Department of Natural Resources

About the Agency

DNR is one of twenty departments under the executive branch of state government. It was created in 1976 by R.S. 36:351. The executive officer of DNR is the Secretary, who is appointed by the Governor. Along with the Office of the Secretary there are three primary offices of the department. They are the Office of Coastal Management, the Office of Conservation, and the Office of Mineral Resources.

The rules that govern the Department of Natural Resources are part of the LAC (Louisiana Administrative Code) maintained by the Division of Administration, Office of the State Register, and are available on the State Register Web site in accordance with its disclaimer.


Mission Statement

The mission of the Department of Natural Resources is to ensure and promote sustainable and responsible use of the natural resources of our state so that they are available for the enjoyment and benefit of our citizens now and in the future.


Strategic Plan

Latest Posting: 6/30/2022
Department of Natural Resources Strategic Plan for Fiscal Year 2023-24 to 2027-28


DNR Seal Images (Logos)

DNR seal images for each office are available for download in multiple formats.