Office of Conservation
Ground Water Resources Program >>FAQ For Prospective Land Owners
» Are there rules and regulations from the Department of Natural Resources for prospective well owners?
Yes, there are rules and regulations from the Department of Natural Resources that apply to prospective water well owners. To comply with the rules and regulations, you need to provide a completed Water Well Notification form (Form GWR-01) with all of the information that it requests. The instructions for completing the form are found on the second page of the form. If you have any questions about the form itself, please contact a member of the Groundwater Resources staff.
» What is the difference between exempt water wells and non-exempt water wells?
Domestic wells, drilling rig supply wells and drought relief wells are classified as exempt water wells. If your well is not one of these three well types, the well is considered non-exempt.
Exempt water wells require a notification to the Department of Natural Resources no later than 60 days after the completion of the water well. Non-exempt water wells require a 60 day notification prior to the completion of the water well to the Department of Natural Resources before any water is pumped from the well.
» Can you recommend a water well contractor to drill a new water well?
No, the Louisiana Department of Natural Resources (LDNR) can not make recommendations as to whom you hire to drill a water well. LDNR recommends you obtain a listing of water well contractors licensed to do business in the State of Louisiana from the Groundwater Resources Program.
» Am I required to hire a licensed water well contractor to drill a well in Louisiana?
Yes. Act 49 of 2003 requires the water well contractor to be licensed with the State of Louisiana.
» I want to drill an irrigation well. How far in advance must I send you the form?
The Office of Conservation must receive the water well notification form sixty (60) days prior to the installation of the well. It is to your advantage to allow five (5) business days for receipt of the form by this office. Our policy is to begin the sixty (60) day notification period on the day of receipt.
- Oil & Gas
- About The Department
- Facts & Figures
- State Mineral and Energy Board
- Special Notice/Announcements
- How-To Guide
- Forms & Publications
- Haynesville Shale
- Force Majeure
- Geological Oil & Gas
- Injection & Mining
- District Offices
- Haynesville Shale
- Hearings — Oil & Gas
- Online Data (SONRIS)
- Rules and Rulemaking/Fees
- Search by Topic
- Interagency Affairs & Field Services
- False River Initiative
- PermitTrak System
- About DNR
- Media Center
- Contact Us
- Information Portals
- Featured Services