all existing producing wells, injection wells, 
abandoned wells and dry holes, public water systems and 
water wells. The map shall also show surface bodies of 
water, mines (surface and subsurface), quarries, and other 
pertinent surface features including residences and roads, 
and faults if known or projected; 

5. maps and cross sections indicating the vertical 
limits of all underground sources of drinking water within 
the area of review, their position relative to the disposal 
formation, and the direction of water movement, where 
known, in every underground source of drinking water 
which may be affected by the proposed project; 

6. generalized maps and cross sections illustrating the 
regional geologic setting; 

7. structure contour mapping of the top-of-salt on a 
scale no smaller than one inch to five hundred feet; 

8. vertical cross sections detailing the geologic 
structure of the local area. The cross sections shall be 
structural (as opposed to stratigraphic cross sections), be 
referenced to sea level, show the salt cavern well and the salt 
cavern being permitted, all surrounding salt caverns 
regardless of use and current status, conventional (room and 
pillar) mines, and all other bore holes and wells that 
penetrate the salt stock. Cross sections should be oriented to 
indicate the closest approach to surrounding salt caverns, 
bore holes, wells, etc., and shall extend at least one-mile 
beyond the edge of the salt stock. Any faulting in the area 
shall be illustrated on the cross sections such that the 
displacement of subsurface formations is accurately 
depicted; and 

9. any other information required by the Office of 
Conservation to evaluate the salt cavern well, salt cavern, 
and related surface facility. 

D. Area of Review Information. Refer to §3115.E for 
area of review boundaries and exceptions. Only information 
of public record need be researched or submitted with the 
application, however, a diligent effort must be made to 
identify all wells and other manmade structures in response 
to the area of review requirements. The applicant shall 
provide the following information on all wells or structures 
within the defined area of review: 

1. a discussion of the protocol used by the applicant to 
identify wells and manmade structures in the defined area of 
review; 

2. a tabular listing of all known water wells in the area 
of review to include the name of the operator, well location, 
well depth, well use (domestic, irrigation, public, etc), and 
current well status (active, abandoned, etc.);  

3. a tabular listing of all known wells (excluding 
water wells) in the area of review with penetrations into the 
cap rock or salt stock to include at a minimum: 

a. operator name, well name and number, state 
serial number (if assigned), and well location; 

b. well type and current well status (producing, 
disposal, storage, solution mining, shut-in, plugged and 
abandoned), date the well was drilled, and the date the 
current well status was assigned; 
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c. well depth, construction, completion (including 
completion depths), plug and abandonment data; 

4. the following information shall be provided on 
manmade structures within the salt stock regardless of use, 
depth of penetration, or distance to the salt cavern well or 
salt cavern being the subject of the application: 

a. a tabular listing of all salt caverns to include: 
 i. operator name, well name and number, state 
serial number, and well location; 
 ii. current or previous use of the salt cavern 
(waste disposal, hydrocarbon storage, solution mining), 
current status of the salt cavern (active, shut-in, plugged and 
abandoned), date the salt cavern well was drilled, and the 
date the current salt cavern status was assigned; 
 iii. salt cavern depth, construction, completion 
(including completion depths), plug and abandonment data; 

b. a tabular listing of all conventional (dry or room 
and pillar) mining activities, whether active or abandoned. 
The listing shall include the following minimum items: 
 i. owner or operator name and address; 
 ii. current mine status (active, abandoned);  
 iii. depth and boundaries of mined levels; 
 iv. the closest distance of the mine in any direction 
to the salt cavern well and salt cavern. 

E. Technical Information. The applicant shall submit, as 
an attachment to the application form, the following 
minimum information in technical report format: 

1. results of a current salt cavern sonar survey and 
mechanical integrity pressure and leak tests; 

2. corrective action plan required by §3115.F for wells 
or other manmade structures within the area of review that 
penetrate the salt stock but are not properly constructed, 
completed or plugged and abandoned; 

3. plans for performing the geological and 
hydrogeological studies of §3115.B, C, and D. If such 
studies have already been done, submit the results obtained 
along with an interpretation of the results; 

4. properly labeled schematic of the surface 
construction details of the salt cavern well to include the 
wellhead, gauges, flowlines, and any other pertinent details; 

5. properly labeled schematic of the subsurface 
construction and completion details of the salt cavern well 
and salt cavern to include borehole diameters (bit size or 
calipered); all cemented casings with cement specifications, 
casing specifications (size, depths, etc.); all hanging strings 
showing sizes and depths set; total depth of well; top, 
bottom, and diameter of cavern; and any other pertinent 
details; 

6. surface site diagram(s) drawn to scale to include 
details and locations of the entire salt cavern waste disposal 
facility layout (surface pumps, piping and instrumentation, 
controlled access roads, fenced boundaries, waste 
offloading, storage, treatment and processing areas, field 
office, monitoring and safety equipment and location of such 
equipment, required curbed or other retaining wall heights, 
etc.); 

7. detailed plans and procedures to operate the salt 
cavern well, salt cavern, and related surface facilities in 
accordance with the following requirements: 

a. the cavern and surface facility design 
requirements of §3117, including, but not limited to cavern 
spacing requirements and cavern coalescence;  

b. the well construction and completion 
requirements of §3119, including, but not limited to open 
borehole surveys, casing and cementing, casing and casing 
seat tests, cased borehole surveys, hanging strings, and 
wellhead components and related connections; 

c the operating requirements of §3121, including, 
but not limited to cavern roof restrictions, blanket material, 
remedial work, well recompletion, multiple well caverns, 
cavern allowable operating pressure and rates, cavern 
displacement fluid management, and E&P waste storage; 

d. the safety requirements of §3123, including, but 
not limited to an emergency action plan, controlled site 
access, facility identification, personnel, wellhead protection 
and identification, valves and flowlines, alarm systems, 
emergency shutdown valves, vapor monitoring and leak 
detection, gaseous vapor control, fire detection and 
suppression, systems test and inspections, and surface 
facility retaining walls and spill containment, as well as 
contingency plans to cope with all shut-ins or well failures to 
prevent the migration of contaminating fluids into 
underground sources of drinking water;  

e. the monitoring requirements of §3125, including, 
but not limited to equipment requirements such as pressure 
gauges, pressure sensors and flow sensors, continuous 
recording instruments, vapor monitoring and leak detection, 
subsidence monitoring, and weather conditions (wind sock), 
as well as a description of methods that will be undertaken to 
monitor salt cavern growth due to undersaturated fluid 
injection. The plan shall incorporate method(s) for 
monitoring the salinity of all wastes disposed and the carrier 
fluid used in aiding the disposal of wastes; 

f. the pre-operating requirements of §3127, 
specifically the submission of a completion report, and the 
information required therein, prior to accepting, storing, 
treating, processing or otherwise initiating waste disposal 
activities; 

g. the mechanical integrity pressure and leak test 
requirements of §3129, including, but not limited to 
frequency of tests, test methods, submission of pressure and 
leak test results, notification of test failures and prohibition 
of waste acceptance during mechanical integrity failure; 

h. the cavern configuration and capacity 
measurement procedures of §3131, including, but not limited 
to sonar caliper surveys, frequency of surveys, and 
submission of survey results; 

i. the cavern waste disposal capacity exceedance 
requirements of §3133; 

j. the requirements for inactive caverns in §3135; 
k. the reporting requirements of §3137, including, 

but not limited to the information required in monthly waste 
receipts and operation reports; 

l. the record retention requirements of §3139;  
m. the closure and post-closure requirements of 

§3141, including, but not limited to closure plan 
requirements, notice of intent to close, standards for closure, 
and post-closure requirements; and 

n. any other information pertinent to operation of 
the salt cavern E&P waste disposal facility, including, but 
not limited to procedures for waste characterization and 
testing, waste acceptance, waste storage, waste processing, 
waste disposal, any waiver for surface siting, monitoring 
equipment and safety procedures. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources,  Office of Conservation, LR 29:918 (June 
2003). 
§3109. Legal Permit Conditions 

A. Signatories. All reports required by permit or 
regulation and other information requested by the Office of 
Conservation shall be signed as in applications by a person 
described in §3105.D or §3105.E. 

B. Financial Responsibility 
1. Closure and Post-Closure. The owner or operator of 

a non-commercial salt cavern E&P waste disposal facility 
shall maintain financial responsibility and the resources to 
close, plug and abandon and, where necessary, for post-
closure care of the salt cavern well, salt cavern, and related 
facility as prescribed by the Office of Conservation. 
Evidence of financial responsibility shall be by submission 
of a surety bond, a letter of credit, certificate of deposit, or 
other instruments acceptable to the Office of Conservation. 
The amount of funds available shall be no less than the 
amount identified in the cost estimate of the closure plan of 
§3141.A and, if required, post-closure plan of §3141.B. Any 
financial instrument filed in satisfaction of these financial 
responsibility requirements shall be issued by and drawn on 
a bank or other financial institution authorized under state or 
federal law to operate in the State of Louisiana. 

2. Insurance. All owners or operators of a salt cavern 
waste disposal facility shall provide evidence of sudden and 
accidental pollution liability insurance coverage for damages 
that may be caused to any property and party by the escape 
or discharge of any material or waste from the facility. Such 
evidence shall be provided to the Office of Conservation 
before the issuance of a permit for a salt cavern waste 
disposal facility. 

a. Insurance responsibility may be evidenced by 
filing a certificate of sudden and accidental pollution 
liability insurance (indicating the required coverage is in 
effect and all deductible amounts applicable to the 
coverage), a letter of credit, bond, certificate of deposits 
issued by and drawn on Louisiana banks, or any other 
evidence of equivalent financial responsibility acceptable to 
the Office of Conservation. 

b. The amount and extent of such sudden and 
accidental pollution liability insurance responsibility shall 
not be less than the face amounts per occurrence and/or 
aggregate occurrences as set by the Office of Conservation. 
The minimum coverage for sudden and accidental pollution 
liability insurance shall be $5,000,000. The Office of 
Conservation retains the right to increase the minimum 
amount of insurance coverage as needed to prevent waste 
and to protect the environment, or the health, safety and 
welfare of the public. 

c. Insurance coverage shall be issued by a company 
licensed to operate in the state of Louisiana. A copy of the 
insurance policy subsequently issued with any certificate of 
insurance is to be immediately filed with the Office of 
Conservation upon receipt by the operator.  

3. Renewal of Financial Responsibility and Insurance. 
Any approved instrument of financial responsibility and 
insurance coverage shall be renewable yearly. 
Documentation of renewals shall be submitted to the Office 
of Conservation. 

C. Duty to Comply. The operator must comply with all 
conditions of a permit. Any permit noncompliance is a 
violation of the permit and these rules and regulations and is 
grounds for enforcement action, permit termination, 
revocation and possible reissuance, modification, or denial 
of any future permit renewal applications. It shall be the duty 
of the operator to prove that continued operation of the salt 
cavern waste disposal facility shall not endanger the 
environment, or the health, safety and welfare of the public. 

D. Duty to Halt or Reduce Activity. It shall not be a 
defense for an owner or operator in an enforcement action to 
claim it would have been necessary to halt or reduce the 
permitted activity to maintain compliance with the 
conditions of the permit. 

E. Duty to Mitigate. The owner or operator shall take all 
reasonable steps to minimize or correct any adverse impact 
on the environment resulting from a noncompliance with the 
permit or these rules and regulations. 

F. Proper Operation and Maintenance 
1. The operator shall always properly operate and 

maintain all facilities and systems of storage, treatment, 
disposal, injection, withdrawal, and control (and related 
appurtenances) installed or used to achieve compliance with 
the permit or these rules and regulations. Proper operation 
and maintenance include effective performance (including 
well/cavern mechanical integrity), adequate funding, 
adequate operation, staffing and training, and adequate 
controls. This provision requires the operation of back-up, 
auxiliary facilities, or similar systems when necessary to 
achieve compliance with the conditions of the permit or 
these rules and regulations. 

2. The operator shall address any unauthorized escape, 
discharge, or release of any material or waste from the salt 
cavern waste disposal facility, or part thereof, with a 
corrective action plan. The plan shall address the cause, 
delineate the extent, and determine the overall effects on the 
environment resulting from the escape, discharge, or release. 
The Office of Conservation shall require the operator to 
formulate a plan to remediate the escaped, discharged, or 
released material or waste if the material or waste is thought 
to have entered or has the possibility of entering an 
underground s ource of drinking water. 

3. The Office of Conservation may immediately 
prohibit further operations if it determines that continued 
operations at a salt cavern waste disposal facility, or part 
thereof, may cause unsafe operating conditions, or endanger 
the environment, or the health, safety and welfare of the 
public. The prohibition shall remain in effect until it is 
determined that continued operations can and shall be 
conducted safely. It shall be the duty of the operator to prove 
that continued operation of the salt cavern waste disposal 
facility, or part thereof, shall not endanger the environment, 
or the health, safety and welfare of the public. 

G. Inspection and Entry. Inspection and entry at a salt 
cavern waste disposal facility by Office of Conservation 
personnel shall be allowed as prescribed in R.S. of 1950, 
Title 30, Section 4. 

H. Notification Requirements. The operator shall give 
written, and where required, verbal notice to the Office of 
Conservation concerning activities indicated in this 
Subsection. 
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1. Any change in the principal officers, management, 
owner or operator of the salt cavern waste disposal facility 
shall be reported to the Office of Conservation in writing 
within 10 days of the change. 

2. Planned physical alterations or additions to the salt 
cavern well, salt cavern, surface facility or parts thereof that 
may constitute a modification or amendment of the permit. 

3. Whenever there has been no disposal of waste into 
a salt cavern for 30 consecutive days or more, the operator 
shall notify the Office of Conservation in writing within 
seven days following the thirtieth day of the salt cavern 
becoming inactive (out of service). The notification shall 
include the date on which the salt cavern was removed from 
service, the reason for taking the salt cavern out of service, 
and the expected date that the salt cavern shall be returned to 
waste disposal service. See §3135 for additional 
requirements for inactive caverns. 

4. The operator of a new or converted salt cavern well 
or salt cavern shall not begin waste disposal operations until 
the Office of Conservation has been notified of the 
following: 

a. well construction or conversion is complete, 
including submission of the completion report and all 
supporting information (e.g., as-built diagrams, records, 
sampling and testing results, well and cavern tests, logs, etc.) 
required in §3127; 

b. a representative of the commissioner has 
inspected the well and/or facility; and 

c. the operator has received written approval from 
the Office of Conservation clearly stating salt cavern waste 
disposal operations may begin. 

5. Noncompliance or anticipated noncompliance with 
the permit or applicable regulations including a failed 
mechanical integrity pressure and leak test of §3129. 

6. Permit Transfer. A permit is not transferable to any 
person except after giving written notice to and receiving 
written approval from the Office of Conservation clearly 
stating that the permit has been transferred. This action may 
require modification or revocation and re-issuance of the 
permit to change the name of the operator and incorporate 
other requirements as may be necessary, including but not 
limited to financial responsibility. 

7. Twenty-Four Hour Reporting 
a. The operator shall report any noncompliance that 

may endanger the environment, or the health, safety and 
welfare of the public. Any information pertinent to the 
noncompliance shall be reported to the Office of 
Conservation by telephone within 24 hours from when the 
operator becomes aware of the circumstances. A written 
submission shall also be provided within five days from 
when the operator becomes aware of the circumstances. The 
written notification shall contain a description of the 
noncompliance and its cause, the periods of noncompliance 
including exact times and dates, and if the noncompliance 
has not been corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to 
continue, and steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate and 
prevent recurrence of the noncompliance. 

b. The following additional information must also 
be reported within the 24-hour period: 
 i. monitoring or other information (including a 
failed mechanical integrity test of §3129) that suggests the 
waste disposal operation or disposed waste may cause an 

endangerment to underground sources of drinking waters, 
oil, gas, other commercial mineral deposits (excluding the 
salt), neighboring salt operations of any kind, or movement 
outside the salt stock or salt cavern; 
 ii. any noncompliance with a regulatory or permit 
condition or malfunction of the waste injection/withdrawal 
system (including a failed mechanical integrity test of 
§3129) that may cause fluid migration into or between 
underground sources of drinking waters or outside the salt 
stock or salt cavern. 

8. The operator shall give written notification to the 
Office of Conservation upon permanent conclusion of waste 
disposal operations into a salt cavern. Notification shall be 
given within seven days after concluding disposal 
operations. 

9. The operator shall give written notification before 
abandonment (closure) of the salt cavern, salt cavern well, or 
related surface facility. Abandonment (closure) shall not 
begin before receiving written authorization from the Office 
of Conservation. 

10. When the operator becomes aware that it failed to 
submit any relevant facts in a permit application or 
submitted incorrect information in a permit application or in 
any report to the Office of Conservation, the operator shall 
promptly submit such facts and information. 

I. Duration of Permits 
1. Authorization to Operate. Authorization by permit 

to operate a salt cavern waste disposal facility shall be valid 
for the life of the facility, unless suspended, modified, 
revoked and reissued, or terminated for cause as described in 
§3111.K.  

2. Authorization to Drill and Complete. Authorization 
by permit to drill and complete a new salt cavern well into 
an existing salt cavern shall be valid for one year from the 
effective date of the permit. If drilling and well completion 
is not completed in that time, the permit shall be null and 
void and the operator must obtain a new permit. 

3. Authorization to Convert. Authorization by permit 
to convert an existing salt cavern well or salt cavern to waste 
disposal shall remain in effect for six months from the 
effective date of the conversion permit. If conversion has not 
begun within that time, the permit shall be null and void and 
the operator must obtain a new permit. 

4. Extensions. The operator shall submit to the Office 
of Conservation a written request for an extension of the 
times of §3109.I.2 and §3109.I.3; however, the Office of 
Conservation shall approve the request only for extenuating 
circumstances. The operator shall have the burden of 
proving claims of extenuating circumstances. 

J. Compliance Review. Cavern disposal facility permits 
shall be reviewed at least once every five years to determine 
compliance with applicable permit requirements and 
conditions. Commencement of the permit review process for 
each facility shall proceed as authorized by the 
Commissioner of Conservation. 

K. Additional Conditions. The Office of Conservation 
may, on a case-by-case basis, impose any additional 
conditions or requirements as are necessary to protect the 
environment, the health, safety and welfare of the public, 
underground sources of drinking waters, oil, gas, or other 
mineral deposits (excluding the salt), and preserve the 
integrity of the salt dome. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources,  Office of Conservation, LR 29:920 (June 
2003). 
§3111. Permitting Process 

A. Applicability. This Section contains procedures for 
issuing and transferring permits to operate a non-commercial 
salt cavern waste disposal facility. Any person required to 
have a permit shall apply to the Office of Conservation as 
stipulated in §3105. The Office of Conservation shall not 
issue a permit before receiving an application form and any 
required supplemental information showing compliance with 
these rules and regulations and that is administratively and 
technically completed to the satisfaction of the Office of 
Conservation. 

B. Notice of Intent to File Application 
1. The applicant shall make public notice that a permit 

application is to be filed with the Office of Conservation. A 
notice of intent shall be published at least 30 days but not 
more than 120 days before filing the permit application with 
the Office of Conservation. The applicant shall publish a 
new notice of intent if the application is not received by the 
Office of Conservation within the filing period. 

2. The notice shall be published once in the official 
state journal, the official journal of the parish of the 
proposed project location, and, if different from the official 
parish journal, in a journal of general circulation in the area 
of the proposed project location. The cost for publishing the 
notice of intent shall be the responsibility of the applicant. 
The notice shall be published in bold-faced type, be not less 
than one-fourth page in size, and shall contain the following 
minimum information: 

a. name and address of the permit applicant and, if 
different, the facility to be regulated by the permit; 

b. the geographic location of the proposed project; 
c. name and address of the regulatory agency to 

process the permit action where interested persons may 
obtain information concerning the application or permit 
action; 

d. a brief description of the business conducted at 
the facility or activity described in the permit application 
including the method of storage, treatment, and/or disposal; 
and 

e. the nature and content of the proposed waste 
stream(s). 

C. Application Submission and Review 
1. The applicant shall complete, sign, and submit one 

original application form, with required attachments and 
documentation, and two copies of the same to the Office of 
Conservation. The complete application shall contain all 
information to show compliance with applicable state laws 
and these rules and regulations. 

2. The applicant shall be notified if a representative of 
the Office of Conservation decides that a site visit is 
necessary for any reason in conjunction with the processing 
of the application. Notification may be either oral or written 
and shall state the reason for the visit. 

3. If the Office of Conservation deems an application 
to be incomplete, deficient of information, or requires 
additional data, a notice of application deficiency indicating 
the information necessary to make the application complete 
shall be transmitted to the applicant. 

4. The Office of Conservation shall deny an 
application if an applicant fails, refuses, is unable to respond 
adequately to the notice of application deficiency, or if the 
Office of Conservation determines that the proposed activity 
cannot be conducted safely. The Office of Conservation shall 
notify the applicant by certified mail of the decision denying 
the application. 

D. Public Hearing Requirements. A public hearing is 
required for new applications and shall not be scheduled 
until administrative and technical review of an application 
has been completed to the satisfaction of the Office of 
Conservation. 

1. Notice by Office of Conservation 
a. Upon acceptance of a permit application as 

complete and meeting the administrative and technical 
requirements of these rules and regulations, the Office of 
Conservation shall fix a time, date, and location for a public 
hearing. The public hearing shall be held in the parish of the 
proposed project location. The cost of the public hearing 
shall be set by LAC 43:XIX.Chapter 7 (Fees, as amended) 
and is the responsibility of the applicant. 

b. The Office of Conservation shall provide notice 
of a scheduled hearing by mailing a copy of the notice to the 
applicant, property owners immediately adjacent to the 
proposed project, operators of existing projects located on or 
within the salt stock of the proposed project; United States 
Environmental Protection Agency; Louisiana Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries; Louisiana Department of 
Environmental Quality; Louisiana Office of Coastal 
Management; Louisiana Office of Conservation, Pipeline 
Division, Louisiana Department of Culture, Recreation and 
Tourism, Division of Archaeology; the governing authority 
for the parish of the proposed project; and any other 
interested parties. 

2. Notice by Applicant  
a. Public notice of a hearing shall be published by 

the applicant in the legal ad section of the official state 
journal, the official journal of the parish of the proposed 
project location, and, if different from the official parish 
journal, in a journal of general circulation in the area of the 
proposed project location, not less than 30 days before the 
scheduled hearing. 

b. The applicant shall file at least one copy of the 
complete permit application with the local governing 
authority of the parish of the proposed project location at 
least 30 days before the scheduled public hearing to be 
available for public review.  

c. One additional copy of the complete permit 
application shall be filed by the applicant in a public library 
in the parish and in close proximity to the proposed project 
location. 

3. Contents. Public notices shall contain the following 
minimum information: 

a. name and address of the permit applicant and, if 
different, the facility or activity regulated by the permit; 

b. name and address of the regulatory agency 
processing the permit action; 

c. name, address, and phone number of a person 
within the regulatory agency where interested persons may 
obtain information concerning the application or permit 
action; 
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d. a brief description of the business conducted at 
the facility or activ ity described in the permit application; 

e. a brief description of the public comment 
procedures and the time and place of the public hearing; 

f. a brief description of the nature and purpose of 
the public hearing. 

E. Draft Permit. The Office of Conservation shall 
prepare a draft permit (Order) after accepting a permit 
application as meeting the administrative and technical 
requirements of these rules and regulations. Draft permits 
shall be accompanied by a fact sheet, be publicly noticed, 
and made available for public comment. 

F. Fact Sheet. The Office of Conservation shall prepare a 
fact sheet for every draft permit. It shall briefly set forth 
principal facts and significant factual, legal, and policy 
questions considered in preparing the draft permit. 

1. The fact sheet may include: 
a. a brief description of the type of facility or 

activity that is the subject of the draft permit or application; 
b. the type and proposed quantity of material to be 

injected; 
c. a brief summary of the basis for the draft permit  

conditions including references to applicable statutory or 
regulatory provision; 

d. a description of the procedures for reaching a 
final decision on the draft permit or application including the 
ending date of the public comment period of §3111.H, the 
address where comments shall be received, and any other 
procedures whereby the public may participate in the final 
decision; 

e. the name and telephone number of a person 
within the permitting agency to contact for additional 
information. 

2. The fact sheet shall be distributed to the permit 
applicant and, on request, to any interested person. 

G. Public Hearing. Public hearings for permitting 
activities shall be held in the parish of the proposed project 
location. The cost of the public hearing shall be the 
responsibility of the applicant. 

1. The public hearing shall be fact finding in nature 
and not subject to the procedural requirements of the 
Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act. All public hearings 
shall be publicly noticed as required by these rules and 
regulations. 

2. At the hearing, any person may make oral 
statements or submit written statements and data concerning 
the application or permit action being the basis of the 
hearing. Reasonable limits may be set upon the time allowed 
for oral statements; therefore, submission of written 
statements may be required. The hearing officer may extend 
the comment period by so stating before the close of the 
hearing. 

3. A transcript shall be made of the hearing and such 
transcript shall be available for public review. 

H. Public Comments, Response to Comments, and 
Permit Issuance 

1. Any interested person may submit written 
comments concerning the permitting activity during the 
public comment period. All comments pertinent and 
significant to the permitting activity shall be considered in 
making the final permit decision. 

2. The Office of Conservation shall issue a response to 
all pertinent and significant comments as an attachment to 
and at the time of final permit decision. The final permit 
with response to comments shall be made available to the 
public. 

3. The Office of Conservation shall issue a final 
permit decision within 90 days following the close of the 
public comment period; however, this time may be extended 
due to the nature, complexity, and volume of public 
comments received. 

4. A final permit decision shall be effective on the 
date of issuance. 

5. Approval or the granting of a permit to construct a 
salt cavern waste disposal facility or salt cavern well shall 
not become final until a certified copy of a lease or proof of 
ownership of the property of the proposed project location is 
submitted to the Office of Conservation. 

I. Permit Application Denial 
1. The Office of Conservation may refuse to issue, 

reissue, or reinstate a permit or authorization if an applicant 
or operator has delinquent, finally determined violations of 
the Office of Conservation or unpaid penalties or fees, or if a 
history of past violations demonstrates the applicant=s or 
operator=s unwillingness to comply with permit or regulatory 
requirements. 

2. If a permit application is denied, the applicant may 
request a review of the Office of Conservation=s decision to 
deny the permit application. Such request shall be made in 
writing and shall contain facts or reasons supporting the 
request for review. 

3. Grounds for permit application denial review shall 
be limited to the following reasons: 

a. the decision is contrary to the laws of the State, 
applicable regulations, or evidence presented in or as a 
supplement to the permit application; 

b. the applicant has discovered since the permit 
application public hearing or permit denial, evidence 
important to the issues that the applicant could not with due 
diligence have obtained before or during the initial permit 
application review; 

c. there is a showing that issues not previously 
considered should be examined so as to dispose of the 
matter; or 

d. there is other good ground for further 
consideration of the issues and evidence in the public 
interest. 

J. Permit Transfer 
1. Applicability. A permit may be transferred to a new 

owner or operator only upon written approval from the 
Office of Conservation. Written approval must clearly read 
that the permit has been transferred. It is a violation of these 
rules and regulations to operate a salt cavern waste disposal 
facility without a permit or other authorization if a person 
attempting to acquire a permit transfer allows operation of 
the salt cavern waste disposal facility before receiving 
written approval from the Office of Conservation. 

2. Procedures 
a. The proposed new owner or operator must apply 

for and receive an operator code by submitting a completed 
Organization Report (Form OR-1), or subsequent form, to 
the Office of Conservation. 
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b. The current operator shall submit an application 
for permit transfer at least 30 days before the proposed 
permit transfer date. The application shall contain the 
following: 
 i. name and address of the proposed new owner 
or operator; 
 ii. date of proposed permit transfer; and 
 iii. a written agreement between the existing and 
new owner or operator containing a specific date for transfer 
of permit responsibility, insurance coverage, financial 
responsibility, and liability between them. 

c. If no agreement described in §3111.J.2.b.iii 
above is provided, responsibility for compliance with the 
terms and conditions of the permit and liability for any 
violation will shift from the existing operator to the new 
operator on the date the transfer is approved. 

d. The new operator shall submit an application for 
a change of operator using Form MD-10-R-A, or subsequent 
form, to the Office of Conservation containing the 
signatories of §3105.D and E along with the appropriate 
filing fee. 

e. The new operator shall submit evidence of 
financial responsibility under §3109.B. 

f. Any additional information as may be required to 
be submitted by these regulations or the Office of 
Conservation. 

K. Permit Suspension, Modification, Revocation and 
Reissuance, Termination. This subsection sets forth the 
standards and requirements for applications and actions 
concerning suspension, modification, revocation and 
reissuance, termination, and renewal of permits. A draft 
permit must be prepared and other applicable procedures 
must be followed if a permit modification satisfies the 
criteria of this subsection. A draft permit, public notification, 
or public participation is not required for minor permit 
modifications of §3111.K.5. 

1. Permit Actions 
a. The permit may be suspended, modified, revoked 

and reissued, or terminated for cause. 
b. The operator shall furnish the Office of 

Conservation within a predetermined time any information 
that the Office of Conservation may request to determine 
whether cause exists for suspending, modifying, revoking 
and reissuing, or terminating a permit, or to determine 
compliance with the permit. Upon request, the operator shall 
furnish the Office of Conservation with copies of records 
required to be kept by the permit. 

c. The Office of Conservation may, upon its own 
initiative or at the request of any interested person, review 
any permit to determine if cause exists to suspend, modify, 
revoke and reissue, or terminate the permit for the reasons 
specified in §§3111.K.2, 3, 4, 5, and 6. All requests shall be 
in writing and shall contain facts or reasons supporting the 
request. 

d. If the Office of Conservation decides the request 
is not justified, the person making the request shall be sent a 
brief written response giving a reason for the decision. 
Denials of requests for suspension, modification, revocation 
and reissuance, or termination are not subject to public 
notice, public comment, or public hearings. 

e. If the Office of Conservation decides to suspend, 
modify or revoke and reissue a permit under §§3111.K.2, 3, 

4, 5, and 6, additional information may be requested and, in 
the case of a modified permit, may require the submission of 
an updated permit application. In the case of revoked and 
reissued permits, the Office of Conservation shall require the 
submission of a new application. 

f. The suitability of an existing salt cavern well, salt 
cavern, or salt cavern waste disposal facility location shall 
not be considered at the time of permit modification or 
revocation and reissuance unless new information or 
standards suggest continued operation at the site endangers 
the environment, or the health, safety and welfare of the 
public which was unknown at the time of permit issuance. If 
the salt cavern well, salt cavern, or salt cavern waste 
disposal facility location is no longer suitable for its intended 
purpose, it shall be closed according to applicable sections 
of these rules and regulations. 

2. Suspension of Permit. The Office of Conservation 
may suspend the operator's right to accept additional E&P 
wastes, or to treat, process, store, or dispose such waste until 
violations are corrected. If violations are corrected, the 
Office of Conservation may lift the suspension. Suspension 
of a permit and/or subsequent corrections of the causes for 
the suspension by the operator shall not preclude the Office 
of Conservation from terminating the permit, if necessary. 
The Office of Conservation shall issue a Notice of Violation 
(NOV) to the operator, by certified mail, return receipt 
requested, of violations of the permit or these regulations 
that list the specific violations. If the operator fails to comply 
with the NOV by correcting the cited violations within the 
date specified in the NOV, the Office of Conservation shall 
issue a Compliance Order requiring the violations to be 
corrected within a specified time and may include an 
assessment of civil penalties. If the operator fails to take 
corrective action within the time specified in the Compliance 
Order, the Office of Conservation shall assess a civil penalty, 
and shall suspend, revoke, or terminate the permit. 

3. Modification or Revocation and Reissuance of 
Permits. The following are causes for modification and may 
be causes for revocation and reissuance of permits. 

a. Alterations. There are material and substantial 
alterations or additions to the permitted facility or activity 
which occurred after permit issuance which justify the 
application of permit conditions that are different or absent 
in the existing permit. 

b. Information. The Office of Conservation has 
received information pertinent to the permit. Permits may be 
modified during their terms for this cause only if the 
information was not available at the time of permit issuance 
(other than revised regulations, guidance, or test methods) 
and would have justified the application of different permit 
conditions at the time of issuance. Cause shall include any 
information indicating that cumulative effects on the 
environment, or the health, safety and welfare of the public 
are unacceptable. 

c. New Regulations 
 i. The standards or regulations on which the 
permit was based have been changed by promulgation of 
new or amended standards or regulations or by judicial 
decision after the permit was issued and conformance with 
the changed standards or regulations is necessary for the 
protection of the environment, or the health, safety and 
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welfare of the public. Permits may be modified during their 
terms when: 

(a). the permit condition requested to be 
modified was based on a promulgated regulation or 
guideline; 

(b). there has been a revision, withdrawal, or 
modification of that portion of the regulation or guideline on 
which the permit condition was based; or 

(c). an operator requests modification within 90 
days after Louisiana Register notice of the action on which 
the request is based. 
 ii. The permit may be modified as a minor 
modification without providing for public  comment when 
standards or regulations on which the permit was based have 
been changed by withdrawal of standards or regulations or 
by promulgation of amended standards or regulations which 
impose less stringent requirements on the permitted activity 
or facility and the operator requests to have permit 
conditions based on the withdrawn or revised standards or 
regulations deleted from his permit. 
 iii. For judicial decisions, a court of competent 
jurisdiction has remanded and stayed Office of Conservation 
regulations or guidelines and all appeals have been 
exhausted, if the remand and stay concern that portion of the 
regulations or guidelines on which the permit condition was 
based and a request is filed by the operator to have permit 
conditions based on the remanded or stayed standards or 
regulations deleted from his permit. 

d. Compliance Schedules. The Office of 
Conservation determines good cause exists for modification 
of a compliance schedule, such as an act of God, strike, 
flood, or materials shortage or other events over which the 
operator has little or no control and for which there is no 
reasonable available remedy. 

4. Causes for Modification or Revocation and 
Reissuance. The following are causes to modify or, 
alternatively, revoke and reissue a permit. 

a. Cause exists for termination under §3111.K.6, 
and the Office of Conservation determines that modification 
or revocation and reissuance is appropriate. 

b. The Office of Conservation has received 
notification of a proposed transfer of the permit and the 
transfer is determined not to be a minor permit modification. 

c. A determination that the waste being disposed 
into a salt cavern is not E&P waste as defined in §3101 or 
LAC 43:XIX.501, or subsequent revisions, either because 
the definition has been revised or because a previous 
determination has been changed. 

5. Minor Modifications of Permits. The Office of 
Conservation may modify a permit to make corrections or 
allowances for changes in the permitted activity listed in this 
subsection without issuing a draft permit and providing for 
public participation. Minor modifications may only: 

a. correct administrative or make informational 
changes; 

b. correct typographical errors; 
c. amend the frequency of or procedures for 

monitoring, reporting, sampling, or maintenance activities; 
d. change an interim compliance date in a schedule 

of compliance, provided the new date does not interfere with 
attainment of the final compliance date requirement; 

e. allow for a change in ownership or operational 
control of a salt cavern waste disposal facility where the 
Office of Conservation determines that no other change in 
the permit is necessary, provided that a written agreement 
containing a specific date for transfer of permit 
responsibility, coverage, and liability between the current 
and new permittees has been submitted to the Office of 
Conservation; 

f. change quantities or types of waste or other 
material disposed into the salt cavern which are within the 
capacity of the salt cavern waste disposal facility and, in the 
judgement of the Office of Conservation, would not interfere 
with the operation of the facility or its ability to meet other 
conditions prescribed in the permit, and would not change 
the waste classification of the disposed material;  

g. change construction requirements or plans 
approved by the Office of Conservation provided that any 
such alteration is in compliance with these rules and 
regulations. No such changes may be physically 
incorporated into construction of the salt cavern well, salt 
cavern, or surface facility before written approval from the 
Office of Conservation; or 

h. amend a closure or post-closure plan. 
6. Termination of Permits 

a. The Office of Conservation may terminate a 
permit during its term for the following causes: 
 i. noncompliance by the operator with any 
condition of the permit; 
 ii. the operator's failure in the application or 
during the permit issuance process to fully disclose all 
relevant facts, or the operator's misrepresentation of any 
relevant facts at any time; or 
 iii. a determination that continued operation of the 
permitted activity cannot be conducted in a way that is 
protective of the environment, or the health, safety and 
welfare of the public. 

b. If the Office of Conservation decides to terminate 
a permit, such shall only be done after a public hearing. 

c. The Office of Conservation may alternatively 
decide to modify or revoke and reissue a permit for the 
causes in §3111.K.6. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources,  Office of Conservation, LR 29:922 (June 
2003). 
§3113. Location Criteria 

A. No physical structure at a salt cavern waste disposal 
facility shall be located within 500 feet of a residential, 
commercial, or public building. Adherence to this 
requirement may be waived by the owner of the building. 
For a public building, the waiver shall be provided by the 
responsible administrative body. Any such waiver shall be in 
writing and be made part of the permit application. 
Examples of physical structures include, but are not limited 
to, the wellhead of the salt cavern well, waste storage, waste 
transfer and waste processing areas, onsite buildings, pumps, 
etc. An exception to the 500-foot restriction may be granted 
upon request for the placement of instruments or equipment 
required for safety or environmental monitoring. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq.  
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources,  Office of Conservation, LR 29:925 (June 
2003). 
§3115. Site Assessment 

A. Applicability. This section applies to all applicants, 
owners and/or operators of salt cavern waste disposal 
facilities. The applicant, owner and/or operator shall be 
responsible for showing that disposal of E&P wastes into the 
salt cavern shall be accomplished using good engineering 
and geologic practices for salt cavern operations to preserve 
the integrity of the salt stock and overlying sediments. This 
shall include, but not be limited to: 

1. an assessment of the geological, geomechanical, 
geochemical, geophysical properties of the salt stock; 

2. stability of the salt cavern design (particularly 
regarding its size, shape, depth, and operating parameters);  

3. physical and chemical characteristics of the waste; 
4. the amount of separation between the salt cavern of 

interest and adjacent caverns and structures within the salt 
stock; and 

5. the amount of separation between the outermost salt 
cavern wall and the periphery of the salt stock. 

B. Geological Studies and Evaluations. The applicant 
shall do a thorough geological, geophysical, geomechanical, 
and geochemical evaluation of the salt stock to determine its 
suitability for waste disposal, stability of the salt cavern 
under the proposed set of operating conditions, and where 
applicable, the structural integrity of the salt stock between 
an adjacent cavern and salt periphery under the proposed set 
of operating conditions. The applicant shall provide a listing 
of data or information used to characterize the structure and 
geometry of the salt stock. 

1. Where applicable, the geologic evaluation shall 
include, but should not be limited to: 

a. geologic mapping of the structure of the salt 
stock and any cap rock; 

b. geologic history of salt movement; 
c. an assessment of the imp act of possible 

anomalous zones (salt spines, shear planes, etc.) on the salt 
cavern well or salt cavern; 

d. deformation of the cap rock and strata overlying 
the salt stock; 

e. investigation of the upper salt surface and 
adjacent areas involved with salt dissolution; 

f. cap rock formation and any non-vertical salt 
movement. 

2. The applicant shall perform a thorough 
hydrogeological study on strata overlying the salt stock to 
determine the occurrence of the lowermost underground 
source of drinking water immediately above and in the 
vicinity of the salt stock. 

3. The applicant shall investigate regional tectonic 
activity and the potential impact (including ground 
subsidence) of the waste disposal project on surface and 
subsurface resources. 

C. Core Sampling. 
1. At least one well at the site of the salt cavern waste 

disposal facility (or the salt dome) shall be or shall have 
been cored over sufficient depth intervals to yield 
representative samples of the subsurface geologic 
environment. This shall include coring of the salt stock and 
may include coring of overlying formations, including any

cap rock. Cores should be obtained using the whole core 
method. Core acquisition, core handling, and core 
preservation shall be done according to standard field 
sampling practices considered acceptable for laboratory tests 
of recovered cores. 

2. Data from previous coring projects may be used 
instead of actual core sampling provided the data is specific 
to the salt dome of interest. If site-specific data is 
unavailable, data may be obtained from sources that are not 
specific to the area as long as the data can be shown to 
closely approximate the properties of the salt dome of 
interest. It shall be the responsibility of the applicant to make 
a satisfactory demonstration that data obtained from other 
sources are applicable to the salt dome of interest. 

D. Core Analyses and Laboratory Tests. Analyses and 
tests shall consider the characteristics of the injected 
materials and should provide data on the salt's 
geomechanical, geophysical, geochemical, mineralogical 
properties, microstructure, and where necessary, potential for 
adjacent salt cavern connectivity, with emphasis on salt 
cavern shape and the operating conditions. All laboratory 
tests, experimentation, and numeric modeling shall be 
conducted using methods that simulate the proposed 
operating conditions of the salt cavern. Test methods shall be 
selected to define the deformation and strength properties 
and characteristics of the salt stock under salt cavern 
operating conditions. 

E. Area of Review. A thorough evaluation shall be 
undertaken of both surface and subsurface activities in the 
defined area of review of the individual salt cavern well or 
project area that may influence the integrity of the salt stock, 
salt cavern well, and salt cavern, or contribute to the 
movement of injected fluids outside the salt cavern, 
wellbore, or salt stock. 

1. Surface Delineation. The area of review for a salt 
cavern well shall be a fixed radius around the wellbore of 
not less than one-half mile. Exception shall be noted as 
shown in §§3115.E.2.c and d below. 

2. Subsurface Delineation. At a minimum, the 
following shall be identified within the area of review: 

a. all known active, inactive, and abandoned wells 
within the area of review with known depth of penetration 
into the cap rock or salt stock; 

b. all known water wells within the area of review; 
c. all salt caverns within the salt stock regardless of 

usage, depth of penetration, or distance to the proposed salt 
cavern well or salt cavern; 

d. all conventional (dry or room and pillar) mining 
activity either active or abandoned occurring anywhere 
within the salt stock regardless of distance to the proposed 
salt cavern well or salt cavern. 

F. Corrective Action 
1. For manmade structures identified in the area of 

review that are not properly constructed, completed, or 
plugged and abandoned, the applicant shall submit a 
corrective action plan consisting of such steps, procedures, 
or modifications as are necessary to prevent the movement 
of fluids outside the salt cavern or into underground sources 
of drinking water. 

a. Where the plan is adequate, the provisions of the 
corrective action plan shall be incorporated into the permit 
as a condition. 
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b. Where the plan is inadequate, the Office of 
Conservation shall require the applicant to revise the plan or 
the application shall be denied. 

2. Any permit issued for an existing salt cavern well 
or salt cavern for which corrective action is required shall 
include a schedule of compliance for complete fulfillment of 
the approved corrective action procedures. If the required 
corrective action is not completed as prescribed in the 
schedule of compliance, the permit shall be suspended, 
modified, revoked and possibly reissued, or terminated 
according to these rules and regulations. 

3. No permit shall be issued for a new salt cavern well 
until all required corrective action obligations have been 
fulfilled. 

4. The Office of Conservation may prescribe 
additional requirements for corrective action beyond those 
submitted by the applicant. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources,  Office of Conservation, LR 29:926 (June 
2003). 
§3117. Cavern and Surface Facility Design 

Requirements 
A. This section provides general standards for design of 

salt caverns to assure that project development can be 
conducted in a reasonable, prudent, and a systematic manner 
and shall stress physical and environmental safety. The 
cavern design shall be modified where necessary to conform 
with good engineering and geologic practices. 

B. Cavern Spacing Requirements 
1. Property Boundary. The wellhead and borehole 

shall be located such that the salt cavern at its maximum 
diameter shall not extend closer than 100 feet to the property 
boundary of the salt cavern waste disposal facility. 

2. Adjacent Structures Within the Salt. As measured in 
any direction, the minimum separation between walls of 
adjacent salt caverns or between the walls of the salt cavern 
and any manmade structure within the salt stock shall not be 
less than 200 feet. 

3. Salt Periphery. Without exception or variance to 
these rules and regulations, the minimum separation between 
the walls of a salt cavern at any point and the periphery of 
the salt stock shall not be less than 300 feet. 

C. Cavern Coalescence. The Office of Conservation may 
permit the use of coalesced salt caverns for waste disposal. It 
shall be the duty of the applicant, owner or operator to 
demonstrate that operation of coalesced salt caverns under 
the proposed cavern operating conditions can be 
accomplished in a physical and environmentally safe 
manner. The intentional subsurface coalescing of adjacent 
salt caverns must be requested by the applicant, owner or 
operator in writing and be approved by the Office of 
Conservation before beginning or resumption of salt cavern 
waste disposal operations. Approval for salt cavern 
coalescence shall only be considered upon a showing by the 
applicant, owner or operator that the stability and integrity of 
the salt cavern and salt stock shall not be compromised and 
that salt cavern waste disposal operations can be conducted 
in a physical and environmentally safe manner. If the design 
of adjacent salt caverns should include approval for the 
subsurface coalescing of adjacent salt caverns, the minimum 

spacing requirement of §3117.B.2 above shall not apply to 
the coalesced salt caverns. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources,  Office of Conservation, LR 29:927 (June 
2003). 
§3119. Well Construction and Completion  

A. General Requirements 
1. All materials and equipment used in the 

construction of the salt cavern well and related 
appurtenances shall be designed and manufactured to exceed 
the operating requirements of the specific project. 
Consideration shall be given to depth and lithology of all 
subsurface geologic zones, corrosiveness of formation 
fluids, hole size, anticipated ranges and extremes of 
operating conditions, physical and behavioral characteristics 
of the injected and disposed material under the specific 
range of operating conditions, subsurface temperatures and 
pressures, type and grade of cement, and projected life of the 
salt cavern well. 

2. All salt cavern wells and salt caverns shall be 
designed, constructed, completed, and operated to prevent 
the escape of injected or disposed materials out of the salt 
stock, into an underground source of drinking water, or 
otherwise create or cause pollution or endanger the 
environment or public safety. All phases of design, 
construction, completion, and testing shall be prepared and 
supervised by qualified personnel. 

B. Open Borehole Surveys 
1. Open hole wireline surveys that delineate 

subsurface lithologies, formation tops (including top of cap 
rock and salt), formation fluids, formation porosity, and fluid 
resistivities shall be done on wells from total well depth to 
either ground surface or base of conductor pipe. Wireline 
surveys shall be presented with gamma-ray and, where 
applicable, spontaneous potential curves. All surveys shall 
be presented on a scale of one inch to one hundred feet and a 
scale of five inches to one hundred feet. 

2. Gyroscopic multi-shot surveys of the borehole shall 
be taken at intervals not to exceed every 100 feet of drilled 
borehole. 

3. Where practicable, caliper logging to determine 
borehole size for cement volume calculations shall be done 
before running casings. 

C. Casing and Cementing. Except as specified below, the 
wellbore of the salt cavern shall be cased, completed, and 
cemented according to rules and regulations of the Office of 
Conservation and good petroleum industry engineering 
practices for wells of comparable depth that are applicable to 
the same locality of the salt cavern. Design considerations 
for casings and cementing materials and methods shall 
address the nature and characteristics of the subsurface 
environment, the nature of injected and disposed materials, 
the range of conditions under which the well, cavern, and 
facility shall be operated, and the expected life of the well 
including closure and post-closure. 

1. Cementing shall be by the pump -and-plug method 
or another method approved by the Office of Conservation 
and shall be circulated to the surface. Circulation of cement 
may be done by staging. 

a. For purposes of these rules and regulations, 
circulated (cemented) to the surface shall mean that actual 
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cement returns to the surface were observed during the 
primary cementing operation. A copy of the cementing 
company=s job summary or cementing ticket indicating 
returns to the surface shall be submitted as part of the pre-
operating requirements of §3127. 

b. If returns are lost during cementing, the owner or 
operator shall have the burden of showing that sufficient 
cement isolation is present to prevent the upward movement 
of injected or disposed material into zones of porosity or 
transmissive permeability in the overburden along the 
wellbore and to protect underground sources of drinking 
water. 

2. Surface casing shall be set to a depth into a 
confining bed below the base of the lowermost underground 
source of drinking water. Surface casing shall be cemented 
to surface where practicable. 

3. All salt cavern wells shall be cased with a minimum 
of two casings cemented into the salt. The surface casing 
shall not be considered one of the two casings of this 
Subparagraph. 

4. New wells drilled into an existing salt cavern shall 
have an intermediate casing and a final cemented casing set 
into the salt. The final cemented casing shall be set a 
minimum distance of 300 feet into the salt and shall make 
use of a sufficient number of casing centralizers. 

5. The following applies to wells existing in salt 
caverns before the effective date of these rules and 
regulations and are being converted to salt cavern waste 
disposal. If the design of the well or cavern precludes having 
distinct intermediate and final casing seats cemented into the 
salt, the wellbore shall be cased with two concentric casings 
run from the surface of the well to a minimum distance of 
300 feet into the salt. The inner casing shall be cemented 
from its base to surface. 

6. The intermediate and final casings shall be 
cemented from their respective casing seats to the surface 
when practicable. 

D. Casing and Casing Seat Tests. When doing tests under 
this paragraph, the owner or operator shall monitor and 
record the tests by use of a surface readout pressure gauge 
and a chart or a digital recorder. All instruments shall be 
properly calibrated and in good working order. If there is a 
failure of the required tests, the owner or operator shall take 
necessary corrective action to obtain a passing test. 

1. Casing. After cementing each casing, but before 
drilling out the respective casing shoe, all casings shall be 
hydrostatically pressure tes ted to verify casing integrity and 
the absence of leaks. For surface casing, the stabilized test 
pressure applied at the surface shall be a minimum of 500 
pounds per square inch gauge (PSIG). The stabilized test 
pressure applied at the surface for all other casings shall be a 
minimum of 1,000 PSIG. All casing test pressures shall be 
maintained for one hour after stabilization. Allowable 
pressure loss is limited to five percent of the test pressure 
over the stabilized test duration. 

2. Casing Seat. The casing seat and cement of 
intermediate and production casings shall each be 
hydrostatically pressure tested after drilling out the casing 
shoe. At least 10 feet of formation below the respective 
casing shoes shall be drilled before the test. The test pressure 
applied at the surface shall be the greater of 1,000 PSIG or 
125 percent of the maximum predicted salt cavern operating 

pressure. The appropriate test pressure shall be maintained 
for one hour after pressure stabilization. Allowable pressure 
loss is limited to five percent of the test pressure over the 
stabilized test duration. 

3. Casing or casing seat test pressures shall never 
exceed a pressure gradient equivalent to 0.80 PSI per foot of 
vertical depth at the respective casing seat or exceed the 
known or calculated fracture gradient of the appropriate 
subsurface formation. The test pressure shall never exceed 
the rated burst or collapse pressures of the respective 
casings. 

E. Cased Borehole Surveys. A cement bond with 
variable density log (or similar cement evaluation tool) and a 
temperature log shall be run on all casings. The Office of 
Conservation may consider requests for allowances for 
wireline logging in large diameter casings or justifiable 
special conditions. 

1. It shall be the duty of the well applicant, owner or 
operator to prove adequate cement isolation on all cemented 
casings. Remedial cementing shall be done before 
proceeding with further well construction, completion, or 
conversion if adequate cement isolation between the salt 
cavern well and other subsurface zones cannot be 
demonstrated. 

2. A casing inspection log (or similar log) shall be run 
on the final cemented casing. 

F. Hanging Strings. Without exception or variance to 
these rules and regulations, all salt cavern wells shall be 
completed with at least two hanging strings. One hanging 
string shall be for waste injection; the second hanging string 
shall be for displacing fluid out of the salt cavern from 
below the blanket material. Hanging strings shall be 
designed with a collapse, burst, and tensile strength rating 
conforming to all expected operating conditions, including 
flow induced vibrations. The design shall also consider the 
physical and chemical characteristics of fluids placed into 
and/or withdrawn from the salt cavern. 

G. Wellhead Components and Related Connections. All 
wellhead components, valves, flanges, fittings, flowlines, 
and related connections shall be manufactured of steel. All 
components shall be designed with a test pressure rating of 
at least 125 percent of the maximum pressure that could be 
exerted at the surface. Selection and design criteria for 
components shall consider the physical and chemical 
characteristics of fluids placed into and/or withdrawn from 
the salt cavern under the specific range of operating 
conditions, including flow induced vibrations. The fluid 
withdrawal side of the wellhead (if applicable) shall be rated 
for the same pressure as the waste injection side. All 
components and related connections shall be maintained in 
good working order and shall be periodically inspected by 
the operator. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources,  Office of Conservation, LR 29:927 (June 
2003). 
§3121. Operating Requirements 

A. Cavern Roof 
1. Without exception or variance to these rules and 

regulations, no salt cavern shall be used for E&P waste 
disposal if the salt cavern roof has grown above the top of 
the salt stock. The operation of an already permitted salt 
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cavern shall cease and shall not be allowed to continue if 
information becomes available that shows this condition 
exist. The Office of Conservation may order the well and 
salt cavern closed according to an approved closure and 
post-closure plan. 

2. The Office of Conservation may consider the use of 
a salt cavern for waste disposal if information exists that 
shows the salt cavern roof has grown vertically above the 
depth of the salt cavern well=s deepest cemented casing seat. 
However, the salt cavern roof shall be below the top of the 
salt stock, the owner/operator shall meet the provisions for 
proving well/cavern mechanical integrity of §3129 and 
cavern configuration and capacity of §3131, and the 
owner/operator shall submit and carry out a plan for doing 
cavern roof monitoring. It shall be the duty of the well 
applicant or owner or operator to prove that operation of the 
salt cavern under this condition shall not endanger the 
environment, or the health, safety and welfare of the public. 

B.  Blanket Material. Before beginning waste disposal 
operations, a blanket material shall be placed into the salt 
cavern to prevent unwanted leaching of the cavern roof. The 
blanket material shall consist of crude oil, diesel, mineral oil, 
or other fluid possessing similar noncorrosive, nonsoluble, 
low-density properties. The blanket material shall be placed 
between the outermost hanging string and innermost 
cemented casing of the salt cavern and shall be of sufficient 
volume to coat the entire cavern roof. The cavern roof and 
level of the blanket material shall be monitored at least once 
every five years by running a density interface survey or 
using an alternative method approved by the Office of 
Conservation. 

C. Remedial Work. No remedial work or repair work of 
any kind shall be done on the salt cavern well or salt cavern 
without prior authorization from the Office of Conservation. 
The provision for prior authorization shall also extend to 
doing mechanical integrity pressure and leak tests and sonar 
caliper surveys. The owner or operator or its agent shall 
submit a valid work permit request form (Form UIC-17 or 
successor). Before beginning well or cavern remedial work, 
the pressure in the salt cavern shall be relieved, as 
practicable, to zero pounds per square inch as measured at 
the surface. 

D. Well RecompletionCCasing Repair. The following 
applies to salt cavern wells where remedial work results 
from well upgrade, casing wear, or similar condition. For 
each paragraph below, a casing inspection log shall be done 
on the entire length of the innermost cemented casing in the 
well before doing any casing upgrade or repair. 
Authorization from the Office of Conservation shall be 
obtained before beginning any well recompletion, repair, 
upgrade, or closure. A salt cavern well that cannot be 
repaired or upgraded shall be properly closed according to 
§3141. 

1. Liner. A liner may be used to recomplete or repair a 
well with severe casing damage. The liner shall be run from 
the well surface to the base of the innermost cemented 
casing. The liner shall be cemented over its entire length and 
shall be successfully pressure tested. 

2. Casing Patch. Internal casing patches shall not be 
used to repair severely corroded or damaged casing. Casing 
patches shall only be used for repairing or covering isolated 
pitting, corrosion, or similar localized damage. The casing 

patch shall extend a minimum of 10 feet above and below 
the area being repaired. The entire casing shall be 
successfully pressure tested. 

E. Multiple Well Caverns. No newly permitted well shall 
be drilled into a existing salt cavern until the cavern pressure 
has been relieved, as practicable, to zero pounds per square 
inch as measured at the surface. 

F. Cavern Allowable Operating Pressure. 
1. The maximum allowable salt cavern injection 

pressure shall be calculated at a depth referenced to the 
shallower of either the salt cavern roof or the well's deepest 
cemented casing seat. When measured at the surface and 
calculated with respect to the appropriate reference depth, 
the maximum allowable salt cavern injection pressure shall 
never exceed a pressure gradient of 0.80 PSI per foot of 
vertical depth. 

2. The salt cavern shall never be operated at pressures 
over the maximum allowable injection pressure defined 
above, exceed the maximum allowable pressure as may be 
established by permit, or exceed the rated burst or collapse 
pressure of all well tubulars (cemented or hanging strings) 
even for short periods, including pressure pulsation peaks, 
abnormal operating conditions, well or cavern tests. 

3. The maximum injection pressure for a salt cavern 
shall be determined after considering the properties of all 
injected fluids, the physical properties of the salt stock, well 
and cavern design, neighboring activities within and above 
the salt stock, etc. 

4. Shut-in pressure at the surface on the fluid 
withdrawal string or any annulus shall not be greater than 
200 PSIG.  

G. Cavern Displaced Fluid Management. The operator 
shall maintain a strict accounting of the fluid volume 
displaced from the salt cavern. Fluid displaced from a salt 
cavern shall be managed in a way that is protective of the 
environment. Such methods may include subsurface disposal 
via a properly permitted Class II disposal well, onsite 
storage for recycling as a waste carrier fluid, or any other 
method approved by the appropriate regulatory authority. 

H. Waste Storage. Without exception or variance to these 
rules and regulations, all E&P wastes shall be stored in 
aboveground storage tanks. Storing wastes in open pits, 
cells, or similar earthen or open structures is strictly 
prohibited. Storage tanks shall be constructed of fiberglass, 
metal, or other similar material. All waste storage areas shall 
be built on concrete slabs/pads, be enclosed by retaining 
walls of required construction, and possess a means for the 
collection of spilled fluids. 

I. Time Limits for Onsite Waste Storage. E&P waste 
accepted for disposal shall not be held in storage at the 
facility for more than 14 consecutive days. The Office of 
Conservation may grant a wavier to this requirement for 
extenuating circumstances only. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources,  Office of Conservation, LR 29:928 (June 
2003). 
§3123. Safety  

A. Emergency Action Plan. A plan outlining procedures 
for personnel at the facility to follow in case of an 
emergency shall be prepared and submitted as part of the
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permit application. The plan shall contain emergency contact 
telephone numbers, procedures and specific information for 
facility personnel to respond to a release, upset, incident, 
accident, or other site emergency. A copy of the plan shall be 
kept at the facility and shall be reviewed and updated as 
needed. 

B. Controlled Site Access. All operators of salt cavern 
waste disposal facilities shall install and maintain a chain 
link fence of at least six feet in height around the entire 
facility property. All points of entry into the facility shall be 
through by a lockable gate system. All gates of entry shall be 
locked except during hours of operation. 

C. Facility Identification. An identification sign shall be 
placed at all gated entrances to the salt cavern waste disposal 
facility. All lettering on the sign shall be of at least one-inch 
dimensions and kept in a legible condition. The sign shall be 
of durable construction. Minimum information to include on 
the sign shall be the facility name, site address, daytime and 
nighttime telephone numbers, and shall be made applicable 
to the activity of the facility according to the following 
statement: 

"This facility is authorized by the Office of 
Conservation, Injection and Mining Division to receive, 
store, treat, process, and/or dispose of E&P wastes into 
a salt cavern by means of subsurface injection. 
Improper operations, spills or violations at this facility 
should be reported to the Office of Conservation at 
(225) 342-5515." 

D. Personnel. Trained and competent personnel shall be 
on duty and stationed as appropriate at the salt cavern waste 
disposal facility during all hours and phases  of facility 
operation. Facility operation includes, but shall not be 
limited to, periods of waste acceptance, waste offloading, 
waste transfer, waste transport vehicle washing, waste 
storage, waste treatment, waste processing, and waste 
injection/disposal. 

E. Wellhead Protection and Identification 
1. A protective barrier shall be installed and 

maintained around wellheads, pipings, and above ground 
structures that may be vulnerable to physical or accidental 
damage by mobile equipment or trespassers. 

2. An identifying sign shall be placed at the wellhead 
of each salt cavern well and shall include at a minimum the 
operator=s name, well/cavern name and number, well serial 
number, section-township-range, and any other information 
required by the Office of Conservation. The sign shall be of 
durable construction with all lettering kept in a legible 
condition.  

F. Valves and Flowlines 
1. All valves, flowlines, flanges, fittings, and related 

connections shall be manufactured of steel. All components 
shall be designed with a test pressure rating of at least 125 
percent of the maximum pressure that could be exerted at the 
surface. All components and related connections shall be 
maintained in good working order and shall be periodically 
inspected by the operator.  

2. All valves, flowlines for waste injection, fluid 
withdrawal, and any other flowlines shall be designed to 
prevent pressures over maximum operating pressure from 
being exerted on the salt cavern well and salt cavern and 
prevent backflow or escape of injected waste material. The 
fluid withdrawal side of the wellhead shall have the same 
pressure rating as the waste injection side. 

3. All flowlines for injection and withdrawal 
connected to the wellhead of the salt cavern well shall be 
equipped with remotely operated shut-off valves and shall 
also have manually operated positive shut-off valves at the 
wellhead. All remotely operated shut-off valves shall be fail-
safe and tested and inspected according to §3123.L. 

G. Alarm Systems.  Manual and automatically activated 
alarms shall be installed at all salt cavern waste disposal 
facilities. All alarms shall be audible and visible from any 
normal work location within the facility. The alarms shall 
always be maintained in proper working order. Automatic 
alarms designed to activate an audible and a visible signal 
shall be integrated with all pressure, flow, heat, fire, cavern 
overfill, leak sensors and detectors, emergency shutdown 
systems, or any other safety system. The circuitry shall be 
designed such that failure of a detector or sensor shall 
activate a warning. 

H. Emergency Shutdown Valves. Manual and 
automatically actuated emergency shutdown valves shall be 
installed on all systems of salt cavern injection and 
withdrawal and any other flowline going into or out from 
each salt cavern wellhead. All emergency shutdown valves 
shall be fail-safe and shall be tested and inspected according 
to §3123.L. 

1. Manual controls for emergency shutdown valves 
shall be designed for operation from a local control room, at 
the salt cavern well, any remote monitoring and control 
location, and at a location that is likely to be accessible to 
emergency response personnel. 

2. Automatic emergency shutdown valves shall be 
designed to actuate on detection of abnormal pressuring of 
the waste injection system, abnormal increases in flow rates, 
responses to any heat, fire, cavern overfill, leak sensors and 
detectors, loss of pressure or power to the salt cavern well, 
salt cavern, or valves, or any abnormal operating condition. 

I. Vapor Monitoring and Leak Detection. The operator 
shall develop a vapor monitoring and leak detection plan as 
required in §3125.C below to detect the presence of noxious 
vapors, combustible gases, or any potentially ignitable 
substances. 

J. Gaseous Vapor Control. Where necessary, the 
operator shall install and maintain in good working order a 
system for managing the uncontrolled escape of noxious 
vapors, combustible gases, or any potentially ignitable 
substances within the salt cavern waste disposal facility. Any 
vapor control system shall be in use continuously during 
facility operation. 

K. Fire Detection/Suppression. All salt cavern waste 
disposal facilities shall have a system or method of fire 
detection and fire control or suppression. Emphasis for fire 
detection shall be at waste transfer, waste storage, waste 
process areas, and any area where combustible materials or 
vapors might exist. The fire detection system shall be 
integrated into the automatic alarm and emergency shut 
down systems of the facility. 

L. Systems Test and Inspection 
1. Safety Systems Test. The operator shall function-

test all critical systems of control and safety at least once 
every six months. This includes testing of alarms, test 
tripping of emergency shutdown valves ensuring their 
closure times are within design specifications, and ensuring 
the integrity of all electrical, pneumatic, and/or hydraulic 
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circuits. Tests results shall be documented and keep onsite 
for inspection by an agent of the Office of Conservation. 

2. Visual Facility Inspections. Visual inspections of 
the entire salt cavern waste disposal facility shall be 
conducted each day the facility is operating. At a minimum, 
this shall include inspections of the wellhead, flowlines, 
valves, waste transfer areas, waste storage areas, waste 
processing areas, signs, perimeter fencing, and all other 
areas of the facility. Problems discovered during the 
inspections shall be corrected timely. 

M. Retaining Walls and Spill Containment 
1. Retaining walls, curbs, or other spill containment 

systems shall be designed, built, and maintained around 
appropriate areas of the facility to collect, retain, and/or 
otherwise prevent the escape of wastes or other materials 
that may be released through facility upset or accidental 
spillage. Retaining walls shall be constructed of reinforced 
concrete. All retaining walls shall be built to a level that will 
provide sufficient capacity for holding at least 110 percent of 
the volume of each tank. All storage areas shall be kept free 
of debris, trash, or other materials that may constitute a fire 
hazard. 

2. At a minimum, the following areas shall be 
protected by retaining walls and/or spill containment: 

a. waste acceptance areas; 
b. waste unloading and waste transfer areas; 
c. waste storage areas; 
d. waste transport vehicle and transport container 

decontamination/washout areas; 
e. waste treatment and waste processing areas; 
f. curbed area around the wellhead of each salt 

cavern well; and 
g. any other areas of the facility the Office of 

Conservation deems necessary. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:4 et seq.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources,  Office of Conservation, LR 29:929 (June 
2003). 
§3125. Monitoring Requirements 

A. Pressure Gauges, Pressure Sensors, Flow Sensors 
1. Pressure gauges that show pressure on the fluid 

injection string, fluid withdrawal string, and any annulus of 
the well, including the blanket material annulus, shall be 
installed at each wellhead. Gauges shall be designed to read 
in 10 PSI increments. All gauges shall be properly calibrated 
and shall always be maintained in good working order. The 
pressure valves onto which the pressure gauges are affixed 
shall have one-half inch female fittings. 

2. Pressure sensors designed to automatically close all 
emergency shutdown valves in response to a preset pressure 
(high/low) shall be installed and properly maintained for all 
fluid injection and fluid withdrawal strings, and blanket 
material annulus. 

3. Flow sensors designed to automatically close all 
emergency shutdown valves in response to abnormal 
increases in cavern injection and withdrawal flow rates shall 
be installed and properly maintained on each salt cavern 
well. 

B. Continuous Recording Instruments. Continuous 
recording instrumentation shall be installed and properly 
maintained for each salt cavern well. Continuous recordings

may consist of circular charts, digital recordings, or similar 
type. Mechanical charts shall not exceed a clock period of 
24-hour duration. The chart shall be selected such that its 
scaling is of sufficient sensitivity to record all fluctuations of 
pressure or any other parameter being monitored. The chart 
shall be scaled such that the parameter being recorded is 30 
percent to 70 percent of full scale. Instruments shall be 
housed in weatherproof enclosures when located in areas 
exposed to climatic conditions. All fluid volumes shall be 
determined by metering or an alternate method approved by 
the Office of Conservation. Minimum data recorded shall 
include the following: 

1. wellhead pressures on both the fluid injection and 
fluid withdrawal strings; 

2. wellhead pressure on the blanket material annulus; 
3. volume and flow rate of waste injected; 
4. volume of fluid withdrawn; 
5. salinity of injected material including the carrier 

fluid; and 
6. density of injected material. 

C. Vapor Monitoring and Leak Detection 
1. Without exception or variance to these rules and 

regulations, the operator shall develop a monitoring plan 
designed to detect the presence of a buildup of noxious 
vapors, combustible gases, or any potentially ignitable 
substances in the atmosphere resulting from the storage, 
treatment, processing, and disposal of waste at the facility. 
Variations in topography, atmospheric conditions typical to 
the area, characteristics of the wastes, nearness of the facility 
to homes, schools, commercial establishments, etc. shall be 
considered in developing the monitoring plan. The plan shall 
be submitted as part of the permit application and should 
include provisions for the strategic placement of detection 
devices at various areas of the facility such as: 

a. waste transfer, waste storage, and waste process 
areas; 

b. salt cavern wellhead(s). An exception may be 
allowed for salt cavern wells in close proximity to each 
other, thus, the monitoring plan may include installation of 
detection devices around the perimeter of the well field; and 

c. any other areas of the facility where may be 
appropriate. 

2. All detection devices or systems identified in the 
monitoring plan shall include their integration into the 
facility=s automatic alarm system. Activation of a detection 
device or system alarm shall cause a cessation of all waste 
acceptance, waste transfer, waste processing, and waste 
injection until the reason for the alarm activation has been 
determined and corrected. 

D. Subsidence Monitoring. The owner or operator shall 
prepare and carry out a plan to monitor ground subsidence at 
and in the vicinity of the waste disposal cavern(s). 
Frequency of subsidence monitoring shall be scheduled to 
occur annually during the same period. A monitoring report 
shall be prepared and submitted to the Office of 
Conservation after completion of each monitoring event. 

E. Wind Sock. At least one wind sock shall be installed 
at all salt cavern waste disposal facilities. The wind sock 
shall be visible from any normal work location within the 
facility. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq.  
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources,  Office of Conservation, LR 29:931 (June 
2003). 
§3127. Pre-Operating RequirementsCCompletion 

Report 
A. The operator of a salt cavern waste disposal facility 

shall not accept, store, treat, process, or otherwise initiate 
waste disposal operations until all required information has 
been submitted to the Office of Conservation and the 
operator has received written authorization from the Office 
of Conservation clearly stating waste disposal operations 
may begin. 

B. The operator shall submit a report to the Office of 
Conservation that describes, in detail, the work performed 
resulting from any approved permitted activity. A report 
shall include all information relating to the work and 
information that documents compliance with these rules and 
the approved permitted activity. The report shall be prepared 
and submitted for any approved work relating to the 
construction, installation and completion of the surface 
portion of the facility and information on the construction, 
conversion, or workover of the salt cavern well or salt 
cavern. 

C. Where applicable to the approved permitted activity, 
information in a completion report shall include: 

1. all required state reporting forms containing 
original signatures; 

2. revisions to any operation or construction plans 
since approval of the permit application; 

3. as-built schematics of the layout of the surface 
portion of the facility; 

4. as-built piping and instrumentation diagram(s);  
5. copies of applicable records associated with 

drilling, completing, working over, or converting the salt 
cavern well and/or salt cavern including a daily chronology 
of such activities; 

6. revised certified location plat of the salt cavern well 
if the actual location of the well differs from the location plat 
submitted with the salt cavern well application; 

7. as-built subsurface diagram of the salt cavern well 
and salt cavern labeled with appropriate construction, 
completion, or conversion information, i.e., depth and 
diameter of all tubulars, depths of top of cap rock and salt, 
and top and bottom of the cavern; 

8. as-built diagram of the surface wellhead labeled 
with appropriate construction, completion, or conversion 
information, i.e., valves, gauges, and flowlines; 

9. results of any core sampling and testing; 
10. results of well or cavern tests such as casing and 

casing seat tests, well/cavern mechanical integrity pressure 
and leak tests; 

11. copies of any wireline logging such as open hole 
and/or cased hole logs, cavern sonar survey; 

12. any additional data documenting the work 
performed for the permitted activity, information requested 
by the Office of Conservation, or any additional reporting 
requirements imposed by the approved permit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources,  Office of Conservation, LR 29:932 (June 
2003). 

§3129. Well and Salt Cavern Mechanical Integrity 
Pressure and Leak Tests 

A. The operator of the salt cavern well and cavern shall 
have the burden of meeting the requirements for well and 
cavern mechanical integrity. The Office of Conservation 
shall be notified in writing at least seven days before any 
scheduled mechanical integrity test. The test may be 
witnessed by Office of Conservation personnel but must be 
witnessed by a qualified third party. 

B. Frequency of Tests. Without exception or variance to 
these rules and regulations, all salt cavern wells and salt 
caverns shall be tested for and satisfactorily prove 
mechanical integrity before being placed into initial waste 
disposal service. After the initial test for well and cavern 
mechanical integrity, all subsequent tests shall occur at least 
once every five years. Additionally, mechanical integrity 
testing shall be done for the following reasons regardless of 
test frequency: 

1. after any alteration to any cemented casing or 
cemented liner; 

2. after performing any remedial work to reestablish 
well or cavern integrity; 

3. before suspending salt cavern waste disposal 
operations for reasons other than a lack of well/cavern 
mechanical integrity if it has been more than three years 
since the last mechanical integrity test; 

4. before well/cavern closure; or 
5. whenever the Office of Conservation believes a test 

is warranted. 
C. Test Method 

1. All mechanical integrity pressure and leak tests 
shall demonstrate no significant leak in the salt cavern, 
wellbore, casing seat, and wellhead. Test schedules and 
methods shall consider neighboring activities occurring at 
the salt dome to reduce any influences those neighboring 
activities may have on the salt cavern being tested. 

2. Tests shall be conducted using the nitrogen-brine 
interface method with density interface and temperature 
logging. An alternative test method may be used if the 
alternative test can reliably demonstrate well/cavern 
mechanical integrity and with prior written approval from 
the Office of Conservation. 

3. The salt cavern pressure shall be stabilized before 
beginning the test. Stabilization shall be reached when the 
rate of cavern pressure change is no more than 10 PSIG 
during 24 hours. 

4. The stabilized test pressure applied at the surface 
shall be a minimum of 125 percent of the maximum cavern 
surface operating pressure or 500 PSIG whichever is greater. 
However, at no time shall the test pressure calculated with 
respect to the shallowest occurrence of either the cavern roof 
or deepest cemented casing seat and as measured at the 
surface exceed a pressure gradient of 0.80 PSI per foot of 
vertical depth. The salt cavern well or salt cavern shall never 
be subjected to pressures over the maximum allowable 
operating pressure or exceed the rated burst or collapse 
pressure of all well tubulars (cemented or hanging strings) 
even for short periods during testing. 

5. A mechanical integrity pressure and leak test shall 
be run for at least 24 hours after cavern pressure stabilization 
and must be of sufficient time duration to ensure a sensitive
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test. All pressures shall be monitored and recorded 
continuously throughout the test. Continuous pressure 
recordings may be achieved through mechanical charts or 
may be recorded digitally. Mechanical charts shall not 
exceed a clock period of 24-hour duration. The chart shall be 
scaled such that the test pressure is 30 percent to 70 percent 
of full scale. All charts shall be selected such that its scaling 
is of sufficient sensitivity to record all fluctuations of 
pressure, temperature, or any other monitored parameter.  

D. Submission of Pressure and Leak Test Results. One 
complete copy of the mechanical integrity pressure and leak 
test results shall be submitted to the Office of Conservation 
within 30 days of test completion. The report shall include 
the following minimum information: 

1. current well and cavern completion data; 
2. description of the test procedure including pretest 

preparation; 
3. copies of all wireline logs performed during testing; 
4. tabulation of measurements for pressure, volume, 

temperature, etc.; 
5. interpreted test results showing all calculations 

including error analysis and calculated leak rates; and 
6. any information the owner or operator of the salt 

cavern determines is relevant to explain the test procedure or 
results. 

E. Mechanical Integrity Test Failure 
1. Without exception or variance to these rules and 

regulations, a salt cavern well or salt cavern that fails a test 
for mechanical integrity shall be immediately taken out of 
waste disposal service. The failure shall be reported to the 
Office of Conservation according to the Notification 
Requirements of §3109.H. The owner or operator shall 
investigate the reason for the failure and shall take 
appropriate steps to return the salt cavern well or salt cavern 
to a full state of mechanical integrity. A salt cavern well or 
salt cavern is considered to have failed a test for mechanical 
integrity for the following reasons: 

a. failure to maintain a change in test pressure of no 
more than 10 PSIG over a 24-hour period; 

b. not maintaining nitrogen-brine interface levels 
according to standards applied in the salt cavern storage 
industry; or 

c. fluids are determined to have escaped from the 
salt cavern well or salt cavern during waste disposal 
operations. 

2. Written procedures for rehabilitation of the salt 
cavern well or salt cavern, extended salt cavern monitoring, 
or abandonment (closure and post-closure) of the salt cavern 
well or salt cavern shall be submitted to the Office of 
Conservation within 30 days of mechanical integrity test 
failure. 

3. Upon reestablishment of mechanical integrity of the 
salt cavern well or salt cavern and before returning either to 
waste disposal service, a new mechanical integrity pressure 
and leak test shall be performed that demonstrates 
mechanical integrity of the salt cavern well or salt cavern. 
The owner or operator shall submit the new test results to the 
Office of Conservation for written approval before resuming 
waste disposal operations. 

4. If a salt cavern well or salt cavern fails to 
demonstrate mechanical integrity and where mechanical 
integrity cannot be reestablished, the Office of Conservation 

may require the owner or operator to begin closure of the 
well or cavern within six months according to an approved 
closure and post-closure plan. 

5. If a salt cavern fails mechanical integrity and where 
rehabilitation cannot be accomplished within six months, the 
Office of Conservation may waive the six-month closure 
requirement if the owner or operator is engaged in a salt 
cavern remediation study and implements an interim salt 
cavern monitoring plan. The owner or operator must seek 
written approval from the Office of Conservation before 
implementing a salt cavern monitoring program. The basis 
for the Office of Conservation=s approval shall be that any 
waiver granted shall not endanger the environment, or the 
health, safety and welfare of the public. The Office of 
Conservation may establish a time schedule for salt cavern 
rehabilitation, cessation of interim salt cavern monitoring, 
and eventual salt cavern closure and post-closure activities. 

F. Prohibition of Waste Acceptance During Mechanical 
Integrity Failure 

1. Salt cavern waste disposal facilities with a single 
cavern are prohibited from accepting E&P wastes at the 
facility until mechanical integrity of the salt cavern well or 
salt cavern is documented to the satisfaction of the Office of 
Conservation. 

2. Salt cavern waste disposal facilities with multiple 
salt caverns may continue accepting E&P wastes if the other 
cavern(s) at the facility exhibit mechanical integrity. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources,  Office of Conservation, LR 29:932 (June 
2003). 
§3131. Cavern Configuration and Capacity 

Measurements 
A. Sonar caliper surveys shall be performed on all salt 

caverns. With prior approval of the Office of Conservation, 
the operator may use another similar proven technology 
designed to determine cavern configuration and measure 
cavern capacity as a substitute for a sonar survey. 

B. Frequency of Surveys. A sonar caliper survey shall be 
performed and submitted as part of the salt cavern waste 
disposal permit application. All subsequent surveys shall 
occur at least once every five years. Additional surveys shall 
be done for any of the following reasons regardless of 
frequency: 

1. before commencing salt cavern closure operations; 
2. whenever leakage into or out of the salt cavern is 

suspected; 
3. after performing any remedial work to reestablish 

salt cavern well or salt cavern integrity; or 
4. whenever the Office of Conservation believes a 

survey is warranted. 
C. Submission of Survey Results. One complete copy of 

each survey shall be submitted to the Office of Conservation 
within 30 days of survey completion. 

1. Survey readings shall be taken a minimum of every 
10 feet of vertical depth. Sonar reports shall contain the 
following minimum information and presentations: 

a. tabulation of incremental and total salt cavern 
volume for every survey reading; 

b. tabulation of the salt cavern radii at various 
azimuths for every survey reading; 
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c. tabulation of the maximum salt cavern radii at 
various azimuths; 

d. graphical plot of Cavern Depth versus Volume; 
e. graphical plot of the maximum salt cavern radii;  
f. vertical cross sections of the salt cavern at 

various azimuths drawn to an appropriate horizontal and 
vertical scale; 

g. vertical cross section overlays comparing results 
of current survey and previous surveys; 

h. (optional)-isometric or 3-D shade profile of the 
salt cavern at various azimuths and rotations. 

2. The information submitted resulting from use of an 
approved alternative survey method to determine cavern 
configuration and measure cavern capacity shall be 
determined based on the method or type of survey. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources,  Office of Conservation, LR 29:933 (June 
2003). 
§3133. Cavern Capacity Limits 

A. The waste volume permitted for disposal into a salt 
cavern may not exceed 90 percent of the salt cavern volume 
measured from the sonar caliper survey submitted as part of 
the permit application. Upon reaching the permitted waste 
volume, the owner or operator shall remove the salt cavern 
from further waste disposal service and within seven days 
notify the Office of Conservation of such. Due to the 
potential for salt cavern enlargement resulting from disposal 
of undersaturated fluids, the operator may request a 
modification to the permit to allow for a continued waste 
disposal based on the findings of a new cavern capacity 
survey. If the Office of Conservation denies the request for 
permit modification, the operator shall begin preparations 
for salt cavern closure per approved updated closure and 
post-closure plan. The operator shall maintain a strict 
accounting of the waste volume disposed into the salt 
cavern, the fluid volume displaced from the salt cavern, and 
the salt cavern volume. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources,  Office of Conservation, LR 29:934 (June 
2003). 
§3135. Inactive Caverns 

A. The operator shall comply with the following 
minimum requirements when there has been no disposal of 
waste into a salt cavern for 30 consecutive days or more, 
regardless of the reason: 

1. notify the Office of Conservation as per the 
requirements of §3109.H.3; 

2. disconnect all flowlines for injection to the salt 
cavern well; 

3. maintain continuous monitoring of salt cavern 
pressure, fluid withdrawal, and other parameters required by 
the permit; 

4. maintain and demonstrate salt cavern well and salt 
cavern mechanical integrity if disposal operations were 
suspended for reasons other than a lack of mechanical 
integrity; 

5. maintain compliance with financial responsibility 
requirements of these rules and regulations; 

6. any additional requirements of the Office of 
Conservation to document the salt cavern well and salt 
cavern shall not endanger the environment, or the health, 
safety and welfare of the public during the period of salt 
cavern inactivity. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 29:934 (June 2003). 
§3137. Monthly Operating Reports 

A. The operator shall submit monthly waste receipts and 
operation reports to the Office of Conservation. Monthly 
reports are due no later than 15 days following the end of the 
reporting month. 

B. The operator shall have the option of submitting 
monthly reports by any of the following methods: 

1. the appropriate Office of Conservation supplied 
form;  

2. an operator generated form of the same format and 
containing the same data fields as the Office of 
Conservation=s form; or 

3. electronically in a format meeting the Office of 
Conservation=s requirements for electronic data submission. 

C. Monthly reports shall contain the following minimum 
information: 

1. name and location of the salt cavern waste disposal 
facility; 

2. source and type of waste disposed; 
3. wellhead pressures (PSIG) on all injection and 

withdrawal hanging strings; 
4. wellhead pressure (PSIG) on the blanket material 

annulus; 
5. density in pounds per gallon (PPG) of injected 

material; 
6. volume in barrels (BBLS) and flow rate in barrels 

per minute (BPM) of injected material;  
7. volume (BBLS) and disposition of all fluids 

withdrawn or displaced from the salt cavern; 
8. chloride concentration in milligrams per liter 

(Mg/L) of injected materials including the carrier fluid; 
9. changes in the blanket material fluid volume; 
10. results of any monitoring program required by 

permit or compliance action; 
11. summary of any test of the salt cavern well or salt 

cavern; 
12. summary of any workover performed during the 

month including minor well maintenance; 
13. description of any event which triggers an alarm or 

shutdown device and the response taken; 
14. description of any event that exceeds operating 

parameters for annulus pressure or injection pressure as may 
be specified in the permit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources,  Office of Conservation, LR 29:934 (June 
2003). 
§3139. Record Re tention 

A. The owner or operator shall retain copies of all 
records, data, and information concerning the design, 
permitting, construction, and operation of the salt cavern 
well, salt cavern, and related surface facility. Records shall
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be retained throughout the operating life of the salt cavern 
waste disposal facility and for five years following 
conclusion of any post-closure care requirements. Records, 
data, and information shall include, but shall not be limited 
to the permit application, cementing (primary and remedial), 
wireline logs, drill records, casing records, casing pressure 
tests, well recompletion records, well/cavern mechanical 
integrity tests, cavern capacity and configuration surveys, 
surface construction, sources of wastes disposed, waste 
manifests, waste testing results, post-closure activities, 
corrective action, etc. All documents relating to any waste 
accepted and rejected for disposal shall be kept at the facility 
and shall be available for inspection by agents of the Office 
of Conservation at any time. 

B. Should there be a change in the owner or operator of 
the salt cavern waste disposal facility, copies of all records 
identified in the previous paragraph shall be transferred to 
the new owner or operator. The new owner or operator shall 
then have the responsibility of maintaining such records. 

C. The Office of Conservation may require the owner or 
operator to deliver the records to the Office of Conservation 
at the conclusion of the retention period. If so, the records 
shall be retained at a location designated by the Office of 
Conservation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources,  Office of Conservation, LR 29:934 (June 
2003). 
§3141. Closure and Post-Closure 

A. Closure. The owner or operator shall close the salt 
cavern well, salt cavern, surface facility or parts thereof as 
approved by the Office of Conservation. Closure shall not 
begin without written authorization from the Office of 
Conservation. 

1. Closure Plan. Plans for closure of the salt cavern 
well, salt cavern, and related surface facility shall be 
submitted as part of the permit application. The closure plan 
shall meet the requirements of these rules and regulations 
and be acceptable to the Office of Conservation. The 
obligation to implement the closure plan survives the 
termination of a permit or the cessation of salt cavern waste 
disposal operations or related activities. The requirement to 
maintain and implement an approved plan is directly 
enforceable regardless of whether the requirement is a 
condition of the permit. The Office of Conservation may 
modify a closure plan where necessary.  

2. Closure Plan Requirements. The owner or operator 
shall review the closure plan annually to determine if the 
conditions for closure are still applicable to the actual 
conditions of the salt cavern well, salt cavern, or surface 
facility. Any revision to the plan shall be submitted to the 
Office of Conservation for approval. At a minimum, a 
closure plan shall address the following: 

a. assurance of financial responsibility as required 
in §3109.B.1. All instruments of financial responsibility 
shall be reviewed each year before its renewal date 
according to the following process: 
 i. a detailed cost estimate for adequate closure of 
the entire salt cavern waste disposal facility (salt cavern 
well, salt cavern, surface appurtenances, etc.) shall be 
prepared by a qualified, independent third party and 

submitted to the Office of Conservation by the date specified 
in the permit; 
 ii. the closure plan and cost estimate shall include 
provisions for closure acceptable to the Office of 
Conservation and shall reflect the costs for the Office of 
Conservation to complete the approved closure of the 
facility; 
 iii. after reviewing the closure cost estimate, the 
Office of Conservation may increase, decrease or allow the 
amount to remain the same; 
 iv. documentation from the operator showing that 
the required financial instrument has been renewed shall be 
received each year by the date specified in the permit. When 
an operator is delinquent in submitting documentation of 
financial instrument renewal, the Office of Conservation 
shall initiate procedures to take possession of funds 
guaranteed by the financial instrument and suspend or 
revoke the operating permit. Permit suspensions shall remain 
in effect until renewal documentation is received and 
accepted by the Office of Conservation; 

b. a prediction of the pressure build-up in the salt 
cavern following closure; 

c. an analysis of potential pathways for leakage 
from the salt cavern, cemented casing shoe, and wellbore. 
Consideration shall be given to site specific elements of 
geology, waste characteristics, salt cavern geometry and 
depth, salt cavern pressure build-up over time due to salt 
creep and other factors inherent to the salt stock and/or salt 
dome; 

d. procedures for determining the mechanical 
integrity of the salt cavern well and salt cavern before 
closure; 

e. removal and proper disposal of any waste or 
other materials remaining at the facility; 

f. closing, dismantling, and removing all equipment 
and structures located at the surface (including site 
restoration) if such equipment and structures will not be used 
for another purpose at the same disposal facility; 

g. the type, number, and placement of each wellbore 
or salt cavern plug including the elevation of the top and 
bottom of each plug and the method of placement of the 
plugs; 

h. the type, grade, and quantity of material to be 
used in plugging; 

i. a description of the amount, size, and location 
(by depth) of casing and any other well construction 
materials to be left in the salt cavern well;  

j. any proposed test or measurement to be made 
before or during closure. 

3. Notice of Intent to Close 
a. The operator shall review the closure plan before 

seeking authorization to begin closure activities to determine 
if the conditions for closure are still relevant to the actual 
conditions of the salt cavern well, salt cavern, or surface 
facility. Revisions to the method of closure reflected in the 
plan shall be submitted to the Office of Conservation for 
approval no later than the date on which the notice of closure 
is required to be submitted as shown in the subparagraph 
below. 

b. The operator shall notify the Office of 
Conservation in writing at least 30 days before the expected 
closure of a salt cavern well, salt cavern, or surface facility. 
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Notification shall be by submission of a request for a work 
permit. At the discretion of the Office of Conservation, a 
shorter notice period may be allowed. 

4. Standards for Closure. The following are minimum 
standards for closing the salt cavern well or salt cavern. The 
Office of Conservation may require additional standards 
prior to actual closure. 

a. After permanently concluding waste disposal 
operations into the salt cavern but before closing the salt 
cavern well or salt cavern, the owner or operator shall: 
 i. observe and accurately record the shut-in salt 
cavern pressures and salt cavern fluid volume for an 
appropriate time or a time specified by the Office of 
Conservation to provide information regarding the salt 
cavern's natural closure characteristics and any resulting 
pressure buildup; 
 ii. using actual pre-closure monitoring data, show 
and provide predictions that closing the salt cavern well or 
salt cavern as described in the closure plan will not result in 
any pressure buildup within the salt cavern that could 
adversely effect the integrity of the salt cavern well, salt 
cavern, or any seal of the system. 

b. Before closure, the owner or operator shall do 
mechanical integrity pressure and leak tests to ensure the 
integrity of both the salt cavern well and salt cavern. 

c. Before closure, the owner or operator shall 
remove and properly dispose of any free oil or blanket 
material remaining in the salt cavern well or salt cavern. 

d. Upon permanent closure, the owner or operator 
shall plug the salt cavern well with cement in a way that will 
not allow the movement of fluids into or between 
underground sources of drinking water or outside the salt 
stock. Placement of cement plugs shall be accomplished by 
using standard petroleum industry practices for downhole 
well abandonment. Each plug shall be appropriately tagged 
and pressure tested for seal and stability before closure is 
completed. 

e. Upon successful completion of the closure, the 
owner or operator shall identify the surface location of the 
abandoned well with a permanent marker inscribed with the 
operator's name, well name and number, serial number, 
section-township-range, date plugged and abandoned, and 
acknowledgment that the well and salt cavern were used for 
disposal of E&P waste. 

5. Closure Report. The owner or operator shall submit 
a closure report to the Office of Conservation within 30 days 
after closure of the salt cavern well, salt cavern, surface 
facility, or part thereof. The report shall be certified as 
accurate by the owner or operator and by the person charged 
with overseeing the closure operation (if other than the 
owner or operator). The report shall contain the following 
information: 

a. detailed procedures of the closure operation. 
Where actual closure differed from the plan previously 
approved, the report shall include a written statement 
specifying the differences between the previous plan and the 
actual closure; 

b. all state regulatory reporting forms relating to the 
closure activity; and 

c. any information pertinent to the closure activity 
including test or monitoring data. 

B. Post-Closure. Plans for post-closure care of the salt 
cavern well, salt cavern, and related surface facility shall be 
submitted as part of the permit application. The post-closure 
plan shall meet the requirements of these rules and 
regulations and be acceptable to the Office of Conservation. 
The obligation to implement the post-closure plan survives 
the termination of a permit or the cessation of salt cavern 
waste disposal operations or related activities. The 
requirement to maintain and implement an approved post-
closure plan is directly enforceable regardless of whether the 
requirement is a condition of the permit. The Office of 
Conservation may modify a post-closure plan where 
necessary. 

1. The owner or operator shall review the post-closure 
plan annually to determine if the conditions for post-closure 
are still applicable to actual conditions. Any revision to the 
plan shall be submitted to the Office of Conservation for 
approval. At a minimum, a post-closure plan shall address 
the following: 

a. assurance of financial responsibility as required 
in §3109.B.1. All instruments of financial responsibility 
shall be reviewed each year before its renewal date 
according to the following process: 
 i. a detailed cost estimate for adequate post-
closure care of the entire salt cavern waste disposal facility 
shall be prepared by a qualified, independent third party and 
submitted to the Office of Conservation by the date specified 
in the permit; 
 ii. the post-closure care plan and cost estimate 
shall include provisions acceptable to the Office of 
Conservation and shall reflect the costs for the Office of 
Conservation to complete the approved post-closure care of 
the facility; 
 iii. after reviewing the post-closure cost estimate, 
the Office of Conservation may increase, decrease or allow 
the amount to remain the same; 
 iv. documentation from the operator showing that 
the required financial instrument has been renewed must be 
received each year by the date specified in the permit. When 
an operator is delinquent in submitting documentation of 
financial instrument renewal, the Office of Conservation 
shall initiate procedures to take possession of the funds 
guaranteed by the financial instrument and suspend or 
revoke the operating permit. Any permit suspension shall 
remain in effect until renewal documentation is received and 
accepted by the Office of Conservation; 

b. any plans for monitoring, corrective action, site 
remediation, site restoration, etc., as may be necessary. 

2. Where necessary and as an ongoing part of post-
closure care, the owner or operator shall continue the 
following activities: 

a. complete any corrective action or site 
remediation resulting from the operation of a salt cavern 
waste disposal facility; 

b. conduct any groundwater monitoring or 
subsidence monitoring required by the permit until pressure 
in the salt cavern displays a trend of behavior that can be 
shown to pose no threat to salt cavern integrity, underground 
sources of drinking water, or other natural resources of the 
state; 

c. complete any site restoration. 
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3. The owner or operator shall retain all records as 
required in §3139 for five years following conclusion of 
post-closure requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources,  Office of Conservation, LR 29:935 (June 
2003). 

Part XIX.  Office of Conservation 
Subpart 1.  Statewide Order No. 29-B 

Chapter 5. Off-site Storage, Treatment and/or 
Disposal of Exploration and Production 
Waste Generated from Drilling and 
Production of Oil and Gas Wells  

NOTE: Onsite disposal requirements are listed in  
LAC 43:XIX, Chapter 3. 

§501. Definitions 
* * * 

Exploration and Production Waste (E&P Waste)Cdrilling 
wastes, salt water, and other wastes associated with the 
exploration, development, or production of crude oil or 
natural gas wells and which is not regulated by the 
provisions of, and, therefore, exempt from the Louisiana 
Hazardous Waste Regulations and the Federal Resource 
Conservation and Recovery Act, as amended. E&P Wastes 
include, but are not limited to the following. 

 
Waste Type E&P Waste Description 

01 Salt water (produced brine or produced water), except for 
salt water whose intended and actual use is in drilling, 
workover or completion fluids or in enhanced mineral 
recovery operations, process fluids generated by approved 
salvage oil operators who only receive oil (BS&W) from 
oil and gas leases, and nonhazardous natural gas plant 
processing waste fluid which is or may be commingled 
with produced formation water. 

02 Oil-base drilling wastes (mud, fluids and cuttings) 
03 Water-base drilling wastes (mud, fluids and cuttings) 
04 Completion, workover and stimulation fluids 
05 Production pit sludges 
06 Storage tank sludge from production operations, onsite 

and commercial saltwater disposal facilities, DNR 
permitted salvage oil facilities (that only receive waste oil 
[B, S, & W] from oil and gas leases), and sludges 
generated by service company and commercial facility or 
transfer station wash water systems 

07 Produced oily sands and solids 
08 Produced formation fresh water 
09 Rainwater from firewalls, ring levees and pits at drilling 

and production facilities 
10 Washout water and residual solids generated from the 

cleaning of containers that transport E&P Waste and are 
not contaminated by hazardous waste or material; 
washout water and solids (E&P Waste Type 10) is or may 
be generated at a commercial facility or transfer station 
by the cleaning of a container holding a residual amount 
(no more than 1 barrel) of E&P Waste 

11 Washout pit water and residual solids from oilfield related 
carriers and service companies that are not permitted to 
haul hazardous waste or material 

12 Nonhazardous Natural gas plant processing waste solids. 
13 (Reserved) 
14 Pipeline test water which does not meet discharge 

limitations established by the appropriate state agency, or 
pipeline pigging waste, i.e., waste fluids/solids generated 
from the cleaning of a pipeline 

15 E&P Wastes that are transported from permitted 
commercial facilities and transfer stations to permitted 
commercial treatment and disposal facilities, except those 
E&P Wastes defined as Waste Types 01 and 06 

16 Crude oil spill clean-up waste 
50 Salvageable hydrocarbons bound for permitted salvage oil 

operators 
99 Other E&P Waste not described above (shipment to a 

commercial facility or transfer station must be pre-
approved prior to transport) 

 
* * * 

Salt Cavern Waste Disposal FacilityCany public, private, 
or commercial property, including surface and subsurface 
lands and appurtenances thereto, used for receiving, storing, 
and/or processing oil and gas exploration and production 
waste for disposal into a solution-mined salt cavern. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 26:2811 (December 
2000), amended LR 27:1898 (November 2001), LR 29:937 (June 
2003). 
§503. General Requirement for Generators 

A. - F.2. ... 
3. Prior to shipment and disposal at commercial land 

treatment facilities, natural gas plant processing waste solids 
(gas plant waste - Waste Type 12) must be analyzed for the 
chemical compound benzene (C6H6). Testing must be 
performed by a DEQ certified laboratory in accordance with 
procedures presented in the Laboratory Manual for the 
Analysis of E&P Waste (Department of Natural Resources, 
August 9, 1988, or latest revision). 

F.4. - H.3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 26:2813 (December 
2000), amended LR 27:1900 (November 2001), LR 29:937 (June 
2003). 
§505. General Requirements for Commercial Facilities 

and Transfer Stations 
A. ... 
B. Commercial land treatment facilities may not receive, 

store, treat or dispose of natural gas plant processing waste 
solids (Waste Type 12) that exceed the MPC criteria of 
§549.C.7.a for total benzene (3198 mg/kg) unless the 
company has demonstrated to the commissioner that Waste 
Type 12 can be pretreated to below the applicable MPC prior 
to land treatment. Such demonstration shall be considered a 
major modification of any existing permit and will require 
compliance with the permitting procedures of §§519, 527, 
and 529, including the submission of an application and 
public participation. The E&P waste management and 
operations plan required in §515 shall clearly indicate how 
the E&P Waste storage and treatment system will minimize 
the release of benzene (e.g., enclosed tanks, enclosed 
treatment equipment, vapor recovery systems, etc.). Such 
demonstration shall also include proof of solicitation from 
DEQ regarding applicable required air permitting for the 
existing and amended land treatment system. 

C. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 26:2813 (December 
2000), amended LR 27:1900 (November 2001), LR 29:937 (June 
2003). 
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§507. Location Criteria 
A. Commercial facilities and transfer stations may not be 

located in any area: 
1. within one-quarter mile of a public water supply 

water well or within 1,000 feet of a private water supply 
well for facilities permitted after January 1, 2002; 

2. - 5. ... 
6. where such area, or any portion thereof, has been 

designated as wetlands by the U.S. Corps of Engineers 
during, or prior to, initial facility application review, unless 
the applicable wetland and DNR Coastal Management 
Division coastal use permits are obtained; 

A.7 - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 26:2817 (December 
2000), amended LR 27:1902 (November 2001), LR 29:938 (June 
2003). 
§511. Financial Responsibility 

A. - E.1. ... 
2. The insurer further certifies the following with 

respect to the insurance described in LAC 43:XIX.511.E.1. 
E.2. - H. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 26:2813 (December 
2000), amended LR 27:1903 (November 2001), LR 29:938 (June 
2003). 
§519. Permit Application Requirements for 

Commercial Facilities 
A. - C.4.c. ... 

d. all public supply water wells and private water 
supply wells within one mile of the proposed facility; 

5. - 6.d. ... 
7. documentation of compliance with the applicable 

location criteria of §507.A.5 and 6, with regard to flood 
zones and wetland areas; 

8. - 21. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 26:2813 (December 
2000), amended LR 27:1905 (November 2001), LR 29:938 (June 
2003). 
§523. Permit Application Requirements for Land 

Treatment Systems  
A. - C.5. ... 
D. An explanation of the proposed E&P Waste 

management and operations plan with reference to the 
following topics: 

D.1. - G. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 26:2816 (December 
2000), amended LR 27:1906 (November 2001), LR 29:938 (June 
2003). 
§525. Permit Application Requirements for Other 

Treatment and Disposal Options 
A. - C.5. ... 

D. An explanation of the proposed E&P Waste 
management and operations plan with reference to the 
following topics: 

D.1. - E.3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 27:1907 (November 
2001), amended LR 29:938 (June 2003). 
§535. Notification Requirements 

A. - F. ... 
G. The operator of a commercial salt cavern E&P waste 

storage well and facility shall provide a corrective action 
plan to address any unauthorized escape, discharge or 
release of any material, fluids, or E&P waste from the well 
or facility, or part thereof. The plan shall address the cause, 
delineate the extent, and determine the overall effects on the 
environment resulting from the escape, discharge or release. 
The Office of Conservation shall require the operator to 
formulate a plan to remediate the escaped, discharged or 
released material, fluids or E&P waste if the material, fluids, 
or E&P waste is thought to have entered or has the 
possibility of entering an underground source of drinking 
water. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 27:1909 (November 
2001), LR 29:938 (June 2003). 
§547. Commercial Exploration and Production Waste 

Treatment and Disposal Options 
A. - A.5. ... 

6. Cavern Disposal. The utilization of a solution-
mined salt cavern for the disposal of E&P waste fluids and 
solids. Applicants for permits and operators of commercial 
E&P waste salt cavern disposal wells must comply with the 
requirements of this Chapter (LAC 43:XIX.501 et seq.) and 
the applicable requirements of Statewide Order No. 29-M-2, 
LAC 43:XVII, 3101 et seq. (see §555). 

A.7. - G. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 27:1910 (November 
2001), LR 29:938 (June 2003). 
§555. Requirements for Cavern Disposal 

A. Applicants for new commercial solution-mined salt 
cavern facilities to receive and dispose of E&P waste and 
operators of such existing facilities must comply with the 
administrative and technical criteria of LAC 43:XIX, 
Subpart 1, Chapter 5 (§501 et seq.) as well as the applicable 
definitions, administrative criteria and technical criteria of 
LAC 43:XVII, Subpart 4, Chapter 31 (§3101 et seq.,  
Disposal of Exploration and Production Waste in  
Solution-Mined Salt Caverns). 

B. The application for a new commercial salt cavern for 
the disposal of E&P waste shall include, but may not limited 
to the following information: 

1. The general provisions of LAC 43:XVII.3103;  
2. An application shall contain the information 

required in LAC 43:XVII.3107, as follows: 
a. §3107.BCAdministrative Information; 
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b. §3107.CCMaps and Related Information; 
c. §3107.DCArea of Review; 
d. §3107.ECTechnical Information. 

3. The legal permit conditions required in LAC 
43:XVII, 3109, as follows: 

a. §3109.ACSignatories; 
b. §3109.CCDuty to Comply; 
c. §3109.DCDuty to Halt or Reduce Activity; 
d. §3109.ECDuty to Mitigate; 
e. §3109.FCProper Operation and Maintenance; 
f. §3109.GCInspection and Entry; 
g. §3109.H. 3, 4, 7b, 8, 9 and 10CNotification 

Requirements; 
h. §3109.ICDuration of Permits; 
i. §3109.JCCompliance Review;  
j. §3109.KCAdditional Conditions. 

4. The location criteria of Statewide Order No. 29-M-
2, LAC 43:XVII.3113. 

5. The site assessment requirements of Statewide 
Order No. 29-M-2, LAC 43:XVII.3115. 

6. The cavern and surface facility design requirements 
of Statewide Order No. 29-M-2, LAC 43:XVII.3117. 

7. The well construction and completion requirements 
of Statewide Order No. 29-M-2, LAC 43:XVII.3119. 

8. The operating requirements of Statewide Order No. 
29-M-2, LAC 43:XVII.3121. 

9. The safety requirements of Statewide Order No.  
29-M-2, LAC 43:XVII.3123. 

10. The monitoring requirements of Statewide Order 
No. 29-M-2, LAC 43:XVII.3125. 

11. The pre-operating and completion report 
requirements of Statewide Order No. 29-M-2, LAC 
43:XVII.3127. 

12. The well and salt cavern mechanical integrity 
pressure and leak test requirements of Statewide Order No. 
29-M-2, LAC 43:XVII.3129. 

13. The requirements for determining cavern 
configuration and measuring cavern capacity in Statewide 
Order No. 29-M-2, LAC 43:XVII.3131. 

15. The limits on cavern capacity in Statewide Order 
No. 29-M-2, LAC 43:XVII.3133. 

16. The requirements for inactive caverns in Statewide 
Order No. 29-M-2, LAC 43:XVII.3135. 

17. The monthly reporting requirements of Statewide 
Order No. 29-M-2, LAC 43:XVII.3137. 

18. The record retention requirements of Statewide 
Order No. 29-M-2, LAC 43:XVII.3139. 

19. The applicable closure and post-closure 
requirements of Statewide Order No. 29-M-2, LAC 
43:XVII.3141. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources,  Office of Conservation, LR 29:938 (June 
2003). 
§565. Resource Conservation and Recovery of 

Exploration and Production Waste 
A. - E.4.b. ... 
F. Testing Criteria for Reusable Material 

* E&P Waste when chemically treated (fixated) shall, in 
addition to the criteria set forth be acceptable as reusable 
material with a pH range of 6.5 to 12 and an electrical 
conductivity of up to 50 mmhos/cm, provided such reusable 

material passes leachate testing requirements for chlorides in 
§565.F above and leachate tests for metals in §565.F above.  
** The leachate testing method for TPH, chlorides and metals 
is included in the Laboratory Manual for the Analysis of E&P 
Waste (Department of Natural Resources, August 9, 1988, or 
latest revision). 

G. - I. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 27:1916 (November 
2001), LR 29:939 (June 2003). 

 
James H. Welsh 
Commissioner 

0306#013 
 

RULE 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Surface Mining  
(LAC 43:XV.105, 1105-1109, 2111, 2113, 2311, 2323, 
2731, 2733, 3103, 3115, 3705, 5423, 5424, and 5425) 

Under the authority of the Louisiana Surface Mining and 
Reclamation Act, particularly R.S. 30:901 et seq., and in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Office of 
Conservation has amended LAC 43:XV, (Statewide Order 
29-O-1) the Louisiana Surface Mining Regulations, 
governing valid existing rights and revegetation success 
standards for post-mining land uses of pastureland and 
wildlife habitat. 

The Department of the Interior, Office of Surface Mining 
Reclamation and Enforcement, under the provisions of 30 
CFR 732.17(d), has notified the Louisiana Office of 
Conservation, Injection and Mining Division of changes in 
Public Law 95-87, the Surface Mining Control and 
Reclamation Act of 1977 (SMCRA), and the federal 
regulations promulgated pursuant to SMCRA which make it 
necessary for Louisiana to modify its Surface Mining 
Regulatory Program to remain consistent with all federal 
regulations. The director of the Office of Surface Mining 
Reclamation and Enforcement approved the amendments in 
Federal Register, Vol. 67, No. 38, February 26, 2002, pp. 
8717-8719 and Vol. 67, No. 221, November 15, 2002, pp. 
69123-69129. 

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES  

Part XV.  Office of Conservation - Surface Mining 
Subpart 1.  General Information 

Chapter 1. General 
§105. Definitions 

A. … 
* * * 

Valid Existing RightsCa set of circumstances under 
which a person may, subject to office approval, conduct 
surface coal mining operations on lands where §922.D of the 
Act and §1105 of these regulations would otherwise prohibit 
such operations. Possession of valid existing rights only 
confers an exception from the prohibitions of §1105 of these 
regulations or §922.D of the Act. A person seeking to 
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exercise valid existing rights must comply with all other 
pertinent requirements of the act and the regulatory program. 

a. Property Rights Demonstration. Exc ept as 
provided in §105.Valid Existing Rights.c, a person claiming 
valid existing rights must demonstrate that a legally binding 
conveyance, lease, deed, contract, or other document vests 
that person, or a predecessor in interest, with the right to 
conduct the type of surface coal mining operations intended. 
This right must exist at the time that the land came under the 
protection of §922.D of the Act or §1105 of these 
regulations. Applicable state law will govern interpretation 
of documents relied upon to establish property rights, unless 
federal law provides otherwise. If no applicable state law 
exists, custom and generally accepted usage at the time and 
place that the documents came into existence will govern 
their interpretation. 

b. Except as provided in §105.Valid Existing 
Rights.c, a person claiming valid existing rights also must 
demonstrate compliance with one of the following standards. 
 i. Good Faith/All Permits Standard. All permits 
and other authorizations required to conduct surface coal 
mining operations had been obtained, or a good faith effort 
to obtain all necessary permits and authorizations had been 
made, before the land came under the protection of §922.D 
of the Act or §1105 of these regulations. At a minimum, an 
application must have been submitted for any permit 
required under Subpart 3 of these regulations. 
 ii. Needed for and Adjacent Standard. The land is 
needed for and immediately adjacent to a surface coal 
mining operation for which all permits and other 
authorizations required to conduct surface coal mining 
operations had been obtained, or a good faith attempt to 
obtain all permits and authorizations had been made, before 
the land came under the protection of §922.D of the Act or 
§1105 of these regulations. To meet this standard, a person 
must demonstrate that prohibiting expansion of the operation 
onto that land would unfairly impact the viability of the 
operation as originally planned before the land came under 
the protection of §922.D of the Act or §1105 of these 
regulations. Except for operations in existence before August 
3, 1977, or for which a good faith effort to obtain all 
necessary permits had been made before August 3, 1977, this 
standard does not apply to lands already under the protection 
of §922.D of the Act or §1105 of these regulations when the 
office approved the permit for the original operation or when 
the good faith effort to obtain all necessary permits for the 
original operation was made. In evaluating whether a person 
meets this standard, the office may consider factors such as: 

(a). the extent to which coal supply contracts or 
other legal and business commitments that predate the time 
that the land came under the protection of §922.D of the Act 
or §1105 of these regulations depend upon use of that land 
for surface coal mining operations; 

(b). the extent to which plans used to obtain 
financing for the operation before the land came under the 
protection of §922.D of the Act or §1105 of these regulations 
rely upon use of that land for surface coal mining operations; 

(c). the extent to which investments in the 
operation before the land came under the protection of 
§922.D of the Act or §1105 of these regulations rely upon 
use of that land for surface coal mining operations; and 

(d). whether the land lies within the area 
identified on the life -of-mine map submitted under 
§2535.A.3 before the land came under the protection of 
§1105. 

a. Roads. A person who claims valid existing rights 
to use or construct a road across the surface of lands 
protected by §1105 of these regulations or §922.D of the Act 
must demonstrate that one or more of the following 
circumstances exist if the road is included within the 
definition of surface coal mining operations in §105: 
 i. the road existed when the land upon which it is 
located came under the protection of §1105 of these 
regulations or §922.D of the Act, and the person has a legal 
right to use the road for surface coal mining operations; 
 ii. a properly recorded right-of-way or easement 
for a road in that location existed when the land came under 
the protection of §1105 of these regulations or §922.D of the 
Act, and, under the document creating the right-of-way or 
easement and under subsequent conveyances, the person has 
a legal right to use or construct a road across the  
right-of-way or easement for surface coal mining operations; 
 iii. a valid permit for use or construction of a road 
in that location for surface coal mining operations existed 
when the land came under the protection of §1105 of these 
regulations or §922.D of the Act; or 
 iv. valid existing rights exist under §105.Valid 
Existing Rights.a and b. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:901-932. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 5:395 (December 
1979), amended LR 6:177 (May 1980), LR 14:441 (July 1988), LR 
20:447 (April 1994), LR 24:2283 (December 1998), LR 29:939 
(June 2003). 

Subpart 2.  Areas Unsuitable for Mining 
Chapter 11. Areas Designated by Act of Congress 
§1105. Areas Where Mining Is Prohibited or Limited 

A. No surface coal mining operation shall be conducted 
on the following lands unless the applicant has either valid 
existing rights, as determined under §2323, or qualifies for 
the exception for existing operations under §1109. 

1. - 4.a. … 
b. where the office allows the public road to be 

relocated or the area affected to be within 100 feet of such 
road, after public notice and opportunity for a public hearing 
in accordance with §1107.D, and after making a written 
finding that the interests of the affected public and 
landowners will be protected; 

5. - 7. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:901-932. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 5:395 (December 
1979), amended LR 6:177 (May 1980), LR 14:441 (July 1988), LR 
20:447 (April 1994), LR 29:940 (June 2003). 
§1107. Procedures 

A. … 
B. The office shall reject any portion of the application 

that would locate surface coal mining operations on land 
protected under §1105 unless: 

1. the site qualifies for the exception for existing 
operations under §1109; 
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2. a person has valid existing rights for the land, as 
determined under §2323; 

3. the applicant obtains a waiver or exception from the 
prohibitions of §1105 in accordance with §1107.D or E; or 

4. for lands protected by §1105.A.3, both the office 
and the agency with jurisdiction over the park or place 
jointly approve the proposed operation in accordance with 
§1107.F. 

C. If the office is unable to determine whether the 
proposed operation includes land within an area specified in 
§1105.A.1 or is located closer than the limits provided in 
§1105.A.6 or 7, the office shall transmit a copy of the 
relevant portions of the permit application to the federal, 
state or local government agency with jurisdiction over the 
protected land, structure or feature for a determination or 
clarification of the relevant boundaries or distances, with a 
notice to the appropriate agency that it must respond within 
30 days of receipt of the request. The notice must specify 
that another 30 days is available upon request, and that the 
office will not necessarily consider a response received after 
the comment period provided. If no response is received 
within the 30-day period or within the extended period 
granted, the office may make the necessary determination 
based on the information it has available. 

D. §1107.D does not apply to lands for which a person 
has valid existing rights, as determined under §2323; lands 
within the scope of the exception for existing operations in 
§1109; or access or haul roads that join a public road, as 
described in §1105.A.4.b. Where the mining operation is 
proposed to be conducted within 100 feet, measured 
horizontally, of the outside right-of-way line of any public 
road (except as provided in §1105.A.4.b) or where the 
applicant proposes to relocate or close any public road, the 
office or public road authority designated by the office shall: 

1. require the applicant to obtain necessary approvals 
of the authority with jurisdiction over the public road; 

2. provide an opportunity for a public hearing in the 
locality of the proposed mining operation for the purpose of 
determining whether the interests of the public and affected 
landowners will be protected; 

3. if a public hearing is requested, provide appropriate 
advance notice of the public hearing, to be published in a 
newspaper of general circulation in the affected locale at 
least 2 weeks prior to the hearing; and 

4. make a written finding based upon information 
received at the public hearing within 30 days after 
completion of the hearing, or after any public comment 
period ends if no hearing is held, as to whether the interests 
of the public and affected landowners will be protected from 
the proposed mining operation. No mining shall be allowed 
within 100 feet of the outside right-of-way line of a road, nor 
may a road be relocated or closed, unless the office or public 
road authority determines that the interests of the public and 
affected landowners will be protected. 

E.1. Subsection 1107.E does not apply to lands for 
which a person has valid existing rights, as determined under 
§2323; lands within the scope of the exception for existing 
operations in §1109; or access or haul roads that connect 
with an existing public road on the side of the public road

opposite the dwelling, as provided in §1105.A.5. Where the 
proposed surface coal mining operations would be 
conducted within 300 feet, measured horizontally, of any 
occupied dwelling, the applicant shall submit with the 
application a written waiver by lease, deed or other 
conveyance from the owner of the dwelling clarifying that 
the owner and signatory had the legal right to deny mining 
and knowingly waived that right. The waiver shall act as 
consent to such operations within a closer distance of the 
dwelling as specified. 

2. Where the applicant for a permit after August 3, 
1977 had obtained a valid waiver prior to August 3, 1977 
from the owner of an occupied dwelling to mine within 300 
feet of such dwelling, a new waiver shall not be required. 

3.a. Where the applicant for a permit after August 3, 
1977 had obtained a valid waiver from the owner of an 
occupied dwelling, that waiver shall remain effective against 
subsequent purchasers who had actual or constructive 
knowledge of the existing waiver at the time of purchase. 

b. A subsequent purchaser shall be deemed to have 
constructive knowledge if the waiver has been properly filed 
in public-property records pursuant to state laws or if the 
mining has proceeded to within the 300-foot limit prior to 
the date of purchase. 

F.1. Where the office determines that the proposed 
surface coal mining operation will adversely affect any 
publicly owned park or any place included in the National 
Register of Historic Places, the office shall transmit to the 
federal, state or local agency with jurisdiction over the park 
or place a copy of applicable parts of the permit application, 
together with a request for that agency's approval or 
disapproval of the operation, and a notice to that agency that 
it has 30 days from receipt of the request within which to 
respond. The notice must specify that another 30 days is 
available upon request, and that failure to interpose a timely 
objection will constitute approval. The office may not issue a 
permit for a proposed operation subject to the provisions of 
this Paragraph unless all affected agencies jointly approve. 

2. Subsection 1107.F does not apply to lands for 
which a person has valid existing rights, as determined under 
§2323 or lands within the scope of the exception for existing 
operations in §1109. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:901-932. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 5:395 (December 
1979), amended LR 6:177 (May 1980), LR 14:441 (July 1988), LR 
20:447 (April 1994), LR 29:940 (June 2003). 
§1109. Exception for Existing Operations 

A. The prohibitions and limitations of §1105 do not 
apply to surface coal mining operations for which a valid 
permit, issued under Subpart 3 of these regulations, exists 
when the land comes under the protection of §1105. This 
exception applies only to lands within the permit area as it 
exists when the land comes under the protection of §1105. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:901-932. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 29:941 (June 2003). 
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Subpart 3.  Surface Coal Mining and Reclamation 
Operations Permits and Coal Exploration and 

Development Procedures Systems  
Chapter 21. Coal Exploration and Development  
§2111. General Requirements: Development 

Operations Involving Removal of More Than 
250 Tons 

A. - A.7. … 
8. for any lands listed in §1105, a demonstration that, 

to the extent technologically and economically feasible, the 
proposed exploration activities have been designed to 
minimize interference with the values for which those lands 
were designated as unsuitable for surface coal mining 
operations. The application must include documentation of 
consultation with the owner of the feature causing the land 
to come under the protection of §1105, and, when 
applicable, with the agency with primary jurisdiction over 
the feature with respect to the values that caused the land to 
come under the protection of §1105. 

B. - B.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:901-932. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 5:395 (December 
1979), amended LR 14:441 (July 1988), LR 20:447 (April 1994), 
LR 29:942 (June 2003). 
§2113. Applications: Approval or Disapproval of 

Development of More Than 250 Tons 
A. - B.3 … 

4. will, with respect to exploration activities on any 
lands protected under §1105, minimize interference, to the 
extent technologically and economically feasible, with the 
values for which those lands were designated as unsuitable 
for surface coal mining operations. Before making this 
finding, the office will provide reasonable opportunity to the 
owner of the feature causing the land to come under the 
protection of §1105, and, when applicable, to the agency 
with primary jurisdiction over the feature with respect to the 
values that caused the land to come under the protection of 
§1105, to comment on whether the finding is appropriate. 

C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:901-932. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 5:395 (December 
1979), amended LR 6:177 (May 1980), LR 14:441 (July 1988), LR 
20:447 (April 1994), LR 29:942 (June 2003). 
Chapter 23. Surface Mining Permit Applications: 

Minimum Requirements for Legal, 
Financial, Compliance and Related 
Information 

§2311. Relationship to Areas Designated Unsuitable for 
Mining 

A. … 
B. If an applicant proposes to conduct surface mining 

activities within 300 feet of an occupied dwelling, the 
application shall contain the waiver of the owner of the 
dwelling as required by §1107.E. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:901-932. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 5:395 (December 
1979), amended LR 14:441 (July 1988), LR 20:447 (April 1994), 
LR 29:942 (June 2003). 

§2323. Valid Existing Rights Determination 
A. OSM is responsible for determining valid existing 

rights for federal lands listed at §1105. The office is 
responsible for determining valid existing rights for all non-
Federal lands listed at §1105. The provisions of this Section 
apply when the office is responsible for determining valid 
existing rights. 

B. A request for a valid existing rights determination 
must be submitted if surface coal mining operations will be 
conducted on the basis of valid existing rights under §1105. 
This request may be submitted before submitting an 
application for a permit or boundary revision. 

1. Requirements for property rights demonstration. If 
the request relies upon the good faith/all permits standard or 
the needed for and adjacent standard in §105.Valid Existing 
Rights.b, the applicant must provide a property rights 
demonstration under §105.Valid Existing Rights.a. This 
demonstration must include the following items: 

a. a legal description of the land to which the 
request pertains; 

b. complete documentation of the character and 
extent of the applicant's current interests in the surface and 
mineral estates of the land to which your request pertains; 

c. a complete chain of title for the surface and 
mineral estates of the land to which the request pertains; 

d. a description of the nature and effect of each title 
instrument that forms the basis for the request, including any 
provision pertaining to the type or method of mining or 
mining-related surface disturbances and facilities; 

e. a description of the type and extent of surface 
coal mining operations that the applicant claims the right to 
conduct, including the method of mining, any mining-related 
surface activities and facilities, and an explanation of how 
those operations would be consistent with Louisiana 
property law; 

f. complete documentation of the nature and 
ownership, as of the date that the land came under the 
protection §1105, of all property rights for the surface and 
mineral estates of the land to which the request pertains; 

g. names and addresses of the current owners of the 
surface and mineral estates of the land to which the request 
pertains; 

h. if the coal interests have been severed from other 
property interests, documentation that the applicant has 
notified and provided reasonable opportunity for the owners 
of other property interests in the land to which the request 
pertains to comment on the validity of the applicant's 
property rights claims; 

i. any comments that the applicant received in 
response to the notification provided under §2323.B.1.h. 

2. Requirements for Good Faith/All Permits Standard. 
If the request relies upon the good faith/all permits standard 
in §105.Valid Existing Rights.b.i, the applicant must submit 
the information required under §2323.B.1. The applicant 
also must submit the following information about permits, 
licenses, and authorizations for surface coal mining 
operations on the land to which the request pertains: 

a. approval and issuance dates and identification 
numbers for any permits, licenses, and authorizations that 
the applicant or a predecessor in interest obtained before the 
land came under the protection of §1105; 
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b. application dates and identification numbers for 
any permits, licenses, and authorizations for which the 
applicant or a predecessor in interest submitted an 
application before the land came under the protection of 
§1105; 

c. an explanation of any other good faith effort that 
the applicant or a predecessor in interest made to obtain the 
necessary permits, licenses, and authorizations as of the date 
that the land came under the protection of §1105. 

3. Requirements for Needed for and Adjacent 
Standard. If the request relies upon the needed for and 
adjacent standard in §105.Valid Existing Rights.b.ii, the 
applicant must submit the information required under 
§2323.B.1. In addition, the applicant must explain how and 
why the land is needed for and immediately adjacent to the 
operation upon which the request is based, including a 
demonstration that prohibiting expansion of the operation 
onto that land would unfairly impact the viability of the 
operation as originally planned before the land came under 
the protection of §1105. 

4. Roads. If the request relies upon one of the 
standards for roads in §105.Valid Existing Rights.c.i-iii, 
documentation must show that: 

a. the road existed when the land upon which it is 
located came under the protection of §1105 of these 
regulations or §922.D of the Act, and the applicant has a 
legal right to use the road for surface coal mining operations; 

b. a properly recorded right-of-way or easement for 
a road in that location existed when the land came under the 
protection of §1105 of these regulations or §922.D of the 
Act, and, under the document creating the right-of-way or 
easement, and under any subsequent conveyances, the 
applicant has a legal right to use or construct a road across 
that right-of-way or easement to conduct surface coal mining 
operations; or 

c. a valid permit for use or construction of a road in 
that location for surface coal mining operations existed when 
the land came under the protection of §1105 of these 
regulations or §922.D of the Act. 

C. Initial Review of Request 
1. The office shall conduct an initial review to 

determine whether the request includes all applicable 
components of the submission requirements of §2323.B. 
This review pertains only to the completeness of the request, 
not the legal or technical adequacy of the materials 
submitted. 

2. If the request does not include all applicable 
components of the submission requirements of §2323.B, the 
office shall notify the applicant and establish a reasonable 
time for submission of the missing information. 

3. When the request includes all applicable 
components of the submission requirements of §2323.B, the 
office shall implement the notice and comment requirements 
of §2323.D. 

4. If the information requested under §2323.C.2 is not 
provided within the time specified or as subsequently 
extended, the office shall issue a determination that valid 
existing rights have not been demonstrated, as provided in 
§2323.E.4. 

D. Notice and Comment Requirements and Procedures 
1. When the request satisfies the completeness 

requirements of §2323.C, the applicant must publish a public 

notice in accordance with §3103.A. This notice must invite 
comment on the merits of the request. The notice shall 
contain, at a minimum: 

a. the location of the land to which the request 
pertains; 

b. a description of the type of surface coal mining 
operations planned; 

c. a reference to and brief description of the 
applicable standards under the definition of valid existing 
rights in §105; 

i. if the request relies upon the good faith/all 
permits standard or the needed for and adjacent standard in 
§105.Valid Existing Rights.b, the notice also must include a 
description of the property rights claimed and the basis for 
that claim;  
 ii. if the request relies upon the standard in 
§105.Valid Existing Rights.c.i, the notice also must include a 
description of the basis for the claim that the road existed 
when the land came under the protection of §1105 of these 
regulations or §922.D of the Act. In addition, the notice must 
include a description of the basis for the claim that the 
applicant has a legal right to use that road for surface coal 
mining operations; 
 iii. if the request relies upon the standard in 
§105.Valid Existing Rights.c.ii, the notice also must include 
a description of the basis for the claim that a properly 
recorded right-of-way or easement for a road in that location 
existed when the land came under the protection of §1105 of 
these regulations or §922.D of the Act. In addition, the 
notice must include a description of the basis for the claim 
that, under the document creating the right-of-way or 
easement, and under any subsequent conveyances, the 
applicant has a legal right to use or construct a road across 
the right-of-way or easement to conduct surface coal mining 
operations; 

d. if the request relies upon one or more of the 
standards in §105.Valid Existing Rights.b, c.i, and c.ii, a 
statement that the office will not make a decision on the 
merits of the request if, by the close of the comment period 
under this notice or the notice required by §2323.D.3, a 
person with a legal interest in the land initiates appropriate 
legal action in the proper venue to resolve any differences 
concerning the validity or interpretation of the deed, lease, 
easement, or other documents that form the basis of the 
claim;  

e. a description of the procedures that the office will 
follow in processing the request; 

f. the closing date of the comment period, which 
must be a minimum of 30 days after the publication date of 
the notice; 

g. a statement that interested persons may obtain a 
30-day extension of the comment period upon request; and 

h. the name and address of the office where a copy 
of the request is available for public inspection and to which 
comments and requests for extension of the comment period 
should be sent. 

2. The office shall promptly provide a copy of the 
notice required under §2323.D.1 to: 

a. all reasonably locatable owners of surface and 
mineral estates in the land included in the request; and 

b. the owner of the feature causing the land to come 
under the protection of §1105, and, when applicable, the 
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agency with primary jurisdiction over the feature with 
respect to the values causing the land to come under the 
protection of §1105. 

3. The letter transmitting the notice required under 
§2323.D.2 must provide a 30-day comment period, starting 
from the date of service of the letter, and specify that another 
30 days is available upon request. At its discretion, the 
agency responsible for the determination of valid existing 
rights may grant additional time for good cause upon 
request. The agency need not necessarily consider comments 
received after the closing date of the comment period. 

E. How a Decision Will Be Made 
1. The office must review the materials submitted 

under §2323.B, comments received under §2323.D, and any 
other relevant, reasonably available information to determine 
whether the record is sufficiently complete and adequate to 
support a decision on the merits of the request. If not, the 
office must notify the applicant in writing, explaining the 
inadequacy of the record and requesting submittal, within a 
specified reasonable time, of any additional information that 
the office deems necessary to remedy the inadequacy. 

2. Once the record is complete and adequate, the 
office must determine whether the applicant has 
demonstrated valid existing rights. The decision document 
must explain how the applicant has or has not satisfied all 
applicable elements of the definition of valid existing rights 
in §105. It must contain findings of fact and conclusions, 
and it must specify the reasons for the conclusions. 

3. Impact of Property Rights Disagreements. This 
Paragraph applies only when the request relies upon one or 
more of the standards in §105.Valid Existing Rights.b, c.i, 
and c.ii. 

a. The office must issue a determination that the 
applicant has not demonstrated valid existing rights if 
property rights claims are the subject of pending litigation in 
a court or administrative body with jurisdiction over the 
property rights in question. The office will make this 
determination without prejudice, meaning that the applicant 
may refile the request once the property rights dispute is 
finally adjudicated. This Paragraph applies only to situations 
in which legal action has been initiated as of the closing date 
of the comment period under §§2323.D.1 or D.3. 

b. If the record indicates disagreement as to the 
accuracy of property rights claims, but this disagreement is 
not the subject of pending litigation in a court or 
administrative agency of competent jurisdiction, the office 
must evaluate the merits of the information in the record and 
determine whether the applicant has demonstrated that the 
requisite property rights exist under §105.Valid Existing 
Rights.a, c.i, or c.ii, as appropriate. The office must then 
proceed with the decision process under §2323.E.2. 

4. The office must issue a determination that the 
applicant has not demonstrated valid existing rights if 
information that the office requests under §§2323.C.2 or E.1 
is not submitted within the time specified or as subsequently 
extended. The office will make this determination without 
prejudice, meaning that the applicant may refile a revised 
request at any time. 

5. After making a determination, the office must: 
a. provide a copy of the determination, together 

with an explanation of appeal rights and procedures, to the 
applicant, to the owner or owners of the land to which the 

determination applies, to the owner of the feature causing 
the land to come under the protection of §1105, and, when 
applicable, to the agency with primary jurisdiction over the 
feature with respect to the values that caused the land to 
come under the protection of §1105; and 

b. publish notice of the determination in a 
newspaper of general circulation in the parish in which the 
land is located. 

F. Administrative and Judicial Review. A determination 
that the applicant has or does not have valid existing rights is 
subject to administrative and judicial review under §§3301 
and 3303. 

G. Availability of Records. The office must make a copy 
of that request available to the public in the same manner as 
the office must make permit applications available to the 
public under §2119. In addition, the office must make 
records associated with that request, and any subsequent 
determination under §2323.E, available to the public in 
accordance with the requirements and procedures of §6311. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:901-932. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources,  Office of Conservation, LR 29:942 (June 
2003). 
Chapter 27. Surface Mining Permit Applications: 

Minimum Requirements for Reclamation 
and Operation Plan 

§2731. Protection of Public Parks and Historic Places 
A. - A.1. … 

2. if valid existing rights exist or joint agency 
approval is to be obtained under §1107.F, to minimize 
adverse impacts. 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:901-932. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 5:395 (December 
1979), amended LR 6:177 (May 1980), LR 14:441 (July 1988), LR 
20:447 (April 1994), LR 29:944 (June 2003). 
§2733. Relocation or Use of Public Roads  

A. Each application shall describe, with appropriate 
maps and cross-sections, the measures to be used to ensure 
that the interests of the public and landowners affected are 
protected if, under §1107.D, the applicant seeks to have the 
office approve conduction of the proposed surface mining 
activities within 100 feet of the right-of-way line of any 
public road, except where mine access or haul roads join that 
right-of-way, or seeks approval for relocating a public road. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:901-932. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 5:395 (December 
1979), amended LR 6:177 (May 1980), LR 14:441 (July 1988), LR 
20:447 (April 1994), LR 29:944 (June 2003). 
Chapter 31. Public Participation, Approval of Permit 

Applications and Permit Terms and 
Conditions 

§3103. Public Notices of Filing of Permit Applications 
A. - A.4. … 

5. if an applicant seeks a permit to mine within 100 
feet of the outside right-of-way of a public road or to 
relocate or close a public road, except where public notice 
and hearing have previously been provided for this particular 
part of the road in accordance with §1107.D, a concise 
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statement describing the public road, the particular part to be 
relocated or closed, and the approximate timing and duration 
of the relocation or closing; 

A.6. - D.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:901-932. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 5:395 (December 
1979), amended LR 14:441 (July 1988), LR 20:447 (April 1994), 
LR 29:944 (June 2003). 
§3115. Criteria for Permit Approval or Denial 

A. - A.4.b. … 
c. not on any lands subject to the prohibitions or 

limitations of §1105; or 
4.d. - 16. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:901-932. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 5:395 (December 
1979), amended LR 6:177 (May 1980), LR 14:441 (July 1988), LR 
20:447 (April 1994), LR 29:945 (June 2003). 
Chapter 37. Small Operator Assistance 
§3705. Eligibility for Assistance 

A. - A.1. … 
2. establishes that his or her probable total actual and 

attributed production from all locations during any 
consecutive 12-month period either during the term of his or 
her permit or during the first five years after issuance of his 
or her permit, whichever period is shorter, will not exceed 
300,000 tons. Production from the following operations shall 
be attributed to the applicant: 

a. the pro rata share, based upon percentage of 
ownership of the applicant, of coal produced by operations 
in which the applicant owns more than a 10 percent interest; 

b. the pro rata share, based upon percentage of 
ownership of the applicant, of coal produced in other 
operations by persons who own more than 10 percent of the 
applicant's operation; 

A.2.c. - A.4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:901-932. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 6:177 (May 1980), 
amended LR 14:441 (July 1988), LR 20:447 (April 1994), LR 
29:945 (June 2003). 
Subpart 5.  Permanent Program Performance Standards  
Chapter 53. Permanent Program Performance 

Standards: Surface Mining Activities 
§5423. Revegetation: Standards for Success 

A. - B.1.d.iv. … 
e. The criteria and procedures for determining 

ground cover and production success are found at §5424. 
2. - 8. … 

a. The criteria and procedures for determining 
ground cover and stocking success are found at §5425. 

B.9. - C.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:901-932. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 5:395 (December 
1979), amended LR 6:177 (May 1980), LR 14:441 (July 1988), LR 
20:447 (April 1994), LR 21:1082 (October 1995), LR 29:945 (June 
2003). 

§5424. Revegetation: Standards for SuccessCPost-
Mining Land Use of Pastureland 

A. Introduction 
1. This Section describes the criteria and procedures 

for determining ground cover and production success for 
areas being restored to pastureland.  

2. Pursuant to §5423, ground cover and production 
success on pastureland must be determined on the basis of 
the following conditions: 

a. general revegetation requirements of the 
approved permit; 

b. ground cover density; and 
c. production. 

3. The permittee is responsible for determining and 
measuring ground cover and production and submitting this 
data to the commissioner for evaluation. Procedures for 
making these determinations are described below. 

B. Success Standards and Measurement Frequency 
1. Ground Cover 

a. Ground cover shall be considered acceptable if it 
is at least 90 percent of the approved success standard at a 
90 percent statistical confidence level for any two of the last 
four years of the five-year responsibility period. The success 
standard for ground cover shall be 90 percent. 
 i. Ground cover must be measured over each 
noncontiguous area that is proposed for release. The 
aggregate of areas with less than 90 percent ground cover 
must not exceed 5 percent of the release area. These areas 
must not be larger than 1 acre and must be completely 
surrounded by desirable vegetation that has a ground cover 
of 90 percent. Areas void of desirable vegetation may not be 
larger than 1/4 acre and must be surrounded by desirable 
vegetation that has a ground cover of 90 percent. Refer to 
sampling technique for ground cover in §5424.C.2.a. 

b. Ground cover shall consist of the species mixture 
approved in the original permit or an approved acceptable 
species mixture as recommended by the USDA/Natural 
Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) for use in that area. 
No more than 15 percent of the stand can be approved 
species not listed in the permit. 

c. The sampling techniques for measuring success 
shall use a 90 percent statistical confidence interval (i.e., 
one-sided test with a .10 alpha error). Whenever ground 
cover is equal to or exceeds the success standard, the 
statistical confidence interval test does not have to be 
determined. 

d. Ground cover success and forage production 
success need not be met during the same year. 

e. Ground cover shall be sampled once per year 
during any two of the last four years of the five-year 
responsibility period to verify cover data. 

2. Forage Production 
a. The success standard for production of hay on 

pastureland shall be 90 percent of an approved reference 
area, if a reference area is established, or 90 percent of the 
estimated yield found in the Soil Conservation Service (now 
Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)) parish soil 
survey. The estimated yields are those expected under a high 
level of management and were determined by the NRCS 
based on records of farmers, conservationists and extension 
agents. 
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b. Production shall be sampled for at least two 
separate years. Any two of the last four years of the five-year 
responsibility period may be selected. 

3. Reference Area Requirements 
a. Reference areas must be representative of soils, 

slope, aspect, and vegetation in the premined permit area. 
However, in cases where differences exist because of mixing 
of several soil series on the reclaimed area or unavailability 
of a reference area as herein described, yields must be 
adjusted. 

b. Reference area pastureland must be under the 
same management as pastureland in the reclaimed area. This 
means that it must: 
 i. consist of similar plant species and diversity as 
approved in the permit; 
 ii. be currently managed under the same land use 
designation as the proposed mined release area; 
 iii. consist of soils in the same land capability 
class; 
 iv. be located in the general vicinity of the mined 
test area to minimize the impact of differing weather;  
 v. use the same fertilizer and pest management 
techniques; 
 vi. use fertilizer rates based on the same yield 
goal; 
 vii. be mowed at the same time to the same height 
as the reclaimed area; 
 viii. use identical harvest dates and plant 
populations; and 
 ix. use any other commonly used management 
techniques not listed above such as adequate weed and insect 
control, provided the pastureland area and the reference plot 
are treated identically. 

c. Reference areas shall consist of a single plot 
(whole plot) at least four acres in size. Either statistically 
adequate subsampling or whole plot harvesting may be used 
to determine yields. 

d. Reference plot forage yields must be at a level 
that is reasonably comparable to the parish average for the 
given crop. Reference plot yields that are less than 80 
percent of the parish average are highly suspect and may be 
rejected. 

e. Reference areas may be located on undisturbed 
acreage within permitted areas. If not so located, the 
permittee must obtain from the landowner(s) a written 
agreement allowing use of the property as a reference area 
and allowing right of entry for regulatory personnel. 

f. When release areas and reference plots fall on 
different soil series, adjustments must be made to 
compensate for the productivity difference. 

C. Sampling Procedures 
1. Random Sampling 

a. To assure that the samples truly represent the 
vegetative characteristics of the whole release or reference 
area, the permittee must use methods that will provide: 
 i. a random selection of sampling sites; 
 ii. a sampling technique unaffected by the 
sampler's preference; and  
 iii. sufficient samples to represent the true mean of 
the vegetation characteristics. 

b. Sampling points shall be randomly located by 
using a grid overlay on a map of the release or reference area 

and by choosing horizontal and vertical coordinates. Each 
sample point must fall within the release or reference area 
boundaries and be within an area having the vegetative cover 
type being measured. Additionally, at least one ground cover 
sample point must be measured in each noncontiguous unit, 
if the release area does not consist of a single unit. 

c. The permittee shall notify the office 10 days prior 
to conducting sampling or other harvesting operations to 
allow regulatory personnel an opportunity to monitor the 
sampling procedures. 

2. Sampling Techniques 
a. Ground Cover. There are several approved 

methods for measuring ground cover. As stated at 
§5423.A.1, these are: pin method, point frame method and 
line intercept method. The first contact, or "hit", of 
vegetation shall be classified by species as acceptable or 
unacceptable as follows. 

 
Acceptable Unacceptable 

Vegetation approved in permit  Vegetation not approved in permit  
Dead vegetation or litter from 
acceptable species 

Rock or bare ground 

AcceptableCnot approved in permit   

 
 i. Pin Method. In the pin method, a pinpoint is 
lowered to the ground. If vegetation is encountered, a hit is 
recorded. If bare ground is encountered, a miss is recorded. 
Sample locations are distributed randomly throughout the 
area to be measured. Percentage of cover is the number of 
hits divided by the total number of points sampled. Each 
randomly placed pin is considered one sample unit. An 
acceptable type of pin method would include recording each 
pin contact at one-foot intervals along a 100-foot tape. Each 
randomly placed 100-foot tape would be considered one 
sample unit. 
 ii. Point Frame Method. In the point frame 
method, a group of pinpoints is lowered to the ground. If 
vegetation is encountered, a hit is recorded. If bare ground is 
encountered, a miss is recorded. Sample locations are 
distributed randomly throughout the area to be measured. 
Percentage of cover is the number of hits divided by the total 
number of points sampled. Each randomly placed frame is 
considered one sample unit. 
 iii. Line Intercept Method. The sampling unit is a 
tape at least 100 feet long that is stretched from a random 
starting point in a randomly selected direction. The 
procedure consists of recording the length of tape underlain 
by vegetation, then dividing by the total length of tape to 
obtain the percentage of cover. Each randomly located tape 
is considered one sampling unit. 

b. Productivity 
 i. When evaluating productivity, two components 
that may potentially influence the end results of production 
yields are time of harvest and moisture content. 

(a). Time of Harvest. Herbaceous species must 
be harvested at times and frequencies appropriate to the 
plant species (i.e., cool-season species should be sampled in 
the winter or spring; warm-season species should be 
sampled in the summer or fall). Sampling should be timed to 
coincide with seed ripeness or the mature stage of the target 
vegetative species. Plant communities that are comprised of 
both cool- and warm-season species should be sampled 
when the overall plant community production is at a peak. If 
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an area has not had herbaceous biomass removed (i.e., 
mowing, baling, grazing) since the last sampling, then 
sampling must not be conducted until the vegetation is 
removed and regrowth has taken place. 

(b). Moisture Content. The moisture content of 
harvested herbaceous biomass and other vegetative 
components must be standardized, in order to eliminate 
weight variations due to moisture content. The weight of 
harvested vegetation is to be standardized by oven-drying at 
60° C for 24 hours or until the weight stabilizes. 
 ii. Productivity can be evaluated by hand-
harvesting or with mechanized agricultural implements. 
Productivity measurements must be obtained during the 
growing season of the primary vegetation species. 
Productivity is estimated from only the current season's 
growth. There are two methods that can be used to evaluate 
production: using sampling frames for harvesting plots or 
whole-field harvests. 

(a). Sampling Frames. A sampling frame shall be 
an enclosure, of known dimension appropriate for samp ling 
pasture lands, capable of enclosing the sample location. A 
sample location shall be established at each of the randomly 
chosen sites, such that the center of the sampling frame is 
the random point. The permittee shall clip the biomass 2 
inches above ground level within the frame. The biomass to 
be clipped shall be from all plant species growth whose base 
lies within the sampling frame. This biomass shall then be 
weighed and recorded. As each frame is clipped and 
weighed, the biomass shall be put into a bag for oven drying. 
Samples shall be oven-dried to a constant weight and 
reweighed to determine dried weight. All data collected from 
the clippings within the sampling frame shall be recorded 
and analyzed. 

(b). Whole Area Harvesting. If whole release 
area harvesting is chosen as the method for data collection, 
the entire area shall be harvested and the data recorded and 
analyzed. 
 iii. If truckloads of bales are weighed for hay 
production when a whole area is harvested, at least three 
truckloads from each 100 acres are weighed. Each truckload 
should have at least three large round bales or 20 square 
bales. A sample will consist of the average bale weight per 
truckload. A statistically adequate sample size must be 
obtained. Multiply the number of hay bales per area by the 
average bale weight to obtain total production for that area. 
Total production is then compared to 90 percent of the 
reference or target yield, using a 90 percent or greater 
statistical confidence level. 
 iv. If performing statistical comparisons for hay 
production when a whole field is harvested, the weights of 
either 10 percent or 15 bales, whichever is greater, are 
converted to pounds per acre (lbs/ac) by taking their average 
weight and multiplying that figure by the total number of 
bales, divided by the number of acres harvested. Total 
production is then compared to 90 percent of the reference 
or target yield, using a 90 percent or greater statistical 
confidence level. 
 v. To determine which bales to weigh, randomly 
select a number from one to ten then count and weigh every 
tenth bale thereafter until the minimum number or 10 
percent of the bales have been weighed. The first and last 
bale of any noncontiguous field or site should not be 

weighed. The bales shall be counted, but if the random 
number falls on either of the two bales mentioned, either 
advance one bale or select the bale immediately previous to 
the last bale produced. 

3. Sample Adequacy 
a. Ground Cover Data 

 i. Data shall be collected using a multi-staged 
sampling procedure. During the first stage, an initial 
minimum number of samples is taken. Using this initial 
group and applying the formula below, determine the actual 
number of samples needed: 
 

222 )1.0/()( xstn =  
 

Where: 
n = minimum number of samples needed; 

t2 = squared t-value from the T-Table; 
s2 = initial estimate of the variance of the release (or 
reference) area; and 
(0.1x)2 = the level of accuracy expressed as 10 percent of the 
average cover (note that this term is squared). 

 
 ii. If the formu la reveals that the required number 
of samples is equal to or less than the initial minimum 
number, the initial sampling will satisfy the sampling 
requirements. If the number of samples needed is greater 
than the initial minimum number, additional samples must 
be taken (Stage Two Sampling), as specified by the formula, 
and n recalculated. This process shall be repeated until 
sample adequacy is met. 

b. Productivity Data 
i. Data shall be collected using a multi-staged 

sampling procedure. During the first stage, an initial 
minimum number of samples is taken. Using this initial 
group and applying the formula below, determine the actual 
number of samples needed: 

 
222 )1.0/()( xstn =  

(the variance (s2) must be based on oven dry weight) 
 

Where: 
n = minimum number of samples needed; 
t2 = squared t-value from the T-Table; 

s2 = initial estimate of the variance of the release (or 
reference) area; and 
(0.1x)2 = the level of accuracy expressed as 10 percent 
of the average weight (note that this term is squared). 

 
 ii. If the formula reveals that the required number 
of samples have been taken, the initial sampling will satisfy 
the sampling requirements. If a greater number of samples is 
needed, additional samples must be taken (Stage Two 
Sampling), as specified by the formula, and n recalculated. 
This process shall be repeated until sample adequacy is met. 

D. Data Submission and Analysis  
1. If the data shows that revegetation success has been 

met, the permittee shall submit the data to the commissioner 
for review. Ground cover or production for the release area 
will be considered successful when it has been measured 
with an acceptable method, has achieved sample adequacy, 
and where the average ground cover or production value is 
equal to or greater than the success standard. 
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2. When the data indicates that the average ground 
cover and average forage production was insufficient, but 
close to the standards, the permittee may submit the data to 
the commissioner to determine if the production was 
acceptable when statistically compared to the standards 
using a t-test at a 90-percent statistical confidence interval. 

3. Raw yield data from reclaimed areas and raw data 
from reference areas must first be oven dried to remove 
moisture, then adjusted by the parish soil survey average 
yields before statistical comparisons can be made. 

E. Maps 
1. When a proposed reclamation phase III release is 

submitted to the office, it must be accompanied by maps 
showing: 

a. the location of the area covered by the proposed 
release; 

b. the location of reference plots; and 
c. all permit boundaries. 

2. When data from a previously approved plan is 
submitted to the office, it must be accompanied by maps 
showing: 

a. the location of and reference plots; 
b. the location of each sample point; 
c. the area covered by the sampling; and 
d. all permit boundaries. 

F. Mitigation Plan 
1. Ground cover and forage productivity must equal or 

exceed the standards for reclamation phase III liability 
release for at least two sampling years during the second 
through the fifth years following completion of the last 
augmented seeding. If productivity is not achieved by these 
dates, the permittee must submit a mitigation plan to the 
commissioner that includes the following: 

a. a statement outlining the problem;  
b. a discussion of what practices, beyond normal 

farming practices, the operator intends to use to enable the 
area to finally meet the release standards; and 

c. a new phase III release proposal. 
2. If renovation, soil substitution or any other practice 

that constitutes augmentation is employed, the five-year 
responsibility period shall restart after the mitigation plan is 
approved and the practices are completed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:901-932. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources,  Office of Conservation, LR 29:945 (June 
2003). 
§5425. Revegetation: Standards for SuccessCPost-

Mining Land Use of Wildlife Habitat 
A. Introduction 

1. This Section describes the criteria and procedures 
for determining ground cover and stocking success for areas 
developed for wildlife habitat. 

2. Pursuant to §5423, ground cover and stocking 
success on wildlife habitat must be determined on the basis 
of the following conditions: 

a. general revegetation requirements of the 
approved permit; 

b. ground cover; and 
c. tree or shrub stocking and survival. 

3. The permittee is responsible for measuring and 
determining ground cover and stocking and submitting this 

data to the commissioner for evaluation. Procedures for 
making these determinations are described below. 

B. Success Standards and Measurement Frequency 
1. Ground Cover 

a. Ground cover shall be considered acceptable if it 
has at least 70 percent density with a 90 percent statistical 
confidence for the last year of the five year responsibility 
period. 

b. The aggregate of areas with less than 70 percent 
ground cover must not exceed five percent of the release 
area. These individual areas must not be larger than 1 acre 
and must be completely surrounded by desirable vegetation 
that has a ground cover of not less than 70 percent. Areas 
void of desirable vegetation may not be larger than 1/4 acre 
and must be surrounded by desirable vegetation that has a 
ground cover of not less than 70 percent. 

c. No more than 35 percent of the stand can consist 
of approved species not listed in the permit. 

2. Tree and Shrub Stocking Rate 
a. The stocking rate for trees and shrubs shall be 

determined on a permit-specific basis after consultation and 
approval by the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries. Trees and shrubs that will be used in determining 
the success of stocking and the adequacy of the plant 
arrangement shall have utility for the approved post-mining 
land use. When this requirement is met and acceptable 
ground cover is achieved, the five-year responsibility period 
shall begin. 

b. Tree and shrub stocking rate shall be sampled 
once during the last year of the five-year responsibility 
period. The woody plants established on the revegetated site 
must be equal to or greater than 90 percent of the stocking 
rate approved in the permit with 90 percent statistical 
confidence. Trees and shrubs counted shall be healthy and in 
place for not less than two growing seasons. At the time of 
final bond release at least 80 percent of the trees and shrubs 
used to determine success shall have been in place for 60 
percent of the applicable minimum period of responsibility. 
The permittee must provide documentation of this in the 
form of paid receipts, reclamation status reports, and normal 
correspondence. 

C. Sampling Procedures 
1. Random Sampling 

a. To assure that the samples truly represent the 
vegetative characteristics of the whole release or reference 
area, the permittee must use methods that will provide: 
 i. a random selection of sampling sites, 
 ii. a sampling technique unaffected by the 
sampler's preference, and 
 iii. sufficient samples to represent the true mean of 
the vegetative characteristics. 

b. Sampling points shall be randomly located by 
using a grid overlay on a map of the release or reference area 
and by choosing horizontal and vertical coordinates. Each 
sample point must fall within the release or reference area 
boundaries and be within an area having the vegetative cover 
type being measured. Additionally, if the release area does 
not consist of a single unit, at least one sample point must be 
measured in each noncontiguous unit. 

c. The permittee shall notify the office 10 days prior 
to conducting sampling or other harvesting operations to 
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allow regulatory personnel an opportunity to monitor the 
sampling procedures. 

2. Sampling Techniques 
a. Ground Cover. There are several approved 

methods for measuring ground cover. As stated at 
§5423.A.1, these are: pin method, point frame method and 
line intercept method. The first contact, or "hit", of 
vegetation shall be classified by species as acceptable or 
unacceptable as follows: 

 
Acceptable Unacceptable 

Vegetation approved in permit  Vegetation not approved in permit  
Dead vegetation or litter from 
acceptable species 

Rock or bare ground 

AcceptableCnot approved in permit  

 
i. Pin Method. In the pin method, a pinpoint is 

lowered to the ground. If vegetation is encountered, a hit is 
recorded. If bare ground is encountered, a miss is recorded. 
Sample locations are distributed randomly throughout the 
area to be measured. Percentage of cover is the number of 
hits divided by the total number of points sampled. Each 
randomly placed pin is considered one sample unit. An 
acceptable type of pin method would include recording each 
pin contact at one-foot intervals along a 100-foot tape. Each 
randomly placed 100-foot tape would be considered one 
sample unit. 
 ii. Point Frame Method. In the point frame 
method, a group of pinpoints is lowered to the ground. If 
vegetation is encountered, a hit is recorded. If bare ground is 
encountered, a miss is recorded. Sample locations are 
distributed randomly throughout the area to be measured. 
Percentage of cover is the number of hits divided by the total 
number of points sampled. Each randomly placed frame is 
considered one sample unit. 
 iii. Line Intercept Method. The sampling unit is a 
tape at least 100 feet long that is stretched from a random 
starting point in a randomly selected direction. The 
procedure consists of recording the length of tape underlain 
by vegetation, then dividing by the total length of tape to 
obtain the percentage of cover. Each randomly located tape 
is considered one sampling unit. 

b. Sampling Circles (Trees/Shrubs) 
 i. A sampling circle shall be a round area of 
known radius. The permittee shall establish a sampling circle 
at each randomly selected sampling point such that the 
center of the sampling circle is the random point. Permittee 
may draw the circle by attaching a string to a stake fixed at 
the random point and then sweeping the end of the string 
(tightly stretched) in a circle around the stake. The permittee 
shall count all living trees and shrubs within each of the 
sampling circles. In more mature tree/shrub areas, the stakes 
may need to be extended to elevate the string above the 
growth. 
 ii. To count as a living tree or shrub, the tree or 
shrub must be healthy and must have been in place for at 
least two years. At the time of liability release, 80 percent 
must have been in place for three years. 

3. Sample Adequacy 
a. Ground Cover Data 

 i. Data shall be collected using a multi-staged 
sampling procedure. During the first stage, an initial

minimum number of samples is taken. Using this initial 
group and applying the formula below, determine the actual 
number of samples needed: 
 

222 )1.0/()( xstn =  

 
Where: 
n = minimum number of samples needed; 
t2 = squared t-value from the T-Table; 
s2 = initial estimate of the variance of the release (or 
reference) area; and 

(0.1x)2 = the level of accuracy expressed as 10 percent of the 
average cover (note that this term is squared). 
 

 ii. If the formula reveals that the required number 
of samples have been taken, the initial sampling will satisfy 
the sampling requirements. If a greater number of samples is 
needed, additional samples must be taken (Stage Two 
Sampling), as specified by the formula, and n recalculated. 
This process shall be repeated until sample adequacy is met. 

b. Sampling Circles (Trees/Shrubs) Data 
 i. Data shall be collected using a multi-staged 
sampling procedure. During the first stage, an initial 
minimum number of samples is taken. Using this initial 
group and applying the formula below, determine the actual 
number of samples needed: 

 
222 )1.0/()( xstn =  

(the variance (s2) must be based on oven dry weight) 
 

Where: 
n = minimum number of samples needed; 

t2 = squared t-value from the T-Table; 
s2 = initial estimate of the variance of the release (or 
reference) area; and 
(0.1x)2 = the level of accuracy expressed as 10 percent of the 
average weight (note that this term is squared). 

 
 ii. If the formula reveals that the required number 
of samples have been taken, the initial sampling will satisfy 
the sampling requirements. If a greater number of samples is 
needed, additional samples must be taken (Stage Two 
Sampling), as specified by the formula, and n recalculated. 
This  process shall be repeated until sample adequacy is met. 

D. Data Submission and Analysis  
1. If the data shows that revegetation success has been 

met, the permittee shall submit the data to the commissioner 
for review. Ground cover or stocking for the release area will 
be considered successful when it has been measured with an 
acceptable method, has achieved sample adequacy, and 
where the average ground cover or stocking value is equal to 
or greater than the success standard. 

2. When the data indicates that the average ground 
cover and/or tree and shrub average stocking density is 
insufficient, but close to the standards, the permittee may 
submit the data to the Commissioner to determine if the 
revegetation is acceptable when statistically compared to the 
standards using a t-test at a 90-percent statistical confidence 
interval. 

E. Maps 
1. When a proposed reclamation phase III release is 

submitted to the office, it must be accompanied by maps 
showing: 
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a. the location of the area covered by the proposed 
release; 

b. the location of reference plots; and 
c. all permit boundaries. 

2. When data from a previously approved plan is 
submitted to the office, it must be accompanied by maps 
showing: 

a. the location of each transect and sampling circle 
location, 

b. the area covered by the sampling, and 
c. all permit boundaries. 

F. Mitigation Plan 
1. Ground cover must be greater than or equal to 70 

percent coverage and tree and shrub stocking must achieve 
the revegetation standards by the fifth year of the five-year 
responsibility period. If these standards are not achieved by 
this date, the permittee must submit a mitigation plan to the 
commissioner that includes the following: 

a. a statement outlining the problem;  
b. a discussion of what practices, beyond normal 

agronomic practices, the operator intends to use to enable 
the area to finally meet the release standards; and 

c. a new Phase III release proposal. 
2. If renovation, soil substitution, or any other practice 

that constitutes augmentation is employed, the five-year 
responsibility period shall restart after the mitigation plan is 
approved and the practices are completed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:901-932. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 29:948 (June 2003). 

 
James H. Welsh 
Commissioner 

0306#032 
 

RULE 

Department of Revenue 
Office of the Secretary 

Penalty Waiver (LAC 61:III.2101) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:1603 and in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of Revenue, Office of 
the Secretary, amends LAC 61:III.2101 pertaining to a 
penalty waiver for delinquent filing or delinquent payment.  

The purpose of this Rule is to inform the public of the 
documentation required when submitting requests for waiver 
of delinquent filing or late payment penalty and of factors 
that will be considered by the Department of Revenue in 
evaluating waiver requests. Title 47 Section 1603 provides 
that if the failure to file on time or the failure to timely remit 
the full amount due is not due to the negligence of the 
taxpayer, but is due to other causes set forth in written form 
and considered reasonable, the secretary may waive the 
penalty in whole or in part. When the penalty exceeds 
$5,000, the waiver must be approved by the Board of Tax 
Appeals. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part III.  Department of Revenue; Administrative  
Provisions and Miscellaneous 

Chapter 21. Interest and Penalties  
§2101. Penalty Waiver 

A. The secretary may waive a penalty in whole or in part 
for the failure to file a return on time or the failure to timely 
remit the full amount due when the failure is not due to the 
taxpayer's negligence and is considered reasonable. All 
penalty waiver requests must be in writing and be 
accompanied by supporting documentation. If the combined 
penalties for a tax period exceed one hundred dollars, all of 
the facts alleged as a basis for reasonable cause must be fully 
disclosed in an affidavit sworn before a notary public in the 
presence of two witnesses and accompanied by any 
supporting documentation. The affidavit must be signed by 
the taxpayer, or in the case of a corporation, by an officer of 
the corporation. Where the taxpayer or officer does not have 
personal knowledge of such facts, the sworn affidavit may 
be signed on the taxpayer's or officer's behalf by a 
responsible individual with personal knowledge of such 
facts. In lieu of an affidavit, the taxpayer may submit a 
Request for Waiver of Penalties for Delinquency Form 
signed by the taxpayer, or in the case of a corporation, by an 
officer of the corporation. Where the taxpayer or officer does 
not have personal knowledge of such facts, the Request for 
Waiver of Penalties for Delinquency Form may be signed on 
the taxpayer's or officer's behalf by a responsible individual 
with personal knowledge of such facts. The Request for 
Waiver of Penalties for Delinquency Form must be 
accompanied by any supporting documentation. 

B. Before a taxpayer's request for penalty waiver will be 
considered, the taxpayer must be current in filing all tax 
returns and all tax, penalties not being considered for waiver, 
fees and interest due for any taxes/fees administered by the 
Department of Revenue must be paid. 

C. In determining whether or not to waive the penalty in 
whole or in part, the department will take in account both the 
facts submitted by the taxpayer and the taxpayer's previous 
compliance record with respect to all of the taxes/fees 
administered by the Department of Revenue. Prior penalty 
waivers will be a significant factor in assessing the 
taxpayer's compliance record. Each waiver request submitted 
by the taxpayer will be considered on an individual basis. 
Each tax period or audit liability will be considered 
separately in determining whether the penalty amount 
mandates approval of the waiver by the Board of Tax 
Appeals. The delinquent filing and delinquent payment 
penalties will also be considered separately in making this 
determination. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1603. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Department of Revenue, Office of the Secretary, LR 27:866 (June 
2001), amended LR 29:950 (June 2003). 

 
Cynthia Bridges 
Secretary 

0306#015 
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RULE 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Natural Resources: Severance Tax 
Definition of Payout 

(LAC 61:I.2903) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:633, 47:648.3, and 47:1511 
and in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, amends LAC 
61:I.2903.A to clarify the definition of payout. 

Revised Statute 47:633(7)(c)(iii), 47:633(9)(d)(v), and 
47:648.3 allow severance tax suspensions for horizontal, 
deep, and new discovery wells. The suspensions are limited 
to 24 months or until payout of the well cost, whichever 
comes first. Payout occurs when gross revenue from the well 
less royalties and operating costs directly attributable to the 
well equal the well cost as approved by the Office of 
Conservation. Because payout of the well cost triggers the 
end of the severance tax suspension, the computation should 
be uniform for all taxpayers. This amendment clarifies that 
operating costs do not include any costs that were included 
in the well cost approved by the Office of Conservation. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 
Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 29. Natural Resources: Severance Tax 
§2903. Severance Taxes on Oil; Distillate, Condensate 

or Similar Natural Resources; Natural Gasoline 
or Casinghead Gasoline; Liquefied Petroleum 
Gases and Other Natural Gas Liquids; and Gas 

A. Definitions 
* * * 

PayoutCthe payout of the well cost for a horizontal well 
as referred to in R.S. 47:633(7)(c)(iii), a deep well as 
referred to in R.S. 47:633(9)(d)(v), and a new discovery well 
as referred to in R.S. 47:648.3 occurs when gross revenue 
from the well, less royalties and operating costs directly 
attributable to the well, equals the well cost as approved by 
the Office of Conservation. Operating costs are limited to 
those costs directly attributable to the operation of the 
exempt well, such as direct materials, supplies, fuel, direct 
labor, contract labor or services, repairs, maintenance, 
property taxes, insurance, depreciation, and any other costs 
that can be directly attributed to the operation of the well. 
Operating costs do not include any costs that were included 
in the well cost approved by the Office of Conservation. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:633, 47:648.3, and 47:1511. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Revenue, Severance Tax Division, August 1974, amended and 
promulgated LR 3:499 (December 1977), amended LR 20:1129 
(October 1994), repromulgated LR 20:1299 (November 1994), 
amended LR 23:1167 (September 1997), LR 24:2321 (December 
1998), LR 29:951 (June 2003). 

 
Cynthia Bridges 
Secretary 

0306#014 

RULE 

Department of State 
Office of the Secretary of State 

Division of Archives 

Records Management Policies and Practices 
(LAC 4:XVII.Chapters 1-15) 

The Department of State, Division of Archives, Records 
Management and History, in accordance with R.S. 44:405, 
and with the Administrative Procedure Act R.S. 49:950 et 
seq., has adopted LAC Title 4, Part XVII Records 
Management Policies and Practices. This text is being 
inserted to provide official guidance for state agencies in 
establishing and maintaining an active records management 
program as required by R.S. 44:410 et seq. 

Title 4 
ADMINISTRATION 

Part XVII.  Records Management Policies and Practices 
Chapter 1. Agency Records Management Officer 

Designation 
§101. Designation 

A. In compliance with R.S. 44:411, on or before July 1 
of each state fiscal year, the chief executive officer of each 
agency, as defined by R.S. 44:402 shall designate a records 
management officer to act as liais on between the division 
and the agency on all matters related to records management 
for the term of one year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:951 (June 2003). 
§103. Process 

A. Each agency shall communicate their records  
management officer designation by completing form SS 
ARC 940 Records Management Officer Designation Form, 
(including signature of the chief executive officer and the 
date the designation was signed) and submitting the 
completed form to the state archivist. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:951 (June 2003). 
§105. Responsibilities of an Agency Records 

Management Officer 
A. Each agency should select a records management 

officer who: 
1. can communicate effectively with agency personnel 

and with the division's personnel; 
2. has adequate knowledge of how your agency is 

organized and its operations; 
3. has the ability to work with the agency's 

information services section on records management issues 
related to electronic records created and maintained by the 
agency; 

4. has the authority to oversee the records 
management program of the agency, including: 

a. the development and implementation of an 
agency retention schedule; 
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b. the compliance with Division and legal 
requirements for agency records; 

c. the temporary storage of records at the State 
Records Center (if necessary) or the transfer of records for 
permanent storage with the State Archives (if required or 
requested); 

d. and the processing of disposal requests and 
destruction of agency records as necessary. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:951 (June 2003). 
§107. Changes in Records Management Officer 

Designees 
A. Agencies wishing to change their agency's designee 

before their designation period has expired, must notify the 
State Archivist within 30 days of such a change by 
completing form SS ARC 940 and noting "AMENDMENT" on 
top of the page. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:952 (June 2003). 
Chapter 3. Retention Schedule Development 
§301. Definitions 

A. Unless otherwise defined in this Chapter, the 
definitions for key terms in this chapter are provided in R.S. 
44:402. 

Approved Retention ScheduleCa retention schedule 
which has been approved by the state archivist or his 
designee. 

Records SeriesCa group of related or similar records, 
regardless of medium, that may be filed together as a unit, 
used in a similar manner, and typically are evaluated as a 
unit for determining retention periods. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:952 (June 2003). 
§303. Records Inventory 

A. To facilitate the development of agency retention 
schedules in compliance with R.S. 44:411, each agency 
shall: 

1. review the functions and activities of their agency; 
2. develop a list of records produced, received and 

maintained by the agency; 
3. identify the inclusive dates, the medium and 

volume of records maintained for each record series held by 
the agency. This provision may be facilitated by agencies 
completing a records Management Inventory Form (SS ARC 
960) for each record series to document their decision 
process. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:952 (June 2003). 
§305. Writing the Retention Schedule 

A. Each agency shall submit a draft retention schedule to 
the State Archives for review and approval. In developing 
the draft, each agency will: 

1. conduct adequate research to determine the length 
of time each record series needs to be maintained based on 
their administrative, legal, fiscal, and any 
historical/informational value. Legal citations should be 
included if statutes or rules exist, on either the state or 
federal level, the retention of certain records series; 

2. develop specific retention and disposition 
instructions for each records series, including transference of 
inactive records to an appropriate records storage facility, the 
maintenance of long-term or permanent records within the 
agency, and/or transfer of custody of permanent records to 
the State Archives control. 

3. develop a draft retention schedule, using form 
number SS ARC 932, providing a brief description of the 
records series, suggested retention periods for each records 
series, recommended disposition instructions for non-
permanent records, a notation for any records series that 
contains confidential information at the time of its creation 
in the remarks section and any citations used to formulate 
the retention value, if applicable. In the event that a subset of 
records are "declared" confidential due to pending 
investigation or similar event, a list of the records series 
involved should be transmitted to the State Archives within 
30 days of the declaration. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:952 (June 2003). 
§307. Retention Schedule Maintenance 

A. Each agency shall review its retention schedule 
annually to identify any record series requiring an addition, 
amendment or deletion to the agency's approved schedule. 
Each agency shall submit an amended SS ARC 932 noting 
any changes to its existing retention schedule. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:952 (June 2003). 
§309. Retention Schedule Renewal 

A. An agency schedule, once approved by the State 
Archives will be valid for five years from the date of 
approval. Ninety days prior to the five year anniversary of a 
schedule's approval, each agency shall submit their schedule 
for renewal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:952 (June 2003). 
Chapter 5. Storage of Records in State Records 

Center 
§501. Definitions 

A. For the purpose of this Chapter the following 
definitions apply. 

Approved Records Center BoxCa box that is 1.2 cubic 
feet in size, with dimensions of 15"x12"x10" and having no 
lids (fan fold tops only). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:952 (June 2003). 
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§503. Eligibility 
A. In accordance with R.S. 44:408, the State Records 

Center may accept records from state agencies when they 
meet the following criteria. 

1. The records are scheduled on an approved Records 
Retention Schedule. 

2. The records belong to an office of the State 
Executive or Legislative branches of Louisiana government. 

3. The records are considered inactive (not from 
current operational year). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:953 (June 2003). 
§505. Packing Instructions 

A. Each box containing eligible records (as listed above) 
must comply with the following requirements. 

1. The records are boxed in an approved records 
center box. 

2. The records in each box are from the same records 
series with the same retention value. 

3. The records should be packed in the same order as 
they are filed in the agency. 

4. Boxes should not contain mixed media (i.e., 
microfiche with paper records). 

5. Approximately 1 inch of space should be left in 
each box to facilitate retrieval. 

6. Records should not be placed on top of other 
records in the box. 

7. The approximate weight of each box should not 
exceed 35 pounds. 

8. Packing tape is discouraged. If utilized, it may only 
be used to reinforce the bottom of the box. 

9. To further protect the records in case of fire, 
agencies are strongly encouraged to pack their boxes with 
the records facing the long (15 inch) side of the box. If 
records being packed are letter-sized (8 1/2" x 11") the 
remaining space in the back of the box, may include 
additional records with the records facing the short side (12 
inch) end of the box. 

10. Boxes should not contain hanging file folders, three 
ring binders or binder clips. 

11. If boxes contain records in a media other than paper 
(i.e., microfilm, audio/video tapes), the media type should be 
noted on the transmittal within the description of contents 
section. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:953 (June 2003). 
§507. Labeling Instructions 

A. Each agency must assign a unique agency box 
number to each box to be transferred by affixing the number 
to the upper right hand corner of the narrow end of the box 
(the end of the box) and may include a brief descriptor for 
the records (i.e., 1997, FY2002, A-F, #1001-2500, etc.) to 
the left of the agency box number. This box number (and 
descriptor) must correspond to an entry made on the 
agency's transmittal forms submitted for the box. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:953 (June 2003). 
§509. Disposal Date Cycles 

A. Records stored in the State Records Center must be 
assigned one of two disposal cycles. Assignment should be 
made based on the following criteria: 

1. July Cycle. Records that are retained based on 
fiscal year retention periods or meet their retention period 
between January 1 and June 30 during a given year. 

2. January Cycle. Records that are retained based on 
calendar year retention periods or meet their retention period 
between July 1 and December 31 during a given year.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:953 (June 2003). 
§511. Records Transmittal 

A. Prior to the delivery of records to the State Records 
Center for storage, an agency must provide the Records 
Center with completed Records Transmittal and Receipt 
forms (SS ARC 103), which will serve as an inventory 
sufficiently detailed to enable the Records Center to retrieve 
any record needed by the agency for reference. 

1. A separate transmittal form (SS ARC 103) should 
be completed for each disposal date (i.e., January or July of 
a given year). 

2. For each box, the agency should include the 
minimum information on their transmittal forms: 

a. agency box number; 
b. beginning and ending dates for the records in the 

box;  
c. a brief meaningful description of the contents of 

the box (i.e., Employees A -E, Batch 151-210); 
d. a notation if the records are on a media other than 

paper; 
e. a notation if any of the records contain 

confidential information. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

44:405. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:953 (June 2003). 
§513. Arranging Transfer 

A. After completing the transmittal forms for the boxes 
to be stored at the State Records Center, the agency shall 
mail or fax the transmittals to the State Records Center at 
least two weeks prior to the date of transfer the agency is 
requesting. The State Records Center will contact the 
agency's records officer to finalize the delivery date. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:953 (June 2003). 
§515. Delivery of Records  

A. In general, delivery dates will be set on a first-come, 
first-serve basis. The State Records Center reserves the right 
to postpone or rearrange delivery dates or accept records of 
an agency in special circumstances or emergency situations, 
if the State Records Center staff or the Records Management 
Officer Statewide determine such an action is necessary. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:953 (June 2003). 
§517. Ownership and Access 

A. Records stored at the State Records Center remain 
property of the agency depositing them at the State Records 
Center. Only the depositing agency's designated employees 
and to a limited extent, State Records Center personnel will 
be provided access to records stored in the State Records 
Center. Any requests to see an agency's records from non-
authorized parties will be forwarded to the agency for 
written approval. A written approval must include the name 
of the person, the Records Center box number for the 
records being requested and the signature of the agency's 
records officer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:954 (June 2003). 
§519. Requesting Stored Records  

A. An agency may request access to or check out their 
agency's records by following the following procedures. 

1. The agency must contact the State Records Center 
by either mail, fax, phone or e-mail requesting access to or 
checking out a file(s) or box(es) by listing the Records 
Center box number for the boxes being requested and 
providing the file name(s) if particular files are being 
requested. 

2. Requests will be processed on a first-come, first-
serve basis. In the event that an agency has a true 
emergency, the State Records Center will try to 
accommodate a request for expedited service. 

3. The State Records Center will contact the agency's 
Records Officer when the records in question are ready for 
review or pick-up. Upon arrival to the State Records Center, 
agency personnel will be required to show proper 
identification before access to the records will be granted. 

4. Records being checked out from the State Records 
Center require a signed check out invoice by the employee 
checking out the records. 

5. Once the agency checks out a record, the 
responsibility to return the record to the State Records 
Center belongs to the agency.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:954 (June 2003). 
§521. Disposal of Records  

A. Twice a year the State Records Center will generate 
disposal requests for agency records that have met their 
retention periods. Such disposal requests will be forwarded 
to the agency records officer for agency disposal approval. 
The agency will have 45 days to res pond to the request. The 
State Records Center reserves the right to return to the 
agency any records listed on the disposal request after the 
allotted 45 days has lapsed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:954 (June 2003). 
§523. Agency Disposal Approval 

A. Once the agency receives the disposal request, the 
agency records officer must ascertain if any of the records 
listed on the request require further retention or are required 
for pending or on-going litigation. The records officer 
should consult with the agency's legal counsel if there are 
any legal holds that require the records being retained for a 
longer duration. 

1. If the records are not needed for any legal or 
administrative need, the agency records management officer 
shall sign the statement indicating that in consultation with 
the agency's legal counsel the records are no longer needed 
by the agency and may be destroyed. 

2. If any record is still required by the agency, they 
may designate the records to be retained by noting the new 
disposal date requested and the reason for the extended 
retention. The agency may request the records be transferred 
back to their custody if they do not wish the records to 
remain in the State Records Center. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:954 (June 2003). 
§525. Archival Review 

A. Prior to the destruction of any records in the State 
Records Center, the State Archives will review each disposal 
request for possible archival records. In the event that the 
State Archives wishes to retain some records for archival 
review, the State Archives will notify the agency which 
agency records they are transferring to the Archives 
acquisition section for processing. Once transferred to the 
State Archives the ownership of the record will transfer from 
the agency to the State Archives. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:954 (June 2003). 
Chapter 7. Transferring Records for Inclusion in 

Archives Collection 
§701. General 

A. In accordance with R.S. 44:411, agency shall secure 
written approval from the state archivist (or his designee) 
prior to the disposing of any records of the agency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:954 (June 2003). 
§703. Eligibility 

A. In accordance with R.S. 44:401, the State Archives 
may accept records from state agencies according to the 
following criteria: 

1. the records are scheduled on an approved Records 
Retention Schedule; 

2. the records have been determined to be of historical 
value or mandated by law to be kept as permanent records. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:954 (June 2003). 
§705. Packing Instructions 

A. For records that easily fit into archive box, each box 
containing eligible records as listed in §703 must comply 
with the following requirements. 

1. The records are boxed in an approved archival box. 
2. The records in each box are from the same records 

series with the same retention value. 
3. The records should be packed in the same order as 

they are filed in the agency. 
4. Boxes should not contain mixed media (i.e., 

microfiche with paper records). 
5. The approximate weight of each box should not 

exceed 35 pounds. 
6. Taping of printed descriptions to the box and use of 

packing tape is prohibited. 
7. To further protect the records in case of fire, 

agencies are strongly encouraged to pack their boxes with 
the records facing the long (15 inch) side of the box. If 
records being packed are letter-sized (8 1/2" x 11") the 
remaining space in the back of the box, may include 
additional records with the records facing the short side (12 
inch) end of the box. 

8. Boxes should not contain hanging file folders, three 
ring binders or binder clips; 

9. If boxes contain records in a media other than paper 
(i.e., microfilm, audio/video tapes), the media type should be 
noted on the transmittal within the description of contents 
section. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:955 (June 2003). 
§707. Non-Standard Sized Packing Instructions 

A. Prior to sending records that exceed 8 1/2" x 14", the 
submitting agency should contact the Archives Acquisitions 
Section for further instructions on how to pack such records. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:955 (June 2003). 
§709. Labeling Instructions 

A. For boxes donated or sent to the State Archives for 
permanent storage: 

1. the agency must assign a unique agency number to 
each box to be transferred by affixing the number on one of 
the long sides of the box; 

2. a brief descriptor for the records (i.e., Dept of State, 
Correspondence 6/1/00C12/31/00; Bd of EthicsCCampaign 
Finance Reports #98-04 through #98-100) under the box 
number. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:955 (June 2003). 
§711. Archives Transmittal Form Required 

A. Prior to the delivery to the State Archives, the 
submitting agency must provide completed Archives 
Transmittal Forms, which will serve as an inventory, 

sufficiently detailed, to enable Archives staff to retrieve 
records as they are needed. 

1. On each transmittal form, the agency shall include: 
a. name and address of agency; 
b. the records officer name and official title within 

the agency; 
c. contact information (phone and e-mail address) 

for the records officer; 
d. any restrictions that exist for the records included 

on the particular form;  
e. the total number of boxes/items to be transferred; 
f. signature of transmitting records officer and date 

signed by officer; 
g. page number and total number of pages of 

transmittal (i.e., Page 1 of 5). 
2. For each box or item, agency shall include on the 

transmittal: 
a. title of records series as it appears on the agency's 

approved retention schedule; 
b. more that one box may be listed on an Archival 

Transmittal Form. 
3. Submission and the acceptance of an Archives 

Transmittal Form from an agency or donor by the State 
Archives constitutes an Act of Donation to the State 
Archives by the agency or donor, and transfers all rights and 
ownership of the records to the State Archives.  

4. The State Archives will return a signed copy of the 
Archival Transmittal form signed by the receiving archivist 
after the transmittal has been processed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:955 (June 2003). 
§713. Arranging Transfer 

A. After comp leting the Archival Transmittal forms for 
the items to be transferred to the State Archives, the agency 
or donor shall transmit the forms at least one week prior to 
the date of transfer requested by the agency or donor. The 
State Archives, after reviewing the forms, will contact the 
agency's or donor's contact listed on the transmittal to 
finalize the delivery date. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:955 (June 2003). 
§715. Delivery of Records  

A. In general, delivery dates will be set on a first-come, 
first-served basis. The State Archives reserves the right to 
postpone or rearrange delivery dates or accept records of an 
agency in special circumstances or emergency situations, if 
the Archives staff or Records Management Officer Statewide 
determine such an action is necessary. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:955 (June 2003). 
§717. Long Term Records Storage 

A. Records transferred to the State Archives for 
permanent or long-term storage remain property of the 
agency depositing them with the State Archives. Only the 
depositing agency's designated employees and to a limited 
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extent, Archives staff, will be provided access to records 
stored with the State Archives. Any requests to see an 
agency's records from non-authorized parties (including 
public records requests) will be forwarded to the owner 
agency for written approval. Written approval must include 
the name of the person authorizing the access, the person 
access is being granted and the archives storage box 
number(s) in which the record(s) is located. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:955 (June 2003). 
§719. Requesting Stored Records  

A. An agency may request access to or check out their 
agency's records by following the following procedures. 

1. The agency must contact the State Archives by 
either mail, fax, phone or e-mail requesting access to or 
checking out a file(s) or box(es) by listing the agency box 
number for the boxes being requested and providing the file 
name(s) if particular files are being requested. 

2. Requests will be processed on a first-come, first-
served basis. In the event that an agency has a true 
emergency, the State Archives will try to accommodate a 
request for expedited service. 

3. The State Archives will contact the agency's records 
officer when the records in question are ready for review or 
pick-up. Upon arrival to the State Archives, agency 
personnel will be required to show proper identification 
before access to the records will be granted. 

4. Records being checked out from the State Records 
Center require a signed check out invoice by the employee 
checking out the records. 

5. Once the agency checks out a record, the 
responsibility to return the record to the State Archives 
belongs to the agency.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:956 (June 2003). 
Chapter 9. Destruction of Public Records  
§901. General 

A. In accordance with R.S. 44:411, agency shall secure 
written approval from the State Archivist (or his designee) 
prior to the disposing of any records of the agency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:956 (June 2003). 
§903. Scheduled Records  

A. Agencies wishing to dispose of records listed on their 
agency's approved retention schedule shall submit to the 
State Archivist or his designee, Form SS ARC 930 (Request 
for Authority to Dispose of Records). Form SS ARC 930 
must have the signature of either the agency's: 

1. records officer as designated in LAC 4:XVII, 
Chapter 1; or 

2. the chief executive officer; or 
3. the general counsel for the agency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:956 (June 2003). 
§905. Non-Scheduled Records  

A. Agencies wishing to dispose of records not listed on 
their agency's approved retention schedule shall submit to 
the State Archivist or his designee, Form SS ARC 930 
(Request for Authority to Dispose of Records) and a 
completed Records Management Inventory Form for each 
non-scheduled series listed on the disposal request. Form SS 
ARC 930 must have the signature of either the agency's: 

1. records officer as designated in LAC 4:XVII, 
Chapter 1; or 

2. the chief executive officer; or 
3. the general counsel for the agency 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:956 (June 2003). 
§907. Destruction Authorization 

A. Once a disposal request has been received by the State 
Archivist (or his designee), the agency will be notified 
within 30 days of receipt that: 

1. their disposal request has been approved; 
2. their disposal request has been denied along with an 

explanation why approval was not granted; 
3. their disposal request contains records that should 

be transferred to the State Archives for possible inclusion in 
the State Archives; or 

4. their disposal request requires more research and 
requires an additional 30 days to issue a response to the 
request. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:956 (June 2003). 
§909. Legal Hold Policy 

A. Each agency is required to develop and implement an 
internal process for placing legal holds on records that are 
involved in state or federal investigations and/or litigation. 
Agencies should submit their policy within 30 days of 
creation to the State Archives. The policy should address: 

1. the agency's internal disposal approval process; 
2. which employees are notified of a legal hold, when 

they are told and how they are told; 
3. who is  responsible for contacting possible third 

party vendors who may house records or data covered under 
a legal hold; 

4. what steps should be taken by notified employees 
to safeguard records or data covered under a legal hold; 

5. the agency’s legal hold forms  (including file level 
notice sheets) and instructions for any legal hold 
form/release forms created by the agency to implement the 
plan; 

6. who within the agency has legal authority to lift the 
legal hold once the litigation or investigation has concluded. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:956 (June 2003). 
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§911. Disposal Methods  
A. Once approval for disposal has been granted, an 

agency should dispose of the agency records in a manner 
acceptable to the level of confidentiality the record requires. 

1. If a records series contains no information 
considered confidential in nature, an agency may use any 
acceptable disposal method including: 

a. landfill; 
b. recycling; 
c. shredding; 
d. incineration; 
e. maceration; 
f. pulverization. 

2. If a records series contains information considered 
confidential in nature, an agency may use any of the 
following disposal methods: 

a. shredding; 
b. incineration; 
c. maceration; 
d. pulverization. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:957 (June 2003). 
§913. Certificate of Destruction 

A. Agencies shall document the destruction of their 
records by maintaining a Certificate of Destruction for all 
records requiring destruction approval from the State 
Archives. Such Destruction Certificate shall consist of 
either: 

1. the current State Archives Certificate of Destruction 
form (SS ARC 933) along with the approved destruction 
request from the State Archives; or 

2. an equivalent document that records the date the 
records were destroyed, the method of destruction, the 
approved Authority to Dispose of Records Form and the 
signature of at least one witness to the destruction or 
removal of the records. In the event that a recycling 
company is used for destruction, the date the records are 
transferred to the recycler for destruction will constitute the 
destruction date. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:957 (June 2003). 
Chapter 13. Electronic Records  
Subchapter A. Agency Responsibilities 
§1301. Definitions 

A. For the purpose of this Chapter the following 
definitions apply. 

Agency RecordCa record as defined by R.S. 44:402. 
Electronic Mail (E-mail)Ca system that enables an 

agency to compose, transmit, receive and manage text and/or 
graphic electronic messages and images across networks and 
through gateways connecting other local area networks. 

Long-Term RecordCa record with a total retention 
requirement of over 10 years but less than permanent. 

PermanentCa record with a total retention of life of the 
agency and/or the state and intended to be maintained in 
perpetuity. 

Short-Term RecordCa record with a total retention 
requirement of 10 years of less. 

TransitoryCtransitory records are records that have 
limited or no administrative value to the agency and are not 
essential to the fulfillment of statutory obligations or to the 
documentation of agency functions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:957 (June 2003). 
§1303. General 

A. The head of each agency must ensure: 
1. that a program is established for the management of 

state records created, received, retained, used, transmitted, or 
disposed of on electronic media; 

2. that the management of electronic state records are 
integrated with other records and information management 
records management programs of the agency; 

3. that electronic records management objectives, 
responsibilities and authorities are incorporated into 
pertinent agency directives and policies; 

4. that procedures are established for addressing 
records management requirements, including, retention, 
access and disposition requirements; 

5. that training is provided for users of electronic 
records systems, in the operation, care, and handling of the 
information, equipment, software and media used in the 
systems; 

6. that documentation is developed and maintained 
about all electronic state records in a manner adequate for 
retaining, reading, or processing the records and ensuring 
their timely, authorized disposition; and 

7. that a security program for electronic state records 
is established. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:957 (June 2003). 
Subchapter B. State Archives Imaging Policy 
§1305. Imaging System Survey; Compliance 

A. In accordance with R.S. 44:413, each agency shall 
complete a State Archives Imaging System Survey and 
provide any amendments to their survey in a timely manner 
when original information provided is no longer accurate. 

1. Survey Information. Each agency shall provide the 
following information to the State Archives: 

a. a listing of all records series maintained/managed 
by the system being surveyed; 

b. the hardware and software being used (including 
model and version numbers) including total storage capacity; 

c. the type and density of media being used by the 
system (magnetic, WORM, etc.);  

d. the type and resolution of images being produced 
(TIFF class 3 or 4, and dpi); 

e. the agency's quality control procedures for image 
production and maintenance; 

f. the agency's back up procedures for the system 
and where (on-site, off-site) and how many sets of images 
exist; 

g. the agency's migration plan for purging images 
from the system that have met their retention period. 
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2. Initial Survey Implementation. Any agency with an 
imaging system in operation before June 1, 2003 shall 
submit their survey response to the State Archives by no 
later than July 31, 2003. 

3. New Systems. In addition to completing the 
Imaging System Survey, any agency implementing an 
imaging system on or after June 1, 2003, must contact the 
State Archives prior to implementation to ensure that a 
retention schedule, approved by the State Archives, is in 
place and that the system can comply with their schedule’s 
requirements. 

4. Amending Imaging Survey Response. In the event 
that any changes in the initial information providing on an 
agency's Imaging Survey response, the agency shall submit 
an amendment to their survey response within 90 days of the 
change occurring. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:957 (June 2003). 
§1307. Acceptable Means of Records Preservation 

A. In accordance with R.S. 44:410, electronic digitizing 
(imaging) is an acceptable means for records preservation 
for the maintenance of short-term agency records, as defined 
in LAC 4:XVII.1301. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:958 (June 2003). 
§1309. Short-Term Records  

A. Agencies utilizing imaging for the creation and 
maintenance of short term records, may use imaging without 
maintaining the original or a microfilm copy of the original 
provided that: 

1. the records series has been included on the agency’s 
retention schedule submitted to and approved by the State 
Archivist or his designee; 

2. a quality control inspection of the images is 
conducted prior to the destruction of the original source 
documents to ensure the visibility and accessibility; 

3. the proper approval has been secured from the State 
Archives prior to the destruction of the original source 
documents; 

4. the records series maintained on imaging systems 
are stored in such a manner as to comply with the retention 
requirements (i.e., like retentions on the same optical disk or 
subdirectory). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Office of the Secretary of State, Division of 
Archives, LR 29:958 (June 2003). 
§1311. Long-Term and Permanent Records  

A. In accordance with R.S. 44:410, agencies utilizing 
imaging for the creation and maintenance of long term 
and/or archival records, may use imaging for administrative 
purposes provided that for preservation purposes the agency 
either: 

1. maintain the original source documents for the 
retention period listed on the agency’s retention schedule; or 

2. produce a microfilm back up of the records and 
store the microfilm with the State Archives. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Office of the Secretary of State, Division of 
Archives, LR 29:958 (June 2003). 
Subchapter C. Electronic Mail (E-mail) Guidelines 
§1321. Series Retention of E-mail 

A. E-mail should be retained based on content not on 
media type or storage limitations. Agencies should not 
encourage employees to unilaterally discard E-mail because 
of artificial limits on E-mail box capacities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Office of the Secretary of State, Division of 
Archives, LR 29:958 (June 2003). 
§1323. E-Mail is Not a Records Series 

A. E-mail should not be treated as a single record series 
for retention scheduling purposes. E-mail should be 
incorporated into existing records series maintained by an 
agency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Office of the Secretary of State, Division of 
Archives, LR 29:958 (June 2003). 
§1325. Types of E-Mail 

A. There are two broad categories of E-mail: record and 
non-record, based on their administrative and retention 
requirements. 

1. Transitory. Transitory records are records that have 
limited or no administrative value to the agency and are not 
essential to the fulfillment of statutory obligations or to the 
documentation of agency functions. 

a. Examples. Transitory information can include the 
following: unsolicited and junk e-mails not related to agency 
work, listserv and other e-mail broadcast lists that require 
subscription (including newspapers), reminders for meetings 
and events (i.e. cake in the conference room, staff meeting 
moved from 2 p.m. to 3 p.m.), personal non-work related e-
mails received by employees. 

b. Retention. There is no retention requirement for 
transitory messages. Public officials and employees 
receiving such communications may delete them 
immediately without obtaining approval from the State 
Archives. 

2. Record. Electronic mail records are records that 
have administrative value to the agency or are required to be 
maintained under state or federal law for a specified amount 
of time. 

a. Retention. The retention requirement for e-mail 
records must follow suit with records with similar content 
found in other media (i.e., paper, film, electronic image). In 
the event that the content of the message does not fit into an 
existing record series on an approved retention schedule, the 
e-mail should be maintained in a manner consistent with 
R.S. 44:36 and should added to the agency's approved 
retention schedule if the series is expected to remain active. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Office of the Secretary of State, Division of 
Archives, LR 29:958 (June 2003). 
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§1327. Maintenance of Electronic Mail 
A. Records created using an e-mail system may be saved 

for their approved retention period by one of the following. 
1. Print message and file in appropriate hard copy file. 
2. Place in folders and save on personal network drive 

or C: drive. 
3. Save to removable disk (including CD-ROM). 3.5" 

disks are not recommended for retention periods of more 
than one year due to the instability of this medium. 

4. Transfer to an automated records management 
software application. 

5. Managed at the server by an automated 
classification system. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:959 (June 2003). 
§1329. User Responsibilities 

A. It is the responsibility of the user of the e-mail 
system, to manage e-mail messages according to their 
agency's retention schedule. 

1. It is the responsibility of the sender of e-mail 
messages within the agency's e-mail system and recipients of 
messages from outside the agency to retain the messages for 
the approved retention period. 

2. Names of sender, recipient, date/time of the 
message, as well as any attachments must be retained with 
the message. Except for listserv mailing services, 
distribution lists must be able to identify the sender and 
recipient of the message. 

3. User responsibilities may be mitigated by the use of 
a server level automated classification system. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:959 (June 2003). 
§1331. Agency Responsibilities 

A. Each agency should adopt and disseminate to their 
employees an agency Electronic Mail (E-mail) Proper Use 
Policy. The policy should include: 

1. defining official use and set limits on personal use 
of electronic messaging (similar to limitations that exist for 
telephone, fax, and personal mail);  

2. prohibiting the use of electronic messaging system 
to promote the discrimination (on the basis or race, color, 
national origin, age, martial status, sex, political affiliation, 
religion, disability or sexual preference), promotion of 
sexual harassment, or to promote personal, political, or 
religious business or beliefs; 

3. prohibiting employees from sending electronic 
messages under another employee's name without 
authorization; 

4. prohibiting the altering of electronic messages, 
including any attachments; 

5. agency process for storing and maintaining 
electronic messages for the duration of the message's 
retention period; 

6. notice that users of an agency's electronic 
messaging system should not expect a right of privacy and 
that electronic messages may be monitored for compliance 
and abuse. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:959 (June 2003). 
§1333. Use of Records Management Application (RMA) 

Software 
A. Agencies may use records management application 

(RMA) software to manage records in digital form. RMA 
software categorizes and locates records and identifies 
records that are due for disposition. RMA software also 
stores, retrieves, and disposes of the electronic records that 
are stored in its repository. Agencies should use RMA 
software that complies with DoD 5015.2-STD, "Design 
Criteria Standard for Electronic Records Management 
Software Applications," as issued by the U.S. Department of 
Defense. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:959 (June 2003). 
Chapter 15. Microfilm Policy 
§1501. General 

A. This policy applies to the microfilming of any agency 
record that is to be maintained solely in microfilm format 
and to all microfilm which is created or maintained for the 
full retention period of the record as a security copy of an 
agency record. This policy does not apply to convenience 
film. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:959 (June 2003). 
§1503. Definitions 

A. The following words and terms, when used in this 
chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise. Terms not defined in these 
sections have the meanings defined in the R.S. 44:402. 

Aperture CardCcard with a rectangular opening(s) into 
which 16mm/35mm microfilm frames can be inserted, 
mounted, or pre-mounted. 

BatchCa quantity of chemicals or film which has been 
prepared at one time, and which has been identified through 
labeling or through other means by the manufacturer as a 
batch or lot. 

CAD (Computer Assisted Design)Ca method of creating 
microimages by computer-driven laser. 

Convenience FilmCmicrofilm copies of records created 
only for convenience of use and considered non records 
under R.S. 44:1. 

Declaration by the Camera OperatorCA target 
photographed on film following the filmed records that 
provides identification of beginning and ending records on 
the film; signature of the camera operator; date the 
declaration was filmed; and reduction range, if more than 
one ratio has been used. 

DiazoCa photographic film containing one or more 
photosensitive layers composed of diazonium salts in a 
polymeric material which react with coupler(s) to form an 
azo dye image after film processing. 
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Duplicate MicrofilmCa microfilm copy made from the 
original or master negative. Can be silver, diazo or vesicular 
film. 

Essential RecordCany agency record necessary to 
resume or continue an agency's business; to recreate its legal 
and financial status; and to preserve the rights of the agency, 
its employees, and its clients. 

MicrofilmCroll microfilm, microfiche, computer output 
microfilm (COM), and all other formats produced by any 
method of microphotography or other means of 
miniaturization on film. 

Microfilm ContainerCgeneric term for any enclosure in 
close or direct contact with film such as a reel, can, bag, 
folder, sleeve (sheath), jacket, envelope, window mount or 
mat, slide mount, carton, cartridge, cassette, and aperture 
card. 

MicrofilmingCthe methods, procedures, and processes 
used to produce microfilm. 

Original MicrofilmCfirst generation of film produced 
when records are filmed. 

Silver OriginalCfirst generation silver-gelatin film or 
other archival quality film. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:959 (June 2003). 
§1505. Access to Referenced Standards and Practices 

A. The copyrighted standards and recommended 
practices issued by the American National Standards 
Institute (ANSI) and/or the Association for Information and 
Image Management (AIIM) listed in this chapter are 
considered best practice and each agency should strive to 
meet their minimum requirements for all microfilming of 
state records. A copy of each of the standards mentioned in 
this rule will be on file upon adoption of this rule and 
available for public inspection by appointment, during 
regular working hours at the Louisiana State Archives 
Building, 3851 Essen Lane, Baton Rouge, LA 70809. The 
standards are distributed by and available from the 
Association for Information and Image Management 
(AIIM), Suite 1100, 1100 Wayne Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 
20910-5699. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:960 (June 2003). 
§1507. Retention Schedule Compliance 

A. Microfilming of records must be in compliance with 
an approved agency retention schedule except, if an agency 
does not have an approved retention schedule, a 
microfilming needs assessment must be completed by the 
State Archives to determine if filming is justified. 

1. For microfilm maintained as roll film, no more than 
one record series is permitted on each roll of microfilm. 

2. Original records that have been microfilmed may 
be destroyed or source documents that have been filmed 
prior to the expiration of their retention periods if the 
microfilm complies with this policy and in accordance with 
R.S. 44:36 and R.S. 44:39. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:960 (June 2003). 
§1509. Use of Original Microfilm 

A. After the completion of production tests and quality 
inspection, original microfilm must not be unwound and 
used for any purpose except: 

1. to produce duplicate copies of the film;  
2. to carry out periodic inspection of stored original 

film;  
3. to expunge records required by law; 
4. to destroy records when retention period has been 

met. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

44:405. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:960 (June 2003). 
§1511. Annual Report Requirement 

A. All agency microfilm produced in house by an agency 
or by an outside vendor shall make an annual report to the 
State Archives in the form of letter or report and shall 
include: 

1. equipment used by agency or vendor;  
2. records series annually filmed by agency; 
3. total number of: 

a. 100' 16 mm reels; 
b. 215' 16 mm, reels; 
c. 35 mm reels; 
d. microfiche; 
e. jackets; 
f. aperture cards; 
g. images filmed; 
h. duplicate reels produced. 

4. the method(s) and/or vendor used to process agency 
microfilm;  

5. the location of the original film p roduced. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

44:405. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:960 (June 2003). 
§1513. State Centralized Microfilm Unit 

A. In accordance with R.S. 44:415, all agencies shall 
contract with the State Archives for microfilming services. If 
the State Archives is unable to meet the agency's needs, the 
State Archives can grant permission for the agency to 
contract with a private vendor. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:960 (June 2003). 
§1515. Film Requirement 

A. Film with a polyester base must be used for records 
having a retention period of 10 years or more. Any film type 
may be used for records having a retention period of less 
than 10 years, provided the microfilmed record will last for 
the required retention period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:960 (June 2003). 
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§1517. Film Production 
A. The records to be filmed must be arranged, identified, 

and indexed for filming so an individual document or series 
of documents can be located on the film. In instances where 
records are not self-indexing (i.e. not in a readily identifiable 
numeric or alphabetic sequence) an index must be 
maintained. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:961 (June 2003). 
§1519. Image Marking 

A. Any use of image marking should comply with 
standard ANSI/AIIM MS8. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:961 (June 2003). 
§1521. Targets 

A. Whenever possible, targets must all face the same 
direction as the records being microfilmed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:961 (June 2003). 
§1523. Image Sequence 

A. Image sequence on roll microfilm must be at a 
minimum: 

1. leaders with a minimum of 3 feet (36 inches) of 
blank film;  

2. density target and resolution target;  
3. title page (including agency of record);  
4. records series identification page; 
5. records on film;  
6. declaration by camera operator;  
7. density target and resolution target;  
8. trailer with a minimum of 3 feet (36 inches) of 

blank film. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

44:405. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:961 (June 2003). 
§1525. Retake Sequence 

A. Filming sequence for retakes and additions on all 
microfilm must be: 

1. title target identifying the retake or addition 
records; 

2. the retake or addition records; and 
3. declaration of the camera operator.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:961 (June 2003). 
§1527. Splices 

A. Retakes and additions can be spliced either before the 
density and resolution targets at the beginning of the film or 
after the density and resolution targets at the end of the film. 
Retakes and additions can be on another roll of film if cross-
indexed to the original roll on the title target and the 
container label of the retake. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:961 (June 2003). 
§1529. Inspection 

A. Original processed microfilm must be visually 
inspected according to the following procedures. 

1. A visual inspection of microfilm within two weeks 
of creation must be completed to verify legibility. 

2. Film of essential records or records having a 
retention period of 10 years or more must be inspected 
image by image. 

3. Film of non-essential records having a retention 
period of less than 10 years must be inspected at least every 
10 feet of each roll or every third microfiche. 

4. Images of documents must be uniformly placed on 
the film and must be free of any defects in the filming area 
that would interfere with the documents being read. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:961 (June 2003). 
§1531. Cameras and Ancillary Equipment 

A. It is recommended that camera equipment be 
calibrated, tested, or otherwise inspected and adjusted at 
least twice annually or more often if required to comply with 
manufacturer's specifications or recommended operating and 
maintenance procedures. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:961 (June 2003). 
§1533. Storage of Original Microfilm 

A. Original film should be stored in a separate building 
from where duplicate copies or the original record are 
housed. In addition, films of different generic types, such as 
silver-gelatin, diazo, and vesicular films, should not be 
stored in the same storage room/vault or in rooms sharing 
common ventilation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:961 (June 2003). 
§1535. Storage of Original Microfilm at State Archives 

A. Original film of original records at the State Archives 
must be placed in an Archives vault on a different floor than 
the original records or duplicate film. Films of different 
generic types, should not be stored in the same vault. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:961 (June 2003). 
§1537. Storage Environment 

A. Original microfilm must be stored in a storage room 
or vault that: 

1. offers protection from fire, water, steam, structural 
collapse, unauthorized access, and other potential hazards; 

2. is equipped with a fire alarm and fire suppression 
system;  

3. has adequate temperature and humidity controls: 
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a. for original film of records with a retention of 10 
years or more, temperature must not exceed 72 degrees 
Fahrenheit, and a constant relative humidity of 45 percent 
must be maintained with a maximum variation of plus/minus 
5.0 percent relative humidity in a 24-hour period; 

b. for original film of records with a retention 
period of 10 years or less, the maximum temperature must 
not exceed 77 degrees Fahrenheit, and a relative humidity 
range between 20 percent and 60 percent must be maintained 
with a maximum variation of plus/minus 5.0 percent relative 
humidity in a 24-hour period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:961 (June 2003). 
§1539. Containers and Storage Housing 

A. Storage housing materials must be noncombustible 
and non-corrosive. Microfilm containers for original 
microfilm must: 

1. be used for processed microfilm to protect the film 
and facilitate identification and handling. 

2. be chemically stable materials such as non-
corrodible metals (anodized aluminum or stainless steel), 
peroxide-free plastics, and acid-free paper to ensure no 
degradation is caused to the images. 

3. stored in a closed housing or may be stored on open 
shelves or racks if the film is in closed containers.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:962 (June 2003). 
§1341. Container Labels 

A. Labels must include: 
1. whether the film is original microfilm or a 

duplicate, including generation number if known;  
2. identification number; 
3. name of agency; 
4. records series title; 
5. inclusive dates of records; 
6. the beginning and ending records; and 
7. retakes/additions, if applicable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:962 (June 2003). 
§1541. Inspection of Stored Original Microfilm 

A. Inspection of stored original microfilm may be 
conducted in accordance with the following standards: 

1. ANSI IT9.11; 
2. ANSI/AIIM MS45; and 
3. ANSI/NAPM IT9.1. 

B. When inspection is done, the sample of microfilm to 
be inspected for each storage room or vault, if more than 
one, must be 1/1000th of the total volume of stored 
microfilm or at least 100 microforms (rolls, jackets, 
microfiche, aperture cards, COM, etc.), whichever is greater. 
Sampling procedures must be established that will assure 
that all parts of the group of microfilm are represented. 

C. Inspection must be conducted every five years. 
Microfilm that has been stored under temperature and/or 

humidity conditions other than those specified in this policy 
must be inspected every two years. 

D. Containers used to store the film must be inspected 
for evidence of rust, corrosion, or other deterioration and 
replaced, if needed.  

E. Original microfilm must be inspected on a light box 
with rewinds or comparable equipment which will not 
scratch the film.  

F. If deterioration is found, a more extensive inspection 
must be conducted to locate all deteriorating film. 

G. Any deteriorating film must immediately be removed 
from the storage area and the problem corrected before 
returning the film to storage. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:962 (June 2003). 
§1543. Computer Output Microfilm (COM) 

A. All policies for COM are the same as other microfilm 
formats, except: 

1. The COM original must be wet processed silver-
gelatin film for essential records and records with a retention 
of 10 years or more.  

2. The following standards for production, testing, and 
inspection of COM are recommended: 

a. ANSI/AIIM MS1; 
b. ANSI/AIIM MS5; 
c. ANSI/AIIM MS28; 
d. ANSI/AIIM MS39; 
e. ANSI/AIIM MS43; and 
f. ANSI/NAPM IT9.17. 

B. If bar coding is used, the procedures in technical 
report AIIM TR12 should be followed. 

C. The COM original must be visually inspected every 
10 feet. 

D. Eye-legible titling information must include the 
following:  

1. name of agency; 
2. records series title; 
3. date(s) of records; and 
4. starting and/or ending indexing information. 

E. A reduction ratio not exceeding 48:1 must be used. 
F. Adherence image sequence for filming, mentioned in 

this policy is not required. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

44:405. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:962 (June 2003). 
§1545. Jacketing 

A. All policies for jacketed microfilm are the same as 
other microfilm formats, except: 

1. original microfilm may be placed in a jacket, if 
there is a security copy stored in the same fashion as original 
microfilm;  

2. jacket header information should include a record 
identifier (name, number). If no security copy exists, the 
following must be included in the jacket header information: 

a. name of agency;  
b. records series title;  
c. date(s) of records; and  
d. starting and/or ending indexing information. 
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B. Header information must be created with a black 
carbon-type ribbon or ink that will not bleed, spread, or 
transfer. 

C. Microfilm jackets should comply with ANSI/AIIM 
MS11. 

D. The procedures in AIIM TR11 are recommended for 
the jacketing of film. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:962 (June 2003). 
§1547. Aperture Card/CAD Systems  

A. Film produced by aperture card/CAD systems are the 
same as other microfilm formats, except: 

1. original microfilm and enclosure should pass the 
photographic activity test criteria outlined in the standard 
ANSI IT9.2; 

2. a density test and a resolution test must be 
conducted on a sample of original microfilm at a minimum 
of once every 250 cards or every 1,000 images, whichever is 
greater; 

3. aperture cards must have the following information 
on label headings: 

a. name of agency; 
b. records series title; 
c. date(s) of records; and 
d. unique identifier. 

B. Adherence image sequence for filming, mentioned in 
this policy is not required. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:963 (June 2003). 
§1549. Expungements 

A. Such action must comply with statutory law. 
1. If roll film is spliced, the following information 

must be inserted in place of the expunged record(s): 
a. a start of expungement target; 
b. replacement documents for documents that were 

expunged (if necessary);  
c. an expungement certificate containing the 

following information: 
d. the number of the district court ordering the 

expungement; 
e. the signature, printed name, and title of the 

custodian of expunged records; 
f. the date of expungement. 

B. Images on film must not be expunged by punching 
holes through film, by using opaque, by blotting images with 
ink-type pen, or by using chemical means such as potassium 
dichromate (bleach) on film emulsion. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:963 (June 2003). 

§1551. Destruction of Microfilmed Records  
A. Microfilmed records must be destroyed only in 

accordance with R.S. 44:411(A)(2). Microfilmed records 
scheduled for destruction must be disposed of in a manner 
that ensures protection for any sensitive or confidential 
information. Destruction of records on a roll of microfilm 
containing multiple records series must be done by 
destroying the whole roll of film at the time the records on 
the film that have the longest retention period are eligible for 
destruction or, if filmed prior to the effective date of these 
standards, by deleting the section of the film containing 
records eligible for destruction and splicing the film. If the 
film is spliced, a destruction notice containing the following 
information must be inserted in place of the deleted records: 

1. the records series title and the inclusive dates of the 
records; 

2. the signature and printed name of the agency 
records management officer (RMO) approving deletion of 
the records; 

3. the date of the deletion. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

44:405. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:963 (June 2003). 
§1553. Documentation and Record Keeping 

A. Microfilm Production 
1. Agency records management officer (RMO) must 

require documentation to be maintained that identifies titles 
of records filmed, dates records filmed, disposition of 
records after filming, dates film processed, disposition of 
film, reduction ratio used, records series contained on each 
microfilm, and equipment on which each microfilm was 
filmed and processed. The documentation must be retained 
until final disposition of all microfilm documented in the log 
or equivalent. 

B.1. The following information must be recorded for 
each inspection of stored microfilm: 

a. the quantity and identification of microfilm 
inspected; 

b. the condition of the microfilm, including 
description of any deterioration; 

c. any corrective action required; 
d. the date(s) of inspection and signed certification 

of inspector; and 
e. the date any corrective action was completed. 

2. The inspection log of stored microfilm must be 
maintained by year and within each year numerically 
according to microfilm identifier or number. 

C. Agency microfilm programs must be reviewed yearly 
by the agency records management officer (RMO) for 
compliance with R.S. 44, Chapter 5, and this policy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 
29:963 (June 2003). 

 
W. Fox McKeithen 
Secretary of State 
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